TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Poll: Have you been enjoying the Olympics so far?

We’re more than halfway through the London 2012 Games. What do you make of it so far?

Boxer John Joe Nevin after his victory over Oscar Valdez Fierro of Mexico last night, securing a medal.
Image: AP Photo/Ivan Sekretarev

WE’RE MORE THAN halfway through the London 2012 Olympics which will end this Sunday.

The games have seen Michael Phelps seal his dominance of the swimming events, smashing the previous record for an overall medal haul even with increased pressure from Ryan Lochte, while Usain Bolt answered his critics by winning the 100m men’s final last night. China has dominated the medals table so far but Great Britain, currently coming third overall, has had an impressive tournament, especially in cycling and track and field.

Ireland has yet to officially win its first medal – although John Joe Nevin has secured at least a bronze – despite a strong performance from Annalise Murphy in the sailing this afternoon. Instead, hopes are resting firmly on Ireland’s boxers.

So we want to know: Have you been enjoying the London Olympics? Let us know your thoughts in the comments.

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• Have to say BBC made it more enjoyable with the “press red” system they’ve set up! Any sport ou like on demand

• That’s not a fair toll.
      Ye never give enough options which make the toll pointless.
      It’s usually either a) yes b) no, or if there is a c) its usually “don’t know”.
      Well in this toll, there should be a third option, maybe fourth.

Are you enjoying the Olympics?
      A) Yes
      B) No
      C) No interest in it so not bothered watching it
      D) Don’t have time to watch it.

Sorry Christine, nothing personal

• What’s a toll?

• It’s been super enjoyable whether or not Ireland have won anything. The atmosphere coming from there is great!

• RTE should have set up an On Demand/Interactive feature like the BBC’s. I guess it would make the Saorview switchover a little more attractive. Fair play to BBC for their one, pick any sport any time on the red button.

• I’m enjoying it more after seeing Katie Taylor win and hearing the support for her. Well done you absolute legend!

• Yes it has been great. It gives a people the chance to see things they never have seen before. It generates interest for generations to come.

• I did enjoy and still enjoying it! Two gold medals for Poland, one silver and one bronze so far!Very well done!

And fingers crossed for Katie! Hope she will win the gold and make you irish lads proud!:-))

• Well, as a Brit living in Ireland, I am definitely enjoying the Olympics so far – even Andy Murray managed a win!!

• I fail to see how Ireland not winning so many medals means you cannot enjoy the Olympics.
    The sport on show has been incredible, from the swimming pool and Phelp’s records, the badminton scandal, drama at the rowing and Usain Bolt confirming his legendary status last night.
    It’s been brilliant.

• Jessica Ennis, enough said! :-)

• Niall 06/08/12 #

40% of people are not enjoying the Olympics? I can only assume they are the ones hoping to get the remote back to watch dung like Corrie and Fair Shitty.

• loving every moment so far. been some amazing performances. and planty more to come. pity the olympics dont run longer.

• Totally enjoyed being here in London for the games…well organized and really good atmosphere….on a down side when British friends asked me about Ireland s performance I just don’t know what to say except they have 15 times our population and many more assets than we do plus a gene pool of people that come from strong sporting stock .I can’t help feeling a bit sorry for our athletes add I know they are giving all they have but still can’t deliver medals

• Am enjoying ever bit of it, great show and well done 2 the brits. And 2 katie and john joe.

• How could you enjoy seeing little or no Irish performance ….. The Investment in boxing will show how it’s done as all our medals will prob come from it ,the Brits pumped millions in there athletes and it’s now paying off for them and in turn inspires kids to get involved in sport and a such pays off ……. Put the money in sport now !!

• Totally agree with you Darren…..apparently lots of money from UK lottery finds sport there….let’s hope our boxers do well

• It’s amazing to see athletes from other countries bearing obviously Irish names doing so well in the Games.
      Looking at them, I think they must be thanking their lucky stars that their forebears emigrated from Ireland!

• If Ireland pumped millions into sport the Journal comments would be on fire with people screaming about dole queues and our financial crisis- we can’t have it both ways.

• British Cycling went around to schools scouting for talent: they held trials for anyone interested. They also invested massive money in it, and went back to the drawing board re training, tactics and preparation. They now have the Tour De France champion, Mens World champion and they are sweeping the boards in this Olympics like they did in Bejing, I think they have won almost every gold on offer so far. We would never be able to do that as we dont/wont invest that sort on money in non mainstream sports, lottery money goes local to keep the voters sweet. We don’t even have a velodrome. We do have several underused golf course though.

• Instead of what that we’re currently not spending on? As a healthcare worker I think I’d prioritise spending in good quality health & social care – not sport unless it’s self generating & much as I enjoy it.

• We just don’t invest the same amount of money in Ireland as other countries do. Katie Taylor had to depend on a businessman to provide a shower and toilet in her gym last year while at the same time it was reported a disproportionate amount of lottery funding was going to Mayo. If we expect the lottery to fund our next generation of sports men and women then maybe we should expect to see some excellent golfers sometime soon.

• I just watched Annalise Murphy being interviewed after the sailing. My heart went out to her. Just the wrong tactical decision near the end cost her a medal after a brilliant week. It was just like the Irish canoeist who was on course for a medal but made 1 mistake that cost him 50 seconds. Our boxers are doing us really proud. I would like to see more funding from the National Lottery going into sport. It might be just what we need to help in sports that we can do well in. Aside from the boxers I think that sailing , canoeing and rowing are sports that we have been doing well in over the last 2 or 3 olympics (just missing out on medals).

• Coverage on RTE has been patchy. Jerry Kiernan is very good and easy to listen to. Tony O’Donoghue v informative on the athletics. With the digital platform here now why cant they show other sports on the +1 channel. I guess budget is curtailing a lot of things.

• Absolutely loving this Olympics. Some amazing performances seen already! The only negative I have…….Bill O’Herlihy, will this man ever just retire?

• it always amazes me that the ppl who get the least monetary support (boxing) always bring home the most medals ,well done John Joe Nevin and Katie Taylor ,surly they deserve more funding than swimmers and athletes who cant even beat there own best times ,and as for the horsy brigade ….enough said

• I’ve enjoyed reading results, especially the last few days, but as ppl have been saying, NBC’s coverage over here has been poor to say the least. 70% coverage to American athletes, the rest is pics of their families crying with joy in the stands.

• Of course they are showing American athletes! That is what American’s want to see. It’s the same in every country, you highlight your own athletes, and America has a lot to highlight with some amazing performances.

• How can 60% say that they are not enjoying the Olympics. The sport has been fantastic with some great stories. Okay Ireland have not won any medals yet but it looks like they are coming. As an Irishman living in Wales it’s impossible not to be caught up in how great the mood is in this country. It’s buzzing. Also remember that the amount of money the uk has poured into the event and the sports they are competing is hard for any country to match especially Ireland at this time.
    In most of our lifetimes you will never again see the Olympics in the same time zone without having to pay for it or pay too much to go and see the events. Enjoy it while it’s here.

• I can’t believe the percentage here…what’s not to enjoy and the whole of it from start to finish has been amazing. So we aren’t flush with medals but all our athletes are trying and should be commended for that! And hey Katie Taylor’s attitude towards her sport and her country would make anyone proud to be Irish…..we are becoming so bitter in this country. Lighten up and enjoy it :-)

• maura 06/08/12 #

Enjoying all of it. BBC red button fantastic all sport take your choice. Well done to Katie. So sorry for Annalise but Rio is only 4 years away for the 22 year old, she will be better next time this was her first Olympics all other competitors we in last olympics. Good luck to all. Put all money from lottery into sport.

• I am not a sports fan what so ever, but I’ve loved watching gymnastics, diving, swimming, and some track and field events. I think the mens 100m is a bit over hyped . I know there is a side to it all that is unpalatable , funding issues, drugs, etc… But if u choose to ignore all of that , what I’ve seen on the BBC has been good. I don’t have RTE so I can’t comment there. Well done to our boxers.

• It’s been great so far. Katie Taylor was amazing earlier. Make Ireland proud girl!

• A lot of whingeing comments on here complaining about Ireland’s lack of Olympic medals. It has to be acknowledge though that there are few, if any, other countries in the World where amateur sports, such as gaelic football, attract such widespread participation and grassroots support. Where in the world would you get attendances of > 50,000 watching amateur players?

• Quick question about lotto funding?
    If Ireland sell off the national lottery to the highest bidder,then where will the profits go?
    Surely not into sports of a country with whom the new owners( Camelot perhaps) have little or no other connections with.( why would they fund sports to compete against their own country).
    Maybe I am very confused,but if we sell off the lotto then there goes the funding for many of these sports?
    Can somebody reassure me!

• Yes – but only for the coverage the BBC is providing. If it was RTE only then it would be a huge no, tried watching their coverage a few times, absolutely shocking.

• Totally disagree with this.
      Yes, BBC red button is a great option but the normal BBC1 drives me crazy.

Britain this, Britain that, and little coverage of events not involving Brits.

For example last week during the swimming. In a remarkable 100m Butterfly race won by Dana Vollmer, the BBC ignored her win and spent time focussing on British swimmer Gandy, who finished last.
      Meanwhile RTE explained how Vollmer had a heart condition and needs a defibrillator at every event .

They have good experts in studio who give a good insight into different sports and do their best with a much smaller budget compared to BBC.

• The BBC is a British organisation broadcasting to British people, of course it highlights it’s own achievements alongside the biggest events on its headline channel, it wouldn’t be doing its job otherwise, it has 24 other dedicated channels to cover the other stories!

• Very enjoyable overall, disappointed with lack of Irish medals though. Thank god for Katie & hard luck to Annalise..

• I’ve been to a few events and I’m off to the men’s semi final football at Wembley tonight with the nippers. It’s been very well organised far better than I thought it would be. I think the BBC coverage is very good (don’t blame them for focussing on their own) but I notice sometime their trackside interviewers ask stupid questions then don’t have the courtesy to listen to the answers as they are busy looking for their next athlete to approach.
    The organisers have done a brilliant job though free London travel with every ticket encourages you to leave the car at home.
    Our kids play a lot of sport but don’t watch that much and they’re glued to the box – especially when it’s a sport that isn’t a mainstream one, like the velodrome or Olympic handball.
    I caught one of them watching the women’s beach volleyball the other day and he’s only twelve! “oh eh, what’s that yer watching? Shove over the and I’ll watch it with you”.

• It has been ok but it’s hard to know how clean any of the athletes are? It is hard not to be cynical. I cant understand why dope cheats dont receive life bans. A good example is Justin Gatlin who took bronze in the 100m, Dwayne Chambers who made the semis I think. Even the print coverage in the lead up didnt know whether to include Michelle Smith in its olympics supplements. In fairness there are some great sports like the sailing and table tennis and gymnastics as you would think they are pretty clean.

• It seems to me that there is a very laissez faire attitude to drug taking in some of the sports – swimming being one of them. It must be totally disheartening to compete as a clean athlete against those who are highly suspected as being nothing of the sort!!

• You either like sport, or you don’t. If “like” then the Games are a joy. If “don’t like” it’s an almighty pain in the arse, because there’s no escape from it. It is rammed down your throat from every direction.
    You may easily guess which side I’m coming from.

• Please Explain; why an activity that requires one to beat another in the face and head and is medically proven to cause physical and mental damage in later life, is also considered to be a sport.

• The Irish athletes and swimmers have been major let downs, embarrassing and painful to watch. And the excuses… PATHETIC! If they’re not good enough, they’re not good enough and there’s no two ways about it.

Once again the boxers have come good, and I might also put in a good word for Annalise Murphy… hard luck, but you did your country proud.

• Dude, You should take up a sport and show them.

• I’m nobody’s dude and neither am I a fool, and your suggestion is stupid and beside the point. I speak the truth without apology, and I can only say that you and all those who gave my comments the thumbs down, even though I also praised the boxers and Annalise Murphy, must be totally immune to the spectacular failures of the athletes and swimmers, and the cringing excuses they come up with. The money given to these so-called elite sportspeople should be cut, and more given to the boxers who perform for their country with pride and good sportsmanship, both in victory and in defeat.

• I would think the thumbs down came from you calling the athletes that QUALIFIED for the Olympics pathetic.
      They were good enough to go to the Olympics because they qualified to be there through years of dedication and hard work. But being an armchair commentator is sooooo much harder and deserves so much more respect.

• Like so many others you are totally missing the point I am making, and also disregarding the praise I offered as well as the criticism, both of them well deserved.

• Very disappointing results for Ireland…don’t know what the journal will do when it’s over, every second article is about the Olympics!

• Ireland had one a medal with JJ in the boxing…?!

• Sportless f**kers and women say no.

• I haven’t watched any of the games because I am sickened by the doping witchhunt.

• Boring!

• Its been crap, blown out of all proportion, I felt sorry for any brit athletes that didnt do well cos there prob fearing funding will be taken off them and given to sports that did well, as for the Irish ah lads like euro 2012 the nation was on some sorta trip of drugs to think we can compete, look at the 10billion the brits threw at these games to win medals, as did the yanks and chinese throw big money to win, if we win maybe 3 medals its a success. All I can say is next time football clubs are attacked for blowing huge sums on players ill point to the brits money blown to win medals!

• If I never see another Nike emblem on an athlete’s shirt or hat it will be to soon. And not only were the Athlete’s selling their sport but selling sex too. I’ve lost count of the number of Asscheeks hanging out of a bathing suit, a Gymnasts suit and whoopee the track and field dudes with their tighty spandex suits revealing ones equipment was much more interesting to me than anything else.. Will they up the Ante in 2016 .. Stay tuned LOL

Add New Comment