TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Seán Quinn escapes jail – for now – after being found guilty of contempt

The former billionaire was ordered to stop moving assets out of the reach of the bank formerly known as Anglo.

Seán Quinn leaves the High Court this afternoon
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

FORMER BILLIONAIRE SEÁN Quinn has escaped a jail sentence – for now – after a judge ordered him to stop moving assets out of the reach of the bank formerly known as Anglo Irish Bank.

Justice Elizabeth Dunne said she will only look at punitive measures such as a prison sentence if Quinn does not cooperate with the order, RTE.ie reports.

Quinn, his son Seán Junior, and his nephew Peter, were all found guilty of contempt on Tuesday for breaking a High Court injunction forbidding them to move assets out of the reach of the former Anglo Irish Bank.

Judge Elizabeth Dunne said that she was “not impressed” with the way the three men gave evidence during the hearing and described Seán Quinn as “evasive and uncooperative”.

The Irish Bank Resolution Corporation, formerly known as Anglo Irish Bank, is pursuing Quinn to try to recoup around €3 billion which it says it is owed.

The IBRC maintains that members of the Quinn family have conspired to move the family’s property portfolio around to stop IBRC from accessing it. It says it will continue to try to recover “as much of the remaining assets as possible on behalf of the Irish taxpayer”.

Sean Quinn found guilty of contempt of court >

Quinn: “What happened over the last two years shouldn’t have happened” >

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• No matter what happens. He will never be poor.

• hbenroe 30/06/12 #

I really don’t much about finance, but just say I borrowed money from a bank and didn’t make any attempt to pay it back, then moved that borrowed money to another country out of reach. Then what is the difference between me and the man that goes in to a bank with a gun and robs the bank that way. A thief is a thief is thief.

• He’ll get 6months with 5months 3 weeks and 6days suspended

• Scapegoat………..me arse!! SQ used company money/assets, which were not his and were already pledged for other company loans to gamble through a CFD on Anglo. He was a greedy bastard who risked his company’s money and assets, also inturn he took a big risk on his employee’s livelihoods!!

He has since along with his children and nephew in full knowledge attempted to extract assets out of the reach of the tax payer (that is you, me and everyone trying to survive on this fckn rock), all for his/family’s gain. The fact is this fcker should along with the wife, children (incl spouses), nephew should all be hit where it really hurts…………in the pocket, all property (including family home), savings, pensions, every asset/business they have an ounce of interest/ownership in, should be taken from them and fck the lot of them on the street. They deserve no sympathy only hardship, let them for a change feel what it is like to struggle from hand to mouth. Jail time costs the taxpayer money so that should only used as a last resort.

• well said and because of this clown and his ilk we all have to pay a levy on any insurance policy meanwhile that smug bastard and his family sit back with 2grand a week each of living expenses that they said is not enough to survive on let them survive on the social welfare and then maybe they will see what they and their kind have done to this country. but they will walkaway regardless what the judge says because we could not lock up a businessman in this country they are above the law

• @Lee Jones,

Do you know what’s funny, the people of Cavan still think he’s great! Reminds me of the people in Wexford/Wicklow that have nothing bad to say about M Wallace. And the many that think “The Penguin” aherene, Donoghue, Healy-Rae’s etc. etc. are still innocent and great men also.

Sad.

• No prison time for the Quinns.Why am i not surprised.

• This result is a big “up yours ” to the general irish taxpaying public, i have been in court and seen people gettinf 7 days for contempt and getting sent down straight away for minor issues yet quin is still a free mand and told to behave and given a slap on the wrist, listen fgolks if you want to implement change in ireland we have to lead by example and the example here is if you are corrupt and rotten you walk away , as long as we let this continue nothing will change , ever!!!!!!

• Paul 29/06/12 #

This is a contemptible decision by the judge. There is 2 types of justice in this back-quarter – harsh but often fair for the poor and let off the hook for the corrupt and rich. This ‘judgement’ is a cynical and flagrant show of unity amongst the haves. Absolutely sickening.

• Fagan's 29/06/12 #

Can the Judge be charged with contempt of court and for the people.

Though I suppose, if people here didn’t lay back and take it lying down, this would not happen.

• What was contemptible is the lies told by IRBC and. The gross destruction of Irish business. Who do think is going to employ all the stupid commenters here who can’t understand what they read. Who is paying your dole lads? Who in their right mind would run a spar shop in this anti business, anti hard work anti startup hole? I hope Seam Quinn hides everything and he and his family and all the other developers and brains and go getters never again employ another stupid paddy. Stupid stupid people

• That kind of flies in the face of his reputation as a hard nosed businessman then doesn’t it. At the end of the day he was the one who made the decision and then behaved in a very shady manner. I have no pity for him. I am sure Sean Fitzs day will come as well.

• For contempt of court the usual sentence is around 7 days.I’ll be surprised if he even gets that though.

• Fagan's 29/06/12 #

There can also be cases where the person is remanded to jail for an indefinite period, until they apologize or in a case like this purge the contempt by coming clean. I have a feeling that that only applies to people who call the Judge a “boll8x” or refuse to recognize the courts authority. For people that are trying to force a multi billion loss on to the taxpayers shoulders to protect themselves it will surely be only a wrist slap. A 3 day course on public ethics maybe for Sean?.

• Surprise surprise ,the big boys escape as usual.. Any ordinary Joe soap would be in the Joy and all by now. Judiciary in Ireland are part of the problem with the corruption at political and business levels

• Surprise surprise no jail time for the Quinn’s..looks like it’s 1 rule for them &another for us!!!

• That does not justify their actions since.

• Correct, Shayno. He didn’t walk into any deals with his eyes wide shut, I think. He knew what he was doing & now pay the consequences.

• Biggest defrauding in the history of the state! This is just for contempt but when file goes in from DPP I would like yo see 10+ years to send a message to the other developers doing the same, and they are..

• Agreed. In most western countries Sean Quinn would be spending the rest of his days on a single rickety bed for what was done since his empire collapsed.

• Who to blame for allowing it to happen?! The Government, CAB, the Gardai? He was given enough time to plan it all. The law is an ass.

• Jim 29/06/12 #

Rubbish Shiela. He’s to blame. Just because you can do something illegal doesn’t mean you should.

He was part of a circle of society in this country that just assumed that they could get away with everything and that they would never be pursued by the law because of who they were. Thankfully he’s been proved wrong. Hopefully this is just the start of the process of making a lot of these people accountable for their actions.

• @ Jim

Wow! You’ve read me wrong! Of course he’s to blame! Every bit of him! I was talking about the length of time that the law has taken to get it to court. They have given him and his family time to hide accounts etc.

Sorry if I didn’t make that clear. ;) Jail for everyone of the family.

• Clare Daly, breaks a court order in relation to protesting bin charges: off to prison for a month

Sean Quinn, breaks a court order in relation to assets which could cost the taxpayer up to half a billion euro: Off to the golf course

If you want a perfect example of the two tier elitism that has brought this country to its knees and continues to keep us there, this is it.

• If Clare Daly had several hundred million in the bank they would treat her differently. Look at Sean Fitzpatrick, he had a serving Taoiseach Brian Cowen, carrying his golf bag on the Golf course at Druid’s Glen, weeks before the bailout. He has FF’s leading director of Elections for 30 years as a drinking buddy during the recent Euro.

Same with Sean Quinn, he can get Micheal Martin pegging away for him in the Dáil at the drop of a pin, he probably has Kenny’s mobile as well.

• CM 29/06/12 #

That’s a slightly misleading summation of what happened today.
      Sean Quinn has been given the same opportunity to purge his contempt that Clare Daly was given.
      Clare Daly refused and was jailed. Sean Quinn has been told he’ll be jailed if he refuses to purge his contempt within 3 weeks. What the individual court orders relate to is of no relevance to the contempt proceedings – it’s right that they both be afforded the same rights to purge their contempt.

• Didn’t a guy get a few years for bringing in garlic marked as oranges or something? There is seriously something wrong with the relationship this administration has with banks and their debtors. The Quinns deserve jail time and stripping of all family assets.

• Fagan's 29/06/12 #

This administration, the last one, the one before that.

Their is a warped sense of thinking in FG and FF that politics is about giving tarred roads to the masses and then warping the state and the economy to suit the economic needs of a very select few. It is about protecting the status quo but denying the next up coming business a chance to make it.

• 2 Big things here IMHO
    1- Sean Quinn admits that the 2Bn loan were given to him for unlawful purposes.. Thus he conspired to agree to breaking the law!! End of!!
    2- the sentencing handed down by the high court today will show if there really is any true justice in Ireland or if the big boys still get the leniency!!

• Not surprised think the problem with justice in Ireland is it changes for the the different classes of people , amazing to see this Quinn mafia effectively robbing each and every tax payer in Ireland playing the courts to his advantage , I have seen people been hammered in court for having no car tax.Not surprised

• Seemingly they have to get the money back from where it is lets say hidden , ( like to see that happening ) !!

• IBRC have backed themselves into a corner on this one. Fact is they dont really know how much the Quinns own or have hidden. In 3 weeks time Quinn and family come back to court with a token few million. That’s all we have your honour. What happens then? Does she jail them in which case it will cost the country even more and finish any chance they have of getting anything or does she let IBRC try to find the missing millions? Which will cost the taxpayer more in searches, legal fees etc. IBRC should have tried to do a deal with Quinn – they mightn’t have got the colour of the 2.3bn they claim they are owed but they would have got some. As it is anything they do get has been, or will be swallowed by lawyers. A case of the irresistible force against the immovable object.

• Its hidden in a great big shopping center in the Ukrain that is well guarded and surrounded by surveilance cameras. If anyone didnt see the McIntyre (Snr) documentary on BBC should check it out. Makes for very good and enlightening .

• Same old, same old. This country hasn’t changed since the 1950s.

• Adam Claytons p.a. just been find guilty of nicking 2.8mill. She’ll get a few year. Sean Quinn half a billion= slap on the wrist.

• Fagan's 29/06/12 #

William. That would be the case, except for all the facts and Quinn’s own testimony contradicting u.

• They are using the golden circle super-powers, which makes them untouchable and joe tax payer becomes the hyper-fool. Nothing we can do other than rant on our keyboards. Carry on.

• Easy for him 2 smirk when leaving court a few days ago.He knew he was above the law and wouldn’t do time for contempt.

• …Yet another one goes free.

What a surprise – not!

• Read the Seanie Fitz tapes and you will see that Seanie and David Dumm begged Sean Quinn to get rid of his shares. Quinn didn’t want to loose on the shares and like any compulsive gambler kept doubling up!! He has only himself to blame….

• This country would make you sick. The rich screw us and laugh at us and when they get caught they just keep screwing us and laughing at us. Haughey, Bertie, Fitzy, Quinn and Wallace. No accountability.

• This is disgraceful , he is found to be in contempt of court yet not imprisoned, if this was a normal person they would be on there way to Mountjoy at this stage , as for this rubbish about how he lost his empire who cares he was greedy and got burned , but still probably has millions stashed offshore , I will not for one minute feel sorry for people like him who caused the collapse of this country.

• I don’t get how Fred Forsey gets 6 yrs and this guy gets nothin ‘yet’??

• That’s all fine that he employed a lot of people but still does not entitle him to operate outside of the law , he should have been jailed but then again welcome to Ireland home of Haughey Bertie Fitzpatrick Fingleton .

• Odd that after hearing the evidence as presented to the court by both sides that the learned Judge doesn’t agree with you Fiona?

• Fagan's 29/06/12 #

It’s the contracts for difference that did for Quinn. He was trying to buy the bank on the quiet. No doubt the Anglo financial records are fraudulent, that has been shown.

The problem is not that he has gone broke, that happens to the best of business men, often several times,look at Bill Gates, etc etc.

The problem is that his hiding of assets means that the tax payer will be left with a 2bn hole to fix, that is not acceptable and only prevents the next great creator of jobs from thriving or staying here.

• The laws governing ordinary mortals will never be applied to this man. All the truckers who blocked the city centre a few years back in support of ordinary decent Seán; where are you all now?

• Pity Ireland does not have specific legislation for contempt of court

• This decision by the court makes me more determined never to pay that HHC or any properrty tax they try to introduce. This country’s justice system is an absolute joke. How long and how m,any man hours did it take to get this white collar criminal to court ? For the judge to tell him to behave himself ….. My AR*E

• Scapegoats. Where has Sean Fitz gone?

• They are far from scapegoats, Jamie. Equally as squalid as Fitzy. Hopefully his turn will come soon.

• @Jamie O’Callaghan

His time will come, be it in a court room or somewhere else. I’m delighted with this news. Maybe upstarts like him and his son/family will teach others a lesson in keeping grounded and remember where they came from.

Here’s to more being brought to justice.

• Anglo used Quinn companies by loading them with 2.3 billion to prop up their shares. Quinn didnt even own the companies for the last 10yrs. Anglo went in and tried to take assets according to Dukes of 1.2 billion when there was only agreed debts of 450 million. Quinns fought back. Not many wouldnt. Course he is a scape goat, Anglo/ Government will have to show who in Central Bank, Regulators office ,Dept of Finance agreed to shovel the 2.3billion to support the shares in Anglo.

• This all originally started with Sean Quinn taking a massive gamble on Anglo shares using Contracts For Difference.

• They need to be sentenced, and sentenced very severely for what they have done, but they should not be the only ones. He got carried away and he destroyed his brilliant achievements, but no doubt it was Sean’s hubris that did it.

He will cost each household a 1000 euro if he gets away with this, but more importantly than that, the gom business culture will be rewarded and the next collapse and mass emigration event will be on its way in years to come.

Until we see people like Quinn held accountable and equal before the law to everyone else, until the fraud squad start breaking down the door of FF’s HQ, seizing records about who donated what, what was promised in return for that money etc, then we are going to only repeat the economic collapse in time.

• CM 29/06/12 #

It’s wrong to suggest that Sean Quinn is faultless here.
      However, it’s also wrong to suggest that Quinn wasn’t conned by Anglo. His losses are due to his own poor investment decisions, but these were based on the fraudulent information provided to him so substantial blame has to go to Anglo.
      It’s easy to say he’s the same as Seanie Fitz, David Drumm etc and that they should all be locked up together but that’s simply not the case.
      His investments were foolish, but they were made in good faith based on the info provided to him and
      he lost his empire, has been bankrupted, and may still go to jail as a result.
      I’m not trying to paint him as the hero in this story, but to scapegoat him as the villain as he has been over the past week and months is to take a very narrow view of what’s happened.

• Irish double standard…money really talks and………. Walks

• So wrong! That judge should have jailed him, and his whole family. ‘Now be a good boy and stop moving/stealing money and I won’t punish you’. So unfair to the businessman with the ‘garlic tax’ he got six years and Quinn leaves court with hateful grin.

I wonder where is ‘off-shore’ bank accounts are and what name they’re under. I guess we’ll never know.

• Sheila, agreed … You can be damn sure that there are accounts and transaction that have not been uncovered yet. Fair is fair, if this was a regular Joe Soap, their feet would not have touched the ground on the way to prison.

• Dont think i will have a chance to even walk the street of dublin if it was me…

• Private Bank Vs Private Company.
      This shouldn’t be our problem.
      Where are the conmen who decided to make it our problem?
      Can we jail them and reverse that transaction?

• I think I was the only one who predicted no custodial sentence.nShould have put the house on it, even though it’s worth nothing thanks to the players of 2000-2007.

• Sean Quinn started his business without planning permission. His quarry was illegal and should have gone to jail for that yet the councils bought stone and hardcore from him. Real Irish. Whoever gave him the orders knowing it was illegal should also go to jail. We Ieish accepted illegal quarries for years now we must pay for all this bad behaviour. He will never see jail as no county manager who bought stone from him will ever see jail. These guys will retire in their summer residences. And we pay the tabs.

• CM 29/06/12 #

What absolute nonsense. If you’ve done a search of the Irish planning records and found none for Quinn quarries, it might perhaps be that your looking at the wrong country’s planning records.
      It would of course be “Real Irish”, for the UK planning authorities to allow illegal quarries in Fermanagh, even if you had some backup for this little gem

• CM 29/06/12 #

Fagan’s – which facts are these? Which parts of Quinn’s testimony in this, or in fact in any of the ongoing cases, contradicts the assertion that he invested based on corrupt information? This IS the case – he invested based on false information the bank gave him. You can argue that he’s liable anyway, but I’d like to see your source in Quinn’s testimony that says Anglo gave him all the info.

• Saying the above I’m not suggesting Quinn is all sparkly clean, not for a second, he’s a shrewd business and has obviously done wrong as have his relations, however. The trajectory of justice in this instance seems poor IMHO and the primary gangsters in the affair are golfing and business as usual in the US.

• Bryan,” Read Seanies book” would be like reading goldilocks and the 3 bears.” Why was Drumm and Seanie begging Quinn to sell shares ? He didnt own any, or companies. Where were the real owners of Quinn Group when all this was going on. I can give security on your house, however its not worth the paper its written on as I dont own it .

• Like him or loath him the SQ and his type are they manifestations of the tribal / parish , 1916 -1921 mentality of this country, where we the voting public, including myself have either a laize – faire attitude by not exercising our rite to vote or reward the ‘cute’ hores and turn a blind eye to a lot of everyday questionable actions.

For the country to grow and prosper we need risk takers, but there has to be controls, and this is where there has been a systematic failure by the governments and the organs of the state that have allowed the banks to dictate policy and terms.

Until the thinking process of the people of this country changes, we will have these castrophies revisited upon our heads in perpetuity

• SQ and his type are as far away from the aspirations of the men and women of the 1916 – 1921 era as is possible. Read up on your history!

• Then explain to me how the aspirations of 1916-1921 have been achieved to the betterment of the citizens.
      From where I see it we have a political class that are only interested in self aggrandizement and when you take a leap of faith and think that maybe just maybe SINN FÉIN might be credible , you get one helping himself to the stationary cupboard and another buying a car to try justify a backdated expenses claim.

• As long as you don’t equate something that happened over 90 years ago with the corruption that’s endemic now, that’s OK with me.

• Would anybody in the same situation not do the same.

• are you serious? do the same? they brought this country down..they are responsible for so many emigrating and putting the ordinary person under pressure to pay a debt that has nothing to do with them..you would have to be lacking in morals and a conscience to do the same…

• Fagan's 29/06/12 #

Maybe, but if they did, like Sean Quinn and the other 2, they should be nailed to the jail floor for a very long time.

• Declan, According to Quinns Statement of Claim, Anglo had powers of Attorney over the CFDs and Shares, so Quinn had no control, and Anglo, and Financial Regulator decided how long to prop up the shares for.
    Quinns acknowledged 450 million of true debt, Anglo tried to recoup the 2.3 of illegal debt. Quinn docs lodged in Court say that Quinn wasnt even involved in these deals eyes open or shut !!!

• Snakes the lot of em!

• Love the way everyone overlooks the good he did when things get tough. He kept over 7,000 employed in the good times but sure who cares now?nnAlso he hasn’t got off ‘free’, he has been lost his whole empire.

• That he is not in jail now, is part of the insider gom business culture that has destroyed this country repeatedly over decades.

It also destroyed his business empire.

If he gets away with this, then I would strongly advise people who are thinking about setting up a business to do so ina foreign country, as this is a closed, rotten septic state where law is only decided by the degree of closeness to FF and FG.

• Thomas I doubt I will meet Mr Quinn or family members in the DOLE QUEUE.

• So what is the criteria here?

If he had only employed 6999 people would you accept he’s guilty of criminal actions that we are ALL paying for?

Corruption stinks. It doesn’t matter how many people you employ.

• Censored – I never said he wasn’t guilty. We are all paying for mistakes politicians and bankers made and there is no talk of jail. It’s just funny how people always judge someone by a mistake they make regardless of the what they did.

• censored 29/06/12 #

I think this was a lot more than a “mistake”. It was a clear pattern of behaviour over many years, eventually resulting in the near destruction of our people. How come there’s always somebody who wants to defend the indefensible? It was the same thing with the paedophile priests.

• Why bring priests into this? Politicians corruption can’t be excused and it was much more than bad behaviour over a number of years.

• He lost it gambling. Why should the tax payer pick up the tab for his gambling?

• Why should the taxpayer bail him out?

• Fagan,
    Again “his hiding of Assets “. Company documents in the Companies house, Statement of Assets, Lodged court documents all show clearly that Quinn owned nothing for the last 11 years, not even the house he lives in. So please stop talking about him hiding his assets, he had none. Anglo were apparently negotiating with a man that owned nothing, over CFDs and shares. Records show he never owned any assets in Russia, Ukraine or India . They were his childrens and again I would like to ask. Where were they ?

• ?

Add New Comment