TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

TD calls for extension and flexibility on household charge

Earlier this week, Dept of the Environment figures showed that fewer than one in ten homes have registered to pay.

Image: Images_of_Money via Creative Commons

A LABOUR TD has called on Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan to consider granting an extension to the deadline for paying the €100 Household Charge introduced in Budget 2012.

Kevin Humphreys said today that the deadline for paying the charge via direct debit (which passed yesterday) should be extended to the end of the month.

He also called on the minister to enable An Post to process the charge, giving people greater flexibility in paying the charge.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this evening, Humphreys said that his older constituents in particular have been voicing their concerns over the methods of payment, while others have said that they don’t have a bank account and would prefer to pay it through the post office.

“Older constituents that don’t use computers are finding it very difficult to make the payment. They want to pay but are finding it very inconvenient. So there’s a willingness to pay it, but there’s a difficulty in doing it.”

The TD said he had not received many complaints from people who were refusing to pay the charge. “What I have been hearing is that people are having a difficulty with the method of payment. We haven’t made it easy or customer friendly.”

Figures provided to TheJournal.ie earlier this week by the Department of the Environment showed that fewer than one in ten homes liable for the charge have registered to pay it. Yesterday marked the deadline for paying by direct debit; the overall deadline for paying the fee is 31 March, after which late payment fees will apply.

Read: Fewer than one in ten homes have registered for Household Charge >

Read next:

Comments (80 Comments)

• I think this is a case of Labour sayinging “Uh oh, nobody’s paying. Better give them more time, otherwise it’ll be blatantly obvious we don’t have the capacity to take everyone to court.”

#fail

• alan 01/03/12 #

agreed

the labour party bag men back at work

why are they not opposing this charge? the spin that it represents a kind of welath tax (which a lot of us would agree with if it WAS a wealth tax/rates) is ridiculous

• I aint payed and i dont intend on paying, My wages have been decimated and my costs are going up. Until i see the bankers solicitors and builders oh and politicians being punished for causing this balls im not paying them a red cent.

• Does anyone know if you can pay in 1 cent coins in installments. They’re down the back of the sofa and pretty manky with it. I think the cat flung some into the shitbox too but the local council would have to accept them? (Only if they catch up with me and I exhausted all escape routes). No f*ck it I not paying.

• Il spend a few years in jail before I pay Fuking bastards lineing there own pockets more tax more pain half the country driven half way around the world to get a job Fuk them they won’t see any money off me and I hope ye have enough sense not to pay it!

• Even if you are in a position to pay this now, ask yourself this

1. Will I still have this job Im in this time next year?

2. What new tax will they pass in the next budget even if I can afford it now?

3,Will I still have the same wages/salary this time next year providing my wages/salary don,t get cut and reduced?

4. When I am in my old age, will I be able to pay all these new taxes on my home when I am relying on my pension?

5, And finally if I can afford a household tax of €100 at the present moment, would I be able to afford to a full property tax combined with water charges at over €1000?

There is no consideration of ability to pay with the household tax, no consideration is taken into account of those on unemployment benifits, disabilty benifits, old age pension,negative equity,

Make no mistake, any of these new charges/taxes/whatever they call them, will not go away once the current crisis ends

• jimbo 01/03/12 #

Also it is a bit bloody late the damage is done we are not paying….

• Labour should hang their heads, they’ve become nothing but a whipping boy to FG. Not the principles on which labour was founded.

• We paid enough tax on our homes in stamp duty. If this tax gets traction it will be multiples of one hundred next year and there after. No more extra taxes !!! The well is dry!!!!!!!
    ” It time we had some social justice in this country”

• The finance manager of fingal co. council recently told cllrs. that not a cent of this tax would go towards providing local amenities ,maintaining parks, estates etc. It’s for a ‘central fund ‘ eg the bondholders fund . .

• You losers. We don’t want an extension. You’re getting your message on 31st March. We’re not paying.

Don’t Register. Don’t Pay. Don’t Panic.

• My advice to people is don’t register in the first place if you don’t intend to pay. People are kidding themselves that the money will go to fund local authorities, where it is actually going to pay senior bondholders who took a gamble . I am not paying any household charge. I have just payed the car tax, which was very hard to raise, from my dole which is meant to fund local authorities, and it was higher this year than last year. Later on in the year, I will have car insurance, and will have to find the money for that. I really need a car, as I live in a rural area, and need to get my grocery shopping as I couldn’t carry alot on a bus, and then walk home with alot of bags. Anyway 100 euro is alot for people on the dole old age pension, and for those with incomes under 200 euros, as they have also got electric bills and gas bills as well. 100 euro is nothing to the politicians, as their incomes are triple times larger than ours, and they can live comfortable each week, whereas the likes of us have most of the time, are left with only 5 euros left after paying bills. It is allright for them to say to us to pay the household charge, but they don’t realise how much people are suffering. In a year or two, it will be 1000 euros and the dole will probably be cut then, and how do they expect people to pay, and live at the same time. I am not paying anything until all the bankers and developers are punished and brought to justice. If that was america, they would all be in jail by now serving sentences.

• The kop 01/03/12 #

why OAP’s are being made to pay in the first place really angers me…. and i talking about the oap’s that are living off the state pension.barely getting by..living in darkness and cold in fear of getting electric bills that they wont be able to pay..no morals in this government …total disgrace….labour should hang their heads in shame…
    and i for one will never pay…”this morally wrong, unjust and unfair tax that they want to introduce on a persons home”….Enda kenny’s words….not mine….

• Reg 01/03/12 #

Bollix! Married pensioners get about 2 grand a month on the state pension. Given that that most of them have no morgage and some of their bills subsidised they are pretty well of comapred to many working families. Now single penioners area a different matter and allownaces will have to made for low income pensioners but to say that all OAPs should be exempt from a household/property/council tax when it intoduced next year is rubbish.

• It is unjust unfair morally wrong and disgraceful after all the income tax vat on products vat on petrol diesel and all that one buys through life vat here there and everything and on income of coarse and the one thing which as a house holder struggled and worried to make mortgage repayments so that myself and my husband after the family would have flown the nest have a little security for our old age pay for our own home and have no rent in our old age but now that we are not far from the old age we are told we have to pay this house hold charge (RENT) to the government cos they mismanaged the books and allowed others (Bankers,Bondholders, Developers,Brown evenlopes to politicians Etc Etc etc ) so NO I AM NOT PAYING ANOTHER RED CENT NO HOUSEHOLD CHARGE

• I for one am not giving them a red cent. I made a huge decision 10 yrs ago and bought myself a house which is now MY home. Would I have been better off getting pregnant at 17 and being a burden on the government / tax payer by making them provide me with housing etc ??? Some would say yes ! However instead of rewarding home owners for not being a burden on the government we are being penalised for buying our homes – this is just not right and people we shouldn’t pay !!

• If you sign up to the charge and as it is a contract does the 14 day cooling off period apply, where you can cancel the contract.?

• Just go away hogan
    All you guys should just GO AWAY

• Fewer than one in ten registered is not people finding it hard to pay. It’s the country telling you that they ain’t taking this charge that the government who work for us have so blithely handed down. I for one am all in favour of a little civil disobedience, keeps them on their toes and lets them know we still have teeth. We are not paying!

• Send me a bill and notification then I will consider it for all I know this money could be used for giving me membership to the local gym ?

• tom curtis you have hit the nail on the head cut cut cut and cut the fat cats again

• Why don’t you just get the picture and scrap it. We, the people are sick of bailing out the banks and paying for foreign gamblers.
    Wonder how many of his Constituents told him they wouldnt pay it full stop and if he passed that message on to Phil hogan?
    Don’t register. Don’t pay. Don’t panic.

• Anyone know where I can buy one of those plants in the picture?

• ha ha …. This man is a joke . Does he not get it .
    Only 8% have paid it so far . That means 92%
    Have not registered or paid. The man is terrified.
    This Government is a joke . Sieg Heil.

• B7584 01/03/12 #

How about i extend my middle finger towards fg/lab and the household charge?
    Roll on march 31st.
    Dont register,pay or panic.

• Does anyone think that the the government knew we would never pay this charge. And they will now use nonpayment as the basis for the April budget! Possibly excise increases!

• Ya just print more shity leaflets with ink money .
    Sorry I pissed off,
    Now government
    Fuck off idoits

• I’m convinced at this stage that people red thumb comments without even reading them. Shows their intelligence really. Look at the red thumbs on this!

• So none of ye are in favour of the household tax, water charges or property taxes – yet at the same time rail against every single cutback going?

And most are vehemently oppose both the Troika and the bondholders who have plugged the gap in public spending and taxes – around €16bn this year.

So without the government borrowing further to plug, where do ye propose the €16bn should come from if tax increases and spending cuts are both off the agenda? Oh and “tax the rich” might work for the first year, but not the second and definitely not to the tune of €16bn.

• This money goes straight out of the country. It doesn’t benefit our community.

• Incorrect. It is paid to local authorities, who are obviously based in this country.

• Start by seizing every asset belonging Johnny Ronan and all the other NAMA scumbags and putting it towards the public purse. Cut all public sector pay over 100 grand by 50%. Cut all bank employee pay over 100 grand by 75%. Stop subsidising private schools and private pensions. Tell unsecured bond holders to take a jump. String Bertie up from the tallest lamp-post in Drumcondra and let people throw rotten fruit at him.
      Then and only then go to middle and low income families and ask them to pay €100 euro a year for the privilege of living in their own home.

• Spot on Tom well put.

• B7584 01/03/12 #

I love nothing more than red-thumbing your comments.

• B7584 01/03/12 #

That red thumbing comment is @ ryan allen BTW.

• Ryan. You say it’s going straight to local authorities. I ask you where have local authorities received funding up till now? Thin air?

They’re shipping it out to pay bondholders. What’s to stop them funding hospitals and making up a hospital charge?

This is a Troika Tax pure and simple and we’re saying NO.

• @ Paul Jacob: Don’t be so rude as to suggest I’m a liar. It cuts the amount of funding central government has to pay out to local authorities, thus making a dent in the €16bn mentioned above.

@ Tom: Thanks for making some suggestions. There would be some savings there, but I very much doubt it’d add up to €16bn.

@ B: I’d better keep commenting then. Clearly clicking a button is easier for you than engaging in a debate.

• @ Réada: Local authorities have traditionally been funded largely by grants from central government. Rates have been the other main source of funding.

• David 01/03/12 #

It’s a sinn fein/ULA thing ryan. Let someone else pay, same as the print cartridges. Tax the rich, bla, bla, bla. Plant a big money tree forest, Tax the workers and reward the slackers is their way. I bet every one of them cheered on all the ridiculous tax cuts, giveaways and overheating of the economy during the last decade.

• @ Ryan. Paid to the local authorities, if that’s the case they can f**k off. My local authority already got 5000 off me for development levies when I built 3 years ago. This was for so called services and amenities. I live on a bog road with grass in the middle and potholes like craters. ( none of my money spent there). There is no street lighting, incidentally that’s the way i like it but that was also listed as one of the services my 5 grand was providing. ( none of my money spent here either). I provide my own sewerage disposal in the form of a septic tank, this was also listed as one of the services I was getting. Which now they also want to charge me for that as well. I haven’t seen one iota of benefit for my 5 grand other than being given permission to build a house which would have been declined otherwise. So u see I think people are delusional if they think this money is going to go to local authorities and benefit people. U won’t see jack shit for ur money. It will go straight out the door to pay off the bailout. Rant over

• 1) burn the unsecured bondholders
      2) increase top rate of tax to 60% for incomes over 100k
      3) equitable property tax (value\income)
      4) democratic local Govt

There u go answer to your question

• Ryan. These “grants” you think have funded local authorities… I’m going to let you into a little secret. The government didn’t magic these grants. They were our taxes. Our money.

If we give into this mafia style reallocation of our money to pay unsecured bondholders what’s to stop them inventing a new tax, for example a hospital tax. They have to be stopped Ryan and it seems the mood of the nation is ripe to take them on.

• @ Brian: Your frustration for having paid so much already is obvious. But the once off nature of that payment highlights the unsustainable tax system that FF created, which was focused on windfall taxes rather than annual, reoccurring ones. That is why when the property market collapsed in 2008, so did revenues. An annual property tax doesn’t correct what happened to you, but instead is a step towards a properly balanced taxation system where the same sudden drop in tax revenues won’t happen again in the future.

@ Stephen: Burning the bondholders is a separate issue from the €16bn gap between spending and tax revenue. That is long term debt as opposed to day to day spending. Tax rate of 60% is one suggestion, however like I say above it wouldn’t be enough to plug a €16bn gap. Also people deciding to move to avoid it would mean that it might have to be a 60% tax on incomes over 90k in year 2 and 80k in year 3 etc. The household charge is due to become more equitable in the next couple of years. Ideally this would have been the way from the start. And the introduction of a changed local government system would be an expense rather than a saving/revenue generator.

@ Réada: Yes these funds were our taxes, but the tax system wasn’t sustainable. It was based on once off taxes as opposed to annual payments. You advocate a third tax rate on the wealthy – surely that would also be “mafia style reallocation of our money to pay unsecured bondholders”?

• @ Ryan unless I’ve missed something the taxes I pay are a yearly event. If they want to introduce a property tax they can as long as they reduce the tax I already have to pay every year which goes to funding local authorities in part. If they don’t do that it’s yet another double taxation. I pay car tax it seems to fund bigger pot holes. I pay tax already to provide lighting in my local area, funny that no street lights in my area. Pay for my own bin costs, pay for my own septic tank etc,. No way will I pay this property tax which is designed to allow the government to funnel away the taxes I already pay to pay off bad bank debts.

• The gov cut spending to councils to pay bond holders so they are asking us to fill the gap. Are u delusional to think this is for benefit of local services.

• No Ryan. A higher tax band for the wealthy isn’t mafia style. It’s called paying your fair share. Fair play. An admirable concept IMO.

• @ Kerry: You may pay income tax and other taxes annually, but in terms of the tax you would have paid when you bought your home – stamp duty – that is a once off payment. Which means that government (local or national) have an incentive to approve applications in the short term in order to generate revenue. An annual charge is far more sustainable. The big decline from 2007 onwards was because the tax base was unsustainable and a large part of it was funded by once off taxes as opposed to annually reoccurring ones.

@ David: As I’ve said several times already, there’s an annual difference of €16bn between the amount government takes in and the amount it spends. Tax increases are one way of rectifying this. I can’t understand why people struggle to understand that even if there were no bondholders at all, there would still be cutbacks and tax increases because of the €16bn difference.

@ Réada: So the tax YOU agree with isn’t mafia style. Lovely. And what about when this tax is made progressive in 2014? Will that meet your socialist requirements? I find it ironic that in so many other countries this is the kind of tax socialists would be introducing, but in Ireland its the one they protest most against. ULA and others want the government to pay for everything, yet don’t agree with the taxes necessary to go along with it. And please don’t make out that a third rate of tax = €16bn extra government income.

• Ray D 01/03/12 #

Pay the household charge ye scabby b*stards. It’s only €100,

• Have paid, like I did pay the council tax in UK! Problem is the people haven’t grasped how we could model this payment on UK council tax and get decent Gardai, social care and utility services from the local councils! But no, fight the system as opposed to pay and change the system!!

• I registered but haven’t paid. Can I get out of it?

• I registered but didn’t pay. Can I still get out of it or am I fucked?

Add New Comment