TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

€669 million saved through social welfare control measures in 2012

Jobseeker’s benefit was the only payment that had a lower rate of suspected fraud than departmental error.

Minister for Social Protection Joan Burton.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE MINISTER FOR Social Protection Joan Burton has said that some €669 million has been saved in her department through a broad range of control measures to address fraudulent claims and errors.

In total, more than one million reviews of individual social welfare claims were carried out, again exceeding target, which had been set at 985,000.

The progress report on the department’s ‘Fraud Initiative 2011-2013’, published today, shows that fraud and error claims for child benefit amount to just 0.5 per cent of expenditure. Of this, all 0.5 per cent related to suspected fraud and 0 per cent to error.

The total cost of fraud and error claims for disability allowance was 2.1 per cent with 1.2 per cent of this related to suspected fraud. The one parent family payment was found to have fraudulent or error claims totalling 2.7 per cent with 2.3 per cent related to suspected fraud.

The only area which had a lower rate of suspected fraud than error was Jobseeker’s Benefit which had a net cost of these types of claims of 1.6 per cent. Just 0.1 per cent of this was found to be related to suspected fraud and 1.5 per cent was related to error in the department

A total of 28,022 reports of fraud and abuse were dealt with in 2012 with most relating to allegations that a person was working and claiming benefits.

Using a predictive analytics model to identify certain groups that were likely to be non-compliant, 1,000 jobseeker cases were chosen and investigated to determine whether their claims were fraudulent.

The department’s ‘hit rate’, or accuracy in predicting this non-compliance in the people investigated, rose from 4.5 per cent to 6.3 per cent.

Based on the findings from the pilot, the department said that using this system to drive jobseeker investigations could deliver a further €50 million approximately in jobseeker welfare savings over three years.

Speaking today, Burton said the figures demonstrate the department’s commitment to stamping out welfare fraud and abuse.

“I have always championed the welfare system as a safety net for those who need it most, and that safety net is more important than ever in the current economic climate,” she said. “However, it’s precisely because the State’s limited resources should go to those most in need that we need to prevent fraud and abuse in the system.”

As a result of the department’s performance in this area, Burton has now set a target for €710 million in control savings to be achieved this year.

Read: New figures on foreign nationals ‘debunk migrant welfare myth’>
More: Only 61pc of families to receive full child benefit payments under new proposals>

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Is everyone who draws the dole classed as job seekers? If so why is guy living beside me getting job seekers for the last 20 years?? How is he getting away with it? Yet friend of mine on job seekers is been forced onto fas courses he has no interest in, everything he gets any work, he has to sign off and then has to go through whole speel again when his work ceases. Guy next door has never done fas course and is never called in for interview! Are they just lost on system or are SW not bothering to chase them up?

• If you want to catch another few thousand of em, just go into pennies and arrest everyone wearing pajamas buying pajamas. We’re all thinking it, I’m just saying it…..

• Now imagine if they did that for the criminals so they can pay their fines in court. I mean this for both the employed and unemployed.

• Theres hardly enough cash to go round genuine SW recipients as it is. Everyone who knows a fraudster should turn then in. If theyre not taking from your pocket now, they might be someday. Well done to this department in particular…

• Great to see something done and targets being met. Great to see that the vast majority of benefit claimants aren’t scroungers contrary to what some think.

• Depends on your definition of scrounger.

• And what’s yours Brian?

• €669 obviously were part of the scrounger brigade. Ill take it we are reading the same opiece and i am sure they are only the ones who got caught. There are thousands who have not worked a day in over 10 years. Talked to one guy on the air not so long ago, who is on disability for a bad back for 17 years and admitted he was fine. Another guy on disability for blindness and drives to post office. When i asked was he blind he said he was but only partially. So hes allowed drive and passed a driving test but cant work. Amazing huh.

Ireland has the highest rate of of Unemployed disabled. We get all weird when we use the word disabled because we think its wrong to doubt anybody. There are many genuine claims and we make little effort in Ireland to assist the genuine disabled to get work but then we have the back pain, fake depression and every other fake ailment that cant be proven or discredited that is claimed from the welfare.

We need to wake up to those who cant work and those who just wont work !!

• @Niall Boylan,
      I think that one should look into “disabled” with particular reference to the “extra” children’s allowance ,which to the best of my knowledge was not cut in the last budget…it just that i spoke to a teacher who said that they knew people who were in receipt of this money and they were perfectly fine in class………….. she told me that it was affectionately reffered to as the green book and felt that it was a throwback to insuring certain poor people voted for a certain Party……. this was of course an impossible assertion to qualify or prove so it is posted under that understanding !

• Of course there will be exceptions, but generally speaking, Someone who claims off taxpayers without any intention or determination to pay it back in the future.

• @ Niall Boylan.

Fair play to you for raising such sensitive issues in your show. Too much main stream media are afraid to tackle sensitive issues such as disability benefits for people who could easily be working.

• The fraud department pays for itself. Im amazed more resources arent utilused. Train new staff or hire ex Gardai with investigational backgrounds.

And throw more resources into the criminal assets bureau. There massively under resourced yet pay for themselves tenfold. Apply common sense

• A job well done, so.

• Without going into too much detail but i am aware of numerous people who are screwing the system blind and who have been reported on more than one occassion and are still getting their illegal payments and i find it sickening.

• Not all courses and opportunities to
    Re-skill are a waste of time. They keep people engaged and sometimes actually do lead to real jobs with real wages. Better than sitting at home and feeling depressed with the poor me’s.

• Population is 4.5 m but they can check 1m individual claims in a year which I’m sure does not represent all claimants. Just how many people in this country are claiming benefits? No wonder our finances are screwed

• The reality is that there is a lot of people screwing the system crossways and in my opinion the figures they have released arent a true reflection on what’s really going on.

• From one Joanie to another…you wanna dig deeper than that!

• dna30 08/03/13 #

While the saving is great & most welcome, it’s such a shame that she wasn’t allowed to focus her efforts on Health

• Red Ed 08/03/13 #

They don’t need as much welfare anymore because its easier to rob a house than wait in the dole queue.

• if they stopped sending people on stupid irrelevant courses and putting them on internships with scambridge and focused on creating paid jobs and growth then the numbers would fall off the live register and the only ones left would be the chancers, scroungers and nomadic indigenous criminals.

• It is good that this is been tackled. This isnt just scangers and foreign nationals it is people from all walks of life although the majority that are doing it are well known for it like scangers and other ethnic groups etc.

• Their fraud check is laughable only most stupid fraudsters are being caught. Not I condone it just see the reality. So I wouldn’t rush to them with congratulations….

• They need tougher penalties for those getting caught.
    Chain gangs would help, it would save the local authorities money. We could have them paint walks, cut grass, clean the streets etc

• Gross income for a person working 40 hr week minimum wage is €346.00. Take away USC, prsi, travel expenses, parking, tax, insurance and petrol. Not a lot left to live on. However never work, get €188.00 to sit on house with rent allowance, medical card and other allowances. Which person is better off??

• Good!! Now for td’s expenses

• They should do something about the huge salaries politicians get. They get around 4000 per week.

• Or maybe the dislikers think they deserve their massive salaries and pensions. Sheep.

• Shane,

Shut up.

• €92k a year isnt €4k a month.

• Allowances
      Travel and Accommodation: €12,000-€37,850 per annum depending on distance from the Leinster House. Senators get paid €7,000-€32,850 per annum and so-called “office holders” get paid €8,400-€36,150 per annum
      Public Representation Allowance: €15,000 for TDs (no evidence of expenditure required – unvouched) or up to €25,700 (supported by invoices and receipts – vouched); Ministers €12,000 (unvouched) to €20,000 (vouched); Senators €9,250 (unvouched) to €15,000 (vouched)
      Dual Abode allowance: This applies to ministers only and allows Ministers to claim tax deductions on mortgages, rental or hotel accommodation PLUS tax deductions for maintaining property and other expenses which can be up to €6,500 UNVOUCHED. According to Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan “a tax deduction can be claimed in respect of the amount of the annual interest actually paid on any loan taken out to purchase the second residence. In addition, Ministers can claim a deduction for the actual vouched costs expended in maintaining the second residence. Examples of maintenance costs in such circumstances are lighting, heating, repairs and insurance. As an alternative to vouched maintenance expenses, a tax deduction may be claimed on an amount of €6,500 per annum.” And “If the second residence is rented accommodation, Ministers can claim for the actual cost of renting the accommodation (i.e. the annual rent). In addition, Ministers can claim a tax deduction for the actual vouched costs expended in maintaining the second residence. Examples of maintenance costs in such circumstances are lighting, heating and insurance of contents. As an alternative to vouched expenses, a tax deduction may be claimed on an amount of €4,500 per annum” and “If Ministers use hotel or guesthouse accommodation as a second residence, they can claim for the actual cost of room rental (i.e. the annual hotel/guest house bill excluding meals, etc). In addition, they can claim for the actual vouched additional costs associated with maintaining a second residence in a hotel. Examples of maintenance costs in such circumstances are laundry, etc. As an alternative to vouched expenses, a tax deduction may be claimed on an amount of €3,500 per annum.”

• Does she consider kids with disabilities fraudsters parents are having to go to the high court to fight for their rights but they don’t want that on the papers

• ah the treating everyone on social welfare as fraudsters method

• She is doing SFA !!. It’s the staff that are doing it not her.
    Blackheart burton is just like the other clowns in the circus.

• Read to the end seriously and they think they are saving money. Extract from Donegal Daily news website– LIFFORD/CLONLEIGH RESOURCE CENTRE NOTES

March 6, 2013 Lifford Clonleigh Resource centre
    Local notes
    • Young parents Pathways programme is due to start end of March and is free: This programme is open to Young parents that would like to learn: Parenting Advice, Personal Development, Health Awareness, Paediatric First Aid and IT Qualification.

Also enjoy Fun days out for parents & children, Visits to health spas. All expenses are covered by this programme at no cost to the individual. There is also childcare supplements and free travel available. For further information or to receive an application form contact:

There ye have it, I’m quitting my job for free childcare and days out at health spas!!.

• Typical right-wing government taking attention away from real criminals such as bankers, politicians etc. Whatever way she wants to package and present it attempting to demonise the disabled, unemployed etc is wrong while the big fish are well looked after by the State. That aside it’s about time photo ID etc came in.

• Report said fraudulent child benefit claim. How is this possible

• Id say claiming for children that are not in the country and also claiming multiple times for same child (aparently its possible to do this if child is registered in different regions., so multiple pps nos which can be used to claim all sorts of welfare). Cant think of any other ways although im sure there are some.

• John 09/03/13 #

I suppose thats something for the grave robber to look forward to when she’s on the back benches after the next election.

• Finipops 08/03/13 #

Looks don’t matter as much as personality. :p

• Ryan'O 08/03/13 #

That’s a nice little pay packet to cover the cost of all those extra ps workers who are doing all the chasing, interviewing, paperwork and legwork.

• These figures refer to fraud AND errors yet the report is headed “Fraud” only.
    Civil servants covering themselves again?
    If the staff who make errors were treated as harshly as false claimants would we get an even better response?

• Merrrrrrrrrr

Add New Comment