TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Oireachtas committee ‘concerned at difficulties between Health Dept and Ombudsman’

They have now called on a member of the Department of Health to address their concerns about

Fine Gael Minister for Health, Dr James Reilly with a copy of the report
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

AN OIREACHTAS COMMITTEE  is to call a member of the Department of Health before it to discuss the decision to end the Mobility Allowance Scheme and the Motorised Transport Grant.

The Joint Oireachtas Committee on Public Service Oversight and Petitions agreed this afternoon to call the Secretary General at the Department of Health and Children, Dr Ambrose McLoughlin, before it to discuss last night’s decision, as it said it had not been informed in advance.

Its members have also said they are increasingly concerned at the difficulties in the relationship between the Ombudsman and the Department of Health, which is being played out in public.

Schemes

On 6 February, Dr McLoughlin, with Minister for Health James Reilly TD, Minister of State Kathleen Lynch TD and HSE officials, discussed with the committee the Ombudsman’s findings that both schemes are being operated on the basis of eligibility conditions which breach the provisions of the Equal Status Acts.

Chairman of the committee Pádraig Mac Lochlainn said that at the meeting, the members heard the complexities around maintaining both these schemes. He said the committee was advised that a thorough review of both schemes was underway, based on consultation with current beneficiaries.

Today, committee members expressed disappointment that they were not informed, either at that meeting, or in the intervening period, that the suspension of the schemes was being contemplated.

They have now agreed to invite Dr McLaughlin to address a number of concerns arising from last night’s decision. They said they stand ready “to contribute to a workable, realistic and lawful solution”.

Our committee resolved to continue to closely monitor developments, with the intention of publishing a report with recommendations to the Minister on how a pathway can be found ensure any new schemes are centred on fairness and compassion for those citizens most in need.

Read: Kelleher: Dept of Health ringfence claim “strikes fear into me”>

Read: Enda Kenny accuses opposition of making ‘political football’ of disability cut>

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• They can’t afford 10.1 Million for the disabled in the country.
    Yet for the 266 people in government they can afford travel expenses of 7.2 Million.

Sorry something wrong there when the rich are gettin richer and the poor and vulnerable are being treated lik something the government has stepped on.

We put them in their under false illusions and false promises, so therefore once the first promise was broken they should have been removed from office.

The government and people need to realise that we pay the governments wages and the government works for us…NOT THE OTHER WAY AROUND!

• If the scheme was extended so it was not in breach of the Equality Status Act, it would cost over 300 million per year.

• Well I’d prefer to help the disabled with 300Million, rather than the government pocketing it!

• Politicians have to get paid too, and come up with real solutions – not just populist Sinn Fein type populist tripe responses.

You just said it costs 10 million euro. In reality, it would cost 30 times that figure. The country can not afford that, and we are currently being funded by the IMF-EU. A new scheme is being devised for those who were in receipt of the allowance.

• Really and do you really think that enda Kenny as a “leader” is worth more pay than Barack Obama, I DON’T THINK SO! If we weren’t paying for the sorry mess the previous government got us into and this government are carrying on then none of this would be happening.

• President Barack Obama’s base salary is $400,000 a year, or €306,091. He also has access to a $150,000 expense account as well as a $100,000 tax free travel account and $20,000 entertainment budget.

Enda Kenny wrote to Paymaster General requesting that his TDs salary be cut voluntarily by 5% in 2009. On his first day in office, he took a pay cut from €214,187 to €200,000 (and applied a pay cut to all Ministers).

The latest agreement implements a further 10% cut on his salary which means he earns €185,350 per year, or 60% the salary of Barack Obama. But let me guess, that’s too much – he deserves less than minimum wage for being the Taoiseach of this State.

And it’s a far cry from Bertie Ahern’s self imposed 14% increase to €310,000 which meant he was paid more than the US President, and that’s where you got your out of date statistic from. But then again, shur Bertie had charisma, and that’s why he was voted back in three times in a row by the genius Irish electorate, and shur didn’t he hand the country over in such wonderful condition.

• M Bowe 27/02/13 #

Well lets have the politicians in power do the job they supposed to do. 0.14% from a major international company on profits of €47 billion is not the job they elected to be doing while targeting the disabled.

• Actually after 3 months in office enda raised his wage back up to 210,000, the thousands of travel expenses, never mind their “unvouched for expenses”, and the rest and Gilmore is on 199,4??, so yes and in this era of time in your opinion intake would be

Sur they,ve gr8 charisma that’s why Fianna Fáil has gained more support than Fine Gael .

WE DON’T WANT THAT!

And maybe if the ex-TDS who ruined my beautiful country and its people for the Banks and Bondholders weren’t still getting paid their RIDICOLOUS joke of a “pensions scheme” after 2 years and their eligible for a pension, yet they have the cheek to tell the people who are PAYING THEIR wages that we will have to work to 65 and in 2014 that year will be raised to 70.

Now with the way our country is going in these people’s hands I guarantee you the “famine and war” will be here by 2016.

When 2016 comes they will have their nice fat bank accounts, all their houses paid for, maybe Michael Noonan might even take out another bond.

YOU SERIOUSLY NEED TO WAKE UP!

These people are going to hand our country to our grandchildren shattered and broken.

YET THE GOVERNMENT, NEVER COMPLAIN ABOUT AUSTERITY ON THEMSELVES

• There was never a increase. Catherine Lonergan, you have been spouting misinformation all throughout this thread. Your figures are all completely wrong, maliciously so.

Typing in capital letters does nothing to enhance your point.

• ^ Thank you :)

6 Billion 580 Thousand is what that works out at :)

How much does it take if you take all the WASTE of money out and actually focused on THE COUNTRY and ITS PEOPLE like they were ELECTED to do and SWORE on the CONSTITUTION TO DO.

• Am excuses me but have a look on google their some very good information if you dig hard enough.
      And it goes back as far as Bertie ahern wasting a couple of million on having a wat tower built outside of Dublin which at the current time we are actually paying out more than a million euro to have workers out there doing the job the water tower was supposed to do. Come back to me 2mrw and I will give you every single bit of research I have.

I don’t just dislike this government very much, but the whole concept of this government.

Banks do not come before the future of the children of ireland.

This will stop!

Ad you get your head outta your ass and look into things.

The only thing alive and kicking in this government is GREED.

• It’s time for your bedtime Joe. I think I can hear Enda calling you. P.s. I hope you never have an accident that limits your mobility. It would be interesting though to hear your views from that standpoint.

• Are we 60% the size or population of America????. There is a limit to society and we are judged on how we treat our most vulnerable. Is this in your mind a good way to treat them???. You say we can’t afford it this figure of 300 million was not costed so we don’t know how much it would cost. Granted it would cost money but do you believe them when they say they are going to replace it??. Here are some ideas to save some money Richie bochers pension is 605,000 per year. Micheal fingelton 1 million pay off. Seanie Fitz pension which his wife claims half of as she is entitled by law is around 200,000. These are just a few figures granted a long way short but its about optics if we were being led from the front. Oh and since you seem to support fine geal what about Micheal Lowry??? I’m not any party but can you explain that mans actions as a former member of fine geal and still very friendly with the party ?? Answers please

• How does 10% reduction of 200k =185k no wonder the country’s in the white our taoiseach cant count.

• Thanks for picking up on that Gerladine, I spotted it after I had posted.

It’s 5.5% salary up to €80,000; 8% between €80,000 and €150,000; 9pc % between €150,000 and €185,000; and 10% on earnings over that. which is an effective 7.3% effective reduction.

• So what its not about money its a bit disabled peoplw and their quality of life

• Joe ur an idiot

• Yep joe ur still an idiot are you a Td, you sound like one

• You go girl, you are wiping the floor with that idiots argument

• Well said John

• Do people just see what they want to see on this site..

From the previous article on the disability payments scheme..

” “It is important to note that the decision is in no way intended to save costs and the funding involved in the two schemes (€10.6 million) remains committed to meeting the transport needs of relevant people,” the Department said.”

• The government didn’t need the ombudsman to tell them that their schemes were illegal. They knew that when they introduced them but thought no one would notice or care that they were excluding a section of those that needed the grant. This is another attack on the most vulnerable in society. We have had the cuts to child benefit, respite grants, domiciliary care allowances, medical cards, and they’re just the ones I can think of. When this country was awash with money the politicians were telling everyone in the world who would listen how their care of the vulnerable was setting standards for the world. However, there has been a stony silence now about the plight of the elderly, the poor, and the disabled. The first casualties of war are always the weak and people need to realise that if they don’t make a stand together now there will be no one to help when they come for them.

• Seems like a lot of people end up with a difficulty
    All out of step except himself no doubt

• our Kathleen Lynch has been ‘agonizing’ over this for four years?
    agonizing? ah sure bet she doesnt sleep well!
    its dreadful, the uproar at the renegotiation of the croke park agreement which saw a reduction of 7% in persons pay packets, we see a 20% cut, 20 cut without even being informed, just like that!
    also I dont like the way Doc Reilly looks over the rim of them glasses, so did scrooge.

• The Department of Health is like the Vatican and the Minister for Health and Children is the Pope.

The Ombudsman is trying to bully these kind, loving and gentle creatures. Shame on her. She is a very, very naughty girl.

• I see the Government Spin-Doctor, Joe O Shea is still here mouthing off as usual.

• Does anyone ever take a photo of this guy that doesn’t make him appear evil?

• He must have the same photographer as Ex Pope Benny

• What happened to the Quinn case .. Has it just vanished .. This family owed SO MUCH money .. Cld take us out of austerity !!! What is happening in this country !! Taking from people who cannot afford it .. We gotta keep giving and giving … Im off to Auz in threr weeks m. Gettng a wage 4 times what am on here .. Better life style etc .. But I DONT WANT TO LEAVE MY FAMILY … I FUKING HAVE TO !!!”

• That is just not right Siobhan but unfortunately this pile of sleeveen liars we have the misfortune to call a government and the poor deluded fools that jump to their defence just don’t care.
      All these paracites care about is who will bring the biggest apple to teacher.
      Roll on an election and we can send these sleeveens a message they will never forget .

• mcbab 28/02/13 #

Siobhan. You will need 4 times the wage. Wait until you see the cost of living in Oz!

• Oireachteas committee = Worse than useless.

• A dead ringer for James Robertson Justice.

• This will be there downfall and it should mark as a warning to the next bunch of criminals to run this country

Add New Comment