TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Two FF vice-presidents abstained in vote on Bertie expulsion

Party vice-presidents Kathryn Byrne and Senator Mary White both opted against recommending the former Taoiseach’s expulsion.

Senator Mary White, with Micheal Martin last month: White was one of two party vice-presidents to abstain in voting to expel Bertie Ahern last night.
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

TWO VICE-PRESIDENTS of the Fianna Fáil party abstained in last night’s vote of senior party officers on whether to recommend the expulsion of Bertie Ahern from the party.

Kathryn Byrne, from Dublin South East, and Louth senator Mary White both declined to vote in the decision on whether to put forward a motion expelling Bertie.

That motion to expel him will be put to the party’s National Executive at a meeting next Friday, alongside motions to expel former EU commissioner Pádraig Flynn and a number of other councillors implicated in yesterday’s Mahon report.

TD Dara Calleary, speaking on RTÉ’s Prime Time, said White had defended Ahern’s record within the party, pointing to his work in bringing peace to Northern Ireland.

He said White had spoken of “her respect for what Bertie Ahern had done for the peace process – she felt that was a huge contribution.”

He also recounted that White had noted how “no finding of corruption had been taken” against Ahern, who led the party for 14 years and was Taoiseach for 11.

White had not returned requests for comment this morning.

The Mahon Tribunal’s final report, published yesterday after a mammoth 14-year inquiry, rejected Ahern’s explanations for the source of lodgements totalling over IR£165,000.

It also found Flynn had accepted a ‘corrupt’ payment from developer Tom Gilmartin, intended as a donation to the party but used by Flynn personally, and implicated three former Dublin councillors for corrupt behaviour.

Findings of corruption were also made against the late former TD, Liam Lawlor.

Reaction: ‘I feel betrayed’: Political figures respond to Mahon Tribunal findings

Read: 13 things we learned from Mahon’s final report >

In full: TheJournal.ie’s full coverage of the Mahon Tribunal >

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• I think we should expel the Fianna Fáil party end of story.

• We dont trust the church anymore
    We cant trust our politicians anymore, an with good reason on both accounts,
    We as a country an people have been treated terribly n we wil wear the scars for years… We deserve better.

• Fianna Fail the party should be made pay for the Mahon Tribunal after all if was all about them and their friends

• Think on this, the Mahon Tribunal only really dealed with a few financial dealings, within a very small couple of years.
    So what might have been going on for some time before that and with how many other people, over years, decades…?
    We will never know!
    …Well unless Ahern is in a dock and maybe – maybe spills some secrets he’s keeping. A dock where many maybe still in power, does not want to see him in!

The tribunal judges wanted to dig more into other areas but there was a rush to court by opposition, to force the judges to have more limited remit in what they could delve into.
    The judges suspected there might be more, much more (and I suspect they were/are right) but if they wanted to go further and investigate more – that soon was shot down by heads in Dublin.
    The obvious question arises – if heads in Dublin were innocent – what had they to fear?

• Lying under oath, Gavin :)
    I know we expect politicians the odd white lie around election time but under oath is a different matter.. In fact you could also add M. Martin to the list above for accepting O Dea back into the party

• @Oisin

I, being a woman, have to give my point of view on Mary White and Kathern Byrne (no relation TG)! They are a pair of T . T S!!!! The fact that they are older than me, they have seen, watched, I was going to say, ‘listened’, but I won’t, to what’s been going on in politics in Ireland for the past 30 years and they have the impression that ‘Bertie is a good man really, he brought peace to N.I.’ My ass, he did!!!! He happened to be the Taoiseach of the day, sadly, that is why he was around the table for talks with all sides. ALL SIDES had to agree on matters. They did not do what aherne told them. It was their decision. It was them, also, that brought peace.

The fool aherne has ruined his political life, any good (small) that he did do for this country is now forgotten. He will always be remembered as a liar and a thief. Even if he appologised in some way, it might, might, help him a little but he still feels he hasn’t done anything wrong. To me he’s a cute whore, short with the truth. He may think he didn’t take payments but he did. The fact that he didn’t have a bank account in his own name, putting it into his daughter’s name doesn’t make him clean. To be I would call him a narcissist.

These two women in F Fail are an embarrassment to women like myself. The few we have in politics was good, until I heard her argument this morning.

• Well said Sheila …. The FFailure runs thick in their blood … “Party before country” always was, and always will be FFailures mantra.

• Good to hear a woman (Sheila) say this. Avoids any distractions, due to the words ‘chauvinistic’ or ‘equal rights’ being thrown around.

These women are still under the ‘Bertie Spell’ and love his cute little ‘butter wouldn’t melt’ face. He can rely on some comfort from these two ejits whatever he has done.

• SCUM!!!!!!!!!!

• If I may suggest. Why not build a high barbed-wire wall around one of the many ghost estates they’ve profited on and throw the whole lot of these lying corrupt fraudsters and their cheap bribable mates in it. Put an armed guard on a tower to make sure they don’t worm their way out as they have done for years. Next. annul the rotten, self serving corrupt pat on the back legislation surrounding politicians pensions NOW.
    It will save billions and allow justice and sanity to prevail over greed and obscenity.

• It is all wishful thinking I am afraid . I would love to see it happen , but alas ,I can not see it happening … I am laughing to myself tho , in the event the do see jail time in de big house ….. I wonder how big Pee and Bertie will feel, surounded by all the ”real ” criminals …. Ha ha ! Thing is tho the ”real” crims accept that what they did to get in jail was wrong , I bet Pee and Bertie would be crying for their mammies !

• If FF are ever to be taken seriously again they need to expel the following members (active and inactive)

B. Ahern
    P. Flynn
    B. Cooper-Flynn
    W. O’Dea
    M. Healy Rae
    J. Healy Rae

• I should mention that Michael Healy-Rae has never been a party member, and Jackie left the party in 1997 when they wouldn’t nominate him for the election.

Out of interest, what would be your grievance against Willie O’Dea?

• Was not O’Dea on of those senior government ministers wheeled out to diss the tribunal back in the day?

• I would imagine it was the small matter of his perjury in a Court of Law.

• On the 20th & 21st Dec 2007 four FF ministers namely O Dea, Meehall Martin, Dick ‘James Bond’ Roche and Dermot ‘I know nothing’ Ahern attacked the workings of the tribunal in a sinister & concerted fashion.

• @Gavan : Willie O’Dea was convicted of perjury … He perjured himself during an election campaign (Under Oath) to get an extra seat for FF in Limerick. FF are saying that they are totally changed, and yet O’Dea is still sittig on the shadow cabinet … Come on….. And I heard a clip from 2 years ago (O’Dea) on the news yeterday … He publicly lashed the media and the tribunal for trying to get at poor Bertie …
      If you dont see anything wrong with having a LIAR and a Bertie supporter sitting on your front bench (or even in your party) then nothing has changed at all

• Thanks for responses all – I had overlooked O’Dea’s perjury difficulties and was reading Jason’s list only through the (narrow) binoculars of the Mahon findings.

I should add, for the sake of correctness, that although O’Dea admitted to perjury he was never prosecuted for it and he paid private damages to the affected parties.

• AMEN Joe Six two.

• Will we get a Public Inquiry on the Banking crisis too. One that involves no solicitors. A lot of questions to be answered.

• 100% agreed :)
    Well said Sheila

• @Susie, Cal, Kevin,

It’ll be years before any sort of ‘cleansing of F Fail can happen. As long as the ‘old boys’ are there and stupid women like those two, F Fail will never mend. Justice for the people of Ireland will come when I see Flynn, aherne, etc. are walking in the gates of Mountjoy.

I laugh…. ha, ha. Sadly I don’t see that happening.

• Right. So the argument that ‘He done some good for the country’ makes it okay to condone blatant lies and corruption? Madness. Exactly whats wrong with this island.

• I think the report shows there was corrupt people in all the major parties,FF were just better at than the rest of them or the rest could hid it better than FF.Either ways Irish politics is in tatters,how can any politican be trusted,when they have been shown to be corrupt from the bottom up.Anyone that thinks that it doesn’t go on anymore is naive.

• That is a cop out. FF were and are the root of corruption in Irish politics. Right from when de Valera siphoned funds donated in the US for the new State to set up the heavily pro-FF Irish Press.

• Conor so only FF politicans have been found to be corrupt.M Lowery ring a bell?FF held power for longer so had more practice you think FG or Labour would have been any different had the balance of power in this country been different i don’t think so.

• @Norman – Can’t agree with you there Norman simply because you’re using the old “tar with the one brush” approach to politicians which I object to. Politicians across the spectrum were guilty of corruption but that shouldn’t take from the good work of others.

To signal out two long serving politicians from the Mahon report, both Trevor Sargent and Pat Rabbitte were commended for the actions they took against corruption.

• If you were corruot, had no politics bar self interest you joined FF, as all you had to do was be a good salesman, shout up dev and you were guaranteed a seat and regular power.

FG/Lab/SF – The first 2 were rarely in power, why be corrupt on the opposition bences and being a member of SF meant being regularly raided by guards, too much hassle. So all the scum joined FF for decades.

There is no party that can presume it does not have corrupt members, that is normal in life, and common to the best run and worst run. The problem with FF is that they took over completely and the membership didn’t bother. FF’ers still defend Haughey as a great leader. He was a criminal. It’s this tolerance that has made FF such a moral cesspit.

• That said Had to comment being a great leader and being a criminal are not mutually exclusive… Did Haughey have leadership qualities? Yes. Was he a self serving parasite willing To break the law of the country he governed for his own self

• It wasn’t just about FF politicians , it was councillors at local level. This is where the brown envelopes start and gives an appetite for bigger brown envelopes. It is an addiction and leads to the likes of Flynn’s, Ahern’s, Healy Rea’s and Quinn’s getting hooked on power ( which is money, prestige, Ego, etc) we have a collection of them right now in government.

• FF take steps that should have been done 30 years ago. T

• The paitent is improving slowly but the cancer is still there, its going to take time

• Decorate the lamp-posts of Merrion Square with political corpses.

• This is the reason why we are looking to bring in this sexist and insulting ‘gender quota’. The patriarchal, chauvinistic, corrupt political sphere in this country is so bad that unfortunately for a woman to achieve anything in this line of work, she must be willing to eat her young. (as is seen internationally,eg merkel, C. Rice). I firmly believe that if we had had a proper amount of decent women in politics in general, we would not be in this situation. What we have created however is a world of disgusting so called politics. however we are left with the worst of (men) and demonic women as above

• Well said …Even on this site there is an element of comments which I believe are designed to put women ”in their place ” .Fortunately they are far and few between and there are enough real gentlemen out there who see that on an intellectual levl and political level the sexes are equal. :) Onwards and upwards !

• It’s true the women that are currently in government leave a lot to be desired but I don’t think that a gender quota will necessarily improve the quality of female candidates.

Yes, we need more women in government but we need an overhaul of the whole sorry mess of a government we have in general.

• He probably took them out racing a few times !!!!!!

• It is disappointing though… I admired his work as a negotiator, particularly with regard the peace process in NI but this at best dubious money trail tarnishes any luster his legacy might have had… I hate what money does to people and what people do with money…

• Rather than be kicked out if the party and creating this acrimony, I would have hoped that he would resign…

Add New Comment