TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Phoenix Park stabbings: Man charged over attacks at concert

Nine people were injured in a series of knife attacks at the Swedish House Mafia concert on Saturday night.

The concert site yesterday
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

A MAN HAS been charged after nine people were stabbed at the Swedish House Mafia concert in Dublin’s Phoenix Park on Saturday night.

The 23-year-old accused was arrested following incidents at the concert, which was attended by as many as 45,000 people.

Three men were still being treated in hospital yesterday after the attacks. The nine victims were all men in their late teens or early 20s.

The attacks took place between 8.30pm on Saturday night and 1am on Sunday morning. A number of high-profile acts including rappers Snoop Dogg and Tinie Tempah, and electronic musician Calvin Harris, were also performing at the event.

Yesterday concert promoters MCD issued a statement expressing their disappointment that “an individual or very small number of individuals engaged in anti-social behaviour” at the concert.

MCD managing director Denis Desmond said CCTV footage has been handed over to gardaí.

Another major event took place at the same site last night, with Snow Patrol and Florence And The Machine playing to thousands of fans.

The accused man will appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice in Dublin this morning.

Read: MCD issues statement after stabbings at Phoenix Park concert>

More: Nine stabbed at Phoenix Park concert>

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• It should be attempted murder x9 but its Ireland so expect him to get 18 months max.

• A dirt-bag of the highest order. Just walking around with a knife in the first place is unforgivable. Let him rot.

• Regardless of him being off his head/ hammered, he took a knife with him so was obviously intent on causing trouble from the start.

• Well said Pilib and Ger , guy goes into a concert with knife , means he had intent pure and simple the minute he raised that knife the victims life was in the laps of the gods , thats unprovoked madness , we need a second degree morder carrying a minimum of 15 year with consecutive sentencing or else we are saying to victim that the right to jusctice is subgated by a rights of disgruntled animal filled with hate and self loathing why else would this Am choose a place where people were having fun to carry out his nefarious deed , but you right we get the poor kid never had a chance , he’l get 18 month be ut in 9 , just in time to stab someone next summer!

• Throw his cell key in the Atlantic.

• imagine being afflicted with a terrible taste in music and then getting stabbed for it. however glad no one was killed.

• Aidan 09/07/12 #

People like this need to be put down. Sorry, animals like this.

• Can people not just go out and enjoy themselves these days. no?? Few drinks have the craic. Feck that crap getting wasted and off your head at the concerts. Stupid behaviour!! Security has to be more tight for the gigs. People need to be checked properly going in, Sniffer dogs the whole lot..

• Hope all the victims make a full recovery, such a shame the event had to be marred by such a terrible incident. I agree that the person responsible should be tried for attempted murder as should anyone who goes out armed with a weapon of any kind, to me that shows intent. We need to get tough , our laws need changing to allow for tougher sentences in cases like this, and quickly too.

• he’s probably having the COMEDOWN FROM HELL atm….hope it drags for him

• @ Scarr, well said

• Scarr 09/07/12 #

Booze would do the job. Unless drink is safe now? I always get the impression that with these types of comments people think the offender is some LSD / crack smoking maniac. I would be of the opinion that it’s just some drunken, unemployable low-life, that are dotted all over this country, but are very much the minority. You don’t need illegal drugs to be an aggressive tool.

• Swedish House Mafia made a statement of acknowledgement of the incidents on their FB page but won’t be commenting in detail until all legal matters are cleared up:

“We played a festival in Ireland at the weekend and reports of incidents are coming to us. We didn’t see anything but have asked for all the info and are respectful of the promoter’s need to wait and give us all the clear facts. When we know more we will liase with the Festival promoter directly on what we can do to help but for now we have to respect their request to us that we remain quiet and respectful of their event safety processes. The festival itself was amazing and we had no idea this had happened and neither did the other numerous artists who played. Once we know all the facts we will deal with it in the best way we can. Thank you. Swedish House Mafia.”

• seriously, some of the opinions expressed here are not very far away from the violence they condemn. knee jerk idiocy as per usual in ireland.

• Jonno 09/07/12 #

True, my comments were like that but should he be Hugged into line? Maybe at some stage we can say, if you value the lives of others so little your willing to consciously look at another human being and DECIDE to stab them with a knife knowing full well what the implications of such an action are and u KNOW they may die! Yet you still decide that for whatever sociopathic reasons that drive you to attempt to take someone’s life purposefully, we as a community should not cast this bastard out, treat him accordingly. Show him the pain he has

• Let’s hope planning for the next open air Rap and Trance concert is refused.

• Yeah, because its totally all those rap and trance heads that are responsible for all the world’s problems…

• Aidan 09/07/12 #

Foolish comment to say the least. Let’s ban cars because some people speed.

• Open air rap and trance concert? When was the last one as a matter of interest Brian? No trance acts performed at this event.

• Jeez Brian, take it easy with the generalisations.

• I was at the concert and I enjoyed the acts so much. I have been to concerts such as In my hometown of Belfast and all over the world and I’ve never seen anything like what I saw at this concert!! I’m ashamed to say I’m irish. Yes you are right, such scenes were not at the stone roses the previous night. However, what I think is that many of those attending are either drug gangs or thugs, police should have been watching for this, or kids who come in frm small towns and go mad on drinks and drugs. I didn’t see a gard the whole time I was in the actual concert grounds and I wasnt blocked or taking stuff!! I read in the paper knives and hammers taken off concert goers- were they arrested?, it doesn’t say!! I think you are totally right- Dublin cannot handle such an event. It’s a shame:(

• It wasn’t trance music? Don’t be ridiculous, you cannot cancel future events such as these, that’s a complete disfavor to the majority that attended for the craic with friends & the music. Rather introduce better screening etc. consider all of this before you point the finger.

• One thing I noticed that no one in the media picked up on. Last year SHM had a hit with Antidote which was done in collaboration with a duo called Knife Party. Just saying…..

• I live in the area and the behaviour from the people on Saturday was the worst I seen all weekend. By one o’clock in the day the amount of drunk people running up and down the street and in front of cars was shocking – and that was way before any music had started. Don’t get me started on the litter. You do have to wonder what it says about some of the people who follow that type of music given that the crowds at the Stone Roses and the Snow Patrol/Florence and the machine gig where behaving like angels in comparison.

• inane comment

• Richard, hope that Knife Party gaff was just you being funny!! :) Knife Party consists of the boys in Pendulum, who I met when they played in the RDS a few years back…decent lads in fairness and a concert that had zero trouble. EDM has always struggled to shake off this image of bad behaviour associated with the genre. Its not a good reflection of the scene either…I go to many of these types of gigs and certainly wouldn’t see anything like that carry on at them.

• Scarr 09/07/12 #

@ Waterford – I’ve been in you recently and it was no picnic either let me tell you.

• I hope that lessons are learned here that the north side should not have any more of these events, I mean they moved the gigs from the fine green leafy suburbs of marley park in the south side and what do we have???
    3 dead from overdoses and 7 stabbings!! COME ON PEOPLE!!

• Scarr 09/07/12 #

The leafy green suburb brigade have done enough damage already thank you very much. :)

• Jonno 09/07/12 #

3 died from overdoses aswell?! well maybe Dublin shouldn’t be gettin the majority of events then. How boy we spread concerts across the whole country instead on centralizing everything to a Non central city

• As someone from the Northside I find your comment completely ignorant and offensive. There are knackers everywhere. I hope you were taking the p*ss

• @mark that comment you made is completely ridiculous, I experienced similar goings on in a Marley Park at FBS 2 years ago, and was innocently attacked plus there was stabbings that day also and multiple arrests, to blame the location is dumb,I wonder if people were I’d on way in seeing this was an over 18 gig

• I would like to thank all the poor little rich kids for again highlighting the problems in this country sorry for those who were injured

• Dublin is some dump!

Add New Comment