TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Have you paid the household charge?

Almost every homeowner in Ireland is liable for the controversial charge, but have you paid it yet or will you at all?

The homepage of the householdcharge.ie website

HOMEOWNERS HAVE NOW been liable for the household charge for nearly two weeks and as of the end of last week 18,000 people had paid the controversial €100 annual tax.

Almost anyone who owns a home in Ireland must pay the charge or establish an instalment arrangement before 31 March or else they will incur a late payment fee which could be as much as 30 per cent of the charge.

While the government argues the measure is a necessary to raise revenue before a fully graduated property tax is introduced within the next two years, many, including some TDs have argued that the flat charge is unfair and hits poorer people disproportionately. A campaign to boycott the payment is already underway.

Today, we want to know have you paid the charge?

Poll Results:

Late payment fee warning issued over €100 Household Charge

Who exactly has to pay the €100 Household Charge?

Opposition TDs outline plans for Household Charge boycott

Read next:

Comments (168 Comments)

• Rebel Lawfully against the Household charge 1 – Do not register (when you register you hand ownership of what you have registered to those you register with) 2 – When the Notice (an offer to contract) arrives reply within the time frame stating “I conditionally accept your offer to contract upon receiving Verification, Documentation of the Obligation! 3 – Statutory laws require “Consent of the governed” withdraw consent by replying and continuing to reply to any notices concerning the Household charge as above!

• Didnt enda once say that the property tax was unconstitutional.

• no i wont pay . not till i get a bill . like all my other bills. and see what I’m paying for . and where the money is going . and what I’m getting back for that money . where is this money going anyway. if this is a legal . then i want a legal document. and i will not be paying by the bank .what are the banks getting out of this .i don’t know mind paying a tax . as i paid my house tax in the UK for years .got a bill . every year. it was itemised for every penny as to where the money was spent . and it should be the same here . . this is only a quick fix and wont do . let the government do the job right from the start . and be straight with the people . if the government do right by us then we will do right by them . no more shit from them . i know there is no free lunches here . but the guys at the top are having free dinners on us for years. and when the shit hits the fan its the so called lefties .the ones. that will stand up for you.

• You wont get a bill because the charge is a Statute. People need to understand this: A Statute is a “legislated rule of society given the force of law by the consent of the governed.”(Blacks Law Dictionary 4th edition). Who are those it governs? Us, the public.
      This household charge is a Statute, otherwise known as an Act of Government and only carries the force of law upon you if you consent to it which means that your legally obliged to pay if you consent or in other words go on to householdcharge.ie and register. Your silence and inaction will also give the appearance of consent. If you do not consent, a Statute cannot affect you in any way whatsoever.
      The courts know this and the last thing they will do is tell you. In fact they will hide this from you at every opportunity they can. On the other hand, if you tell them, they will accept it because they know it is actually true. According to the above definitions a statutory instrument is a contract. If you register for this “charge” you are consenting to this statuate ie: signing the contract. This is why the Government are ASKING the people to register and not just billing them instead.

• Thanks Joe, I havent read any further, So … I’m assuming my solicitor will advise me of same? I’m not being sarcastic… I will register on householdcharge.ie for definite if I have more info.

• jees just spent minutes correcting my incorrect reading of what you said Joe…

• ok, web page worked… I will NOT be registering with that page based on the advice I receive !! Cheers if you’re correct!

• Or maybe we could place an emergency tax on the richest 5% in this country who own 46.5% of the wealth or in layman’s terms, €58bn. If we placed a 10% emergency tax on this small minority, the government would receive €5.8bn in one tax. But of course that will never happen. Not with this shower in government. People, PLEASE do not pay the household tax. According to John Fitzgerald of the ESRI in an interview he made with Matt Cooper in July of last year it will eventually (by about 2014) morph into a full-blown €1300 property tax. We have to stop it now while we still can.

• I’m not exactly up with the economic race but the ESRI have stated this??? Wow! OK They’ve not always got things right but being a cynic, They’ve normally got the bad stuff right!

• John Fitzgerald: 100 euro is relatively low… I think this is just the beginning.
      Matt Cooper: How much would you expect a property tax overall to raise in a particular year once it’s introduced in 2014 onwards?
      John Fitzgerald: I would be looking for a billion euro not 160 million
      Matt Cooper: So that would suggest you are talking on average 700-€800?
      John Fitzgerald: Yeah.
      Matt Cooper: And what about water charges on top of that again?
      John Fitzgerald: Water charges would probably be another €500.
      (Extract taken from interview on Today FM July 27 between Matt Cooper and John Fitzgerald, chief research officer at the Economic and Social Research Institute. The ESRI is the government’s semi-official economic thinktank).

• I certainly won’t be paying it, considering its been leaked that we’ll have to pay a further (up to) 300e next year for actual property tax…..EBS, and the Government, take my f*cking house back, and I’ll rent, I ain’t paying no property tax. Increase it, fine me, do what you want, I ain’t paying it.

• Nope..ain’t paid..ain’t gonna. Go fucking squeeze some bankers for it….I am tapped out!

• Has anyone stopped and thought “Eh.. why?”
    What’s the point of this charge?
    The bin charges – Pay your bins
    The water charges – Pay for your water facility
    The house charge doesn’t/won’t and never will benefit the people who buy the land and build the house (Or just buy the house)

I don’t own a house but to the this tax seems like the most absurd blatantly obvious ‘Thief Tax’ they could have made, why have none of these ‘Oh, I’ll do whatever the government asks me till I’m homeless, my kids die and I end up begging at the feet of the bankers’ people realise that? It’s bloody as plain as day.
    … or am I missing the point altogether?

• oh yes ‘I’ have, I’m assuming you’re either young, naive or havent arrived recently

• Hey Kieth, not exactly sure what your problem is.

Are you saying that your a racist?
      “havent arrived recently” What would be the problem there? Even if I was a foreigner would it really matter, I would be a person at the end of the day, just .. well perhaps not like you thankfully.

Also, why are you being so discriminatory against ‘young’ people?
      Christ man, are you the guy who sits in the corner of the pub moaning about how ‘kids these days..’.

I’m a 21 year old Irish male working in a professional career as a Penetration Tester.
      I never went to college but managed to get this job by hard graft and understanding of the world around me, along with being quite mature ‘for my age’.

So please, get a different attitude.

• @ Aranthos Faroth Penetration Tester??!! Jeez, that must be exhausting!

• I am not paying this tax and I would encourage Irish citizens to take a stand on this, together for once!
    There are many reasons why I refuse to pay it- I paid 4.5k punts to the local authority when I built our family home in 2002. I pay for the maintenance and drilling of my own well. I pay for my own bins. The lane we live on resembles the moon more so than a road! I pay all my other taxes as my wife does! Varadkar and co says its yo pay for fire staff and street lighting etc. We had the fire service out once and paid a nice little bill for doing so! We don’t live in an urban area, so we don’t enjoy the perks of street lighting and in any case, the extortionate rates that the business in town pay is supposed to pay for that!

My point being, the government cannot come up with a plausible excuse for this tax which only compounds my opinion along with many others, that this is just Another “AngloTax” , with no return and thus I will not pay it!!

• I’m not paying it because it’s a regressive tax that targets those on social welfare and low wages like me the same as a millionarie in a mansion. What’s more it will increase massively over the next years and then everyone will be complaining they would never have paid it if they’d known. But everyone should know between this and water tax, you will be paying 800-1000 quid in tax extra in tax every year to pay off unsecured bondholders while the government continues to slash public services, social welfare and charges for everything from bus and train fares to health charges. Civil disobedience is well over due and we should all get behind this campaign because for once it’s an unfair tax we can defeat if there are enough of us. The government has to bring you the court to get this money off and a million people don’t pay this will simply be unfesaible and the government will have to back down like it did on water charges on the 1990s. We can do this!

• I notice that the website uses the term “customer” for the victim. That is a liberty!! Talk about adding insult to injury.

“Customer” implies products or services are delivered. WTF are we getting when, and if, we hand over yet more money to the spendthrift wastrels in Dublin Castle?? Feck all, that’s what. And it doesn’t even come with instructions or a money-back guarantee.

• Jambbie 11/01/12 #

I’m not paying cos I already pay €320 a year to a management co. I live in a self contained house, not an apartment. This money already eases the financial burden on the local council and also creates employment for the guys who cut grass etc etc. I feel anyone in my position should’ve been exempt from this charge but Phil Hogan and his cronies thought otherwise.

• Joe, Would that be the same for the Second home tax also,
    If you didn’t register you are not agreeing with it?

• Exactly, why should we, but seriously, how many (NOT HERE) won’t pay it???? I say “NOT HERE” because only extreme views post here, I’m fairly confident a proportionate of the public will pay – this is why these charges always win!!

• Thats because, people like sitting in their homes or offices bitching about how they shouldnt, or wont pay it. Most people giving out about it on this site will end up in the last few days of February paying it, simply because it will end up as hassel for them if they dont. If less people whinged and moaned and more people took action and took to the street we would all be far better off.

• Ciaro 11/01/12 #

My house is jointly owned between myself and my wife? Who is liable for this tax?

Academic question because I’m not paying.

• I didn’t. There is plenty income tax and USC being paid by this household as it is. This charge is a different ball game in my opinion as it is unfair, unjust and a door opener to further screw the ordinary person in this Country.

• I’m not paying full stop.

• if you have a mortgage you dont own the house until the final payment is made so the banks are the owners of the property as they have the house deeds. Its like a hire purchase contract the goods are owned by the lender until final payment is made. read your loan contracts.

• No why should we pay for the governments f*ck ups, no please do not pay it

• Not paying. This will NOT pay for services, but will service and enable banker’s ongoing gambling habits. I will not willingly enter into a contract with the government to help themselves to whatever sum strikes their fancy, forevermore into the future. This tax will have zero transparency or accountability to the people who pay it – a fundamental breach of democracy and government by consent.

The numbers are encouraging – 18,000 is the the numbers that would need to sign up each and every day, including Saturdays and Sunday for it to work – lots are clearly using non-compliance as a vote against austerity and the transfer of democracy away from our localities. That is certainly my view of it.

• When do I get official notice posted to my home from the state that I owe this money?

• I’m not liable (council house), but I clicked “No, and I wont pay it”. Why? Because people who are excempt still have to register for the tax, and then apply for a waiver. I won’t be registering as when it comes to implementing the water tax in a year’s time, you’ll be right there on their list to install a water meter and start charging you, and that’s assuming the waiver for those who are excempt from the household tax will last another budget (and what are the chances of that?!). Getting people to register is the real goal here for the Government, for the further taxes down the line.

Don’t Panic
    Don’t Register
    Don’t Pay

• Why would you register if you are not going to pay?

• Well, technically there is a much higher fine for not registering (€2500), but that will become impossible to enforce if large numbers of people aren’t registered. I’m willing to take the risk, and I’ll be trying to get all my neighbours to do the same. I have one of these in my window, do you? http://nohouseholdtax.org/node/81 (the window posters at the bottom of that page, download and print them out)

• Rather than the pie chart above and the trumpeting of the figure of 18,000 people who have paid this silly tax, i’d like to see a pie chart showing the 18,000 as a portion of the 1,600,000 households the government have said they’ll be targeting.
      This would show quite starkly what a derisory number 18,000 is in the context of 1.6million.
      A little over 1% by my reckoning.
      Around 4 degrees out of 360 on a pie chart.
      I hope Phill Hogan’s not wetting himself in ecstasy just yet!!!!

• They need you to register to to ensure that you consent. The household charge is a statute. A statute only carries the force of law by the consent of the governed (us). If you don’t consent/register the statute cannot affect you.

• is the fine legal/enforcable for not registering??

• jimbo 11/01/12 #

Not fcuking paying it never will they cant lock us all up so fcuk them

• I thought they were going to take it out of our wages if we didn’t pay it? The fact we have to set it up ourselves is quite sickening. I’m still paying off the stamp duty loan too … :(

• I have yet to receive any information about it to my “household”, and actual form that I can read. Do they assume I have the Internet?

Do they assume I even know about the Household Charge, and how would I? Did they bring out an advertisement in the national paper or show it on the national TV station. I don’t think so.

As far as I’m concerned, I havent been told.

• I would have paid it, but my leader has said it is an unfair tax………..baaaahaaahbaahhh

• Every Christmas I usually give 100 euros to either Childline or the Red Cross.

This year I haven’t (yet) because I am still unsure about whether I will pay the household charge or not.

It may be a choice between contributing to the Red Cross, or handing money to already wealthy SPECULATORS who recently bought Anglo bonds at knock down prices.

• David on a personal vendetta to piss people off or comment on all posts…..

Delighted for you David, you paid it, might lad you are, just bend over a wee bit more good chap.

Anyway back to the real world. I won’t be paying it and no one in my family of 7 will be paying it, my 3 brother in laws wont be paying, my 5 neighbours won’t be paying it. So 16 jail spaces required here.

• I’ll ask ya again David, have you or any 7 of ye paid any local authority charges (bin tags etc)?? Have you all boycotted them charges or are ye all livin in a different part ot Ireland??

• got lost in comments… But same question stands, have ye all 16 never paid any local council charges – bin charges etc??? I’ll move there if ye haven’t had to!!
      I;ve already asked David why he’s so happy to make the payment , so sad that Irish people always have to slag each other off ! I’ll pay it unwittingly, but I’ve paid bin charges, when I supported Carol, I’m paying almost 9% on top of my whatever salary that I AM lucky to have and have NO choice in that other than give up work

• @Keith,
      think them comments are for me??

I said it on another thread last week, I forked out 4500 euro to the local Co Co for Development Costs when I built my house. I also had to pay 4500 euro for a treatment system.
      I provide my own water as there is no local scheme.
      We don’t have footpaths.
      We dont have lighting.
      I have a 4ft by 2 ft pothole outside my house and 4 other smaller potholes.

We have a private bin service.

So I have paid already 4.5k euro, it didn’t do 1 single thing for my area.

So why would I pay more money for my house when I already forked out for zero return???

• Sorry Aidan, You’re right, that comment was for you… my initial incomplete comment was for ‘david’ with his simplistic slag everyone off attitude… Sorry!
      I didn’t see last weeks comments.
      You say you’re not gonna pay the charge and I’m looking into it legally as I’ve read it may not be obligatory – unless you sign up but I was just interested to hear how you wouldn’t pay it AND I totally get that we get nothing back after forking out so much to develop/build extend.

• shite!!! thecomment Was N’T for you,!

• I won’t be paying it they should have done it right in first place by looking at size of house and charging accordingly.How are they going to work it out in future if it’s on value of house no one will be paying ours been on market for a year and had 2 veiwings and no offers! so it’s worthless. People who register for it are doing out of fear spread by the government If they want the money they can knock my door and ask for it and I’ll tell them where to stick it.I’d pay if it went to services but like so many of you we have no street lights no pavements and pot holes the size of swimming pools and a local council who throws money away !!

• I do not agree cos whoever bought their houses already paid tax on them and they also pay/paid interest on mortgage.How many time do ww have to pay tax on the one item.We in the rural areas have to pay for the disposal facility and our lighting stops 1 mile out of towns and in villages the lighting is non existent past the village services what a joke I do not believe this government they took votes on lies and for the past 10 months that is all that us spueing out of the clueless mouths

• Do these politicians consider themselves worthy of the description Christian. Do they really believe that my Constitutional rights are being upheld under Article 45:
    1. The State shall strive to promote the welfare of the whole people by securing and protecting as effectively as it may a social order in which justice and charity shall inform all the institutions of the national life.
    2. The State shall, in particular, direct its policy towards securing:
    i. That the citizens (all of whom, men and women equally, have the right to an adequate means of livelihood) may through their occupations find the means of making reasonable provision for their domestic needs.
    I cannot believe that my government are hell bent on pushing me an OAP, under the poverty line with sneaky indirect taxes, and I will go to jail first. I have enough of this shit.

• Isn’t it great that people can pay this straight after Christmas. I’d love to see a legal challenge on this. 100 euro is only the start. I will wait to see if I get anything in the post.

• Something really really stinks about all of this.
    My husband and I rent and do not own any property anywhere. As we are tenants, we are not liable to pay this Statutory charge.
    Am confused as well. So if we do not register (thereby consenting to this charge) we will be fined something in the region of 2500 Euros, a much bigger fine than those who ARE liable!! This does not sound right at all.
    We had assumed (a very dangerous thing to assume as far as Laws are concerned) we didn’t have to register.

Well, toughie on this Government, cos we have unaminously decided NOT to register.

Would like an anwer to Keith’s question regarding the lawfullness/legallity and therfore enforceability of threatened fine.

• I rent, it’s the landlords problem.

• When did slavery come back in in Ireland?

• Aydo 11/01/12 #

Irish = Sheeple

• i wonder who this “david” is? probably some govt employee. i diddnt think there were any left like him!

• Spot on norm, spot on

• Is there going to be any security for tenants from landlords raising the rent to cover this charge? Rents are already a joke in this country!

• How you don’t have to legally pay Household Tax!!- You wont get a bill because the charge is a Statute. People need to understand this: A Statute is a “legislated rule of society given the force of law by the consent of the governed.”(Blacks Law Dictionary 4th edition). Who are those it governs? Us, the public.

This household charge is a Statute, otherwise known as an Act of Government and only carries the force of law upon you if you consent to it which means that your legally obliged to pay if you consent or in other words go on to householdcharge.ie and register. Your silence and inaction will also give the appearance of consent. If you do not consent, a Statute cannot affect you in any way whatsoever.

The courts know this and the last thing they will do is tell you. In fact they will hide this from you at every opportunity they can. On the other hand, if you tell them, they will accept it because they know it is actually true. According to the above definitions a statutory instrument is a contract. If you register for this “charge” you are consenting to this statuate ie: signing the contract. This is why the Government are ASKING the people to register and not just billing them instead.

http://irishthoughtsandall.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/household-charge-how-to-legally-avoid-paying-it/

• ” The Household Charge is a condition for the EU/IMF deal currently covering the shortfall [for public services like education, health]. Ireland is locked out of the Bond market so how do you make up the shortfall to pay for the services we all want if you tell the troika to shag off?” I asked Norman Hunter this question in an earlier post but he may have missed it. Anyone else who isn’t going to pay the Charge got an answer?

• Sorry Les check the posts you did’nt ask me any question but i will state my orginal answer again.I don’t get any services more than what i’m currantly paying for as a rural dweller.Also any monies through raised through these charges and taxes have only one purpose and that is ensure the money loaned to us to pay off private debt is paid back.

• 1.6 million times €100=€160million.
      Almost 20 times that figure will be payed to unsecured bond holders in the next couple of months!!!

• Ciaro 12/01/12 #

You stop repaying Anglos debt, Sean quinns debt. You jail all those responsible without trial. You cut TDs expenses by 100%. You abolish the senate immediately. You cut the number of local authorities to 4. You cut the number of TDs to 60. You tax pensions at 100% on the amount over 80k. You close down 100 quangos. You stop funding non profit making airports. You set a council tax at €400 per house, with the amount frozen for the next 5 years, to include tv licence. This charge to be paid by the occupant, not the owner. You cut rtes funding by 20% a year for the next 5 years. You make the banks loan money. You make the banks stop paying golf club membership for their staff. you invest 1 billion in job creation each year for 3 years. You increase car tax to 3k on cars purchased for 35k or more. You abolish vrt.

• @ Les Reed outside of cities, we pay for our rubbish, most of us have wells for water (which we are going to be charged for), a septic tank, (which we paid for and are going to have to pay for agen because of the 4th reich telling us we have to) We pay road tax, we have no public parks. WHAT ARE WE PAYING FOR THEN???? “the money’s gotta come form somewhere??????” TAX THE F*CKING RICH!!!!!! Remember everyone DONT REGISTER = NO LEGALLY BINDING CONTRACT. You have the RIGHT to full disclosure of any contract, ask them what your paying for. They wont f*cking know because you are not paying for anything its going into the pocket of some EURO Fascist banker. And as far as the rest of us are concerned Les Reed, the Troika can “shag off”

• @joe legally you are entirely wrong. You are not entering a contract you are being charged and taxed. The state has this right, there is no defence of no legal contract available. As is the case for those who do not declare income or pay income tax.

• @Ciaro jail all those responsible without trial… Where do you start with that, ok first who is responsible? Everyone who speculated on property everyone who sold a house for a profit? Everyone who worked in a bank? Before you suggest internment for those you oppose or dislike or blame maybe look at places that do this or have done it… They are much much worse than here.

• Also @Ciaro even with all of the measures you suggest we are still €16,000,000,000 in the red in running costs. The things you have suggested cutting cost so little compared to our enormous running deficit. And taxing pensions at 100%? Like all of it?

• @”Dublin City” They can try to charge or tax you. buit when 200,000 of those eligible tell your freinds in dublin city to F*CK off with their charges (and their fines). What can they do? absolutely nothing.

• @joe first off haven’t a clue why my name is coming up as “Dublin city” it should be Killian maher, I have no affiliation whatsoever to the council, I do live in the city though. If 200,000 people don’t pay it (which is highly unlikely) they will just do what they would do if 200,000 people didn’t pay their income tax or tv licence, legal proceedings. Initiation of proceedings would cause more than half to fork up and the further the process went would dwindle the number appearing in court to very few.

• ok killian, (i put dublin city because your opinions are typical of that area, not so much in the rest of the country where we get f*ck all of the services this tax is supposed to pay for ) lets just say hypothetically that there ARE 200,000 who are not spineless, who think that ENOUGH IS ENOUGH and that their should be limits on the amount of made up charges that govts can make people pay especially when this money goes straight to a german banker, that their is a difference between fair tax such as income tax, and absolute robbery (house owners have already PAYED stamp duty) what do you think would happen then then? As mick o sullivan states below this is a statute given colour of law by consent. (which you give when you register, i have no doubt). THE refusal of 200,000 people i think, counts as no consent.

• @joe statute is law, it is the law of the state and can be passed in accordance with the constitution, the constitution which also outlines clearly the collection of tax by the government is okay. That the collection of tax of any sort requires that you like it or consent is incorrect. You do not get to decide which taxes are fair, you must pay it same as you must pay your income tax. If you evade it it is comparable to evading income tax or even evading the second home tax which actually the owners also paid stamp duty on. I doubt you would support any landlord or person with a holiday home evading that tax by not registering their property. Illegally avoiding tax is tax evasion there are no 2 ways about it.

• no, a statute is not common law. it does require consent. and you diddnt answer my question, but nevermind, let me ask one . if the govt continued to make up new taxes and charges constantly for more and more rediculous things for larger and larger sums of money.,how long would you continue to pay them? even when you cant afford to eat would you still sit there going “oh sure its the law, we have to pay it cos they said so even though this was not mentioned in their pre election bollox and they have no democratic mandate, but sure ill pay anyway cos its the law” i bet you would too haha, you should go and pay it now, quick! i hear they are giving out penny sweets, pats on the head and gold stars for those who do it early, you dont wanna miss out”

• Hi Joe, sorry didn’t spot the question I was answering on my phone on the go… I will answer it here. If 200,000 people think enough is enough and protest and petition the government. This works I refer you to Garret Fitzgerald’s 1982 Government. This also answers your second question as to what happens when you levy too many taxes.

Statute is the law of the state, not common law to which is common to all common law jurisdictions. While it may be correct that they are different it does not mean statute law requires consent, it is as much the law as any other law. For example Capital murder is part of our statute (s.3 Criminal Justice act 1990) Not consenting to this fact does not make one who commits capital murder less liable for the offence or even make them liable for the lesser offence of Murder under common law.

As for the government not having a mandate they most certainly do. I am not a supporter of either party and did not vote for either of them but in March they received the largest mandate of any government in the history of the state. The more seats you have the bigger your mandate.

And Joe I will pay my taxes as much as is possible, however I will not pay them to the point I can not afford food. I will take responsibilities for my actions though and not claim they are some one else’s fault. How many of the 200,000 people who own homes you claim won’t pay, will go hungry for the sake of 100 euro a year.

As for the rest of the comment it is immature and petty . Firstly I am not liable for the tax as I rent and did not buy. This was a choice I made. If you purchase a house you are liable for the costs therein this includes all tax liability. People need to take responsibility for their actions which includes purchasing property. And if they evade tax are no better than the people named in the papers for evading tax, you can not take the moral high ground for shirking responsibility .

• how can you make a decision killian, on for example buying a house when you can have no idea what new charges will be added in future and im sure many home owners took the need to pay stamp duty into account when buying their homes. How can you say this new charge is a “responsibility?” by your logic no one can buy anything for fear that they will be “resposible” for some as of yet unkown charge on it!! If you diddnt know of this in future how can you be “resposible” for charges you had no idea were going to exist? Same thing with the septic tank charges, when ours was built it was inkeeping with all their standards yet now we are going to have to pay thousands which we dont have to bring it up to THEIR new eu (i spit on them) standards! but i suppose this is our “responsibility” as well isnt it? Paying for the water in our own wells in rural areas (that the govt does nothing to help maintain) is that a “resposibility” as well?

• also to answer your statements on the law using the quote that joe shaw provided above :A Statute is a “legislated rule of society given the force of law by the consent of the governed” [Black’s Law Dictionary, revised 4th edition”
      Now common law (the law of the land) revolves around harming others, infringing on thier rights
      There are three ways to break the law under common law.
      1. Harm another human being
      2.Do damage to a human beings property
      3.Do not honour your contracts/commit fraud
      So no of course im not saying you cant get away with murder whatever statutes there are in relation to it, but as this non payment does not infringe on anyones rights and you are not violating a contract then without without your consent it cannot appy to you

• @joe consent has been given by the houses of parliament and president who have signed it to law (not directly by people but indirectly by legislature- your government have given your consent and we gave them that right by electing them)-under the constitution which is the highest authority in Ireland in law the government have the right to set laws as the collection of said laws be legally binding. You do not have to consent sorry, that’s just a fact not opinion or argument. Secondly when you purchase a house and invest you take on responsibility for further charges eg. You may have a variable interest rate which could go up by significantly more than €100, no one asks the bank how can I possibly accept a mortgage where I could pay more and more every year? You take a risk in purchasing property, that needs to be accepted.

• Just as a follow up taxes tend to be governed by statute, including income tax. You can not opt out of paying taxes. If you are under the impression you won’t be treated as a tax evader if you do not pay or if you will be able to challenge this I would advise you to seek legal counsel. I would also advise against relying on blacks it is a US text. Don’t assume you will be supported by the masses as many of them may not want to be named in the paper or may want to get visas etc in the future so do not want judgements against them. If you are going into this not paying knowing the full repercussions, good luck. But be informed.

• in that case, depending on how many people refuse to pay and allow it to go as far the courts, it would be up to the judiciary (if it still has any independance and impartiality AT ALL) to recognise (in the case of non payment by hundred thousand or more including many TDs) that the govt, having made no mention of this in their pre election promises and no referendum are acting without any democratic mandate or “consent” of the governed and would rule in favour of those being tried. As the injured party in these cases would be the state and the judge would be representing the state it is hard to see how any of these cases could be considered “fair” otherwise.All it would take is a bit of solidarity and co operation amongst people to defeat this charge the simple, undeniable fact is: if no one paid: they cant make us. Unfortunately the people of this country are so quick to be bullied and then when they have given in they harbour an unexplainable bitterness towards those who dont (encouraged no end by the media) usually taking the form of “well ive paid, they they should pay too!” you can see it already in the bitterness of some comments about joe higgins “alright for him on his td’s salary” not realising that he is doing this for you, and yes he could easily pay it, yet hes willing to go to jail so those who cant affford it dont have to! yet somehow he is disliked for this????? There is something ugly in this nation’s psyche that makes people so quick to turn on their fellows in order to seem “like a good citizen” to curry favour with their opressors. It was this trait that allowed abuse of children to carry unabated for decades, becasue of peoples fear of speaking out against the stablished order and no doubt foiled many attempts at ending british rule there is a difference between this charge and income tax, the latter being used to pay for sevices the former being sent ogverseas to pay off a loan NONE of us normal people asked for or wanted..”It’s the law” is FAR different than “it is right” and sometimes all it takes a few people to stick together and recognise that for things to change.

• All monies collected by all tax must be centrally pooled its in our constitution so this money does not directly go anywhere. You can not ear mark taxes in Ireland. And the courts enforce the law not a notion of fairness (exempting equity which does but would not apply here) so don’t be fooled by anyone… if you don’t pay you will face further fines and furter to that legal consequences. Go into this informed correctly, and make the decision not to pay on an informed basis. There is no plea of ignorance to the law and essentially no argument to fairness in relation to tax.

• this isnt a tax or so they have been telling us it is a “charge” for “services” it will become a tax next year. if it is a charge (at the moment) for sevices then then we havbe the right to full disclosure. As to the rest of your point, we do have the right to a fair hearing in court do we not? are you saying we dont? i believe if i asked a judge he would have to say yes and yet he would be representing the state. impartial? i think not. as to the money we know this charge has nothing to do with services you can waffle all you like about where it is pooled…ect

• funny how there is “no plea of ignorance in the law”, and yet the law society and the govt would keep us as ignorant as possible. I see a pattern here…..hmmm i spose the members of this elite club need to keep their friends in their six figure salaries and us agreeing to their every whim, too clever by half…

• @joe you are entitled to a fair hearing in the eyes of the law. That is determined to be the impartial measure of fairness. Like it or not that’s the case, just stating facts.

• I’ll pay because I’m too afraid not to & they’ll get it by others means so I’m going to save myself the hassle :-(

• Payment figures are only up to 110,000 now – still less than 7%
    see http://www.moneyguideireland.com/how-many-people-have-paid-the-household-charge.html

• How do you let the authorities know that you do not consent to this charge….ref earlier posts…..and who exactly to you contact to voice this opinion?.

• let the f..cker start cutting there own wages in stead of ours

• I tend to be an early adopter anyway… but I have no problem with the principle of this. Paid and can now forget about it.

Poll seems to show only 30% saying won’t pay, which surprises me based on how vocal they are. Maybe poll will change.

• David 11/01/12 #

It’s always the leftie minority that make most noise. The rest of us just get on with life. They don’t even want to pay for refuse collection for gods sake. You know what they say bout empty drums making most noise

• maybe you will walk in to the poll and wake up!!!!!

• David, I aint no “leftie”, nor am I right-wing, like you seem I pay my refuse, I have always paid my way, but I aint paying this. Dont be a do gooder all your life, have fun, enjoy life a bit man!!!

• I was just posting on the other thread, I’m an owner and of course I’ll pay, I could be a rebel but won’t, the govt intro’d it like the bin charges, Next year it’ll be 200, maybe more, then it’ll be a Quarterly charge or summit’. Probably is always the left minority that makes most noise David, but may I ask… Why are you so willing to make that payment?

• Maybe paying fines for evading tax is your idea of fun Michael. It ain’t mine. Enjoy!

• It’s not a tax it’s a charge!

• Rommel, tax is a generic term for any sum of money demanded by a government. Whether they call it a charge or a skipping rope, it is still a tax.

• A charge is an amount of money levied for a service. Paying money into a black hole to pay the gambling debts of various banks etc doesn’t quite match up for me.

• How did you wiggle out of paying the Univeral Social Charge Rommel? Inquiring minds are intrigued.

• I didn’t. There is plenty income tax and USC being paid by this household as it is. This charge is a different ball game in my opinion as it is unfair, unjust and a door opener to further screw the ordinary person in this Country.

• David 11/01/12 #

@Michael. “Dont do gooder all your life, have fun, enjoy life a bit man!!! ” Thats a funny statement. Believe me when i tell you that i enjoy life very much and am far from a do gooder. I will not be getting my knickers in a twist and trying to make some statement by not registering for this tax and paying multiples in the long term. I believe property tax is a fairer way of spreading the burden although i do think there are too many exemptions and that those in social housing should also contribute. There is alot more taxes i would prefer to boycott like RTE licence fee or road tax, road tolls, etc. etc.

• @ David
      And by paying now you will be paying multiples in the short to medium term anyway so drive on.

• @ David… You misquoted me, check again like a good little boy!!!

• David 11/01/12 #

@ Michael. I offer you my deepest and most sincere apologies for mis quoting you. Would hate to make you any more angry than you already are. “enjoy life a bit man!!!” @ Rommel. I’ll be paying the full amount on time and that’s it. I or my children won’t be paying the penalties and interest like more people

• David, since you berate the Lefties, I assume you are a Rightie. So what sort of right-winger thinks that more taxation is a good thing?

• I paid it, €100. Big wow. Now i can forget about it. It’s done. I’ve more important things to be worried about.

• Well now you can look forward to next year’s bill.

• Thats a year away. Why worry about it now?

• If you see no need to worry no point me explaining it to you.

• Yeah you can forget about it until next year when you’ll be legally obliged to pay 700 or 800 euro. No biggie….

• We could all be dead in a year. Not worth freaking out about it in my opinion. I would be more worried if someone told me i had cancer or something. Some household charge @ €100 isn’t going to upset me this year. I’m entitled to have my own opinion.

• Seriously, why are these personal attacks on Jamie allowed to remain unmoderated?

Get some perspective people, it’s 100 euro. Compared to the tens of thousands we already pay in taxes it is tiny.

And certainly not worth the name-calling of a law abiding citizen getting on with things.

• @P.WurpleI don’t agree with Jamie’s opinion but i respect his right right to have one.But what name calling and personnel attack are you refering too.

• @ Jamie we see if you sing from the same hymm sheet if it comes to over €1000 combined with water charges.

• @ Paul. We’ll see if it comes to it.
      @ the others. I’m sorry if i’m going to follow the rest of the flock. After all, only 30% of people wont pay it. I’d rather be in the majority that obey the law.

• @Norman, I am referring to the bleating and references to abatoirs for Jamie. Way over the top.

• That’s a strange majority you claim to want to be part of my obedient friend!!
      Add those who HAVE tugged the forelock and kow-towed to those who say they will and it comes to 32%.
      those who say they refuse to pay is guess what. . . . . . 32%!!!!
      All to fight for seeing as the figures are about 1.2% compliant at the moment while the other 98.8% are making their minds up.

• @ Jamie O’ Callaghan Even if you die by next year(hopefully not), your next of kin or the person left in charge of your estate will still have to pay it. Since you have now registered, even death wont stop the IMF getting your money.

• If I decided not to pay my income tax next year would I be commended… No, paying your taxes doesn’t make you a sheep, we have a system in Ireland whereby a lot of our services are paid by tax rather than at source. Like it or not these things must be paid for. And before you say that is what your income tax pays for, all taxes collected in Ireland do not cover the current running costs of the country like water, welfare, health & education. This is excluding the bail out costs which yes add to our debt but even without them we spend more than we make so unfortunately If you don’t want to pay per use pay your taxes.

• Is this a fair tax? No, because it’s not based on ability to pay and it’s not progressive. Are we screwed because of years’ of political and banking mismanagement? Yes, and if you voted for FF in any election since the Tribunals started you were part of the problem. Will I pay the Household Charge? Yes, because even if this is a crude way to fund public services I know they have to be paid for through increased taxation. We are a low tax economy (oh yes we are – even lower than Greece and ranked 23rd for personal taxation within the EU 27) but with high public service expectations. They have to be paid for. Better that it was through income tax but how many of you would vote for that I wonder?

• Les property taxes are in the agreement with the troika do you think this is about us funding services to the public.Is it feck its about making sure every cent the banks,bondholders and troika is owed is paid back.I live in the country so not sure what services i’m supposed to pay for.I pay road tax i will pay for water when the time comes.I pay to get rid of my refuse.So what will i get for my money please tell me because i can’t figure it out.

• Les Reed 11/01/12 #

Norman, the bank debt Irish taxpayers were forced to take on makes our position a great deal worse but the core problem is still that revenue from taxation doesn’t cover spending on services like health & education. Take the bank debt away and you still have a deficit. Increased taxation & cutting services since 2008 still leaves a 2012 shortfall which can only be made up by borrowing money internationally. The Household Charge is a condition for the EU/IMF deal currently covering the shortfall. Ireland is locked out of the Bond market so how do you make up the shortfall to pay for the services we all want if you tell the troika to shag off?

• I am delighted to pay it

• Where have you gotten this figure from?

Add New Comment