TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Opposition TDs outline plans for Household Charge boycott

Socialists and others have outlined a campaign where they will urge 1.6 million households not to register for the charge.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated, 14.14

A GROUP OF opposition TDs have held a press conference outlining plans for a nationwide campaign urging householders to boycott the government’s €100 household charge.

The five TDs of the United Left Alliance, as well as Thomas Pringle, John Halligan, Mick Wallace and Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan – have launched a campaign asking the public not to register for the Troika-backed charge.

The campaign follows last night’s approval by the Dáil of the legislation bringing the charge into effect. TDs passed all stages of the Bill by 90 votes to 47 in a vote after 10pm last night.

In those Dáil debates, Sinn Féin TD Aengus Ó Snodaigh became the latest TD to say he would not pay the charge – and was prepared to face a €2,500 fine as a result.

Three other Sinn Féin TDs said they had not decided on when they would follow suit. Another, Dessie Ellis, told TheJournal.ie that he would not pay the charge, but he is not liable for it as he lives in council housing.

Environment minister Phil Hogan yesterday admitted that the charge was not “fair” but insisted that the government would replace it within two years with a more balanced property tax.

He described the actions of the TDs encouraging a civil boycott of the tax as “irresponsible”.

Socialist TD Joe Higgins kicked off the boycott campaign yesterday, when he told the Dáil that the tax was “unjust”.

The requirement that households register with their local authority meant the public had an opportunity to “have their own referendum on these ruinous austerity policies”.

“We will arrive at the end of March with the vast bulk of the 1.6 million householders having boycotted this registration,” he said. He last night added that the charge was “socially regressive”.

With the legislation on the charge having passed both houses of the Oireachtas, the legislation will be sent to President Michael D Higgins to be signed into law before Christmas.

Sinn Féin TD and independents say they won’t pay household charge

Higgins urges public to boycott ‘unjust’ €100 Household Charge

Read next:

Comments (214 Comments)

• I just read that Phil Hogan intends to establish an expert group to do a countrywide property valuation sometime next year! This property charge has been known about for at least a year, yet he’s only talking about setting up an expert group now!! Farce, pure farce. This Government are taking the piss!!

• And I object to the notion that Joe Higgins or any other TD ‘kicked off’ the campaign. Anyone paying attention will be aware the campaign has been gathering popular strength for months. In Donegal alone, dozens of meetings have attracted 400-500 people at a time, all committed to boycotting the charges.

This campaign is a grassroots one, coming from the bottom up. What the politicians are doing is following, as they should, where the people have already gone.

• Ciaro 15/12/11 #

Can pay wont pay!

• Can’t pay, won’t pay!

• jaysus…this tom neville chap is a right knob head.

• we have to pay for the upkeep of the bondholder mansions, it has to be absurdly immoral and downright thievery

• gerry 15/12/11 #

I have a feeling they could turn around scrap the household tax and increase the higher rate by 1 or 2%

• Reg 15/12/11 #

They’ll be doing that in a year or two any way. Household taxes are a normal and sustainable taxation method used in most grown up countries!

• What’s not grown up is starving the citizens to support the gambling habits of the ‘Market’.

Our leaders can serve their people or Mammon. They can’t do both.

• Reg 15/12/11 #

The old form of property tax (stamp duty) has gone, a system which was very unfair as it only taxed those that needed to move house in the main. How would you replace that revenue?

• Grown up countries also have proper public transport, amenities and facilities. Grown up countries don’t grind to a halt when there is 2 inches of snow. Grown up countries don’t have a political system that is rife with crony-ism and corruption.

• And youre not too observant for a trainee ‘Lawyer’ mispelling my name :)
    Goodness help the country if you are indicative of the ageing newly schooled Lawyer.

• How about Journal.ie running an adhoc poll ??? How many people intend registering to pay this bloody tax??

• Oh yes , very easy not pay the charge when your getting 4k a week unvouched expenses… Tools

• It’s not really 2 euro a week its 8 euro you have to pay it off in the first 3 months. I think people have better things to spend their money on during most probably the coldest months of the year. Like fuel and food.

• As I’ve said previously I Wil happily go to any of our prisons before I pay this, I am paying enough, every year we have a hard budget, with new charges and taxes imposed on us, but here’s the thing, the majority of these taxes, charges & levies are aimed at the middle working class, but there in lies the flaw, as more and more of those people lose their jobs year on year, meaning that years tax take is down, and so the following years budget has even greater taxes, charges and levies to make up for the shortfall, it’s a process that Wil not work, sooner rather than later the government Wil run out of things to tax. or Levies to impose on the few people who are working, a radical new system is needed, one where the richest pay the most, and not the one group the whole time.

• Ardo Ci 15/12/11 #

Thank God for these TD’s leading the way against a monster repressive regime ‘elected’ to represent the wishes of the people, not to dictate to them or act as the lackeys of the real masters who we all know. Sadly, if what we’ve seen in the recent past is anything to go by, it will just be a big puff of hot air. People in Ireland don’t revolt – they’re too long in the tooth at doffing the cap! Prepare to be paying an average of €2,500 pa in 2015 like the the rest in the United States of Europe.

• Good news for tenants – not. Irish Times is reporting the following.

The Irish Property Owners’ Association (IPOA) say landlords have no choice but to pass the household charge on to tenants. They will also be forced to pass on the €200 Non Principal Private Residences tax that came into force in 2009, which combined with the household charge will see tenants paying an extra €300 a year.

• €100 charge for homeowners…Well a good bulk of Irish houses are still ‘owned’ by banks until a mortgage is paid off, so technically speaking, shouldnt the banks have to pay it….

• kenny and his lieing crew in Government had an oppotunity a this budget to show solidarity with the people by agreeing to take the average industrial wage until this period f Austerity is over. He and his FF/FG/Labour cronies could then have fully understood what it means to have to fork out Hous Taxes, extra VAT etc … but the greedy self-serving shower would not put their pockets at risk. They are only in it for the money. This is financial terrorism … There is no other words to describe threatening people with prison if they dont pay a 100 euro levy to europe. They are threatening this countries freedom. They should be imprisoned themselves fro lieing to the voters prior to the last election. PEOPLE, a every by-election and at the next general election, wipe these establishment parties out. Bring SF into Government. SF are not afraid to increase the oncome tax for the wealthiest in our society (a 3rd rate of tax on all earnings over 100k). Reduce all publicly financed wages to a max of 100k per year (With 17,000 publicly paid workers in this category alone, this would save the Government over 500 million on wages alone). But the Government ministers and Taoiseach would be impacted by this measure also, and therefore refuse to do it.

• Dessie Ellis has a council house?? The man is on 100k a year.

• I was wondering about this myself. Doesn’t seem right at all.

• Sinn Fein TDS only take home about 30,000 a year plus expenses. The rest goes straight to the party.

• And what does the party do with it? Give it back as a stipend to the TDs and party members. SF think people are stupid.

• 9 thumbs down for my comment. Perhaps SF are right. Perhaps people are stupid. Nine people here seem to think of SF as Mother Teresa. :)

• Pilib,
      He gets paid 91,000euro per year.
      What he decides to do with that money after he gets it is entirely up to him. He can roll it up and use it to light his fires in his house if he wants, it doesn’t distract from the fact that he still gets paid 91grand, plus the same again in expenses.
      He’s a PAYE worker, so as far as his Income as calculated by the revenue is concerned, it doesn’t matter what he decides to do with it after his taxes come out.
      Should someone on 91grand plus expenses have a council house?

• lol lots of FG types here. All complaining about a TD that is not in it for the money. At least he does not pocket the difference, he has always put himself on the line for his beliefs, you might not agree with the way he did it.

Could anyone imagine the likes of Richard or John Bruton ever standing up for their beliefs, ever put their life on the line. Could one imagine the likes of them ever putting the interests of Ireland before their own bank ac counts – course not.

• Rubbish, Pilib. He’s earning a good wage & in a council house ?? Only in Ireland.

• Tim,
      Are SF a charity organisation?
      Are they exempt from the SIPO legislation regarding the maximum donations allowable to a political party?
      Joe Higgins is a true socialist, he gives his money to charities, plus he doesn’t take a council house from the state, he doesn’t take one away from someone that needs it.
      For someone that isn’t interested in money, shouldn’t SF TD’s give back a council house to someone that needs it, instead of holding onto it, while earning 91,000euro plus expenses.
      Even SF don’t mention the wage lie any more, they’ve realised that everyone see’s through it.
      91,000euro per year, yet taking away a social house from someone in need. I’m surprised you even tried to defend that.

• Dessie Ellis has some cheek soaking up a council house on that wage.

• Tim, if you find FG and Labour types so objectionable here, you must really hate democratic elections.

• Dessie Ellis got the Council House before he was elected to the Dáil earlier this year. If you expect people to give up their home as soon as they get a good job, then I think you must live in another world. And they do only take the average industrial wage, the rest being given to the party. The results can be seen in how the party has been able to open counciling centres around the country for citizens. For the first time, A Sinn Féín office was opened in Galway, despite there not being a TD in the whole county. Yet, they are able to supply very useful information and run campaigns from this office, thanks to the funds coming from the wages each TD is entitled to.
      And in regards to the Household charge, Martin Luther King said An unjust law is no law at all. PAYE is just, because the monies are needed to keep the country running, and are levied in regards to earned income. This is unjust, because it hits the bankers and the unemployed with an equal levy, regradless of their ability to pay. As it is unjust, it should not only be a choice, but a duty to refuse to pay. If they need the money, stop paying dividends on UNSECURED bonds, and increase the income tax on those who actually can afford the tax.

• Ryan,
      Like I said, it doesnt matter what he does with his money after the state pays his €91,000 plus his expenses, he can bow smoke rings through €100 notes if he likes. He still receives €91,000 of my and everyone else’s tax money.
      Would you be happy if a developer who sells a few houses after getting a council house, stays in his house, rather than giving it to someone that needs it?
      He warns €91,000 per year. He can afford a house. If he decides to use that money for something else, why should someone stay on a housing list because he is too greedy to give it to them?
      This wouldn’t be an issue, if SF commentators here and elsewhere didn’t constantly try to claim the lie of industrial wage.
      And don’t try to say that an office in Galway isn’t anything other than a political party trying to make itself seen, self promotion. Let SF give money to homeless charities or pick any other charity.
      But of course they wouldn’t, that would help genuine people, rather than

• it wouldn’t help promote the party machine. Everything SF do is designed to gain votes, the exact same as all the other parties. Except, SF are more cynical in their methods. 

• Good man Tom, the old anybody who disagrees with me is stupid argument. Very mature. Not that I disagree with what you have to say, but your arrogance is disgusting.

• Just telling the truth JimBob. That’s the reason I could never be a politician. People would accuse me of being arrogant just because I point out very plain facts. I’d be feckin’ hated with a passion. Therefore I leave politics to those with more patience than I have. I wouldn’t get elected in a month of Sundays….but it still doesn’t mean I am wrong.

• JImBob, What are you Saying! This man studied law! (so he says). We should be on our knees worshiping him! How can he possibly be wrong, of course he will always be right! Think, he is following in the footsteps of the great Saint Michael McDowell himself!

• “9 thumbs down for my comment. Perhaps SF are right. Perhaps people are stupid. Nine people here seem to think of SF as Mother Teresa. :)”

I don’t see a whole lot of truth in that comment, but hey whatever man. Have a happy christmas.

• My failed attempt at sarcasm. Have a good one JimBob!

• Is it legal to rent a council house to a dinosaur?

• F**k the charge,f**k the fine and f**k the lying bastards in the Dail. What’s wrong with you fear shaking people. You’d jump off a cliff if they told you to? Pathetic. How much would this robbery tax have to be before you say no? 1000,? 2000? If that’s the case they should have taken the 3.9 Billion from you lot alone.You want to give some more money to foreign bankers and bondholders go right ahead. Luckily there’s seems to be enough people out there with a bit of balls about them to stand up to injustice and save all your arses in the process. Procrastinating, shoulder shrugging, red thumb dead weights really need a good kick up the backside.

• Well isn’t little display just about as sickening as cost free soft target opportunism can sink? The groups excluded from paying the tax probably form the bulk of these TDs electorate. Meanwhile, while this group can call for a boycott of an annual charge of 100 euros, hardly enough to cover a round in the Dail bar, some 140,000 homeowners are struggling with their home loans according the last report from the Central Bank. Organising a mortgage boycott seems much more relevant to the actual needs of families, but that would asking for some real political backbone. Pass the sick bag.

• it is very important that we pay this tax so we can give it to the unsecured bond holders. then enda and the gang can tell their euro chums that they are good boys and girls. then enda our great leader will look even greater when he becomes president of the European council in 2013!

• “Sometimes the law defends plunder and participates in it. Sometimes the law places the whole apparatus of judges, police, prisons and gendarmes at the service of the plunderers, and treats the victim – when he defends himself – as a criminal.”

Frederic Bastiat

• O am i correct in assuming that non payment is likely to end up in court appearance and a 30 euro charge…?
    I am open to correction here…!!!
    Seems that if this is the case, the legal system is about to get a monster hammering….!!
    I can see the district courts rubbing their hands in glee as this little puppy comes in for food…. Metaphorically speaking that is folks….

• Dear Tom, although my comments were removed I must resist my overwhelming urge to repeat them.
    With every comment you write, you just compound your popularity, just like your party :)

• I was not college educated , but that does not make me ignorant to the fact that there are so many people suffering because of these ‘taxes’ Any one earning over €100. 000 should be taxed on a higher level. I was not college educated but that does not mean I am ignorant or unfeeling to some of the comments levelled at us mere mortals who are here voiceing our real fears about what is happening with our country re: the EU and the Euro. I was not college educated I do not have degrees or diplomas Masters or even certificates, my children do tho, and they would never talk down to any one like some of the contributers have done here today! This country is still a democracy and some people should learn to practise it instead of explaining it .

• Well done Eileen… And on this point, i agree with your inputs many times more than many of the so-called ‘educated’ contributors, and i am college educated :) Respect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Ah yes. Sanctimony from the woman who used the phrase “that Angela Merkel woman” and then says she would never talk down to people.

• Eileen, since I’m the only person who replied to one of your comments today I assume this remark about talking down to you is aimed at me. I’m sorry you feel this way as I agree with much of what you have to say, both here and in other threads.

I’m not sure why you are bringing college education into this discussion though. Certainly as far as I’m concerned college education is irrelevant – your opinion is just as valid as any college educated person. Perhaps this is an issue which has come up elsewhere for you?

I replied to something you said which I felt was very ill considered and incorrect. You shouldn’t feel victimised because of that. Discussion boards would be very boring places if everyone agreed with each other.

• Jamie Walsh . I have read all of the comments on this thread and as I am not college educated I speak as I find ,I have no hidden agendas here only to express my fears . I aimed the above comment at no one person in particular ,if I wanted to aim my comment to you I would have replied directly to you Jamie! However If you have taken it personally that is a shame . We are all faceless names here and as such there is no need for any body to feel put upon.
      As for not being College educated , this is not an issue for me at all ,I quite enjoy robust discussions and I enjoy learning from those discussions too. Every day is a school day , in so many ways. :) :)

• I do not want to register, I do not want to pay it, I believe it is thievery . I can not afford the 2500 fine , I do not want to end up in court. To be honest I am frightened by it and I have had enough , , ,Why do we have to register again . and again and again ad infinitum ………. They know all of our details, PAYE, Car tax, Tv licenses, We are registered everywhere … I bet this form of registration is for europe , now that the Germans destroyed the last of the Nazi files last week !!!!

• How ignorant to take your fear out on German people, Eileen. Hope you’re proud of yourself.

• How ignorant to take your fear out on the German people, Eileen. I hope you’re proud of yourself.

• Jamie Walsh @ To be honest with you Jamie , I am proud of myself and in so many ways and for so many reasons . I am not going to apologise to the likes of you who have NOTHING to contribute to this discussion except criticize me for being fearful of my future and that of my children’s . Unless you want to offer any thing that may explain why we are obliged to register our details ,yet again, for the benefit of our EU masters (The five TDs from the United Left Alliance – backed by other independents including Thomas Pringle and John Halligan – will hold the press conference today where they will call on the public not to register for the Troika-backed charge.) . Do not presume to put words into my mouth and make something of ”the Germans destroyed the last of the Nazi files last week !!!!” My fears are real and ,the Germans did destroy Nazi files in last week or so.I am being flippant I am not taking my fears out on the ‘German people ‘ but that Angela Merkle woman is a German politician Hence Germans …. See who else here you can try and intimidate with you off the cuff comments that add nothing to help any one !

• If you look, Eileen, you will see that I have commented on this thread. You can read it below if you feel like it. Try not to be so self righteous about contributing to the discussion when you haven’t taken the time to read the comments of others.

What I commented on here was a response to your ignorant comment about the destruction of Nazi files (which happened in 2007).

Your fears about the tax are perfectly justified and I didn’t comment on them. Your ‘flippant’ comment however is offensive and you should give some consideration to what you are writing. “That Angela Merkel woman” is the democratically elected leader of the German people – there is no need for your histrionics. Making associations between the destruction of Nazi personnel files and the Irish Government calling on people to register for a property tax is simply ignorant.

No one is trying to intimidate you by replying to your comments. If you don’t want people to express an opinion on your views then perhaps you shouldn’t publish them on a message board.

• Jamie Walsh@ The last of the files were indeed destroyed last week. Your comment is further DOWN the page …. which I have not read yet . As for calling your pal Angela Merkle a woman , am I missing something ? She was elected by her country men/ women just the same as Enda Kenny was elected here , but that does not mean I can not criticize them . Have a good day :) :)

• Yes, Eileen, my comments were made three hours before you accused me of not contributing to the debate. So I say again, perhaps you should check things before being so self righteous.

You’re incorrect about the destruction of the Nazi files. The incident occurred in 2007. Perhaps you are referring to the admission by the German intelligence agency last week of the destruction of the files, which was uncovered by historians.

Angela Merkel is not my pal and I have never met her so your facetiousness isn’t necessary. I have no problem with you criticising her or her Government. I have a problem with ignorant comments about the Nazis.

Have a lovely day :)

• Jamie Walsh .I have a problem with Nazis too .

• Miriam 16/12/11 #

Thanks Tom for the Christmas greetings.
    Im actually not so worried about the 100 euro charge as I am about paying the mortgage next year!!!
    Im a home owner and a tax payer like yourself but if things keep going the way they are I wont be able to afford the mortgage let alone the household charge!!!
    Wondering how long it will be before they evict me when I cant afford to pay the mortgage!!!
    anyway Im sure those bastard bondholders are not worried about where they’ll be living next year or if they can afford to go finance their lavish life styles!!!

• Be cynical of politicians all you like. But don’t cede them the ground that belongs to us, the people. If they follow where the people lead well and good. That is their one and only job.

If we cede the realm of ‘politics’ to politicians, and do nothing but take refuge in cynicism, we will end up bitter and twisted, and more to the point conquered. As in “divided and…’

• Miriam 16/12/11 #

Thanks for the Christmas greeting Tom . You too even if I dont agree with alot of your comments. Im not so much worried about the household charge as I am about paying my mortgage if things keep going the wasy they are. Im a taxpayer like yourself and bought a house at the beginning of the boom (2002). With pay decreases and increased interest rates etc… I am barely able to pay the mortgage. Im wondering how long it will take them to evict me when I cant pay and I default on my mortgage!
    Meanwhile all the anglo bondholders are laping it up with their holiday homes and lavish life styles!!!
    Bastards!!!!

• Pisreog 15/12/11 #

Will Michael D have to pay? Or is he just renting? Or will he have to pay €200 on his house in Galway which has now become his second home? Or is it now €300 on that home? Or is he immune. Socialist president signing this law and the extension of guarantee bill. All money bills which he could refuse to sign on principle and resign. But will he? Yeah, right of course he will!

• let’s follow the sheep and pay up and leave the money decisions to our politicans. I don’t hear too many of society’s elite giving off about the property tax. sure of course 100 yoyos is loose change for them.

• That muppet o’snodigh says he is prepared to pay the fine of €2.500. Well for him he can afford it! Would he be willing to pay everyone else’s fine too?

• well we can safely say 400,000 people will struggle to pay for starters… (unemployed) for those not from Ireland.
    mmm this new leadership is having a right old time racking up the taxes to get us out of a hole…
    shame the old broke park deal can’t get its fat little waist slimmed down a few hundred million….
    Now that would be getting us somewhere…

• So farewell then Tom ‘the troll’ Neville as he embarks upon a further ed degree in Law for FG muppets. All was good fun and debate, having enlightened us the ignorant and inferior. When shall we hear his righteous rantings again? Oh woe is us. Oh yeah, when this agent provocateur turns up to see how many of us refuse to pay this disgusting tax, the prelude to many more “stealth” taxes as Kenny the King bends over to our EU masters. Welcome to austerity.

• Quick everyone….toms gone, lets all talk about him (:

• Miriam 16/12/11 #

ah dont go Tom … you’re such good crack ;-(

• So Sinn Fein TD Dessie Ellis won’t have to pay the household tax because he lives in a council house !!! So we are subsidising this hypocrite with his Dail salary ?????

• Yes. We are paying for his council house. We are paying his Dail salary. We are paying everything for this greedy little man.

• So once a person is elected they immediately have to give up their home if they live in a council house?! Now that’s a disincentive to poor people running for election if ever I’ve heard one!

• If I lived in a council house and I suddenly got a job paying 91k per annum, I wouldn’t find it so objectionable. I’d rather the 91k per annum.

I hate to break it to you but if someone receives money from the taxpayer in the form of a council house, and they earn three times more than the average taxpayer….then I’m sorry but it’s the taxpayer getting screwed here.

• Holy crap. Two people think that someone on 91K should be getting a council house? I now see where this sense of entitlement comes from.

• 4 now, but that’s not the point. Just because he was elected to the dail doesn’t mean he should loose his family home and be forced to leave his community. Surely he can represent his constituents more fully by living amongst them. He should probably be made to pay rent to the council during his time as an elected representative, but afaik there is no legislation to allow this.

• Where have all the comments gone?

• Dá mba Martin McGuinness an tUachtarán an síneodh sé an Bille seo chun é a achtú?

If Martin McGuinnness was president would he sign this bill into law?

• i suspect the phrase “poacher turned game keeper” would apply there if he was

• He would have no choice.
      This is a Money Bill. The president has no choice, but to sign it. If he didn’t, he would have to resign.
      So, yes, Martin McGuinness would have had to sign it.

• Thank god you translated that. I hadn’t a clue what you were talking about.

• No he would be up north bandaging his nephews knees

• He wouldn’t bandage his nephew’s knees. He’d lecture his nephew on why it was wrong to do whatever the nephew is alledged to have done and that the men who blew his kneecaps off were only administering justice. His nephew’s protests about rule of law and right to fair trial in a court of law would be laughed at by McGuinness.

• President does what he’s told, and will like it!

• He would be in breach of the constitution if he refused to do so.

Article 13.3.2°: The President shall promulgate every law made by the Oireachtas.

• He could, however, refer it to the supreme court, citing it to be unconsitutional as it did not take account of varying degrees of capacity to pay. :D

• Ryan. The Supreme Court has no juristiction to review money bills under Art 26. Pay more attention in class dear boy!

• I did. Any bill, deemed as possibly unconstitutional, the president has the power to send it to the Supreme court for overview. This probably would not be deemed unconstitutional, because as you yourself pointed out, it is a money bill, and governments are entitled to levy taxation, etc. But still, he could use his right to call attention to the bill and, ‘Make a Fuss’!

• OK dear boy it’s make your mind up time. Either the president can refuse to sign it or not. Tick tock, tick tock…PS in exams when you give a wrong answer you can’t go back back afterwards and try to wriggle out of it.

Given that you described yourself as “qualified” to comment, I think you should pay a little more attention in school. :)

• I love all your high brow legal terms like “make a fuss” and “have some balls”. A real legal intellectual heavyweight. LOL.

• I appologise. My terms, which do in fact illustrate my anger, are far too unappropriate in the presence of your majesty. I said I was ‘qualified’ to talk about politics, because you started telling people as a person who studied law you were the highest level of authority. I don’t feel I am above anyone on this issue, and I am not a student of law, but as someone who is genuinely interested in politics, and who studies it with a passion, I wanted to show you that our obligation is not due to the govenment, but to the state. So if I appear ‘haughty’, this is totally unintentional. I just felt I needed to inform you of my limited education before actually being able to argue with someone who ‘actually studied law (Point nose in the air)’

• Sorry, apologise

• Ryan Sorry if you got upset when I contradicted you on points of fact such as the president’s ability to refer a bill to the Supreme Court. You have just stated about me “because you started telling people as a person who studied law you were the highest level of authority”. I wonder where you get this stuff from. Perhaps words just magically appear from the screen. I am not the highest level of authority and if I (or anybody) contradicts you on a point of fact, it does not make us the highest level of authority. We cannot “unknow” facts simply because it is so detrimental to your argument. I reckon you read your textbooks the way you read this thread…not quite following it all the way.
      Sorry if I made you feel inferior. To make you feel better I will give you 100 euros of my own money (large enough to make it worthwhile to collect and small enough to know that it is real) if you can show me where I said that I was the highest level of authority.
      I think your feelings of inferiority have more to do with how you perceive yourself than anything I could say.

• How to lose friends and alienate people…by Tom Neville.

• Of all the issues we are confronted with in Budget 2012, why is this the one singled out for civil disobedience? Some families on low incomes, where there is chronic illness or disability, are facing weekly income cuts in excess of €100 a WEEK. Fuel poverty is a serious problem. More people are facing exclusion from health services and a decent education. If the focus is on the Household Charge (note, all these TDs own property), these issues will be forgotten. Is this just easy populism for the ULA?

• Good point michael. I suppose it is because it affects us all so its easier to rabble rouse. Either way it doesn’t matter to.me why because I won’t be paying it, by choice…not because I can’t or I an exempt. But I have to say I’m glad of their support.

• Michael. I think the reason this is stirring civil disobedience is because this is something we feel we have the power on which to send a message. This will hit them in the pocket which is the only thing they seem to care about. We all care about the cuts you’ve mentioned and this can be an easy way to channel that frustration and anger. I’m raging that as a tenant I’m being denied my right to protest but doing my best to get the message out to non Journal readers. 

PS. Getting to love you more and more Niamh. Like women who speak their mind and don’t give a sh!t what the “neighbours” think of them. ;) Funny how things pan out! 

• Will it suit the coalition very well that the Household Charge is THE issue? Will they hide behind “loony left” insults to consolidate their support while the real issues that will cause real suffering to many people will be sidelined. If it really is the case that those refusing to pay face €2,500 fines and the possibility of prison, you might as well give up the job to avoid the USC, or emigrate to avoid 23% VAT. You can be very sure that the vast majority of people will pay the 100 quid.Wouldn’t it be great if we had some real social solidarity where we stand shoulder to shoulder with the really vulnerable, rather than worrying about our individual well-being.

Philosophically, I wonder what is the difference between the politics of the post-modern left and right. They both seem to appeal to self-interest. Marx must be spinning faster than a neutrino at this stage…

• You are such a interesting character Michael. I love reading your thought provoking posts. Hear hear to you.

• Thank you Réada. Your compassion always shines through…

• Likewise reada…you big oul socialist you (:

• It’s easy for politicians to say they won’t pay this charge when they clearly have the resources to pay any fines that might be imposed. It’s pretty irresponsible of them to encourage others not to pay just because they want to get their names in the paper. I doubt they’ll answer any requests from constituents who need help paying their fines on the basis of advice given by them.

For the record, I don’t agree with this household tax or the way it is being implemented. It should be means tested and graduated depending on the value of a person’s home, with protections in place for those who are struggling.

• Yes, but if it is morallt, wrong, as an unfair tax is, their duty, as representatives, to to represent the people and take a stand on this issue. For your info, they won’t be paying the fine either, and said they are prepared to be incarcerated for taking a stand against an unjust law.
      ‘An unjust law, is no law’ Martin Luther King

• It’s important to realise these TD’s are not spearheading this campaign. It is a grassroots campaign that has been gathering strength over many months. In Donegal alone, dozens of public meetings have been held in different towns, attracting attendances of up to 500 at a time – Huge majorities in each case committed to resisting the charges and to standing up for one another on the process. TD’s speaking at those meetings have been directly challenged to clarify if they were personally committed to joining this resistance. They’ve now answered.

• I see your point but unfortunately I’m a bit cynical about the motives of politicians when it comes to leading protests. The bin charge protests were very unsuccessful and the only winners in the whole affair were the Socialist Party, who increased their base. The result now is that we all now pay bin charges and ordinary people, particularly in Dublin, were the ones adversely effected. It seems to me that this is the way the household tax will go too.

@ Ryan, I also see your point but I wouldn’t compare the civil rights campaign to a household tax. Also, just for info, ‘An unjust law is no law [at all]‘ – is from St. Augustine (4th Century philosopher). Martin Luther King just quoted him in a letter. Sorry, I’m a bit of a pedant about these things!

• No harm to be cynical of politicians. But we need to start turning that cynicism into something positive or we’ll all end up bitter and twisted, and more to the point, conquered. As in ‘divided and…’

First thing we need to do is stop ceding all the political space to politicians. It belongs to us, they only occupy it at our pleasure. If we get a grassroots campaign and they join in, well and good. That’s what politicians should be doing. Not the other way around.

• The Opposition are looking for publicity.

• Gav 15/12/11 #

This charge is three decades over due. Anyone who bought a second house, or car that they couldn’t afford in the boom, well, thanks guys. We as a nation are as much to blame as the Government. We are such a country of moaners, get on with it.

• So five TDs want to give 2 fingers to legislation passed by a democratically elected parliament. They should resign their seats if they have so little respect for democracy.

• You have a poor understanding of democracy. We are not supposed to give our mandate to a de facto dictatorship. We elect them, then their job is to represent us. These TD’S are not leading but following. Representing their constituents, as, in a democracy, they should. And, as the duly constituted gov, isn’t.

• Why is one obliged to respect so-called ‘democracy’?
      The Nice and Lisbon Treaty farces proved that we do not operate under any such thing in this country.
      Being permitted to vote within a narrow left-right paradigm to elect a different set of puppets every few years does not constitute democracy and the word is bandied about as if it’s some sort of moral safeguard against all that’s ‘evil’ (substitute ‘non-Western’ to taste) on the socio-political globe. Nonsense. Until someone can demonstrate true and consistent application of the democratic model at the highest level of our current power structure it deserves no respect.
      With regard to legislation governing the household charge, in the absence of a bilateral contract there is no legislative jurisdiction over the individual and absolutely no obligation to pay. Just because we are told otherwise, does not make it the case.
      Basic contract law supersedes the media rhetoric and legislative structure of corporate controlled politicians and the sooner we educate ourselves and begin to use the tools at our disposal, the easier it will be to open our collective consciousness and force change through peaceful means.
      We have the power should we choose to take it back.
      Do not co-operate, do not pay. We are many, they are few, there is nothing to fear.

• Ahem….basic contract law….obviously not hugely familiar with the law their John. Taxes are not subject to what you call “basic contract law”. Isn’t it annoying when you get caught making stuff up? :)

• Ardo Ci 15/12/11 #

This is not a democracy! This is a benign dictatorship – one where we elect people to do whatever they want to us for 5 years. I crave for real democracy. “of the people, by the people FOR the people” And it”s worse in Brussels ye Gawds!

• I’m not so sure if we are in a democracy. I think party politics has destroyed our democratic process. A TD who votes against the will of his leader for what he feels is right now finds himself expelled from the party and shunned.

• Perhaps you missed the election last february. What stopped you (or anybody with all the answers) from runing?

Plus I’ve said this before but use of the word “dictatorship” is hugely offensive to those who have been murdered by dictators. It is both inaccurate (as we had very open elections) and disgustingly disrespectful to those who died under dictatorships. Have some respect for human life please.

• Lack of money stopped me from running. I agree with you as regards the use of the word dictator. It’s a bit over the top. We aren’t living in a true democracy though.

• On the contrary Tom, check your facts as you’re obviously misinformed. Both the state and its tax-collection agency are registered companies.
      I guess that must be annoying for you alright.

• Tom. Having liars run for office is another impediment to democracy. They got to see the books before they ran. They shouldn’t have gone for the job if they weren’t able for it.

• Ah John, how foolish of me (someone who has actually studied law) to think that I might have actually learned something when someone one the internet obviously knows so much more. So if tax is subject to normal contract law (as you have said) I look forward to getting a refund of all the taxes which I paid through the years which went on things like overseas aid, social welfare etc. I haven’t got any of these as part of my contract to pay taxes. Damn those poor unfortunate people with disabilities taking tax money and not completeing their side of the contract. :)

Keith if you really wanted to run why didn’t you do what everybody else who ran did and go out and raise money?

• Reada

Unless I lived in another country, both FG and Labour said there would be a very hard budget. I agree that Labour’s pledge on third level fees has been broken, but apart from that, everything else is pretty much as expected. Do you think that the budget just happened since February?

• Omg. Tom sounds just like the kind of guy who should himself run for office. Arrogant!!!

• Thank you Reada. But I would never run for office as I’d have to put up with moapy feckers like yourself calling into my office everyday saying “what can you do for me?” “I want, I want, I want.” I am happy to help out those I believe make a genuine contribution and don’t tell people that they are entitled to everything just because they are a “citizen”. But if I got elected I would most likely tell people like you to go and feck off. Those who really need help should get it. Those who spend their time on the net complaining, should put their talents to better use.

• Tom. There is something in the constitution re the home being sacrosanct. Would you like to study that instead of taking people down a peg or two?

• Reada You are probably referring to Art40.5 that a dwelling shall be inviobale except in accordance with law. In other words you can refuse anybody entry to your home unless they have a warrant.
      What point are you trying to make?

• It was just something I’d heard Tom. Don’t have the years studying law to investigate it. Thanks anyway.

• “Foolish”? Your words not mine Tom but at least we’re in agreement on something.
      I’m on the internet, imagine that! It stands to reason that I must know nothing then. As a matter of interest, what medium are you currently using to condescendingly attempt to pontificate from?

So you’ve studied law. Fair play. You don’t mention what strand and quite frankly I’m not interested as your grasp of it seems to mirrror your handling of English. Also, you don’t know me but to enlighten you somewhat, your implication that I haven’t studied the law is wide of the mark.

I didn’t say “tax is subject to contract law”. I stated that the legislation governing tax is superseded by contract law. There’s a distinction there.
      I don’t know you and have no interest in speculating as to your employment status, tax status or contractual arrangement with the state or anybody else but to pay polite credence to your misguided line of ‘logic’, just because you may have contracted to pay someone something, it doesn’t mean they are automatically obliged to give it back to you so I woudn’t bank on that rebate.

Anyway, I’m off to pay the TV licence, I hear RTÉ have much to teach us! Have a great, democratic day Tom.

• Sorry there John, what point are you trying to make?

• John and Reada…seriously what points are either of you trying to make?

• By the way John, just so you are clear about this (and don’t try to weasel out after you’ve been found out making stuff up) the legislation surrounding tax law is NOT superceded by contract law. It is however superceded by constitutional law. :)

• I’m addressing your last post Tom. Tough concept I know but I’m sure you can work it out. Good man.

• Tom why are you trying to argue with someone who is using freeman logic? You might as well talk to a wall.

• Note to self. What’s wrong with me that I jump into arguments when I see someone putting another down claiming a superior intellect.

• Wrong again Tom. Read Lisbon (yes I have). That’s all from me. Good luck.

• Reada I’m not claiming superior intellect. I don’t know where you got that idea. As regards being familiar with the law, well yes I am. I cannot “unknow” the law or facts simply to make you feel better about yourself.
      Keith I have no idea what freeman logic is. All I know is that you didn’t run. Therefore I can inly conclude that you did not want to run. Many folks without money (e.g. Ming Flanagan) ran very successful campaigns.
      John…you’ve completely lost me. At leat the others are trying but you’re just making it up as you go along.

• Tom, if those 161 were truly representing their constituents, then, yes, they should assert their majority over the 5, so long as they respect the rule of law and do not infringe human rights in doing so. However, this government has explicitly set its face against the electoral mandate it was given, in order to follow policies set far from us, the citizens.

As it happens I know a bit about dictatorships and killing zones, having been reared in Latin America in the 60′s and 70′s. I don’t use the word lightly. Dictators are often more than happy to assume the mantle of democracy or at least of majority rule. Even Hitler used the electoral process to gain power. That’s why it is important to differentiate carefully between actual democracy and it’s hollowed out form in the process of being subverted.

• @tom, I’d say you are a right dictator at home.

• I take you rpoint about democracy but I have Polish friends of my age group (late 30s) who lived under dictatorship and I used to date a girl from Erfurt (many years ago) who grew up under Erik Honeker. What these people had to tolerate was shocking. No privacy. Dissent against the government was met by smart alecs on the internet or the letters page of the Irish Times. Dissenters were routinely shot. In Cuba dozens of journalists are missing and will never be found. I take your point about Hitler using the democratic process to come to power, but it is still offensive to compare anything today to the horror which was dictatorships. In Saudi Arabia, the closests thing to a benevolent dictatorship, women have only limited rights and dissenters of this policy routinekly get put in jail. In ireland you can say anything you want to. You can called Enda Kenny any name under the Sun and whether I agree with it or not, you will still be free to do that tomorrow. So in conclusion, yes I do think that using the term “dictatorship” is hugely inappropriate and downright disrespectful to the dead.

• Just to clarify a typo. Dissent was NOT met by smart alecs on the internet or the letters page of the Irish Times.:)

• Tom, as ‘Someone who is actually studying Politics and Economics’ (In TCD, I may add), I feel ‘qualified’ to inform you that your argument is totally incoherent and, frankly, stupid. The 5 TDs can go against the 161, if the 161 have no balls to stand for their coutry first, and the interest of the powerful second. We elected a government, democratically, to represent us the people, and not the parties they stood for. Their duty is to us, and nothing should stand in its way. There are some laws all Deputies should respect and adhere to, but when TDs see that something thing is unjust and Wrong, and does not serve the people as an entity, but only those on the upper echelons who, instead of needing to pay high taxation on income, need only divest 100 quid, then their duty to the citizens of this country (and not to 161 TDs who feel obliged to their parties and the EU to go ahead and hit the weaker elements of society, rather than after the fat cats) is the oppose this bill and refuse to comply with an unjust law.
      It was the people of this country who gave the government authority. If we refuse to recognise their authority, then they have no right to force us, as they were elected to seve the interests of the poeple (not the other way around).
      So, frankly it the 161 TDs (I expect that numbe to fall in the near future) who are giving two fingers to the mandate the people who elected them to serve people justly and honourably.
      And, Tom, I agree with you in that; those 161 TDs ought to resign.

• Tom I find it very hard to believe you studied law if you do not know what freeman logic is.

• Ryan, if only we had some way of measuring how the electorate felt about politicians on a regular basis. I’ve come up with this amazing concept called “Elections”. It might catch on. But of course if it does, it blows your argument to bits.

• Keith I am afarid I did indeed study law, quite recently actually. I have no idea what Freeman Logic is. I must have been out that day. I gave a quick glance through some of my text books in the glossary pages and there is no reference there. Not my intention to shock you, but it would appear that Freeman Logic is not being taught as part of the FE1 law exams. :)

• By the way Ryan, you might point out where in the constitution it says that the will our legislature should be overturned if they have no balls. I’ll accept answers in either Irish or English as I know there can sometimes be ambiguity with the translations. :)

• No Tom, it is not thought as part of the FE1 exams. Freemanism is like the antichrist of law. Ask your colleagues about it.

• I did a quick google search Keith. If that’s what you believe, then I am afarid logic and reason might not persuade you. I wish you well, but if it sounds like a conspiracy theory, then we have the world’s dumbest conspirators.

Sometimes there is no magic conspiracy and people just make bad decisions on their own.

• Sir, I feel humbled by your excellence, but frankly, elections are held at regurlar intervals so as to hear the view of the people. In the time between, the elected deputies are held responsible to the citizens, and to the state. People give the state authority, the state uses this authority on behalf of the greatest benefit of the people.
      This law is of the greatest benefit to the 1% of the population who now don’t need to pay higher taxes, and against the 400,000 thousand who are currently living on meagre incomes. Therefore, this law is unjust, and does not obey the will of the people.
      The people may vote in elections, and elect a government, but in the mean, the administration must listen to the needs and abilities of the people.

So, since you are so smart and wise, may I so humbly ask you to please inform me, which way best serves the interst of the greatest number? Rasing money through unfair household charges, or raising money via wealth taxes, income tax for those on higher wages, and by refusing to pay for unsecured bondholders?

For your interest, these are a few book that I find very infromative for seeing who actually has authority:
      Lukes, S (1988) Power A radical View
      Boulding (2004) the Three face of power
      Raz, J (1990) Authority
      Barry B (1976) Power and Political Theory
      Beetham, D. (1991) The legitimation of Power

According to the above, the government of our time ought not to have authority.
      But, lest you don’t believe me, I wish you a merry read. After all, these authors are probably closer to your level of intellect than a poor undegrad like myself.

• It’s not what I believe Tom, it’s the logic John Gibbons was using against you.

• Sorry Keith, Tom had some reading to do, so he probably won’t be back to inform us on all our mistakes for some time.

• So Ryan you believe that only nice law should be passed and facing reality should mean the end of a government? And it’s not that I have anything against undergrads. I used to be one. But if you get caught out bluffing, then you have to admit that you are caught out.
      Keith I have no idea what John was on about. He was making up stuff that tax law is subject to normal contract law etc. Completely bonkers stuff devoid of logic.

• Tom, just to pick up again on your point about using the word “dictatorship,” which, as I said, I do know something about.

You are either:
      a) ignorant of the processes which allow democracies become dictatorships – step by step, concession by concession, each one explained as a necessity, or, as protection from some external evil, or as the means to counter an external threat, etc, etc. The real, tangible excessive evils encountered under dictatorships did not arise suddenly out of nowhere – they arose through the use, often within democratic systems, of multiple means to stifle, channel and derail consent and resistance. When we encounter these processes we need to take that lesson on board, and beware.

Our political system is clearly no longer representative. Our electoral process is wonderful, but it is not effective if it does not deliver a government aware of its obligation to represent the people who elected them or actively gain the consent of the governed. If it delivers, instead a government that believes such an election gives those elected the right to do whatever they like, and order whatever they wish – it doesn’t. If they take that mandate and twist it to their own ends, if they ignore the mandate they were given, then they are acting like dictators, and the process of hollowing out a democracy to replace it with a dictatorship has begun.

b) simply using the “you can’t talk about x, because of these other people who have suffered y” gambit to derail a reasonable conversation that you cannot rationally rebut.

Of course we can use the term dictatorship if we like. When we use it we are fully aware that we are referring to the cold winds that blow from regimes that have overturned democracy and institutionalised the use of force and threats to gain the submission of their people. We use that term to strongly express the nature of that which must be foreseen and resisted.

• Auntie Dote You can make inaccurate comparisons to dictatorships all you want. Your reasoning is that all dictatorships were once benign. We are now beneign. Therefore we must be on our way to dictatorship. That logic is just bonkers.

But what is offensive is to compare a household charge and other taxes to anything comparable to a dictatorship. It is stupid and offensive to make any comparison along those lines. It would be as logical to say that since it rained in Nazi Germany, we must be heading that way.

Yout comments are offensive and disrespectful.

• Sorry Tom. No, I don’t believe only nice laws need to be passed. But only just laws, yes.

• You call this IMF/ECB-imposed theft of the meagre wealth of the average person “democracy”? Making promises before an election and immediately breaking them is not democracy, no matter what excuses you make for it.

• Denis 15/12/11 #

Seems like a fair tax, it hits the homeowners, the group most responsible for the economic mess we are in.
    The costs of their over mortgaging and fuelling a property bubble coming home to roost.

• Do you seriously believe this drivel? Repeating the media-provided “we all went a bit mad” meme doesn’t give it the status of truth. The extent of the losses incurred by the banks can not be explained by defaults on mortgages for domestic properties alone. Actually, they can not be explained by defaults on the much larger commercial mortgages either. They could be explained by banks borrowing from Germany and turning around and loaning to Italy, Spain and others, who in turned defaulted those loans. They could also be explained by banks were gambling on fraudulent financial products such as Collateralised Debt Oblligations and Mortgage-Backed Securities. Mortgage defaults are a very small part of the overall picture.

• In fairness the Nazi files comment was ridiculous and Jamie was correct to call Eileen on it. Eileen’s sanctimony is obscene.

• They should jail these pseudo socialists first. Let them share a cell with some of the other more decent criminals. Mick Wallace and his pals that got elected on their promise of a change in politics and this is the type of gimmick they try and pull. Imagine thes guys are paid such large amounts of money for this behaviour. Send Clare Daly away for 4 years as she is wasting time and taxpayers money like the rest of the men beside her.

• Change the record.

• There will always be comformists like you who will accept any status quo, there are others who will not and I praise them, for those who say breaking the law, if you re saying its Illegal to boycott and refuse to pay the household charge, you re saying its Illegal to own your own private property, like the poll tax, laws that do not serve the Interests of the vast Majority will be broken whether you like it or not.

But since you have tha view the status quo should always be upheld, do you think Rossa Parks was wrong when she broke the law by refusing to give up her seat? do you think those who broke the law by refusing to pay the poll tax were wrong? What about the protesters in Cairo do you they wrong to break the law, when they refused to leave the square?

What about The masses who take the streets in Libya, Syria or currently in Russia all broke the law – are you suggesting they should be all imprisoned? South Africa, the former Soviet Union, civil rights movements in the US, N.Ireland.

Grow up – if you want to pay the charge off you go leave the rest of us to fight being screwed yet again.

• I had to laugh when I saw Mick Wallace in the group. A man who was found guilty of stealing his own employees’s pensions urging others not to pay. Hilarious.

• There must be a property tax – it is part of the agreement with the EU. Clare Daly is securing her seat but that is all she is doing like Joe Higgens and the rest of the socialists. Real socialists would give their excess salary to charity.

• Apologies about the typo where I wrote “saw” instead of “say”. I know how easily offended you are.

Add New Comment