TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Enda Kenny accuses opposition of making ‘political football’ of disability cut

In heated exchanges in the Dáil this morning, the Taoiseach said the current disability transport payments are “illegal and obsolete”.

The Taoiseach speaking during Leaders' Questions today
Image: Screengrab via Oireachtas.ie

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has accused the opposition of making a ‘political football’ out of the scrapping of two disability transport payments.

In a heated Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil this morning which was dominated by the issue, the Taoiseach said that the current payments scheme is both illegal and obsolete and had to be abolished.

He cited the overall cost of the scheme and said the State simply could not afford to continue paying the money “under the current circumstances”.

Echoing comments made earlier by junior health minister Kathleen Lynch, Enda Kenny said that the €10 million allocated this year for the payments is not being withdrawn but is being ringfenced for people who may need it.

The Taoiseach said the definition of disability has changed completely since 1979 when the criteria for receiving the allowance was first drawn up and accused Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin of having a ‘brass neck’ raising the issue given all the cuts implemented by Fianna Fáil during its time in government.

He said the Government will now have to rise to the challenge of creating a new scheme of access to transport and mobility for people who need it.

Micheál Martin said the Taoiseach was trying to hide the reality of a very severe and unprecedented cut to people receiving just €190 per week.

Disability groups have said the abolition of the Mobility Allowance and the Motorised Transport Grant is “appalling” and will badly affect the 5,000 people in total who receive the money. The two allowances are to be scrapped in four months time and have been closed to new entrants.

Read: ‘Every other option was illegal – Minister defends disability payments cut >

Read: ‘A sick bureaucratic monster’ – Department slammed after disability payments axed >

Read next:

Comments (64 Comments)

• As the independent ERSI about cuts. They have pointed out, over the past 6 budgets, FG/Lab’s 2 were wholely regressive hitting the worst off in society disproportionately harder than anyone else. This move today by the Government is more of the same. Cuts are an unpleasant reality of modern Ireland but there is a fair way to do things, and there is hammering the poorest time and again because it’s easy.

• Reg 27/02/13 #

They need to get a new scheme up and running as soon as possible. But this is largely the fault of your own party Eoin who instead of addressing the service needs of people threw wads of cash at them instead. Also, Emily O’Reilly said that the scheme was not fully compliant with the law and was flagged to the Department of Health about four years ago, unsurprisingly noting happened. Remind me again who was in government four years ago.

• Can agree wit you Reg on lots of things. But if there are legal issues, to simply cut it and wash their hands of the payment without any sort of scheme in place to to replace it is cold blooded. Adding worry and hardship to the family of disabled people is simply not on. Also, the ombudsman stating that the scheme is “not fully compliant with the law” suggests minor tweeks to the legislation may be required. It’s far from the claims today that the scheme is “illegal” (or unconstitutional) and requires immediate scrapping. I fear it’s another cut being dressed up, just like yesterday’s “Existance Tax” (read: broadcasting charge) is simply another tax dressed up as reform.

• Eoin, if the legal issue you’re talking about is the legitimate expectation of those who got the benefit, then this is being catered for by the fact that the €10million has been ring-fenced for this year. Also, the fact that they are attempting to draw up a new scheme now also addresses this issue.
      Reg has a perfectly legitimate point in saying that this was flagged 4 years ago to FF who of course did nothing and now the mess has been left up to this government to clean up. They have to find a way to replace an illegal and discriminatory scheme and this is the fact of the matter.

God, the brass neck of you FFers make me absolutely sick to my stomach. Pure political opportunism that should show people once and for all that you don’t care about this country, but only about getting back in power.

• It’s the respite care grants all over again. (By the way, why haven’t they been reinstated after this miraculous “deal” a couple of weeks ago?!?!)

Ignoreland, first off I have the highest respect for Emily O’Reilly but she is not from a legal background and could well have been wrong about this scheme in the first place, similarly she may be correct. I don’t know, all I have is the word of Enda to go on and that’s not worth much these days.

Secondly, he says the money is “ring-fenced” which means diddly from this government. They have used that term time and again to wriggle out of bad situations. I note that Róisín Shorthall was calmed down temporarily with promises of “ring-fenced” programs and funding and we all know how that went.

Thirdly, if the Government have details why not tell them to the Dáil instead of the childishness we saw from the Government benches again today, treating legitimate questions with contempt. All we know is that these programs are being cut. We know nothing of if there is to be a replacement, if there is, what time frame to introduce it and under what possible outline conditions that may be attached.

The ERSI (as an independent body) have given us the marks for implementing harsh budgets that as fair as possible in the current climate. I don’t need that questioned by an Enda Kenny cheerleader. There are hard decisions to be made but this Government are just hitting the most vulnerable again and again.

• For those who won’t read the report (and I don’t blame you) the reasons why the Ombudsman issued her opinion was because:
      “This was an investigation of a complaint about the refusal of the HSE to award a MTG to a
      young Donegal man. The refusal was on the grounds that the applicant did not meet the
      medical criteria for eligibility. Following a detailed investigation, the Ombudsman upheld the
      complaint. She found that the interpretation of the medical criteria for eligibility used by the
      HSE was unacceptably restrictive and contrary to Equal Status legislation”.

• That report is dated November 2012……….when Fine Gael were in Government. Why 4 months later have they scrapped these schemes then without having their successor ready to go? Typical of this Government, blame Fianna Fáil and hope nobody notices FG/Labour’s incompetence!

• Again, if you read the report, the current scheme:
      “flies in the face of the very explicit 2009 finding of an Equality Officer
      who, in dealing with a similar scheme, was very critical of the “failure to assess the
      intellectual and/or psychological capacity of the applicant in relation to their mobility”.
      2009= FF’s watch.

The scheme has been scrapped but as the funding has been ring-fenced there is no immediate impact of it being scrapped. And you’re rich to have a go at the current government for not having a replacement ready after 3 months, when your party was put on notice 4 years ago.

• From the report: “Between 2009 and 2011 the HSE’s Medical Officers in Donegal had undertaken a review of
      the medical eligibility requirements for the MTG which resulted in a particular interpretation
      of the term “severe disability”……….”

The report was issued on this in 2011.

2011 = FG’s watch. Your party’s policy of trying to blame everyone else for ye’re screw ups ends!

• Oh this is brilliant: http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0227/369771-mobility/

Emily O’Rielly is quoted over on RTÉ and sets the timeframe out exactly in her own words. Furthermore, after her initial report at a subsequent meeting, only 3 weeks ago, the Health Ministers involved gave NO indication the scheme was to be scrapped. This entire diatribe is pure FG waffle again. What’s more, Kenny is accusing others of playing political football, then FG blames FF only to shown up for frauds by the very ombudsman they were trying to implicate in their own game of spin. Priceless!

• I wish they’d make a political football out of his head

• It was pointed out in the Dail yesterday that Greece got all the interest that it paid to the E.C.B. last year ……..
      Ireland paid over 500 million …………
      They went and negotiated the “deal” and didn’t ask for a discount and then when it comes to people’s pay they appear to be able to “force” a discount of the people who voted for them …the term contempt for the electorate springs to mind!

P.S. …… The person who reported me to facebook for not being real has breached my rights for expressing my opinion under the Irish Constitution …… don’t do it again ! actually you can because i have a solicitor hired already so it doesn’t matter ! …apologies to the journal for having to state this but I’m sure you don’t mind seeing as you are well versed in the law of defamation!

• FFS Enda …get a grip …. You & your cronies have kicked disabled people again … The mobility allowance of €208 per month to go …. Give up all of your perks & those of everyone in The Dail ….unvouched for expenses … I’ve never heard the likes of it in all my life ….I worked for years & if I couldn’t provide the reciept I didn’t get paid … SIMPLE

• FG & Labour are engaged in the social destruction of Irish Society.

• Mass emigration, children going to school hungry, attacks on the disabled, stealth taxes by the bucket load, evictions, mass unemployment, suicide …. And still they furiously defend their own grotesque salaries and pensions.

• This is getting worst. I have never seen this in my whole life. People are struggling ENOUGH ENDA!!

• Heard him on the radio this morning claiming savings of up 300 million being made here.
    Think he needs a new calculator.
    And only last week he claimed FF didn’t make enough cuts.
    I just waiting for “the shinners did it!”.
    Talk about pulling the rug out from under people.
    I suppose he’s pulled the wool over peoples eyes so often he’s not used to being questioned.

• And I accuse you Mr Enda Kenny of destroying This Nation and her People by your decisions

• Enda Kenny should give all comments about the disability cuts through the window of his one hundred thousand euro chauffeur driven Mercedes.

• Wheelchair users, rural bus users = Handy option for cuts
    Faceless bondholders Bankers/Civil servants Horribly high pensions=Not an option, sure they pay for FG to operate…
    People when is enough enough….

• Band Number

Distance

Deputies
      Annual
      Dublin

Less than 25km €12,000
      1 25km or more but less than 60km €28,106
      2 60km or more but less than 90km€30,350
      3 90km or more but less than 120km €31,850
      4 120km or more but less than 150km €32,966
      5 150km or more but less than 180km €33,350
      6 180km or more but less than 210km €33,722
      7 210km or more but less than 240km €34,094
      8 240km or more but less than 270km €34,850
      9 270km or more but less than 300km €35,594
      10 300km or more but less than 330km €36,350
      11 330km or more but less than 360km €37,106
      12 360km or more €37,850

Travel allowances gifted to politicans by oddly enough politicans.
      How many peolpe with mobility problems would benefit from these allowances

• Well said Fiona. These guys act like saints, when really they are just stroking every penny they can before they retire to more ridiculous pensions.

Its sick

• Are those figures on top of the €15k in unvouched expenses?

• The unvouched system was replaced this year. However politicians will end up receiving more expenses than before – because the vouched expenses system pays over 60 per cent more than the unvouched model.The 51 TDs who currently opt for the unvouched model are currently entitled to receive €15,000 a year – but those who vouch for their expenses currently receives €25,700 per year. Similarly, each of the 44 Senators who opt for unvouched expenses can only receive €9,250 a year – but this increases to €15,000 for those who are willing to subject themselves to an occasional audit. This means a TD who currently opts against the vouched system, who receives €15,000 a year, will be forced into the vouched model and will have to keep receipts – but will now be entitled to €23,130 per year. Similarly, unvouched Senators will jump from €9,250 to €13,500.

• So Fiona

My local TD (lives in my town) is on a basic of salary of €92,672, plus €15,000 unvouched (I checked), and a distance allowance of €30,350 (checked the distance with Google maps). This brings his grand total to €138,022.

He also owns a pub & part of a family farm. His wife is a full time teacher so let’s say an additional income of €60,000.

That means between him & his wife they have a total pre tax income including expenses of €198,022, of which €45,350 is tax free.

Have I got the right?

No wonder they are struggling to keep their children in boarding schools.

• Feeling the heat dame Enda?

• CLOWNS.

• Ahh yes the typical Enda response…you have a brass neck martin for what FF did..you have a brass neck gerry for what SF have done…you have a brass neck anyone else that has maybe done something in there life..

Its like watching bart simpson..it was’nt me, was like that when I got here ect ect.

• When the next generation look back on all these cuts to the people who need it most while the upper echelons continue life relatively unscathed, they will probably think we were animals..

Much like we look back on slavery & natzism and think how could they, I hope history tells them that we weren’t all like that and a small few of us fought it the best we could.

They’d be right..

• The the Taoiseach shed in his Apology recently are nothing to the tears the disabled will be shedding at this cut ! Shame on you Taoiseach

• The Taoiseach’s smug & dismissive attitude towards the Opposition, when they raise legitimate questions in the national parliament, is easily the biggest problem I personally have with him…

• We need young politicians,people who have no ties to businesses that will benefit from their decisions,who will be here in twenty years to see the outcome of those decisions,and have an interest in the good of their country.What we have at the moment is a bunch of old self serving,money grabbing,THOUGHTLESS,selfish,ignorant,high and mighty,self opinionated,criminally incompetent arse holes.I maintain that their wages should be 100 grand and no more,with no allowances,as they are failing in their jobs.We will see then how much they actually love their jobs,there would be a diaspora of sorts in leinster house.Imagine performance based salaries for the muppets,they would be paying their money back for lack of it.

• When will the people of ireland stand up and be counted? No one gives a monkeys unless if effects them personally in this country…, we need to all stand together now and just say no!
    And Enda in case your reading using the same come back to the opposition week in week out never gets old honestly!

• Michelle, Did you actually look into the detail of this? Or are you just having a lash at Goverment again?? Truth is that this is not fit for purpose and a new appropriate scheme is the correct strategy..

• I’m sick of fg/Labour using the excuse that its all FF fault. They have turned on every commitment they made to the Irish people since coming to power. Enjoy it now lads cuz ye will be out on your ear come election time…

• Yes, but we cannot put FF back in either!!!!!! New politics and political movement needed

• Alan,
      Who you think gave away all this money? Who created the welfare state in order to get re-elected?? Truth is that is is FF fault! They threw money around which ultimately came from Europe and gave increase after increase, grant afte grant… Now we we have nothing and people still think we can have this welfare state.. Grow up the lot of ye!!!

• Im not the one getting ridiculous “mileage expenses” and then turning around and telling disabled people to go and whistle for €100 a month (which is what the majority of people who receive mobility allowance get).
      This is just another example of the “lets screw the little guy” mentality that FG/Labour have clearly adopted as their manifesto.
      My point is that every time they screw the little guy they give us the same old b/s that its all ff’s fault. Time to man up Kenny and admit that your just a puppet being controlled by the masters in Frankfurt.

• Enda doesn’t care. Politicians don’t care. What are we going to do about it?????????????????????

• Ends an his cronies in there almost 2 years an all they have done is cut cut an throw the blame game it’s time they start to look at their self But this cut today is the lowest they have gone

• Take the cash away so that the disabled have no transport.
    That means lots more cash for driving TD’s to and from work.
    Also means more cash for unvouched expenses for…you guessed it…TD’s!
    overpaid TD’s on astronomically bloated & untouchable pensions,
    While the “have nots” feel the dirty hand of the Government in their pockets again.
    And this is only the tip of the Ice-berg.
    I’m actually sick.

• pauric 27/02/13 #

Yes the time has come enda u need to stand up on your own ff that’s excuse u had were tired of it

• 1. You do not cancel this scheme UNTIL you have another one on place !
    2. sick and tired of Enda Kenny telling FF what a mess they made of the country .Let it go …… It’s his standard answer to every question asked by FF . I am no fan of FF but enough is enough ! He acts in the same way when SF makes an objection … He throws their ‘past’ back at them . Show some respect Enda …. Like it or not they are elected representatives of the people of this country !

• Nothing new the FG Landlord party kicking the poor the needy and the dispossessed. Irish people are the football being kicked from austerity goalposts to suit the Troika Referee that FG/LAB/FF are playing for.People need to stand up and remove these parasitic slime from Irish life.

• Some men you just can’t reach…..

• I see Enda’s Spin-Doctor Declan Cotter talking through his arse again? Whats new??? same old Spin shit same same????

• i think that most of you want to show off your phoney prose prowess. A bunch of wind asses.

• The Labour Party seem to be very quite since they got into power with Fine Gael, yet they were party that were shouting the loudest when in opposition. Labour are a party of broken promises, they no longer seem to represent the lower paid and the most vulnerable in society as they (Labour) seem to endorse all the cutbacks and the various charges imposed by the present government, which Labour strongly opposed when in opposition
      A former Labour supporter.

• M Bowe 27/02/13 #

Gilmore’s conservative Labour Party. Only in Ireland……

Add New Comment