TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Are you in favour of water charges?

Water charges will be good for the environment but will also mean another household bill for homeowners (and tenants). So what do you think – good thing or not?

Image: dr_relling via Flickr

A SIX-WEEK PUBLIC consultation on changes to how Ireland manages its water services began today.

Minister Phil Hogan has said that 90 per cent of homes will have metres installed by 2014 when charges will set in.

A new State-owned utility called Irish Water will take over responsibility for the delivery of water services and up to 2,000 jobs will be created.

The Minister previously advised that providing households with unlimited supplies of water free of charge is unsustainable. The OECD has also criticised Ireland for its failure to charge on the basis of usage, stating that there was zero incentive to save water and minimise waste.

So the Government, the EU and the OECD believe charging for water is a good thing. However, a campaign against water charges has been set up as opponents of the move believe it is not about the environment but more about raising revenue.

Today we are asking which side of the debate you are on.

Are you in favour of water charges?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (154 Comments)

• Gavin 16/01/12 #

A sure as eggs are eggs most of the money we pay for water charges will be used to pay off our bank debt

• I wouldn’t mind a water charge so long as it went to repairing broken pipes, providing clean water to all houses.

Currently I need to filter it due to how hard the water is.

But I presume that all the raise income will be used to pay the richest in Europe.

• Don’t be conned folks. Just like the bin tax, this is another public service that is being prepared for privatisation. That’s why the meters are being installed – so it can be commodified and sold off to the likes of Veolia in a few years. At which point you’ll be paying your income tax (if you still have a job) – except that the services which you used to get provided for your tax (like bin collection and water supply) will now be owned by private entities and will be charging you through the nose for it. In the UK the water supply was metered and privatised under Thatcher yet it did nothing for conservation. The UK still uses approx the same quantity of water per household as Ireland. All these extra taxes will further deflate the economy by sucking yet more money out of people’s pockets, while logic would dictate that if conservation of a precious utility were the goal wouldn’t the money being wasted installing meters in every home be better used fixing and upgrading the pipe network (which loses 40% of the supply through leakage)?

• Diary entry for the 1st of Jan 2014: The New Year is upon us again. I managed to pay my TV license, Refuse tags, Car, home and health insurance in December. The kids presents were not cheap either. Now I just need to get €300 together for my household charge and to keep in mind I will be paying water charges this year.

Diary entry for the 1st of Jan 2020: TV license, refuse tags, car, home, health, household and water charges all paid in Dec. This year the kids have had no presents but have gotten jobs to help the household cope with the new toaster license, skin charge and existence tax that the government are planning to levy.

Diary for the 1st of Jan 2026 entry: Ireland has just gotten its fourth bailout so its going to be a tough year ahead. With my TV license, refuse tags, car, home, health, household, water charges, toaster license, skin charge and existence tax all paid I somehow need to find money for my heart beat charge, neighbor license and consciousness tax. I can’t sell blood anymore since peoples blood meter payments hit an all time highy last year but at least I don’t need to worry about the grandchild charge as my kids can’t afford to reproduce since they introduced the sex tax.

Diary for the 1st of Jan 2032 entry: Since the bailout company had to be bailed-out last year the government introduced a failure to receive a bailout tax for all citizens. The new company that bailed-out the original bailout lenders has decided to impose a worldwide bailout charge for bailing-out the bailoutters. My wife went insane last year, unfortunately there is a tax on that. I’m trying to stay positive though, I thought the death tax was one of the better austerity measures introduced by the government. A lot of people have stopped dying in order to save money. I think I’ll join them.

• If a fair allowance is given to each household with no exceptions and the money is ring-fenced into improving the state of the water network to reduce on the massive waste…Yes, I’d be in favour of that.

If extra allowances are given to certain households and the money just goes to the general exchequer, then no, I wouldn’t be in favour.

• I voted No, not because I have any issue with Water being a paid for resource but because this is simply another tax that is likely to end up just going into the general pot with everything else and won’t lead to any increased security of supply or any significant reinvestment in our water infrastructure.

• Yes but only for going over a reasonable amount. I.e the average amount a household should need. And not because I’m in favour of taxing, just to stop people using a wasteful amount of water. E.g leaving taps on at night!

• I will have no problem paying for it, just as long as the money gained from it is put back into fixing and improving the the ancient water systems we have.

• What we need is efficient water management policies then one can talk about charges.

• Lads, c’mon will ye? It is quite wrong to impose a water tax on us at this time of austerity measures. If we are to pay the trioka for ‘lending’ us money to pay them back, don’t you think a right minded government would hold off on water metering/conservation? The answer is simple folks, this is not a measure about water wastage, it’s only a revenue stream to rape us once again.
    So to any of you thinking this tax is a ‘good thing’, I urge you to think again. In a well balanced, operating society, water tax may be workable. Not when it’s being implemented as a revenue earner to pay the trioka.

• I don’t think people should have to pay for the water they need. I think that a reasonable free allowance should be introduced, say 75L per person per day, with charges being applied for excessive consumption only. People who leave taps running, fail to fix leaks or dripping taps, or otherwise waste water put up taxes for the rest of us. There should also be more pressure on councils to fix the leaks in the system as this is probably where most water is lost.

• I’d like to find out now what income tax pays for, considering they’ll probably tax us for breathing next.

• I ALREADY pay for my water through a Group Water Scheme.

• as per usual we will have the same people exempt for this charge ,,, if you own your home in this country your fair game for every charge under the sun , now there is the next tax …light tax ,,, charge per window as pre famine days

• I don`t see why the government need to charge us for the water, if they stopped paying massive sums of money to Fertlizer industries in the Netherlands for toxic Hydrofluosilicic acid, that they then spend even more money on pumping into our water supply to poison us. It`s funny our government spends a fortune buying left over mining refuse to force medicate us with the belief that it is some how good for us, yet the country we get the “Fluoride” off has completely banned water fluoridation. It`s bad enough getting this toxic sludge out of our taps for free let alone having to pay for it.

• Toxic sludge? Yeah, I see people dropping in the street every day from flouride poisoning. Dial back the crazy there a notch or two and people may listen more.

• Crazy ….. How is it crazy to imagine that an incredibly harmful substance put into water can in turn make that water a dangerous substance. No you certainly wont find people dropping on the streets but if you go to any hospital or A&E you will certainly see the side effects, Ie the shocking rise in osteoporosis, irritable bowel syndrome, arthritis and thyroid dysfunctions in Ireland and any other of the few remaining bastions of Fluoridation. I don`t know why I am debating with you though as from what you have written and from what I have seen of you on here before you have little to add to any practical level headed debate.

• A couple more glasses over here for P Wurple please. The sedation is wearing off!!!

• I’d like to see a referendum on it actually, and any pro fluoride input from Dr. O’Mullane, UCC, (he is one of the main pushers of mass fluoridation, WHO associated) be put aside and have only actual factual health pro’s and cons highlighted, given the fact we are the last democratic country to mass fluoridate yet any mass effort or questions asking why or why not we can stop this, gets stonewalled and the same “its prevents tooth decay in children” crap. We have as high tooth decay levels as countries which does not mass fluoridate and what about the fact O’Mullane has admitted that 50% of children in fluoridated areas have dental fluorosis, the first indicator of fluoride poisoning. His main objective is that we all have a continuous level of it in our saliva to prevent decay, without applying credit to the fact that its also mass poisoning over a live time.

Yes, P Wurple, it is toxic, one of the worst known to humans, and it is at a 25-40% concentration within water and other heavy metal poisons making it a toxic sludge.
      Albatros and Chemifloc have been on off supplying this to the Irish Govt. for decades.

• Damhsa. Left a post re same above. De Burka case 1973. Right to bodily integrity. They can’t charge us while adding harmful chemicals. ;)

• Where to start… I shouldnt even both rising to this where there are claims of 40% concentration of it in water. Do you even understand how a percentage works? 60 % water and 40% fluoride, come on!

Heavy metal? Reconsult your periodic table. Nothing of the sort. Light halogen if anything! It is also perfectly natural substance which is also in most food you eat, plus the soil everything grows in. The health benefits are well documented, especially here in ireland, where our dental compliance isn’t the best.

And Democratic countries who add fluoride? Try australia, sweden and france (added to all salt in france) for a start.

Guys, i am all for a reasonable debate, but let us start by making it reasonable. :)

• I’m talking about the sludge as that’s the form it is imported in, not that there is 40% concentration in the water supply. We dont use actual fluoride in the water in its crystalised/powder form as its far to expensive and the govt would have to actually pay for it. Currently it is brought in from Denmark or Finland or hmm I believe used to to be made in wexford at a fertilzer plant during the 80′s/90′s. This is a deemed as expensive plant waste and is donated to the councils. where they only pay for shipping and upkeep of vehicles used. The levels in the water supply are of the scale of 1.3 – 3ppm but it is has been found to be much higher.
      U hear over and over again that the Govt. deem it necessary to add it to our water when it’s been banned outright in over 20 countries and deemed actually unethical to mass fluoridate! Where does good auld Ireland see itself as indifferent to the conclusions of so many other countries yet you can only name a three. France adding it to salt is different in two ways, one being its not mass administered, dont like fluoride, dont take salt and two it’s not the same chemical as the poison put in our water.

• I’d like to make a correction to the amount of fluoride added to tap water, its currently from the Progress Report on Fluoride issued by the Dept.. of Health

“The lowering of the amount of fluoride being added to water from 0.8-1.0mg/l to 0.6-0.8mg/l”
      And from an official at Inniscarra Water Works:
      - The PPM of fluoride is 0.6 – .08.
      - The PPM of fluoride used to be 0.8 – 1.2 until a Task Force approached MFH Mary Harney
      and Chemifloc Limited sources hydrofluorosilic acid from a plant (i.e. factory) named Derivados Del Fluor in Cantabria, Spain. Not Denmark or Holland as I had previously thought.

“Each batch of HFSA 10.9% that is produced by the supplier has a representative sample taken and analysed and a Certificate of Analysis is produced stating the actual test results”
      Not 25-40% concentration in the sludge is its imported in as I claimed earlier.
      I had been a some time since I had read into the subject.

• All credit to my local County Council for their promptness in sending out their rapid response team (2years and 2 months later) to repair a burst underground pipe that has been spewing water for almost all of that time. But in fairness, after about 6 months they did block off that part of the road so cars wouldn’t fall through the rapidly collapsing road and manhole……….This is the main reason that I would be reluctant to pay for water. If an appropriate management of our water supply was in operation I would certainly be willing to pay, but there is just too much waste from the water management team to convince me that this wouldn’t be just more money down the drain….

• Water charges are fine as long as the money is there for improving the water systems, fixing and even better replacing the old mains. Also providing water that is drinkable and does not need to be boiled or doesn’t stink of chlorine. However if water charges come in just to collect revenue and nothing changes, then it’s not done for the right reasons.
    Also there should be education companies on using water scarcely and given people an idea what is an adequate amount of water for a family per month.
    I for example live in Estonia at the moment and I go through 1 cubic meter of cold and warm water, this is apparently just right.

• I have no problem paying for water I use if it is clean and available all year round. If I am charged for the water which comes trough my taps now ( which I have to filter to drink) and still gets cut off 2/3 times a year, I will have issue. I will read every term and condition associated with the new bill I’ll be receiving. I will not pay for water I cannot drink.

• There are morons who waste sooo much water. For example those clever clogs who leave their taps running overnight. I would consider myself to be responsible with the water I use. I do believe the fair way to do this is to have it capped at a certain amount for free water (a reasonable amount for day to day usage) and then begin to charge after that. That I do not mind in the slightest. I do feel that there is sooo much waste due to these idiots that the rest of us now have to suffer the consequences by means of a water tax.

• I don’t know brendan, I think we were fed that line rip cover up for the fact that huge amounts of water are lost through the pipes. There are some people who stupidly do that with their taps but I don’t think that they are the reason we are going to be charged. If the councils had invested in fixing and upgrading the system there wouldn’t be so much water wasted. I personally haven’t decided on it yet. But I think paying water charges would annoy me less than paying the household charge (which I am definitely nit paying).

• One of our neighbors went away for a couple weeks last winter when we had the bad freeze. He left his taps on just enough that there was water constantly dribbling. He expected it would prevent his pipes from freezing in his absence. Then one evening when the weather got really bad, his mother came over in a fit of upset because the pipes had frozen the burst and water was coming trough the ceiling from the upstairs bathroom. Also floods on the downstairs floors from that and bathrooms on that level. Of course, contractors put in TWO mains shut off valves . . . one behind the dishwasher, which meant knocking though the cabinets to get at it because the dishwasher feet were cemented into the floor(!), and the other behind the clothes washer in the utility room! Fortunately for them we’d had a minor burst in our downstairs shower (no damage thank goodness) and found the valves the previous day so we know just where to go. But still, crazy places to put mains!

Fortunately we’re just renting this house. Our owned house with the well is in West Cork and currently up for sale.

Anyway, imagine . . . leaving your taps on and going on holidays!

• what a lot of people seem to misunderstand is that water charges are really for the cost of waste water treatment as much as providing clean water and the environmental concerns of both processes. But having said that, personally I’m sick of all the individual charges. I’d rather they just increase income taxes than all this messing for this and household charges etc. Also saves the pretence that these charges only serve themselves rather than one giant government account.

• Reg 16/01/12 #

No way! The user should pay, why should I subsidise someone who’s really wasteful of water. Water is a utility just like electricity, gas etc. Time to get used to that fact.

• made 16/01/12 #

I would imagine the 10% could be people in rural Ireland who have their own well and water pump. Anyone with their own well will not have to pay the water charges.

• well its not about saving water, if it was they’d fix all the leaks nationwide and save a whole lot of H2O. So revenue collecting exercise, another one! Sounds better than a property tax though at least its paying for a service of some sort and employs people.

• Unless the charge is used to fix the large scale leaking in our water system or general improvements to the system itself then I would not be in favor of a water charge.

• We are already now being taxed just for owning/using a home and surely water use should be part of that – not an additional charge!
    To me, its a a double tax! Another way to screw us all out of more money when we are now paying for our house already.

• Biggins 31
      I seem to be agreeing with you a lot recently. Yes I agree with you here too. I am amazed at the fact that it is all decided and arrangements are in place already. Well I will not be paying the house hold charge , however we can not live without water and the metre will be installed, we will not have a choice but to pay.
      I am angry all the time when I read all of these austerity measures.

• http://irishthoughtsandall.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/household-charge-how-to-legally-avoid-paying-it/

This has been doing the rounds on Facebook in relation to the household tax? Does anyone know if it is true or not?

• Thank you Eileen – maybe you should consider joining the IDP – LOL

Anyway, don’t others get me wrong – everyone should pay something for use of clean water – considering how much it costs to get it clean, the maintaining of piping systems etc…
      When we pay for the use of something though – we know the money we pay is going towards something directly related to it.
      (…So where does that leave the home owners tax? Where’s that money going to?)

A further thought:
      When you get charged for something, usually you know your getting charged for something your using.
      Fair enough but we are getting charged now for a home we are using – one that most of use are still in the process of separately paying off in mortgage payments – so if they are going to charge us for water in that house, at the very least water consumption should be at least part of the final eventual bill for everything under that one roof, going to the government alone?

How many charges does FG & Labour think they can add on for four walls and a roof, payable to them?
      Whats next? A tax for having a drive way or a garden?

• hadn’t seen that gareth. I was actually wondering why we aren’t getting a bill. I haven’t registered and won’t be paying so we shall see.

• @Gareth and Niamh: The premise of that blog entry is flawed and the easiest answer to avoid typing for hours to come is No, that is not true. The household charge unfortunately has the force of law and if you ended up in Court you would have to pay it. You can’t ignore statute, it is the law, there is no issue of consent on it. If you want to bring such issues up then theoretically you consent to it by electing the government of the day (regardless of whether you voted, or who you voted for). Having said that though it is highly unlikely you will end up in Court over not paying the charge, but they’ll find other ways to take it off you. Why they are not sending out bills is more than likely to avoid the time it would take, the amount of paper, and postage it would cost, tracking down all addresses and who owns them, its just simpler to have everyone register themselves and pay at their own convenience.

• Thanks for the reply Tobias.

• Depends where you live Biggins. I’ll be paying the household charge because I’m an owner occupier (once mortgage paid off aged 70, anyway). Being a rural dweller, I’ll also pay the septic tank fee. Not too worried as the house is a recent build. The tank/percolation area conforms to a high standard. Rather surprisingly, we had a water meter installed almost as soon as the announcement was made some time last year. Surprising? Well yes. We’re on a group water scheme (so no fluoride). Like many rural dwellers, we’ve paid towards our water supply for years. Like many middle-income families we can well afford these charges. If Ireland had a property tax during the “Tiger” years, we’d be in less of a mess now. Instead the state relied on stamp duty, VAT and other income streams from the property boom. If we’d had water charges, we might be less wasteful and demand a quality, leak-free supply (thinking of Galway, Ennis, etc).

If people on good incomes were prepare to pay a decent rate of tax to support those less well-off, we wouldn’t be witnessing the decimation of health, education and social welfare services. Anyone seen the HSE service plan. Now that’s something to be worried about…

• Absolutely agree with charging for water. Sadly, as shown with the plastic bag tax, it is only when it effects people’s pockets that they put any value on things.
    Am concerned though about extra 2,000 jobs to enforce this!!!
    Surely we just redeploy some civil servants from areas where efficiencies are promised and supposedly on track anyway!!
    We should pay for (and value) clean water, not pay standing charge (additional house tax) to cover additional 2,000 public service jobs.

Chris, Cork.

• limofax 16/01/12 #

I’m only paying for fluroide free water. Will there also be a guarantee that this water company will never be privatised?

• I cannot understand how the minister believes that a massive 90% of houses can have water installed. A large proportion of Rural Ireland’s water is supplied by local community groups or through private schemes. My house receives water from a network of pipes originating in local mountain streams. In order for the water to be potable, I had to buy an expensive system which is installed in my kitchen and uses a lot of electricity to operate. When there is a problem, a neighbourhood work gang is put together to sort it out. How on earth can water like this be metered?

If – and that is a big ‘IF’ – clean drinking water without added chemicals is provided to households as a service, then its provision would necessarily involve costs which should be contributed to by the customer. Any State body which charges the public must be totally transparent and be able to show that all monies received are used for the provision and maintenance of the service and not passed on to central government. Under these conditions, a charge for metered water usage is perfectly acceptable in any country. However, I can’t imagine the Irish government is capable of providing this type of service.

• I said “no” but… If there is a water service that works then I’m not opposed to a charge but.. If I’m paying for water I expect it to be always available (problems will happen occasionally) and at a reasonable pressure. Meaning it reaches the attic at all times to fill the tank. Oh and the price does not become prohibitive as with all our other costly services. I don’t think that’s too much to ask for!

• Does anyone know whether those that have their own, independent supplies will get bills for this tax?

• Todo 16/01/12 #

If the water charge was for:- Only the water I use and not that wasted. Pure water – no flouride added. Minimum cost involved in delivery – not subsidising bond holders banks or others. AND If my tax was reduced because of a reduction in water spending. AND If no direct private profit has to be subsidised through shares. AND water is delivered to a recogniseed international standard for pressure and purity then OK Otherwise, ahem, NO.

• its stupid being charged for a property you own’ and as irish people we should be entitled to its natural resources’ if its an issue that we are using way to much water for our personal needs then a better solution would be to install meters that would limit usage on a 24hour basis’ and that could be calculated on family size’ and for the cost of these meters to be installed could be paid from the property tax that we have to pay…..

• Well said Paul. You crack me up!

• Water charges are justified so long as they are fair and do not subsidise other deficits. The group water scheme I subscribe to has meters in place but still charges a flat rate. This is wrong. I don’t mind paying for what I use, no more, no less.

• I seen this pop up in a few comments ‘people who leave their taps on at night’. Do people actually do this and if yes, why? I’m just curious.(And a tad confused!) o_O

• Not sure but presumably taps left on during cold spells to supposedly stop pipes cracking?

• I know, its a strange practice. People do it when weather is cold to stop their pipes freezing….stupid wasteful people.

• Gottcha! Cheers guys.

• I can’t believe people actually do that by the way. I agree with Niamh, I find it very strange and incredibly wasteful.

• Why all of a sudden We have to pay Water Charges and Home Tax?? It’s to pay Over paid Bankers and Developers, BONDHOLDERS ,and the Extremely Over paid Politician… The pipes will still be leaking millions of galloons per day and the old rusty pipes will not be replaced even serviced
      And suddenly anyone who is leaving taps running over night are being called names Well back in the days Folk were always advised to keep taps running to keep their taps from freezing and clear .
      Being charged for water us the very same as the Home tax given that we pay taxes from our income and that us to cover all local expenses we also pay PRSI AND USC,s and we still have to pay for our casualties and when are people going to cop on to the brain washing of the politicians my home has not cost anyone else in this country one cent and never will it cost me plenty of worry,sweat and sometimes tear but I got there without ever costing the state one cent but through this Government I NOW HAVE TO PAY THIS GOVERNMENT RENT FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE we struggled to buy our own like the Million and a half other home owners what was it all for I ask

• I meant to say I will be paying rent to this government on My own home for the rest of my life????

• Apologies bernadette, I should have said people stupidly wasting resources.

• There’ll have to have a referendum re water charges I’d say. We have a constitutional right to running water in our homes. It’s never been challenged though that’s why only businesses have been charged thus far.

• Now its the water charge on top on all other household taxs. Seriously what is the paye tax for. .Income levy ,household charge, bin tax, water rates Really if i was on social welfare and was not trying to buy my house would i have all these charges. we are surrounded by water build a desalanision plant.

• Reg 16/01/12 #

Desalination plants are really expensive to run. They use a lot of energy.

• There’s no need for a desalination plant. At present the majority of waste in our water supply comes from leaks in the mains – which need fixing, but the fact that they expect us to front up on the understanding that they will fix it is laughable. They made no effort to fix it before when they were raking in the tax during the boom..

• Following your line there, Tom. You could have got a shovel, dug up some rocks and clay. A saw and cut down some trees. And built your house for nothing. Luckily, you had a magic wand…

• JR 16/01/12 #

The last two winters, I’ve lost my water for a total of 6 weeks. The council refuse to fix the pipes.

I’m not paying for water until they do their job. They signed off on incorrectly laid pipes in the first place and those pipes are not in a place where I can legally get them fixed myself.

So no, I won’t be paying it regardless of whether they bring it in or not. I’m not paying something for nothing.

• sarah 16/01/12 #

If they put a water softener to the meter I’ll pay. I live in a hard water area yes it apparently good for u but not for my 2nd kettle in 4yrs, Which I have to descale on ever month and my washing machine which after 4yrs has given up the ghost because of the limescale build up and yes I wash on a 30 degrees cycle and use tablets for that to!

• Sank my own well 260 feet down 2 years ago. Water bill was 26 + vat per quarter for man in van + €1.10 per 1000 litres + vat. Even small households will end paying €500 easily. Mine was €3800 now it is barely €250 for electricity. This
    Money will go to county councils who are quite capable of waisting it. €800 a week for a man leaning on a shovel waiting to shove in a few stones that the JCB left after him. If engineer is not present JCB must be left running. I personally KNOW of one job where 4 workers never done a thing for 4 days with JCB running for 4 days, they were waiting to dig up manholes but had to wait for the road to be tarred first. Lovely road Thursday evening, Friday evening, big patches tore up, riddled with potholes now, 6 months on.

• If there is an allowance of water first. Then I have little issue with the remaining amount be charged once one goes over the limit,but the limit should be enough to allow for basic water usage .So that the poor will not have to go without.
    Would it not be easier to stanardise all these charges Septic Tank-Water-Houshold Charge-Bin Charges and just call it a Council Tax.LIKE Every other country in the world has

• Who are the 10% who won’t have to pay…..the usual suspects I presume…

• Jimmy 16/01/12 #

It would just go into the pockets of Goldman Sachs

• I’m expecting to see an overwhelming “no” response to this. As a nation, we don’t really seem to get the idea of paying for a scarce resource.

(Cue all the geniuses claiming that clean drinking water isn’t a scarce resource in Ireland because it rains a lot.)

• Sorry I’m 5 minutes late Paul but here I am. Don’t want to pay for water because it rains too much.

• @Réada: no problem. Collect the rainwater and use it. Disconnect your house from the water main. Problem solved.

• I’d agree with them, as long as each house is given a certain amount for free i.e an amount for washing cleaning and drinking and then anything extra is paid for.

• We have far from clean drinking water in the first place as it is, the smell from the tap most days knock me back until the tap runs for a minute or two. How in earth can another govt. run (revenue making) scheme provide any cleaner or better water?
      Saying that, if they promised not to add Hydrofluorosilicic Acid to my drinking water I may consider it. I’d pay for the choice of not being poisoned even though I shouldn’t have to in the first place.
      Its a known poison and is illegally added to our water. Quit their lies and 1950s rhetoric

http://www.fluoridefreewater.ie/

• When they stop adding the sedative to the water come back to me Paul, we have the highest amount of fluoride added to our water in Europe. :-)

• Aydo 16/01/12 #

So what paid for the water originally?
      I know it’s quite an expensive process and the amount wasted here (a lot due to shitty old pipes) is just not acceptable.

• Exactly @Reada .. if they stopped adding fluoride I wouldn’t mind paying for it. Safe, clean drinking water straight from the tap sounds like a great idea. As it is, no way.

• The flouride arguments are pretty specious. You’re paying for your water supply now through central revenue – if you don’t want flouride in it, campaign to have it removed. Conflating the flouride issue with the question over billing for usage is disingenuous, at best.

• Right to bodily integrity. Constitutional right

• Muc Beag 16/01/12 #

@Réada

Wrong.

In Ryan v AG, Supreme Court ruled that the fluoridation of the public water supplies did not breach one’s right to bodily integrity, which was also only recognised for the first time in that case. You’re about 40 years too late with that rhetoric I’m afraid.

• Levels are higher now muc beag. And we still have a constitution. For now…

• Muc Beag 16/01/12 #

Level of fluoride wasn’t/isn’t the issue, it was the fact that there’s zero scientific evidence to support the claims that you make. Read the judgments.

And yeah, if Labour get their way and draft a new constitution you can kiss goodbye to that unenumerated right as well as the dozens of others created by the Supreme Court since 1965.

• Muc. Fluoride is the issue now! Do you work for the government? Obviously not Labour!

• Muc Beag 16/01/12 #

You’re still missing my point entirely. I’m going to stop bothering now.

• do not want extra charge because already pay for it aka, paye ,vat on food ussc,vrt,overcharging on heating oil,subsidise people who never payed a penny tax in the country in their lives overpaid pensions to the golden circle how much more need i go on we just can not keep scraping the barrel

• Water’s a very expensive commodity. The only way that we, as a nation, will start understanding that value is if it is metered. I simply cannot understand all these eejits who claim that water charges are a double tax; is your ESB bill a double tax? Your UPC bill? Your Sky bill? Services are not free.

• It is a double tax as revenue from taxes currently pays for its provision. Revenue from taxes do not go to the ESB, UPC or Aer Lingus. The current water supply of course isn’t free, it’s paid for by all of us already with our taxes.

• Reg 16/01/12 #

So Brian, why are we having to borrow heavily to fund services if our current level of taxes pays for everything?

And before you mention bailing out the banks, we still have a substantial budget deficit before one penny goes to the banks.

• What about those of us who are on private wells? Will they meter us too?

• as far as im aware if its underground on your property its yours

• Diego,
      That’s what I thought. We’re not on city or county mains and we handle our own septic. And when the water pump goes out, or anything in our pumphouse, we pay for it. We’re not reliant on the council for anything in that respect so I wouldn’t expect to be charged.

In that respect, I wonder what’s stopping more people from drilling wells of their own (aside from being in a city/town limit, that is)

• Should I presume that if we are not allowed a certain amount of water before metering kicks in….some of us will no doubt get hit twice….at home & in the gym.

• Despite all the rain we are having the levels in our reservoirs have dropped a few meters in the last couple of years and haven’t replenished, and it cant be attributed solely to bad piping. It’s because of the changing weather patterns, instead of getting a near constant drizzle during the winter months we’re getting short heavy downpours that go straight out to sea instead of into the ground water. Unfortunately something has to be done to discourage wasteful usage of water.

• I beleive that even if you have your own well sunk, you will still be liable to pay for the water as , all the natural resources belong to the state

• *campaigns

• As most people have said once a certain reasonable allowance (did I read somewhere a level of 41 litres per person per day) is free of charge then it makes sense to meter water so the those who use more of it pay. It will be interesting to see how this is applied to businesses and offices.

Water is going to be one of the most precious resources of the 21st as growing population look for access to clean water. We need to start looking at our water usage now and conserving it as much as possible. If the climate change predictions are correct Ireland is facing drier winters over the coming years so we could be seeing more and more drought conditions if we don’t start conserving now. IT goes without saying though that the revenue generated should feed back into maintaining and upgrading the system.

There is also the upside that installing water meters nationwide will generate employement over the next two years.

• jimbo 16/01/12 #

no more charges water is free is breathing charges next

• Check out this video! :-) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHw-eYNW5xI

• As a nation we’re happy to condemn every new tax and avoid every old one while still demanding that “the government” provide services left, right and centre.

As a nation … we’re a bunch of idiots.

• I sell water conservation products…cha-ching.

• If the money collected was used to supply clean water free from chlorine, pesticides, aluminium, and all the other poisons currently included FREE of charge, the savings on medical care would be substantial.

• You are all a load of ARMCHAIR MOURNERS,”DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT”

• Go check out the Surface Tension exhibition in the Science Gallery on water before it closes at the end of the week. http://www.sciencegallery.com/surfacetension

Install water collection butts to collect water running off the roof for use in your garden (or even for flushing toilets).

Most other countries charge for water – in the UK I pay a charge for waste water/sewage and a charge for water usage, both on my water bill to one of the privatised water companies.

An independent company being set up for water, with regulated prices (to ensure cost of capital is met) is a better option than the government collecting – then it is clear it is not a tax but a service charge.

• Water is Free in this Country, and the Government Doesnt have arght to Charge us For Water< so We either Pay or we Say No" but Remember Phil Hogan will not Be giving Speacial oreference in Treating the Water any Different To DCC at the Moment is Doing" All this money Goes for the Cost of EU and ECB and IMF to bail out Neighbourly EU Customers Bankers, Fools to Pay For Water Charges" When It Was Abolished in 1994, Rita Cahill

• As long as our tax is being wasted I am in favour of water charges. We need leaks fixed and why a new body to collect charges ..what are the councils going to do from now on? The local councils have sold off refuse collection and now a new body for water ..so how are they going to earn their pay?

• Take the fluoride out of it, give a guarantee that there will be no sewage run off in it and i would happily pay for it

• Rest of the world is paying for the water, the service for delivering it and infrastructure… what’s wrong with this country??

• Let’s see..
      We lose most of our water through the infrastructure, because in all the time during the boom our governments never bothered to address the problem.

Our government also spends millions per year forcibly medicating the public via the water supply with a toxic substance because they made the misguided assumption that ingestion must be better than topical application (which is the only beneficial application of fluoride – that’s why it’s in toothpaste, and why you’re not meant to swallow it)
      Besides the fact that their rationale is flawed and it’s a waste of money – its also unconstitutional and unethical, but they’re happy to pour that money into the practice anyway..

Then there’s the fact that every one with half a brain in their head knows full well that this charge will not do anything about the problems, as it’s purely a revenue raising exercise for the bailout deal..

And let’s not forget the monumental over charging in the UK (was on watchdog last year). The meters measure the water that goes down a drain outside – eg, flushed water, drained sinks, baths and showers, and….RAIN WATER! One man on Watchdog was triple charged on his water rates for years because he was being charged for it raining..

And last but certainly not least, most people flat out cant afford any more taxes.. When you are skipping meals to pay the bills you have already taken too large a hit.

So.. Do we know how these meters are going to work? Will we be charged for rain water draining off our rooftops? Are the government going to cease fluoridation? Are the waterways going to be fixed? Are the lead pipes going to be replaced? Are people going to be guaranteed a water supply free of contaminants??

Because unless these issues are resolved, to expect us to pay water charges is just downright cheeky.

Add New Comment