Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Over 18,000 register to pay the household charge in first week

Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

OVER 18,000 HOMEOWNERS have registered to pay the new €100 household charge since the facility to pay was first made available at the start of this week.

A total of 14,441 people have already paid online, while 3,862 have set up a direct debit to pay the charge, for a total of 18,303 registrations.

A spokesperson for the Household Charge Project Board told TheJournal.ie that they were “happy with the level of response so far”.

The number of people registering for the charge has snowballed during the week. Just one person paid the €100 charge on New Year’s Day – the first day it was possible to pay – but the numbers have steadily risen over the week.

Homeowners have until 31 March to pay the charge or risk incurring a late payment fee. Anyone wishing to pay by direct debit must register by 1 March.

The late payment fee is 10 per cent of the charge in the first six months after 31 March, rising to 20 per cent after the six month period. The fee rises to 30 per cent after a year.

Minister for the Environment insists household charge site is “fully secure” >

Late payment fee warning issued over €100 Household Charge >

Who exactly has to pay the €100 Household Charge? >

Read Next:

Comments (113 Comments)

• Get Ta France 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Local council is part of the government, the government now own the majority share of the bank, the bank owns my house until I pay it off in some 20 odd years! So technically I’m living in a council house which makes me EXEMPT!!!!!! Whoo hooo!!!!!

• Desmond O'Toole 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Good luck with that argument! I must admit it’s the most inventive I’ve heard in the long, sorry tradition of tax evasion in this country.

• Paul Kealy 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

18,000 very enthusiastic fluffy sheep, another 1.58 million more will follow. A peculiar sort of people, quite unique in the world. A French fellow recently asked me was there something in the Irish tap water…I still haven’t replied.

• Ed Kavanagh 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Yes. Its he same posion used my the Nazis to subdue prisoners; the main ingredient of prozac and the one that is spelled out on your toothpaste tube as being dangerous and not to let your kids swallow. Fluoride.

• Report this comment

20 years ? You’re one of the lucky ones, most are 30-40.

• Paul Kealy 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Ed Ah thank you, I now have the reply for my French friend. I have never voted yes in any European referendum and I do not trust or believe one word from a politicians mouth. I do not do what I am told to do just because someone threatens me, uses big words or wears a tailored suit. Funnily enough, I also don’t drink tap water )

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ed. Is it true that we have the highest dose of fluoride in Europe?

• Ed Kavanagh 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Most countries in Europe don’t do it… and its being gradually reduced in some US states. The US EPA officially recommends that infant formula is not made with flouridated water. I can’t understand how people thinking swallowing fluoride is going to do anything for your teeth especially if you already rubbing it on with a toothbrush. Read your toothpaste tube. It specifically states not to swallow it so why drink it. Crazy..

http://www.fluoridefreewater.ie/levels.php

• Paul Kealy 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I bet there is no Fluoride in Greek water

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

There is a legal argument to not paying water charges due to flouride. Integrity of the water. Have that on legal advice :-)

• Ed Kavanagh 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Reada… Unfortunately most people think I am crazy when I tell them there is poison in their water. It opens up a can of worms that most sane people just can’t even start entertaining :) Tell enough people a lie it soon becomes accepted truth… as in so many things….

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ed. I’ve said it before, at first the truth is resisted, then ridiculed, then accepted as fact. There’s a lot more of us at the fact side now than there were. That’s the only consolation I have ATM. Keep saying it!!!

• Paul Kealy 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

“All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.” This simple quote resonates so loudly today and seems to timelessly follow humanity through the centuries…The EU, The treaties, The Lisbon Treaty, politicians, bankers, the ‘elite’, the lies, the propaganda, how they ridiculed those of us because our eyes were open. I sense that we are very close to the stage of violent opposition throughout Europe, which although very sad was always inevitable, yet so easily avoidable. The truth will always rise beyond ignorance, indifference, oppression and lies…always )

• Ed Kavanagh 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Wish I was a bit more optimistic like you but the majority of people in Ireland think the Financial crisis was their fault because we got greedy … If people can’t see what’s going on in front of their noses now then they are nowhere near ready for the big picture

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

We typed at the same time Paul. You more eloquently than I. ;-(

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Here’s another one. Truth can walk around naked. Only the lie needs to be dressed. That’s the prose over for now folks. Gotta get the decorations down.

• Ann Illing 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

wonder if they will be so keen when the amount they have to pay skyrockets next year.

• Robert Murphy 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Idiots…. What is wrong with these people??

• Ann Illing 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The people I have spoken to who are paying are just simply frightened at what will happen to them if they don’t. Jail being their main fear. But then governments rule by fear. Or maybe they haven’t heard of the ” http://www.nohouseholdtax.org ” wesite.

• Desmond O'Toole 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

There’s nothing like a wild generalisation to justify tax evasion, hey Ann? I’ve registered and am paying and in common with everybody I know who is also paying it’s got nothing to do with fear of gaol. People have an expectation in Ireland for European levels of public service, but are often unwilling to pay European levels of tax. That doesn’t add up. A local property tax will support local democracy and local services. It ensures a reliable income stream for local government. That’s why I’ve registered for the Household Charge.

• Norman Hunter 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m curious Declan do you really believe that this charge will fund local services.Will you enlighten me as i’m a rural dweller what services will i be able to avail of.At the moment no street lighting no paths no park terrible roads(i pay car tax) no public parks.

• Thevoice Ofreason 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Desmond

You really haven’t a clue about what is happening in Ireland at the moment.

Report this comment

Sorry Desmond refered to you as Declan

• Declan Carroll 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

This is rates by another name. A local means of raising funds to operate local services that the FF party abolished in the 70′s to buy an election. I have no prob paying it as long as it “does” go to fund local services & that everyone – no exceptions – contributes something. I wish I didn’t have to pay it but we have to now. Our hands are tied thanks to the dreadful mismanagement of our country. The IMF are ruling the roost thanks to Bertie & Co.

• David Sheridan 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

1.6 million liable, 18000 registered, only about another 1.58 million to go.. Haha, best of luck with that lads…

• Ann Illing 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Typo..website

• Anel Cceram 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Paying it is just wrong. There are no local services not already paid for. Pay it once and you will be tormented.

• Ciarán Howley 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I wouldn’t be too quick to believe those numbers! From talking about it to various people, none of them have paid or know anyone that has. Scaremongering! People should stick to their guns and see how things develop.

Perhaps a poll on TheJournal asking whether people have or haven’t.

• Thevoice Ofreason 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Good idea but If they had a poll on here ladour and FG cronies would probable just create multiple accounts to make it look like more people already paid it or are going to pay it. They are already paying people with our tax money to thumbs down comments against them.

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Yes voice. They have given out free iPhones to the FG paid up party members. They’ve all registered and paid. You might recognise the names. Or is that just a rumour???

• Manfred Meyer 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Resorting to psychological terror by the government is disgraceful.
    I would like to think that people who paid so far are the elderly who felt fear and intimidation.
    I can imagine that the rate of payments will from a certain point on decrease.

• David 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Look at the pensioners. Tax evasion will catch up with you. I’m not afraid of jail, It’s the charge they’ll put on my property with all the interest and penalties that I don’t want. I don’t want to pay tax anymore than anyone else but I’d prefer this to income tax or stamp duty on transactions as it spreads the burden more evenly. And no of course your not going to get anything for it the same as you get dam all for your motor taxes and everything else. It’s just gonna be squandered and wasted by local authorities paying themselves to have meetings about nothing and be totally counter productive. It’s a joke how many local authorities there are in this country all arguing amongst each other.

Report this comment

So what is wrong with standing up instead of acting like sheep as we have done for the last several years.This government is trying to rule by fear like the previous lot did sadly it seems to have worked with 18,000 if the figures are true.

• Sheila Murphy 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

David if you truly believe that, then why tacitly support this behaviour by paying more taxes? Say NO, I don’t like your behaviour and until it changes, I’m not paying any more ! Stand up for yourself and your opinion!!

• Kevin hamill 08/01/12 #
      Report this comment

David, you are between a rock and a hard place, but don’t  pay any form of property tax if it is on the house that you live in. The government have no right to tax the house you live in, what right have they to put a claim on it, Bankers that had a hand in the countries downfall walk away safe in the knowledge that there can be no claim on their property. What next, if they decide to put a claim on one of your kidneys, it could be sold to raise vital funds for the state, will you give it to them, after all they might threaten to take both from anyone who fails to comply. Do we not have Democracy in this country, if so then a whip system is not democratic, and therefor a claim on your house that you live in is a communist ideal. The country needs a property tax, but it should be totally confined to property that is landlord owned , property that is used to create wealth, be it residential,commercial, or land, rented out or leased to others to pay the mortgage for the landlord. I mean a proper tax of €2000 a year on a house or apartment and €100 a year per acre on rented land. Stop paying rent allowance and encourage everyone to have their own home, look at the amount of money would be saved to social welfare. Hogan has the gall to even expect people to pay a property tax on their home even if they have to leave Eire go abroad with their family to try and find work to pay off their mortgage and negative equity on the house they left behind.

• David 08/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@kevin. Do you realise the value of rented farmland. You are proposing a tax of 100 euro per acre on it. Well that is about the value of it. It’s like having a tax of 10,000 a year on a 3 bed semi. Sounds like self interest out of you.

• Noel Kelly 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

the govt and people setting up the scheme have totally failed to take into consideration the elderly and the isolated! this week I tried to find information for a frightened elderly widow on how she could pay as she has no access to creating an online account. eventually after many attempts at google I found there website which had zero detail about how this person should pay! after a long recorded message I got to a live person who admired that the systems were rushed through and flawed. this included the wrong return address on the form he would send out to the pensioner! all this talk of fines and lack of clear instruction is creating a reign of terror, instead of a simple calm approach that would provide each household with an invoice that could then be paid or exempted! completely obvious that there is no effort being put into making this clear and efficient! I look forward to reading the exposés later.

• David 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

No need to panic a while. The local authorities won’t be up to speed after Xmas till February at least. I’d imagine there will be alot of ads on the press and tv probably costing as much as the charge will bring in. True though, not everyone has access to the internet and credit cards.

• David Sheridan 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Hi Noel, it is not lawful to send an invoice without a Contract first being in place and could be challenged on the grounds of extortion. This is why they will never send you an invoice. Also, an invoice should be itemised. Since we are not getting anything extra, an itemised invoice would be impossible. If you refuse to register you are effectively refusing to contract.
      In order for a lawful contract to exist, and money change hands, there needs to be a few things in place first: Consensus ad idem, Equal Consideration, Negotiation of Terms, Full Disclosure and Wet Ink Signatures are but to name a few. None of which are present with regards to this extortion of the public.

• Ann Illing 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

They cant send out invoices to everyone as there is no data base of property/householders …thus by registering and paying you are helping them on their way..!!

• Brian Carroll 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Bunch of licks

• Frank Buffets 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If you withhold paying the tax for 1 year the fine is 30 euro extra. Although €30 is a lot for most people on top of the tax €100 it provides a great way to protest, if enough people did it the tax would fail. When the tax goes up to say €500 you won’t have this opportunity again.

• David 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

That’s 30 percent extra that I don’t want to give. It’s going to be replaced by a property tax which will hopefully be a fairer system

• Robert Ford 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

How can the property tax be fairer? It can go down it can only go up. Why are councils exempt from property charge? Take a look at the uk, everybody pays council tax unless they are exempt because of low income. No exemptions on low income grounds here as far as I am aware.. What services are we getting for our 100 euros. In the country no public transport, little street lighting (which I don’t want), a waste bin emptied every three weeks which costs roughly 20 euros per bin ( charge includes for compost able waste brown bin but who needs that in the country?). Only ever seen 2 brown bins put out in the area where I live, about one percent. Nows that’s value for someone other than me.

Surely bringing Ireland into line with other countries, as claimed means removing vrt.

It seems to me that reading all comments on the journal that most antagonism is against the banks. If so why not open foreign accounts and keep any savings however small abroad. That would give the banks a message. Foreign currency accounts are available to avoid conversion charges. Tax exemption can be claimed from the uk under the double taxation agreement that exists and Irish tax is payable. The only looser is the bank! And that’s a legitimate protest.

• Rommel Burke 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

David, that 30 euro will pale into insignificance once they have you on board. The “its unfair now but will get fairer” line they are peddling doesn’t wash with me.

Report this comment

That’s the thing that bugs the sh*t out of me, Robert F. These “exemptions”. Everyone must make a contribution. “Everyone”. As a taxpayer since I was 17 yrs old, I’ve paid for everything & that never bothered me. Regarding the property charge ( i.e. rates ), I have no prob paying for it as long as the money goes to where it is meant to go & “everyone” makes a contribution.

• Robert Ford 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Declan me likewise since I was 15. The household charge surely is a misnomer as it is paid for by the owner of the property and therefore a house owner charge with big Authorities being exempt. If it was a household charge it would be payable by the home occupier. Maybe house owners are supposed to obtain the money from the occupier, bit like vat charges?

Report this comment

U make a valid point there. As I said, I have no problems paying as long as “everyone” contributes. It’s unfair to those who are compelled to pay & it creates division in society.

• joseph mcgee 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

just curious dec, i wont be paying this regardless of jail dah dah dah. i know there is a smallish number who feel the same as i do.
      so if we wont pay, does that mean u wont pay until we pay?

Report this comment

Hello, Joe ! Head’s a bit sore today after last night & had no intention of posting on the journo today. Here I y’am, tho’ !! I will pay regardless of who does or doesn’t pay. I refer u to my previous postings as to why I’ll pay. I wish I didn’t have to, but – there we are. My gripe is with the “exemptions”. That creates division & is very biased towards those in society who always have to pay & have no probs in paying. This particular charge is now in place & it is up to the individual to pay & that rests with his/her conscience. Like any other bill we have to pay, there are consequences to be faced if you don’t pay. I will be paying & will be paying with a grievance. The only bill I detest paying is a licence fee to RTE. Paid that Thursday & that killed me to do it. You have a nice day & I hope you enjoy the new move “The Iron Lady” !!!

Report this comment

By the way, Joe – I live in a nice wee apartment complex & I also pay a E1,400 a year maintenance fee. Multiply that by 17 years. On top of that, I’ll have to budget for this property tax. No exemption for me. Do I gripe about it ? No. It’s a reality I have to get on with. Sláinte.

Report this comment

thats fair enuf dec
      do u really believe it’ll go for where its meant to go?
      its a reality that u r choosing.
      well, dont want to go too hard on ya in ur vulnerable state,
      but for someone who claims not too gripe too much,,,well, perhaps look again at ur posts.

anyway, hope the hangover eases up!

Report this comment

2 Anadins dropped into a glass of water now ! I am hoping money will go to where it is meant to go. Yes – I do have gripes & grievances with it. No doubt about that. Anyway – I’ll get on with me sufferin’ here. Cheers !!!

• John 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Smoke and mirrors. There’s no proof anyone is registered. This is a con job to get people to sign up.

• Pisreog 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So that’s 1.125% who have paid so far!! Weyhey!

Is it a news item because so few have paid? Surely it’s not a boast that 0.16% of the population have paid!

At this rate 213,500 will have paid by 31st March. That represents 13% of the 1,600,000 householders which the Govt says are liable. If the rate of payment trebles, it’ll still leave over 60% non payment

• Ciaro 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m not paying until I receive an Invoice.

• Ciaro 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

What is the household charge project board.
    This is all I could find out:

Thank you very much for your email regarding the household charge. The Household Charge Project Board is an internal steering group of the LGMA which was set up to drive the implementation of the Household Charge. The members of the project board are made up of stakeholders from the sector including representatives from the Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government, the Local Authority sector and the LGMA itself. No one on this project board receives any remuneration for being a member of this project board. The project board was not set up as a new board to bring in the household charge but could be better described as an internal steering group of the LGMA. There is no budget or costs involved for the project Board itself.

Also, I googled the chairperson, Jackie Maguire and this is what I found:

Ms Jackie Maguire is a member of:

the Housing Finance Agency
    the board of The Western Development Commission
    designated manager of the Border Regional Authority
    council member of Comhar

Career quango member………..

• Ted Power 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

DO NOT PAY THIS MADE UP BULLSHIT CHARGE, I’ll give the money to a hospice

Report this comment

At least that way it will do the local community some good, we have being more than generous to Bondholders, charity should start at home now

• Ed Kavanagh 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

People are losing sight of the elephant in the room… The corrupt banksters debts that you are paying off. Default on these and there will be plenty of money to Spare

• P Wurple 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I paid it because I have been a victim of tax evasion (of my employer) in the past, and swore then I would never evade tax myself because of the mess and hardship that caused myself and others.

It goes against my morals and values to evade any tax I am liable for. I will never ever be guilty of tax evasion, no matter what situation I find myself in.

Report this comment

Thanks for the laugh p wurple
      Ill be sure to wrack myself with guilt for not paying it.

Report this comment

Thats good, you stick by your principles and others will stick by theirs.Just one thing this is a charge not a tax.So not directed to you P but can others who refer to people as Tax Evaders who refuse to pay this charge learn the difference and stop the name calling.

• Paul Mc grath 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

More fool you P Wurple

• Paul Kealy 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

This ladies and gentleman is the reason your government and the EU will continue to screw you. Sheep like Wurple are a politicians dream. Shame on you Wurple

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

You did in your backside p Wurple. You just like to cause a stir. We need people like you tho too. Just to have something to rebel against. Thanks.

• P Wurple 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Nice stream of abuse… As expected from this rotten-to-the-core brown envelope culture. Everyone is a fraudster, and proud of it to boot. Wanting it all, never wanting to pay for it. So typical Irish. No wonder the politicians are a bunch of crooks.

Why dont ye go off and comment on how those poor child benefit fraudsters are being hard done by?

Or better yet, go picket the council for not having enough money to provide the services you demand.

The rest of us hard working tax payers will pick up the slack, as per bloody usual.

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

For the third time in 24 hours I have to say the same thing. I am one of those people who consider it a privilege to pay tax. I love paying tax. I love the fact that it pays our teachers, nurses, Gardaí, unemployed, those on social welfare and anyone in need.

What I don’t appreciate is paying it fraudulently into a big black bank hole! Who’s the fraudsters again????

Report this comment

Thanks P!
      Knew i could count on you to pick up the tab.
      While ur at it, would you mind awfully taking up the slack
      for the rest of us re. the banks?

Now, do me a favour, take urself down off ur self-created cross.

Oh, and don’t think u can insinuate that good and decent people
      who refuse to pay this are tax evaders
      and not expect to get some harsh comments back.
      if u cant take it dont give.

Finally, ITS NOT A TAX!!!!
      its a CHARGE!!!

• P Wurple 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I pay a boatload of tax towards the banks joe. USC. Universal social fecking CHARGE.

Or do you not pay that either?

Report this comment

still on the cross, ‘eh?
      News Flash…..
      so do most people, meself included.

• P Wurple 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Call it a cross, I call it the moral high ground.

So you pay other CHARGES, but not this one. Good logic. Call me whatever you like, but anyone who chucks abuse at me for paying something I am legally liable for is nothing more than a petty crook in my eyes.

Enjoy your fine! :)

Report this comment

oh wurple, u do make me giggle..
      moral high ground, thats a hoot!

fine? dont be silly, i wont be paying it
      sure, why would i not pay the CHARGE
      and then pay the fine? :-)

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Oh I do so love to see these little journal romances develop… They do say opposites attract

Report this comment

u noticed it too reada?
      i’m feelin the vibe too,
      who knows… if she plays her cards right…

Report this comment

……..bit a life left in de old dog yet……….

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I’ve already been asked to be bridesmaid to easygoing for her forthcoming wedding to ted power, altho I think there was a little sarcasm in that invitation. But seeing as you and I see things along a similar vein Joseph I do hope you’ll speak in my favour with p Wurple. She and I have not always seen eye to eye…

Report this comment

ah now, a course ill slip a…. mmm…. good word in for ya.

Now, i may have to exercise a few demons outta her first…

Then,
      Let the healing begin!!

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sorry Joseph. Jay has just made a good point. Was getting a bit bored there. Saturday night tv not what it used to be since x factor over. Can’t wait for dancing on ice. Ah well…

• Réada Quinn 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Nobody pay this ridiculous charge. Let them whistle.

• Jay funk 07/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Very few are paying or the 1,500,000 household only 15,000 or1%. We are 1 week into a 12 week period even if there is a 2 fold increase in payers for the remaining 11 weeks in total only 345k of the 1,500,000 will of paid. Also of the 15,000 so far I wonder if many of them are Nama or bank properties.

• Paul Mc grath 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Clowns all irish people will bitch and moan and then follow like sheep. Jesus they must have loads of cash these idiots to pay these gangsters Glad I left that place it’s heading down hill and FAST…..

• chicken ball ann 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

We can not compare a property tax in this country with any other country because I had to pay almost 30,000 in stamp duty on top of fees & VAT when I purchased my house in 2005. I was robbed then & refuse to be robbed again.

• Laura Purcell 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

anyone else finding it funny that the government are so afraid no-one will pay up that there has been an almost daily reminder that it must be paid, oh and we prob will have a weekly count of how many have paid! Wonder why that is?? What is the money earmarked for??

• Report this comment

The charge must be paid by the homeowner! Ulster Bank are legally the owners of my house as they hold the deeds, I assume Ulster Bank will be paying the charge on the property I reside in?! Fair play to them.

Report this comment

Hate to brust your bubble but it is your house Ulster Bank can seek to enforce there charge over the property if you don’t pay your mortgage.But even then it is your house till a judge says otherwise.

• Paul Jacob 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I think people should do the maths on this one – the government want to get 1.6million households to register for this between now and the end of March i.e over a 12 week period. That works out at nearly 135,000 people per week – puts the 18,000 figure paying into perspective.

I checked the RTE website 9am wednesday and it said 700 people had paid the charge a few hours later at one o clock news they said 2000 registered to pay,. I doubt they’ve had 1300 people pay in that space of a few short hours. fox news spin at its finest. I have to question What “average couple” etc. with kids has money after the XMAS holidays to pay this straight away in the first few days of January. A very slick PR campaign has been launched to scare people into payment. It is a very cynical move,It seems like an awful lot of people are showing an interest in paying a new tax very very quickly. Are those with a vested interest trying to create a surge in early payments? Who the hell goes out and pays a newly created tax in the first week in January after the Christmas holidays when the apparent deadline imposed is the 31 March. Also to the best of my knowledge they hadn,t even advertised the website and payment details all that much so I don,t know how over 2000 people already knew about it. . As a matter of interest when registering I beleive details on your water supply connection are also taken….so they are all set up for the next charge.

• Paul Jacob 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

One more point

That figure of 18,000 registered could be suspect..

It is very easy to register a fake property under a fake name . If many people do that it would totally mess up the database. I wouln’t be surprised if “some people ” did it as a protest.
    You can set up a property without paying.

It is possible to register as a person living outside Ireland – No PPS number required. It takes any made up address – it might try and check it against “known” addresses – but it gives you the option of telling it to take the one you have entered.

No email address validation is carried out (unless you want to pay by D.Debit)
    Mobile number optional if you tick “no text messages”

I am of course not suggesting anyone should do this.

Because there are no signatures – it will also be easy for people to register other people’s houses “for them”. It could be a right mess.

• Paul Jacob 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@ Cormac, no not saying that at all, if you read my post carefully,its easy for someone to register false names and false addresses,or register a real address under a false name or two false names,could easily mess up the datebase on householdcharge.ie

• Paul Jacob 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Some of us have already heard John Fitzgerald say the real amount of a property tax would be a €1,000 a year alone, lets do the maths on this one, which would work out at €19.23 a week, meaning it would be €2.74 a day, you would be asked to pay if they were to succeed in bringing in a full property tax alone.

• Martin Kirwan 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

i must get round to it it keeps slipping my mind

• Report this comment

So lets just say, they do manage to legally bring in Council tax(under a fluffy smiley ‘charge’ name)….I mean legally, in that they abide by the Data protection laws they set themselves(and don’t raid the ESB customer databases for addresses of home owners), and we have to pay our local authority for local services…does this mean the bin charges will be discontinued so ?? In UK, council tax covers the bin collections….funny Fingal Co co has now pulled out of the market for bin collections in my area, have no choice but pay PANDA, private company (who I must add have no exemptions/waivers for low income earners) to collect my bins…..What local services are we going to receive for it….none! And existing services are only going to get worse….this money is going straight to Germany – Don’t be fooled….

• David o Mahony 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I wonder would the government dare bring the priory hall residents to court for not paying? Now that when the Sh1t really hits the fan.

• jimbo 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Not paying and those who paid are just silly,you have opened another door for a higher tax come next budget,it will be interesting to see how many have not paid come the deadline.they have no room to lock us all up have they? NO!

• David Stephan 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I have trolled the net and the supposed amount of law abiding Cerfs who have paid fluctuates a lot, it’s a PR stunt by the government and the state media to fool us into abiding by what they want to us to believe is the mass of people flocking to pay. DON’T BE FOOLED most of us see through it.
    The yes’rs, the payers, the back boneless, the FFailers and FGutless you remember these days as they will live on in people’s memory for a very long time.
    REMEMBER, YOU are laying the foundations down for your children to live chakelled and enslaved to the powers who’s only objective is to have us pay them for what is ours in the first place. Our houses, our water, are no longer ours, after the bankers have been repaid 2 or 3 times more than what We borrowed and our houses Are debt free, the gov will require us to keep paying €€€€ in household taxes for non existing magical, mythical services. I pay for my own water, it’s pumping, recycling, maintenance, purification, I pay for my bins, my road tax, I empty my septic tank and maintain it but they want to tax it too. I pay to drink, I pay to piss soon I’ll pay the self selected leaders of “our” world a tax to breath! On that, I own my house but: cannot build, extend, reface my property without authorisation, cannot build a garage or work from home without permission F@€& democracy if this is what it is.
    REBELLION and REVOLUTION against the tyranny we are witnessing is our only way forward as even a peaceful action has been denied to us when they introduce a new “law” giving them the powers to collect info from ESB and collect funds from source.
    This is the ultimate step in total control over the masses, it is shameful that we sit by, idle, watching our rights erode away by dictatorial and european puppets who pretend to work and represent the will of the people of this country.
    Elected by the people, with the people and for the people. Not 1 political party in this land understands these words.

• HELLO SPRUIKER 07/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I didn’t realize that we had 18,000 over paid politicians (and sleevens) in this country.

Goes to show.

We are over staffed when it comes to our public sector.

• Paul Jacob 08/01/12 #
    Report this comment

When the second home tax was Introduced, I never recalled any media outlet publishing any list in the first few days of numbers registering to pay, goes to show by publishing these numbers, the establishment are afaid of the boycott campaign,

• Richard Carroll 08/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I would imagine that local lovernment will receive no additional funding from the household charge, existing funding to local government will be cut to the tune of whatever the houeshold charge brings in, meaning the monies raised from the household charge in effect go to central government. I voted for FG/LAB at the polls last year, knowing what was in store. Overall I think the goverment is doing a good job in steadying the ship. I am not interested in assessing them on individual election promises, more the bigger picture, and how they are keeping us on track as a nation in meeting our commitments with TROIKA given futher disastrous ecomonic conditions in the EUROZONE since they have been elected. While we detest the TROIKA its worth saying that without their funding we are dead in the water. I will continue to support the government at this time by paying the household charge. I do realise however that there are families out there already at the pin of their collars with bills already. We do need to a Wealth Tax if the ordinary Joe is to continue to swallow the medicine.

Report this comment

I understand why it might look like self interest or that I do not realise the value of rented land, but it’s not the case, what I realise is that speculators bought up land in the last decade in the understanding that this land would be zoned for building and they would make millions, they helped create the problems we are all paying for now, I am only pointing to those who have rented out land from the day they bought it, those who have never used it in a farming capacity themselves and only in relation to land outside zoned areas.
    €100 per acre might seem alot but what is the alternative, let them off, if they think it is to much let them sell it.
    We have to get to a fair tax system in this country, and to a point where people are encouraged to own their own home, not encouraged to live off the state, and speculators will know that they will have to pay for their speculation, We have to have a system that will not allow the same thing to happen again.

• Patrick Halpin 08/01/12 #
    Report this comment

So on one hand we’re being threatened with fines and jail (!) for not paying. On the other hand we’re called ‘sheep’ and are told that if we do pay, it will increase to €500 before long! It seems to me that the people who are giving about about scaremongering are doing just that!

• Report this comment

P Wurple, you really have a warped sense of reality. Rejecting this tax is nothing to do with corruption or brown envelope culture, it’s about standing up against injustice. This tax has nothing to do with providing public services but rather is another ruse to have ordinary people crucified even more to pay off the gambling debts of various banks. Our government is not acting in the interests of the people, but rather in the interests of a minority of these bondholder parasites who created a housing bubble and are now asking us to pay for the crash. What you are “legally liable for” is entirely subjective. Unjust laws were made to be broken. Unjust taxes were made to be defeated, like we did with the water charges in the 1990′s. We had all the same arguments from a minority like you but we beat it and saved ordinary people €800 per year. We will do the same with this sham. But if you want to throw your money away, be my guest…

• Michael Noonan 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’ll be making sure that scoundrel Michael D Higgins pays his dues. https://twitter.com/MichaelNoonanTD/status/167015206915031041/photo/1

Add New Comment