TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Interview: ‘It started with nosebleeds’ – what fracking did to one US town

Calvin Tillman was the mayor of a Texas town which was one of the first to encounter ‘fracking’. He tells TheJournal.ie what happened next.

Michael Freeman

Calvin Tillman is the former mayor of Dish, Texas, a small community which was one of the first in the world to encounter ‘fracking’ – extraction of shale gas by hydraulic fracturing – after the technology was finessed in the late 1990s.

Early last year he moved his family out of the town, saying that the effects of fracking and industrialisation were causing health problems for his children. He has since become an advocate on the subject.

As the debate continues over the possibility of fracking in Ireland, Calvin told TheJournal.ie about the events that led to him leaving Dish.

When did you begin to think that the gas extraction might be causing problems?

My kids had started to get nosebleeds. Dish is a pretty rural community, so we became a target for pipelines. There’s a bunch of pipelines that run through the area, and a huge station that was put up to facilitate those. Natural gas doesn’t come out as a clean-burning hydrocarbon, it has to go through a process to have the impurities removed, using these plants called dehydrators which were installed around Dish.

So we noticed that my kids began to get nosebleeds pretty frequently. I had never gotten nosebleeds in my life, and I was getting them once in a while – but my kids were the predominant concern. And at that point it became hard to ignore what was going on with them. So I started paying attention to when my kids got nosebleeds, and whether there was strong odour coming from the processing plant.

The state of Texas had installed an air monitor, so we could tell whether the levels of chemicals, including ethane, were going up and down. And we were able to correlate those – the odour, the elevated levels, and my children’s nosebleeds – they all seemed to go up at the same time.

Initially I went and purchased a filtration system for my home, which are these good-sized appliances which would continuously filter the air throughout my house. And that worked in keeping the odour out of the house, to some extent. But it just became too much. So we put our house on the market. It took us almost a year to sell it, and I took a financial hit, but it was worth it. I actually made the buyer watch the documentary Gasland before I would sell the place to them.

Were there any other impacts in the local area?

Now that I’ve moved and I’m out of the drilling area, you realise just how much industrialisation goes on. If you took away all of the environmental impacts, all of the health impacts, you would still have a very heavy industrial zone. You’re going to have thousands of trucks going up and down the roads; these heavy equipment haulers and very good-sized pickup trucks; all of these big vehicles on the road. And then, I would urge you to go to Google and get a satellite image of Dish, Texas, and look at the land scarring that goes on and the number of wells. That’s what you will look like. You’re not going to have a nice quiet community any more once this comes to town.

Advocates of fracking say that it will provide much-needed jobs in rural areas. What’s your take on that?

Well, I don’t think you should write somebody a blank cheque just because they’re going to create a few jobs. But let me ask you this: How many pipeline welders are in the local community? How many people with experience drilling, or troubleshooting a compressor station? And I think that’ll tell you where your jobs are going to come from. I hope you guys like people from Texas, because they’re going to import the workers.

In Texas, we’ve had oil and gas for decades. But if you go somewhere like Pennsylvania, most of the locals who are working in the industry drive trucks. Or they work as security guards, or something like that. They’re not the high-paid decision makers in the industry, and it will take you decades to get to that point where they can be decision makers. And at some point people from the States will relocate there and stay there, and it’ll be a permanent part of your landscape.

The companies assessing the potential of the gas basins for fracking have acknowledged that there have been mistakes and environmental impacts elsewhere. But they say that they expect the process to be far better regulated in Ireland. Would that answer your concerns?

I’ve travelled all around the world and I’ve heard that argument in every single place I go: ‘What happened there isn’t going to happen here. We’re going to regulate it.’ But this is the deal. How many of your governmental agencies know anything about shale gas? Where are you going to get that expertise? Your government can’t pay them what the energy industry can pay them, so for petroleum engineers who know what the problems actually are – the only way that you’re going to figure that out is learning when something bad happens.

Now I went to Canada, and I just got back from Austrian talking about this same subejct. Both of those countries signed mineral agreements that pay 10 per cent royalties. In Dish, two decades ago, they got 16 per cent royalties. And now the going rate is 20-25 per cent. So if your government has already signed a lease, look at that lease. Because they’ve probably already been taken advantage of. Do you think that they’re smart enough to regulate an industry that’s already taken advantage of them once?

What do you think is the future for this technology?

My goal is just to help educate people. What people get in mind of is that there’s going to be a whole bunch of jobs, we’re all going to get fat and be prosperous and make as much money as we want, and there’s going to be no downside. And that’s simply not the case. So if you make that decision, make it knowing that there’s going to be problems. There’s just no way around that.

Do you have any regrets about moving away from Dish?

When you make a big decision about this, you always wonder if you’re overreacting. Well, the nosebleeds that really bothered us were the ones in the middle of the night, while my kids were sleeping. And since we’ve moved, they haven’t had any of those. If they’ve had a nosebleed, it’s because they were picking their nose, or they got in a fight with their brother. It wasn’t the massive nosebleeds that we’d have seen in Dish. And we’ve been gone for a year. So I feel pretty comfortable that we made the right choice getting out of there.

Calvin Tillman’s website is here.

More: Everything you ever needed to know about fracking>

Column: Want to boost the economy and create jobs? Drill for gas>

Column: Never heard of ‘fracking’? You will soon>

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• As long as there is money in it,our lads will sign on the dotted line,without reading any reports.

• No fracking way.

• The promise of jobs and revenue will likely cloud decisions on whether fracking is safe or not, if there is the slightest doubt, then it should not be allowed to happen. Time will prove us right or wrong, meanwhile the value of the deposits will rise. But replacing gas deposits with water and chemical soup on an industrial scale, how could that not have consequences, it could take decades to know. Gasland is worth watching too!

• Good Article
    For anyone that wants to see an end to fracking please sign the AVAAZ petition.
    http://www.avaaz.org/en/petition/Ban_Fracking_Ireland/?fhOXqab&pv=13

• Funny I can’t find a pro fracking petition. Now why is that do you rhink?

• @ Mr.Grogan
      Unfortunately most of the young folks who would be in favour of fracking and the resultant cheap energy and jobs have already left. Those of us who remain paying through the nose for power and heat are at the mercy of these green ecoloons who would have us all back in the middle ages if they got their way.

• So far 12 people have expressed their approval of the new wave of emigration which is caused for the most part by the marxist policies of expensive energy which is preventing a revival of our economy.

• For our sake and future generation’s sake, I hope fracking never becomes a reality here in Ireland.
    Ireland is a very sacred place and to do that to our mother Earth would lead to disastrous consequences!

• Kindle (US) sells for approx $3 a brilliant ebook on the experience of one community with fracking – a very worthwhile read.

• Could provide the energy for 50 years…maybe….but not for free!they will extract and it will be sold back to us by the energy companies and state agencies at the same price while destroying one of our most important assets-our environment,a green,healthy,mild climate,non fault-line Environment!!

• Our idiots couldn’t regulate a p*** up in in a brewery. What could make anyone think that they could manage something like this?

• Google Sublette County Wyoming.

Air quality in rural Wyoming on par with Houston and Los Angeles and an ongoing study conducted by the state has identified the sole source as the Jonah and Pinedale Anticline gas fields. NOAA has also identified the exact same air issues in Erie, Colorado and also Utah.

Elevated ozone and PM 2.5/10. Daily detections of BTEX and other airborne toxics. It’s been going on for years and the industry claims to be trying to fix it but it just gets worse. They are busy building the exact same infrastructure in the Barnett, Marcellus and Fayetteville Shale.
    Its also one of the industries dirty little secrets they don’t blog about over at the industry funded Energy In Depth

http://deq.state.wy.us/aqd/Ozone%20Forum/SubletteCountyToxicsStudy_Overview_Sept152010%5B1%5D.pdf
    http://trib.com/news/state-and-regional/task-force-begins-work-on-pinedale-ozone-problems/article_ac59ca3a-59a6-53eb-a6bb-0499c7a5042f.html

• TskTsk
      Seems like ex-Mayor Tillman needs to check out the people who check out things for him.

“The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) reviewed the study done by Wolf Eagle and concluded “it is not possible” to draw the conclusions Wolf did in their report—that is, that the pipeline (or wells) are causing air pollution. In essence, the TCEQ says the report by Wolf and the way it was conducted, along with its conclusions, is flawed. Not only that, but Wolf Eagle Environmental Engineers & Consultants was recently forced to remove “Engineers & Consultants” from their name because they did not, and still do not have, a single licensed engineer on staff. It calls into question the credibility of the original study done by Wolf.”

• So what’s new? The Irish Times had an article Saturday on Nuclear Power and the Fukushima accident written by a non scientifically trained journalist with an award in “Creative Writing”. What’s the big difference between an Engineer and a Poet? Many people here would rather Poets built bridges and presumably want Engineers to write poetry.

• @ Mr.Grogan.
      Exactly,but mention of Fukushima calls to mind that even the best brains on the planet can err. The Japanese who designed that plant were working on information from the worlds experts on the geology of the area that there could not be anything greater than an 8 earthquake and built accordingly with an added safety margin but the scale of the tsunami was unforeseen so perhaps they should have consulted the POTROI for advice ;-)

• PS @ Mr Grogan,I have not bothered to read that Times paper since it went all lovey-dovey with the great unwashed marxists .

• As usual our ministers will sign the deal,and look at the damage afterwards.What do teachers know of fracking anyway.

• EPA my arse. Watch gas land. Sacrificing public health for the sake of a few jobs is not the way to go!

• Phew,
    And I thought politics.ie could get nasty by times. What brand of fool believes that calling people names will ever win a debate.
    For the record, there will not be 50 years worth of gas supply for our power stations recovered from the Lough Allen Basin. There is an enormous difference between a reserve and a recoverable reserve.

• the gasland documentary is on netflix def worth a watch!

• Gasland is total nonsense. Here’s a comment re the , “As it relates to the composition of fluids commonly used in the fracturing process, greater than 99.5 percent of the mixture is comprised of water and sand. The remaining materials, used to help deliver the water down the wellbore and position the sand in the tiny fractures created in the formation, are typically components found and used around the house. The most prominent of these, a substance known as guar gum, is an emulsifier more commonly found in ice cream.”

It should be remembered that almost everything around us is a chemical. Chemical doesn’t necessarily mean dangerous as many people seeem to think.

See here for complete rebutal http://www.energyindepth.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Debunking-Gasland.pdf

• @ William Grogan

Thankyou for posting up the industry PR of ‘Energy in Depth’ – ‘set up by the Independent Petroleum Association of America’ (clearly well funded by its industry members)…but I have sufficient supplies of toilet paper.

As for Sean O’Keefe’s equating ‘the vested interests of both sides’ (comment below), well that’s just laughable. It’s $100s of billions on the fossil fuel industry side versus the wages of the few full time campaigners on the other who could just as easily earn a similar or better living doing something else (eg PR shilling for the industry in question). I think Mr Tillman’s motivation 100% more honest than the ‘industry’.

As the Global Financial Crisis rolls on into its 4th year & getting worse in Europe, I think we should also reflect on the ability of our equally broken democracy to ‘regulate’ anything in the interests of citizens where such vast financial interests are at work.

• Mike, facts aren’t your strong point are they?

I posted an article that made many statements that can be easily checked. The Gasland movie is clearly full of unsupported claims; these are mainly rebutted in my posting. Why not try a new tack, look at the statements and tell me which ones are wrong rather than using toilet humour. Anyone who claims his family got nosebleeds from fracking is almost certainly a langer, as we say in Cork.

• @ William

So, you’re presenting the industry funded propaganda as ‘facts’ (But without actually mentioning who Energy in Depth are.)

Well, you’re entitled to your opinion, but I think you can expect an opinion on that basis to be treated with derision.

The propaganda of the finance & property sector worked out well, eh?

I’m from Cork. No, I don’t think Mr Tillman would be considered a ‘langer’ for anything he’s done to protect his family’s health.

• We have already destroyed the beautiful landscape of our island by building houses all over it in the name ‘progress’. I’m sure the same gombeen selfish attitude will prevail when it comes to fracking too.

• Fracking sounds like something that happens behind the chippy beside the nightclub!

• This town of Dish has an interesting wiki article. Population of 218. Town changed its name in a tv sponsorship deal. Sounds like a pretty swish place in lil’ ole’ Texas.

There are over 218 people in my apartment block. One of them got a nosebleed once. It must be related to fracking. I live here therefore I am the expert.

• Still waiting on that EPA report before I make my mind up fully.

• EPA! haha wouldn’t believe any report they publish!

• No Dave, you’ll toe the Fine Gael party line and do what your told as usual.

• If you knew anything about me you’d know I’m against the party line on drug policy, gay marriage/adoption, bailouts, expenses and a whole raft of other issues. There are many shades of blue.

FG doesn’t even have a party line on fracking yet!

• Yeah, of course the EPA must know better than someone who has lived in an area that is being fracked. Do you know who is carrying out the EPA report? It’s not the EPA, it’s the University of Aberdeen. Do you know that the oil/gas industry is one of the largest funders of the University of Aberdeen. I personally would believe someone who has lived with the experience and moved his family away because of health worries.

• Whether you are for or against fracking, the fact remains, in the particular gas field they are looking to “frack”, there is enough gas there to run the electrical needs of Ireland for 50 years. that is worth a serious think, not just an upfront rebuttal because because someone, somewhere, got a nose bleed.

• 50 years isn’t a very long time is it? did you see what is left behind? I’m all for attaining our own natural resources but not this way.

• David, I didn’t say frack, I said it requires serious thought. With the way energy prices are going (IE-up), and with a natural resource under your living room, it requires some serious, weighted thought.

• I agree it is worth researching. if there is a health risk to the public then that should be the over-riding factor, not the profit margin.

• Micheal I think you’re dead right. People seem to forget that ireland imports the vast majority of its primary energy and as such can be held to ransom if the likes of Russia decide to turn of the gas.

• What hasn’t been mentioned in this article is that Tillman left his unpaid job as the town mayor. He co-founded a non-profit organisation- Shaletest and he now earns his living as an antifracking advocate. I’m not questioning Tillman’s bona-fides. However, it detracts from his message when this is not reported.
      As the fracking industry has spread to various countries, in it’s wake the antifracking industry has also. I don’t see any problem with this as both sides should be presented to the public. What I would question is the media’s objectivity in reporting both views. There seems to be a bias in the media toward the antifracking view. This isn’t surprising as this appeals to the more emotive side of the debate and shifts more copy for media organisations. However, we as members of the public should be aware that we are being played by vested interests on both sides. If we are to achieve a balanced view, we must demand more objective reporting of the facts from the media.

• Just for the record, Calvin Tillman does not earn his living being an anti-fracking advocate. He has never been compensated for any of this activity. He maintains a professional career that is unrelated to the oil and gas industry. Please see more at: http://www.calvintillman.com.

• Anti-Fracking scare mongering propaganda dressed up as an insightful media investigation.

• So Calvin is making a new career out of scaremongering? He “took a hit on the sale of his house” ,seems like he is like the rest of Americans in that respect. Strange thing about nose bleeds,I used to get them a lot as a kid due to the fracking in Dolphins Barn. And batin the sh1t out of each other in the street fights :-)

• For an avant-garde filmmaker and stage director whose previous work has been recognized by the “Fringe Festival” of New York City, HBO’s decision to air the GasLand documentary nationwide later this month represents Josh Fox’s first real foray into the mainstream – and, with the potential to reach even a portion of the network’s 30 million U.S. subscribers, a potentially significant one at that.

But with larger audiences and greater fanfare come the expectation of a few basic things: accuracy, attention to detail, and original reporting among them. Unfortunately, in the case of this film, accuracy is too often pushed aside for simplicity, evidence too often sacrificed for exaggeration, and the same old cast of characters and anecdotes – previously debunked – simply lifted from prior incarnations of the film and given a new home in this one.

“I’m sorry,” Josh Fox once told a New York City magazine, “but art is more important than politics. … Politics is people lying to you and simplifying everything; art is about contradictions.” And so it is with GasLand: politics at its worst, art at its most contrived, and contradictions of fact found around every bend of the river. Against that backdrop, we attempt below to identify and correct some of the most egregious inaccuracies upon which the film is based (all quotes are from Josh Fox, unless otherwise noted):

http://www.energyindepth.org/tag/calvin-tillman/

• Thankyou for posting up the industry PR of ‘Energy in Depth’ – ‘set up by the Independent Petroleum Association of America’ (clearly well funded by its industry members)…but I have sufficient supplies of toilet paper.

‘Uncle Mort’…hmmm…haven’t seen you around here posting on anything else much to do with Ireland. You wouldn’t be from another continent with a big vested interest in fracking by any chance?

• Do ecoloons ever post replies that are on topic and free of sneers and ad-homs ?

• Lol, oh dear, someone doesn’t like being called out on blatent posting of $billion industry propaganda.

Won’t wash in our country “Uncle Mort” (whoever you are, posting on an anonymous Twitter account).

• Hall,you used the same crap in your reply to William Grogan earlier and you seem to have a fixation on toilet paper,I take it that you Leitrim folks use your laptops to clean your butts ?

• I’m sure that all reasonable people know by now that our Green chums have have 3,500 times more funding than the sceptics. Fact.

• Thanks Uncle Mort for anonymously giving us another chance to view the work of the Independent Petroleum Association of America – such a lovely upstanding group of people, surely they could not possibly be biased?
      Here’s a different view of the movie Galsand which you comment on below – http://www.gaslandthemovie.com/whats-fracking/affirming-gasland
      When you visit the page don’t forget to click on the pdf link to read a response to the petroleum association and gas industry’s criticisms.
      Somehow Uncle Mortimer, your opinions might carry more weight if you were not commenting from an anonymous twitter account apparently set up purely to comment and not even communicating with anyone on twitter.

• I object to being personally insulted by someone who is using this space to post anonymous comments, this is not only very bad manners, it is cowardly behaviour! Most people are genuinely using this space to have a constructive debate, not descending to your level of personal insults.

I have the decency to use my own name here, as do many others who leave comments. If you wish to insult me then, at the very least, have the decency to do so under your own name.

Shame on you! Hiding behind your anonymous twitter account and throwing about personal insults. I notice that I am not the first person you have treated this way and I hope each of them report you for the cowardly behaviour that you are displaying.

• @Mz Sheerin
      Do read back through the comments and you will find that you nor your fellow victims have bothered to address the points raised in my comments before launching into personal attacks on me as is par for the course with greens. I am well aware of the tactics used by the left to try to silence people like myself who have become fed up with the loss of jobs and the increases in the cost of power and services caused by pseudo marxist ideology as is evident by the way in which you and others act. I will continue to comment regardless of your attempts to brainwash people into falling for the scam of your new religion.

• I have not stooped to personal insult as you have, numerous times.

I was responding to the comment which you posted. My comment to you was not insulting, my suggestion was that your opinions would carry more weight if you used your real name – a comment you have refused to address.

Of course you are free to comment as you choose, I have not expressed the wish to silence you – I have however expressed the wish that you cease to abuse people.

I stand by my comment that your behaviour is cowardly. Shame on you for insulting people from the hiding place of your anonymous twitter account.

• @Mz Sheerin,you wrote

“Thanks Uncle Mort for anonymously giving us another chance to view the work of the Independent Petroleum Association of America – such a lovely upstanding group of people, surely they could not possibly be biased?
      Here’s a different view of the movie Galsand which you comment on below – http://www.gaslandthemovie.com/whats-fracking/affirming-gasland
      When you visit the page don’t forget to click on the pdf link to read a response to the petroleum association and gas industry’s criticisms.
      Somehow Uncle Mortimer, your opinions might carry more weight if you were not commenting from an anonymous twitter account apparently set up purely to comment and not even communicating with anyone on twitter.” Nuff said

• “A research study carried out by fuel poverty expert Professor Christine Liddell of the University of Ulster has revealed that nearly 8,000 people die during winter as a result of fuel poverty, reported the Independent on Tuesday.”
    How many people die in Ireland as a result of the high coast of heating their homes? How many face the choice between eating or heating?
    The greens don’t want the Irish people to know the answer to this question.

• they did not, and still do not have, a single licensed engineer on staff

Just like the good ol’ IPCC where 78 of the reviewers of the last report were hippies from the WWF. Imagine that, 78 of the 200 were unfit for the job ,its no wonder these ecoloons get things so arse-backward.

Add New Comment