TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Column: For now, Ireland’s oil reserves are best off in private hands

Yes, our oil resources are rich – but the cost of exploiting them means we’re better off leaving it to commercial firms, writes Simon Tuohy.

Simon Tuohy

ONE OF THE traits of humans is to reach for the divine. Only the most ardent atheist has not in a moment of trouble stared into the sky and looked for a miracle. The hope that there is some salvation in their darkest hour. Ireland is now in one of our darkest hours and again people are looking for the miraculous miracle to save us. For many that miracle is oil.

The Irish corporation tax rate is one of our most prized possessions. Even though only in existence since 2002, 12.5 per cent is like the book of Kells, a national monument. We cling to it as if it is our life raft, as the good ship LE Ireland sinks. To us, the rest of Europe is better, Lufthansa or BA offering first class and meals. So we figure we can never be like that, me must become Ryanair and compete on price to over come our intrinsic disadvantages.

This belief in competing on price is also applied to oil and gas exploration in Ireland. Yet many in Ireland who would defend 12.5 per cent against any attack, also attack the exact same principle on oil and gas. Looking at the likes of Norway and thinking if it wasn’t for the government giving away our oil and gas we would be as prosperous as Norway. This merits a closer look and begs the question: If we have loads of resources and are giving it away why is Irish coast not ringed with oil rigs?

‘They are offering Concorde. All we have is Ryanair’s inflight magazine’

Roughly since the late 60s there has been about 130 test holes drilled in Irish waters. Of these four have produced commercial finds. Corrib and three off Kinsale. This equates to a strike rate of about 1 in 30. So in theory to find gas in Ireland you have to sink 30 wells to get 1 strike. No commercial finds of oil have yet to be found in Ireland. Compare this to Norway where the strike rate is 1 in 4. Now coupled to this Ireland’s acreage tends to be in the Atlantic, deep, rough and therefore expensive to drill (an exploration drill in the Atlantic costs about €50 million, so if you had to do that 30 times it will cost €1.5 billion) compared to the shallower North Sea. Norway just offers exploration companies a far better deal. They are offering Concorde. All we have is Ryanair’s inflight magazine.

It is fanciful in the extreme to expect oil companies to pay the same price for Ryanair as Concorde so we do what we always do in Ireland, we compete with price. We want to get some benefit from our scant resources. Ideally we want companies to explore Irish waters and find lots of oil and gas, confirming us as the new Norway. In which case we can change the tax regime on new fields, for all the multinationals that would subsequently pour in, or indeed form an Irish Statoil and exploit it ourselves.

But until that time, if it ever comes, we need to get exploration on the cheap. At the moment there is one or two interesting prospects in Irish waters Dunquin being the brightest hope which may prove successful. Which demonstrates that a favourable taxation regime can attract prospecting in a barren region of the world as least as well as Google Headquarters in Dublin demonstrates the validity of 12.5 per cent corporation tax.

One of the many arguments made against our tax regime is that we do not charge royalities on the gas extracted. We stopped charging royalties on new fields in 1987 under Ray Bourke. To put this decision into context, the UK stopped in 1982 and Norway in 1986, as did the Netherlands and Denmark. So we were hardly unique in the abolition of royalties.

‘Oil and gas are not our only natural resource’

One alternative is to leave it there. Hoping that technology improves, making marginal field viable and indeed profitable. That indeed could be a good idea. But what happens if the technology that improves is alternatives to oil, making what ever we have as valuable as day-old gravy? Its a gamble either way.

Another argument is based on ideological position that natural resources should not be in the hands of private individuals and that the benefits occurring due to these resources belong to the people as a whole. However, oil and gas are not our only natural resource. By far and away our most profitable natural resource is in the hands of private people. That resource is land. Agriculture is our most profitable indigenous industry and depends, like oil and gas, on the state allowing the private ownership and exploitation of a resource. So if the debate is about the private exploration of a resource then logic dictates all resources in private hands must be nationalised and that includes farm land, as ludicrous as it sounds.

To do an Irish Statoil would cost around €1.5 billion to strike lucky. On top of this there is the cost of getting it up and running with Corrib, for instance, costing about €2.5 billion. The total outlay would thus be approximately €4 billion before the gas or oil flows. On an international scale Corrib is not a very large field, indeed it is smaller than Kinsale, with the value of gas being not much more than €13 billion. With pessimistic predictions of the tax take being around €500 million (Government estimates about €1.7 billion) the monetary advantage of the state drilling itself would be €7-8 billion, which seems astounding and the miracle we need.

However Corrib – which is not online yet – was discovered 14 years ago and will not return its value on year one of operation. Instead its value will be returned over an estimated 15 years. To put this profit margin into context. Prior to the world wide economic collapse of 2008, the National Pension Reserve Fund averaged a return of six per cent per year. €4 billion invested over 29 years at six per cent will return a gain of €17 billion. Until Ireland has more commercial finds and of a larger size, the logical course of action is to let others take the risks.

Simon Tuohy is a doctor of physics currently working at Oxford University. He is originally from Tipperary.

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Simon, do we charge a fee for the granting of exploration licences, or is there some other way in which it’s worth our while to have private companies doing the exploration?

• Why not wait until the strikerate around the world is 1 in 30 like it is in Ireland now? Why get very small payback now ( from drilling licences) , especially when at the moment it will go straight to bondholders? Think longer term if you want a better strategy.

• The 1 in 30 argument is ridiculous. Oil and Gas companies in 2011 use some of the most technologically advanced systems in the world to go out, discover and extract resources. Shell would not be in the North Atlantic if they thought they would have to drill 30 times before they found anything.
    The reason Corrib is not up and running yet is due to their continuous lack of regard for the local people in the area. They are currently involved in 3 separate cases taken by An Taisce, the National Trust for Ireland. Why- “An Taisce is not anti-development or anti-Corrib – we simply wish to see the development done and consents granted in accordance with European Law; and are concerned with the implications the approach to consents taken here by the Department will have for other decisions and developments if not challenged.” – stated Charles Stanley-Smith, Chair of An Taisce at that time.

He added: “If these decisions are later found by the European Court of Justice to be non-compliant with European Legislation – then the Irish state, (and consequently the Irish taxpayer), could be liable to fines of several million Euro”.

The real issue is Shell coming in, ousting local people, committing human rights abuses, digging up UNESCO protected sites, and ruining local livelihoods. Students of development learned many years ago that economic ‘development’ is not the be all and end all (just ask Uganda). So why are the Irish government determined for this to happen? Its clearly not in the best interests of the people of Ireland for Shell to be in Mayo wrecking the place at this moment in time.
    Finally, Ireland has always had a strong affinity to its land. Any Irish farmers I know love their land, look after it and run their farms in sync with their surroundings. To compare the way farmers operate with how Shell have conducted themselves in this debacle is ludicrous, and a bit of common sense wouldn’t go astray in this instance.

• Denis 18/10/11 #

I’d be willing to bet a shiny euro that after the new licences have done their drilling they will be wishing they got anywhere near 1 in 30.

I don’t think shell have ever explored off the Irish coast. They took over the British company that discovered corrib 6 years after the discovery.

• Digging up UNESCO protected sites? Is shell drilling through Skellig Michael now?

Back on top, excellent article. Very informative on a topic that I’ve been wondering about a lot lately.

• Well said David. If anyone really wants to know the facts behind our whole natural resources fiasco they should get out and do some of their own reading. This article is only one side of a very big story. Having family in Mayo I’ve witnessed first hand the damage they have suffered at the hands of Shell. I agree that we haven’t the money right now to drill ourselves but we should still own a proportion of what is found..we currently gain nothing and we also need tighter regulations once gas/oils is found. Anyone wanting an alternative insight should pick up Lorna Siggins book “once upon a time in the West” and watch the film “The Pipe”. Two great pieces of well researched journalism.

• @ Chris Coffey
      map of protected sites under EC Natura 2000 -
      http://natura2000.eea.europa.eu/#

Explanation
      http://ec.europa.eu/environment/nature/natura2000/index_en.htm

Of course many people don’t care about our habitat, but its still important that Ireland, as a member of Europe, respect European legislation

@Dom- “the emotional perception of the pubilc results in irrational hatred towards Shells, BPs and the likes. People see companies with revenue in dozens of billions and assume they are getting screwed”.

The majority of rational people don’t hate the big bad corporations because they make money. Everyone needs to make money in this world. The problem is the way they conduct themselves. You clearly haven’t been affected by any of this, and you probably will never have anyone trying to run an unrefined gas pipeline through your back yard with the support of your friendly local government.

Its very easy to sit back and blame the ‘shell to sea nutjobs’ or the ‘irrational villagers’ for ruining what looks like a logical and effective way to make money (which it isnt). However those are the people who live and breathe it, and are largely voiceless in the Irish press, unless some guard threatens to rape someone or they are involved in a court case. Willie Corduff won the Goldmans environmental prize, a prestigious award often dubbed the ‘Nobel prize for environmentalists’. He attended the awards ceremony unaccompanied by anyone from the Irish government, a rare and embarrassing occurrence which demonstrates how little the Irish government care about the local peoples struggle.

Ps Fintan O Toole has written eloquently on the subject and i would urge people to read his articles

• Statoil is not a private company.
    It is owned by the people of Norway.
    When Norway struck oil in the 1970’s Statoil contracted out exploration to the experts sure enough.
    And gave them a fair cut of the profits.
    But Norway was not fool enough to give away ownership of Norway’s riches.

• Norway had easily accessible oil and gas. In 30 years we’ve not discovered the same. You could compare Norway with Saudi Arabia but comparing it with Ireland is ridiculous.

• Actually, we have – it’s just not commercially viable *because there are cheaper sources*. Not the same thing.
      But now, with peak oil either just gone or happening now, those other sources are drying up and the resources we have are going to become commercially viable to extract, at which point they go from futures to commodities, so to speak.
      Give them away now and we’ll rue our decision in days to come.

• Mmm good article but I want to see a counter argument the journal?

• The logical course of action (to use your own term), is to leave the gas and oil in the ground until it is comercially viable & can give a benefit to the state.

• Can I ask has anyone seen the north Atlantic on a windy day? In winter? During what the forecasters called moderate winds? No wonder it’s hard to get to drill oil! And can we not get some tax revenues out of this? We right the laws right?

• its in the constitution that all mines and minerals, on land or in water belong to the state, i dont remember a referendum on this

• the resource is in the hundreds of billions, we should get a large % of any strike, these companies are drilling there because they already know the oil is there, they employ geologists to predict where its likely to be found, and saying we dont have the expertise is the greatest load of bull i’ve ever heard, what a stupid excuse, it is possible to pay advisers, rent equipment and train operatives in any operation, its the same old irish excuse, ‘we needed them because we didnt know how’, makes my blood boil, there is no excuse for giving away 400-500 billion of fuel even if the economy was fine, more lying propaganda from our lying politicians and their sycophantic lapdogs

• Could not have put it better myself Paul. Maith thu.

• How do you know it’s 400-500 billion? Because the point of drilling holes is to see what’s there. What have we found so far 0 oil and little gas. It would be fantastic to find it but let’s not start pretending it’s just a matter of strolling out and getting it. It will cost billions and there is *no* guarantee we’ll find it.

• Evan O'Q 18/10/11 #

Do you realise how expensive it were to be if the irish government were to go digging for oil, and only turn a profit every 30 times it was found? Leave it to the private companies to do it.

Why couldn’t we bring in an oil tax, so that whenever they take our oil we get a larger cut than the amount we’re getting from corporation tax which is not good enough considering we’re essentially handing out free oil..

• The estimates for the value of the oil and gas is in the hundreds of billions, the outlay (based on your figures) is 4 billion, its not much of a risk for the oil companies now is it. Get real the people of The Republic of Ireland ARE being ripped off.

• How is it exactly that you know how much oil and gas there is? How does anyone know? It’s in the governments and the oil company’s interest to boost the numbers but the reality is nobody knows. Corrib has cost Shell 2.5 billion so far and no gas landed and we’ve never landed any oil in the history of the state. It’s time to stop fantasising about this.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76VOnzXQMsU&sns=fb

I am not sure if the journal allows links but is one that is worth watching.

Our Government has not only given this up but has spent millions on the Garda etc to protect Shells “right” and trample over the ppl who live in the area.
    It is made to seem by certain voices in the media if this is mearly just an issue for the West of Ireland but it is not.
    How is it to “reach for the divine” to hope that our Governement would at least take a percentage? and not sell the People fo Ireland so short? Why is it stupid to think we could follow the example set by Norway?

Watch The Pipe or at least consider what we are possibly given and have given up.

• The cost of drilling has come down. Giving out thirteen licences is going to help with the 1:30 strike rate. However in the national interest our resources should not be sold off at this current time as we as a country are trying to recover. This is the first step on the short road to privatisation of all our state owned assets in a fire sale instead the government should wait till market conditions improve and Ireland has better bargaining power. Until this time the government should hold firm and stand up to the eu/IMF troika.

• A great article written by a smart man, ruined by it’s opening comments about weak minded atheists – off point and offensive to non believers.

• Excellet and fair article Simon, thank you. Ronan Lyons had another good one about the costs of it all. Some of us are way too ideaslistic about this whole thing.

And fair play for highlighting the mentality of the Shell to Sea nutters. First they’ll take the oil and then they’ll move onto peoples’ homes and land. Soviet Ireland? No thanks!!

• “the mentality of the Shell to Sea nutters”

Can you explain why they are Nutters? What about the Families/Community makes you think they are Nutters?

What ever about the issue I do not think there is any need for you to be so personal, they have a right to campaign for what they believe in – as they see it for the safety and livelihoods of their families.

Please note aim 1.
      http://www.shelltosea.com/content/campaign-aims

Also watch The Pipe.

• Forgot to add that since a longer term strategy is better , it will make more sense to keep the oil and gas in public hands as we will be able to have the technology by that time. P.S. private farming land is a notion from feudal times that needs to be thrown in the dustbin.

• Can’t argue with that – very informative piece, thank you!

• After having read the article and all of your comments, I’m stunned by how both sides AGREE but don’t seem to want to admit it. Wouldn’t almost everyone be happy if the private companies (& Norweigan public company) did the drilling with 51%+ of the profits going to the Irish people? “Let others take the risks” as Simon says, but ensuring the benefits go to the rightful Irish, who happen to be those who most need them. Without destroying homes and farmland in Mayo, obviously.

If this were the new deal made with the private companies, and they backed out, we could sit on whatever it is we’re sitting on – nobody knows for sure – until we had the money to explore ourselves or the other sources were fully exploited and the private companies got desperate.
    & maybe Simon’s right & technology for alternatives to oil improves, so we do less damage to the environment by not drilling in our lifetimes, why is that a worse alternative than seeing minuscule benefits from the drilling now? I don’t mind the idea of my great-great-grandkids sitting on untapped oil & gas for a future necessity, if what goes around, comes around as it tends to do. That is certainly preferable to the damage that’s being done for little or no revenue.

• The pipe is the most one sided documentary I have ever seen, also if it were viable to get the oil/gas cheaply that is apparently so abundant in Irish waters that some of ye think do you not think the place would be teeming with rigs already

• The Pipe only shows one side of the story yes. It states that at the beginning of the film though. Shell refused to take part unless they were given some form of editorial control. Not surprising.

And it’s only emerged in recent years how much gas Ireland could be potentially sitting on. As reserves dwindle elsewhere in the world the need to drill for this increases. It’s just a shame we make nothing from our resources

• Interesting video on this subject on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76VOnzXQMsU&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Countries that kicked out private Big Oil companies out of exploration / extraction like Venezuela or Iran are seing diminishing returns. Firstly this is because NOCs are nowhere near as efficient as the private companies and secondly this is because NOCs become milking cows of the state and the investment in technology is thus reduced and the NOCs depleted of know how. Decent contracts with private companies are the best option provided drilling licenses are tendered out and given to the best bidder. Another good option more and more exercised are service contracts instead of traditional royalties based system.

The other issue with the so called Big Oil is that the emotional perception of the pubilc results in irrational hatred towards Shells, BPs and the likes. People see companies with revenue in dozens of billions and assume they are getting screwed. What they don’t see is the vast assets and capital these companies employ in the process. Margins in the oil business are more or less as per the industry standard in the order of 8-15%. The Chinese guy with a hotdog stand makes that kind of return and the likes of Google make 3 times as much in terms of margin. Oil business is capital and asset intensive and to pretend that the state can achieve the same margin and keep all the revenue is nonsense. I dare you to download the financial statements of BP or Chevron and figure out how much capital is employed to achieve the revenue these companies get. Of course, roughly 3% of people can read these with understanding. This is why none of this stuff makes sense to Shell to Sea and other Joe Soaps so the discourse will continue as usual…………

• That should read write the laws! Mae culpa

Add New Comment