TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Read Me: The shoes we walk in – being disabled in Ireland

Anne Kennedy, a disabled woman from Wicklow, tells her story through her shoes.

Ann Kennedy

shoes

TheJournal.ie received this image and accompanying email in the early hours of this morning. The writer, Ann Kennedy from Greystones in county Wicklow, was one of a number of protesters who demonstrated outside Leinster House yesterday. The newly-formed group, Leaders Alliance, stayed overnight to ensure that the Government will follow through on a decision not to cut Personal Assistant services for people with disabilities. Anne gives the reader a glimpse of her life – through her shoes.

I PLACE MY shoes here right now at this time. On the left are the shoes I received about six years ago and these were provided by the HSE.

On getting them they were too tight so the special insole had to be removed. The guy taking measurements acknowledged that he forgot to measure the pes cavus deformity and the top part of my foot, not the part that hits the ground – he did that alright! No ‘raised bit’ was put on the left shoe of these dark brown pair even though I have a shortened leg.

I have deformed feet, pes cavus, an ankle joint that is more or less fixed, an achilles tendon which is far too tight and short. It is all congenital.

The second summer shoes are older. I once got two pairs a year, then one pair (to be worn in the summer heat too). Then I got none as the budget was cut. Now I have holes in them but in my new county I am being measured up because the funding is OK here. They were shocked to see both my feet and the shoes.

Please post this…it will be at least 18 months before I get my new shoes but they have to be sanctioned first, which hasn’t happened. I tried and tried to get shoes on the open market but to no avail.

Anne Kennedy described herself as “the one in the pink hat” outside the Dáil yesterday. She was with her twin sister Dr Margaret Kennedy who mentioned these shoes (or lack of new shoes) on television programmes last night.

Read: Cuts to personal assistant services will NOT take place>

More: People with disabilities holding overnight protest against HSE cuts>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• Yes, my twin has a huge array of medical conditions, Dystonia, Sjogrens, Arthritis, Neuro-muscular degeneration (myopathy) partially deaf, Chronns Disease (half of her bowel is removed already)… Her feet are a mess due to total inaction over special shoes for years. She is in terrible pain due to ill fitting shoes and some falls have been attributed to this. her benefits are stretched to the limits…don’t doubt her…be outraged for her.

• @ Margaret, I am establishing a new group in Ireland called freedom4disabed.com to assist disabled people accessing the necessary supports from HSE – particularly supplementary benefits to assist with clothes, shoes, heating, travel costs for hospital etc. Im not sure where you are located, but your sister sounds she could do with a hand. If you wish you can contact me via facebook or email jonathanswrainey@eircom.net Since the last round of HSE cuts, many patients are now unable to reach hospital apointments from rural areas up to Dublin. We hd a case 2 weeks ago a 55 year old man had to drive from Swanlinbar to Cappagh on 2 days at cost of 90euro in petrol, tolls and parking out of his 188euro a week, unknown to him he can get help with these costs through HSE. Hope you sister is staying positive.Jon

• @Margaret It must have taken a lot out of your sister to go out and protest yesterday. I admire her for doing that and for writing this email/article. Its one small example but I really think it shows the distance between the politicians and the real-life effects these cuts will have.

• I am also registered disabled at the moment – and I have tried to claim back for taxi expenses on emergency visits to Hospital. You cannot do this now. The C.W.O. in our area was instructed not to reimburse for this expense as part of medical care from now on . At one time if you had to travel to Dublin or another city for Hospital or Specialist care you could submit receipts adding to not more than 40 euro for you travel costs for doing so . I had kept several sets of receipts having been told to submit them all together and recoup the expense in one application with additional doctors certs and dates of appointment s – but having done so was told that it was not now possible to claim travel expenses under Supplementary Welfare system. It is difficult at night and early morning appointments to travel by bus . I have been asked to explain the difference in cost between taxi receipts where taxi took different routes or when I had to make stop for Pharmacy on the way . I have a bag of receipts from a period of complete invalidity when I relied on taxis and could not have this expense back dated . I think many people would be quite happy to stay away from Hospital – but if you skip appointments you are seen as wasting time and – “non compliant”.

• Anna, I receive travel reimbursement from HSE for trips Cavan-Dublin for medication (infusion) monthly. I am not doubting what you are saying, but feel perhaps it is more “local” decisions rather than HSE policy. I would encourage you to take this to HSE CWO Superintendent if you can, or like I had to do initially, write to Minister, highlight the bus HSE were sending with driver totally 5 hours was not sensible use of resources whereas if they covered the fuel cost, I could arrange lift on days I could not drive. Just a suggestion, and wish you well!!

• Thank you everyone for the kind sentiments and very constructive ideas and offers of assistance.
    i had a dreadful day, just utterly dreadful. wandering around my home, or ‘rattling’ around my home, wondering all the time, ‘what is going to happen me; the litany of incredible obstacles placed in my life is almost unendurable. I couldnt be with twin today, yesterday was upsetting for me. I thoiught i had build a strong inner self core of confidence but everytime i manage to do this i get severely knocked.
    all the knocks are health related, the rebuffs, the cuts, the hesitancy to deal with my issues, the constant constant battles and still no comfort or belief that i am safe within our healthcare system.
    i feel the next stop in A’E will be another threatening one as i am trolleyed to the corner and ignored. i am sick of it.
    i asked for peace at 60 with a shortened life expectancy.
    i ask for my art, my photography, my writing and to document a life not worth the living.
    i was beginning that last process but then another health problem caused difficulty, typing is getting harder, articulation is getting compromised, i am tired. i tried to engage back in education to teach me to collate it all through audiovideo means after being once a graduate of our art college system, but even there – blank walls. i cannot go out in the evening due to illness.
    everywhere i look i see difficulties, and then i watch my twin and i say WE both want the same things, as ALL people want, Peace and Safety and security, with a level of love and acceptance within society even if on the fringe, the help in some areas is not there and never will be but when there is the possibilty that something can be done, even that isnt.
    so to ask myself as i wander in mental chaos around my house, ‘whats to be done, whats to be done’ but this mental chaos has been caused by all those supposed to sooth the illness and troubles of a disabled person not a mentally ill person, i never was that.
    i wanted freedom from medical abuse, verbal abuse, power and powerless of self within the melee that is wealth in health and poverty in powerlessness of disability.
    SHOES is my symbol that where do you actually start when walking forward is what everyone wants really, for some an end is nearer than others, and some kind that the end is about as much the cure as anything as this patch up and trauma doesnt even equate to living.
    I ask all to view my WORK, my photography and artwork, view the goodness and not always try to find the faults.
    i am waiting for the news to come to see what has happened throughout the day.

• I went to an Open Day at University yesterday – for Students with Disabilities . At it the Student Disability Services presented the range of Aids available to people to study . Some of our group were blind or had speech difficulties or mobility challenges – Cerebal Palsy , MS etc. Maybe your sister could try to contact them . They have a volunteer program called ALIVE . You could contact any University to see if they can do something for you – maybe media students might work with you to help you complete your goal and film or photograph this journey you are on … You could ask the V de P to assist with the shoes – or they might carry another utility bill . Maybe some neighbour or friend could try organise a running group to do Flora Marathon or Triathlon or Iron Man – or another ! – and high light the issue . Everyone doing those events buy shoes for it from Sports stores and it could be a perfect vehicle or platform to get some attention on the long wait for appropriate shoes when the rest of us can pick from dozens of stores …………best of luck . I know a school who would probably be delighted to help .

• Needless to say no Government TD would walk a mile in these shoes – not when the TD has an expense account provided in part by people who have to walk miles in these shoes. The Government talks of having to make ‘tough decisions’ but targeting those with disabilities is cowardly in my opinion.

• Between SNA’s being cut and disability this is another attack on the working class. Ireland can only be stretched si far before it collapses. Fair play to them marching .

• thank you for these final suggestions! much more positive tonight, much more and very committed to living life better and i do believe its possible, i can get stuck in mire but i do believe it is with the support i do need and knowingly need. all the best and shall keep you posted

• My sincere empathy to you. I can identify so well with you as my late Mom had similar problems. She loved nice shoes but could never buy from the shop. She had to get them specially made. The waiting and the promises were endless. Good luck and I sincerely hope that someone with similar problems will get a job in high places so that a little understanding of this issue will result in improvement.

• I hope you can keep your spirits up . Bloggitall ..!! I liked your photos – you are very creative and colorful : Get on the phone or email and send some of those photos and a byline to students unions or colleges – every year they get involved with all kinds of issues to find out what is going on – ” ..in the real world..” . I think you could even start a group for Fabulous Feet :) Spread the net wide and see if you can get a marketing or customer relations person on your side : cold call companies . I did this to fundraise before for my health ‘issue’. A lot of rejections but a lot of help also. You could buy the leather on line in Spain maybe where they have a history of fine leather good s and many many artisans and shoe, bag , glove and saddle makers – in south east . That man in Wicklow might make a pair to put the HSE to shame …:) It could be a fun challenge – and maybe a film student might make a short documentary about it – at Galway Film Board , they produce and fund many community documentaries every year – and screen them in the Film Fleadh. This is a regional thing . It could be fun . Contact the Design courses and ask if they would set a challenge . You may not get the best shoe fit but it will give more profile to the issue too – and maybe have a knock on effect : people knocking on your door. I dont think I have ever seen an in depth film or chat show episode on footwear and aids for mobility issues and disabilities . All the little details trip us up – Dont give up or lose hope : creative people are born to invent solutions ……..very best to you. I t would be a great photo study – hands and feet . I think , i may be wrong , but i think your condition would be helped by hyperbaric oxygen therapy – there is a free chamber in Kerry as far as I know – set up by the good work of a man who had MS and backed by the city council in the town . Maybe someone cold look into it for you . It is meant to have great therapeutic effect for muscular neuron diseases too. They have one at my Hospital also but as far as I know it is used mainly for alleviating the bends in divers , and according to a taxi driver who often takes me to A and E : a golfing fraternity ;) H- oops . I am being naughty . But there in : another story to tell!

• Anna, you have some great ideas here. This would be a fab project. I’ll give Ann a push on this!

• special insoles for a flat footed teen cost E50. Neglected feet can result in a wide range of disability later in life.Why of why can policy makers not realise that dealing with an issue in the initial stages can SAVE MONEY and more important reduce PAIN and make life a better place.

• pushed!

• @ Ann and Margaret. The two of you are truly beautiful examples of the human race, and all that is good within it. You’ve touched me so deeply, that it has taken me this long to even attempt a meaningful response. Your intelligence, bravery, unbowed spirit, creative thinking and sense of fun, leaves me almost dumbfounded with admiration. I think I’m really in a state of shock and the only thing I can think of saying to you both, is that not only are you a credit to each other, but the fact that you still retain the ability to empathise with other people in less severe situations than yourselves, is an immeasurable gauge of your goodwill towards your fellow mankind. I wish you well!.

• yesterday i went to the hse orthotist, thanks to journal.ie and senator whelan who saw this article. for the first time i had a proper fitting. one foot is size 4 the other size 5 and a half. the smaller is far wider than the bigger, i will be getting a lift on the shorter leg and also a larger heel lift for the other leg. i will then be cast for orthotics insoles to deal with the pes cavis and a refit to judge the turning out of feet due to weak ankles. i have been without all this for years and years and done untold damage to the right achilles which can never recover as it has become thickened. i will in about eighteen months have a pair of shoes, one pair of shoes as opposed to none. further difficulties are afoot as the hse have come into my new home and demanded a full ‘wet room; adaptation. this without consultation and also the hse will not oversee the adaptations to my home but leave a sick and disabled woman alone deal with the builders and account for every penny of any materials they wish to use, but the hse will demand that i remodel my chosen home against my wishes. its heavy duty to be disabled in ireland. but shoes i now have thanks to journal.ie in highlighting this and for senator whelan for meeting me and effecting change. oh tear filled with the hse ot report on what i am to do with my home received on this day, i didnt watch where i was going and fell….broke my main bone in thumb, report still in my hand and now wearing a cast for four weeks…

• victorious lets all celebrate! i have been upgraded from ‘not high priority’ to a ‘possible priority’ right! brought the image i took and the shoes and told the primary care team meeting that this article was here and this article got me to see Senator Whelan in the Dail and two pink bowler hats got us to be interviewed for a programme, so so we are victorious, so i shall be walking tall soon and very straight and not with a lop sided gait. one has to demonstrate and put self into a god damn awful position like this, eg also wearing pink bowlers and being thrown out of the Dail before i ever got in for wearing them and the tiny little stickers on them saying ;’disabled’ which i was asked to remove by a bat of security guard, i couldnt see what the fuss was about but was told to get OUT! i was found in my wheelchair weeping outside by a certain senator, he also found my twin in her wheelchair weeping outside the Dail entrance and what a bloody state i was in, thanks to the state security, pentagon wasnt init!

• still no shoes, i have another two weeks to wait for my shoes, which will be winter ones, as they only do one pair for each person, i have been walking around all winter in shoes with holes in them, my feet with raynauds have been agonising, even with two pairs of thermal socks and a change in the car or even driving in socks so that the heating can get them dry. i am so tired of the health service.
    just feel the battles are continuous, after MONTHS upon MONTHs, i have been told i can keep my bath, they wanted me to have a wet room ‘for the future’ and the bath was for generalised dystonia, fibro and insomnia and restless legs, do you think these people are for real. we apealed to everyone and finally a person has over ruled the report of the OT, but wait for it, after saying this on the grounds that I have a neurodegenerative disorder but twin has parkinsons, i had been asked to sign that i will not ‘ask for more’ when it comes to the bathroom department in the future, to which i responded ‘after all you put me through, do you think i am signing anything! so i get my shoes after winter sometime in spring. yep!

• i have finally received the first impressions for my new shoes…the real casts made these i actually never had done before! one foot is size 4 and the other size 5 and a half. the shorter is also the widest and the longest the narrow. i have pes cavis deformity which means the arch is way too high and a shortened left leg. the right achilles has drawn up and thickened. both the calf muscles now show signs of atrophy as well., the ankles are also welded with little movement. so i shall have a full flat lift on the left leg and a heel lift on the right, plus insoles for the pes cavis and a splayed wedge on the outer heels to stop me going over the weakened ankles. i had been walking on these here feet for so many years but a lot of damage has been done now especially to the right leg. i am so grateful to all who helped me achieve this and cannot wait for the shoes. thanks for the supporters, to those who are not, dont be born again with congenital rubella syndrome, you wouldn t survive it!

• told by my disability advocate that someone has said my shoes were not ‘high priority’ tell me please what on earth can be going on, and who is this person, this is another individual i have never met! and yet another, whom i have not met tells me the type of bathroom i need for my home, a fully adapted one, who are the people deciding on my life and home and how and when i walk and in what. told now am on a list and it could be six months before shoes are even sanctioned, please note the shoes on the left and the hole in em….journal DO something about this situation not only for me as it has to be happening across the board. flipping livid. the rain today was awful…try these here shoes. ann on the 24th september 2012

• this is really lovely, imagine someone saying al that to us twino when we are slated, berated and condemned for protesting – society has sometimes just gone through me personally with a knife, and shunted me off to the nether reaches of the A’E's but i think we coming to a truth about both self and disability in ireland, also how people can rally…community is there, to be touched.

• thanks Dhakina’s sword. much needed TLC…it’s been a difficult week. family NOT happy with us protesting…etc etc

• Dawn, thank you and i know you!! hope yo are feeling better and are writing from home rather than a hospital bed?

• I know Ann Kennedy, (and I am not in Ireland so am independent of your Benefits system)- I would like to say that this brave lady and her Twin have both made extraordinary efforts and spent a huge amount they cannot afford on helping theirselves. It sounds as if most of you commenting are supportive and well aware of the hidden costs of Disability- I commend you all. As always it is the sick helping the sick. Thank you all for your bravery and for supporting Ann and her twin. I am posting this because I know how genuine they are.
    Also in another life I trained as a Chiropodist and was always taught with special footwear, if it is not 100% right then it is 100% wrong! False Economy. I am so sorry you have it so hard in Ireland. It is not universally great where I live-but better than for you.

• Not to sound harsh ,and maybe this might be stupid but why cant they buy shoes themselves .
    I know they have to be tailored to each person but surely a grant like assistance or flat rate expence would work better.

• Please read the article.

“I tried and tried to get shoes on the open market but to no avail.”

• Chances are Alan she is on Disability.I’m open to correction but i think the rate is 188 a week.
      Nothing wrong my feet,the last shoes i bought 2 weeks ago cost 75 nothing special.I can only imagine how much medically tailored shoes cost.

• What a thing to say …. If they are being fitted by the HSE she is in receipt of Disability – and perhaps there are other factors to her status as disabled beyond congenital assaults to her feet. As she is in a very small minority who have this – it should not be a burden to the State . Feet change over time , bones settle . To wait 18 months is ridicilous . In another article lamenting the lack of Irish made goods – Irish Times Online yesterday – a commenter made note of an Irish company making hand made shoes in Co Wicklow or Kildare …perhaps HSE could commission them to do a proper professional measurement and assessment and make a pretty pair of shoes ! I am always amazed and dismayed to see the type of shoe those with small foot disabilities are forced to wear. SOS to an innovating young designer . Bravo Ann Kennedy for your photo. When spoiled young earners see fit to go out and spend 400 600 on designer shoes – including many in voluntary sector from what I can see at various functions about – why shouldn’t she expect a little better too?

• The rate for disability is 188euro per week. Specialist shoes like this can take several sittings to be measured and fitted correctly, not to mention the expertise in manufacturing them. The final cost can be anything up to 600euro a pair. I have mobiity issues myself, and use MBTs which are “off the shelf” shoes,and cost me close to 200euro a pair. I usually go through 4-5 pairs a year. For instance I have indoor lightweight shoes, then casual shoes to wear with jeans etc Runners for physio/rehab and then good sturdy MBT boots for winter/outdoors. I totally understand where this woman is coming from. On a fixed income it is very hard for people to manage their disability. The HSE awarded me a grant last January for my shoes for 2012 on back of a consultants letter, physio letter and GP letter. The grant was 35euro, yes 35euro, not 350euro.
      There are multiple costs in having a disability. Additonal heating costs, sometimes additional transport costs. Many disabled need help when shopping or when doing housework. The average home help in Ireland is provided for 35 minutes per day to a disabled person. Some HSE areas are introducing personal care packages which are much more flexible and tailored to the disabled person. The HSE pay a rate of 13.88 per hour. Agency home helps or HSE direct homehelps can cost up tp 30euro an hour to administer and provide. So the personal care package is much better.
      An able bodied person can nip into heatons, dunnes or pennys and pick up a pair of runners for 20euro on sale. I needed new runners 6 weeks ago as my 1 year old ones were causing my left leg to dip at outter sole, putting pressure on replaced knee and replaced hip. I had to do this myself at a cost of 180euro. I know my own personal financial situation is different from this featured lady, but even with additional household income, my own disability costs upwards of 2000euro a year – basicially everything I need or cannot do myself has to be paid for to be got, or done.
      i was recently bill 17euro from HSE for a sponge I took from hospital after an operation. A spong with an extension shaft so I could clean a certan part of my body for 4 months after operaton without putting pressure on wound/operation area. Can buy the same songe with extention on eBay for 1.99 ;-) There is a massive mis-match between the money spent on Dept Health, and the services / support provided.

• If only you were in their position you would understand where Anne is coming from. You and I are fortunate enough to be able to buy our shoes from the shops. Believe me, I have a little knowledge of where Anne is coming from – tailor made shoes, waiting for someone to measure feet, wrong measurements, expense if not funded, delays through the system. Count yourself lucky to be so innocent regarding such topics.

Add New Comment