TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

People with disabilities holding overnight protest against HSE cuts

The newly-assembled group, Leaders Alliance, has said it will stay overnight outside Government buildings.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

A NUMBER OF people with disabilities travelled to Dublin’s city centre with their Personal Assistants, Home Helps and families today to protest against the most recent round of cuts proposed by the Health Service Executive.

Leaders Alliance, who were joined outside Government buildings by TD Clare Daly, said they will demonstrate against what they call the “disgraceful, retrograde and inhumane cuts” to frontline services “for as long as it takes” for Government to abandon the decision.

Spokesperson John Roche told TheJournal.ie that a core group plans to stay overnight and he is trying to mobilise more people for the late shift.

“They believe we are quietly going to go away…hoping we will die to save them from embarrassment,” he added. “I’d love to get people to come down here and let this Government know that enough is enough. Certain things need to be protected more than others.”

The rally was organised to coincide with the Cabinet’s return to Leinster House this afternoon.

Commenting on the €130 million cost-saving measures revealed by the HSE last week, the protesters said, “These cuts are illogical and counter to Government policy…[they] make no economic sense and will increase costs to the exchequer and will deny people basic fundamental rights to live with dignity and choice.”

The HSE has said it needs to save at least €130 million this year to avoid a budget deficit of over half a billion euro and adhere to promises made to both the Irish Government and the international Troika.

Although not all of the cost saving measures will be service-impacting, the agency said that some frontline services will be affected. These will include the Personal Assistants budget, Home Care packages and Home Help hours. However, the HSE believes that the impact of these reductions will be minimised through greater efficiencies and direct patient care.

People with disabilities say these supports allow them to live independently, receive education, obtain employment, travel and participate within their communities.

This afternoon’s protest is the first action in what will be “an escalated campaign” to ensure their independence.

People with disabilities holding overnight protest against HSE cuts
1 / 12
  • People with Disabilities Protest

Pictured outside Government Buildings is Martin Naughton from Baldoyle in County Dublin. Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Pictured outside Government Buildings are twins Ann and Margaret Kennedy from Greystones in County Wicklow. Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Pictured outside Government Buildings today were Independent TD Clare Daly and Dara Carroll and Mary Collins from Dublin. Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Winifred McKay, Aaron Abbey and Leigh Gath. Images: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Martin Naughton chats with twin sisiters Anne and Margaret Kennedy. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Winifred McKay and twins Anne and Margaret Kennedy. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Disabled people and their carers hold a protest in Dublin today. They vow to stay overnight and continue their campaign until proposed cuts are reversed. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Leigh Gath from Limerick holds up her sign outside Government buildings. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Clare Daley joins the Leaders Alliance group earlier today. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Margaret Kennedy outside Leinster House this afternoon. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Winifred McKay and Anne Kennedy picket outside today's Cabinet meeting at Governmnet Buildings. Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Earlier: Little Liam loses nursing care hours on his 4th birthday>

Read next:

Comments (107 Comments)

• That picture brings a tear to my eye. This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG.

And no mention in any Irish media of the €600m being paid out to Anglo bondholders this week or the €1bn being pad out to AIB bondholders on October 1st. All the while the government cuts €130 million from people with disabilities. WRONG, WRONG, WRONG.

http://bondwatchireland.blogspot.ie/

• Best of luck to them. It is time people started to stand up to this sham of an Irish government.

• How is it a sham of a Government? They were fairly elected and would be in again in the morning.

In saying that, these cuts are a disgrace and are just an attempt by O’Reilly to hide his ineptitude and protect his budget. He needs to go.

• Bob,

If Kenny stays in office his next conservative program might represent to borrow more money from China to fill the tax breaks he gave to the top 10%.

Repeal the wealthy tax breaks and replace the property tax with smaller government, funded by a wealth tax for the few services the government is providing, and only if they provide them well.

Casino capitalism has ruined every economy in which it has been implemented in part or in full.

• Tim – I think you have your countries mixed up.

Or perhaps you could spell out the tax breaks Kenny has given to the top 10%?

In any case, my point still stands – they would be in again in the morning. It’s called democracy.

• Bob,

When Kenny drives Ireland over the cliff in 2013 and 2014, you can willow in your populace. Nothing will be left of the country. Fine Gael gave tax breaks in the 1990’s to corporations and the wealthy: the “double Irish arrangement” is a tax break that Apple and Microsoft currently use to AVOID paying taxes to Ireland. This despite their presence in Ireland.

RECENT FINE GAEL TAX BREAKS:

The newly published finance bill will enable the mega-rich to avoid paying tax on 30 per cent of annual income between €75,000 and €500,000. It also offers them immigration status if they park their €500K in Ireland. A Tax Haven despite a deficit of €20 billion and an over-taxed middle class. When 2009 repeats itself all over again, the conservative Mormons will be itching when they leave Ireland due to a boom-bust taxation policy. The only way to create stable employment is structural reforms and a downsizing in the overpaid government.

• Una Dev 04/09/12 #

@ Bob

Why would anyone want to vote for Fine Gael or Fianna Fail?

• The lack of credible opposition?

• Credible Opposition:

Sinn Fein & Independents.

• Suuuuurrreeeee…….

• So faceless man point out to me where SF and the independents have damaged this country? Also remember Kenny was in opposition as the main party in Leinster house when FF/PD?G party was in power so tell me really seriously about the credibility of Kenny and FG in Government as of today. What have they done?

• it was a small and spirited protest, i found it tough (pink hat), and resting at home, i am utterly wrecked and can hardly feel the legs, but i am surprised that more supporters of people with disabilities were not there, and hope the numbers will grow. if the disabled people in London can stop the traffic lets hope we can. at one point i left the group to seek shelter in shade across the road, after a while i became chilled a bit and asked some lads, good strong and healthy if they could push me back over to join my twin. they edged away, looking embarrassed, but one single woman with them took me across no bother, this is just an indication, although you should never tar all people with the same brush, i am glad i went but cannot go again as too unwell, this will take DAYS to recover from, but lovely to meet everyone and some old and dear friends too. i think it was worth it.

• OU812 04/09/12 #

As meaningful as the protest is, it’s pointless staying out all night to do it. They’ll be wrapped up in bed, not losing any sleep over it.

The time to protest is 7am to 11am.

Block the entry points to the buildings

Don’t let them in & send a proper message to them

• I wish this protest every success. You are up against the most selfish collection of individuals this country has ever seen.

No cuts to services for people with special needs.

• Shame on them all…every last one of them. In 21st century Ireland we have disabled people having to protest for their basic rights…It makes me sick to my stomach. I hope the b******* Ahern, Fingleton, Fitz and you Sean Quinn and the rest of ye…i hope you are all seeing what your stupidity, your greed and your corruption has resulted in. I hope you sleep well tonight..

• louise 04/09/12 #

More of this I say!!! Fair play support them all the way!!!! This government is pushing every one to the brink

• 04/09/12 #

I couldn’t agree more.

This Government is morally bankrupt. They should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves. How low can you get.

• why don’t this silly govt give their own salery and expenses to the hse for the rest of the term in office……..c.mon enda lead this govt….. if half the country can live on the dole so should the govt.

• An American ambassador to Ireland once claimed that “the Irish people have no sense of outrage” we are another generation happy to let others walk all over us……….

• 1 billion given to bond holders on the 1st was it?

pay that house hold tax now ;))))

• Shame on this country.
    Waiting for the inevitable rush of FG/lab trolls to come here and explain we’re spending more than we’re taking in and if these people have to suffer to balance the books then so be it…..it’s regrettable….it’s what we inherited from FF and the rest of the crap they offer in a feeble excuse to defend this morally corrupt and totally unsympathetic mess of a government.

• As we’re not taking a stand or fighting back, these clowns continue to think they can sweep our lives into the gutter!! Stand now or their will be no way back!! Shame on these corrupt bastards!!

• why do i feel so humiliated because i have illnesses and disability, on the dart on the way home, my feeling of horror if some of the footage shot at the gates of dail eireann are showed on the news, i will be further blacklisted by the medics, right now i am totally out as in zoned out of care, no gp and another interview on monday, rubbished about my muscle wasting and ignored after a bad fall on a knee recently drained and again up like puff ball, what on earth can i do to even get basic health care? any suggestions?
    i have made another appointment in London for being ignored is not an option when so very ill. i am truly frightened, months are goiing by and still no proper and committed even basic health care, i moved county and i am in a mess, this my friends, who see the protests is the face of what disabled people have to endure daily and go to bed with massive worries.

• We disabled people don’t want other vulnerable groups targetted for abuse. Drug addicts are vulnerable. It’s the politicians, bankers and builders who caused this utter havoc. Not the poor drug addicts.

• I will be attending the protest organised by the Centre for Independent Living outside the Dail tomorrow at 2pm. I sincerely hope that more people, both with and without disabilities will attend, as the issues highlighted by those who could well lose the vital personal assistants and supports which help them to contribute and work in their local communities as independently as possible affect ALL of us.
    Literally anyone can become involved in an accident or suffer from a long-term illness, anyone can lose their sight, hearing or speech, anyone can experience mental or emotional trauma at some stage in their lives. Most people will grow old someday, and will very likely need some form of assistance to go about basic everyday tasks and remain in their own homes, as opposed to the costlier option of acute hospital beds or care homes.
    It is important to emphasise that the right for disabled people to be treated with dignity, respect, equality and to live as independently as possible in their own communities, means the right for EVERYONE to be treated with dignity, respect, equality and to live as independently as possible in their own communities. To quote Dr Fred Fay, founder of the Boston Centre for Independent Living: “Disability is equal opportunity. Anyone can qualify at any moment”.

• Yes the disabled people present were wonderful. Despite what was a difficult thing to do…travel and sit in blazing sun, we protested. we were counted as the ones who TRIED to change things. But more are needed. Disabled people will be back there tomorrow….come and join us. “Rights not charity” ….dead RIGHT!

• what does this say about us as a country , we reward stupidity ,incompetence and laziness by bailing out zombie banks paying bond holders and spending a fortune on social welfare and health care (medical cards?) to reward those who dont want to work ,im not having a go at those who are willing but can’t find work i know there’s not much out there right now, but we the taxpayer have been carrying the bill long enough even a few years back when things were good!
    and what do we do now that things are bad?we punish the sick/elderly/disabled by failing to protect those who genuinely need to be helped , we have billions to pump into banks but can’t spare enough to look after those who need & deserve to be helped
    Ireland is no longer a country its a business and we’re under incompetent management

• Con Russell, our unemployment rate was actually about on par for the EU, and in some years pre-recession was lower than that of the UK which is usually held up as some kind of standard by anti-welfare types. There should always be some degree of unemployment as people are between jobs, or to help fuel growth if they’re short on manpower. Also – some people, frankly, are just cheaper to keep at home until they do something about their general uselessness.

The vast majority of money being spent on welfare right now is on genuine cases.

• also, welfare is the stupidest thing to cut in a recession as it’s effectively a natural cash injection into the economy. we need a stimulus, if anything.

• @leigh i don’t dispute that most welfare cases currently are for real , as i said the damage was done years ago when we allowed people to free load because the majority of folk had jobs , at this point in time welfare as a cash injection is not really as big an impact as you may think as people are spending the same amount to live as they did in the celtic tiger (rent ,food etc) when you consider we actually pay people to be in prison ,we also cover all their needs – clothes , food , medical needs etc , and yet we dont have a few shillings to support the disabled , you say we need a stimulus i don’t disagree at all , but first we need to get our priorities right on how we spend money Ireland and its goverment is here to service the people not the banks

• Just watched the nine o clock news and the government have done a u turn on the cuts to home help for people with disabilities. People power at its finest, they put the rest of us to shame. They’re still not ending their protest, well done guys…

• A society is judged on how they treat its eldest and weakest.We’ve failed.

• These people are putting us all to shame……It’s a sad day when the most vunerable people in our society have to take to protesting to like this to try to protect their rights.

This is not the Ireland that any of us should be proud of and I say that any Government that neglects it’s people is morally bankrupt and nothing can justify that……..These people, like the majority of Irish people, did not go mad during the ‘Celtic Tiger’ years and yet, like us all, they are being punished, while the guilty go free!!

• The proposed cuts by the HSE in Home Help simply don’t add up and would merely end up costing more money before the year is out.
    Home helps, home care packages, personal assistants, respite facilities and supports for carers have already been cut to the bone and are causing hardship and distress for many elderly people and families. All home helps have already had their hours drastically reduced earlier this year.
    For years the HSE and Department of Health have contended that the most cost effective and preferred choice of care for the elderly and disabled is in the home. Further cuts to these services which have already seen severe reductions in hours will push people into the far more expensive care and treatment in nursing homes and hospitals. This makes no sense, will result in additional costs rather than savings and illustrates that the HSE speaks with forked tongue when it comes to the provision of elderly and primary care.
    Home helps, personal assistants and carers give great value for money and are among the hardest working people in the health service. They always go the extra yard and over and above the call of duty such is their attitude and dedication. They hard earn every penny they get and the home help programme and home care packages should be enhanced and improved in the interest of patient care and value-for-money rather than being further depleted.
    The HSE proposals will drastically hit frontline services for the elderly, disabled and vulnerable and will not save a euro. These planned cuts reflect a mindset at a certain level within the HSE management which can’t see past its nose and use its massive €13 billion budget better rather than picking on frontline services and staff.
    Ultimately, it is the Minister for Health, James Reilly and the Government of which Labour (along with myself) are part, must take responsibility for the decisions and choices we make when it comes to cutbacks. The Minister has to stand up and be counted and take on the consultants and the drug companies that represent a huge and excessive cost to the health service.
    Are we going to protect the most vulnerable or not? That there was need for today’s protest puts us to shame and I certainly regret and apologise for the distress we are causing decent people like Ann Kennedy who comments above.

• Suprised none of the usual suspects are here defending the “Tough Choices” the government has to make.

• @Bronagh. Alot of disability groups only heard about it through the media over the past few days and logistically couldn’t get members organised in such a short space of time, especially those outside of Dublin. But rest assured, the numbers will grow and the voices will become louder. This is only the beginning.

• {May i ask!!! “Who Do We Vote Into Power To Be Our Government?”… “If FG and Labour Get Voted Out?” ” I Do Know FG/Lab Have To Go Or Grow A Pair And Tell The Germans To (F) Off”}

• The crumbs from the table have stopped falling. Now there back at the gates looking to be included again. Martin has protested outside these gates since the early 1980’s and he still has to.

• Meant to say “she” instead of you.

• That’s the thing Mark even the lefties would take care of these much better than the workers. Where is the Workers party, we have plenty of representatives for bankers, developers and the scrounging class.

• Sinn Fein need to prepare their program for Government ASAP…

• Well, here’s the rainbow in a sick kind of voting. If Kenny gets re-elected and when the country REALLY goes south; then yes … he can blame the previous administration. And my bet if both things happen ….. you’ll be hard pressed to find a single individual who won’t be better off than Greece.

Think change people. Kenny is dividing and conquering you but you still haven’t seen this.

• Una Dev 04/09/12 #

The Irish people live in a world of denial. It’s a much easier place to be than the world of fantasy under the present coalition.

• Robert 04/09/12 #

I would leave the country if sinn fein got into government…..our relationship with Britain would be a disaster with that crowd of gangsters…70 % of the budget for health is pay and pensions…start there first

• Robert. Sinn Fein wouldnt cut disabiliy services. Just ask Mary Lou.

• Barry 04/09/12 #

Richard Lennon, you are living in a dream world if some how you think SF won’t cut anything that affects people that includes disability services.

They’ve barely got their foot in the door and they’ve ripped off what they can including 50k of print cartridges…thats only small fry to what they are capable of doing. They are more then capable of making any other previous government look like they took it easy when it came to abusing the system

• Barry agree with you,but it took the the SF td 2 years to rip off 50,000 in cartiridges,FG junior minister from Sligo 5,000 in mileage in a month where the Dail is on holidays.Can you figure that one out because i cant,think Minister Quinn achieved the same 5,000 mileage in a month the Dail wasn’t sitting aswell.

• There is an Alternative:

Sinn Fein and Independents.

• I did not ‘abuse’ and would never abuse any vulnerable group.i voiced an educated truth on drug addicts from having vast experience of themand how they live their lives and how they view the lives of others.needless to say we all know of many disabled people who have been victims of their crimes, such as the wheelchair bound woman in inchore in 2002 who was set on fire and doused in boiling water to put out the flames in an acgrivated burglary.
    Vulnerable group? I’m sure who that poor lady would side with on this one.

• Mark i don’t Margaret was having a go at you.You just doesn’t wish to see other groups treated the same way.

• Les Rock 04/09/12 #

Mark. My best friends brother was a heroin addict. He got clean, set up his own c.d.p. in helping others with their addictions. A very successful man both on life and work..4children and a beautiful home. Always giving back to his community. I take offence to what you call some people with addictions.

• Leigh you have shown the rest of us what needs to be done. Stand up to these cutbacks. You and your friends put us to shame. Total respect to you all.

• I started a petition for human rights for the disabled in June have gone to TDs in area with little or no response. Please sign my petition to try stop more cuts in vital areas.

http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/basic-human-rights-for-the-disabled.html

• This government is sick and rotten to the core. Its so wront to have even promosed it but its a smoke screen to test the waters,

• Gotta say Tim – as a protester who stayed there all night and for over 24 hrs without any sleep – not ONE Sinn Fein TD came out to support us and the one Independent who did was just jumping on our gravy train and came only for a photo opportunity. Not impressed by them at all. At least Michael Noonan’s office called to get our side of what was going on and apologise for him being out of town.

• Actually, this time, the future of our country does hinge on the election or re-election of one man.
    We will be choosing to either continue our march toward an unfair state or we will choose to fix the damage that has been wrought in the last year.

Add New Comment