TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

HSE says strong interest in new nursing jobs, despite boycott calls

The HSE began advertising yesterday for graduate nurses and midwives – but nursing unions have call for a boycott of the jobs.

THE HSE SAYS there has been strong interest in new jobs for graduate nurses since the scheme was announced last month – despite the significant decrease in pay compared to other nursing roles.

The application process for nurses and midwives officially began on Friday as the HSE broke the embargo on public sector recruitment to hire up to one thousand graduates.

However nursing unions have urged graduates to boycott the jobs, which will pay around 80 per cent of the usual salary for such a job. The application form for the role says salaries will begin at €21,769.

The Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation says that nurses currently hired by agencies to work for the HSE will be displaced by the one thousand new recruits. Unions have also derided the starting salary as “cheap labour”.

The HSE said it will be able to provide exact details on the number of applications after the closing date next Friday 18 January.

Barry O’Brien, the head of human resources at the HSE, said yesterday that he believes the starting salary is fair.

“It’s no different from any other job where you have a direct graduate entry programme and people join the work environment at that grade,” he told RTE Radio One’s Morning Ireland.

Read: Nurses’ union insists graduate scheme will lead to job losses >

Read: James Reilly asked to stop HSE plan to pay graduate nurses lower salaries >

Read next:

Comments (102 Comments)

• Its a thundering disgrace whats going on. Graduates are getting a very raw deal. Im a teacher myself and am on the old system thank god, as graduates have taken a terrible hammering.
    I have no time for the unions in my profession anyway. They are spinless, irrelevent and full of individuals looking to protect those nearing retirement as their the ones they trained with with. Feathering their own nest and offering young teachers as the sacrificial lambs. A total shake up is needed alongwith being able to fire useless underperforming articles.
    The asti talk about hard times and wanting to fight for issues yet they had their head office dinner in buswells hotel last year, not exactly cheap.

• Nurses are our unsung heros who look after us, our parents, our children and anyone who comes through their doors, treat them with the respect they deserve.

• Joke the people who look after us and our family’s when we are ill, the people who protect us from crime and fire etc are told to get stuffed because the Gov can get someone cheaper which is easy when unemployment is at 15%.
    How much more of this austerity are we expected to take.
    I’m sick of it.

• MVM 12/01/13 #

People need jobs so they will take them regardless of a boycott,the publicity alone will attract people for those jobs

• If anything nurses should be paid the most out of all public sector jobs. As dangerous as my job can be and the crap hours I do I will happily admit nurses should be paid more than us. They are absolute legends and its only when you need one to look after you or your family that you really see what angels they can be. They should defo be on more than Reilly and his band of cowboys,

• Is this the HSE trying to put the grad nurses under pressure to apply?? I would think interest is low and the HSE are trying to play it up so grads will apply to ensure they do not lose out. I hope the grads stand strong and refuse to accept the contracts.

4 yrs of study including one full year of work during the college course with no pay whatsoever. (12hr shifts daily in busy hospitals) Up until 2 years ago 4th year students while working on wards were paid a wage but that was scrapped by the Mary Harney as her last act as minister for health.

Frontline staff have to be protected and I think 80% wages for doing the same job as your colleague on a ward is not practical or fair.

Is it any wonder thousand emigrate every year and we lose our best young people yet GP’s and consultants retain their large wage packets and the government failed to address this earlier in the year.

I’m not a nurse nor do I work in the public sector but this to me just seems totally wrong.

• Ehmmm, I think you’ll find it was the nursing and teaching unions who sold out future members under the Croke Park Agreement to save their own wages and pensions. They agreed to it and are now giving out? Typical unions, thugs and swine.

• @Mark, you make a crucial point re unfairness. Being paid 80% (or less) than your colleagues for doing the exact same job just because you entered the system a few yrs later is not fair or right. If we think our nurses, doctors, teachers etc are paid too much then reductions in salaries must be shared among all pay grades not just for graduates/new entrants.

• Alien8 12/01/13 #

I think you will find it hard to get a company that did NOT reduce graduates entry pay by at least 20%. My company (multinational) reduced pay for masters qualified & PhD entry from €30k to €25k. Those that got in are glad to have a career and a salary.

Btw: we have also taken pay reductions and increases in hours in the last 5 years, because we understand the companies perspective (reduce costs or we can move to lower cost countries). Unfortunately rather than understanding the bigger picture, unions and the nurses that vote for them want to keep their big piece of the pie. This CPA is nothing but selfish pork belly politics, and junior nurses need to realise it is the senior nurses who made it that way, and tell the union to feck off.

• Alien8, nurses have taken pay cuts too, I agree it would be fairer if a cut is to be made to share the burden , however why nurses again, our conditions remain less than comparable professionals , physio, occupational therapy etc,
      But the bigger issue is hse numbers, and politicians wages and pensions, paying mayors pensions allowing people to retire early before40 years service, we could go on but why bother, easy targets always get hit
      First in this country, Fine Gael and labour, don’t forget

• Tommy C 12/01/13 #

Shay, lab techs have taken a massive cut and new graduates are also on 10% less than what the rest of us would have started on and that starting salary has been cut by thousands too. Its not just nurses who have been affected.

• Tommy, fair point, but are they only being offered a 2 year contract

• And to all graduates out there, your on your own, do what’s best for you and your situation, ignore the unions as they have done you,

• They are not new nursing jobs, they are displacing agency nurses.
    They are not graduate nurses, they are nurses.
    The starting salary is not fair as its 80% of a colleague for the exact same work.
    Nursing is very different from other areas of study, newly graduated nurses have already spent the better part of 2years on the job training.
    Yet again; HSE fail.

• joe o shea have you no principles? you just take what youre given? can i ask have you had a recent experience in a hospital? because if you did you should see that we are not just “whining”. we are simply looking for what we deserve.

• Is the croke park agreement up next year? It’s going to be interesting to see what goes down. It seems because they can’t cut any salaries under the agreement that their hammering the students/grads. Why is a teacher more valued than a nurse when their both 4 year degree programmes? Teacher starting salary is what aprox 30,000? The nursing salary 21,769 works out about 10€ an hour, guys u can start on that in my local dunnes, no 4 year degree needed and a lot less stress. I wouldn’t bother if I was them.

• I am a newly graduate nurse we deserve more than us without us in hospitals there would be nobody to look after you or your families, doctors don’t hold your hand when your dying doctors don’t stand by your side when you need to cry without nurses patients would never recover from operations or recover from medical illness, why should we be cut and not physiotherapists, nutritionists, doctors etc we are just as important if not more important! The government and people in this country need to realise nursing is no longer a ‘vocation’ it’s a career and a dedication to helping others and trying to make a difference! We will still be expected to undertake 100% of the workload at 80% pay which is outrageous nurses aren’t credited in this country for the work that we do and now they are trying to devalue are jobs even further with these outrageous contracts, we are entitled to a fair wage! Like teachers etc we have taken cuts if I had of graduated three years ago I would be on €6500 more than I am now why should I take a further cut!!!

• Hi Jacque, just wondering if you plan on applying for one of these positions or if many of your graduate peers are tempted?

It’s a tough one really isn’t it, take a job with poor enough terms and conditions and take a chance thats its a temporary measure or have to emigrate. I’d hate to be in your shoes.

In reality people what we have here is some of the nations brightest, having gotten 400+ points in the LC, having completed 4 years in college with many hours of work experience earning €11 per hour, and I presume the pension levy must come off that even though its a contract position and the 2 years might not even count (I may be wrong on that)

• Jacqui, doctors use full stops!!!

• “Doctors use full stops”.
      Doctors can barely write legibly, full stops mean nothing when you can’t read the rest of what they’ve written.

• Go abroad Jacqui. Get out of this country and work somewhere where you will be properly paid and valued.

• Eh hello get real guys, I know someone close to me, got 575 points in leaving, did four year degree in health related course, won gold medal, now not working in the area…working for one of the ‘big four’ for LESS than this wage. Take it or leave it, most people who work on health area are caring and sympathetic not just nurses though nurses do a great job, but they are not the only ones we have ALL taken cuts, many have been FORCED to leave the country, with masters etc because there are NO JOBS at any salary, very very sad state of affairs!

• CABK 13/01/13 #

Joan – I don’t understand why you keep saying ‘get real’ and then carry on saying things that make no sense and are not even remotely realistic..

• Hi Jacqui,
      Nobody will ever understand exactly what we do unless they have done it too or even worked alongside us. Dont even bother trying to explain to ignorant people here talking sh*t.
      We are the first ones there during an arrest on the ward, whos going to do CPR and call the doctors and cardiac team etc without us? The whole rotten system would grind to a halt without ward nurses, theater nurses, intensive care nurses, etc etc you get the idea. Wonder who will get the patients out of bed and down to theater?
      Best of luck guys but I refuse to accept the treatment we get here. Majority of the public have no idea the responsibilty we carry or what we do, think we’re like maids, I’m out of here!

• Cabk Joan feels hard done by that her daughter got 575 points in the leaving did radiography or something similar and now can’t get a job. While Nurses are being offered jobs for two years at 80% pay need lower points than her daughter got and are outraged I hope this clarifies it just read her posts on all the nursing related articles here.

• Melissa-Mai
      Good luck in your endeavours your dead right nurses are noone’s maids time we all remembered that.

• most intern doctors learn more from nurses than they do their own colleagues. because its us thats always at the bedside of a person who is seriously ill+notice the change. not my words, a doctors words. and @james connolly are you joking? once you qualify you think we dont need extra training after it?? course we do. illnesses change, drugs change, drug administration change, therefore we have to adapt to these changes through study days and courses. weve the same qualification no matter how many years we are in the job. therefore should be paid the same.

• Yet the HSE can agree to a payout of 20million to that retired IMO sap

• JakkiB 12/01/13 #

The Government using the media yet again to say to the people “F*ck you…this is happening” Its called…Conquer and Divide

• BS …. figures now please.

• your21 would you work in a job for 20% less than the girl beside you or move to any other country gaining the life experience that goes with it

• Bouile 12/01/13 #

First year trainee accountant 22k or less depending if you work with the ‘Big 4′, if you have a masters etc ! Smaller practices start on less… Also required to study for Prof exams on top of working Full Time.

• Been there and done it but we get every bank holiday off, no weekend work, no nights, 12hrs is not our standard working day and we are not dealing with sick & dying ppl. I’m sure everyone at some stage has experienced a hospital and would agree nurses are the main drivers of patient care.

Would you work in your job if a graduate solicitor/accountant was being paid 20% more than you for doing the exact same job?

• When a nurse qualifies they do not need further study, exams, nothing. A nurse on qualification is doing the exact same job as a nurse on the job 10 years. Not 80% of the job, the exact same job. 100% the exact same.

• CABK 12/01/13 #

What is your point?

Accountants do not ‘have to study for exams on top of working full time’ – they are given lots of annual leave fully paid to assist with this – also they are trainee accountants and these exams allow them to achieve a higher qualification which is widely recognised and will stand to them in later years allowing them to get a higher salary – additionally all their books, classes and exams fees are fully paid for by the companies they work for – hence a lower starting wage. Additionally first year accountants are not required to act as seniors on jobs (aka they do not have much responsibility but rather are allotted tasks which are then double checked for errors).

Hence you can in no way compare nursing graduates to accountancy graduates.

• Bouile 12/01/13 #

Was only responding to ‘Arbitrasures’ question !

• MVM 12/01/13 #

Most people choose a job because of a interest in that area not for the money,I doo feel sorry for the nurses the pay cuts,long awkward hours,abusive drunks.
      nurses are heros I visited a&e in December for a xray and the attention I received from the nurses was amazing.
      Only fault it can be a while to see someone but you can’t forget they make the best of a terrible system

• Not true.If a nurse wants to get promoted they have to go on and do further courses I left Ireland in 1997 as there was no jobs for nurses unless you were connected.The pay was much lower in the UK.Now graduate nurses from Ireland are very sought after here and starting pay is about 25 K Sterling

• Ger, obviously. However in order to practice as a general nurse, a graduate nurse does not need to do such a thing.

• Nobody smears faeces on trainee accountants.

Trainee solicitors don’t go home with other people’s vomit in their pockets.

New nurses shouldn’t be earning the same as other professionals, they should be earning much more.

• End the nameless bloggers who hide behind nicknames

• How does a trainee nurse salary compare with a trainee solicitor or accountant? Reality check needed.

• They are not trainee nurses, they are fully registered, fully functional, fully fledged nurses.
      When you graduate as a nurse you are not a trainee, you are a nurse.

• Depending on the firm your looking at mid 20′s. The nurses will be paid €21,769 gross before tax & levies, but will be working shift work including nights and the only way to increase pay will be by weekends.

They are not trainees after 4 yrs in college as opposed to solicitors & accountants. They are registered staff nurses with full responsibilities and will be responsible for training graduates coming behind them also.

Year four of their course I believe is the final practical part of their course to bring them to this level.

• CABK 12/01/13 #

Completely different careers in every way – you cannot compare these graduates.

• Experience obviously counts for nothing so.

• Experience is taken into account when you consider pay scales. That is the reason for their being.

• What crap, when you graduate in say Radiation Therapy you have done placements the same as nurses as part of your course for which you do not get paid and you still do not get paid same as those with experience, placement is just supervised on the job experience, nothing else, you may be called a staff nurse on graduation but will have no real experience, and will still be under supervision. Anyway it’s like everything else, divorce, abortion etc don’t like don’t do…simple!

• depends wether you define a good or bad accountant or good or bad soliditor trainee means tried not tested
      it’s about career choice

• Joan they won’t be supervised as you put they will work within their scope of practice as all registered nurses do they will have a caseload as all registered nurses do there isn’t any supervision once your registered.

• Worst recession since the 30′s.
    1000 jobs on offer .

While the money isn’t as good as their colleagues , it does offer the opportunity to take shelter from the recession for a couple of years.

If the union really cared it would ballot it’s members for strike action.

• Niallers, unfortunately this appears to be the new rate of pay for nursing, 2 year contract then goodbye, reapply for another 2 years same contract, nothing suggests that existing contracts will ever be given again , your right the unions have sold the graduates down the river to protect the rest of us

• It’s not even to protect us Shay it’s to protect themselves!! maybe if they had a different and did 80% of the work we do it would be fair but can you imagine the chaos.

• A jobs a job after all

• Scabs

• I agree, cost of living must be taken into account. But in the two examples I cited, is it 2.5 -3 times more expensive to live in the UK as it is here ?

• The days of cushy civil service jobs have to end. Everything else is being cut. If these nurses are true caring professionals, they will stop whining about money as always and get on with their jobs.

• Joe nursing was never cushy!

• Nursing is a lot of things Joe. Hard work, involved, challenging, tiring, invigorating, draining (physically, mentally, emotionally, financially). Cushy is not any of those things Joe. Nurses look like haggard messes for a reason. The cushy lifestyle ain’t that reason.

• Secure pensionable employment with a golden handshake at the end. No performance measures as you see in private sector. There are many jobs out there which are physically, mentally, emotionally, financially draining which don’t get public sympathy. Since when did we start using public sentiment to quantify what salary scales should be. The best practice is to compare nursing salaries subjectively to salaries across Europe, not how you felt during an emotionally charged time that one time a nurse looked after your dad when he was sick. I saw a comment on a separate article here yesterday of a man who said doctor’s salaries should not be touched, because a doctor saved his life once. What a load of nonsense.

The man who keeps your tap running, or who inspects a bridge you cross every day is as integral as a nurse that interacts with you in the course of her job.

• No performance measures?? Are you serious? Wow joe you really dont know the first thing about nursing. Your patients wouldnt last a day if you werent good at what you do. what a ridiculous thing to say.

• Joe;
      Since when was a plumbers job emotional? When does a builder speak to patients and their relatives about DNR requests? Or explain what a referral to the palliative care service means?
      “Doctors salaries should not be touched because one once saved his life”: doctors didn’t just do this once. They do it every day they turn up to work. The nurse does not just interact with you, we interact with many people in many diverse ways many times a day.
      The risk we face as frontline workers is humongous. Since my return to Ireland last June I’ve been held against my will (x2), I’ve had physical violence threatened, and acted upon a number of times, I’ve seen female nurses be sexually demeaned while the patient still expects to be treated.
      Joe, your comparison of nursing to a plumber or a builder is completely unfair. They are three different jobs that can never compare. Ever. Ever. Ever.

• Im not comparing nurses to plumbers. Im making the point that both are equally integral to our everyday lives. Society needs running water just as much as it needs medical care. I’m questioning the validity of the types of anecdotes you offer, or the emotional impact a job has, when determining what remuneration package should apply to it.

You need to be clinical and subjective. The fairest comparison seems to be comparing to European averages. For example, you hear emotionally charged arguments about how tough being a lone parent is in Ireland, and how this group is amongst the “most vulnerable” in society. Then you look at fact. In Ireland, lone parent family payment is €217.80. In the UK it is €81.00. Or carer’s allowances per week – Ireland is €204.00 per week, in the UK is €70.14.

• Joe, true sentiment isn’t a criteria for maintaining pay levels, however nurses are assessed , pt have a right to complain to the nursing board and the hospital management , if found to preform below acceptable levels they are sanctioned up to and including dismissal,
      Nursing pensions are linked to the old age pension since 1992, half wages between both maximum, golden hand shakes are for politicians/ bankers and senior management

• Golden handshakes are for any civil service position after enough years service. Gardai, teachers, etc get 150% of their annual salary on retirement. That kind of package in the private sector would be unheard of and absurd. Im not denying that nursing is an extremely important job with numerous challenges, regulatory, professional etc as you point out. I’m just simply proposing that’s it’s time to take emotionally charged language and anecdotes out of the debate.

• Joe comparison of salaries across Europe is futile, unless you include child care costs, basic cost of living,

• Joe , I hear you , remember that lump sum is now taxed, the more you earn the better you do,
      And when you start in the public service , you must sign up to the pension as part of your contract, also you are not allowed a private pension, back in the day many thought private pensions would do better and attempted to escape this, ok I accept they glad now they didn’t

Add New Comment