TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

No prosecutions in case where ‘Big Man’ threw alleged fare dodger off train

The video of the incident became a viral sensation with over two million hits on YouTube.

Image: Screengrab via YouTube.

THE MAN WHO became an internet sensation after he threw an alleged fare dodger off a train will not be charged and neither will his victim.

Footage of Alan Pollock, 35, throwing Sam Main, 19, off a train in Scotland has been viewed more than two million times on YouTube with the financial manager hailed as the ‘Big Man’ for how he dealt with the alleged fare dodger.

Subsequently Main claimed he had a ticket for the Edinburgh to Perth ScotRail service and had been trying to explain to the ticket inspector that he had been mistakenly sold two singles in the same direction.

But the ticket inspector appeared to not believe the student’s story and Pollock emerged to eject Main from the train to the delight of some passengers including the one who filmed the incident:

YouTube: ianhems

Pollocks was later charged with assault while Main was reported to prosecutors under section 38 of the Criminal Justice and Licencing Act which covers threatening and abusive behaviour.

But in a statement, quoted on the Guardian website, the Scottish prosecution service, the Crown Office said: “After full and careful consideration of the reports by crown counsel, it was decided that it is not in the public interest to prosecute either male, and the cases are now closed.”

‘Fare dodger’ who was thrown off train insists he had a ticket

‘Fare dodger’ gets his comeuppance as ‘Big Man’ throws him off train

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• If you fare dodge (and let’s face it most of us have at some time), and you get caught, you do the walk of shame and take your punishment. Don’t be a tosser and mouth off to the conductor. . . .

• Proper order too. That kid was a scrote.

• Thank god common sense prevails.

• Happy to hear he won’t be facing any charges.
    The drunken yob thrown off, was terrible for treating an elderly person (never mind a worker just doing their job) so bad in abuse and trying to trip him up previously.

Well done Big Man!

• Well if he hadn’t given such attitude I’m sure he could have explained that! Good on the big man

• tuba hg 09/02/12 #

Political correctness gone overboard to even think about charging this man

• Bruises and grazes on his face would be the least of that cheeky little s**ts worries if I had my way

• The idiot in the troll hat is stealing from other fare payers and had no right to be on that train typical softie saying theres no need for that when yhey pushed him off – good job big man !

• Rory 09/02/12 #

Mob mentality in 5..4..3..2- oh wait, it’s already happening!

• the young lad got taught manners by an older guy after he abused the ticket inspector. its natural law. it’s the lack of consequence for behaving badly and society’s fear of youth which has young lads like him flouting the law without fear. noone was hurt and he learned a lesson. the big guy was only assisting the inspector in doing his job. the little runt should have just walked away like he was told to, like the ticket inspector is legally allowed to tell him to.

• Bring him over here and stick him in the Dail!

• You can bet this wouldn’t have made the news if someone had offered to buy a ticket for the young man. Would probably have saved a lot of grief for all concerned. “and now for something nice done by another human being…” oh wait that’s not right “more deaths, murders, stabbings, assaults etc.”

• NEVER get stroppy wi’ a Scot!!
    G’wan big man!!!!!

• id have fired him straight through the window the little scummer. way to go big man. left wing 0 common sense 1 :)

• The guy was a bit of a smartarse but nobody has the the right to put their hands on someone like that and I think it’s pathetic that everyone is applauding the ‘Big Man’ – as far I’m concerned they are both wrong

• “Nobody has the right….” can you point me to the peice of paper that says that?

• People do have the right to stand up to those that do wrong around them, you wouldn’t think so in this country, but you do have the right. Big man sorted out young ned, fair play to him.

• You’re the kind of eejit who’d sit there for hours waiting for the train to move while one ignorent fecker held hundreds of people up.

• So a middle aged man has the right to throw a 19 year old (who’s a lot smaller) off the train does he? That was rough and he could have been hurt badly.

The young lad made a mistake, he’s human, like the rest of us…. If the ticket collector had a bit of sense, he’d let the young lad explain the problem and maybe allow a bit of lee-way, after all, he had no money (as the collector said on the video). Instead he treated him like some scumbag who had been actively trying to rip him off and the whole thing escalated.

I don’t know why they call it common sense, it’s so fecking rare!

• In This Thread: Mob Rule

Nearly all of the above show why we can’t trust people to be civilised without laws forcing them to be so. People are fucking idiots.

• Hooray for common sense

• If I mistakingly bought two single tickets by a mistake, there wouldn’t be a chance I’d get off the train.

The fat dope should have been prosecuted for assault. He had no right to lay a finger on his guy.

• Soupy Norman, you’re either trolling or I’d be the first to pick you up and “Escort” you off the train.

*You* make the ticket mistake.

*You* bear the consequences.

If there was an error you’re going to have to sort it out *after* the fact.

• If I And ever on a train / bus/ coffee shop,and a row breaks I know whom I would like to be present Yes Mr Big Man and thankfully Common Sence is alive and. Kicking

• I agree, Soupy, Big Man had no place interfering. That was far from being escorted off, more like being thrown, roughly off onto a concrete platform. And what if the young man had been hurt, had split his head and needed attention. Who’d be liable there?

The ‘Big Man’ was much larger than this skinny young lad and was throwing his weight around. I wonder would he do the same to someone his own age and size?

Granted, he did get mouthy, but he was probably frustrated at not being able to get his point across and explain the situation! I wonder would an older person be granted a chance to explain themselves??
      I would like to think that a young man that made a simple mistake, (who had no money) would be allowed to get to his destination with a little bit of lee-way. In fairness he had bought 2 tickets the first time.

• @Colm

YOU are not law enforcement

YOU are a vigilante

YOU are the type of person I detest more than those who break the law

YOU should be prosecuted for assault, especially if it was deemed *after the fact* that Soupy was innoecent.

God I really hate people…

• I agree with Soupy & Sean. I ts not the young guys fault he was sold the wrong tickets, the trains in England & Scotland are not like here, you dont get on 1 and stay all the way to the destination, there is different companies not like just CIE here… you get on and off multiplt trains on your journey… and why would a “FARE DOGER” have 2 tickets ? Looks like he paid someone for his train journey !!!

Add New Comment