TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

INMO: Minimal applications means boycott on nurse graduate scheme working

The HSE has said that the numbers applying for the scheme have been small, leading to a review taking place.

THE INMO HAS said that its boycott on nurses applying for a graduate scheme is “working” as the number of applications is minimal.

It said that the HSE has extended the deadline for applications for the graduate nursing programme, which offers new jobs to 1000 nurses, by two weeks, and has now opened it to graduates from 2010 and 2011.

In responding to this development the INMO said:

The decision to extend the application date, and open up the eligibility criteria, confirms that the call for a boycott of this flawed programme is being followed by new graduates. This boycott call will remain in place for whatever application period the HSE lays down.

The organisation added that the HSE decision “also confirms that this was never an educational programme, nor an opportunity to consolidate learning, but was always an overt attempt to introduce cut-price, yellow pack nursing posts into our health service”.

It said this recent development will be raised again when the Croke Park extension talks reconvene in the morning.

In the interim, it has reaffirmed its call upon all new graduates to continue to boycott this initiative until the HSE commences meaningful discussions.

HSE

Barry O’Brien, Director of Human Resources at the HSE, spoke to Morning Ireland on RTÉ this morning, and said that there had been a “very slow level of application” to the scheme. He did not mention the actual number of applications, but said that the HSE has decided to review the scheme.

He said that this week hospitals will be getting their budgets, and the directors of nursing will have to plan their nursing resources across the year. He said that some will be “surprised” when they see they are no longer able to afford the level of overtime and agency staff they were using.

The HSE will engage next week with its directors of nursing. O’Brien said the alternative to the 1000 jobs  is “draconian measures”.

The INMO had earlier insisted that jobs would be lost as a result of the graduate recruitment, but O’Brien noted that this was the first time the Government allowed the HSE outside of the employment ceiling to recruit graduates.

He said the rate of pay is “consistent with other rates of pay on other graduate programmes”, with the application form saying salaries begin at €21,769. However the INMO has described this as “cheap labour”.

A rally took place in Croke Park earlier this month, during which nurses and midwives sanctioned a complete boycott of the graduate jobs initiative.

Read: HSE says strong interest in new nursing jobs, despite boycott calls>

Read: Nurses’ union insists graduate scheme will lead to job losses>

Read next:

Comments (72 Comments)

• Imagine been a nurse earning 10? a hour the tea lady, the cleaning staff & porter earning more

• Brilliant you don’t spend four years studying ethics, philosophy, sociology as well as nursing without realising that what the HSE is trying to do is morally wrong.

• 21 grand works out at around €400 p.w. BEFORE tax, which is about €55 a week above minimum wage.
    It’s a damned insult to the people who look after the sick and the dying to try and pull this one on them.

• Do new TDs and ministers get 20% less

• Have my first nursing exams this morning, this story has cheered Me up slightly. Hopefully the hse come up with a more reasonable offer for newly qualified nurses.

• Fair play to them! Why should they do a stressful job for €10 an hour, after all their training and exams. Rumour has it that the “low” interest in this internship actually means NO interest! Go work in your local supermarket if u want that wage, less stress, and guaranteed breaks!

• On one hand you have unions saying this is a disgrace and nurses should get more money (which I agree with, they deserve good salaries) but on the other hand you have unions protecting overpaid useless back office staff. Get rid of these useless back office staff and give the money to the nurses. Unions are as much a problem as anything, if the government had any balls then we wouldn’t be in this situation. I’m with the nurses on this one though. That’s a pathetic salary for a nurse starting out.

• M Bowe 17/01/13 #

It time to separate the unions and get back to proper unions who have the best interest of the coal face workers at heart. A proper union cannot represent these workers properly and also have middle management members to represent as well. Complete conflict of interests as far as I can see.

• All the government needs to do is employ full time, full wage nurses for the positions needed – as they should have years ago – then agency nurses would be needed only occasionally. But the HSE managers want to make names for themselves, and make it look like they are doing something, so they go for the idiotic recruitment ban (which didnt save them any money and the only ones who benefited were the agencies, and this ridiculous idea which will not solve any cost saving problems and will end up hurting everybody – including the public.

• To be honest it doesn’t seem great but I don’t live on it so I can’t really say.

Anyway for a single person, here’s what they would get

Effective salary for year €21,768.00
    Taxable Income €21,768.00
    PAYE – Standard Rate €4,353.60
    PAYE – Top Rate €0.00
    Total Tax Bourne €4,353.60
    Tax Credits €3,300.00
    PAYE Payable €1,053.60
    PRSI €870.72
    Universal Social Charge €842.56
    Total Payable €2,766.88
    Net Salary €19,001.12

Per week €365
    Per month €1583

• Shocking, what I don’t understand either is that there has been no clarification as to what happens after the 2 year contract? The HSE hasn’t said that they will be made permanent and rise on a payscale. Absolutely nothing to go on. Who on earth is being paid to come up with this sort of ridiculousness?

• Pierce do u know if pension would also come out of that salary? As in the public sector pension?

• Karolyn, superanuation contributions are at 6.5% of pensionable pay. So you about 4% off your take home due to pension contributions being tax free, This make it

Per week €350
      Per month €1519

Also you can pay your union dues through salary, so minus that as well.

There is also a charge to be a nurse, it’s about €80, payable to the nursing board.

Those figures are just estimates but should be pretty close

• Aldo 17/01/13 #

I think you’ll find that nurses pay the pension levy and tha’s a fair chunk of change.

• We pay €88 a year for our registration and those that qualified this summer paid it in sept/oct and will be paying it again this month. Union subs work out at 10.50 a forthnight for siptu that’s cheaper than INMO we pay prd, USC prsi and tax. We are taxed on a higher level for weekend and night shifts.

• We have been told less than fifty applied !

• I completely agree that it’s wrong to pay graduate nurses less than incumbent nurses, but I also think its wrong of the nursing unions to inflict all this pressure on graduates, by advising them not to apply for the new jobs. In my opinion, this is no more than a token gesture that hurts no one but the graduates. So much for union solidarity. Isn’t a union supposed to represent all of its members equally? If incumbent nurses really cared about their future colleagues, they’d be using far more forceful measures as a way of applying pressure on the HSE. The poor graduates are in a no win situation, and have basically been hung out to dry by Liam Doran and co.

• The fact of the matter is: if you’re anywhere near graduating, and these posts were your only prospect, you’d be better off and better paid, becoming a health care assistant, already trained for it by your college course and well practiced throughout the more than 30 free weeks placement you’ve done through the 4 years . Says a lot about this country, most of my class will probably be on the first plane out of here in 2015

• Meanwhile the departing chief of the Irish Medical Organisation departs on a EUR10 million deal (having been bargained down from the EUR26million he was ‘entitled’ to).

The Unions in healthcare really have their members interests at heart. I wonder what sort of packages the INMO have lined up for themselves. Hopefully one of our very few remaining Journalists who aren’t under the control of our media barons might start investigating.

• Well done to all the graduates. Stand strong. You have my backing and admiration.

• Anyone know where on http://www.inmo.ie they disclose their balance sheet and pay scales for Union management ?

• Language is interesting isn’t it??
    The official side uses the word “minimal”…but I suspect that the word “paltry” as used by the INO is more descriptive of the actual figures !!! Boo to O’Reilly !!!!!

• Exact same thing with the teachers…. Doing the exact same job but if newly qualified, they’re only on a fraction of that pay. Unions doing nothing. Teachers forced to take up FAS internships to get they’re required dip year. That’s the dole and €50 extra a week, which would barely cover costs of travel and food let alone any bills and having to work extremely hard everyday until very late and all weekend to get the work done, lesson plans and preparing for your inspector visits

Why is the government cutting on health and education??

I am not a teacher by the way nor are any of family or friends

• CABK 17/01/13 #

I don’t know if I would put nurses and teachers on the same scale – yes teachers do a good job but we’re talking pay cuts to people who spend most of their day up to their arms in other peoples shi*t and blood and numerous other disgusting things, as well as trying to console ill people, deal with people they’ve gotten to know dying as well as having to try lift people. I just feel that as a job its out there on its own in terms of what they have to do and this should be reflected in their pay. I’m not a nurse btw – I wouldn’t have the stomach to do it but my sister is and the stories I hear from her are awful.

• I agree CABK, nurses and carers have to deal with a lot, stuff that most people can’t handle
      I’m just disgusted at the areas in which cuts are being made in general. It’s so frustrating and sickening

• Where is Paul Mc this morning? He must be getting sick at the thought o his market economics not working out !

• Doesn’t surprise me. I can’t imagine I’d want to be the newly qualified nurse working on a ward where it was clear I’d defied a union boycott. Colleagues would quickly work this out and ostracise any new nurse – not a great way to start your career!

• Colin ,nurses would not do as you suggest, the ones I know understood that it was an individual decision and encouraged these nurses to do what was best for them

• Colin B 17/01/13 #

Shay I’d like to think you are right but what newly qualified nurse is going to take that chance at the outset of their career? Many individual nurses may understand but union flag-wavers aren’t exactly known for being sympathetic to individuals going against the herd! I’m sure nurses are no different.

• Shay is right Colin, we are all aware that some graduates due to personal circumstances will have to take the jobs and those will not be treated any differently from any other nurse/midwife. Plus they aren’t paying union subs yet so they are not going against any union.

• The sad reality is that the clowns who thought up this lunatic scheme are incompetent and will NOT lose their jobs for attempting to implement this failed idiotic, disrespectful bully tactic.

• The Government has just discovered that market forces work both ways.

• I’m guessing all running the INMO are fully employed, it’s easy to run a boycott when all your bills are being paid……..

• Judging from the low take up it would seem most nursing graduates agree with the INMO’s claims. Seeing as the HSE has also opened this up to those who qualified in 2010/11 it is beginning to look like the HSE is looking for cheap yellow pack labour.

• Why not take €5k a year off everyone else in the HSE, starting at the top salary and working down and reallocate this to the Nurses until we hit 1000.
      So the director etc and the hospital directors, those that don’t actually contribute to patient care would be the ones to feel a very modest hit.

The HSE wage bill is neutral, the nurses get the same starting wage as before (I may be a few€ out but you get the idea) and the burden is much fairer. In fact the wage bill will be lower as there is no agency fee?

I bet that won’t happen though, we’ll either get the L’Oreal defence (because I’m worth it) or the contracts cannot be changed. Well apologies but 1. No you are not & 2. Can the minister not invoke FEMPI or equivalent and say tough!

Hmmmmmmmm

• Jeez lads, do ye actually know what nurses have to do on a daily basis? Ye wouldn’t be saying that if yer lives depended on it… I’ve seen them first hand and I don’t think they get paid enough for the sh*** they have to deal with. (I am not a nurse, my background is in law)

• I do. It was only meant as a suggestion as to where the wages should be spent instead of where they actually are at the minute.

• If you cut my salary by €5000 as you suggest I would effectively have zero spare cash once my bills mortgage and food were paid for. How about we cut your salary by the same amount. Nurses and midwives in employment are not the problem we have taken cuts like everyone else the problem is with other areas of the HSE why do you think frontline staff take early retirement and other incentives and admin don’t??

• You aren’t reading correctly. I said cut those starting from the top of the HSE and give the cut from those earning the €100,000 etc salaries and give the money to those at the bottom!

• Not to be pedantic but you actually said everyone.

• You are Correct. Apologies. I didn’t mean that.

;)

• No worries ☺

• The boycott did nothing to reduce numbers applying, don’t you dare clap yourself on the back INMO
    These people are adults who made their decision independently , one way or another, the union had nothing to do with their choices

• That was my initial reaction. If people were going to apply for these jobs they’d have done so regardless of what the INMO said. This “initiative” is just plain bad, and the cats on the street know it.

• If the INMO has 90,000 nurses each paying the Union EUR306 a year, that EUR27,500,000 annual haul is quite impressive if this is the best they can do for their members.

They could pay EUR5,000 each as a top-up ‘welcome to the Union’ payment to the new recruits and still have EUR22,500,000 left over from their 2013 subs alone.

• Firstly the INMO doesn’t have 90K members – there’s probably max 40K members and they don’t all pay €306 as students are free and retired and part-timers are less. Their accounts are published annually and available at ADC for all members. No big secret there. So your figures are way out but more importantly re. your point why should members’ subs be used to subsidise the HSE’s yellow pack scheme?
      http://inmo.ie/membership_fees

Add New Comment