TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

President awarded Honorary Freedom of Ennis

The president became the second person ever awarded the Freedom of the town – the other recipient was Muhammad Ali.

President Michael D Higgins
Image: Wanderley Massafelli/Photocall Ireland

THE PRESIDENT OF Ireland has become the second person ever to be awarded the Honorary Freedom of the Town of Ennis.

President Michael D Higgins, who was reared and educated in County Clare, was awarded the honour today at a Civic Reception hosted in his honour by Ennis Town Council. President Higgins was joined in Ennis by his wife Sabina and family members, many of who live in the county.

President Higgins was born in Limerick, raised near Newmarket-on-Fergus, and educated at Ballycar National School and St Flannan’s College in Ennis.

Freedom

The inaugural recipient of the Honorary Freedom to the town was Muhammad Ali, the three-time World Heavyweight Champion. He was given the award during his historic visit to the Clare County Capital, which was the birthplace of his great grandfather Abe Grady.

At Waterpark House today, President Higgins was welcomed by members of Ennis Town Council before being led into the Council’s Civic Room by piper Michael John Quigney of the Tulla Pipe Band.

A specially-arranged musical tribute to him was presented by local traditional musician. Members of the Ennis Brand Band provided a trumpet fanfare after the President was officially awarded Freedom of the Town of Ennis.

Addressing today’s Civic Reception, Mayor of Ennis Cllr Peter Considine said:

Outside of the time you spent in Ennis particularly as a student in St Flannan’s College, I know that from a personal and professional perspective you are very familiar with the town of Ennis, its history and the people who live here. During your time as Minister for Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht, you supported numerous projects and initiatives which sought to protect and promote the culture and heritage of towns such as Ennis.

He added that the President’s lifelong contribution to politics “has inspired many”.

He drew a comparison between the President and Ali, saying:

In your days as a TD and Minister, some might agree that you also did ‘Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee’. Your pragmatic approach to dealing with issues in Irish society and indeed abroad, is internationally recognised and certainly has not gone unnoticed here.

Read: Hello Mr President, I’m the President: Michael D begins French visit>

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• They only had to give him a normal sized key, looks huge in his handeens!

• Who’d win in a row between him and Danny Devito??

• Very sad to read all the cynical rubbish passing as wit. Cynicism is the language of the defeated. Wake up and change your country. Believe in something and go and do it.

• First Mohammad Ali and now yoda…Ennis sure is making a name for itself…

• He looks genuinely feckin delighted in that picture…,

• Sounds wild. Wish I’d been invited.

• Julie 22/02/13 #

When is the president of Ireland actually going to take an interest in Ireland and what is going on at the moment. We are paying him quarter of a million and putting him up.

• Another waste of Taxpayers money.

• Oh county clare where I first drew air,
    You have awarded me with a prize
    The freedom unsought, with free words I have appeared to have bought
    Comrades; you bring tears to my bespeckled eyes
    And inspired by the pope I seek to bring hope
    And love and care and sharing
    I ask you my people How, For the time is now
    As around the country with my driver I have stopped tearing !
    So send me a tweet, but please no horsemeat
    For that would hurt my head-een
    And yes Sinn Fein protectors of the land of rain
    I will even accept advice from him you may call Ted-een

• vote higgins for jobs..remember that shite?err wheres d jobs?jobs for the little shits entourage more like.

• Them Clare boys don’t give out much, but fair play they sure know how to pick em, well deserved..

• Tribute for what? Why do we even need a president?

• well our president is the protector of our constitution and he is also leader of our neutral defence forces ! ….I’d follow him on a U.N. peacekeeping mission anytime !

• Didnt protect the people by saddling our great grandchildren to a heap of debt.

• Except of course the suprime court is the ultimate defender of our consititution and the army chief of staff is the highest ranking military officer who actually holds a commission and has gone to a military academy and actually manages the army at the highest level while Alan Shatter in his role as minister for defense handles civilian control and oversight of the Defense Forces. In his role as commander and chief all Higgins has to do is write is name on commissions once or twice a year.
      President is a job that could be done by anyone who can write his name, so I think 250,000 euros a year is little steep for a job that requires skills that are not exactly rare.

• Ahh Michaeleen D
      I heard you came back from your international P££S UP to sign off on turning Seanie Fitz’s and Finger’s gambling debts into our sovereign debt.
      “Aren’t you great”
      “I hope you didn’t miss out on desert because of us”
      “Our grandkids will be so happy”
      Euro-Idiot Stoogeen.
      What pathetic gombeens run our country.
      Fools!!

• @ David Jordan …I agree with your assertion that the pay is “High” , for want of a better term ….your other assertions could however do with a little peruse of our Constitution however !….you may have to correct your interpretation!…in fact I know you have ! ……Alan shatter cannot sign a law into being for example ……. and commander in chief is exactly what it says on the tin!

• Then why do all you lefties hold him in such hig regard?!!

• Dermot Ryan, I never said that Alan Shatter could sign bills into law, only that he is in charge of civilian control of the military while the chief of staff is the de facto head of the military hierarchy, commander and chief is a figurehead position with little if any real powers, he signs commissions, according to standards set by the military and the dail, he cannot refuse to sign one because he feels a man or woman should not be an officer. The president can also be compelled to sign a bill into law if he refares it to the suprime court and they rule that it is not repugnant to the consitution.
      Also the consitution is not set in stone, it can be changed to remove this expensive and unneeded office and redistribute its few, largely meaningless powers else were.

• nufisnuf 22/02/13 #

I think Michael d should read the comments on here .. He needs to realise how people feel right now .. If he cares he will acknowledge our plight ..while he wastes our money trotting here and there with feck all benefit to us .. Joke

• sorry david , ………..but you are misinformed and misinforming …no insult intended …
      I agree with your assertion that the presidents office can be removed by referendum ……. I totally oppose that however as whether you know it or not his office is designed as a stop gap for a runaway dail!
      Constitutional rights are inalienable and are therefore written in stone as protection against an illegal power developing !
      De facto control is subject to the rule of the president e.g. property rights are a constitutional right ..so is equality ….that means to give it a modern flavour that my home has at least equal rights to the prpoerty rights of the pensions of A.I.B. …regardless of value …the president insures that right ….if he gets it wrong then then article 15.4 stands as a stopgap against even that happening!
      The president refers bills to the state council for adjudication not the supreme court !
      Just clarifying !

• one other point david the supreme court is not the ultiate defender of our constitution …it is the final court of appeal in this State ! there’s a difference

• Protector of our constitution? He just breached it last week by signing an illegal amendment into law… Funny how people see things…

• terry and david stephen …..I concur completely and i believe this was further borne out by the fact that THE FINANCE MINISTER FREELY ADMITTED ON RADIO SINCE THAT THE PROMISSORY NOTES WERE ILLEGAL!

• Nerd alert… No names

• Fair play to Michael D

• They’ve tied a bell around his neck, for obvious reasons!

• Yawn.

• We are deeply embarrassed and apologise in Counties Clare and Limerick for foisting the hobbitt aka Micheal D on Ireland and the World.

• apology accepted …I will give him this credit however ….Marx gave up………. and ….. his intonations to dialogue with the muslim world (as a whole) was and is the correct way forward for world peace …..the way I see it is that those of the muslim faith are like the vietnamese or the afghanis ….non-agressive in terms of invasion into the west and no matter what force tries to oppose them they, like the Viet Cong, are indefatigable …and why wouldn’t they…. they are fighting for their homes and their children! we would be exactly the same way if an invasionary force landed on our shores …..
      who hates vietnam now? …and america lost !……………. did the big bad evil communism develop ? …..no ..so now it’s the big bad muslims ……

• I just did that to prevent any of our glorious President’s detractors from accusing him of being the worst poet in Ireland ….. Isn’t it sad though that he has had to wait until his seventies to receive this award ….. Just shows the calibre of the man ……. he’s able to prove that he is as good as any that have gone through our education system …….. it does show how ridiculous the notion was of extending the retirement age to 68 though doesn’t it !……….

Add New Comment