TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Seán Quinn files for bankruptcy in Belfast High Court

In a statement the man who was once the richest in Ireland has said the government has been intent on making him a “scapegoat”.

Seán Quinn in a rare interview with RTÉ in 2009
Image: Screengrab via TheQuinnGroup/YouTube

Updated 12.40pm

ONCE IRELAND’S RICHEST man Seán Quinn has this morning been declared bankrupt at the High Court in Belfast.

UTV News reports that in a statement the entrepreneur said he had been left with no alternative after he made huge losses on a complex share investment with the now defunct Anglo Irish Bank.

In a lengthy statement, published on RTÉ, Quinn says he has taken the decision with “great sadness and regret”  but he slammed the bank and the government for making he and his family “scapegoats”:

I worked tirelessly to find a solution to the problems, which arose from the ill-fated investments in Anglo. Anglo, and more recently the Irish Government, are intent on making scapegoats of my family and I. Anglo has consistently ignored its own wrongdoing in affairs.

Anglo has sought every means to avoid acknowledging the lack of corporate responsibility, the self interest, the illegal lending practices and lack of regulation that prevailed at the time, all of which are now the subject of High Court proceedings.

Earlier this year, Anglo Irish Bank took control of Quinn’s business empire - including the Quinn Group, Quinn Insurance, and Quinn Direct – after he was unable to pay €2.8 billion in loans he took out with the bank.

Quinn later argued he could have saved the business had he been given time to do so.

The two have since been locked in a legal battle as Anglo, now part of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation, bids to recover the Quinn family’s assets which are based across the globe.

The Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC) said in a statement that it was “examining the validity of the application”:

IBRC notes Sean Quinn’s application in Belfast for bankruptcy in the United Kingdom. Mr Quinn and his family, who live in Co Cavan, owe the Irish State, through IBRC almost €2.9 billion.

The Bank is examining the validity of this application for bankruptcy in the light of Mr Quinn’s residency and extensive business interests and liabilities within the State.

The mandate of IBRC is to recover as much of the debts as possible on behalf of the Irish taxpayer and IBRC will continue to pursue maximum recovery of his debt.

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• CMD 11/11/11 #

Any chance we’d see Sean Fitzpatrick file for bankruptcy? He and his crooked friends are at the root of all the problems in banking in Ireland. At least Sean Quinn created hundreds of jobs. Sean Fitzpatrick just lined his own pocket with public money. And is still laughing all the way to the K club!

• Just like any other employer, Quinn created jobs to make money, the taxpayer is now supporting those jobs and quinns gambling debts, he should have stuck to fi’penny games of 45. BTW Quinn is one of seanies friends

• Had he been declared bankrupt in ireland south he would have been forced to stay out of business for 12 years because he declared it on northern ireland its only 12 months !

• He can APPLY for discharge after twelve months and this will only be granted if the court is satisfied that he has revealed and surrenderd all assets and cash to the reciever. If he messes about, not only will he not get a disharge, he may end up in clink.

• The bankruptcy laws in this country are too harsh. When it is reduced to 3 years as proposed by the government there will be a flood of bankruptcies. It will give people the ammunition to go to the banks and work out better terms. The banks don’t want the property back, they want everyone to pay away.

• Sean should know in business you never put all your eggs in one basket. He gambled and he lost. Now he has egg on his face. Sean Fitzpatrick has a lot to answer for though. He courted Quinn when he new the bank was going under. Would like to see Fitzpatrick bankrupt and jailed!

• Good of him to do it in Belfast, save himself from our laws. Must have talked to David Drumm, his old Anglo buddy, about ways around that old chestnut.

• another martyr for old Ireland

• Bankrupt my arse his wife and kids have it all transferred into their names. Is he still in the mansion driving the big fancy car. When I hear him on the council list and catching a bus then maybe he can be classed as bankrupt he should be made pay for his financial corruption with a sentence along with the rest of them. Instead of us paying money to bail out his mistakes I’d rather pay money to put him away

• Brought down, like the rest, by pure and simple greed. Can’t really offer any sympathy. Don’t suppose he spared a thought for those who are now suffering hardship for those years when the financial services mafia had their snouts in the trough.

• I think you’ll find that he is a native of Fermanagh.

• Great, there’s his 2.8bn punt that we’re now saddled with completely. This sleveen must be laughing to himself, he’ll be out of this in a year with a clean sheet despite his appalling business ethics

• On the same day as the presidential inauguration..what a coincidence!
    He should have been made bankrupt here because Irish citizens
    will be paying his share gambling debts for years to come!

• Poor Sean, took a punt and it didnt work out.

I hope he succeeds in his court case so that way I can go to paddy power and reclaim all my losing bets….

• Greed !

• Usual level of attention to detail here. Fitzpatrick is bankrupt. Was declared so in the Republic . Living off his wife’s pension now… so mightn’t be too badly off.

• I am originally from Fermanagh and am familiar with the Quinn family and actually used his business as part of my dissertation in 2000. In 2000 he was saying that he employed more than 5,000 people and he was aware of the responsibility that came with it. He stated that diversification was the key to his business to date and he wanted to continue. He recognised that he was moving on in years and didn’t want to pass the full responsibility of the business to his children, given the number of jobs at stake. He said he therefore wanted to float the business on the stock exchange. So how did he get from there to bankruptcy? A huge amount of blame has to be laid firmly at the door of Anglo and their auditors! Both parties used their position to sell a lie to Quinn and he jumped at the so called sure beat and took the gamble that he should never have taken. Before that he had been investing heavily in places like India, Russia, Turkey and China and indeed renewable technologies and I am sure he wishes he continued down that road. The sad thing is that many ordinary people in Fermanagh heard about the advice that Quinn was receiving in relation to Anglo shares being a sure beat and they also took the gamble and many are in a very bad financial position as a result. Either way there are no winners here, but it has to be acknowledged that he created a huge amount of jobs in a border county, which was totally ignored during the troubles and the challenge is now to retain them. Anglo & their auditors sold a lie, Quinn should not have taken such a gamble and the people that are really the losers in all of this are the employees both direct and indirect and of course the taxpayer. Already staff and local businesses are telling me that the administrators are doing some questionable things e.g. taking Quinn suppliers contracts off local businesses, switching them to more expensive Dublin businesses, who are then in turn sub contracting to Fermanagh businesses at a lower price than before. No matter what the big 4 accountancy practices get rich and fail to take responsibility of answer any questions in relation to their auditing or advisory activities during the boom.

• Sean Quinn owed Anglo €2.8bn, obviously that could not be paid so the bank went in, took control of his company and forced him and his family off the board. The value of the Quinn Group is worth more than €2.8bn alone, so has he really not repaid what he owed. It is now up to the bank to split up the company and sell each bit on or run it themselves and make a substantial profit from a very profitable company.

Justice has been done in that light. What interests he has overseas his now his own business.

He has suffered badly in Ireland and is the only one of the high flyers of the good years to be held accountable. Then man got to big to quick and paid a heavy price. He built the company from nothing, created not 100′s but 1000’s of jobs right across the country. Give generously to charity without wanting acknowledgement.

Some of the comments here are really of bad taste, Sean Quinn took risk to continually grow business and to diversifies into different industries and to break up monopolies, create competition and to chase prices down. The man made mistakes but he should also be respected for bringing employment to really bad black spots in Ireland.

• You put it better than I did.

• Still worth Eu2.8 bn? Give me a break!

• My God he should have run for presidency so, instead of Sean Gallagher ! 1000’s of jobs made , how many will be sustainable tho after all of this?

• Cop onto urself woman and do a bit of research into the Quinn group and you will see that Sean Quinn was at one stage one of the biggest indigenous employers in this country creating, yes 1000’s of jobs, across many industries. A majority of these jobs are still there and have been told by the receiver that they are secure so to answer your question they are very sustainable.

• Yes Colin, dude! He made himself rich and he pulled himself up by his boot straps and he came from nothing etc etc etc and he and fitzpatrick swindled/ defrauded money from Anglo Irish bank and now while he and his family STILL live in a massive mansion he has the comfort of declaring himself bankrupt to the tune of 2.8 BILLION Euros.He can go back to doing his business(..cough..) dealings in 12 months time while the rest of us,and our children , are paying HIS debts, DUDE. So I am not partial to the man and his BUSINESS? practices .He is greedy dishonest and should be made face his actions to the fullest extent of the law, DUDE!
      I apologise if I do not see the great man that he is when he and his likes have destroyed this country and the ‘sure what harmers’ like yourself let him and them away with it.
      The bad taste with regards to Mr Quinn is listening to people like you who do not see the wood for the trees. So what if he gave people jobs in the good times, there are people DESTITUE NOW because of him and food is a necessity and does not always taste so good any more ,when the cheap cuts of meat is all that one can afford and no treats for the kids . Future dreams of college put on hold , will I go on ? Respect is earned not bought and I do not respect him !

• Judging from his picture it looks like his lecky has been turned off. He should have switched.

• gerry 11/11/11 #

The best part in all this is that it shows us that his and everybody elses wealth was calculated, since the dawning of man, in his assets and not the cash in his bank account. Is this not the whole issue with the Celtic era wealth that it was all perceived wealth and not actual wealth.

Should this be a wake up call that we must approach thing differently now.

I heard from some friends that a person who owns a shop wanted to extend it and when he approached the bank with his business plan the simple question they had for him was

“should his expansion not bring in one single extra euro in sales could he repay his loan as he currently stood”

Why did we not use this approach years ago and build up the economy slowly and steadily. I know hindsight is great and I’m sure some commentators have already said the above this but is Quinn not a symbol of the Celtic era and it’s greed we all somehow part took in

• gerry ! Speak for yourself when you speak of ”the celtic era and it’s greed” I am not a greedy person .I have only got my mortgage for a modest three bedroomed house .I have a car . that is all ! …..

• If Cowen-Lenihan hadn’t stepped in and mortally wounded the tire economy and the vast majority of its citizens with the bank guarantee, Quinn’s problems would seen as unfortunate meriting a big spread on Sunday and then the story would have moved on. People make bad business decisions, make bad investment calls and can simply overestimate their reach. That’s far from uncommon. Personally, I think the demise of Quinn is regrettable. He built up a native Irish multinational in the teeth of opposition from vested industry interests. His achievements were many and they shouldn’t be forgotten.

• Dishonesty in commerce – what is new? Further details by searching in Google for “Windle Stops Swindle”

A Chara

Srinivasan Devrajan, the Common Informer

• Fair play to the government. He spent to long in bed with the last government and now we all must suffer

• Louth 11/11/11 #

What a complete w@@ker take every penny and all his property off him t@sspot

• What you say is true as far as it goes. Of course there are bigger villains in the story and the story has some way still to run. Quinn is exemplary in that his greed was the instrument of his downfall. Fitzpatrick would appear to be more culpable than Quinn in the dealings which led to these massive losses. A man with Quinn’s busines acumen cannot have been unaware that he was playing with “funny money” and was therefore accepting the risks. All the same this was massive, irresponsible gambling and the public should not be made to cover the losses any more than they should pay for some eejit backing a lame nag down at Paddy Power’s

• maybe i’m wrong, but it seems to me that he built up his wealth over many years hard work with ‘real’ business, his only mistake was investing his wealth with anglo just before the collapse, the media are portraying him as the gambler not anglo. to my mind, fitzpatrick swindled him…

• Begrudgers! Sean Quinn is a very decent and humble man. He created hundreds of jobs. He made one massive mitake and those of you who probably never took a risk in your life or created a single job now crow at his downfall. Only for people like Quinn you would be destitute.

• Oops! I made a mistake with mitake.

• No, he’s just an out and out greedy bastard trying to off-load the blame for his greed elsewhere

• you obviously know him

• Oh right yeah humble decent man my backside if he was decent he would pay back a substantial amount that he has sitting in off shore accounts. If he was humble he wouldn’t expect the rest of the country to do it for him. From a man with so much business intelligence to have caused so many people so many problems was all due to greed theft and dishonesty. That man hasn’t got a decent bone in his loaded body. Yes he gave all those people a job and now is going to dump them all in the shit while they along with every one else pays for his debt. All Because of greed. Decent and humble my arse

• It’s because of people like quinn thar many thousands are destitute

• I don’t know him. Ten years ago I was introduced to him by someone who does and he and everyone else in that part of Ireland thought very hightly of him. As for “mansion”. Up until recently he lived in a modest 4 bed house.

• F Me I’d love to be able to comment on the stuff that went on. But that could be considered hyperbolic and best to keep my big gob shut!

• Unfortunate delusional comment. You may actually be him. If so, go for 26red, but this time use your own dosh because I’m all out.

• William; So somebody told you he is a decent and humble man, fair enough. Perhaps he might humble himself and do the decent thing and repay the rest of us the billions he owes us. As for the people in that part of the country, they can slip him a few quid when it’s all sorted out.

• Sure he made a massive mistake. Several actually. It wasn’t a single transaction that tipped yer man overboard. It was a concerted and deliberate greed-driven scheme to ratchet up his personal fortune. Nothing wrong with that. Only if you or I did it and fecked ourselves we wouldn’t get any help from the taxpayers, apart from the cost of a stretch in the Liam Lawlor suite at the ‘Joy. So, what’s different about this guy. With the gains comes the responsibility of bearing the losses. Refusal to accept that responsibility is neither humble nor decent, whatever other good the man has done.

• BECAUSE of people like him & Sean Fitzpatrick, we are destitute.

• May I quote the following from RTE news today, Monday November 14:
    /quote
    Mr Quinn applied to have himself made bankrupt in the High Court in Belfast on Friday.
    In his petition to the court in Belfast – which was obtained by lawyers for IBRC this morning – he said he was doing this as the registered office and place of business of the Quinn Group companies was Derrylin in Co Fermanagh.
    He also said he was domiciled for tax purposes in Northern Ireland and his tax affairs were conducted in the UK.
    Senior Counsel Paul Gallagher for IBRC said they had evidence which contradicted Mr Quinn’s claim that his centre of main interest was in Northern Ireland.
    IBRC claims that Mr Quinn consistently indicated that his home address was Ballyconnell in Co Cavan in the annual returns of 95 companies of which he was or is a director.
    He does not hold any directorships with active UK companies the court was told.
    /unquote

It would seem from this that Mr Quinn was not paying tax in the Irish Republic either. To compound his sins. Wealthy tax evaders are another disgrace in this democracy.

• Not many people know this, but the fuhrer was an excellent dancer!

• You are obviously not aware that the same accountancy practices that were auditing accounts for our banks were using that position to advise clients like Quinn on future investment decisions??? Was this ethical??? Of course not!!! They have not taken any responsibility for their actions, yet they are still advising the State today. The words of Einstein certainly come to mind: “You cannot solve a problem from the same consciousness that created it.” I am not absolving Quinn of blame, I am merely point out that others need to be held accountable for their actions in this scandal and our trial by media has zero interest in this story!

In terms of the Quinn Group receivers redistributing contracts to more expensive Dublin based firms its fact! The print sector is one but example and I know this for a fact as a family member’s business is affected!

• If Mr Quinn had asked any adviser other than the beneficiaries of the scheme, the Anglo Managers, I am sure he would have been warned about betting on the shares of one bloated bank. If he had then asked a small town solicitor for an opinion Id say he’d have been told that it was borderline legal and best avoided. I wrote letters asking who was buying Anglos shares several years ago so I am not being wise after the fact.

All I would say is that it wouldn’t be right to absolve Mr Quinn of blame and paint him up as a victim. I am genuinely sorry if you have connection to a business that has suffered the effects of the Quinn meltdown. Perhaps you should though aim at least some of your anger at Quinn.

Add New Comment