TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

GAA fans lose an institution as Quinns of Drumcondra shuts its doors

Where many a day turned to midnight…

The landmark pub on Drumcondra Road Lower
Image: Google Streetview

IT WAS THE pre-match meeting point and the post-match watering hole for many a GAA fan.

Whether you were coming from Mayo or Donegal, Kilkenny or Wexford, for the hurling or the football, or the camogie and the ladies football, there was a welcome atmosphere in Quinns on the Druncondra Road.

Located at the bottom of Clonliffe Road, the pub has become an institution not only for GAA supporters, but also students in the area, over the past 25 years.

Following a long battle with the IBRC over rent arrears, the premises has officially closed its doors. A report in the Sunday Independent on 11 November revealed the landlord, Eoin Quinlan, had agreed to pay €15,000 per month for the lease but the IBRC insisted on €30,000.

On Monday, he posted the following message on the pub’s Facebook page:

To all our customers – Just a very big thanks for all your custom, craic and banter over the last 25 years, we had a savage time there. We won the battle but lost the war! But with heads held high we say goodbye.  Quinns may reopen at some stage by the banks, so think long and hard where you spend your hard earned money. The banks and government made a mess of this country the first time round and are being allowed to do it again!! – Slan agus adh mor oraibh!

The post has received more than 5,000 ‘likes’ – double the number of fans the page actually has – while 243 people have responded in the comments section.

TheJournal.ie and TheScore.ie teared up a little when reading some of the emotional reactions to the closure. Here’s a sample:

Ah no that’s so sad.Quinns closing?oh my gosh the memories always will make n smile n warm heart..where else could u go for 3 pints.a pack of ten jonnie blues,2 snogs at the very minimum and a some like it hot quarter pounder for a tenner.ah Quinn’s and the late 80s early 90s…that’s really very sad for Drumcondra.sympathies from Singapore

“Match days won’t ever be the same, end of an era…”

Reckon we start a petition to get the GAA to save Quinns

“Quinns made me the man that I am today.”

Many’s the culchie couple found love in Quinns. Sorry to hear the news Alan and co. You should raffle off the county jerseys for charity not the banks.

“Some great memories. Meet my husband there 18 years ago.”

Heartbroken to hear my fav pub in Dublin is closed….I met my hubby there in 2001! So many great days & nights x

“Ah f**k, i only got to know you really in the past 6-7 years many the kiss was had and slap was thrown jacket lost and drink drank sad end to a ledgend of a beer shop…RIP donegal abu….”

Legend of a pub going to croke park just wont b the same.

“Sad news. All my college memories and match days involve this pub!!! And of course you introduced me to my now favourite song-streets of new york and my now favourite band the saw doctors!”

Championship Sunday’s will never b d same again

“The last time I was there Meath pumped 5 goals past the Dubs, been in oz since, just the last of manys a good time that I owe ye thanks for”

I spent enough money in there to float a bank so how can Quinns close? So sorry and sad to see these doors close. We learned as much in there as we did across the road in MD lecture halls. I hope the closing is only a short holiday rather than a permanent closure. Thanks for the wonderful times Quinns. Ye’ll be sorely missed. X

While others, just baffled us and made us laugh:

“Me and [...] nearly missed a flight to thailand after a savage night in quinns..best part of the trip.”

I’ll always remember putting a stool through your toilets!xox

Do you have your own memories of Quinns? Let us know in the comments section…

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• In related news, attendance in 9am college lectures has seen a massive increase.

• “agreed to pay €15,000 per month for the lease but the IBRC insisted on €30,000.”

Isn’t it better to get €15,000 a month rather than €0 which is what the bank will be receiving now??? Sometime I just don’t jet the logic……………….

• Commercial properties are valued largely on the rental income. So accepting a much lower rent would mean reducing the property value in Nama’s books, thereby affecting their balance sheet. Keep the rent at €30k, even though they’re not getting it and they can keep the property value up. Ridiculous accounting exercise, but an unfortunate fact of life.

• #IBRC not Nama

• jrbmc 21/11/12 #

This carry on should not be allowed , time the government stepped in and put a stop to this madness , if a company is genuinely make an effort , common sense should prevail .

• Another scandalous and totally unnecessary act by Anglo/IBRC.

It is sickening to think that all of this could have been avoided, our country would be better off to the tune of billions and there would be thousands more people working if Anglo/Gov had not refused an offer from the Quinn family to pay the State 2.8 billion. Thanks to the expensive PR campaign that Anglo ran at our expense, some people still do not realize this fact but the truth will emerge and the people of Ireland will realize that this was the biggest and most expensive scam an Irish Government has ever facilitated.

• Culchies the country over are in mourning. There’s a lot of students who have stories beginning with ‘remember that night in Quinns…. Shift… Coppers…’

• Surely its better for the bank to receive 15,000 and keep the premisies open and the jobs secure. The banks and government dont care.

• What’s it got to do with the government? Do you expect them to intervene in contract disputes? This is a commercial matter, nothing else.

If I was renting a house off you could I unilaterally halve the rent because I can’t afford it and expect the government to step in and protect you from me throwing me out?

If I was your employer could I unilaterally halve your salary because I can’t afford it and expect the government to step in and stop you from telling me where to stick my job?

Pubs close and pubs open. The natural cycle of business will continue. The drinkers of Quinn’s won’t

• What’s it got to do with the government? Do you expect them to intervene in contract disputes? This is a commercial matter, nothing else.

If I was renting a house off you could I unilaterally halve the rent because I can’t afford it and expect the government to step in and protect you from me throwing me out?

If I was your employer could I unilaterally halve your salary because I can’t afford it and expect the government to step in and stop you from telling me where to stick my job?

Pubs close and pubs open. The natural cycle of business will continue. The drinkers of Quinn’s won’t suddenly go off the gargle. They’ll drink up/down the road somewhere and sustain further jobs in other establishments.

• Well said

• Rónán – course it has something to do with govt. IBRC are a state entity – u are aware of that ? The analogies u draw between this case and ‘halving rent to landlord’ and ‘halving salary’ are disingenuous and not comparable as the incidents/examples u mention are purely private matters, whereas IBRC is supposed to be acting for the benefit of the state. Quinn’s will open again, no doubt under the control of some mercenary vulture – a practice that is increasingly prevalent.

• I think their whole dispute was the fact that they were being ripped off with their rent. They apparently brought in an independent estate agent who said that the going rent for a premises of that size in that area was no more than €15,000 a month but the IBRC refused to recognise that. I understand that people have to pay what they owe and can’t dictate what rent they pay but when somebody is willing to make an agreement to pay their debts and it is ignored its a bit out of order in my opinion. I think there may be more to this story than meets the eye!!

• Ronan, if you read my response under first comment, you will realize exactly what it is to do with the Government. They facilitated the Anglo strategy on Quinn which is going to cost us billions of euros and thousands of jobs. FACT.

• @Gearóid,

In this context, I don’t care about Quinn, I don’t care about which bank it is, I don’t care about the government. This is a commercial contract. The precedent is too dangerous for the government to interfere in the commercial contract.

Also, as you say, the anglo fiasco is costing billions. Do you really want to hand over 15k in margin to a publican against those interests?

@Neil,

My analogies are not disingenuous. My salary is a contract, my company cannot cut my salary without me signing a new one. My rent is a contract, I cannot cut my rent in half without my landlord agreeing and signing a new lease. Ignoring contract law would undermine every business in the state, and make the terms and conditions not enforceable.

The ‘mercenary vulture’ that reopens Quinn’s will most likely be someone running it just to keep a business running, instead of someone that will whinge off blaming ‘de banks and de government’ when truly all they are doing is getting out because they’re no longer extracting enough of a profit. Plenty of publicans in this country are currently running extra bars for the banks, appointing a manager and lots of staff to keep the rent roll coming in, and the operation in the black. The only person that gets cut out here is the guy that quit because he wasn’t making the buckets of money he did in the boom.

• He probably had an upward only rent review contract, so when the estate agent was saying that the going rate was 15k he can’t challenge his 30k in his rent review. The government said they were going to abolish UOR reviews when they came to power but reneged when they got in. Lots of places have closed due to the contracts which you mentioned. If it was not a UOR he could have reduced his rent at review with intervention from a government agency even though it’s a commercial premises.

• The naunce here Ronan is that rent reviews for commercial property are either stay the same or go up. They do not permit a lowering of the rent despite the fact the rent is artificially high for the value of the property. This is in place to safeguard commercial property owners not to create a fair market. That is why you still pay €15 for a bowl of pasta in Dublin despite the value of the property the restaurant is renting has halved. I agree with you pubs come and go but its become increasingly difficult for retail businesses make money when spending is down but their rent remains the same so they can’t reduce their prices.

• UORRs are filthy disgusting contracts, but we’re freely signed nonetheless. The government backed out of retrospectively cancelling such arrangements on legal advice, not as a matter of political u-turn.

They are banned going forward, but not retrospectively.

• The legal advice received was biased and the contracts could have been changed. Retail excellence ireland REI did a lot of legal and contractual work to get the government to the table and they did back track.
      Perhaps because in a lot of cases the government by default is now the landlord but in a lot of other cases the government departments are continuing to pay excessive rents on commercial office space which they could avoid.

• Bang on as usual Ronan. We’re becoming a nation of victims. Essentially the guys entered an agreement on rent that their turnover can no longer cover. Unfortunate but that’s how the world works. If its a viable business then someone new will negotiate a new contract and reopen it.

PS- @ Paul… Don’t call me Shirley

• Where will I get the shift now?? :P

• Ah darn it! Looks like the Q for coppers will be starting at 6pm so!

• End of an era, that really was an institution and part of the day of to Croker

• It didn’t last too long….it was open again this evening on my back from town!

• It reopened yesterday!!

• Apparently there’s a couple of hundred confused Cavan natives about to protest to keep it open

• I was wondering why it was closed on me way home from work yesterday.

• That clique in the IRBC will destroy whats left of this country. We own that kip of a bank. Where are the public interest directors when it comes to matters like this. As far as I can see they are only interested in bleeding the country dry with their obscene salaries and dont give a f*** about anyone else.
    If some scab takes over that pub it should be boycotted. Theres too much of that going on also. Apart from the banksters theres a pack of vultures out there who have money just waiting for someone to fall. They then pick the bones clean without any regard for the work put in by the previous owners. What has this country come to.

• Boycotted?

A lot of the more successful publicans are currently running pubs for the banks, for a fee, on non-profit basis. This keeps the lights on and jobs going.

This will be reopened soon enough, covering the rent roll, with zero margin. The asset will perform and jobs will be maintained.

Boycott because someone tried to unilaterally change a contract? It’s regrettable that IBRC didn’t come to a deal, but they have no legal or moral obligation to, despite what you think.

• Very good point Max. Our public interest Director in Anglo/IBRC is Alan Dukes and he has been written to on several occasions and has refused to answer questions that we the shareholders are entitled to have answered.

• Gearóid, we are not the ‘shareholders’ any more than we are shareholders in Aer Lingus because of the government stake.

As a citizen in the country that owns IBRC, you can write to your elected TD and request that they ask questions in the Dáil, or arrange a meeting of some committee to get these answers. If you feel your TD isn’t representing you in this manner, then you have the option of voting for someone who will come the next election.

• Ronan the point you seem to be missing is that IBRC have now in effect put this decent man and all his staff on the dole while on the other hand paying massive salaries to their own directors. The so called public interest director Alan Dukes is or was a member of the FG party. He is quite happy to sanction all this in the same way as he sanctions the massive PR campaign against the Quinn family. Likewise all the other unfortunate people round this country who he and his bank are chasing for money they don’t have “on behalf of the taxpayer “. We are all being taken for such fools. When are people going to wake and see what a scam this so called bank is? It is costing the taxpayer a fortune and gaining us nothing. The only ones gaining are all the fat cat directors who mostly caused the problem in the first place.

• Y.F. 21/11/12 #

Alison,
      Well said. There are some people making an awful lot of money out of this Quinn-Anglo farce. The guise of ‘for the tax-payer’, is just that…a guise. By the time we wake up and realise what is going on, there will be nothing left! Those fat cats are laughing at the whole lot of us as the heads that ‘run’ the country turn a blind eye to the entire charade. Is it Anglo or Fine Gael who are running our country? Farce

• It was a shit hole anyway, all the pubs are over beside croke park , they didn’t think of anybody when the stick the price of drink up on match days

• That is just shocking and very sad news. Banks behaviour yet again very questionable. €15k per month is reasonable and surely better than €0. Banks seem hell bent on not just ruining people’s lives and future, communities must suffer too.
    Quinns was a serious part of the Drumcondra community and an institution.
    Best of luck for the future to all.

• Yet more job losses = very bad news, particularly with Christmas approaching.

As a place to go on match days I didn’t like it, waaay too packed.

• What’s the story it was closed for one day- Tuesday, but has been opened since!!

• It didn’t last too long…it was open again this evening on my way back from town!!

• We often hear that sc**bag Alan Dukes, Chairman of IBRC, moralising that the primary aim is to realise as much money as possible for the taxpayer. Nothing wrong with that, a noble aspiration in fact. The problem is that they don’t care about how many lives and businesses they ruin in the process.

• Careful Neil….you’ll have Garry fitzgerald on here threatening to sue you or informing Alan dukes to sue you:-)

• Nice one Les, cheers for the heads up. Let them sue I say, bring it on Dukes !!!! The master of compromise they called him back in the 80′s around the time of the Tallaght strategy. What a laugh !!

• Neil, good point but the fact is that Anglo is no more interested in recouping money for the taxpayer than the man in the moon. They refused an offer from Quinn to pay 2.8 billion in favour of a strategy that will cost us billions and Noonan and CO. are standing idly by just as he failed to get the Anglo fat cats to take a cut in their scandalous salaries.

• Such a shame. Lots of the worker’s families will be affected by this closure in the run up to Christmas. How can Anglo get off with this bullying behaviour?

• Two of them playing hard ball, Quinns crew waiting for the banks to come crawling back…. Dangerous game!!!!

• YF, Dukes will sail into the sunset with his massive pesnionsS and handouts at our expense and leave this mess for all of us to clean up but reckon he will hit the headlines again for all the wrong reasons when the details of what Anglo/IBRC facilitated . Cannot wait for the Quinn case against Anglo when the truth will emerge and the Government should hang their heads in shame for their inaction in this entire farce.

• Remember standing outside before 12 noon opening on Sunday match days and the doors would open, and all the door staff were interested in was getting in as many people as they could, and getting them as far in as they could. All they lacked were cattle prods! Mind you, they weren’t alone in that!
    Was in another pub near there after this years All Ireland football and it was more of the same!
    You’d think The Stardust never happened!

• Y.F. 21/11/12 #

It’s the end of an era is right. Anglo’s appetite for destruction is running strong and the ticks are coming aplenty in their little boxes. They seem to be running the country single-handedly now, when none of our representatives are willing to ruffle any feathers. Dukes is taking over the world!!!!!!!!!!!

• I worked and lived in Quinns for 4 brilliant years of life. I met my now closest friends there. I grew up in there and met my husband through Quinns. It was a home from home for every country soul that wandered in the doors. Noone drank alone for long. Shocking disgrace that its come to this and I totally agree the GAA put there hands in there pockets n save it n give it back to those that belong there. After all many a supporter bought there tickets there for the matches. The match day revolved around Quinns. Part of GAA history.

• The ignorance.. I say Ireland would be a great Country if they all stood united.. Culshies spend more money than any one outsiders when in Dublin.. The mentality of some.!!! Argh..

• It’s reopened, being run by the bank? Just walked past and there’s a sign advertising tonight’s footie.

• It’s one of the best pubs in Dublin business wise and has reopened already , I’m sure louis Fitzgerald won’t mind paying the rent onwards and upwards , this way the state will get much needed funds, and yer man” won the battle” they split the pub 50/50 they got the inside and he got the outside!

• All this rubbish about it being a great pub! The pints were almost undrinkable and the whole place literally stinks (a nasty mix of piss, toilet detergent blocks and years of sweat).

I for one will certainly not miss the dump.

• Xmas pub crawls do the late 80 always finished here, can never remember what it looked like in side or even if I bought a gargle there…goodalls of Ireland gang drank there , factory was wedged between quinns and flier goods in ballybock

• if quinns have been going for over 25yrs and is as busy as everybody says it is how come they own the premises and are still renting

• No loss at all, maybe non Dubs will spread out and see the city before and after matches, there are about 900 other pubs within walking distance!

• Sad to see it close – it would make a great venue / location for a northside “Coppers”

• 290 red thumbs! Is that a record !!

• Only the culchies went there on match day.

• So maybe Drumcondra will be accessible now without the culchies falling out all over the road during match days.

• completely scandalous – but its happening around the country every single week. busines’ that are capable of trading in profit but being ‘raped’ for outlandish and reckless rents !! sad to see the powers that be still havent woken up and are keeping the country on its knees – sad times :-(

• I’m far from pro Anglo , but reading about this week it appears there were arrears of €250k. Is it possible that €15k a month was accepted as a figure and the other €15k was clear arrears. I also read in the independent the landlord got the business/ building independently valued and decided on €15k. I’m wondering if this action had have been mutually agreed could this have been avoided.

• Great News, no more vomits on the sidewalk!

Add New Comment