TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Technical Group colleagues condemn Wallace but won’t call on him to resign

Independent TDs and the United Left Alliance have criticised the Wallace after he admitted evading VAT.

Clare Daly from the Socialist Party with Mick Wallace at a recent press conference.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated 7.55pm

THE UNITED LEFT Alliance (ULA) has condemned their Dáil Technical Group colleague, Mick Wallace, but declined to call on him to resign as a TD after it emerged that he had under declared VAT.

The Wexford deputy said earlier today that he had reached a €2.1 million settlement with the Revenue Commissioners for underpayment of VAT on apartment sales over a two-year period but said he could not pay the money because his company, MJ Wallace Ltd, is insolvent.

Wallace, who was a high-profile property developer before being elected to the Dáil last year, said he was not proud of what he did but said that he had done it in order to try and save his company and jobs in it, expecting to be able to pay the money at a later date.

Independent TDs from the Dáil’s Technical Group have condemned their colleague, saying they do not condone his behaviour.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this evening, the People Before Profit (PBP) TD Joan Collins, who is part of the Dáil’s Technical Group, said the ULA of PBP, the Socialist Party, and the Workers and Unemployed Action Group (WUAG) believed that “tax evasion is wrong”.

“No matter who it is, you have to pay your taxes. Mick Wallace has come out and said he is wrong and we do not support his actions,” she said.

“I wouldn’t call on anyone to resign. The people of Wexford elected him and it’s up to them decide. There should be things like a recall, there should be that set up. I wouldn’t call for his resignation, it’s up to him. We’re all accountable to the people.”

Collins said she would distinguish between Wallace’s actions and the actions of other property developers “who consciously try and evade paying tax and put money aside”.

She said she had spoken to the Wexford TD, adding: “He thought he would have been able to get a few more building jobs for the men whose jobs he was trying to save.

“But when the banks moved in he couldn’t continue and he had to go to Revenue and declare. It’s still absolutely wrong, I’m not in anyway supporting him on that. People have to accept the consequences.”

Separately, Independent TD Catherine Murphy who is also a member of the Technical Group said that what Wallace had done was wrong.

“It’s the law of the land and it doesn’t matter if he thought he was doing it for the right reasons,” she told TheJournal.ie this evening.

She said that it was up to citizens to decide whether a TD should resign or not, and said she would not be calling on him to give up his seat.

A statement issued on behalf of independent TDs including Murphy, Finian McGrath, Shane Ross, Luke Ming Flanagan, Thomas Pringle, Tom Fleming, Mattie McGrath, Maureen O’Sullivan and Stephen Donnelly said:

We would like to make it clear that we do not condone his behaviour, we believe he has done wrong and that he should be equally accountable as any other TD or ordinary Irish citizen. Anyone who is not aligned to a party is automatically entitled to membership of the Technical Group under the rules of the Dail.

The Technical Group added that their colleague John Halligan was out of the country and could not be contacted for comment.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said today that he understood that a settlement had been reached and that it was up to the statutory authorities to follow it through, declining to say whether or not Wallace should resign.

“It’s not for me to comment on any individuals,” he added.

YouTube: MerrionStreetNews

Government backbenchers have been less sympathetic with the Fine Gael TD and party chairman Charlie Flanagan calling for an investigation by the Standards In Public Office Commission (SIPO) into Wallace and his affairs.

Other backbenchers including Labour’s Eamonn Maloney were critical in the Dáil chamber during the Technical Group’s attempt to introduce a Private Members Bill to force responsibility on the government for the remedial works on damaged housing complexes and to pursue developers for the cost.

Collins said it was disappointing that the Bill, which was defeated by the government in a vote earlier today, had been overshadowed by the controversy surrounding one of the supporters of the bill, Wallace.

Wallace: ‘Unlikely’ €2.1 million Revenue settlement will be paid

Read next:

Comments (224 Comments)

• Its time a law was passed in Ireland where the voting public has the right to recall a TD if they fail to carryout their duty.Either upholding standards in office or working for the benefit of the electorate.Only then would the public have confidence and accountability in their public repersentitives.Such a system exists in the US.

• He’s going to Poland is he? Embarrassment had turned to anger on hearing that. Disgraceful,..

• ironic that the same people who call for the heads of bankers and corrupt developers are so quiet on this. Funny what happen’s when its found within your own ranks.

• Paul 07/06/12 #

Im not. Corruption is out of order whether you are a simpleton politician/developer or a greedy parasitic banker.

• He should be knocking on every door in Wexford apologising to the people that elected him. But given that FG themselves were involved in tax evasion in the 90′s when they were paying people into the hand it would be a case of pot and kettle. The lot of them need locking up.

• How can this lad still afford to go to on holiday to Poland to watch Ireland? How can he leave the country owing so many million?

• hypocrites, if it was a government TD they’d be jumping at the chance to score political points.

• Spot on, Paul.

• That’s because Mick Wallace is broadly left wing, same as all members of the ULA. Government TDs are all right wing or centre-right, political opponents. So no song and dance and it’s not hypocritical because they are actually condeming him. It’s there, in the title of this article.

• Do you honestly think that if a government TD evaded tax on that scale that not one of the technical group members would call for a resignation?

• just because someone is supposedly left or right wing doesn’t excuse them for breaking the law, and shouldn’t be an excuse for allowing that type of behaviour from our representatives.

• Paul and Declan

I completely disagree with you. In my opinion they havent made enough of a song and dance about Olivia taker of brown envolopes Mitchell still being in receipt of her scandalous salary. The pot and the kettle both need to be prosecuted.

• Clare 08/06/12 #

Yup, where are those independents who would normally be jumping up and down if it were a TD in FG, FF, Lab and SF?

• It completely undermines the moral authority of the whole technical group. Every time from this day on one of them jumps up to complain about the government being in bed with the banks, everyone will remember that their speaking rights come from being willing to jump into bed with a corrupt property developer themselves.

The technical group has a scant number of votes — its entire and only weapon in the Dail is to fire down upon ‘professional’ politicians from a moral high ground. Unless they cast Wallace out of the group and make alternative arrangements then they lose that high ground forever. They wind up looking like any other politician — willing to do deals with the corrupt and the unethical so long as it gets them some petty political advantage.

• Clare & Peter

Again – Olivia Mitchell FG TD!!! Adding to that Edna has decided to put the investigation into more recent planning applications and developments on the back burner in case a closet full of skeletons come tumbling out.

• He tried to cheat the system and got caught, that is the single only reason he is sorry – he got caught – if he has any dignity he should resign

• James! Resigning isn’t the issue here! Surely a long prison sentence awaits him!

• Pinkie Wallace – a living demonstration of all that is best and worst about living in a democracy…

• Pani 07/06/12 #

Completely separate to what should happen to him, Did he himself not go to the revenue to tell them he had under declared which they then confirmed? If it was the other way round then the “I’m only sorry cos I got caught” story would hold more weight.

• TV3 News – Ursula Halligan interviewing him:

He actually said, that he didn’t break the law – his company did! What planet is he living on. Does the Dail have courses in there for TDs/Ministers to help them lie to the people of Ireland, that teach them how to be more arrogant than they were before they got a Dail seat. It shouldn’t be up to the electorate of Wexford. They think he’s great anyway, because he helped pay for a football field! and he probably got a few pot holes filled in! The Government, the Dail should call for his resignation. End of story!

• This is so typical Irish.
      Take a look at the japanese example Wallace.
      You take one step in the wrong direction in politics and resignation is taken for granted.
      What makes me laugh is that Wallace is a socialist and ex property developer.
      Socialism has nothing to do with this villain.
      You are out to screw everyone regardless of consequences.

• If it was garlic it would be a whole different suituation

• Wallace is an insult and an embarrassment to the Irish.
      I am just watching him being interviewed on RTE.
      For a politician to have the nerve to appear like he does smacks of utter contempt of Irish voters.
      And I thought that dumb blondes were of the female gender.
      Not so!

• But surely the dillema the administration face is that if they were to force Wallace to resign they would also have to apply the same tack to Olivia Mitchell who was declared by Mahon to have indulged in accepting corrupt payments from Frankie brown envelopes Dunlop. Its small wonder that Edna wont be making a song and dance out of it.

• I’m wondering if he has paid his household charge? If he hasn’t (he campaigned against its introduction), then it’s a further measure of the man of what he really thinks of our tax laws.

Wallace purports to be socialist and left wing. He can point to all the local community work he has done in Wexford. But he is not socialist, he is classic capitalist. Wallace will contribute to his community but only as long as its good for business. If business turns bad he expects the community to bail him out. He is no different to the bankers. That is ultimately what this is, he capitalises on profits and then socialises his debts.

• @Rodrigo detrano

That too!

• He has not paid the HHC . He is one of the 9 td’s whoi are campaigning against its introduction , along with the 1,000,000 house holds who have not paid it .

• I reckon Sinister Noonan and his overpaid civil servants in the Dept. Finance are breaking out the champagne and doing a happy dance while thanking the devil for the announcement of this piece of news. Definitely takes the eye and the heat off him and his department and their 3.5 billion cock up.

• It also takes the Heat from Noonan and the bildeberg conference ……

• I have one consolation in that I have lived in Ireland all my life but not born here.
      What you native Irish people endure and put up with is either admirable or totally unbalanced.
      Wallace, just to mention a few scroungers in Irish politics should be ejected.
      Just as St. Patrick did with the proverbial snakes.

• Mattoid…
      Wallace is not a democrat as far as common knowledge goes.
      He is a socialist.
      Get your facts straight.

• My ma would beat the shite out o’ Mickah Wallace any day!

• Stray Mutt, are you claiming that a person can’t be a socialist and follow democratic principles at the same time?

• Right James! Who’s pig now…

• Clare 08/06/12 #

He should resign and the inland revenue should jail him.

• i think he should be punished, by getting that scruffy head of hair chopped

• This isn’t tax evasion, it’s fraud. Also, not paying your employees pension contributions is fraud.

To put things in context Mick Wallace took a salary of €289,000 in 2008. His son also took a salary of €289,000 in 2008.

• Paul 07/06/12 #

The biggest problem with this country is the lack of accountability. He shouldnt have the option to resign, he should be fired immediately FFS!

• Clare 08/06/12 #

Paul, you hit the nail on the head, there is no accountability here in Ireland plus no one is ever responsible. We’re great at talking about doing something but we do nothing. :-(

• Monday Mick Wallace – “OK you got me – I owe you a fortune because I fiddled my VAT – I can pay you 2.1 million – how does that sound?”

VATMAN – OK you owe us a ton more along with all your employees pension money and PRSI etc but we’ll accept that”

Tuesday Mick Wallace – ” Actually I haven’t a shilling and can’t pay anything but if you’re looking for me I’ll be on a jolly up in Poland”

What a shining example of a TD – Fianna Fail would be proud to have him in their ranks..

• A couple of things on this one: he knew about this when he was standing for election for the Dail? Would he not have been better off concentrating on trying to sort out his business so he could be compliant with the law of the land of which he wished to be a public representative? Secondly he has reached a settlement that he admits he can’t pay. I admit I don’t know much about tax law but how can you agree to a settlement you can’t actually pay?

• So disgusted with Mick Wallace, as a very small shop owner we are hounded by revenue for returns, we loose sleep over them, Wallace swans around proclaiming he stands for the little people that’s why the people of Wexford elected him, but he is just like the rest of them Lowry and Flynn and Ahern and the master Haughey and on and on, Clair Daly and the united left, lets see now what you stand for, overpaid TD’s or the litle people !!! Sick to death of hearing this crap from well heeled TD’s about caring for the ordinary worker and people unlucky to have lost their jobs they don’t give a shit.. Sorry about the rant but just so sick of this.

• This so called technical group are digging a big hole for themselves! Mick Wallace (as well intentioned as he may have been) has committed a major crime! By standing by him, the technical group are condoning this crime!

• Rodrigo, in a rush to attack the technical group, did you forget to reaad the headline?

“Technical Group colleagues condemn Wallace but won’t call on him to resign”

How can you condemn something and condone it at the same time?

• You can do it when you don’t understand the difference between the two words! :P

• Eh sheila, the headline of this story indicates in large letters that the technical group condemned him. There is also information in this thread about boyd barrett condemning him today on national radio.

• I can not know why my post was removed , but I will say it again ….
      Sheila and others I think you are the ones being unfair and maybe a bit twofaced , Wallace is as much a victim of this recession as the next person . He is guilty of bad judgement , and remember he went to the rev commissioners first , A little less hysteria and some cop on can help in understanding his predicament . He had 60 employees , not thousands and he wanted to protect the jobs .

• Ah c’mon Susie you can’t really believe your own post, sure the fella was only trying to protect their jobs. What an utterly ridiculous excuse. Era Garda I was only driving fast cause I wanted to get there quicker.
      This man is a public representative for the country not just Wexford. His actions are foul, his excuse laughable, and he has the balls to head of to Poland spending my Taxes to fund his holiday. Is the man not bankrupt.
      How can we expect to clean up politics when so many of his own constituents are jumping to his defence, what if it was Ivor Calley or P Flynn, we would rightly be calling for there heads. So off with his.

• Was he one of two people complaining about having to conform to a dress code while in the Dail?
    So he won’t conform to a tax code either.

• How are the people of Wexford able to do anything about this?

At the same time he started paying himself more. So money his company wasn’t paying in taxes, which he openly admits was his choice, was going into his own pocket. Thats illegal right??? Nobody should have to call for his resignation, he should know that he has to do the honorable thing. AT the very least he should quit after his term and give back his pension.

The ordinary hardworking man and woman doesn’t stand a chance anymore.

• DubDon 07/06/12 #

Wallace must resign and must have his day in court. No matter how you wrap this up he knew he was evading a payment of taxes owed to the state. As for the ULA bloody arrogance of them to condemn his actions but not call for his resignation… Just because he’s cosy with this group (cosier with some members more than others) they stand by a tax evader who has openly said he knew what he was doing… Actually don’t let him resign throw him out of Leinster house and into Mountjoy. See do they have any pink overalls for him in there…!!!

• Agree with you 100% Don. I’m sick to the stomach reading about this. Socialist is he? Me arse. Quarter of million in wages to himself but still can’t pay his taxes? Get out of the Dail you clown Wallace.
      And as for the ULA? All fire and brimstone when dealing with other politicians, but not their own evidently. Just lost all credibility in my opinion on this one, weak to the core when dealing with one of their own.
      It didn’t take Wallace and Inkus O’ Snodaigh to become driver and conductor of the gravy train did it?

• I think you will find he is not a member of the ULA or a socialist he is just part if a technical group grouping of independents etc to ensure independents get speaking time. They do not have a joint policy platform etc. all anyone can do is condemn someone they have no control over his decisions. Of course any left wing group considers non payment of tax by a property developer wrong they just haven’t have the experience of handling this level of fraud unlike all the other parties where it is parr for the course

• Dubdon does that mean Enda is a disgrace he wouldn’t demand his resignation either.

• Just yet another sign of the utter corrupt political system we’re living under…a few months back some guy gets locked up for not pay vat in garlic..but this guy walks away from anything resembling jail. This country is being raped by its political classes and by Europe and to our collective shame, we’re standing by watching it.

• If this were a FG or a FF TD you can be sure that the members of the Technical Group would be jumping up and down screaming for an immediate resignation.

The same rules don’t seem to apply to its own group members.

• Shame on ULA. If that was a member of another party they would call for his head. The people of Wexford are standing up for him because he has done good work for them. He broke the law. Would they be happy with a drug dealer if he spend his illegal money on a few football teams.

• He’s not a member of the ULA, he’s a member of the Technical Group which is a loose affiliation of left and right wing TDs formed solely to get speaking time in the Dail. If he was a member of the ULA they could expel him as a party member, but not as a TD just as was the case with Lowry and FG. Its up to him either to resign or the people of his constituency to vote him out in the next election. And if Lowry is anything to go by there’s a good chance he would come back topping the poll. That’s politics in Ireland, but don’t try to blacker the other members of the Technical Group for something over which they’ve no controls.

• You misinterpreted my post. I am well aware of the technical group and the different members of it. My point is if this was a member of one of the larger parties ie fine Gael or labour the ULA would be calling on him to resign and rightly so. I never said anything about expelling him. It is outrageous what he has done. Now he is going to Poland for the euro’s. Wish I could afford to go, put I have to pay my taxs. I can not believe that the ULA especially Joe is saying so little out this. Is this not a completely against all they believe in.

• Eh, no we’re not! *Some* people are standing up for him. Bertie, Haughey and Lowry still have their supporters too, so you’ll always have stupid people supporting politicians who indulge in wrongdoing.

I feel vindicated that I gave Wallace no support, but it gives me no pleasure to find out I was right.

• Against socialism ? You should look up socialism. It is interesting . The technical group is not a political party . The ULA has not been declared a political party so far as I know , People really need to find out more about the subjects they are condemning , I am not saying I know much as I am not involved in socialism but it is good to understand some of it .

• Excuse my ignorance. I thought that the socialist party would be against developers not paying large amounts of tax owed to the state. I stand corrected. You are right, you don’t know a whole lot

• Martin Griffith
      At least I am willing to learn \/…Unlike a lot of the sarcastic and bad mannered commenters here , who continue to bally rag about the people who justly refuse to accept the unfair and unjust house hold tax. It is 1,000,000. households who have refused to pay and register. You will find it is the government who have been condensing the numbers re same. If Mick Wallace wants to resign let him if he wants to stay that is up to his constituents. I really don’t care. Ivor Callely stayed , Ray Burke , Lawlor, Aherne, etc etc . They brought this country to its knees. Have a good day tho ,I reckon you enjoy this weather , miserable !

• For a start what’s the the house hold charge got to do with Mick Wallace not paying his tax bill? I have never advocated to pay or not to pay the house hold charge. I believe that is up to each individual to make up there own mind. I also believe that Lawlor, Burke etc should have resigned. Maybe I set to high of standards for the law makers of our country. Ps it is very miserable weather but thankfully I am personally far from miserable.

• Ha ha irish politics still alive, corrupt and still doing well at sticking 2 fingers up at the people who voted you in. What great people we have in power. You know what, we deserve every single one of these bastards. As the quote goes- a country gets the government they deserve. Well done Ireland.

• There is no ambiguity here ,he broke the law and admitted it.He must be arrested and charged ,otherwise this country will start to look like a tinpot banana republic where liars and thieves prosper ………..oh no wait

• Sean 07/06/12 #

Aren’t these the same people telling us not to pay the household charge?

• SMcB 07/06/12 #

Hardly a settlement when his company can’t pay????

• Mick Wallace is now guaranteed to be re-elected at the next general election

Why? The more Michael Lowry was mired in scandal and implicated in corruption, the more his vote went up

• Jim 07/06/12 #

Cue the red thumbs here but if Joan Collins tells us that “No matter who it is, you have to pay your taxes.” then why is she part of a campaign telling people not to pay the Household Charge, which however unpopular is a valid tax introduced by the Government of this country in a legal manner.

Is it too much to ask for consistency from the ULA?

• How can you have consistency between a tax that takes as much from someone living in Ballymun as it does from someone living on Shrewsbury road? ? :-o

• Jim 07/06/12 #

Sorry not biting. There are probably thousands of example of unfair taxes which hit one section of the population more than the others (the obvious one being the TV licence). It still doesn’t explain the inconsistency in their approach.

• I’m no ULA fan but In fairness, there is a huge difference between a strong strong stance against a 100euro tax, and not paying in protest, and understating millions in vat.

• The household charge is not a tax, hence the word charge

• The house hold charge is a charge on a non income earning home ! Flat – unfair and unjust !
      Mick Wallace owes money on VAT on money earned from the sale of apartments . Big BIG difference between the charge and an income tax…

• Susie…
      I never said you were a socialist/lefty.
      Please!
      But try to envisage a government under the reign of Sinn Fein or indeed Mick Wallace.
      This would be not just unthinkable but economic suicide for Ireland.
      Evaluate the overall fiscal situation of the average irish citizen.
      Look at the shopping habits of irish shoppers.
      Look at the contents of their trolly’s.
      How come mega retailers like Lidl,Aldi,Tesco, Superquinn etc are stlll expanding?
      Ireland is a wealthy country.
      Your people would never admit to this.
      The media will always portray the negative of any situation as good news does not sell.

• Ireland is a wealthy country. No one has disputed that . But , the poor are getting poorer and the wealthy getting richer. Shocking. I do not condone what Mick Wallace has done BUT ,why should he be made a scape goat for all the wrong doers over the past twenty years ? He has not been declared bankrupt , nor shouild he be tried by the media.

• With a bit of luck he’ll stay in Poland. I can’t believe he’s pissing off while the Dail is still in session. How quickly he has assimilated a dodgy developer to a dodgy politician

• maura 07/06/12 #

The household charge is because people like Mick Wallace did not pay their taxes. I hope revenue are auditing other property developers to verify that they paid all their VAT and tax. Surely Mick Wallace was paying himself during the time he owed this money and was recklessly trading.

• Makes me wanna vomit hearing this news. Why shouldn’t he go to jail. If you or I evaded our taxes we would go to jail. One rule for the rich and another rule for the rest of us….. And while im on a rant he shouldn’t have to resign cos we’ve no need for a flipping government cos Germany makes all our decisions now so they should all just eff off

• It’s no wonder this country in in the mess it is in!!! It is NOT acceptable that someone who REPRESENTS us in our parliament can knowingly under declare his taxes, make a settlement with the revenue which will never be paid back and get away scot free with no consequences. I have had enough of this carry on, he has to go!!!

• What lies beneath…this guy should be investigated.

• The technical groups failure to outright condemn Wallaces behaviour is a disgraceful double standard… where’s Daly, RBB et al?

• RBB was on today fm condemning wallace about a hour ago oreilly.

• Trurleft, did he call on him to resign?

• Trueleft, do you think he should resign?

• ….what’s that…..ah yes the sound of silence! trueleft trueleft, hello….anyone there?

• toorkeel, do ye not eat dinner where you’re from around about 6 o’clock no?

RBB did not call on him to resign oreilly, but you claimed they did not condemn him which they clearly did.

Do i think he should resign? If he has not made a genuine effort to correct his actions then yes, I think he should.

• Yes we do, or earlier if our 2 1/2 year old decides otherwise, not at 7.10pm when I posted the comment. Whatever my dinner time has to do with this post is puzzling me. Anyway, back to the topic. Good politicians answer by the way. The man deliberately defrauded the taxman.
      So should Mr Wallace resign his position and no longer represent the people of Wexford in Dail Eireann for doing deliberately defrauding the state? No waffle, a Yes/No answer

• He needs to do more than resign, he needs to be arrested.

• They have condemned him ,read the story again ! They condemned him . !

• I think its perfectly obvious toorkeel. If somebody doesn’t answer a post around 6pm its reasonable to assume they’re having their dinner, not that they don’t have an answer.

• Susie, they’ve not called on him to resign. And they should… As for condemnation, some have though they were very slow and seem to be motivated more by media observations of their silence. Most have gone to ground….
      Do you think he should resign?

• Yeah where is daly, I remember her antics over the past few weeks not to mention her role in the team aer lingus fiasco, some beaut, and I’m talking about her delivery.

• Adrian , O’Reilly
      I don’t think he should have to resign. He has not been declared bankrupt , also he was the one who went to the rev., commissioners about his failure to pay . Another thing is , he is entitled to try and pay , he can not do that if he is not earning . I would prefer if fingleton ,fitzpatrick, quinn and any of the crooked bankers and developers were charged with their crimes before they went after the victims of their blackguardism.

• Antics Brian? I remember Clare Daly on RTE tearing Joan Burton a new one last week. What antics are you on about? Was she giving wedgies outside the dail or something?

• Susie,
      what is it with you lefties? If this were Fine Gael, Fail or anyone else you’d be screaming blue murder. But because its one of you’re own you make excuses. He made it clear it will never be paid. Double standards abound here today. True colours too…

• He’s a Victim now Susie? Seriously? Wallace should be punished to the full extent of the law, as they Did with the “garlic” fiasco.

• @True Left WHAT? LOL .” If somebody doesn’t answer a post around 6pm its reasonable to assume they’re having their dinner, What sort of an idiotic comment is that. It sounds like something Wallace would say.#Laughable. You cant answer the question, can you? A simple question that is being put to you? Should Wallace resign, yes/no? No waffling, a simple yes or no?

• Bilbo
      He is a victim of this blasted recession , are you ?
      O Reilly
      I must be getting tired but I posted an answer above , any way I am not a leftie / socialist ….yet !
      To my shame I voted FG in last years GE.I was duped. But you know what The left can not possibly any worse than the rtight wing parties we have there now, not that you would see it as a good thing because the poorer in our society would not be poverty stricken and the wealthy would be paying their way .

• Well you’re the genius that was inferring that the fact I had not posted an answer indicated I was avoiding the question, when i was in fact having a bite to eat:

“….what’s that…..ah yes the sound of silence! trueleft trueleft, hello….anyone there?”

Try it on one of the boyscouts sunshine and stop embarrassing yourself.

• Susie, “he is a victim of this recession” a victim of over zealous bankers flinging cash at him. Well I have heard it now. Let’s take a deep breath and consider this. He borrowed 70 million to build, develop properties in the hope of
      A) be a modern robin hood and give the houses to the poor
      B) build hospitals for the sick and infirm
      C) make as much money as possible while maintaining the good guy image
      His actions contributed towards the recession we find ourselves in by reckless borrowing in the hope to make a quick buck. And now he has the audacity to seek sympathy as a victim of the very events he helped bring about.
      It actually baffles me that he is receiving any support at all, but from the ULA. The world has been flipped on its head and you Susie need to chose your sides more carefully. This man has committed a crime, directly or indirectly as a director of his company. Remaining on as a TD is and should be impossible.

• O’Reilly, Toorkeel

BLUE MURDER OLIVIA MITCHELL IS STILL IN OFFICE AND CONTINUES TO COLLECT HER SALARY REGARDLESS OF THE FACT THAT SHE LOVES BROWN ENVELOPES. Have I shouted that loudly enough for you. Oh! and here is something else to shout about – FINE GAEL WERE INVOLVED IN TAX EVASION IN THE 90′S WHEN THEY WERE PAYING PEOPLE INTO THE HAND – THE THEN LEADER SHOULD HAVE BEEN ARRESTED WHEN IT CAME TO LIGHT.

• boildyeggs
      I do not condone what he has done , I actually have no time for him , I do not know what policies he got elected on, he could dress better and he could learn to be more articulate BUT All of that does not make him bad. He made an error in judgement and I just feel that he should not be tried by media. He said he was trying to save the business and subsequently 60 jobs. thats all . ”It actually baffles me that he is receiving any support at all, but from the ULA. The world has been flipped on its head and you Susie need to chose your sides more carefully. This man has committed a crime, directly or indirectly as a director of his company. Remaining on as a TD is and should be impossible.”
      Well , why are you saying this to me ? I need to choose my sdes more carefully ?? What a strange statement ! I am not in the socialist party . I am not in ULA, I am just voicing my opinion.. There seems like a lot of hysteria over Mick Wallace , yet people voted yes last thursday !!! Strange that

• toorkeel 08/06/12 #

@Trueleft. Strange. When or whether you have your “dinner” is of no interest to me. You keep mentioning your “dinner” but can’t answer a question. Is this your excuse for not answering yes/no, you’re having your “dinner”? I understand it must be hard to see one of your shining lights if “socialism” exposed for what he is, a crook and a thief. No better than the bankers and developers who broke this country. In fact he is one of them. Funny, he still has money to attend the Euros….fraudster

• Toorkeel, you left Mitchell out there again.

• “Collins said she would distinguish between Wallace’s actions and the actions of other property developers “who consciously try and evade paying tax and put money aside”.”

Like putting money aside to go to Euro 2012???

Wallace needs to go!

• If honesty is a prerequisite for a seat in the current dail david, shouldn’t your leader resign over roscommon hospital?

• Don’t change the subject!

• @David off topic but a fair point.

• Apologies david, but i hope you understand that a member of the party who lied their way into government, u turned on their election promises and threatened and blackmailed the people they represent questioning somebodys ethics is like Quasimodo jeering somebody because they’re not sitting up straight.

So I hope you understand how laughable it is to see the default apologist for every lowlife action of this government exclaim his faux outrage because the latest revelation about a TDs dishonesty happens to be outside of your party.

• Too Trueleft, two wrongs don’t make a right! If you belive honesty should be a prerequisite for politicians, it should be for all politicians. Start now by calling for him to resign and the next time you call for a member of government to resign it would have more weight. A big problem in Irish politics – he’s a gangster but he’s our gangster!!!!! I

• Eh john, you should get off your little high horse. As far as I’m concerned he should explain himself at committee and if his explanation is not satisfactory he should resign.

• John McG 08/06/12 #

Too Trueleft, if you think that someone who calls for dishonest politicians to be held accountable is speaking from a high horse – youre right, I would scream it from the highest horse available to try and get them held accountable. No matter what their political party is – whats wrong with that !!

• How about we just arrest everyone who stands for election into the dail? it would surely save a lot of time and effort.

• Joan Collins: We would never ask anyone (our colleague) to resign….

ULA website calls on entire government to resign with quote from Joan Collins.

http://www.peoplebeforeprofit.ie/node/532

I officially call shenanigans.

• Tbh, for the life of me, could never understand how, all things considered, a property developer topped the poll in Wicklow in the first place…!

• Joan Collins TD said that “tax evasion is wrong”.

And has Joan paid her household charge yet?

Stones, glass houses.

• Agree double standards.

• Hardly. The ULA throughout the Campaign against the Home Tax have differentiated between unjust, immoral flat taxes and socially progressive graduated taxes and taxes on opulent wealth.

• As much as this kills me David! I’m giving you a green thumb! First and last I’m confidently predicting though!!

• VAT is also flat and regressive.

• David, you’re some joker. The ULA object to the household tax as unjust. They’re entitled to that opinion. Now back in your FG hole please.

• Funnily enough, davids dear leader enda also referred to the household tax as unjust.

• @Martin So if I decide that paying Income tax is unjust I should b just be allowed avoid it?. What about if I feel laws on drugs etc are unjust can I purchase away?. Idiotic logic. The law of the state is just that the law and has to be followed by every citizen. If u disagree you can and should be allowed to protest, propose alternatives, run for office but you still have to obey the current law.

• Hi Lorcan, I just went back in time there to Italia 90. A time in Ireland where it was illegal to be gay. But my Delorean time travelling didn’t stop there, I hopped back to 1860, visited the USA and found, to my delight, that I could own a black person. So everyone should always obey the law always. And I’m the one whose logic is flawed?

• Your one step away from Godwins law there Martin be careful ;). But seriously comparing those social issue to the household charge is actually offensive to the huge struggles the LGBT and black communities faced nd still face today.

• Yeh and you’d know nothing about the struggles of working class people, the fact you diminish them by indicating that class struggles like the campaign against that unfair tax or not on an equal footing with other types of equality battles shows me the type of background you’re coming from. Is it YFG, OFF or LY btw? You haven’t a clue dude.

• Quick scan of your facebook page and we have it, Young Fine Gael. Good man :)

• Yes I am a member of FG, really don’t see why that matters to this discussion. Why is it some crime for a person to join a party which echoes his beliefs. At least I am active in promoting the ideals and policies I believe in instead of just pissin and moanin on a website.
      Also I stand by the fact that the household charge campaign is nowhere near as imprtant as the discrimination minorities face. I don’t deny that many people in Ireland are struggling at the moment and our no 1 priority as a country has to be start creating jobs again to help those who want to work.I do, however, dispute the fact that the majority are not paying this fee because they cant afford it. Many are not paying because they simply don’t want to and there is safety in numbers others are using it as political capital.

• David, what Mick Wallace did was wrong, full stop. But seeing as you relish the chance to put the boot into anyone outside of your West British/West German blueshirt bubble, can you please answer why the Fine Gael website won’t answer/is deleting questions from its website.

• He has not paid the HHC . He is one of the 9 td’s whoi are campaigning against its introduction , along with the 1,000,000 house holds who have not paid it

• @Lorcan In answer to your question regarding Income Tax, yes, you are entitled to avoid it, by legal means. Evasion, as in this case, is an entirely different matter.

• Susie Chester…
      Point out to me a single socialist country that has delivered quality of life to their people.
      Introduce socialism and you will undoubtedly put the cat amongst the pigeons.
      The pigeons being the part of society taking the risk of investing in a country and stimulating the economy.

• Stray Mutt
      …and the right wing parties(FF / FG / Lab) have done so much for us? Not ….Pot ,Kettle , Black comes to mind !
      I am not a socialist or leftie as you say , I voted for FG last year to my shame. I was duped as were so many others. Mick Wallace said what he did was wrong BUT for the right reasons. What is FG/Labours excuse?

• They did it for the Reich reasons??

• Stones and glass houses, ha classic, Fine Gael for 9 years were defrauding the taxpayer by paying staff off the books and were made to make a settlement on when it was discovered. Another Classic David Higgins gaff, do you anything about that party you represent.

• I’m sure life in Cuba is shite BUT they do have a quality health service, probably one of the best in the world.

• Oh, yes. The plight of those homeowners lucky enough to avoid the property bubble asked to pay €2 a week so that people less well off than themselves can have stuff like hospitals and schools — it’s just like the battle for gay rights and for the abolition of slavery!

FFS… the quality of ‘socialists’ we have in this country…

And Susie, there are around 700,000 unpaid charges as of a month ago: you’re almost as bad with numbers as Wallace…

• Peter
      The government have been condensing the numbers to boost their own agenda.
      If you believe that the hhc is correct then go ahead and pay it or you probably have paid it to curry favors with the leader…
      However I believe it is wrong , unfair , and unjust , the same as enda did , how fickle is that great man. I will not pay it and I believe the number of households who have not paid it is closer to the 1,000,000 . That is what I believe and trust, shoot me !

• Condoning a crime is as bad as committing it yourself. Shame on you – technical group

• Did you not read the headline? “Technical Group colleagues condemn Wallace but won’t call on him to resign”

• Matoid: false accusations, sounds like guilty by association. The only issue here is he broke the law and should resign. The police should be instructed by the DDP to implement the law. Revenue should already be looking for payment and if they don’t resignations might in order there, of course if this massive majority government can’t get this sorted soon then maybe they should resign as well.

• “Tax evasion is wrong?”
    What the hell is the boycott of the Household Charge then if not tax evasion??
    Talk about speaking out of both sides of your mouth.

• We would not have had to pay the household charge if these shysters paid their Taxes. His outstanding tax was already collected from the VAT collected from probably young couples trying to get a home and are still paying interest on the VAT the borrowed from the bank on apartments that are worth twiddly squit.. FFS we have to stand up now. I could cry with the injustice of it all.

• Why is this a story about resigning,Wallace styles himself a man of the people this was blatant tax evasion which is a criminal offence,the biscuit is well and truly taken when Mick spouts he has done a deal with revenue for 2.1 million only catch there Mick is that the company is insolvent so you pay nothing,why has no file gone to the DPP and this crook brought in front of a judge in the circuit criminal court.

• LAWLORD 07/06/12 #

Hypocrite’s

• mick wallace to be fair to him provided jobs and put food on tables during the boom years. That is no excuse for evading taxes.
    Maybe mick should have concentrated more on his buisness during the boom than his football clubs in wexford and portugal. Anyway as a failed developer / goverment representitive without a tax clearance cert, sure he can always go back to what he’s qualified for.
    TEACHING

• I do condem any kind of falsehood by people in public office, but nobody listens to me. Mick has learned from the experts in non-accountability in the Master Class in Dail Eireann. Their will soon be a majority it the Dail with this kind of problem. Mick Wallace do the right thing and resign now, or get councelling from Lowry, or you could go to the Gardai and report a crimnal offence and help them with their enquiries.

• Eugene,
      It was easy to provide jobs and put food on the tables during the boom years if you weren’t handing over your VAT that you collected from the people you provided jobs for and put food on the tables from. Taxes are only for the little people. And what about him not handing over his pension contributions that he collected from the people he provide jobs to.

• “Set a thief to catch a thief” – what better place than the Dail.
    Wallace, you are now amongst the greatest abusers of the Irish people. Government – what a joke, Fianna Fail by another name.

• cant get over how these people who owe many millions to the Revenue can get highly paid jobs in Govmt with pension ets,
    a little business I had went bust , I owed nobody anything after it closed , but recently I applied for old age pension , I was refused because I still owed Revenue €280 self-employed insurance contributions.

• At the time of the last election the good people of Wexford (many of whom would class themselves as being on the left I imagine) registered their disgust at the actions of developers and bankers by electing a developer. Not only did they elect him, he topped the poll.
    At the time of his election he was insolvent. So an insolvent developer topped the poll despite us all aparently being disgusted by dodgy developers……..I find that amazing.
    I find it even more amazing that people on here use this story to again have a go at politicians and claim they are all crooked and corrupt. This fool was crooked before he became a politician.

• Geez didn’t really expect that to post as none of my last attempts would post…too bad, no offence but I am truly sickened and feel a peculiar violence heave inside me more and more with each new wretch from those who represent us…they say you get what you deserve, this is the most upsetting aspect of this, I want better standards than this shi** whether from Wallace or Ahern or Cowan.

• SMcB 07/06/12 #

If there is to be any consistency … The directors of MJ Wallace Ltd should be jailed exactly like the chap who under declared VAT http://www.thejournal.ie/man-jailed-for-five-years-over-vat-fraud-458745-May2012/

• i wonder if Micks problem is stopping any tds slipping of to the football now,

• One thing that must be said in relation to this. In the cesspool that is Irish politics, where haughey got a state funeral, berties creaming it on the international speaker circuit, and our present government lied their way to power, it was refreshing to actually hear a politician today on the radio admit he did something wrong and offer an explanation how it happened and what he did to try make things right.

• And he’s at the Euros….WTF..should be jail, the arrogance of the reptile.

• Godwin’s law, alive and well.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godwin’s_law

• Why has Wallace not been prosecuted? The Garlic Man got 6 years for. €1.6 million VAT scam. Wallace campaigned to subvert the law relating to the Household Charge and now he brags about being an impecunious tax dodger acting with impunity.

If he had any dignity he would abandon the Oireachtas permanently. Forget about the committees of muppets. They deliver no outcomes.

• Catherine Murphy TD says its up to the citizens to call for his resignation…..maybe she could tell us how this is achieved…or has she forgotten that she represents a portion of those citizens……..i think this is called sitting on the fence!!

• Bloody disgraceful carry on in this country criminals in the dail

• If you want to get away with anything in Eire just join the Irish Government they are all for one and one for all, of course we all vote these crooks every election

• The political system is corrupt in Ireland from the top down. They are all the same just wrapped differently!!

• Seanbeag 07/06/12 #

Of course they won’t put pressure on him. Just like every other politician. Principals go out the window when faced with losing power.

• Fall on yer sword, Mick. The worst you could do would be to set an example to FF and Labour.

• So did he declare this information voluntarily at least (even if at that stage he had to come clean?)
    And come on, how many people would have done the same? Look at that poor man in jail over the onions and garlic thing, and he had been trying to pay back what he owed!

• I would vote for him, I have no problem with what he did, I would go to any protest or donate to any fund to get garlic man out. The taxes are being given to gangsters and bankers in Anglo and Nama as bonuses!!

• People seem to be missing the point, and again I don’t condone what Wallace did – he’s as bad as the rest of the corrupt developers, but the loss to the exchequer in tax dodging is a drop in the ocean compared to the burden of private bank debt being foisted onto the people.

Greece has shown us that no matter how much they try to squeeze out of ordinary people and the ultra-rich (although they need to be taxed at 70% at least!) they still will not have enough to cover these payments.

These tax scandals are nought but a sideshow to the real bloodsucking that’s going on daily in this state.

• From your statement I’m afraid that you seem to be missing the point Kerron.
      Its not a question of the extent of his tax dodging its the hypocrisy of the whole situation, surely you can see that?
      Although there is no de minimis limit for avoiding tax- its a crime no matter how much it is

• I’m not talking about his tax dodging Bryan, I’m talking about the feigned indignation Fine Gael (and the media) are displaying, when they’re about to throw vast multiples of 2.1million away in paying back French, German and British bondholders next week

• Kerron, you’ve missed the point big time.

• I agree that Wallace has to go, and face consequences. But the right-wingers using this as a stick to beat the CAHWT is a non-runner.

Also, if the Government started jailing tax evaders they might find themselves in some awkward situations amongst their close allies amongst the Irish ruling class, and the corporations who only pay a fraction of the pitiful 12% of their profits that they’re taxed to operate in the Twenty-Six counties.

• Leave Mick alone, he is harmless

• Now I have no one to vote for, they’re all a bunch on c****

• jeez they are all liars and thieves, thats what the criteria in ireland is for a politician, they lie about their expenses every month, they pay their friends who give them back handers, bankers did billions, who hears about them now, are they in jail,,, fg did it 15 years ago and made a settlement, its going on and on, and nothing will be done, but then his only one man ,,,, so maybe they will go after him,,, they are all hypocrites,,, thieves , and liars, we need a new type of government not same party shite every year, and now watch what happens when new election comes, all ff, fg and labour will have independents running as non party,,, only way to get in,,, i dont see mick wallace as any worse than the rest of them, fg sold our soverignety out after 100 years of freedom, we went cheap, ff, sold our souls and food chain, labour just have brown mouths from,,, all liars and thieves,,,,,

• Noel O'D 08/06/12 #

Jackie the problem isn’t that all politicians are ALL liars, cheats, thieves, conmen, crooks etc you are wildly inaccurate and there isn’t a shred of evidence to support your wild claims.
      The problem is in fact that you and others in this country prefer to make baseless comments rather that see Wallace’s actions for what the were……theft and tax evasion.

• Fine Gael were done for tax evasion in the 90′s for paying staff under the table for 9 years. I havent seen one FG supporter on here showning any disgust at that your party leadership no less. Its the reason Kenny won’t go on about Wallace.

• Noel O'D 08/06/12 #

@Martin The reason Kenny isn’t telling Wallace to resign his seat is that one member of the Dail doesn’t have the power to remove another member, only the electorate can change their TD.
      Also he is refraining from commenting in case it prejudices any future legal case.

• Noel, I’m well aware of the limits of TD’s power in the dail. But if you look at what I said its, that the tax evasion that FG were caught for is the real reason Kenny has been quite about it. His party members who must have forgot what they did or hoped everyone else did were not too afraid of causing any legal waves this afternoon in the Dail. No shame !

• I’d say Kenny is mindful of setting a precedent and then having to condemn all dodgy dealing when they come to light. He has yet to officially accept the findings of the Moriarty Tribunal as far as I know .

• Noel O'D 08/06/12 #

@Martin firstly I am not a FG spokesperson, secondly it was ?190,000 over 9 years in the case of FG as compared with over ?2 Million in Wallace’s case. However it was tax evasion and as far as I remember Noonan ensured that the party paid interest and penalties and became fully compliant when he became Leader and was made aware of the issue. I doubt anyone, even FG members would say that FG had done everthing perfectly over the years.

• Noel O'D 08/06/12 #

@Martin As I understood it Kenny welcomed the findings of the Tribunal and asked his minister to look at how the recommendations could be implemented.
      He would hardly look to implement the recommendations if he didn’t accept them.

• But to a yes or no question on tax evasion, were Fine Gael guilty of tax evasion yes or no? answer just like Mick Wallace yes they were, but all day today in the dail one blueshirt after another stood up and condemed a man who was guilty of the same crime as there own party and most speakers were a member of at the time. No high ground for the right wing on this topic.

• Noel O'D 08/06/12 #

@Martin the one TD wh made a comment was from The Labour Party

• Noel O'D 08/06/12 #

@Martin Flanagan from FG said it should be investigated

• Sorry that should have started Minford

Add New Comment