TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Column: Despite the critics, the Croke Park Agreement is working

Croke Park is polarising – but it wouldn’t have survived this long if it wasn’t working. Here’s ten reasons that prove it, writes Niall Shanahan.

Niall Shanahan

This opinion piece is a response to Eddie Molloy’s article published by The Journal.ie yesterday on 10 problems with the Croke Park Agreement.

THE CROKE PARK Agreement is proving to be the Marmite of political and industrial relations discourse. You either love it or hate it. The polarised nature of the issue tends to pull people into a fairly frenzied public sector versus private sector debate. A lot of detail and facts get lost in the crossfire. But the Croke Park Agreement was devised as a practical solution to an immediate and very damaging economic crisis. If it wasn’t working, it wouldn’t have survived.

So what is Croke Park doing and why has it survived? Are the critics right? And what happens when it expires?

1. Protecting services

The critical advantage of the Croke Park Agreement is that it ensures the continuing delivery and prioritisation of key public services at a time when our loss of economic sovereignty means cuts are inevitable. Put simply, the State (the employer) is broke. But demand for the State’s services has risen sharply. This demand is the normal effect of a recession and our rapidly changing population. There are more children in schools, more people with medical cards, more people in need of social welfare services.

The challenge for Croke Park is to meet that demand, shape the services to be responsive, but do it while the amount of money spent on those services is reducing, along with the numbers of people delivering the services.

2. Reducing costs

The state needs to ensure a number of things in this instance. First, it needs to secure a reduction in costs. Following two pay cuts, totalling 14 per cent for the average public servant, the Croke Park Agreement facilitated further reductions in public service numbers from a peak of 320,000 in 2008 to a targeted figure of 282,500 by 2015.

To date, this has ensured an annualised and sustainable reduction in spending of €1.5 billion. That’s €1.5 billion every year, not just this year. By 2015, net of additional pension costs, this will have risen to a saving of €3.3 billion.

3. Reducing numbers

It’s not that long since serial critics of the public sector referred to it as ‘bloated’, so it seems disingenuous now for the same critics to be expressing moral panic at the reduction in the number of public servants. At present, the reduction in numbers is ahead of target: 30,000 people have left public sector employment since 2008. But (and this is the important bit) services have, by and large, remained in place, with workers taking on the extra work of their departed colleagues, and agreeing to more flexible work practices in order to achieve this.

4. Fast tracking reform

This has been done through cost-saving modernisation measures like reduced annual leave, reduced sick leave arrangements and more working hours. All of these reforms were achieved far more quickly than at any time in the history of the State, and without any disruption to services. You might not think reform is happening fast enough: but there simply hasn’t ever been another 18-month period in the history of the state that saw sick leave provisions reduced, working hours increased, privilege days abolished, and annual leave reduced.

5. Guaranteed industrial peace

All of this has been done with zero industrial unrest. “So what?” may be your response to that. After more than twenty years of relative industrial peace, it’s something we might take for granted. But international decision-makers and investors recognise its contribution to deficit reduction and repeatedly say it’s been vital to the rebuilding of Ireland’s international reputation. The kind of thing that’s going to help us out of bailout territory and back into the mainstream.

6. International credibility

In trying to negotiate a write-down of the country’s massive debt burden – which is a huge threat to the future prospects for everybody in Ireland – the stability, security, savings and reforms that Croke Park provides is helpful too. It gives us added credibility with those we have to negotiate with.

7. And it’s about doing the right thing

Croke Park represents a collective effort on the part of every single public sector worker in the country to protect and improve the services they provide despite the cuts in spending. Nobody’s expecting a slap on the back. There is, quite simply, a desire on the part of this workforce to do the right thing. They are doing this in what can only be described as an atmosphere of hostility.

8. Some critics have resorted to making stuff up

It is healthy and right that the Croke Park agreement is debated and discussed. But news stories in recent weeks have falsely claimed that savings are overestimated and that the Troika has misgivings about the agreement. We are accustomed to this form of hostile coverage. It has accompanied the agreement pretty much from the start. But if they are so convinced that Croke Park is bad for the country, why do they have to make up their arguments?

9. Whatever happens next will be informed by what’s already been achieved

The Croke Park agreement is scheduled to expire by 2014. The current economic crisis, however, appears to have some distance left to run. That is why many stakeholders, including those who are hostile to some of the provisions of the existing agreement, have expressed a desire to see a successor negotiated and agreed in due course. It’s too early to say when this might take shape.

10. Despite everything, its legacy will be positive.

Right now, despite the critical assaults, the Croke Park agreement is working. If it’s allowed to complete its task the positive legacy of the Croke Park Agreement will be that, despite one of the worse crises ever faced by this state, our public services prevailed. Despite all the available evidence of what is being achieved, I don’t expect our critics to reevaluate their position until long after this crisis has passed.

More details of how savings and reforms are being achieved in different parts of the public sector are available here and include practical examples of what I’ve outlined above.

Niall Shanahan is the Communications Officer for IMPACT trade union.

Read: 10 problems with the Croke Park Agreement >

Column: Irish labour costs making us uncompetitive? Hardly >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• The Croke Park deal dosnt help the staff in Longford who are snowed under with a backlog of claims for invalidity pensions that are at least 8 months behind and some a year behind. So much for helping others and deployment of staff to assist these people. The Croke Park Deal mostly helps the senior civil servants and not those on the front line. The actual people looking for invalidity are not a priority for any of the guys at the top of our society.

• Exactly. I doubt the first priority of the deal/unions was to protect and improve service to the public… it was simply to protect pay… and in that regard it is a stelar success..

• Because most of them are trying to screw the system.

• @Donal if you apply for Invalidity Pension (those who paid full PRSI contribution) it is impossible to Screw the system as you put it. Why? Because the medical documentation and reports from GP’s Consultants other health professionals like social workers etc have to be sumitted with the application and all these are verified. I am waiting months for an appeal which I was turned down for with all the medical certification and evidence and I get a basic 186 euro a week while I am waiting. I have to pay my mortgage and food and bills out of this palty sum. I have worked over 35 years and was never unemployed so If you are trying to say I am scamming the system then you are wrong and my work history proves it but the department doesn’t give a damn about people like me. I am not a banker so I can go to hell. They are waiting for people to die to save money.

• @Donal if you apply for Invalidity Pension (those who paid full PRSI contribution) it is impossible to Screw the system as you put it. Why? Because the medical documentation and reports from GP’s Consultants and other health professionals like social workers etc have to be submitted with the application and all these are verified and these people will not give you false documents. I am waiting months for an appeal which I was turned down for with all the medical certification and evidence and mow all I get is a basic 186 euro a week supplementary welfare while I am waiting. I have to pay my mortgage and food and bills out of this palty sum. I have worked over 35 years and was never unemployed so If you are trying to say I am scamming the system then you are wrong and my work history proves it but the department doesn’t give a damn about people like me. I am not a banker so I can go to hell. They are waiting for people to die to save money.

• @Donal if you apply for Invalidity Pension (those who paid full PRSI contribution) it is impossible to Screw the system as you put it. Why? Because the medical documentation and reports from GP’s Consultants and other health professionals like social workers etc have to be submitted with the application and all these are verified and these people will not give you false documents. I am waiting months for an appeal which I was turned down for with all the medical certification and evidence and mow all I get is a basic 186 euro a week supplementary welfare while I am waiting. I have to pay my mortgage and food and bills out of this paltry sum. I have worked over 35 years and was never unemployed so If you are trying to say I am scamming the system then you are wrong and my work history proves it but the department doesn’t give a damn about people like me. I am not a banker so I can go to hell. They are waiting for people to die to save money.

• @Donal if you apply for Invalidity Pension (those who paid full PRSI contribution) it is impossible to Screw the system as you put it. Why? Because the medical documentation and reports from GP’s Consultants and other health professionals like social workers etc have to be submitted with the application and all these are verified and these people will not give you false documents. I am waiting months for an appeal which I was turned down for with all the medical certification and evidence and mow all I get is a basic 186 euro a week supplementary welfare while I am waiting. I have to pay my mortgage and food and bills out of this paltry sum. I have worked over 35 years and was never unemployed so If you are trying to say I am scamming the system then you are wrong and my work history proves it but the department don’t care about people like me. I am not a banker so I can die for all they care. They are waiting for people to die to save money.

• I eagerly await the public service bashing to start. Just remember lads, some of us are in the same boat as everyone else………and trying our best.

• Some of us don’t have a boat.

• Hear hear. Hopefully at some stage the cloud of gullibility will lift and people will realise what the government don’t want us to discuss, that the private sector worker who can no longer pay the bills has the same problems as the public sector worker who can no longer pay their bills, and the same solution. Thats why we have this pathetic strategy of divide and conquer via the media that too many people swallow hook, line and sinker.

• Well if you don’t have a boat I’m truly sorry. When I worked in the private sector I traded my big boat for a small boat in the public sector. Everybody laughed at me as they sailed past in their big yachts. Well these days those yachts have sunk, but I still chug along in my little boat.

• Unfortunately I think that boat is permanently enshrouded in the cloud of gullibility you mention.

• Nice to see an article about the CPA not written by some well heeled bloke with private health insurance, living in a low crime neighbourhood and his kids in private schooling whos attacking nurses, guards and teachers.

• “There has never been a more cruel exploitation of one class by another than that of the less fortunate members of a group of producers by the well-established. This has been made possible by the “regulation” of competition. Few catch-words have done so much harm as the ideal of a “stabilization” of particular prices or wages, which, while securing the income of some, makes the position of the rest more and more precarious…It is no longer independence but security which gives rank and status, the certain right to a pension more than confidence in his making good which makes a young man eligible for marriage, while insecurity becomes the dreaded state of the pariah in which those who in their youth have been refused admission to the haven of a salaried position remain for life.”
      Fredrich Hayek (1943)

• Yeah, because we need to start taking advice from the same right wing economists that got us into the mess? Hayek was a favourite of Maggie Thatcher. Get real.

• Leigh if we had taken the advice of Hayek, we wouldn’t be in this mess.
      Remember britain was bailed out by the IMF in 1976 following years of post-war socialist “reforms”. Thatcher having studied Hayek (and others) turned their basketcase eeconomy around.

• And ended up with record unemployment and the highest childhood poverty rate in western europe.

Britain was on the upswing from a regular Keynesian cycle. However, many of the issues in the current downturn as well as Britain’s social issues in general can be traced back to Thatcherite neoliberal policies and the “New Labour” that continued the same trend.

• I’ve a degree in business and postgrad in education which allows me to teach. 5 years in college. I’m in my 3rd year teaching and get €505 in my hand after tax etc per week. Not exorbitant pay.

• Its not David but you also have other allowances and resources. Do you pay into a pension and private insurance for example. Well all these things cushion you in the event of a crisis. Most of us have no cushion whatsoever. The rates of pay for teachers is on the DES website and I have not seen anything like what you take home. Its actually much higher so you are not getting the proper rate as per the DES website.

• I was wondering when today’s round of public service bashing would start.

• The problem is the cream of the crop don’t rise to the top – we live in a cronyistic land where sycophancy is the quickest way to rise. Those who shout loud enough to keep everyone else in check so the gravy train goes round and round. No person – public or private – deserves the savagery of cuts implemented since 2008 when they are on the average industrial wage. In this country with a newish mortgage it will just about keep you afloat and maybe the odd week of the year when life can actually be lived. The problem is the cream and those doing it. Civil servants paid twice the salary of the taoiseach and he ain’t shy when it comes the feast?? ‘Cause let’s be bloody honest, those steering the ship have landed it on rocks and she may yet sink. Does Croke Park work – parts of it do. Mostly down on the trenches, lowly paid people who have to go over the top every single day trying to manage systems that vary wildly from department to department. But parts of it have no foundation under present circumstances. Anyhow divide and rule. Still going strong in 2012.

• Scrap-you’re bang out of line for referring to a teacher as a “pimply faced grad”.argue your case,but don’t resort to this.
    That ” pimply faced grad” had enough brains and determination to score more than 400 points in his leaving cert, and then done a h-dip in at least 2subjects, and then took the vocation and responsibility of nurturing and educating about 30 children of strangers.

• I found the thumbs up picture interesting. The arm is clearly been subjected to false tanning product whilst the hand has not. It is nearly 5am in the morning and I wish to chocolate milk I could sleep…

• Nope. It’s a barrier to progress. We went about this exactly the wrong way around, instead of structural reforms we are trying to escape from this bottomless pit of debt by … borrowing more money.

• Save your money don’t join a union ,

• The Croke Park agreement wouldn’t have survived if it wasn’t working? Are you for real? Perhaps there is a vested interest group that is benefiting from the agreement. Does that mean “it is working”? Perhaps for some.

• Alien8 25/10/12 #

The croke park deal is like marmite… I don’t have to eat marmite, but have had to swallow this union/last day of FF tripe whether I like it or not.

And really … Net of pensions, you missed out the one of payments there. Oh, and the additional cost of tying existing pensions to this deal. And the cost of rehiring those same pensioners on part time contracts.

• SMcB 25/10/12 #

Of course it’s working … A Union representative had told us so…. GET REAL.

• Details of the cost savings are available from non-’union representative’ channels online. They match the figures mentioned in the article.

• SMcB 25/10/12 #

What about the 75 odd mil in public service allowances???

• “Irish Economy 2012: The Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Brendan Howlin TD, today welcomed the publication by the Implementation Body for the Public Service Agreement 2010-2014 (‘Croke Park Agreement’) of its Second Annual Progress Report. He claims that €1.5bn in pay and ‘administrative efficiency’ savings have been achieved in the past two years. However, these savings are a sham.

This report is a sham because of the focus on pay rather than both pay and pensions and the benchmark year selected.

There would be no savings on the pay and pensions bill by 2015 if 2006 — the peak year of the boom was the benchmark year.

Big issues are not addressed and this list of ‘savings’ should not be seen as the result of radical change in structures but a reality of a staff embargo and a limit from the reckless spending levels of the boom period.

How can a civil servant in a bankrupt state retire at the age of 57 with a lump sum payment of €428,011, a special top-up of €142,670 (for senior civil servants who retire early) and an annual pension of €142,670?

The Comptroller & Auditor General said in 2009 that the average number of sick days taken in 2007 by each Clerical Officer was 16 days.

Last year, research published by the German Macroeconomic Policy Institute (IMK) shows that in 2010, the average hourly labour costs (including social security costs paid by private sector employers) were €28 for the Irish private sector and €34 for the Irish public sector.

The rates for Germany were €29 per hour in both sectors; Finland’s rate was also €29 in both sectors and the UK was €20 per hour in the private sector and €21 per hour in the public sector.

So the Irish public sector had a premium of 21% before accounting for the benefits of the special pension scheme.”

Michael Hennigan, Finfacts.ie

• Where’s the reverse benchmarking?

• The only statement of substance amongst the waffle in this article is the supposed €1.5b saving. Unfortunately, looking at the government spending, after all this huffing and puffing and tears rolling down the cheeks of union bosses and socialist ministers, the spending is more or less where it was when the crisis begun. Most savings in the voted expenditure were achieved on capital spending side. So yes the Croke Park is working but for public sector and their union bosses. The rest of Irish taxpayers will have to repay borrowings with interest raised to keep the level of public spending Ireland could not afford. This is before we even begin to consider the public sector pension liabilities which are of an equally disastrous magnitude.

• *Ding–a–ling*… yep, that’s the sound of the other one being pulled….

• Did u hear the one about the teacher on over 112k pa who also got 53k in allowances?

No, it’s not a joke (not a funny one anyway)
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1025/1224325680348.html

• Did you hear the other one about the 46,000 teachers who didn’t??

• Alien8 25/10/12 #

It would be nice to see how many are paid on what scale, and what the overall allowances actually are. We know there are people who are paid high, and we know many started on is €41k/32k. so what salary can we safely say most teachers have.

How hard is it to get statistics like this … Every teacher is paid from the same pot? My company can do it with hundreds of thousands of people across 150 countries – maybe the union could get this, as transparency would help there cause.

Or more than likely, not.

• I’m writing this at the start of hour 15 of what will be a 36-40 hour shift. I started work at 6am, stopped for a dinner of sandwiches, and a half eaten apple (my bleep went off), and now I am about to tuck into 2 slices of toast and an orange, because, again, the HSE has not bothered to pay the caterers for so much as a sliced pan for those of us who do not get to go home at night. I’m writing this having read this thread, and I wonder why I bother, when I cannot do good from doing bad. I get paid 55K, including overtime (right now – I dare you to tell me I should not be paid for it), I pay tax, and because my partner works the same rota as myself, I won’t see him until Saturday evening. I live with my partner, under the same Roof. You’re not paying us because we’re worth it, you’re paying us to work in an outdated, understaffed, grossly inefficient system. You’re paying us because I can hop on a plane tomorrow morning and aim for any other country on the planet, yes, earn less, but I can work a 5 day, 40 hour week, and, get this, be respected by those I serve for the bloody hard work I do.
      I can guarantee you that teacher is one of the extremely few who earned that – and that if he did – I would ask how hard he had to work for it.

• Sort out that one and we’ll talk about the rest. Outrageous.

• @james. I hope and presume that teacher is THE top of the scale. The point is, it can’t be corrected under Croke park. There are public servants who work their butts off for little or nothing and there’s the other side of the coin.

• @Scrap, of course he was. How many new entrants to the teaching profession are you aware of that earn 100k, and a further 50k in allowances, you ignorant person.

• @James… really? Calling him ignorant is a bit petulant. Sure, he wants the public sector to be changed and money saved… that doesn’t make him ignorant…

• So it’s the teachers getting it in the neck today, eh? Yesterday it was admin staff. Last week it was the nurses… Paramedics, you’re up next!

• @Scrap

Try reading your own article – the ‘salary’ of 112k was the total including allowances. Still too much, I’ll agree, but misrepresenting the facts does your argument no favours.

• @james. Ur clearly tired and emotional. No teacher starts on that. But up to 2010 a new graduate in teaching started on 39k pa. Nowhere in the world does a pimple faced grad start on that salary.

And I am not ignorant. I read. I’m very well informed.

Sincerely hope the rest of ur shift goes smoothly and hope u enjoy ur w/e with ur partner. People doing ur hours are not the problem in the PS

• @scrap, just because you read doesn’t mean you’re well informed. You could be reading the wrong stuff, particularly as we generally are more likely to read information that adheres to our own worldview.

• @Scrap, I am not tired and emotional, I’m exhausted. Scrap CP, then what? Lower the pay of every PS member? I work hard for my income, I’m highly qualified, I work in a system that doesn’t know it’s left arm from its right, that’s not my fault. What is needed is systemic reform. The fact that each hospital has a HR dept with a full complement of HR staff, the fact that if a doctor wants to train to consultant level, he has to lean on a prayer that there are enough spaces available on the training courses – despite the fact that there are not enough doctors training, and the fact that half of the training places are unfilled, the fact that my records in the revenue office can’t be read in the welfare office, or the fact that I can’t access a GP’s notes on a patient – all needs to be resolved. This kind of “oh look at what he’s earning” kinda crap – while the entire system is utterly broke – did it ever dawn on anybody here that the unions are doing what a union is meant to do?? Or that if Micheal Martin said yes there will be redundancies instead of saving every job of every health board worker that the HSE might be a very different organisation than it is today??
      @Sham, I’m not blackmailing – you stand in Dublin airport – there are boat loads of highly qualified professionals leaving – professionals whom we, as taxpayers, have paid for their education and the best you can come up with is remove the only thing that just about keeps them in the country, their pay?!
      You have clearly never worked a 40hr shift. It’s fun. You should try it sometime.

• Pity you didn’t pay more attention in class when you were doing comprehension exercises, the allowances make up his salary to 112,000, they are not in addition to it. This would be the salary of a principal in one of the largest schools in the country. So the allowance would be for taking on the job of principal. We can argue about whether Principals are paid appropriately but please don’t make up your own facts. I read your link and how you could not follow basic English is beyond me.

• All he’s done really is reinforce the fact that on numbers, pay, allowances and workload, this intervention was long overdue. We are supposed to be grateful that its happened quickly? It’s called necessity. And for all the other aspects that haven’t been tackled – allowances, rates of pay, increment’s that continue to be paid – we’re spared the threat of strike action. Croke Park has delivered. Just not enough…

• Had to read the headline twice. He has to be a union man.

• I repeat: it’s the foulest piece of social discrimination ever perpetrated by a state by ring-fencing one section of the population against the worst excesses of the worst depression at the expense of the other half, i.e. those citizens who are not public servants.

Add New Comment