You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Four Courts via Shutterstock

Significant rise in number of rape cases in front of Irish courts

The vast majority of cases heard in Irish courts were related to road-traffic offences.

THE ANNUAL REPORT of Ireland’s Courts Service has revealed there was a significant decrease in the number of murder cases heard last year, but there was a jump in the incidence of rape trials.

During 2012, there were 20 per cent fewer murder trials when compared to the previous year but, when examined against 2010, the number of rape cases increased by 32 per cent.

According to the just-published data, there was a notable drop in “high visibility, high nuisance and highly-dangerous activity”. Almost 60 per cent of District Court summary matters were road-traffic related.

A total of 2,500 prison sentences were handed down in Circuit courts for more serious crimes.

Altogether, 693 criminal trials were heard in Irish courts, relating to 158,898 defendants and 384,231 alleged offences.

Other key figures show:

• A 10 per cent decrease in minor drug offences;
  • A 22 per cent decrease in public order and less serious assaults;
  • A 22 per cent decrease in drink-driving orders;
  • A 30 per cent fall in juvenile crime.

In civil matters, there was a decrease of 37 per cent in the number of judicial reviews of asylum matters, as well as a 20 per cent fall in small claims.

There was €112 million awarded in personal injury and medical negligence cases in the High and Circuit Courts. The smallest award was €258, with the largest recorded at €11.5 million. That was the largest personal injury settlement in the history of the State and came on the 20 April. In approving the settlement of €11.5 million for 10-year-old Cullen Kennedy, Justice Mary Irvine expressed criticism at the lack of legislation to cater for the “life-long care needs” of crash victims.

The work of the courts

In the 12-month period, the Supreme Court received 605 appeals, a 21 per cent increase on 2011. It issued 114 judgements, an improvement of 56 per cent on the previous reported year.

Throughout the year, there was a 25 per cent jump in new pub licenses but a fall in the late-night extensions granted.

Chief Justice Susan Denham praised the courts service for running a “leaner” operation during 2012 as it delivered at a cost base 5.6 per cent less than in 2010. Since 2008, the cost of running the courts has been reduced by 41 per cent. In that time, wages have decreased by 15 per cent, admin costs by 38 per cent and capital funding by 80 per cent.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute john mac
    Favourite john mac
    May 20th 2023, 8:21 PM

Riding through red lights , on footpaths, one way streets ,3 abreast on roads ,dark clothing no lights, riding wrong way on cycle lanes ,no helmets , headphones on oblivious to what’s going on around them give me a break

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    May 20th 2023, 8:24 PM

@john mac: what’s your point?

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    May 20th 2023, 8:30 PM

@john mac: speeding. Driving while taking on the phone. Texting and driving. Overtaking on blind bends. Driving on the tram lines. Illegal modulations. No insurance. No tax. No licence. No seatbelt. Parking in bus lanes. Parking on double yellows. Tail gating. Rubber necking. Under taking. Driving on the hard shoulder…… look I can generalise too.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    May 20th 2023, 8:32 PM

@john mac: motorists….driving without licence, insurance, tax. Driving while disqualified, under the influence of alcohol, drugs, speeding, dangerous overtaking, driving without due care and consideration, breaking lights, hit and runs. I could go on and on.
    Basically if everyone was to change their attitude it would be safer place for us all.

Mute Ollie Ryan
    Favourite Ollie Ryan
    May 20th 2023, 8:57 PM

@john mac: if you knew any rules of the road, you’d know that 2 or 3 abreast while cycling is for everyones safety, including the angry motorist thats behind them for no more than 10 or 15 seconds

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    May 20th 2023, 9:20 PM

@Ollie Ryan: 2 or 3 abreast on a narrow road U have got to be joking traffic building up behind, accident waiting to happen

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    May 20th 2023, 9:27 PM

@john mac: 20% of driver cyclist collisions are hit and runs, by the driver. I suppose that’s cyclists fault as well, is it? 38% of such collisions are a result of driver failure to observe, eg on their phones. Sure, if drivers# held themselves to the same standards they love to pontificate about to others, we wouldn’t need traffic wardens at schools, speed ramps in housing estates where kids play out, or segregated cycle lanes, in fact we wouldn’t need speed vans or a dedicated division of the Gardai. We wouldn’t even need the RSA! And there is no one more oblivious to whats going on around them than drivers# cocooned in their little tin box with their heightened sense of entitlement! ( #some drivers, not all),

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    May 20th 2023, 9:43 PM

@john mac:
    I’m a motorist and see some other motorists break red lights every single day mate..all the time they just don’t give a shït..
    Also lots of cars about with only one front light working (dangerous stuff)…many others who never indicate/ indicate incorrectly on roundabouts.
    Others (esp white van drivers) with a phone constantly stuck to their ear totally oblivious. others texting while driving…Yet more driving slowly in the “fast lane” on motorways not understanding it’s the “overtaking lane”…parking on footpaths and cycling lanes blocking others…yet more with with no motor tax/ car insurance etc. My point?..
    It’s the person in control, not the mode of transport, that makes them a hazardous nuisance to others. Lose the backwards “us vs them” mindset. Check yourself. Get real ffs.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    May 20th 2023, 9:44 PM

@Dermot Lane: three abreast need jcb s to sort them out. Absolutely no need for it. On a pavement would you walk three abreast and block the way of people behind you. As the poster above said, accident waiting to happen. A particularly stupid form of self assertion. What’s wrong with letting a car overtake?

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    May 20th 2023, 11:32 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: he’s just telling it as it is

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    May 21st 2023, 1:48 AM

@alan: You’re not supposed to pass out cyclists when there’s a car coming the opposite direction towards. So what difference does it make if they’re one two or three abreast? When it’s safe to pass one it’s safe to pass three and when it’s not safe to pass three it’s not safe to pass one either. Or is that you want to illegally pass when there’s traffic coming towards, dangerously squeezing past the cyclist?

Mute Eoghan Augusta
    Favourite Eoghan Augusta
    May 21st 2023, 1:50 AM

@Dave Connolly: might be motorists don’t write shite articles.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    May 21st 2023, 2:42 AM

@Jason Ebbs: That’s probably true but if cyclists changed their attitudes, roads would be a safer place for them.

Mute Gavin Duff
    Favourite Gavin Duff
    May 21st 2023, 5:28 AM
    Mute Gavin Duff
    Favourite Gavin Duff
    May 21st 2023, 5:29 AM
    Mute Warren Kennedy
    Favourite Warren Kennedy
    May 21st 2023, 6:58 AM

@john mac: you gonna tar everyone with the same brush john? How about muppets passing cyclists on bends. Not giving the correct space. Ect ect. The list is endless.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    May 21st 2023, 10:07 AM

@john mac: Can’t imagine why on a bicycle you can’t just go around a blockage rather than make a scene. Yes, driver made a mistake. Yes. You’re on a bike. Go around, it’s not hard.

In the car if another car is blocking me I use the almighty steering wheel to maneuver around the obstacle. It’s very simple.

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    May 21st 2023, 10:32 AM

@Dave Connolly: not to mention parking in Disability parking spots.

Mute Soeren Kuehling
    Favourite Soeren Kuehling
    May 21st 2023, 2:51 PM

@Gavin Duff: exactly. going through a red light where there’s no cross traffic to get ahead of cars is a basic instinct to arrive unharmed. looking behind you all the time, trying to establish eye contact is very often useless since many drivers don’t know why cyclists look what’s behind them, simply sticking the arm left or right doesn’t work either. it’s combination of all: look back, wait for a longer gap, stick your arm out, still looking in hope the driver will realize you want to change lanes. very often you need to force yourself into the lane because cars speeding up towards red lights for mo logical reason. 1/2

Mute Soeren Kuehling
    Favourite Soeren Kuehling
    May 21st 2023, 2:53 PM

@Gavin Duff: also: red lights don’t magically get green for cyclists, you have to wait several minutes sometimes until a car arrives behind you and if the cyclists decide to go on red all the car driver sees is a cyclist breaking red lights… of course not knowing he or she was waiting several minutes on the red light because no car in sight 2/2

Mute Robert Conneely
    Favourite Robert Conneely
    May 21st 2023, 4:57 PM

@alan: it’s easier to overtake when two abreast, 3 abreast is just an optical illusion, there isn’t room for it.

Would you rather overtake 10 people over 20 metres or over 10 metres. The thing is, if it’s safe to overtake then it doesn’t matter how wide they are so long as you pass the meridian line.

Mute Max Bailey
    Favourite Max Bailey
    May 21st 2023, 5:09 PM

@john mac: motorists are also guilty of terrible habits……so what is your point exactly?

Mute Simran Collops
    Favourite Simran Collops
    May 21st 2023, 6:46 PM

@Max Bailey: In my short 5km drive during rush hour last week (I usually work from home), I counted 19 cyclists in all. Only 1 was wearing any safety gear (a helmet). 13 broke traffic lights. Despite beautiful newly demarcated bicycle lanes provided along the entire route, not a single cyclist was using them.
    I do not begrudge cyclists on the road, but I do get very anxious when they behave as if the rules of the road do not apply to them. I expect many drivers share my anxiety regarding the potential outcome of a collision; If I crash into another motorist, I am not likely to be badly injured because my car is designed to protect me, which is also the case for whomever crashes into me. If I happen to knock down a cyclist however (for whatever reason), I am likely to cause them serious harm.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 7:48 PM

@Dermot Lane: Ye most cyclist accicents are Single Bike Accidents. Yet that is never mentioned.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 7:51 PM

@Brian MacCarthaigh: #OperationEnable has cleared a lot of the parking id disability spaces. We also have the problem of other people chained their vehicles to bus stops, pedestriand traffic lighs and blocking the pavemment and that is without the worst yet.
    The inside parked car cycle lanes where there is not enough room to ssafely get out of a vehicle! So YOu were sauing about disabled parking spaces!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 7:53 PM

@Soeren Kuehling: Making eye contact, what about visually impaired pedestrians on those whoc cannot make eye contact. What then?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 7:54 PM

@Soeren Kuehling: So all the cyclist that cycle through pedestrian lights is becuase there are no cars present.
    I must remember that the next time I almost get hit crossing on a green man and the cyclist goes for the near pass as they cannot be bothered stopping.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    May 20th 2023, 8:10 PM

The haters will be along soon. Just note that all road users break red lights, pretty much every footpath in Ireland is covered in cars driving and parking on them, it isn’t cyclists that killed 41 pedestrians last year, and cyclists aren’t being arrested all the time for driving under influence of alcohol and drugs and speeding.
    I could never understand why motorists cause all the chaos and pollution and traffic and death and misery on the roads but everyone hates cyclists, it’s like some kind of collective psychosis.

Mute Mc Comascaigh Paul
    Favourite Mc Comascaigh Paul
    May 20th 2023, 9:08 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: a lot cyclists prosecuted for being intoxicated .. its on the rise … not seen as a big an issue as realistically you are only endangering yourself .. unlike driving a vehicle..

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 7:57 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: HAters, there yyou go again. I dont know anybody who hates cyclists. I know I don’t. Fed up, annoyed tired of them , yes all of them but hate. No.
    You play the victim card all the time and that it is everybodys fault but your own and cyclists dont make mistakes and cause problems for others..
    Like I said, fed up, annoyed and tired of you but you will not care. I will be assigned as “a hater” to be ignored. That is half the problem, you refuse to listen to anybody else on issues.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    May 20th 2023, 8:27 PM

I was driving my elderly mother to the shops the other day. Leaving her estate there is a cycle lane which crosses the road. It is dotted. In order to get a clear view of oncoming traffic you need to sit on it before pulling out. A cyclist verbally abused us for impeding his lane. He had to go around us.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    May 20th 2023, 8:29 PM

@AnthonyK: funny how you had to mention your elderly mother

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    May 20th 2023, 8:54 PM

@AnthonyK: you may feel you have to break the rules of the road but you are still in the wrong. The dotted line does not mean you can pull into the cycle lane just you can pass trough it.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    May 20th 2023, 9:21 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: what is funny about it

Mute Johnathan Smith
    Favourite Johnathan Smith
    May 20th 2023, 10:58 PM

@Sheila McNulty: it added nothing to the scenario other than to gain additional sympathy for the car driver.

Mute Lisa Jones
    Favourite Lisa Jones
    May 21st 2023, 11:02 AM

@Craic_a_tower: so blindly drive through and not be able to check for traffic coming from the right?! That would be a bit mental.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 21st 2023, 12:30 PM

@AnthonyK: well you can see the cyclists point too. You improved your safety but jeopardised his. I suspect he had already met half a dozen non-cyclists using the lane for similarly invented purposes. Does having your elderly mother with you also allow you to park on double yellows and break red lights? Seems like a superpower!

Mute Mike Fisher
    Favourite Mike Fisher
    May 21st 2023, 8:26 PM

@Craic_a_tower:
    Such a shame that a broken line doesn’t denote a cycle lane though, otherwise you might have had a valid argument.

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    May 20th 2023, 9:32 PM

I’m not anti cyclists, but oh my God, how there isn’t at least one or two Just Eat/Deliveroo delivery cyclists killed every night is beyond me. They all break red lights, no high vis vests, headphones on, no lights etc, it’s frightening.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    May 20th 2023, 9:42 PM

@Sean Walsh: they’re not killed because these things aren’t as dangerous as you think they are

Mute Michael Garvey
    Favourite Michael Garvey
    May 20th 2023, 9:53 PM

Love the idea of a tax credit for Kms cycled, I’d save myself a fortune. Personally I find it great fun cycling around Dublin, though I also recognise that it can be pretty dangerous and really off putting for anyone thinking of taking up cycling for transport reasons. Ive also experience the momentary certainty that I’m about to die after being hit by a car and to be honest I’m pretty lucky to still be here. I think it is incumbent on anyone driving a car to recognise they are basically driving a lethal weapon and regardless of what you think of cyclists going through red lights or pedestrians jaywalking or whatever, if you are in a car and you hit someone you have a pretty decent chance of killing them or worse leaving them needing lifelong care. I drive a car that weighs nearly 1.7 tonnes, if I knock down someone who momentarily steps off a narrow path or hit a cyclist because I can’t be bothered waiting a couple of seconds until it’s safe to pass then I’m quite likely to kill them. Slow down people and wait a few more seconds. And go cycling, it’s one of the most positive things you can do to change the misery of life in a car

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    May 21st 2023, 1:27 AM

@Michael Garvey: from a different perspective, and recognising that a car can be lethal, consideration needs to be on both sides, and this is not always the case,

Mute lesley smith
    Favourite lesley smith
    May 20th 2023, 11:11 PM

Stop preaching and trying to take over the roads – your halos slip with every mirror you deliberately hit, each light you break, each time you nearly hit a pedestrian or over use your bell.

Mute ultra
    Favourite ultra
    May 21st 2023, 1:14 AM

@lesley smith: narcissistic much?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    May 21st 2023, 2:58 PM

@lesley smith: not using a bell, over using a bell. Cyclists cant win no matter what! I think you’ll find is motorists who hit and kill pedestrians regularly

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    May 21st 2023, 9:20 AM

I love cycling but its disingenuous to write a glowing article about cyclists, the benefits, the demonising of cars and cyclists behaviour when they are by far the most visible offenders on the road. Because it is bike week I cycled to work every day, and saw countless cyclists and scooter users breaking lights, with some giving the finger to drivers despite clearly being in the wrong. I even shouted at a cyclist twice “ITS YOUR FAULT!” for breaking a light, causing a minor collision and the cyclist then having the neck to bash their hands on the car that had to stop.
    Stop sugercoating it; Many cyclists are dangerous road users and need to cop on far more if we are to be respected on the road. Its to be shared, not to be owned by any one user. I agree that we are too car dependent and its great to have more people on two wheels, but it needs to be less one sided than this opinion piece.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 7:59 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Get ready to be attacked for saying that.

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    May 20th 2023, 8:20 PM

Driving standards in this country are the pits. Van drivers are the worst. Run you off the road, scream out windows at you and worse. Cycling in Irish towns are city’s is a death wish with the abandonment of cars.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 20th 2023, 9:03 PM

@Dave Connolly: to be fair a lot of the cyclists I see, seem to be asking for trouble. I live near a dual carriageway and it’s shocking what I see cyclists do. dark clothing, groups of them pulled in at exits, barely lit up bikes in winter. Then if a motorist hits them it’s there fault. I must say their are some very safe cyclists too.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    May 21st 2023, 1:21 AM

Calm warning, hmm – doubtful! I’ve seen quite a few cyclists reactions and they are far from calm. Perception differs enormously.

Mute Mc Comascaigh Paul
    Favourite Mc Comascaigh Paul
    May 20th 2023, 9:10 PM

Sometimes roadways get blocked for a myriad of reasons … maybe just wait till it clears .. I’m sure if the van driver was asked they may have had a different perspective …

Mute Terry Larkin
    Favourite Terry Larkin
    May 21st 2023, 4:18 PM

@Mc Comascaigh Paul: Ah but Emer is a DOCTOR so she’s infallible and above reproach. (My mate is a doctor too (not medical) but he isn’t insecure, so doesn’t feel the need to use his hard-earned title, apart from when he’s writing academic material.)

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    May 20th 2023, 10:05 PM

I had a bad experience blah blah blah. Oh and climate change blah blah blah. Honestly at this point would it even matter if an Ai wrote this drivel? God almighty.

Mute Ronan Duffy
    Favourite Ronan Duffy
    May 20th 2023, 10:58 PM

@Brian: what?

Mute Dan Eames
    Favourite Dan Eames
    May 21st 2023, 7:28 AM

I cycled for 10 years in Dublin and now live in the Netherlands which is obviously incomparible. Cycling infrastructure can’t simply be lain down on top of exisiting roads. Both have to be designed in tandem in such a way that cyclist and drivers are never given the chance to patronise each other as is described in this article. Unfortunately, it took several child deaths on the road in the 1970s for the Dutch to realise this.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 8:00 PM

@Dan Eames: Now more cyclist die in Holland than any other road user. They are the bullies abusing and intimidating pedestrians.All the information is freeely available on Google, I cant put up the links.

Mute Spud Geshletter
    Favourite Spud Geshletter
    May 21st 2023, 7:49 AM

Long passed time to reg, tax and insure all bicycles. Bit that one mr green.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    May 20th 2023, 8:59 PM

If you look at cycle lanes in Dublin you will see many drivers have issues avoiding driving on them. The many broken wands on cycle lanes and the worn out paint lines from drivers on them. Many drivers can’t avoid stationery items so it isn’t cyclists the drivers can’t see and avoid.

Mute Allora
    Favourite Allora
    May 21st 2023, 2:37 AM

Calm warning? Not appropriate. If i get out of my truck & gove you a calm warning over your lack of road craft then thatz road rage. Your calm warning is the same.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    May 21st 2023, 11:04 AM

Pedestrian: My calm warning to a cyclist to cycle on the nearby cycle lane instead of the footpath was met with a barrage of abuse.

Mute Mattia Accinelli
    Favourite Mattia Accinelli
    May 21st 2023, 9:04 AM

In fairness in the past 15 years things have improved a lot. There are more facilities and most drivers are more kind and aware of cyclists.

Unfortunately there is still a small number of bad, frustrated drivers which still think they have a right to endanger a person life just because they are not driving a 2t+ vehicle.
    But we must pity them: they are in debt because someone sold them the dream of riding at speed in sunny, empty, country roads. And now they are stuck for hours a day in traffic, impotent and raging. While countless people with cheap bicycle zip past them to their destination, which they’ll reach in half the time and at zero costs.
    Really the government should open a help line to offer some psychological support.

Mute Den O'Con
    Favourite Den O'Con
    May 20th 2023, 11:08 PM

What media organisations promote an anti cycling culture?

Mute Sean McCarron
    Favourite Sean McCarron
    May 21st 2023, 9:02 AM

As usual, a divisive article. Purpose is to sell ad space by getting clicks, if you want people to cycle more you need to win hearts and minds not scold and shame.

Mute Kieran Mcx
    Favourite Kieran Mcx
    May 21st 2023, 11:20 AM

@Sean McCarron: I think you’ve cracked what journalism is and how jouralists get paid!

Mute SonOfSniglet
    Favourite SonOfSniglet
    May 21st 2023, 1:44 AM

Well. I think all you cyclists and all you drivers are wrong and evil. The only righteous and moral way of transport is, was and always will be cart-wheeling. Shame on all of you.

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    May 21st 2023, 11:08 AM

Why can’t we adopt the Swiss way of travel? Most of them have two bikes, one for short trips and the second for road cycling on long distance. Even though they have more cars per capita than Ireland they are less likely to use them to travel to work or school. The cyclist is king as most drivers use bikes frequently and are tolerant of other cyclists.

Mute Terry Larkin
    Favourite Terry Larkin
    May 21st 2023, 4:14 PM

Not quite sure what the title “Doctor” has to do with Emma Howard’s article about her impressive ability to ride a bicycle without stabilisers. I wonder if she was a docker rather than a doctor whether the Journal would have headlined her views on the matter?

Mute Gary Mullen
    Favourite Gary Mullen
    May 21st 2023, 3:05 AM

Cyclists blame Drivers, Drivers blame cyclists and everyone else blames the English, the Russians or the Americans circle of life

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    May 21st 2023, 11:14 AM

At least from what i see in London, cyclist behaviour on the roads is ridiculous but of course there are loada of Twitter posts about drivers and pedstrians make their lives harder.

Walking with my kids i always feel much more at risk of an accident with a cyclist than a motorist.

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely
    May 21st 2023, 11:17 AM

In Vancouver there is a dual cycle lane running alongside all the main roads. The cycle lane is treated by cyclists as their dual carriageway. Nobody veers into the motorists lane or vis versa. But should you dawdle in the overtaking cyclist lane you will be met with a barrage of bike bells. It means you can cycle anywhere in Vancouver safely. But then, unlike us, they follow the rules.

Mute Michael Mc Gee
    Favourite Michael Mc Gee
    May 21st 2023, 5:00 PM

It freaks me out when I am walking on a footpath, and alongside the footpath is a cycling lane, and I get beeped at while I am walking on the footpath. What was the point of marking out a cycling lane if some people are still using the footpath. If I was walking in a cycling lane they be murder.

Mute Yvon Queguiner
    Favourite Yvon Queguiner
    May 21st 2023, 12:58 PM

90% of the cyclists are total bellends.
    They will probably tell you all about bad car drivers but no wearing any high visibility vest, no lights or no helmet will just get you killed.

I almost killed a cyclist who was wearing full black without light on a road without lights, it’s almost impossible to see him.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 8:03 PM

@Yvon Queguiner: But you would have gotten the blame!

Mute Finn H. Schoyen
    Favourite Finn H. Schoyen
    May 21st 2023, 11:42 AM

It’s all good that people want to positively impact the environment by bicycling, but the infrastructure (cycle paths) has to be there all the way.

Also, where there are cycle lanes, not to mention cycle filter boxes at the traffic lights, motorists need to respect these. That means stopping *behind* the filter box when the light is red, as well as not park in the bicycle lane where these are located. By not adhering to these simple rules, we motorists are doing ourselves a disservice.

Mute Steven Schulz
    Favourite Steven Schulz
    May 21st 2023, 3:28 PM

You shouldn’t engage with strangers, especially to chastise or “warn” them. You don’t know what will set them off. If there’s a vehicle in the cycling lane, notify the authorities.

Mute Steven Schulz
    Favourite Steven Schulz
    May 21st 2023, 3:34 PM

@Steven Schulz: Secondly, people aren’t generally, or at least not always rational actors. They’re capable of doing horribly irrational things, even to themselves, than admit a mistake. A recent Irish film is testament to that. Rational cost-benefit analyses don’t work with them.

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely
    May 21st 2023, 11:17 AM

In Vancouver there is a dual cycle lane running alongside all the main roads. The cycle lane is treated by cyclists are their dual carriageway. Nobody veers into the motorists lane or vis versa. But should you dawdle in the overtaking cyclist lane you will be met with a barrage of bike bells. It means you can cycle anywhere in Vancouver safely. But then, unlike us, they follow the rules.

Mute Noreen Tiernan
    Favourite Noreen Tiernan
    May 22nd 2023, 10:33 AM

Am too old to cycle anymore but when I did enjoy cycling I kept the rules of the road. So many cyclists now overtake on the inside, go through the red lights, cross over in front of my car without using indication. And they don’t have to pay road tax for the privilege. I pray I don’t hit a cyclist with my car.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    May 22nd 2023, 1:56 PM

@Noreen Tiernan: they say a picture is worth a thousand words..

https://share.icloud.com/photos/083k-AYt3oJxXy2DimHSkFdIg

Mute Frank Sterle
    Favourite Frank Sterle
    May 21st 2023, 10:57 PM

The world, very much including Western nations, desperately needs to behave smarter with vehicular fuel consumption, therefore all need to forgo purchasing the most gratuitously environmentally hazardous of vehicles.

I notice numerous parked vehicles idling for many minutes, even in quite moderate weather temperatures. I’ll also see the odd choking-thick-exhaust-spewing vanity vehicle, a metallic beast with the signature superfluously very large body and wheels that don’t at all appear used for work or family transport.

They’re the same gratuitously huge monsters that when parked roadside hazardously block the view of short-car operators turning or crossing through stop-signed intersections. They appear as though they might get about 25 gallons to the mile. Inside each is the operator, typically staring down into their lap, probably their smartphones.

I couldn’t help wondering whether they’re some of the people posting complaints onto various social media platforms about a possible gas tax/price increase, however comparatively small. Notably, the carbon tax — though it’s more than recouped via government rebate (except for the high-incomed) — induces much pastime complaining.

Throughout my life, I’ve found that a large number of owners/drivers of superfluously over-powered thus gas-guzzling vehicles consider their machines to be an extension of their phall-c ego.

It terrifies them to even contemplate a world in which they cannot readily fuel that extension. And comparatively quiet electric cars are no substitute.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 8:04 PM

@Frank Sterle: OH wow, there was me thing they just like cars or need ccars and why not have a nice one.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 22nd 2023, 8:07 PM

I love it, another article blaming everyone but themselves on the woes of cyclists.
    Millions spent and the numbers have gome up, it is summertime.
    Yet nowhere near was was said it was going to be. DCC said 300%, I was at the meeting, couple of months later it was 200% and now they dont say anymore.
    Cyclists do need better facilities but not at the expense of pedestrians and other vuilnerable pedestrians.
    Tjat is what has happened.
    DCC and the minister and the NTA all know that wht they arre doing will endanger pedestrians but they just do not care.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    May 21st 2023, 11:35 AM

Our work car park (central Dublin) is full every day with cars driven from less the 10kms away. You’ll never get the Dubs from their cars, maybe focus on other commuters for a bit.

Mute Edd
    Favourite Edd
    May 24th 2023, 12:17 PM

As a motorist and of course a pedestrian I’m now looking forward to cycling and being a cyclist.
    New cycle ways and fenced off paths should make it easier

Mute Nick Cahill
    Favourite Nick Cahill
    May 22nd 2023, 8:47 PM

Like many people I drive a lot, and in many settings, country side, city, town etc. Cyclists everywhere, no issue with this, many make wrong decisions and display poor judgement. Same for motorists, many terrible ones, most are ok. What cyclists need to be better at is making better decisions around cycling on some dangerous rural roads, there should be a ban on this. It’s simply impractical for drivers to move at 20/30kph just in case there’s cyclists around the next bend. In my area there are more bends than straight stretches and it goes on for miles, yet it somehow seems to make sense for cyclists to get on the spandex and spend most of their spare time on these roads, sometimes solo, but usually 2 – 3 abreast. I’ve installed 2 cameras in my car, front and rear, as I’ve had abuse hurled at me in the past, and was simply for asking cyclists to not wave me on when they think it’s safe for me to pass, but I’m the driver, it’s my responsibility to make a decision to overtake when I can see it’s safe. The abuse I received that day was shocking. For me, if I have to go anywhere on the weekends, I need to get out of the house well before 8am otherwise forget about it, that’s not always practical for my circumstances. I know there was recently an injury to one with a tractor, from what I know the bike came out the worst, the cyclist seemed to have been only slightly hurt, but this could have been a death. Not all drivers hate cyclists, we do not want the grief and certainly do not want to harm anyone, but many cyclists do themselves no favours and probably make a bad name for most.