Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 20 April, 2018

#story of my pub

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 18 April, 2018

'When you come here, you get a warm feeling': The South Pole Inn is anything but chilly

The story of the pub that belonged to Antarctic explorer Tom Crean.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 11 April, 2018

Nuns' habits, fishing tackle and a *very* famous dog: Killeen's of Shannonbridge has it all

A photo taken in the pub is now one of Ireland’s most recognisable viral images.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 4 April, 2018

'It just has that certain wee thing': The Donegal trad pub where everyone joins in the music

At The Reel Inn, there’s a trad session seven nights a week – and a great pint too.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 28 March, 2018

'He's working on the leather and I'm pouring beer': The story of Dick Mack's in Dingle

Half-pub, half-leather shop, Dick Mack’s has been a fixture in the town since 1899.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 21 March, 2018

'Everyone is the same once they cross the threshold': The Clonakilty pub where Jimi Hendrix's bassist played

De Barra’s is an institution – and it all started as a plumbing job for the landlord’s mother-in-law.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 14 March, 2018

'The dancer is 6ft 4in and captain of the Galway minor football team': The story of Ti Joe Watty's on Inis Mór

Ti Joe Watty’s has been offering a warm welcome for decades.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 7 March, 2018

'Monks are buried under the beer garden': The story of Franciscan Well Cork

How a monastic graveyard became one of Ireland’s first craft brewers.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 28 February, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 21 February, 2018

'Like walking into a rural Irish house': The Dublin Mountains hideout that is Johnnie Fox's

You’ll find a Singer sewing machine, a vintage phone box – and a great pint.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 14 February, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 7 February, 2018

Sean's Bar in Athlone is Ireland's oldest pub - and a bona fide tourist attraction

The pub dates back to 900 AD, thanks to an enterprising young man named Luain.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 31 January, 2018

'We have everything from bikers and mods to God knows everything' - The enduring popularity of Downes' in Waterford

The pub that has everything from its own whiskey to a squash court out the back.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 24 January, 2018

Nancy's is the Donegal pub that's like stepping into your granny's good room

Step into Nancy’s and make yourself at home.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 17 January, 2018

'If someone comes in at 10pm, we can get them a box of nails': Borris' legendary pub and hardware shop

We talk to Michael O’Shea of O’Shea’s in Borris, Co Carlow.

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 10 January, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Wednesday 3 January, 2018

# story-of-my-pub - Thursday 21 December, 2017

'Some people think it's trendspotting. It is in its b*****ks': How beloved Dublin boozer MVP came to be

The dog-friendly pub that specialises in cocktails and spuds.

# story-of-my-pub - Tuesday 19 December, 2017

'It's a little museum full of wonders': The magic of Levis' Corner House in Ballydehob

And how the landlady once told Kevin Costner he’d never make it as an actor.

Trending Tags