TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

150 Galway turf-cutters in overnight stand-off with Gardaí

The turf-cutters demonstrated at the protected Clonmoylan Bog as Gardaí tried to remove their equipment.

File photo of peat cuttings: the EU habitats directive demands that certain boglands be protected from turf-cutting.
Image: Lews Castle UHI via Flickr

AROUND 150 TURF-CUTTERS have engaged in an overnight stand-off with Gardaí at a bog in Co Galway, after officers attempted to remove equipment used for cutting peat on the bog.

One man was arrested and subsequently released in the overnight dispute, which arose after turf-cutters attend to try and stop the National Parks and Wildlife Service from removing equipment seized from lands near Clonmoylan Bog yesterday afternoon.

Local independent TD Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, who has campaigned in favour of retaining turf-cutting rights, told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that turf-cutting machinery had yesterday been seized from an area close to the bog, prompting the protesters to hold a sit-down protest.

Flanagan posted one picture to Twitter showing another mechanical digging device, which had not been removed by Gardaí, which was set on fire by unknown means shortly before 4am.

“We discovered that the contractor’s machine was basically like an inferno,” he said, saying protesters had “no idea” how the machine had been set alight, though they “would love to find out”.

The Roscommon-South Leitrim TD said the owner of the machine which was set on fire was extremely distressed, and had been removed to hospital shortly afterwards, such was his distress at seeing his machinery being damaged.

EU directive

A European Union directive requires member states to conserve peatland habitats on raised bogs, a move which has meant it has had to enforce a total ban on turf-cutting on certain bogs.

Turf-cutters have been lobbying for a ‘phased transition’ system where they would be permitted to continue to cut turf on protected bogland for a three-year period while their operations were moved to unprotected lands.

Flanagan said proposals put forward by turf-cutters to move on a phased basis would have ensured that 103 per cent of the protected lands would remain conserved, but accused the government of failing to lobby for this solution at European level.

“People just want to continue to cut their turf, they’re not interested in compensation, and there is a solution that can satisfy everyone.”

Also on Morning Ireland, justice minister Alan Shatter said Ireland was a risk of a daily fine of €25,000 if turf-cutting continued on protected lands.

“I deplore the fact that we have a member of Dáil Éirenan who has consistently misled those who have, in the past years, had access to cut these bogs, as to what the current position is,” Shatter said.

The minister said it was irresponsible to encourage “illegality and breach of the law”, and defended Gardaí for doing “what they can” to uphold it.

Watch: Irish turf-cutting film premieres at major film festival

Previously: Minister: Don’t break law by cutting turf

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• Woulda been better if it was an overnight dance-off with Gardai.

• This is a bloody disgrace. These fools in the Dail can’t seem to help themselves. Every time they’re presented with an opportunity to show how totally out of touch they are with ordinary citizens, in they jump with both feet.
    Shatter is a prime example of this, it’s if he lives in a different dimension or something.

• there’s a lot of ordinary citizens out of touch with reality too… EU environmental laws are this countries saviour.

• Gavin Tobin
      Is that true ? can you post links to that statement , because all I can see , and speaking as a city girl, the bogs are these people’s property on their private lands . The EU in my humble opinion , are interfering where they are not wanted or needed . They know nothing about our turf cutting heritage .

• Reg 21/06/12 #

Susie, there are no absolute property rights in Ireland. You can’t do what you like on your own land, there are laws for planning, conservation and much more. If they feel they have been hard done by they should take a case to the high court. Why haven’t they done this? Just because something has been done for years doesn’t mean it should continue indefinitely.

• A few things to note:
      Bogs are unique and important ecosystems. All natural bogs in the NW Europe are gone. In the United Kingdom there has been a 90% loss of blanket bogs. Ireland is the last country in Western Europe with significant bog left.
      Due to overexploitation by BNM only a small proportion of Ireland’s vast bogs is still of conservation importance (AKA the bogs at issue here)
      The structural aid we got from the EU (back in the good old times) to build our roads, motorways, sewage treatment plants, water treatment plants, engineered landfills, new schools, modern playgrounds, Luas system etc etc was given on condition that we PRESERVE our remaining best quality bogs.
      A lot of families with turf cutting rights “rent” out their lots to other individuals to cut turf, so it’s also a loss of income as well as a fuel/tradition issue. However as this is done on the black market they can’t publically mention it.

• Reg 21/06/12 #

Can’t wait for the great outraged this morning!

• Peter 21/06/12 #

It’s not these guys who are killing bogs … It’s bord na mona !

• I agree Gavin, cute hoorism is alive and well. Drill down to the so called Turf Cutters and you will find payments and grants galore. A few hairy arsed students and the dregs of society will be packing their tents for a summer of protest.

• It’s a protected bog!

• Aine 21/06/12 #

but why declan is this a protected bog? have you any idea the amount of bogs that are around the country that people dont actually need and are not protected at all? what people don’t realise is that the turfcutters themselves actually know a little about the environment and actually before it became cool for the tree huggers to protect bogs country folk were actually doing it naturally. A bog is open and cut for a certain amount of years (from memory it was for 7 years) then that bog is left to grow back and another bog is open.

• I see your point aine. I remember the bogs up in the Dublin and Wicklow mountains but to me it was a scarred landscape. How long before all bogs disappear?

• @Aine There’s a finite amount of bog that people can viably cut given it can’t grow back within our lifetime so at some point (which may have already happened) people are going to be coming back on bogs already cut. Bord na Móna may cut on an industrial scale but that’s not the issue here. I grew up in Roscommon so I am familiar with turf-cutting (I spent plenty of summers on the bog) but we need to get over the short term ‘my land’ thinking here. Many of these bogs have been recognised as having heritage value for decades – this hasn’t been suddenly dropped on people.

• mattoid 21/06/12 #

@AinenTurf cut from bogs can be up to 5000 years old – they do not just ‘grow back’ if you stop cutting them for seven years!nI can understand the ire of the cutters if they are similarly uninformed and like you they genuinely believe the fallacy that it will just grow back.nIts not classed as a fossil fuel for nothing!

• Its protected land lads, give it up as I’d like some bogs to be left in Ireland in 30-40-60 years time,.

• Well Bord na Móna cut tons of turf a year on an industrial scale and they can cut all they like.

But these guys who’ve been doing it for all their lives and have said they only need around 2% of the bogs allowed for them to cut aren’t…..

• These turf cutters aren’t the problem. It’s the Bord na Mona monster machines that have brought about this situation :(

• If they had of given the land back to the turf cutters the government I mean the eu would have retained more than the percentage they were asking for in the first place it was seen as a compromise I suppose

• Yes, because us townies don’t know that the ban is on cutting turf from a tiny percentage of raised bogs, which Bord na Mona doesn’t cut from and which are ecologically irreplacable; nor do we know that large compensation packages were offered to the people now protesting.

Not every protest has merit lads.

• Whoever was dealing with the eu when this was been discussed should have stood up to them and said turf cutting in Ireland has been going on for centuries and it is not up for negotiating, but it’s easy to bargain away something when it doesn’t affect you or your family typical of this country what a sellout at the same time protecting bord Ma mona to ensure that they can cut turf on an industrial level, I hope these protesters don’t give up and the dispute escallates

• It’s amazing to hear those from inside the pale (who never actually produced anything) make broad brush general comments on the people who live outside it.

Like the shopboy townies of yesteryear cockily walking the streets with their fancy clothes (bought on credit) trying to look down on the country people (as their parents had to scabb a load of turf, some fish or farm produce of the very same country people, just to feed their family)

Some advice to you city dwellers with your soft little hands (and minds) .

Stay in your little shoeboxes and keep breathing your city air.
    If you come down here you might drive into a pothole and damage your new Mini or heaven forbid you could scratch your Oakleys.
    OMG the traumatisation of it all.

• Aine 21/06/12 #

Anyone that agree with the governments stance on this subject really has no clue whats going on in the real world.

• Another fine example of how detached the modern politician is, more over bothered about appearances in Europe than protecting the way of life this countries inhabitants. Yes we all know the need to be environmentally friendly, but we also have to have fairness across the board as well. Sadly these guys have been sacrificed on the European alter of PC. . . For a government who can’t face Europe and tell them we aren’t paying unsecured bondholders, how could we expect them to stand up on this one.

• U would think fine Gael have never misled anyone ?

• Typical culchie guff.

“I’ve a right to destroy protected habitats because I’ve being doing it all my life….Now lets burn our rubbish in a field and go shoot or poison some eagles….”

Time to come down on these greedy idiots like a ton of bricks and don’t let it roll on like the Corrib gas debacle.

• Or cutting off seal heads.

• ”Time to come down on these greedy idiots like a ton of bricks and don’t let it roll on like the Corrib gas debacle”
      You left out paying dead banks and unsecured bond holders !!!
      There is nothing greedy about these turf cutters.
      THey are trying to protect their livlihoods just as the vita Cortex workers and Game and La Senzaetc etc. Enough is enough.

• serious devide between urban & rural in this small country ..shocking

• The illogical divide in the minds of many in Dublin between people who live in a small city on a small island and the rest of the people who live on the small island is amusing. “Culchie” is a meaningless term to try and describe everyone who doesn’t live in the capital city! If serious the use of such a term surely reveals in it’s user a degree of small mindedness and parochiality akin to the proposed mental primitiveness of the “culchie”. Either that or its done insincerely to try and portray anyone not from Dublin as somehow inferior which is equally primitive obviously.

• yes i think urban & rural areas should support each other if the real situation is reviewed on a factual basis and not on stereotypes this country is too small to be divided just by your where your from..there is alot of resentment in Ireland and people are starting to dislike each other instead of the stupid laws that people are forced to live under..big business is crippling the small guy and imposing such huge fines is the answer to all protest..people just want some fairness in society and are tired of been pushed around this could get nasty for government ..

• Hi Gavin (Reilly) just wondering why my comment was pulled?

• I don’t think a lot of people realise how heavily people in the countryside rely on turf to heat their homes..Oil is so expensive and they don’t have the more affordable option of gas, turf is the only cheap way, yet Europe and a few others somehow think it’s more environmentally friendly to bring in coal and fuel from abroad on big fuel guzzling ships..ask yourself which is more damaging to the environment. Bord na Mona are the ones that have destroyed the bogs. Ordinary people make up such a tiny percentage..why punish them for the actions of a greedy company.

The other issue with bans on the bogs as well is that only the owner of that bog receives compensation (which won’t cover heating bills for long anyways), yet what about the neighbours and friends that also use the bog? If any one has ever spent the day on the bog you’l know how amazing an experience it is. Often three generations of the same family rally around together and spend hours of their summer helping each other to collect their own fuel for the winter..then the feeling of a achievement at the end when you know you worked damn hard for the fuel that’s keeping you warm at night. If ordinary people, (NOTE NOT the likes of bord na mona) responsibly using the resources on their doorstep isn’t being self sufficient then I don’t know what is.

Oh and a note to the city slickers: Cuts to transport, hospitals,schools, cheap fuel, ect in rural Ireland will only eventually force rural people into cities – leading to eventual overcrowding in these areas – so then everyone suffers.

• mattoid 21/06/12 #

Alternative (unprotected) bogs have been offered to the cutters.

• @mattoid in many cases this is not the case – and a bog a further 2 hours drive away is hardly an alternative given the amount of time people need to spend going back and forth to them. Then many bog owners have a limited number of people they let cut off the one area (so as not to damage it) a higher concentration of cutters in a single area is much more damaging. The bogs the everyday people cut equal less than 10% of all of Ireland’s bogs, let these people continue to cut their 10% and save the other 90% instead – not that hard to figure out -

• mattoid 21/06/12 #

Poppy, I take your point about having to drive further to cut turf, but thats why compensation has been given in addition to alternative sites, and 2 hours is a wild exaggeration – there’s not a cutter in the country that has to drive for 2 hours to get to the alternative site.nWhat you seem to fail to grasp is that not all bogs are the same – a small percentage are ecologically pristine and abound with wildlife. That’s why they are protected, and that’s why cutting has been banned in these areas. Other areas are already ecologically degraded in some way and that’s why cutting is still permitted and why they are being offered as alternatives.nThe protected areas are the last tiny intact remnants of the raised bogs which once covered most of central and western europe, the others having all been destroyed by man already, hence why the protected areas are so valuable from an ecological point of view.

• Firstly, in terms of methane and CO2 emissions burning turf actually is far more damaging than burning imported oil/coal. Surprising, I know. But our bogs are of global importance for their ability to soak up carbon dioxide.

Secondly, you may regard a day out on the bog as amazing, but personally I always found it to be a monumental pain in the ass! Each to their own, I suppose.

• @ Eoin. Spot on. I HATED days on the bog. Whatever the pros and cons of the argument here, people shouldn’t try and justify their position with nostalgia!

Add New Comment