TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Turf cutters claim victory as minister says they must “work within the law”

An overnight stand-off at a bog in Galway ended today.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

THE MINISTER FOR Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Jimmy Deenihan is calling on turf-cutters to work within the law, following disturbances on a bog on Co. Galway overnight.

Around 150 turf-cutters were involved in a stand-off with Gardaí last night after officials from the National Parks and Wildlife Services attempted to move equipment used to cut peat near Clonmoylan Bog.

One of the machines was set on fire in the early hours of this morning. The stand-off came to an end earlier today and cutters were allowed to remove their own machinery in the presence of Gardaí.

Deenihan said that Gardaí removed and technically examined one piece of equipment, which has since been returned on the condition that it is not used to cut turf illegally.

He’s echoing the Taoiseach’s calls for turf-cutters to work within the law, accept the existing compensation package and move forward on the issue. He said that the Irish and European laws on environmental and heritage protections cannot be cast aside.

A European Union directive requires member states to conserve peatland habitats on raised bogs, a move which has meant it has had to enforce a total ban on turf-cutting on 53 bogs.

Deenihan said that €5 million for compensation has been set aside, and that the compensation package has already been enhanced.

Ireland faces daily fines of €25,000 for environmental damage if the laws are flouted, according to the minister.

RTÉ reports that the Turf Cutters Contractors’ Association feel that they have won the battle and will continue to cut turf.

All images: Julien Behal/PA Wire

Turf cutters claim victory as minister says they must “work within the law”
1 / 5
  • Clonmoylan Bog standoff

A garda walks past a fire damaged tracked machine at Clonmoylan Bog near Woodford during a standoff between National Parks and Wildlife Service over illegal turfcutting on the bog land resulted in the removal of turfcutting equipment in the presence of gardai.

A fire damaged tracked machine at Clonmoylan Bog.

A sign erected by protestors at Clonmoylan Bog

Protestors cheers as a seized hopper is driven away

A sign on a road near Clonmoylan Bog

150 Galway turf-cutters in overnight stand off with Gardaí>

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• We have had “The Field” – next – “The Bog”

• Cutting with a machine is not turf cutting tradition, its only running the bogs. Cutting with the slan a bit at a time allows the bogs to heal. I love the bog, flasks of tea and sandwiches when I was younger

• Peter 21/06/12 #

Traditional turf cutting by hand yes :-)nCombine harvester cutting Bord Na Mona no :-(

• “The bogs, the valleys, the mountains, the streams belong to the Irish people”.

Well stop digging them up for your own personal gain then.

• So. The bogs belong to the Irish people, do they? Great! Can’t wait for those turf cutters to deliver my share…

• Pat – it looks likely that it was the turfcutters who set it on fire when in Garda possession so they would get a new one for free, courtesy of the government as you say.

Except you forget that ‘the government’ only buy the machine, it’s the taxpayer, ie me, you and everyone else, who has to foot the bill

• Face it – these lads aren’t cutting because of heritage or to heat their own immediate (or even extended family’s) homes. They’re doing it to make a quick euro for themselves and don’t give a toss about future generations or the environment.

• Bord na mona are doing more damage to bog than the normal person who is just trying to get turf to heat their home and they normally are only a few weeks to rear your turf and then bog is back to grass land

• EMD 21/06/12 #

Dermot, nobody can deny that Bord na Mona have destroyed the vast majority of the bogs but when most of the damage was done the importance of the bogs was not known or acknowledged. The bogs are seen as a source of fuel and nothing more by many when they are of much greater value to the country if they are not cut and drained.

There is no doubt that Bord na Mona should not go on as they have but that must be dealt with under different legislation as they are not cutting protected sites. Turf cutters and their supporters cannot go on using Bord na Mona, Coillte, ESB etc. as a reason that they should be allowed to continue braking the law and destroying the environment. If we were all to follow that line of reasoning there would be mayhem because there would be no point to ever following the law because there is always someone not paying tax, not wearing a seabelt, not looking after their slurry pit properly etc. etc.

• EMD 21/06/12 #

*breaking

• Those pictures of Excavators and other machines have just lost the Turf cutters what little urban support they had.
    Bearing in mind these guys have turned down compensation The word Cowboys comes to mind

• Jimmy Deenihan should know better turf cutting is part of Irish Heritage and Europe obviously knows f**k all about that

• And is using one of these machines a part of the heritage?

• Barry 21/06/12 #

Turf cutting is part of our hertiage eh?
      Just because people have being doing stuff for years does not make it ok in modern times,in this case they are destroying land that should be kept for future generations. Its small minded and shortsighted.

Years ago people used to herd cattle from Kerry to Wexford or even further on main roads over 1-2 weeks, should this still happen “because its part of our heritage”. Think of the mayhem it would cause.

in many small towns throughout Ireland if there’s a funeral the funeral will walk through the town on the way to the graveyard causing all the traffic to stop, given this is also “part of our heritage” I guess this would be ok in the middle of Dublin, Cork, Galway etc for every funeral and sure if the funeral has to cut across a motorway thats ok to.

who knew that 100′s of years ago turf cutters also used JCB diggers and machines to cut turf just like they do today, ah that good old heritage again i guess.

Don’t be talking nonsense dan….

• @ Barry, I don’t get what traffic jams have to do with turf? My guess is you’re a city person. Turf is important in many rural areas and pen-pushers in Belgium obviously don’t have a clue. Yes, conservation is also important, but these are the people who banned crooked bananas and actually arrested Irish fishermen for not throwing out captured fish of the wrong species. And they have now reversed that law. And you consider them wise?? They are children.

• This could backfire on the turf cutters – heritage and diggers do not mix well. As far as I know they have some reasonable arguments, but burning their own equipment won’t do them any favours. It doesn’t smell half as nice anyway….

• mattoid 22/06/12 #

Sorry to break it to you pete, but the whole straight bananas thing was one big urban myth…

• Popsicle Pete – just to clarify, the crooked bananas story was a myth that the daily mail invented

• Barry 22/06/12 #

Popsicle Pete, check your facts first off….the banana thing never happened. Using stuff like that makes you look like an idiot.

Secondly, I’m far from a city boy that I can assure you, so you can throw this assumption out the window too,

Thirdly, the excuse of persevering heritage is being used as an excuse, if you want a non traffic related example then try this.

Many people years ago used to go to their local woods to cut down tree’s to heat their homes. Now as time passed this had to change or we’d have no woods, but stopping these people from cutting down trees ruined their heritage and also meant they finally had to actually pay for a fuel source to heat their homes (coal, oil etc).

Now any sane logical person could see that what they were doing was not sustainable, sure they might count it as their heritage but it was destroying our woodlands and we have so little of it left,

Now lets use this example with bogs, here we people using machines to dig up our bogs (very far from traditional), the bogs most certainly don’t grow back like tree’s and we have these people also using the excuse of heritage.

But what they are doing can’t continue to go on because if they keep doing this we’ll have no bogs in the future and the eu rightly see’s this.

As we’ve learned from our history often it takes a third party (in this case the eu) to see what idiotic actions people take in their local environment and what sort of knock on affects these actions have. In this case the actions result in little or no bogs in the future and thats unfair on future generations.

• Right on Barry, given the choice between burning the bogs and preserving the unique habitats they support I choose the latter.

• It took thousands of years from the last ice age to create these bogs and they grow at the rate of a millimeter a year. nFor someone to say that the bog is cut and then left to grow back is deluding themselves.

• Yet another reason why the EU DOESNT WORK!!! Border controls and mobile phones yes! But everything else should be up to each individual country! Federal taxes to Angie in Germany anyone? Cos u know ul b paying soon!

• The Government should let the people cut their turf and stand up to the Bullies in Europe,nFine Gael got elected on false promises,nBord na mona is exporting thousands of tonnes of peat every week so let them take a cut in their Bogs..n

• EMD 21/06/12 #

Pat it might come as a surprise to you but it is also Irish people who want the law enforced and the bogs protected. Can’t blame the EU & FG for everything when the law doesn’t suit you. Same people got plenty of money in grants and schemes funded by the EU and were happy to take them, you can’t have your cake and eat it. The bogs are the last remnants of a great heritage and were selected on scientific criteria as the best of the last remaining bogs and are legally protected under Irish law. They have been illegally cut for more than 10years so this cessation has not suddenly happened overnight, they have had ample time to seek alternatives and comply with the law. They have also been offered a number of different types of compensation for the next 15 years which is also plenty of time to look at alternatives. Times change, the importance of bogs was not known in the past but it is now and so we should understand that damaging practices such as turf cutting can no longer continue.

• The government should have to pay for a new digger for that man they seized it on as it was in their possession when it went on fire

• Barry 21/06/12 #

If the government had it in their possession how exactly were the protesters able to get right next to it? Mighty suspect that it just went on fire randomly like that……some people might suggest that perhaps the protesters may have had some hand or act in that in order to gain publicity for their cause.

Of course in this instance the machine should not have been in the place it was in the first place, I hope the chap has it insured cause he’s going to need that insurance now.

• Well done to them. They make us proud, they fight for their way of life.

• There should be a blanket bann if there is one at all, not one rule for the gov and one for the privateers.nAlso country people need alternatives for this to succeed. There needs to be incentives and help to show a better way of home heating.nSomeone will say help is already there, yeah of course but only if you look for it, I’m talking campaigns in your face.nOf course we don’t want the bogs to just sit there after, develop walks, mountain biking, bog links golf could be an idea for damaged bogland. Just said I’d throw that one out there for free..

• http://Www.researchireland.ie if you need to find out who own’s bog land.

• We have Bord na Mona stripping bogs with gigantic machines and selling the product for electricity generation. Allow the tradition of turf cutting to remain…but no machinery….Now where are the briquettes?

• Jimmy Denihan just stared to dig his own boghole we know what the agricultural people are like this will get messy expect jcb’s in he capital.;0

• A land Grab by the EU of private property owned by the people for generations. People facing into austerity and poverty and they steal thier land. Just like the Brits of long ago.

• The old bog road is to become the new bog autobahn.

Add New Comment