You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman

Someone was caught doing 71km/hr over the legal limit yesterday

322 people were caught speeding in 24 hours.

A DRIVER CAUGHT doing 71km/hr over the limit was just one of 322 people speeding yesterday.

Gardaí checked the speeds of 176,521 vehicles on the country’s roads between 7am yesterday and 7am today as part of Operation Slow Down.

They say that the “objective was to reduce the number of speed related collisions, save lives and reduce injuries on our roads”.

While one driver was caught doing 121 km/hr in a 50km/hr zone in Ballynacarrow in Sligo, there were many others well over the speed limit.

Those include people doing:

• 140km/hr in a 100km/hr zone on the N4 at Joanstown, Ballinalack, Westmeath
  • 71km/hr in a 50 km/hr zone on the R675 at Abbeyside, Dungarvan, Waterford
  • 82 km/hr in a 60 km/hr on the R563 at Faha East, Faha, Kerry
  • 83 km/hr in a 60km/hr on the N21 at Croagh Rathkeale, Limerick
  • 133 km/hr in a 100 km/hr zone on the N3 at Huntstown, Dublin 15
  • 88km/hr in a 60km/hr zone on the N20 at Baltydaniel, West Mallow, Cork
  • 99km/hr in a 80km/hr zone on the R693 Clashacrow, Freshford, Kilkenny
  • 88km/hr in a 60km/hr zone on the N76 Parkmore, Kilkenny
  • 124 km/hr in a 100 km/hr zone on the N18 Cratloe, Clare
  • 120 km/hr in a 100 km/hr zone on the N15 Mount Temple, Grange, Sligo
  • 71 km/hr in a 50 km/hr zone on the R683 Knockboy, Waterford
  • 68 km/hr in a 50 km/hr zone on the R772 Knockanrahan, Lower Arklow, Wicklow
  • 128km/hr in a 80 km/hr zone on the R240 at Cashel, Carndonagh, Donegal
  • 100km/hr in a 80 km/hr zone on the R238 Lisfannan, Buncrana, Donegal
  • 119km/hr in a 100 km/hr zone on the N4 Cloonymeenaghan, Riverstown, Sligo

Aidan Reid of the Garda National Traffic Bureau said gardaí wanted to “thank those drivers who continue to be compliant and drive within the speed limit”. He reiterated the message to all motorists: “drive safely and slow down”.

Read: 20-year-old woman killed in two-car crash

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute gregory murphy
    Favourite gregory murphy
    May 28th 2016, 11:12 AM

Is that not 71km/h over ? ……. Just sayin’

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    May 28th 2016, 11:14 AM

It is but you can’t be expecting proof reading on the Journal.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    May 28th 2016, 1:24 PM

His laptop has a spellcheck but don’t do maths

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    May 28th 2016, 11:58 AM

68km in a 50? Bring that man straight to the gallows.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 29th 2016, 1:21 AM

We have one of the laziest police force, they can sit on side of 3 lane carriage way with 90% of cars in the wrong lane waiting on the odd car a few kph over the limit.

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    May 28th 2016, 1:30 PM

Speed vans cause motorists to jam on the brakes, even if they are under the limit. On a personal note, when was the last time there was an accident on the N4 Lucan East or West bound? Yet there is always a gatso. I know of two accident Black Spots close to me, and there is never a speed van. Why? Because not enough traffic there to make it profitable.

Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    May 28th 2016, 12:21 PM

I know the Cratloe one. It’s 120 just before it and the drops to 100 without any change in road quality and not enough limit signs to make sure you know. Sorry for individual caught there. Probably had no idea he/she hit the 100 zone.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    May 28th 2016, 12:38 PM

How come you know? Sure they’re the ones out driving. They know but don’t care.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    May 28th 2016, 12:40 PM

That’s incorrect, the speed limit changes back at the Shannon Airport exit. Which is a good bit back.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 28th 2016, 12:49 PM

That’s 10kms inside the 100kms zone. If the driver doesn’t know the difference between motorway and dual carriageway road markings
    and signage or can’t see the numerous 100km signs maybe they shouldn’t be on the road.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    May 28th 2016, 2:34 PM

Paul some dual carriageways have 120kmh speeds on them.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 28th 2016, 3:37 PM

Which is why I said “and can’t see the numerous 100km signs”

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    May 28th 2016, 5:14 PM

In my view Paul the signage is not great. I do find from time to time I miss a sign & I’m unsure of the speed limit. In Germany it’s a constant barrage of signs. You cannot but see them. I don’t find that in Ireland. I also feel with the technology now in cars we should at least have an indication on our binnacle. That way there’s no excuses.

Mute t
    Favourite t
    May 28th 2016, 8:34 PM

If they had an IQ test as part of a driving test I wonder how many would fail?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 28th 2016, 10:22 PM

The road marking and colour of road signs change. If a person has a licence, even a learners permit there is no excuse for not knowing the difference.

Mute Darren McNamara
    Favourite Darren McNamara
    May 28th 2016, 11:36 AM

Did you fail maths in the leaving cert paul haha.

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    May 28th 2016, 11:42 AM

Haha brilliant because you learn basic subtraction in leaving cert..

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    May 28th 2016, 11:43 AM

Careful Darren.Your comment could very well be deleted.

Mute Darren McNamara
    Favourite Darren McNamara
    May 28th 2016, 12:58 PM

There is nothing worse when you put your heart and soul into a comment only for it to be deleted ha

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    May 28th 2016, 12:25 PM

And they want to reduce the limit to a farcical 30kph in Dublin.Think they should be targeting rural road users instead.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    May 28th 2016, 4:27 PM

Speed enforcement will never get public support because it is by nature and implementation a crude tool which results in substantial collateral damage, namely the wrong categories of drivers being convicted while serious offenders get off regularly. What makes this all the more galling are the penalty points for three years on so many folk who are largely law abiding except for these rare occassions when they are often ‘trapped’ in a sneaky way which undermines law enforcement and the judiciary.

Mute Simeon
    Favourite Simeon
    May 28th 2016, 12:46 PM

If the person caught was a TD or a judge or a rugby international we wouldn’t be having this conversation. Garda corruption is still a huge problem.

Mute Mark Fields
    Favourite Mark Fields
    May 28th 2016, 11:37 AM

I once had a supervisor who told of getting a speeding ticket on the way to work. I would have been more supportive of him had it been when he was going away from work.

Anyway he challenged the ticket, on the basis was the radar device calibrated? It had not been and the traffic court judge dismissed the charges and all those who were ticketed that day.

Mute Patrick Lenehan
    Favourite Patrick Lenehan
    May 28th 2016, 1:52 PM

322 xE 80 =E 25760…That’s what its all about and anyone that thinks differently is a fool especially those that say differently (nudge,nudge)

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    May 28th 2016, 2:33 PM

And it cost 100k to collect it.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    May 28th 2016, 2:36 PM

The selection of the zones, “safety zones” choosen, is problematic and often for dubious reasoning. The only van I spotted yesterday was on a very short stretch of 60km/hr squeezed into a long 80 km/hr…an obvious trap in my books.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    May 28th 2016, 11:12 AM

Why don’t we have permanent speed cameras like every other EU country?

Mute Seamus Corcoran
    Favourite Seamus Corcoran
    May 28th 2016, 11:30 AM

Because the providers wouldn’t make as much money out of a one off provision.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    May 28th 2016, 11:34 AM

Because we can get around them like we do in Germany France Belgium the UK & the rest of Europe. Thankfully or else we would be paying fines non stop.

Mute Piaras
    Favourite Piaras
    May 28th 2016, 1:09 PM

One in Dublin on a dual carriageway. Yet there’ll be vans all over the city next weekend where no dies.

Mute Tomas Lyne
    Favourite Tomas Lyne
    May 28th 2016, 11:18 AM

In for a penny

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    May 28th 2016, 1:15 PM

Is this a PR stunt like all the arrests the Gardai make? The Gardai must be sick carrying out their duty simply to make their superiors appear to doing their jobs.

Mute Miriam O'Keeffe
    Favourite Miriam O'Keeffe
    May 28th 2016, 3:36 PM

I see worse offences than speeding everyday on all roads and the gardai nowhere in sight.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 28th 2016, 3:56 PM

Trafficwatch

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    May 28th 2016, 11:53 AM

With speeders their be no revenue,look at the history the main reason the were introduced was for revenue not safety, safety was use to sell it. Our roads death pay have gone and it is not because we have stopped speeding, the factors are better roads, more motor ways, less Irish people heading down the country on bank holidays, and with ones that do go they travel on better and much safer road than what there once with less congestion.

The media always plaster headline speeding car kills… What is speeding the road into Baldoyle use to be 50 now it 60, If a driver crash before at 58 the be speeding reckless driver etc… Now the be driving safely.
    We need an over haul of our speed limited , but they wont they rather us believe speeding is the main cause but it not.

If the told the truth half the people would get back in car ever, our roads death may have gone down but those with life changeling injures is just as bad if not worst.

Mute Ulick McGee
    Favourite Ulick McGee
    May 28th 2016, 8:14 PM

I was stopped for doing 68kph in a 60 kph zone. I asked the nice Garda could I see for myself the speed on the camera and she refused saying she was not obliged to show me. I told her I wanted to see the date of the last calibration and the again she refused but looked puzzled. I would have thought if I am going to be prosecuted I have the right to verify my speed and that the equipment is working and calibrated.

Mute Martin Daly
    Favourite Martin Daly
    May 28th 2016, 11:51 AM

If I remember right, most of the permanent gatso cameras we had were set on fire.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    May 28th 2016, 2:55 PM

More BS
    There is a bad bend coming from Waterford into Cork over the Youghal bridge crossing the Blackwater.
    Someone not in their right mind put a 100kph sign just before the bad bend…

Mute STARVIN MARVIN
    Favourite STARVIN MARVIN
    May 28th 2016, 1:20 PM

Well they have proof of wreck-less driving on country roads !!!! And they get cheaper insurance !!!! Why ???

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    May 28th 2016, 7:04 PM

Way less than 1%? They’re obviously not very good at hiding in the bushes. They should have hired flashers to hold the speed guns.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    May 28th 2016, 8:27 PM

I wonder what the lowest speed offender caught was doing speed wise? what speed do you have to be going before your technically prosecuted as there has to be a margin of error as the instruments they are using are not 100% as they have to be calibrated.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    May 28th 2016, 6:52 PM

133 km/hr on the N3 at Huntstown ? The N3 doesn’t go through Huntstown, and the Huntstown Road speed limit is far less than 100 km/hr

Mute Baron Von Harding™
    Favourite Baron Von Harding™
    May 29th 2016, 9:14 AM

For all the people giving out, suggesting it’s only a money making exercise, what do you suggest as an alternative? No speed limits, with zero enforcement? I can’t see that improving Road safety statistics……

Mute Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Favourite Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    May 29th 2016, 10:18 PM

Go to court, tell the judge you are not happy about handing money to an organisation that is rife with corruption allegations, but you will take the points and make the donation to Pieta house or another charity (providing you are guilty of course)

Mute Steve Hehir
    Favourite Steve Hehir
    May 28th 2016, 10:21 PM

How many tickets were issued for those breaking the 100/120 kph limits & how many were issued for those breaking the 50/60 kph limits….I dare say the split is probably 80% to 20%…like shooting fish in a barrel with the lower limits, this despite the Garda top brass coming out during the week claiming..”speed kills”!!..

Mute Chris O' Connor
    Favourite Chris O' Connor
    May 28th 2016, 12:43 PM

Is km/hr the correct abbreviation ? I have always used kmh thinking that was correct.

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    May 28th 2016, 1:23 PM

Km/h is the most commonly used.

Mute Carl Lowry
    Favourite Carl Lowry
    May 28th 2016, 4:19 PM

I van paid for…199 left

Mute Brian Holmes
    Favourite Brian Holmes
    May 29th 2016, 4:46 PM

No body speeding in Mayo all out celebrating the Connaught win

Mute Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Favourite Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    May 29th 2016, 10:15 PM

If all those caught respond and cough up within the first time limitation that is a grand total of €25760, that’s some money to be putting in to an organisation that’s rife with corruption allegations

Mute ThePale Presents
    Favourite ThePale Presents
    May 28th 2016, 11:23 AM

Because they get destroyed

Mute Geraldine Patricia
    Favourite Geraldine Patricia
    May 29th 2016, 1:41 PM

my name is Geraldine Patricia from Ireland an Eireannach/irish nationality i am here to share my glory and happiness in life with you all on how this woman of integrity full of wonders Called Dr Maria Rosa of Cherish House Of Loans Company, help me in obtaining a loan after searching all the way for a loan and after the stress of getting a loan i finally stumble into a post by some one who still on the internet share her own testimony on how she had helped her so i said to myself if this is it i will give it a trial i applied as directed by the person all due process were followed and to my surprise i got the loan in my bank account a loan of $149,000USD because i was looking for it to buy a house until now i never knew there are still geniue people like her but now i believe so much so my good people of the world i am using this opportunity to direct you to her too as she is the real loan lender i have seen this is the company emails cherishhouseofloans@gmail.com contact her now and see or yourself thanks and may God continue to bless you madam as i now own a house of my own. email cherishhouseofloans@gmail.com