TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Quinn: “What happened over the last two years shouldn’t have happened”

In an interview with a Fermanagh newspaper Sean Quinn vowed to restore his family’s reputation – and said that he has received thousands of letters of support from well-wishers.

Sean Quinn in a rare interview with RTE in 2009
Image: TheQuinnGroup via YouTube

BUSINESSMAN SEAN QUINN has vowed to rebuild his family’s reputation – and undo some of the “injustices” he feels have been done to the family.

The one-time richest man in Ireland, who filed for bankruptcy two weeks ago, told a Fermanagh newspaper that he is determined to fight on, despite the fact that he has been “kicked around”.

The 65-year-old told The Impartial Reporter: “I feel what happened to the family and the area over the last two years shouldn’t have happened”.

We were a very successful company and feel very hard done by.

Quinn says he still feels a sense of responsibility for his former employees, “even though I am gone from the business six or seven months”.

In the rare interview, Quinn said he believes that the “majority of people in Ireland” feel that he “messed up in recent years in relation to Anglo Irish Bank, and I understand that”.

Quinn told reporter Rodney Edwards that he has received thousands of letters of support from well-wishers.

Earlier this year, Anglo Irish Bank – now known as the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation – took control of Quinn’s business empire, including the Quinn Group, Quinn Insurance, and Quinn Direct, after he was unable to repay €2.8 billion in loans he took out with the bank.

Read more: Quinn ordered to repay €417m of Anglo debt >

Read more: Sean Quinn files for bankruptcy in Belfast High Court >

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• When the Quinn empire collapsed there was a lot of aggression on here towards anyone who condemned Quinn. He was a very popular man. However as a businessman myself, on a very small scale, I never liked the recklessness of the Celtic tiger cubs, profiteering with ugly greed and I dislike even more the philosophy that is all persuasive now that you can run up debts and bills and walk away from them in the form of receivership or examiner-ship, stiffing others trying to earn a living in the process. it’s outrageous and happening all too often now. I am not being lofty here, I stuck to principles and have lost a lot of my life savings in this recession but insisted on paying my way. Sometimes when I look at the behavior of the government, the privileged and those around me, I feel foolish. Feeling foolish for having integrity is not what society should be encouraging.

• Quinn’s greed ( to own anglo) led to seanie fitz’s famous 15, led to Anglo’s need for a bailout, led to the troika, led to cowen’s govt downfall, led to country facing harshest budget ever. … And he feels hard done by?

• A lot of “injustices” have been visited upon Irish citizens. Unfortunately that is going to continue and Irish citizens won’t have the means you have Mr Quinn to right those “injustices”. At the end of the day we will wind up most likely saddled with your debts as well

• Quinn is still deluded. I mess up but i pay my debts he ‘messed up’ I pay his debts, go F…. yourself Seanie

• He’s a reckless gambler and we’re picking up the tab for it while he hides his assets and does his best to weasel out of his responsibilities. That’s “injustice” Sean.

• If he feels that bad bout it sell his assets abroad and pay his debts.

• Delboy. Thousands of letters from well wishers (in Fermanagh). He is sorry for what happened the workers and the area? What about the 2% Levy on all non life insurance policies that every Irish person will have to pay from Jan 2012 to cover the losses of Quinn Insurance? Almost sounds like the opening line of a joke!!! Cheers Sean we needed that.

• And I suppose you’ve never made a mistake in your life! Sean Quinn built his business up from nothing. He provided much needed jobs in one of the poorest areas in ireland, that business was rightly his and making 500million profit a year during recessionary times but of course this just conveniently isn’t acknowledged. God forbid he’s one of the most talented businessmen this country has ever produced and the likes of you have only ensured that he will never create another job again-cheers! ye would prefer to tear down an honourabe man and his family than to support him through to better times. He is human, we all make mistakes-that is no grounds to criminalise him. I’m ashamed of this brutal attack on him and his family, you should be ashamed of yourself for such a limited and distorted opinion of the true reality of his situation.

• Like many others he was bitten hard by the greed bug and wanted more and more until it all toppled over. He couldn’t see the dangers of what he was doing for the dollar signs in his eyes and I’ve no sympathy for him.

• What type of person (thousands by his own account) sends Quinn a letter of support when his bank shares go tits-up??

• Galway 25/11/11 #

I’m vexed by his audacity. He doesn’t get it; he gambled, but I pay. And he feels beset by the injustice of it?

• If he’s bankrupt then i’m the queen of sheeba! You can be sure of one thing people of Ireland, Sean Quinn will not be down at the dole office or watching the pennies in Lidl’s anytime soon, i’m pretty sure Mrs Quinn and various offspring will be looking after daddies millions so the people of Ireland can’t get their hands on it. He’s almost as sorry as a catholic bishop whose just got caught covering up child abuse!

• You denigrate the trauma caused by sexual abuse…

• No I don’t, how can you take that from what I said? I was merely making the point of how disgustingly insincere his ‘sorrow’ is just like that of Brady, Magee and all the other lying bishops who were only sorry because they got found out and not for the suffering of the victims. Far from denigrating the trauma of abuse victims anyone who has read my past comment will be in no doubt and very clear about my feelings towards the catholic church and religion and my support for all the victims. Don’t find offence where there is none Cavanbythesea.

• I think your comparison in the sentiments of self pity expressed by Sean Quinn and the expression of regret and sorrow expressed by bishops is misjudged. They are two very different contexts and to simply compare the two because you think they are disingenuous actions is the issue I have.

• Would that be an address up North or down South Sean? I’ve got one to send out.

• I’m just surprised he still opens his letters!

• He has no one but himself to blame and if he was in any other European country, he would probably be doing jail time. So count your blessings Seanie, your a get up and go guy, and I admire you for that, but you also became part of the problem in Ireland, the feck everybody and right and wrong. That kind of crap has kept us down for years. In countries that have low unemployment and high wealth, your actions over the last 3 years would have not been tolerated and that is why they have high wealth and low unemployment.

• In fairness, all businessmen take risks but buying 2billion worth of shares in a Donald Duck bank must show a serious lack of basic business acumen. Quinn got lucky his whole life, made the right friends in GAA clubs and in politics but it’s a sign of a true businessman when you are prepared for when the s##t hits the fan, no sympathy for him

• A sad story, a man with a work ethic I admired.
    However, greed is a major factor and I would like to see him pay his debts like most of the rest of the state is expected to.
    This is your time to prove yourself Sean. Goo luck!!

• Rosebud

• Bankrupt….so sad, too bad. He cares more about his rep than his workers. Another example of what is wrong in Ireland

• Gentlemen maybe and a very savvy business man but the facts now still remain the same. He will still be living in his big mansion transferred to his kids name , still potentially have 500 plus million worth of foreign assets worldwide , while the average joe stressed out working hard (if they are lucky) will have to still pay for his mistakes . There is some injustice in it all do you not think ? What he did in the past for Cavan , Leitrim and Monaghan in the past was great and all but it unfortunately is not the issue.

• Quinn your a pleb

• Ciaro 25/11/11 #

Ooh feel sorry for me. I broke the law, cost the Irish taxpayer nearly € 40 million and salted away my assets.

• Shane, I’d rather have someone like Quinn at the helm of big business’ in ireland than any fitzgeralds, Drums, Aherns, and loads of other developers. Blame those traitors in the distruction of our country and not just quinn
    And by the way I’m not sitting on quad looking like some kind of mongo..

• Thanx for the compliment and he still took a couple of billion and no intention on paying it back , i doubt he’ll b allowed to start any new business down south if he doesn’t pay the piper , it will b interesting how the court case turns out up the north tomorrow and apologies just when I see people saying positive things about a man that started transferring anything that was worth money to family members that’s when he went down in my book

• My prediction: he’ll come back bigger and better and probably even more successful regardless of attempts by Anglo to wipe him of the face of the earth. I wish him well.

• He should not have desecrated that pre-Christian burial ground .
    Is it just me or does he look like Brezhnev’s love child?

• So Quinn u got thousands of letters of support ,didn’t know that u had that many family members u Northern dick , pay us our money back u coward ..

• Get a life the man is not honourable the minute he lost out in his big gambles , he started to put his money where no 1 could get it . But thankfully the lawyers have got a barring order and stopped his closest relations from spending anymore of our money . Get a life Maebh

• Will anyone ever do jail time due to this mess. He should be doing jail time along with bertie.

• I like a pint same as the next man but I’m not trying to buy the brewery !

• lock him up. we all have to pay for your gambling debts out of our pockets.

• I have always been an admirer of SQ first and foremost he is a gentleman an absolute GENTLEMAN and it has been an honour for me to have worked for his company
    He is an entrepenaur who created much needed employment in the local area and beyond.
    His family sre genuine unassuming thay have always treated people with respect and dignity

Mr Quinn has nothing to prove, nothing to hide, his only downfall is the fact he did not speak out in time.

If the bosses of Anglo had 10% of the integrity that SQ has we would not be having this discussion.

PP

• CMD 25/11/11 #

Quinn is still a very popular and well respected figure in counties both sides of the border. A lot of people feel he has done more for that region than any government did. In Monaghan Cavan Leitrim he was a huge employer and provider of infrastructure. If you ever drove the road from derrylin to Ballyconnell it’s like a small town with all plant and offices all filled with workers from that area. 30 years ago that same area was to quote Patrick Kavanagh “hungry hills that even the waterhen and the snipe had forsaken”. Contrast that with government actions winding down Monaghan hospital, Roscommon hospital, closing Cavan monaghan and cootehill barracks, refuse to extend the M3 into Cavan and several other swipes all ignoring that region. Its no surprise that Quinn would get thousands of letters of support. Many feel he is just another victim of the way central government treats that area. So good luck to Sean Quinn. Even if he could hand the government 2.8 billion in the morning not one man woman or child in this country would be one cent better off! It would just disappear into the same black hole that cardiff’s 3.6 bn went into. Foreign banks and bondholders.

• Sean Quinn forgot all them people he help and found his new love greed and how are all people now with their jobs , and what a waste putting a motorway to Cavan sure there’s nothing in Cavan but grey

• In the U S A – mr Quinn would be sharing digs with Bernie madoff

• Well happy days the man has to pay back all the money love it .

• If Sean Quinn is bankrupt,I’m Donald trump!!!!!!……. Funny how’s he’s hiding up north and talking to a small regional newspaper and not talking to a reporter for the Irish times business section!!!

• He bet the farm and lost in spectacular style. I hope his poor-me PR crusade fails, because I’m sick of looking at his fat face as he claims the the whole world has slighted him.

• He should be allowed to return to his business’
    He’s been used as a scape goat. It’s the banks that Was keen to do business with him just like they were with the people taking out €400,000+
    mortgages they could never afford even in the boom times .

• Mark, firstly Anglo were a developers bank and not one typically used by the average Joe for a mortgage. Secondly, if he 2.4 billion punt on the Anglo shares had worked out, do you think Sean would be giving any of that money back to us, don’t think so. Let’s hope we (the taxpayer) can get back the 500 million his family have tried to push out of Anglo’s reach with the complex international companies arrangements, legal loopholes and family transfers. I was a huge admirer of Sean Quinn up to 3-4 years ago but that’s all changed now. Period.

• 400,000 compared with a couple billion ,greed got the better of him and people getting mortgages for 400,000 and they’ll pay it back but will he pay back his 2.6 billion don’t it and the bollox won’t lose his family home like all the poor people who took out their mortgages , go cry a river Quinn

• Pardy 25/11/11 #

Donal Trump, Charles Goodyear, Oscar Wilde,Walt Disney, Henry Ford, Thomas Jefferson Larry King and many many more

Add New Comment