TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Sunday

In your 9 at 9: Minister in sack threat; the universal social charge is here to stay; the end of LulzSec; the senator and the passport row; and the world’s ugliest dog.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you really ought to know with your morning cup of coffee…or tea.

1. #SACK ROW The Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar has said he will sack the board of the Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) by Christmas if it does not stop the bonus payment to chief executive Declan Collier. Following news that Collier is to be awarded €106,000 as part of a performance-related bonus, Varadkar has told the Irish Mail on Sunday he will not reappoint several directors of board next year unless the CEO’s bonus payment is stopped.

2. #SOCIAL CHARGE The universal social charge looks set to remain in place despite the expectation that the controversial measure would be scrapped following a review by the new government, reports the Sunday Business Post. Minister for Public Expenditure Brendan Howlin has outlined the importance of the €420 million the tax contributes to the exchequer in an interview with the paper.

3. #DRUGS Gardaí have made a number of arrests following the seizure of drugs with an estimated street value of over €700,000 in Cork and Dublin yesterday. In two separate incidents, gardaí arrested two men in Dublin following the seizure of cocaine and cannabis. While a man was arrested in Blarney, Co Cork yesterday following the discovery of a cannabis factory.

4. #DIABETES A major new study has indicated that the number of adults with diabetes has more than doubled since 1980. In a study published in the Lancet, researchers in London and the US analysed data from 2.7 million people worldwide determining that the number of people suffering from diabetes has gone up from 153 million to 347 million people. Fast food has been blamed for the rise.

5. #LULZSEC The hacker group behind a number of security breaches on high-profile websites including those of the US Senate, the CIA, Sony and Nintendo has announced it is disbanding. LulzSec gave no reason for the decision which was announced on the group’s Twitter account. A statement said that its “planned 50-day cruise had expired”.

6. #SENATOR It is reported that Senator Mary White was involved in an altercation with staff at the passport office in Dublin this past week. The Sunday Times (subscription) reports that White told the security officer who had asked her to leave that he was “lucky to have a job” and “lucky to be getting paid”. The Fianna Fáíl senator has denied she said those things.

7. #CHINA Another dissident has been released by the Chinese government. Hu Jia, one of the country’s most prominent dissidents has been released from prison after three-and-a-half years. He had campaigned for the environment and AIDS patients prior to his incarceration. His sentence for “inciting subversion” was due to end today, BBC reports, and it follows the high-profile release of artist Ai Weiwei earlier this week.

8. #HEADSCARF A woman was reportedly fired from her job at the trendy clothing outlet Hollister, a subsidiary of Abercrombie and Fitch, in the US state of California for wearing a headscarf or hiqab as some Muslim traditions require. The San Mateo Patch reports that the woman is suing the company after she was told that her headscarf “was not in compliance with the company’s ‘look policy.’”

9. #WORLD’S UGLIEST A 14-year-old Chinese crested and Chihuahua mix dog has won the not-so-prestigious title of World’s Ugliest Dog at a fair in California this week. Yoda weighs just two pounds, has short tufts of hair, a protruding tongue and long hairless legs. The dog’s owner thought the pooch was a rat when she first discovered it:

Picture: Associated Press

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• He won’t be sacking them he just won’t be renewing their contracts next year. Happens every day in business.

• Go Leo go. About time someone took on these fat cats. These guys are on way too much money, where do they think they are working? It is obscene that public money is thrown around like this. The ref on judges pay should be extended to include the semi states.

• 007 26/06/11 #

Got to agree way to go Leo. Take them on and see if they back down so as not to loose their plush gravy train seat. You’d think collier would have taken a voluntary cut or something.

• Guinness. They are fair points about the dedication needed to make it to the top of any profession. And yes you should be rewarded if you make it there. However 608k for any individual working from the public purse is obscene at any time and especially in the current climate. The previous government were the ones who presided over this greed. Lack of fairness in society is what is causing division and ‘begrudgery’. €12,000 per week for running the airports without any competition.! Come on.

• This guy is probably on a salary in the region of €200k a year, if not more
    To expect a bonus payment of €106k a year in addition to that kind of salary is obscene in my opinion
    That is the equivalent of 10 years dole payments for some people or more than 3 years salary for a person on a nice average wage of €30k a year

Yes, the DAA made a profit last year, but they did it at the expense of Shannon and Cork who also fall under their control that should not be forgotten!

I would not normally be a supporter of Leo Varadker but he is 100% right on this one
    A 16k bonus would be reasonable and I could possible live with that
    A one hundred and six thousand euro bonus?

No way Jose!!!!!!!!

• These semi state personel are making obscene money as it is without making obscene work related bonus’s… I am ex military and more to the fact ex EOD… Do you think I got a bonus every time we made a viable IED safe, No and Guinness , please don’t come back with the contract crap.. These guys were getting bonus’s when the semi states were losing money

• He did not get any performance related bonus when they were loosing money, you are quite wrong there.

• Dave, you need to understand the difference between you doing a job as part of the rank and file and the CEO of an organisation. You carry out your work in line with the way you were trained to do. The CEO creates direction, stratgy and policy and is responsible for overall performance.

f your job did have a performance related bonus to it, would you like to be paid it if you performed? I know I would.

• 612,500 per year
    51,041 per month
    11,778 per week
    1,678 per day

• Yes drastic measures HAVE TO BE DONE! in these times bonuses just like that 106k? Who do these CEOs think they are while others really have problem!!! Go Leo go!!!! NOW! AND EVERYWHERE!!!

• 6. doesn’t surprise me. The Fianna Fáil way.

• When did Mary White go from the Green party and become a Fianna Fail party member!!!

“White told the security officer who had asked her to leave that he was “lucky to have a job” and “lucky to be getting paid”. The Fianna Fáíl senator has denied she said those things.”

• Thanks Benny but I think that you’ll find that your comment has absolutley nothing to do with the thread of comments so far.

Here, have a carrot.

• Guineas Follower, you need to read up about money, motivation and doing quality work… Here’s a link to start you on your learning path… http://www.ted.com/talks/dan_pink_on_motivation.html
    Enjoy.

• Guinness follower, you’re a donkey ! The country is in this mess because of FF putting their buddies in jobs with high pay for doing nothing anyhow. Leo & FG/L are left cleaning up the shit after the mess.

• Clan, by phrasing my reply ‘with respect’, I do so out of good manners, that’s all. I respect your opinion and I enjoy listening to your point of view.

• A contract is a legally binding document, therefore unless the government changes the statutory instruments or laws associated with employees rights, there is nothing that can be done about this!!

Morally it may be wrong but contractually it is correct, it just goes to show the state of our nation!!

• Clan O'D 27/06/11 #

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0627/1224299637539.html

“The company said last night that Mr Collier had informed the Minister that ‘in light of prevailing national economic circumstances he will forgo performance-related pay in respect of 2010 approved by the company’.”

• Market Rates are important. If you will only pay €250k to a CEO then the best will migrate to the private sector leaving behind the Division 2 CEO’s to look after the assets belonging to you, a citizen of Ireland.

If thats what you really want then fine, I accept your point of view. However, from my perspective, I want the best.

• €106,000 is neither here nor there. It’s a drop in the ocean. Varadkar is just making an issue out of it to be seen to be doing something.

• The banks were not semi-states Paul and the banks are a different case in point where corporate greed caused them to fail. Your point is not relevant to this debate.

• Greed is relevant to this debate. Whether it’s corporate or personal. MBAs are ten a penny and the vast majority of us make “tough and stressful decisions” every day of our lives. The country has just been “spoon fed” a bailout that the majority of us didn’t want. And “spoon fed” vicious cuts that are unjust and unreasonable. You’re in the wrong place to be talking about “bregrudgers”.

• Robert, again with respect, if I was the CEO of a semi state I wouldn’t care what the common man on the street felt about my pay. Did the common man on the street care about him as he educated himself through college, made sacrifices going through an MBA, worked 60 hours per week to work his way up the corporate ladder and made tough and stressful decisions on his way to the top? Of course not, its the Irish common man we’re talking about here. Biggest shower of bregrudgers in the world who wants to be spoon fed with everything and hates to see anyone do well for themselves.

• Clan, with the greatest of respect, if you read what Varadkar said you will appreciate that he has signalled in advance that ‘he will not renew their contracts’ if the bonus is paid.

Also, if what your saying is correct then it makes Mr Varadkars comments even more hollow.

• He will not renew their contracts if the bonus is paid? You’ve lost me. I could have sworn I read, “he will not reappoint several directors of board next year unless the CEO forgoes bonus payments.”

• They made a profit last year so yes, they should pay the man his bonus out of the profits.

If there was no profit, there would be no bonus and we wouldn’t be having this conversation.

Varadkar is meerly playing to the crowd with this bullshit talk of sacking the board. If I was Collier and a stunt like this was being pulled on me I would bring the DOT to court for breach of contract.

As said before, we need the best in these positions if they are to be ran in our best interests. Paying them below market rates only results in bad CEO’s which results in poor performance and costs us either way.

• Oh I forgot, market rates. Can’t get anyone to do anything without “market rates”.
      My foot.

• We are talkin about the airports here. Everybody who flys in or out has no choice but to pay the landing fees. It’s included in those taxes and charges added onto your ticket price. Let’s not get carried away with the whole free market argument. It has been shown to only exist for the little people. Do you not realise how these payouts look to the ordinary citizen struggling in the mire that has become the economy. The appearance of fat cats needs to be cut in the interest of fairness. Same with judges pay.

• When my uncle took his job in the public service they said that after 40 years he’d be entitled to a pension of x percentage of his salary until death. That pension was cut by 400 euro per month last January. Was that a breach of contract? Do you recommend that he go to court too?

• Spare me the semantics, a threat is a threat whichever way you look at it. They are being threatened with the sack if they do what is right.

• “when a minister threatens to sack directors if they give a man something that he is entitled to under the terms of his contract”

So you’re fussy about contracts. Do the directors have a clause in their “contracts” that says those contracts must be renewed? Or is it entirely a matter of choice?

• define wot u mean by “right”? morally right? ethically right? if varadkar paid d bonuses u’d be giving out about dat den and how fat cats keep getting d pay.

• Clan, again with respect, the most stressful decision you would make would not be on a par with those of a CEO. Also, MBA’s are indeed ten a penny but there are a small portion of MBA grads who go on to become CEO’s. This man is one of them and should not be on trial in the media by Varadkar. Why couldn’t this have all been handled behind closed doors? Of course, Leo wouldn’t have scored points with the public if he did that.

• When someone keeps trotting out “with respect” they rarely – if ever – mean a word of it. (As the rest of your comments show.) You clearly only respect people with money. Great value system you have. (I’m sitting here imagining you arse-licking CEOs on your way to the “top” … but the top of *what* I’m not sure …) As for, “the most stressful decision you would make would not be on a par with those of a CEO”, don’t attempt to lecture people when you have no idea what they do for a living.

• “MBA’s are indeed ten a penny but there are a small portion of MBA grads who go on to become CEO’s”

Sure. And sometimes when the system is working, some of them end up in jail for corruption. You have the most extraordinary notions about who matters in society and who doesn’t.

• Who does Varadkar think he is? A new low in Irish politics when a minister threatens to sack directors if they give a man something that he is entitled to under the terms of his contract.

What a bully.

Add New Comment