Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 16 °C Saturday 20 October, 2018

#story of my pub

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 17 October, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 10 October, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 3 October, 2018

The Easter Rising holdout where a Leinster captain pulled pints: The incredible history of the Swan Bar

“I stuck the rugby jerseys up on the wall, they were all in the hot press.”

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 26 September, 2018

'It has the best view of any pub in Ireland': The secret behind the great pints at JJ Bowles

There’s more to it than just Limerick’s oldest pub.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 19 September, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 12 September, 2018

'It put another string to my bow': How one of Ireland's best-known trad musicians came to own a pub in Westport

Matt Molloy’s name is synonymous with The Chieftains, Planxty, and a beloved Mayo bar.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 5 September, 2018

'It's kept the street alive in tough times': How Tom Barry's became a local institution in Cork

From a tiny two-room pub to an icon of Cork nightlife.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 29 August, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 22 August, 2018

'We have the old bits and pieces exactly as they were': Bringing a 107-year-old Cavan pub back to life

The restoration of Gartlan’s was painstaking work for Sheila and Padraic Smith, but it was worth every minute.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 15 August, 2018

'There's no sign above the door that says pub': The legendary Tipp house that hosts a once-a-week session

Jim of the Mills opens every Thursday, for a session that has become famous.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 8 August, 2018

'You could be sitting beside a biker or a priest': How the Spirit Store makes for a special brew

The Dundalk institution, still going strong after two decades.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 1 August, 2018

'It's a proper Dublin institution': How Fallon's in Dublin 8 has survived for 400 years

The magic of the place that absolutely nobody calls ‘The Capstan Bar’.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 25 July, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 18 July, 2018

'Probably the most viewed Irish pub in the world': How O'Connor's in Salthill shot to unexpected stardom

It’s been called O’Connor’s Famous Pub for years – but now it has 375 million views on YouTube.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 11 July, 2018

'A country pub in the city': How the Royal Oak in Kilmainham became a pub for everyone

Dee Costello on how the ‘pub you might find up a mountain’ has changed down the years.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 4 July, 2018

'Roger Moore popped in for a few drinks': Why French's pub in Gorey is a true original

A Wexford institution, the pub has been in the French family since 1890.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 27 June, 2018

'Come for the view, stay for the craic': The mountain magic of the Blue Light pub

The Barnacullia landmark that’s a local to people from all over Dublin.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 20 June, 2018

'It's a real meeting house': Why Dubliners still flock to The Lord Edward for a pint

The Christchurch pub has been going strong for over a century.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 13 June, 2018

'We're just beginning to pick up on the gin thing now': Finding a new era at The Old Thatch

It’s Ireland’s oldest thatched pub, but The Thatch in Killeagh is starting to cater to a modern crowd.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 6 June, 2018

'We took over a careworn building': How L Mulligan Grocer made an unknown pub famous

Seaneen Sullivan, co-owner of the Stoneybatter landmark, on a whirlwind eight years.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 30 May, 2018

'His life was saved by a rat': The incredible stories behind MacCarthy’s Bar in Castletownbere

What do pugs, a samurai sword, and a Buddhist centre have in common? We’ll give you one guess.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 23 May, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 16 May, 2018

'Whoever made it, they put an atmosphere in the walls': The magic of the Blackbird in Ballycotton

“The lads are playing and you’re just sitting next to them.”

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 9 May, 2018

'It's a local for people who don't live locally': The story of Dublin's Victorian gem The Long Hall

And how two babies led the current owners to take over.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 2 May, 2018

'The cats came with the pub': Why the Harbour Bar isn't just a drinking spot, it's an institution

The owner of Bray’s finest watering hole tells his story.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 25 April, 2018

'It was like watching Homeland': The tiny Louth pub that hosted the Vice President

Lily Finnegans in Whitestown, near Carlingford, has a storied history.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 18 April, 2018

'When you come here, you get a warm feeling': The South Pole Inn is anything but chilly

The story of the pub that belonged to Antarctic explorer Tom Crean.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 11 April, 2018

Nuns' habits, fishing tackle and a *very* famous dog: Killeen's of Shannonbridge has it all

A photo taken in the pub is now one of Ireland’s most recognisable viral images.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 4 April, 2018

'It just has that certain wee thing': The Donegal trad pub where everyone joins in the music

At The Reel Inn, there’s a trad session seven nights a week – and a great pint too.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 28 March, 2018

'He's working on the leather and I'm pouring beer': The story of Dick Mack's in Dingle

Half-pub, half-leather shop, Dick Mack’s has been a fixture in the town since 1899.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 21 March, 2018

'Everyone is the same once they cross the threshold': The Clonakilty pub where Jimi Hendrix's bassist played

De Barra’s is an institution – and it all started as a plumbing job for the landlord’s mother-in-law.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 14 March, 2018

'The dancer is 6ft 4in and captain of the Galway minor football team': The story of Ti Joe Watty's on Inis Mór

Ti Joe Watty’s has been offering a warm welcome for decades.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 7 March, 2018

'Monks are buried under the beer garden': The story of Franciscan Well Cork

How a monastic graveyard became one of Ireland’s first craft brewers.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 28 February, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 21 February, 2018

'Like walking into a rural Irish house': The Dublin Mountains hideout that is Johnnie Fox's

You’ll find a Singer sewing machine, a vintage phone box – and a great pint.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 14 February, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 7 February, 2018

Sean's Bar in Athlone is Ireland's oldest pub - and a bona fide tourist attraction

The pub dates back to 900 AD, thanks to an enterprising young man named Luain.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 31 January, 2018

'We have everything from bikers and mods to God knows everything' - The enduring popularity of Downes' in Waterford

The pub that has everything from its own whiskey to a squash court out the back.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 24 January, 2018

Nancy's is the Donegal pub that's like stepping into your granny's good room

Step into Nancy’s and make yourself at home.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 17 January, 2018

'If someone comes in at 10pm, we can get them a box of nails': Borris' legendary pub and hardware shop

We talk to Michael O’Shea of O’Shea’s in Borris, Co Carlow.

1 2

Trending Tags