TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

VIDEO: Teacher of the Year criticises the “injustice” of system and “teacher-bashing”

English teacher Evelyn O’Connor made an emotional speech about the issue of non-permanency and her anger with education policies here. Watch her speech….

Evelyn O'Connor (in blue holding award) with some of her students

A YOUNG MAYO teacher who was  this week named the Secondary School Teacher of Year has said that she doesn’t even know if she’ll have a job next year.

In an acceptance speech which turned into an emotional stripping down of what she calls the “injustice” of the secondary school system, Evelyn O’Connor, an English teacher at Mount St Michael Secondary School in Claremorris on Co Mayo told those in attendance that the contract she was about the sign would:

effectively deny me a secure future in this school because of a bizarre bureaucratic nightmare.

O’Connor has been teaching English “and a small bit of French” at Mount St Michael for three years. Before that she had a permanent position in Ennis, but left there in 2009 to come home to Mayo to a school where she thought her skills might be needed.

She told TheJournal.ie that at that time redeployment – the practice of moving permanent teachers between schools as positions arise – didn’t exist, and she thought her decision seemed like a wise one.

This is a video of the powerful and emotional speech she made on Wednesday:

Every time a teacher is redeployed – in most cases against their wishes – a non-permanent teacher loses their job. It seems in our new low-cost education system, all teachers are equal, but some teachers are more equal than others.

Video uploaded by EvelynOConnor1 (her speech begins at 1.25)

O’Connor told TheJournal.ie that she struggled with the idea of whether or not she should speak up.

She said stakes are high because her husband is not working, but that she just couldn’t live with her conscience if she passed up the opportunity to use her Teacher of the Year platform to speak up.

“Fictional contracts”

The school want me here. You the students seem to want me here. And I want to be here.

O’Connor said that the system of “fictional contracts” offered by the Department of Education means that she could be forced to go to a different school and start her career all over again, even though she’s been teaching for nine years.

She told TheJournal.ie that in the past teaching was all about seniority, and that if you bided your time eventually you would get a secure position. She said however that the current system of Contracts of Indefinite Duration (CID) is being abused by the Department, meaning that it can be very difficult for a teacher to secure a permanent position.

She said:

The Government want us and the public to believe that they haven’t cut the pupil teacher ratio but this is a carefully crafted illusion… schools are a maths equation to them.

O’Connor said the Department “seems to want to reduce the schools to the bare minium”. She said her school has to timetable 475 pupils for English with just two permanent teachers.

“Teacher-bashing”

Teachers are afraid, and teachers are unpopular, according to the Teacher of the Year. She said that there is a “national obsession with criticising teachers” and explained that non-permanent teachers are not screaming from the rooftops because they’re afraid.

We are afraid to even say these things out loud because the government will try to use our complaints as an excuse to make things even worse for all teachers. We’re afraid that if we make ourselves visible we might lose our jobs. We’re afraid that people will dismiss us as whingers because of summer holidays.

O’Connor told TheJournal.ie that she’s not attacking teachers, but that the problems are based on policy decisions and increasing levels of teacher accountability. She said that she knows she good at her job, and the injustice that someone can come and take it from her beggars belief.

“A part-time profession”

The Mayo teacher became emotional towards the end of her speech as she apologised to her students:

I should be putting every ounce of my energy, my passion and my enthusiasm into my teaching and your learning next year. Instead I’ll be battling with the department, trying to force them to recognise that I am needed in this school.

She spoke of the fear of someone being “parachuted” into her job, and the fear of emigration.

A non-permanent teacher has no entitlement to redeployment. If someone else is redeployed into their job, they go on the dole.

O’Connor expressed sympathy for newly qualified teachers, saying that the way they will be treated is “disgraceful” and that they will become second class citizens within the school system.

I think [the Government's] aim is to turn secondary school teaching into a part-time profession.

Evelyn O’Connor was instrumental in setting up an account on the online forum Edmodo.com, which allows students and teachers around the world to connect. It also meant that her own students could submit assignments and gain access to resources even if they were absent.

She also set up her own website LeavingCertEnglish.net as a resource for students. The site features recordings of her classes as well as hints and guidelines.

The Teacher of the Year Awards is organised by abcbooks.ie. The Primary Teacher of the Year was Joseph Gallinagh of Glenswilly NS in Donegal.

Read Evelyn O’Connor’s full Teacher of the Year Speech here>

Department to examine rehiring of retired primary school teachers>

Ruairí Quinn refuses to rule out cuts to teacher allowances>

Read next:

Comments (81 Comments)

• Well done on the deserved award and your moving speech Evelyn. Hope Mr. Quinn listens. We need your dedication and passion to remain here.

• Very impressed with this woman.

• FJD 29/06/12 #

It’s as if the pressure has built up so much that it had to blow. My wife’s a teacher. She grapples with many of the same issues e.g. having prepared the students for the following year, she doesn’t know if she’ll even be there to follow through on the ground work. It’s a tough job, but has been made all the more difficult in the last couple of years by all the mindless cuts. In the last recession we invested in education as we knew that was a way out of it. This time round, we’ve got it arseways!

• Whoa! She has hit a million nails on the head…fair play!!

• She speaks very eloquently about an issue that receives almost no air time because: 1) Teachers are afraid to speak openly about it for fear of losing their job and 2) The public are generally apathetic to such issues because the perception of the teaching profession in this country is generally negative (i.e. overpaid and under-worked). The best education systems in the world are those that value their teachers and hold them in the same regard as other higher professions. The gulf between the rhetoric of our top-class education system and the reality of education cutbacks and the demeaning of the teaching profession is growing wider. This teacher’s brave speech should open up a national discourse about how we value our teachers and by association, our young people!

• Agreed. It was pointed out in February by the Teaching Unions that education is the way out of this recession. Think about that for a minute. Minister Quinn certainly doesn’t. The teaching profession is a pillar of society and if this country is to get back on its feet then the government must stop fragmenting the profession. Trade with countries such as China is hugely on the agenda for the forthcoming decades and the students and young people who will encounter this need to meet it with an extremely solid and secure education if they are to take us seriously. Schools will eventually stagnate and become dysfunctional if this messing around with teacher’s careers doesn’t stop. Fair play to this young lady, she forfeited a pretentious speech on how proud she is of the system in order to voice her concerns for herself and society and give the Minister a good slap on the face.

• Brave woman, well said.

• Very astute and well articulated views on a number of issues which affect the teaching profession.

• Well done! Great speech, the whingers will be along in a minute so I’ll get a positive comment in before they start. (The same people who’ll pay hand over fist for private tuition when the public system is completely destroyed.)

• Thanks for all the support, appreciate it genuinely.
    Some food for thought.
    Why we need to be cautious when demanding “accountability” in teaching – it can have some awful if unintentional results when people outside of teaching decide that ‘measuring’ teacher effectiveness is a simple easily achievable goal http://ow.ly/bUigH
    http://ow.ly/bUij0
    How lots of teachers feel about our union
    http://ow.ly/bUinT
    Why good teachers are fed up
    http://ow.ly/bUirY
    Why aren’t teachers better?
    http://ow.ly/bUizO
    http://ow.ly/bUiD9
    Let’s debate this properly

• Evelyn, What a great speech – it sums up so many of the problems faced by education in Ireland and was delivered with great passion while still keeping to the core issues. Hopefully this will get to the real debate and not the straw man that has been in the media for the past few months.

• Accountability by number crunchers is not great in teaching. Imagine league tables. I don’t think they work yet the media love to compile them. They do not take into consideration the type of school, the local demographics regarding population, unemployment rate, extra curricular, pastoral etc. They miss a huge swathe of what is essential in school life and look at the percentage who go on to third level. To get some students to pass LC is a huge achievement, yet certain individuals discount this huge effort and achievement, and look only to those achieving honors. Something seriously wrong here I suggest. We can only debate all of this Evelyn, when teachers reclaim their right as education partners, and not remain on the periphery as pawns in a game. You mention the unions. There is huge dissatisfaction in schools regarding unions. They are detached from their membership and are becoming increasingly so. What is happening in schools today is a disgrace and the unions by and large are ineffective. We need to stand up for ourselves and our students in the face of continuous cutbacks before it is too late and we have no education system left. It’s so sad how the bankers and bondholders come before our children. However the Government have only one agenda, keep cutting until it functions no more, then blame the teachers for not delivering enoujgh!!

• Thanks for including my post Evelyn and well done on pointing out the current situation in Irish education. An of course, congrats on your well deserved award!!!

• What a speech! She hit many nails on their heads. As a teacher myself I understand exactly where she is coming from. Very difficult times for schools in general, but for part time teachers in particular. The summer holidays begin with the usual excitement for the pupils, but for non permanent staff, it usually means the annual stress fest, will I have a job, will my job be given to someone else, will my hours be cut due to cutbacks etc. Three years ago, I was chatting to someone and they asked me what I did for a living. I teach, I said. Well your alright so he said and walked off. What he meant was that I was sorted job wise, and holiday wise maybe!!. If he stayed to peruse the conversation, then he would have found out I was on low hours,and as a part timer, maybe no job in a couple of months. Suppose your on the holidays was a comment made yesterday. How does one answer that. Of course I am, are the schools not shut now!! Evelyn is correct when she says schools are a maths equation as the Minister has no clue of reality in Irish schools. We are inspected more than any other public service. We have whole school evaluations, WSE MLL inspections, subject inspections and now incidental inspections. Why so many. Is because teachers are so bad or have a handy time, they do nothing all year etc. Don’t think so. How can schools continue to perform to such a high degree with cuts after cuts after cuts. Something has go to give at some stage. The public really need to get behind their teachers and their education system, because eventually it will fail, then the teachers are the soft targets as someone has to be blamed, but it will never be the parents. Parents need to stop believing all in the media in relation to teacher bashing and get on board the ‘ save our education system’ bus. It will not be waiting forever for you to board.

• Great to see someone giving a clear and honest picture of the real difficulties we have in the education sector, it’s not all about money though money stripped back is of course important, some creative thinking can make real improvements.

• Slating teachers about their holidays is silly. Would we like our children to be in school 48 weeks of the year? I’m married to a teacher and yes the salary is good but we’re not living the high life either. We don’t own a second property or go on a holiday every year, and we’re happy with that. We have had a huge chunk of our household income cut in the last few years. Like most people ( private and public) my wife is very dedicated to her job and works hard at home preparing for her work. Interesting to note that the only members of the public sector who haven’t had their salary cut in the recent years are hospital consultants, but of course our current minister for health is a former consultant. Anyway, enjoy the holidays!!

• Evelyn O’Connor should be an ambassador for the profession. She could make a big difference in tackling the problems on both sides of this issue and achieving a superb education system in the future. I wish her all the best, personally, professionally and in the context of sorting out these problems.

• @Benjamin,

Agreed! She’s young, enthusiastic, full of energy. New, modern ideas. I just wish Minister Quinn etc. would take notice.

On another note, Minister Quinn should choose to listen and accept a great idea when it is shown to him and proven that it works. So what if he is seen to be endorsing a product, if it’s Irish and it works, what’s the bloody problem?

• I would hope he will! In my view, complexity of being in government aside, if he doesn’t listen to and at least work with people like Evelyn then he’s not doing his job properly. I think his intentions are sound and obviously he’s juggling many different issues which is why I think rather than constantly sniping Ministers as many do we should be cooperating and contributing.

If sometimes we have to be a bit more forceful in “offering :-)” that contribution then so be it but it serves nobody spouting the usual rubbish about how shite the government etc. That simply creates confusion and tension. Someone like Evelyn, with such evident intelligence and experience (also importantly apolitical) could really focus these points into a coherent program. That’s how I see her getting through to the Minister.

• Very powerful speech.

• It is ridiculous that you return to ground zero if you have to move schools. When a Guard gets transferred he/she retains their employment status. It is similar for all other public service professions. We teachers are reduced back down to 4(although effectively 5) years of temporary probation again! Ridiculous!

• Fair play to her. These points needed to be made. I’m not aware of any other “profession” where you’re on probation for 4 years with no guarantees. Non permanent teachers are at the mercy of everyone and can easily be exploited.

• Aleo 29/06/12 #

Well said, Evelyn O’Connor, and thank you.

• Thanks for this Evelyn. You’re verbalising the feelings of many.

• Fair play to you Evelyn. It is great to see that someone is brave enough to speak about the conditions of non permanent teachers. I agree with everything that you have said. The issue with redeployment is a joke. A principal has very little say in the employment of staff now. Merit counts for very little in this system. Teachers like yourself who are dedicated and committed and go way beyond the call of duty have to make way for teachers being redeployed. All the time, effort and extra-curricular work counts for nothing. Congratulations on the award and I hope you have a job for next year.

• Again with the blaming the public sector for the mess we are in. When exactely was history re written to say that the banking crisis didn’t cause the crash but in fact nurses, teachers and guards did?

• OMG That was a fantastic speech Evelyn…..Thanks a million for speaking the minds of all us NON PERMANENT TEACHERS who are so afraid to speak up incase we are blacklisted and pushed from the system via the emergency exit.
    Congratulations on the award – you truly deserve it

• Fair play to her. I read her full statement nodding at each sentence. An inspirational speech. She’s absolutely correct about there being a national obsession with teachers, people need to ‘cop-on’. Teaching is a vitally important job that needs to be respected. People need to get over the length of the holidays. Also teachers need to be treated as professionals, give them time and space in their school to cultivate a real, strong practice of teaching. Shipping them around from billy to jack causes huge upset in the system and obviously for them.

• Still can’t read/watch this without the waterworks brewing. Oh well, that’s what happens to us that are lowest on the totem pole. Instead of enjoying summer I wake up every now and again in tears wondering what will become of me? Financial and professional ruin aside, I just want to be able to get up everyday and do what I’m good at!

• @Katie Molloy,

You have two good positive things going for you. 1. Being a woman and 2. Being an Irish woman. No matter how often you feel that you’ve been kicked to the ground. Get up! Wipe yourself down and start again. You have to.

• what a brave woman… fair play. how awful to win an award for being wonderful and brilliant at your job, but to be so full of anxiety and frustrated with injustice. It’s SO hard to be passionate about your job when you’ve to battle up hill everyday. To have such spirit after years of not knowing if you’ve a job… fair play. don’t think I could do it. powerful powerful stuff.

• Just a reminder to those knocking teachers unions from within the profession that hundreds of people’s problems with contracts, employment and management are dealt with on a daily basis and to write off that work without a full view of it is unfortunate.
    I’d encourage you to get involved, part-time teachers have been making these points for years to little avail.

• I agree that the unions are absolutely swamped with I’m sure thousands of non-permanent teachers (including me) plaguing them for information, advice and assistance, particularly since the introduction of redeployment. There is no doubt that they are working extremely hard just to man the phones and respond to all the queries. To be fair to the union, they responded swiftly to very single pedantic detailed query I threw at them over the past few months. Ultimately however accepting redeployment compromised the future career of all of us who have fixed term contracts. That is a huge percentage of the overall number of secondary school teachers in Ireland. New entrants are in an even worse position. We may struggle to ever again get any kind of job security. It seems unlikely that we’ll survive the even deeper cuts that are looming so the indefinite future that awaits us is bouncing from school to school, never getting fully established (because it takes 5 years in the one school to get any rights at all) worrying every year about the possibility of someone being redeployed in our position, being constantly on the interview trail and for a lot of passionate teachers in the end giving up on teaching altogether. A depressing reality which in no way takes into account our abilities. I’m not in favor of merit pay, it has failed spectacularly in the UK and the US. But I’d at least like to be able to compete for my job. Finally, I think we all need to avoid the trap of a split between permanent and non-permanent teachers. We need to stand united. It’s in most cases just a quirk of timing which group any of us belong to and what we should all be fighting for together is ALL teachers. This doesn’t appear to have happened. We are the sacrificial lambs. And yes I know this has been the case for years but that doesn’t make it any fairer or any more defensible.

• The trouble with not agreeing to redeployment is that the alternative for teachers in over-quota schools is redundancy. Nobody gets redeployed without a rigorous pouring over the detail regarding the school the teacher is leaving and the school to which they are redeployed.
      Furthermore without a redeployment scheme the chances of a voluntary redeployment scheme, something I think you’d have benefitted from. The management side are dragging their heels on that, one of very few positives from the Croke Park agreement.
      There are many teachers who spend the whole summer waiting for news from their principals, a record number of teachers are being made unemployed this year, young teachers are being victimised with pay cuts that make the job financially less preferable than emigrating.
      The CID system rewards a teacher for service almost without fail, and we take many, many appeals every year to make sure teachers get them when they’re due. It may not suit everyone every year, but when you have four years in a school the likeyhood of receiving one is high.
      So I’d say take your fight to a branch meeting, get stuck in because otherwise it becomes easy to ignore a single voice.
      Keep up the good work Evelyn, You know of old how much I appreciate your help in my English classes.

• All fair points Fintan and I think we agree on more than we disagree on. Teaching must remain a profession, not a part-time job. Teachers need to speak out more with passion because we need people to see that we care about doing a good job and we care about the students we teach. It’s sad that instead of following the Finnish example as this government promised they would, they are turning us into the UK and the US even though both systems have alienated and disenfranchised teachers so much that it is no longer in any way an attractive profession and many of those who go into it idealistically end up leaving the profession completely disillusioned as evident here:
      http://blogs.ajc.com/get-schooled-blog/2012/06/22/a-teacher-explains-why-she-gave-up-a-career-she-loved/
      None of this want this for Ireland. I was asked to be the union rep in our school last year because I am a very vocal person (no shit eh?) but I was told it’s not a good idea for someone who doesn’t yet have any rights to have their contract renewed year on year. If it ever happens, perhaps that’s what I should be doing…

• Great speech. Maybe everybody in the ‘Civil Service’ shouldn’t be bunched together, to me there are differences between the different groups…..maybe they are treated differently, I don’t know, but maybe teachers, nurses/health professionals, guards should be in different groups to office bound civil servants and to politicians. Teachers, nurses/health professionals, guards are essential. I know I will be corrected but that is the way I feel. Politicians are great at singling out these professionals when talking about attacks on the Public sector!

• Wouldn’t it be great if our politicians were as passionate about there job as this lady is. Great speech, we need more people like this to challenge our government on any issues the public don’t agree on, not just sit back and accept new policies like we do. Bravo Evelyn

• Very well said Evelyn I applaud your courage. If the private sector behaved in the same manner there would be uproar in the country. Just take a look at the drawers/boxes allocated to teachers signing on for the summer at your local Employment Exchange it will open your eyes. Sadly the greed of some older retired teachers is astonishing ie., temporary positions, invigilator’s, etc., how does this happen? K. Hayes

• I agree that it is time somebody spoke up on behalf of teachers but I really take issue with the last comment by Kathleen Hayes regarding older teachers. I think all teachers are vulnerable at the moment older and younger, I know many older teachers who have been redeployed basically to try and force them out of the system. Some have been redeployed more than once in recent years and cannot afford to retire. Of course this is forcing younger teachers out of jobs but it is no picnic for a 50 plus year old trying to build up a rapport and reputation with teenagers who perceive them too old in a new school. Also as the salaries are driven down for younger teachers so too are the pensions of older teachers. Everyone is vulnerable in this situation and remember the older teachers and retirees have been through more than one recession, every time things improve they go right back down again. Many have to be seriously concerned about their future security as the already cut pension further stagnates in years to come and not all are on full pension either. Remember as one ages opportunities to maintain income considerably declines It saddens me to see people divided by a manipulative government who have conquered people by the politics of division.

• So they want to sack the best second level teacher in the country while aiming for a highly educated workforce? This is going to be a miserable failure and the students of Mayo whose parents voted for Enda with trust are going to be the ones who suffer the most at this short-sighted attitude of the government.

• libby 29/06/12 #

Well done Evelyn. As a teacher, I’m actually fed up of constantly having to defend my profession and justify my pay/holidays. I would like to think I have and am making a difference in the lives of my students. I used to think in a business like way, not performing, well out with you so, but I have changed my mind after reading about the Finnish education system. I do think it’s about time real solutions came about. Our education system is breaking and has many flaws which PISA assessments and OECD reports have highlighted. Our system is content heavy with dependent rote learners. We have one of the most advanced business IT sectors on the world. I wonder could the DES ask them for a leg up/bit of advice!! Things need to drastically change. Even the tiered earnings of teachers is shameful. Some people breaking their backs and earning significantly less than the person beside them doing the same job. If I heard it once I heard it 10 times when I started teaching as an idealist out to make a difference. Won’t be long till that enthusiasm is knocked out of you! Thankfully I work as hard now as then because I have a conscience and I view a permanent job(CID) as something very valuable in these difficult times. There are many people out there who are not willing to work hard for what they get and have expectations of entitlement for doing nothing, that really irks me.

• If you are passionate about education in Ireland, read this open letter to our President Michael D. Higgins about the wonderful things in our education system that need to be protected:

http://speedchange.blogspot.ie/2012/06/heroes-of-republic-of-ireland.html

• The media have vilified the public sector since the very start of the economic car crash. They were egged on by private sector interests to divert attention away from the fact that the private sector had just bankrupt the country. The private sectors next contribution to the public good will be to exterminate all vestiges of the public sector again enabled by their mass media propaganda machine.

• This is not an informed point, it is sensationalist conspiracy theorist nonsense. If you had said that some actors or elements within the private sector were responsible and were helped along by some elements within the public sector you would be presenting a reasonable view. Instead you choose to completely misrepresent the real situation either 1). because you are generally ignorant or 2). because you are using an emotional appeal to the angry and disenfranchised people within society in order to feed some revolutionary hopes you hold. There was huge excess in the public sector. In saying this I’m in no way endorsing the approach our Government have taken to rebalance the sector. Evidently things need to change for the profession of Teaching, but can we not focus on the specifics and seek real solutions instead of launching blanket accustions against what is in your view a capitalist demon like “private sector”. Many millions of good conscientious hard working people cannot be thrown into the same category as a few wayward greedy bank directors and developpers. Look in the mirror next time before you start stiring hate.

• @Benjamin Guy Saunders

This teacher is obviously speaking from experience. Why would she say such things and perhaps be punished for speaking up. She won this award because she deserved it. The whole educational system needs looking at and most certainly needs Minister Quinn to get closer to the problem, by visiting many schools that have huge classes with a number of children that need that bit of extra help but can’t get it because teachers like Evelyn O’Connor only have so much time in the day.

She wants equality for her and students, that’s all.

• @Sheila Byrne

Of course, I completely agree. This was purely intended in response to gingerman’s comment, I should have made that clearer. See my comment below for my view on the article and situation itself.

Apologies for the confusion. I certainly wasn’t saying this about Ms. O’Connor’s speech.

• @ Jack are you the one pressing all the red thumbs then?
    Well done Evelyn!

• Well done Evelyn and thank you so much for having the courage to stand up for teachers.

• Just another point to note, Japanese teachers are part of the Post Primary Languages Initiative and are therefore paid by the Marino Institute of Education. This means that by virtue of the language that we teach, we do not receive any pension. We also receive shorter maternity leave than an ordinary teacher. This hardly seems fair and hard to believe, particularly in light of Ireland’s interest in accessing Asian markets, and Japan being the third largest economy in the world. Meanwhile, European language teachers are paid as normal teachers and hired by the Department of Education. I understand that Japanese is a minority language, but it definitely feels like outright discrimination.

• Well done Evelyn, great speech, well deserved award!

• How nice for you to be on the internet while at work!

• I think it’s great that we can debate it all. It can be so hard for teachers to connect with each other outside of our classrooms and outside of our individual schools. With this in mind I think we should all try to take part in #edchatie on twitter. Amazing conversations by passionate educators.

• Great stuff Evelyn. I can only hope that this goes some part of the way towards galvanising the teaching profession into taking ownership of the issues facing us. The government are employing a very clever strategy in dividing and conquering our society and our schools. Teachers have a huge role to play in this regard. We are the educational professionals and our voice should be heard. NQTs and non-permanent staff have been thrown to the wolves by our union leadership. I firmly believe in the value of a union and I am disappointed to say that the ASTI leadership has done little in protecting NQTs and non-permanent staff. I would disagree with you, however, on the Junior Cert programme. I believe that despite some of the very positive things emerging from the consultation process, it is actually going a long way to de-professionalising teachers (there is an implicit argument in the new curriculum that people with “local expertise” can teach some of the short courses) and, through the introduction of the short courses, making secondary school teaching the very part-time profession you are against. I sincerely hope you are kept on in your school next year. Keep up the good work. You are a wonderful ambassador for the teaching profession through your passion, your drive, your initiative and your genuine concern for the people we serve; our students.

• Impressive and well delivered speech, she can easily use the summer months to dominate the set of Fair City.

So, “better than the idiots that got us into this mess in the first place” … by, among many other things, increasing public sector wages out of all proportion. Now we’re in a situation where we can’t afford to pay the staff-bill, we can’t reduce the wages of the old guard, so the new teachers have to bare the brunt of savings.

Teacher bashing was raised, because we all love to give out about bad teachers, but is there any way to get rid of those same “bad teachers?” There should be a way to get rid of people who are bad at there job. In this speech the teacher gives out about using exam results as a means to judge, and she’s right, but there’s no positive endorsement of any other method. Same with the three month holiday… she feels bad because she doesn’t know if she’ll have a job, but what about the rest of her profession.

Teachers are vitally important, but the line that an attack on teacher’s pay is an attack on school children… often makes me wonder why there’s this idea that teachers deserve more than the average wage of their pupils’ parents.

A rather emotive and well delivered speech that raises many important points, but it’s let down by its failure to address the other side of the coin. Sure to be popular with teachers, not sure if it’ll really reduce teacher bashing as it doesn’t really address or acknowledge any of the flaws in the system which benefit teachers.

• Eh……….what???

• First, thanks for the compliments and I think you may have a point about the potential for a cameo in Fair City ;-)

As for ‘bad’ teaching, we are told that the Teaching Council was set up to regulate the profession, bring in a code of conduct and overall ensure that teachers abide by it. It was hoped that they would find a way to get rid of ‘bad’ teachers and I absolutely agree with you on this point. Every single profession needs a way to get rid of people who are professionally incompetent. They appear do have done little in this regard. I have heard of a case however where a person with 20yrs experience in industry working in IT was told by the Teaching Council that he is not qualified to teach IT because it didn’t form a big enough part of his degree. It’s this kind of lunacy, combined with the millions of unspent dues which has led me and I believe a lot of ordinary teachers (but i don’t want to presume to speak for others in my profession) to conclude that the whole thing is a sham exercise in looking like they serve a purpose when actually they seem to spend all of their time telling us how important it is that they exist. Sigh. I remain open to the idea that it is important to have a professional body in place to preserve the status of the profession and the professionalism of it’s members. I am yet to be convinced that they are in any way serving that function.

My main frustration arises from the fact that the ‘bad’ teachers (you say 10%, I say 5%; you say 20%, I say 10% because I have an appreciation of the complexities of the job and the difficulties it presents. And maybe I’m biased in favor of my colleagues…) make up such a small percentage yet get 95% of the media coverage. I wish we could talk about good teaching, find a way to spread good teaching practices, collaborate more etc…

If you look at my speech again, you’ll notice that I said the attack on teacher numbers is an attack on school children. I did not say anything in my speech about teacher’s pay. Also what are the “flaws in the system which benefit teachers?”

I think it’s great these issues are being debated irrespective of whether or not people agree with me.

• @ Andrew Norman What are you on about?
    If this a veiled attack on a lone voice of descent then It’s fair to say my comment was based on the fact that
    This teacher seems highly aggrieved that:
    (a) She isn’t (currently) getting a guarantted job for life.
    (b) She doesn’t (currently) have three months paid summer holidays.
    (c) She won’t be getting the ludicrous pensions being paid by the taxpayer that her older colleagues are drawing down.

None of this available to those working in the private sector – I wouldn’t expect it to be because its unpayable and unsutainable in the long term.
    By passing on the unsustainable debt those over the age of Fifty in this country are stabbing younger people in the back. Rather than pointing out this obvious fact, her video rant comes across as a long whinge that she doesn’t have her Nose in the trough also.

• While no one, myself included, blames the public sector for the mess the country is in. It is is incredibly naive to ignore the fact that they and their unions have done nothing to help getting the country out of it. If there was appropriate bench marking on the way down Evelyn’s argument could be respected. But as increments continue, massive sick leave hasn’t changed & allowances which are simply shocking continue to get paid I find it very hard to respect her argument.

• (a) “It is is incredibly naive to ignore the fact that they and their unions have done nothing to help getting the country out of it”. Is that aside from taking a 15%-20% pay cut, increased pension contributions to the fact that the pension fund in the public service now takes in more than it pays out, increased class sizes, longer working hours, holding PT meetings outside of school hours, doing extra-curricular work on a voluntary basis and having close to 3,300 redundancies since Sept 2008?

(b) “Increments continue”: If increments stop, it’s only those on the lower scale who suffer. On the incremental scale, you stop getting an annual increment after 26 years (which is the longest salary scale in the EU). So in real terms, it is the younger and lower paid who will suffer, not the high earners.

(c) Sick leave is being changed and is more in line with private sector practices. Read this if you don’t believe me. http://www.tui.ie/news-events/proposal-to-revise-sick-leave-entitlements-.1863.html

(d) Allowances is a historical title. The term “allowance” actually refers to the part of core salary which is calculated on the basis of a person’s qualification. In the private sector, you have the ability to negotiate your salary on the basis of your experience and qualifications. This is the the way the Dept looks to attract a better candidate for the job. The other “allowances” refer to payment for a promotion within teaching. Extra responsibilities outside of the ordinary teaching work ought to be rewarded with extra pay, should they not? And then there are the “allowances” for being a deputy or a principal. I’m sure you would acknowledge the huge work involved in such roles. In the private sector, it is not unheard of to get a pay increase for moving into a managerial role. Why should teaching be any different?

Please point out which of the above are “shocking”.

• Let’s just dissect that silliness: the last benchmarking process awarded teachers nothing, that was pre-bust; increments: red herring, I don’t get one this year or for the next three years and the length of the scale is crazy, shorten it and we’ll talk; sick leave: has changed, catch up, teachers take on average 7sick days a year including maternity; allowances: with every rise and every cut our allowances were considered part of pay, cutting them now is moving the goalposts and a breach of Croke Pk, surely you can’t deny a teacher a credit for being qualified to do the job? And while we’re at it most teachers have no promotional opportunities now that the moritorium on promotion enters its third year.

• The last benchmarking exercise awarded nothing to teachers because they were supposed to have ‘enhanced pension benefits’ (this of course was nonsense considering most teachers in the system now will never qualify for a full pension and that they pay in more than they are getting out! BUT of course, since the last benchmarking exercise we ahve had the ‘pension related deduction’ which has nothing to do with pension and is really just tax.

Before jumping at teachers increments, you might consider the bonuses paid ever year in the private sector.

• You are welcome “Jone”
    Before you start nit picking on spelling you should first look at your own.
    I supppose it’s easier to attack something inconsequential like spelling rather than discuss the points I made -although you’d think you’d have the time with all those holidays you have.
    I am at work however.

• And as a private sector worker you have time to reply here and read the previous comments – something Evelyn would not have time to do in her job. The trough you speak of is not so full as it was in the past – and that’s a good thing – however you have absolutely no right to assume that the job Evelyn does is easy or a cushy number – I take it you have never taught – you should try it for a week and see how you feel about teachers after that!
      By the way – she is not whinging about not getting paid for the summer – that old chestnut – or that she is not permanent – what she is arguing if you cared to pay closer attention is that unlike other jobs she is not rewarded for her hard work with a position she deserves – no matter how good at her job she is that is irrelevant – someone else can be slotted in to fill her place. the school needs an English teacher – she is more than adequately fulfilling that role but she will effectively be sacked anyway. I am sad for you – you must have had a pretty poor time at school if you have nothing but bad to say of teachers. for the most part we love our students and our career – it is a vocation – believe me if you did not love the job you could not take the endless stream of abuse that we are subjected to by all and sundry – they have been students in a school therefore they know our job – you have no idea!!! And yes it is a wonderful job, but lots of people have wonderful jobs they love with some great perks, bonuses, staff team-building days, conferences. Rant rant rant – three months holidays – for your information it’s actually a little short of that this year and this morning I spent my holidays researching and paying for resources for next year’s students.
      Get over yourself!

• Fair play Jack. A lone voice of decency, honesty and common sense in a sea of vastly overpaid, under worked whingers.

• Only when the wages, pensions, benefits and unjustified sense of entitlement of the Nurses/Teachers/Gards are brought down in line with average European norms will this country begin the road to recovery.

• Will the cost of living come down in line with those too? Or maybe you’re so caught up with begrudgery you’d like to see front line public servants on the minimum wage!

• These teachers and educating our kids, the future work force of this country, future politicans, and the ones who will be taking care of us in the future,

The nurses are currently over-worked, under paid, while working in a health system that is falling apart.

What’s wrong with paying them a decent wage? And as for a sense of entitlement, they deserve a lil sense of it considering how important their damn job is.

• @Maire; Lone Coffee break – you guys get a lot of those I’m reliably told.
    It coming up to 3pm – is your pavlovian urge to head for the door messing with your senses
    while you are on Holidays?
    If I was on Holiday I certainly wouldn’t be on the net – sad the private sector taxpayer is coerced to fund your lavish ways.

• Dear Teacher, the sooner you absorb and reflect on the fact that THE WORLD DOESN’T OWE YOU A LIVING – the better for you and for everyone around you.

• The world may not owe her a living, but considering the fact that these are the people educating kids around the country, do you want these people to do it properly or not.

• @Jack. You’re right. The world doesn’t owe her a living. Please point out where she says it does. She’s obviously a top class professional, somebody who we should hope to keep in our system and country yet is continuously frustrated in her attempts to provide the best possible service for her students. If she wasn’t doing her job you’d want her removed, if she does it well and shows initiative, you think; “tough luck, move on”. How wonderful it must be to be as wonderful as you. Until you’ve walked a mile in her shoes, try to keep your facetious comments to yourself.

• Well said Jack. The part about the Good old times when” you just bided your time and then you got a permanent position” was laughable. In the real world of the private sector you work your a$$ off and then you might if your productivity is high enough be in the running for more. Getting it just because you “bide your time” seems to be the standard in our education system. A system that fights tooth and nail to make sure that actually producing isnt reward and just turning up is rewarded. Its time these “work half a year” headcases realised just how over blessed they are and kept quiet. They are over paid and underworked.

• “There is a lot of ruin in a country” – Adam Smith.
    Thank goodness we have Teachers running the country making sure Ireland gets what it deserves.
    Keep up the Martyr routine – that trough has limited room!

• I hope you get a permanent job Evelyn.

“Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.!
    Robert Frost

For Jack keating and Charley Melia:
    “Every educated person is a future enemy.”
    Martin Bormann

Add New Comment