TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Do you have a pet?

As the DSPCA issues an urgent appeal we want to know whether or not you have a pet or pets at home…

Image: Georgo10 via Flickr

TODAY WE’VE LEARNED that the Dublin Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (DSPCA) is “completely full up of dogs, cats and bunnies” as it issued an urgent appeal for people to take some of the animals off its hands.

The DPSCA wants you to contact them if you can give a good pet a good home and while you may be considering doing this today we simply want to know whether or not you have a pet.

Anything from a goldfish in your kitchen to a giraffe in your back garden, they all count. Let us know in the comments what kind of pet or pets you keep.

That question again, do you have a pet or pets?

Poll Results:

Read: Dublin animal shelter ‘completely full up of dogs, cats and bunnies’

Read next:

Comments (137 Comments)

• I have two goldfish and they look after the house while we’re away…..

• Spongebob spaniel, Jethro bordercollie, Darcey notailed cat(owes me over hundred euro vets fees which Im unlikely to see), Stripey the sociopathic cat(cheap to feed as she’s killed every rodent within 5 miles) and Frasier and Niles kittens. Frasier going to a new home today, Limerick not Seattle.

• I have 4 cats but used to have 23. Basically, I started feeding 2 strays and well, they have a bush telegraph system that’s second to none and over the space of a few months I was coming home from work to face 23 wailing cats & kittens all demanding to be fed. They were all wild to begin with but I managed (have the scars to prove it!) to catch the females and have them neutered and a few of the males (ones that were kittens & I was able to tame) and so gradually the numbers went down to a more manageable figure. Seems to be quite a high mortality rate in my area despite it being rural, not sure why. People thought I was nuts spending so much money getting them neutered (I’d estimate I spent around €1000 in total) but I couldn’t let them keep having 8 or 10 kittens each per year, it would’ve cost much more in cat food in any case!

• sorry niles jumped on the phone.

• 3 dogs, 2 cats, 2 guinea pigs, 3 chickens and goldfish! ………and two children.

• Sibhs 25/07/12 #

I’m the servant to three cats, Maggie, Pangur and The Bug. Drive me nuts, but love them.

• Three black cats. People think I’m a witch. Maybe I am.

• 4 dogs, one of which is a Rottweiler cross who thinks he’s a lap dog and is sprawled across my knee, 3 cats and 2 goldfish.

• 3 Shetland Ponies. 2 dogs. 15 hens and an endless supply of animal shite for the garden and veg patch….

• No, not at the moment, have always had dogs but live in an apartment with two others so it’s sadly not an option.

• Gene 25/07/12 #

I have 2 humans, 1 male aged 50 well behaved and a female 46 who I’m willing to trade for a lamb shank

• My partner and I would dearly love to adopt a dog, but at the moment our work schedules keep us out of the house for far too long to leave a dog unattended. Despite us having a large garden, and a shed that could be converted to a daytime shelter, leaving a dog without company for 45 hours a week isn’t right.

• I have a Beagle (see profile pic) best thing I ever did was get a dog.

• would love a dog but apt i live in doesn’t allow it, also I’m away from the apt for over 8 hours so it’s cruel to leave a dog alone for that length of time. My idea for an office dog has fallen flat in my workplace.

• Is the down thumb for not starting my comment with I. I’m confused as to why anyone would down thumb my comment. Someone sad pathetic troll me thinks.

• You’re very responsible not to get a dog if you wouldn’t be able to care for it, but your office dog proposal is excellent, your employers are excellent for having employed you but lets themselves down for having rejected your idea.

• No , I would love a dog but I can’t afford one so I won’t get one if I can’t look after it properly.

• Very wise Fiona. As I live alone, I have two dogs, (and, at the moment, five fish, – their number changes frequently) but a huge amount of my pension goes on the dogs. Their food is not the worst, and I sometimes give them ‘human’ food; they particularly love an egg, but it is the treats and the special chews for their teeth and the Glucosamine for their joints, that is the real expense. Actually, the chews for their joints do work. Before I began to give them to the dogs, the older boy could barely make it up the stairs. Now the stairs pose no problem to him at all. I have begun to take Glucosamine myself!

• Wish I could have a dog, landlady wont let me. Also my apartment is too small not fair on the animal more than anything.

• 2 dogs, 3 cats 1 brilliant rabbit, all “given away” . 3 goldfish. One horse and 3 ponies, one of which is also “abandoned” . 5 kids . Pity can’t give everyone pony nuts to eat, life would be so much easier..

• Thumbs up if your dog goes nuts when you say “walkies?”

• 4 cats, 1 dog and a few hens.

To the s***head who dumped the massive, 6 month old cat on my lawn shortly after Christmas last year….you’re a p***k but thanks anyway for one of the most mellow, chilled out, friendliest cat I’ve ever owned, probably won’t interest you much but he’s finally in a home where he’s appreciated and secure..:P

• 8 Cats. All foundlings. Also feed a further six strays and have had to pay for the neutering of all the females in that colony too. Rules to live by: don’t buy a puppy/kitten if you don’t like cats/dogs. Don’t get a pet if you can’t afford to neuter, vaccinate, worm and feed it properly. Sooner or later, cats will piss on everything – get over it. Animals have no voice, no choice and no bank accounts – they didn’t bankrupt this country, so why should they suffer for our greed?

• They shouldn’t make it so hard to get the animals, we were up at the DSPCA in Rathfarnham and put our names down for a dog, of which there were plenty, and they never got back to us.

• Aoife 25/07/12 #

I have heard that the DSPCA is very strict in vetting adopters which possibly puts people off. I know 3 different couples who went to adopt a dog, were grilled by the staff only to be rejected and subsequently bought their dogs from breeders. They are all loving homes with well looked after and trained pets. I understand they have to be satisfied they’re giving the dogs to good homes and that they know what they’re taking on, but if DSPCA is *too* strict with genuine animal lovers it might explain why they’re often overcrowded..? They do a great job of taking care of animals and I’m not taking that away from them. People who are caught dumping rubbish illegally are fined and publicly disgraced, can we get the same legislation for people who dump animals?

• Yes, we have a much loved cat called Hugo, currently looking for a companion for her as I’m out during the day and she’s bored :)

• horse & two gerbils. had two rabbits from the ispca but they sadly died after spending 7 years with us. i want to rescue a horse from the irish horse welfare trust.

• Have a few pets here at the moment………..
    1 dog
    1 cat
    3 degus
    2 turtles
    2 bearded dragons
    1 cornsnake
    1 everglades ratsnake
    1 boa constrictor
    10-15 fish

• We have two dogs, and our cat has staff………

• Ten year old Doberman that still thinks she’s a puppy!!

• I’ve had hundreds of pets over the past 5 years, then again, who wouldn’t if you were keeping a whole hoard of swordtail fish!! :D So right now I’m more controlled with my 8 marine fish, 2 shrimp and one crab! :D We have a puppy on the way but it’s only 2 weeks old now so have to give it a few weeks before bringing him home! :) My final parrot recently passed away from old age…absolutely love animals, they really fill a void which all humans have for nature! :)

• Peter 25/07/12 #

5 chickens egg making machines !

• Aoife 25/07/12 #

We have an utterly spoiled cat, unfortunately named Fluffer. We think she was an abandoned Christmas present as she showed up on our doorstep on January 2nd five years ago, a tiny, needy kitten.

• Shebs, the bow ‘Wow’ collie x…her humans think she’s a soulful creature but really she’s just an artful beggar…she’s14 now and has cost me an arm & leg and even a few toes to date.

• I have a cat that I found as a feral kitten. He likes to sleep in the window sill and occasionally brings us “presents”. Love my kitty!

• I have a miniature jack Russell

• I have 8 pets 5 dogs and 3 cats There all rescue dogs and one is a Greyhound there are so many dogs and cats in rescue centers at the moment.

• Have a beautiful Irish setter.. couldn’t live without her. And also a cat who rules the world !

• just rehomed a four year old cavalier spaniel! couldn’t have pets before cos of living in bedsit! now have an absolute character who gives her love freely!

• 2 dogs,Deeogy and Sophie. 3 fish,plectrum the pleco,kitty the catfish and another catfish which we never bothered naming…..would love to have more dogs but it’s not cheap. If we go away and need a kennel it’s expensive enough,then vaccinations and food. Will always get rescue dogs though. Would never buy a dog. There’s too many people breeding,it’s just ridiculous and unfair to the poor animals

• I had a Tibetan terrier X for 14 years, loved him to bits, he only died 2 years ago and i miss him like crazy still. Had two collie X with my ex but he kept them, really miss them and now my boyfriend has a bullmastiff which I’ve adopted, he pretends to be thick as shit but he’s really sneaky and intelligent (this is the dog, not my bf) he eats my underwear, shoes, pissed on the curtains and unforgivably ate my sandwich straight off the table when I left the kitchen last week…

He’s house trained and knows a good few commands but somedays he just plays up… Wouldn’t swap him for the world tho because he gives great cuddles and scares politicians away from the door :)

• I voted no but my parents have three dogs. Benson a black lab who is not aware of his size and throws himself on your lap looking for cuddles, honey a beagle cross who was a rescue dog who was treated very badly in the past and does not trust many people but
    can be affectionate when she allows you to get close and roxy who is a cross between a chihuahua and a jack Russell the poor dog hit every branch on the ugly tree on the way down but has a great personality to make up for it.

• Two 13yr old westies and two huskies all house dogs so chaos is the norm.

• Here in Dublin I have a gerbil, the most boring pet of all. Back home we have 3 dogs and 2 cats. Would love a cat here in Dublin.

• Three big dogs and wouldnt be without them!

• I have four cats here and there a bug, a spider a few flies ;-) living in the country!!! ;-) I would looove to have a small farm and work towards it…and it is a SHAME that people BUY puppies and then leave them somewhere abandoned. There are so many lonely souls out there who are craving love!!!!! Mine are ALL rescued of course and why dont people DONT spay????? No respect of animals….I am an animal Activist!!

• We have 1 dog called ‘Suggs’, a border collie springer spaniel cross. Mad in the head, full of energy and a loyal companion. He was going to be called ‘Madness’ but my husband and I compromised on Suggs. My ideal pet would be a Newfoundland dog but unfortunately we don’t have the space (or the money) and probably never will.

• 2 sheep dogs, a cat, numerous fish, and an aviary full of budgies,cockatiels and finch’s , we run a bird rescue center and take in unwanted budgies etc for free, then we either re-home them or let them live out their lives in comfort with the rest of the flock.

• We’ve got a gorgeous four month old kitten, named Luna.

• i have a pot bellied pig, a dog and two cats. they all get along great. i love my pets they are all part of the family.

• 3 rats, all female. they have great little personalities

• We have 3 boys at the moment (one had to have surgery yesterday to remove a lump :( but he’s being discharged in a couple of hours!)

We’ve had 30+ through here the past few years, each one of them completely different personality wise to the others.. We had a population explosion a few years back (one of our “boys” had 19 babies lol!) she, the mommy, was the most loving thing you would ever meet, often ignoring treats just so she could show us her affection, we miss her :,(

They get a lot of bad press, but I don’t know how anyone who actually meets and gets to know a rat could maintain their hatred for them, even in the wild rats are much cleaner than we give them credit for, and they’re way more intelligent than any other rodents too.

• My poor little molly is in for surgery on friday for the same thing! shes fit and healthy though so i expect her to make a full recovery :)

Rats are fantastic pets, much more enjoyable than say rabbits or hamsters as they have such great personalities and are very social.

• Totally agree, hope your Molly gets through ok! Our little man had a 10g tumour removed and he’s now all bald on one side and has to be kept separate to ensure nobody interferes with his wound.. He’s currently curled up on my partner so that he doesn’t have to be alone..
      It’s so cute to watch them perk up the second I put my key in the front door :)

• Always wanted to get a dog, still do, but out of the house 10-11 hours a day simply not fair on the animal.

• I love animals, have 60+ fish and a few corals, would love to have a dog, but work during the day and no back garden, so it’s not really suitable.

• 3 lovely cats 10-5 & 2yrs old- all rescues. Had 2 beautiful dogs 4 16yrs sadly passed on both rescues.

• I have four dogs, seven cats and one hamster. All mine but so many due to my involvement with the local SPCA.

• Dogs look up to u ,cats look down on u and pigs treat u as their equals ,not quite the quote but churchills view. One dog 2hens .they get on well .

• We have two dogs and a cat so unfortunatelly we can’t adopt but we help DSPCA by fostering I know it doesn’t help in the long term but that’s all we can do

• Three lovely cats that we brought here with us from Poland (all foundlings). The oldest is ten, the youngest is now eight and, of course, they trained us very well.

(Do not complain about the DSPCA fees; we had to vaccinate the cats against rabies and then fly them using a certified airline; at least the quarantine regulations have been relaxed and there’s no longer the requirement for six-month-long quarantine after bringing the pet from another EU country).

• King Charles called Oscar great man for walking off pints

• 3 rescue dogs , 2 guinea pigs and a kitten

• 2 beautiful rescue cats

• 1 dog

• Have ourselves a budgie :-)

• I have three dogs and one cat. Two dogs rescue dogs and the cat also. Bit of a problem though male cat called Missy due to my misinterpretation of its sex but he/she/it knew its name as Missy but so far, no counselling needed.

• 4 dogs (2 rescued) and 3 stray cats. Would take more rescue dogs if I had enough space for them. Need to move house!

• Two fab saint Bernard’s that rule the house.. Wouldn’t change them for the world!

• Hi I have a golden cocker spaniel called romeo he’s 7, he likes walkies eating vegetables chasing cats when He gets the chance

• We have a bichom frise, Cloud, he;s almost 2 yrs and a complete dote and a tortoise, Freya she’s 20 but new to our family and settled in straight away. Cloud has to be watched when she;s out of her tank!

• I have a completely nuts hamster called Isabella. Wouldn’t change her for the world. I really want to get a pair of rats though…

• Would definitely recommend the rats! (I’m not biased at all, honest!)
      Mind you I’d be inclined to encourage you to get more than 2. They are very social animals and groups are better than pairs – simply because heaven forbid one should pass away, the other is not left lonely for too long..
      When it’s a case of them being very elderly and you end up with the last rat standing usually at that point they have slowed down enough to quite enjoy living more or less *on* you, as introducing new young rats would drive them insane.. Having an elderly shoulder buddy is really sweet.. One of our girls lived to be nearly 4 after both her sisters passed away at 3 and a bit, she loved sitting with me on the couch, getting scritches and nibbling bits of paper :)

• I have a dog and cat at home.

• 3 dogs, 8 cats and a donkey!!

• One snake
    One cat.

• We have two dogs a Labrador and a Yorkie and 1 rabbit and we love them all , they are very much a part of our family.

• i have 2 arouns 5 month old rescue puppies (female) they are sisters (not that you’d realise to look at them) i got one first called her luckii, a few weeks later discovered there was one puppy left from the litter(sox), so we just had to get her too…kids have a puppy each so they are delighted, glad that we are now in a position to have dogs, the kids have 4 goldfish too, but they dont hold the same affection as their dogs x

• My daughter has a goldfish but wouldn’t keep anything larger. Too many dogs in our park for me to get a cat and not enough room in the garden for a dog.

• One Westie (pedigree, dont you know!), now 12, going on 2, and a rescue moggie, they love each other. Can always tell where the dog is because the cat will be in a tree watching him.

• I have two Irish wolfhounds, rose and honey. Rose had eight puppies two months ago. All for sale while we’re on the subject. Fully vaccinated. Wormed. Micro chipped, and kennel club registered. Also have a Jack Russell called zap brannigan

• Poppy 25/07/12 #

Wolfhounds are the king of all dogs….gentle giants…..just love them ;-)

• I love them. They’re big and cuddly. Why did people give my last comment a thumbs down

• I think because it’s an article about how the dspca is over crowded and your talking about your dog recently having pups. I love Irish wolfhounds but there’s so many unwanted dogs that we need to stop breeding for a while

• Hmmm i don’t think there are too many stray wolf hounds running around. But then i don’t live in Dublin. Ye dubs must be over run with them. Wonder how many people that that gave of a thumbs down, would change their tune if they saw a photo of the aforementioned puppies.

• Correction, wonder how many people that gave me a thumbs down.
      Apologies.
      Predictive text.

• Don’t get me wrong sparx,you asked and I was just giving you a possible answer. I love wolfhounds,beautiful giants. I’d love to take one off you but I could never buy a dog as I just feel I need to rescue the ones stuck in pens before they get put to sleep. As it’s an article about rescuing dogs that were bred without taking into consideration how over run we are with them,it makes sense that you’d get red thumbed for asking if anyone wants to buy a pup. Wolfhounds aren’t running around as strays,in fact I don’t think I’ve ever even seen one in a kennel :) I’ve got 2 rescue dogs already so I can’t afford to take anymore with my growing family

• Poppy 25/07/12 #

I have 5 dogs….ones a rescued wolfhound…..was in very bad shape physically & mentally….she was used for breeding only & never had a normal life…..took 18 months to rehabilitate her…..now she adores the ground I walk on…never lets me out of her sight – some may find this stupid but she almost thanks me every day with her eyes for saving her – I will only get rescues from now on as they are so grateful & appreciative !!

• Yeah, to be honest, i didn’t even read the article. Just seen a poll and had my say. Still though. It feels like Im getting a metaphorical slap on the wrist for mentioning puppies. I prostrate myself before all of the thumbs down brigade. Well done all. Chastise me for my crime of loving animals. This ain’t aimed at you itchy. At least you had the decency to explain it to me. For anyone interested though, the puppies will be on done deal tomorrow evening. I await a plethora of red thumbs. . .

• Just to follow up. We have the hounds 5 years, and this is first and only litter rose had. Honey will be serviced as soon as she is in heat. Any pups that ain’t sold will be kept. We have 6 acres for them to roam around in and the bog of Allen is all around us. Is that acceptable to the red thumb brigade ?

• I have two jack Russell terriers ozzy and Toby and two bearded dragons called bevis and buthead ;0)

• Two dogs, two goldfish and two children!

• Spongebob spaniel, Jethro bordercollie, Darcey notailed cat(owes me over hundred euro vets fees which Im unlikely to see), Stripey the sociopathic cat(cheap to feed as she’s killed every rodent within 5 miles) and Frasier and Niles kittens. Frasier going to a new home today, Limerick not Seattle.

• Check out ‘A Dog’s Life’ on Facebook.

• Three dogs, one of whom is a rescue who is just he most amazing dog. Rescue animals are so loving.

• 1 dog, 2 cats and currently fostering 3 kittens for Galway Cat Rescue until permanent homes are found for them. All of them are outside all day long and sleep in the garage, they come in to the house to visit only. Outdoor cats like this are particularly easy to care for – just feed and water them daily and worm them every 3 months.

• Steve 26/07/12 #

I’ve got a problem with the word ‘pet’. I’ve got 24 chickens, 3 cats (2 rescued), 2 ponies (1 rescued), 1 horse (rescued, turned out to be a thoroughbred and is now in foal) and 2 dogs (1 rescued). Out of these, I only regard 3 animals as companion animals. The rest are all either livestock or working animals. I find the word ‘pet’ to be demeaning to a sentient animal. So, for the, ‘Oh, how tiresomely PC’ brigade – the little red thumb is to the right as you look at the page.

• I have a beautiful (much admired) “mixed breed pedigree” who was a rescue dog almost 11 years ago & he is a fantastic companion. Toby is also wonderful with my children & he was around 5 years before them, not bad for a terrier! If anyone is considering getting a dog please, please choose a rescue dog, you won’t regret it, they have so much love to give & are often much healthier than pedigrees….

• 2 cats and a dog!

• Have 2 dogs spot and sally. Denise your bang on! I don’t understand why the vet fees for the D.S.P.C.A are soooo expensive its madness! Do they use outsourced vets or what and paying full wack for it? Silly if they do! They should be bringing in trainee vets to do all their work for nothing therefore only having to pay for the drugs used! Cheaper and educational and doing it for the love of animals not a fat paycheck like alot of vets these days! Don’t get me wrong alot of good ones out there too that do it for the love of animals but not enough!

• As a vet (not now in practice) I have to jump in here. There is SO much wrong with your vision of how it is.

First, neutering a female dog is not a a minor operation – it’s a common procedure yes, but that does not mean it’s a simple one. It’s a hysterectomy, you are removing an internal body organ, it has risks, things can go wrong and often do and it takes a good skilled surgeon to ensure it’s done safely. It is not a procedure that student vets could do unsupervised or until very late in their training at all.

Secondly, the cost of surgery is not just the drugs used. Far from it.

There are staff such a nurses, receptionists, kennel staff etc to pay, even if you exclude the vets. There is equipment – anaesthetic machines, surgical instruments, sterilizing equipment, monitors, operating theatre furniture and lights and more – which is pretty much the same kit as used in hospitals and not cheap. Then there are disposables such as sterile drapes/swaps, needles/syringes, dressings, bedding, etc. That’s before you even get to overheads such as heat, power, building maintenance, kenneling, rates, pet food, continuing education for staff etc etc.

And finally, much as they may love animals, no vet could do their job simply for the love of animals. It’s a ridiculous notion to suggest.

• It is a ridiculous notion to suggest but its still ridiculously overpriced, had to get my cat an MRI scan due to being unwell an my vet said it would cost up to €900, an MRI for me is €400, craziness

• Hey, be happy you don’t keep exotic species..
      The majority of vets and vet nurses in this country focus more upon their large animals (livestock) and generalised pets (cats, dogs, bunnies).

If you want to keep birds, reptiles, rodents, arachnids, insects, fish or anything else unusual – you need an exotics vet. They’re few and far between.. And they’re bloody pricey! Try paying the vet fees for them.. Because if you bring your exotic pet to a vet who didn’t specialise in that area they can end up doing more harm than good.

• I used to have a yorkie but she passed away 3 years ago i would love another one but i find the cost of the D.S.P.C.A a bit expensive i know we have to pay for the cost of the mirco chips and spaying of the animals but i still find it a bit expensive otherwise i would take one home for me and my family :)

• Try Dogs Trust. Great service and very reasonable.

• Only thing Denise, if you take into account, first vaccinations (100e) neutering (180) worm and tick dose (30) and if you were to ‘adopt’ a dog from the paper, or get one free, you have NO idea of their tempermant, at least with the ISPCA all tricks are tested. I’m located in Limerick and they ask for 120 for a dog, I actually think its brilliant value. We rescued a cat from a troubled estate, and she cost a good bit initially. Rescued a dog (no fee involved) which was in excess of 250e for week one, and 170 for week two. Then a stray came along, and she was another excess of 200. I have more respect for animals than people, and recently found another dog on the streets of the city….the officials in the city were absolutely useless. Wardon, LSPCA you name it, all a bunch of idiots. Shannon were the next who begrudingly said they’d take him. A man in LSPCA contacted us back, took the dog, a beautiful dog, which is now dead. Its the system thats wrong. When our stray came (a Jack Russell bitch) our male dog was not neutered, and we were left with the choice of put her to sleep at a cost of 25e, or pay the money and keep her. Dogs trust couldn’t help, as I’m not on social welfare (sorry guys I decided to work instead of scrunge off the state for my child) so we were caught with all the vet bills. I don’t regret it for one second, but again it seems better if you don’t work. All dogs/cats should have a free neutering service, but no, the government won’t allow it……

• Thanks Chelseajoe will try dog trust because i had my Yorkie for 12 years and she got very sick it broke my heart when she had to be put alseep it was like losing one of my kids and it is only Now after 3 years later that i find it in my heart to go out and get another Dog so once again Thanks :)

• I have loads of pets.

I had in excess of 50 at one point, but thankfully many people took them off our hands and the rest have subsequently died.

It’s not as bad as it sounds, really.

• Oh we’re supposed to say what they are … I don’t get to be annoyingly enigmatic.

Stick insects. They only live for about 9 months and this time we aren’t keeping all the eggs. That turned out to be a bit of a mistake.

Oh and loads of fish … two in the back garden pond and a load in the tank.

• Why don’t they euthanise these animals and before anyone has a go at me for being cruel. We kill tens of thousands of a animals each day in Ireland.

• I really don’t understand the need to have a dirty animal in your life. If you voluntarily put yourself in a position of having to clean up shit then you have a problem. As for the people who let these animals into their houses and do the whole doggy kissing thing etc., they should be committed. Don’t get me wrong I understand their cuteness/companion appeal but for me the payback wouldn’t be worth all the effort.

P.s. When I say “He’s a cute dog” don’t get offended and snap “She’s a girl!”. I’m only trying to be nice and I don’t care what sex your dog is.

Add New Comment