Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

UCC branch of FG to debate honorary membership for Thatcher

Image: PA

THE UCC BRANCH of Young Fine Gael is to debate a motion next week which, if passed, would make Margaret Thatcher an honorary life member of the branch.

Students will debate the motion next Wednesday evening, on whether to make Thatcher – who is in the public eye thanks to the release of ‘The Iron Lady’ – a permanent member of the society.

The event has proven controversial both on and off campus, with many arguing that her stance on Northern Ireland means she should not be considered for honorary membership of any party here.

Branch chairman Tadhg O’Donovan told TheJournal.ie that the group likes to debate divisive issues and “Margaret Thatcher is certainly a divisive character”.

“Our primary focus is on debating,” explained the student. “But every year we vote to make one person an honorary life member and we decided roll the ballot into Wednesday’s debate”.

If passed, Thatcher – who served as British prime minister for 11 years between 1979 and 1990 – will become the first person from outside Ireland to be given honorary membership of the UCC branch.

However O’Donovan believes the motion “might fail”.

“From talking to other members, the vote will be close. Some people like her economic policies and are in agreement with her but others think she did not do well with Anglo-Irish relations,” he explained.

Societies in UCC have already caught public attention this academic year – the Government and Politics Society has invited the controversial leader of the British National Party, Nick Griffin, to attend a debate on free speech in February.

Though rarely seen in public, Thatcher remains a lifelong member of the House of Lords. She suffers from dementia and has also suffered a number of strokes.

-Additional reporting by Sinéad O’Carroll

UCC pledges security support for Nick Griffin visit>

Read Next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• Report this comment

If successful,why not change name from Fine Gael to Irish conservative party and request linking with uk tory party.

• Michael Hegarty 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

FG will be in deep trouble in Cork if they allow that to go ahead. Typical headlining grabbing students!!!

• neo1 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

There’s only 2 c..ts in Thai story and maggie is the 2 of them

• Tim Henchin 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It really is just typical Young FG BS. Many of the older members of the party remember the contempt that she treated Garret Fitzgerald and Peter Barry, his Min. for Foreign Affairs. in the 80′s.

The line between being controversial and been seen as a fool are very fine. They oft over step it.

As for her loolah economics of concentrating wealth in fewer hands, well, that’s not working out well, is it?

• Muc Beag 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Loolah economics? Yeah, Britain would have been much better off had the previous Labour government stayed on and gotten them bailed out by the IMF all over again. She broke the unions, stopped the never-ending miners’ strikes and generally sorted Britain out.

• michael cuthbert 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

No need to change the name, Dominic. They are one of the Irish conservative parties. They used to be linked in Europe in the EPP. The Tories moved to the anti-federalist ECR along with the UUP. Their shared economic philosophy is very evident at present. Crafty as ever, they gave the Labour Party the main cutting departments. Hilarious…

• Dermot Purcell 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Why do they not debate the level of corruption in ireland which may be of some use to the country

• Report this comment

I was shocked for a second, but then again the more I thought about it I realize it is exactly something the Blue Shirts would do,

• Carlin Ite 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Is this why they also considering privatisation, a tribute to Tatcher.

• chicken ball ann 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Irresponsible children seeking attention.

• Eugene O' neill 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why not give it to Aung San Suu Kyi or Mary Mcaleese or any human rights campaigner or great servant to our country?
    “Some people like her economic policies” Yeah thatcher done great for deregulation of the banks
    which is the main reason there’s a banking crisis. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Bang_(financial_markets).
    Well on the other hand UCC is trying to get some PR while people are still filling out their CAO forms.

• Ardo Ci 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Dumb and dumber!

• 1 Human Being 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Spot on Eugene I think you’ve hit the nail on the head.

Report this comment

@ 1 Human Being
      Thanks.Either that or the water supply in cork has been spiked again,They might as well award Stephen Ireland for sports personality of year award too :).

• Ryan Allen 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Her policies may have partly caused the banking crisis, yet at the same time when she took over the UK’s economy was in a terrible state after the Labour government of the late 70s. People criticise these policies now, yet the policies did create close to 30 years of prosperity at the same time.

I wonder if she was in power now would she have nationalised banks the same way Brown and Cowen/Lenihan did? True capitalism would have let them fail, while a properly competitive market would have meant they never got “too big to fail”.

Report this comment

@Ryan Allen
      ” People criticise these policies now, yet the policies did create close to 30 years of prosperity at the same time.”
      By the time we get out of this mess it be around 30 years of Austerity.

• Jamie O Sullivan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I have to say this gave me an initial jolt, then… Nothing. Nothing surprises me any more. Though as a proud Corkman it would disgust me that anyone from this fine city would even contemplate this move. Young Fine Gael, how young? Young enough to remember the 80′s, I do.

• Wayne Driscoll 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Young eejits if they are anything like their older counterparts.

• Gordon Lucas 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well, they are *are* honouring the routes of the neo-liberal policies being followed by their exulted leader Enda. Poll tax Vs household charge?

• Andrew Brennan 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Some of us are young enough to remember Maggie’s other sobriquet: Margaret Thatcher: Milk Snatcher. So this proposal by the UCC Branch of Young Fine Gael is not at all far away from the mindset of Fine Gael itself.

• Wayne Driscoll 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

To quote Danny Morrisson, she was, “the biggest bastard we have ever known”

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

and the organisation of which said Mr Morrison was a member were angels then?

• Report this comment

Quote: Tadhg O’Donovan told TheJournal.ie that the group likes to debate divisive issues and “Margaret Thatcher is certainly a divisive character”

She wasn’t a divisive figure in Ireland Tadhg. Everybody hated her.

• David Higgins 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s a worthy debate but one which will probably fail and rightly so. Thatcher was a conservative and eurosceptic. Fine Gael is neither. We may share some economic policies and anti-left sentiment but Fine Gael is the party of the Just Society. Thatcher didn’t believe in society at all.

We should honour Declan Costello who died last year.

• Irish Mule 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

anti left are you for real. Im a FG voter and i am disgusted at the way they have treated the police force, they have stripped it to the bare minimum and left us in a shambolic state. This is what i would expect from SF or Labour but why FG i dont know. Thatcher for all her shortcomings at least had balls.

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

well said Irish Mule..100% correct…and they call themselves the party of law & order!

• Kieran Dunne 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Just a bit of clever PR. I doubt it will be passed very much.

• Réada Quinn 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

FF have a much better record in Gardaí recruitment. FG usual approach is to cut and cull Gardaí. Fact! Don’t know why you’re surprised.

• Tim Henchin 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

FG were defined themselves as party of Order, they were more flexible on the law side of it, flaunting it and and the constitution in the 70′s to a degree not likely to be seen again.

They have a commitment to preserving the Status Quo, they have had plenty of chances to put in controls and oversight to combat white collar crime, political corruption, etc. They aren’t a fraction as corrupt as FF, there are few parties in Europe that would be, but they never challenged the rotten morass that is this state and fought those who did tooth and nail.

• Victoria Hall 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

They should form a ‘Belgrano Cumann’ for her with honorary
    membership for all ex PD’s who wish to rejoin the Party.

• Francis Stokes 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As I said yesterday that fine gale are very much linked to consecrative s in Britain. What do you expect.They should think very carefully before they decide on the issue.. We all know what her stance on Northern Ireland was.

• Cal Mooney 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

And we all know that Dame Enda will be the first up to promote this as a means of improving tourism in Ireland as a basis for giving her this title ,…… FG are soooo out of touch with reality, and they WILL get punished for their treason at the next election, along with Labour.

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

define treason please…murdering members of the security forces of this state surely is treasonous is it not? particularly in the course of crimes such as kidnapping and bank robbery…

• Peter Gallagher 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Typical headline grabbing rubbish,

• Oh Inn 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Thatcher and Regan, together they sent the world towards the depression we are now in.
    evil people!

• Ryan Allen 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Think you left out close to thirty years of economic growth in the middle there!

• Gordon Lucas 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Defo.
      I find it quite ironic that they both lost their minds (more fully) as they aged.

• Réada Quinn 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

If I had a mind like theirs, I’d have dedicated my life to losing it. Nasties.

• Tim Henchin 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Jesus Ryan. That is the equivalent of saying “sure didn’t Bertie give us a decade of unequaled growth and wealth”.

On the downside he, FF and the PD’s destroyed the economy, and it will take decades to recover. Thatcher and Reagan just led it on a global scale. Both of them unleashed eras of massive borrowing and spending. Most of the spending was to enrich a very small few. The fact that they have made shit of the entire entire economic system of the Western world is kind of a big deal.

Report this comment

While we all stood and watched. Like it was one big reality TV show and the batteries on the remote were banjaxed…

• David Higgins 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

On the issue of this being “headline grabbing” and “attention seeking”.

This debate is intended for YFG members only. It was broadsheet.ie and this site which have published articles on it. I very much doubt the organisers wanted this publicity. There’s nothing wrong with strong internal party debate on what our values and beliefs are. It’s something Fine Gael prides itself on and it’s something which other parties lack as many of them are set on their values and don’t allow them to change with the times.

• On the Dole 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Look what your party is doing to this country at the minute !!!

FG , FF, & labour not one difference in any of your policys rape and pillage of this country on a massive scale ….

• stephen corrigan 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

This is the typical knee jerk reaction to everything. No matter what budget as brought out people were going to complain. The newspapers didnt even have to wait for the budget to make their exaggerated comments, similar to the one you have just made. What people have to realise that for all the shite sinn fein and fianna fail, and the dopes up the back of the dail come out with, we have no choice. The day fianna fail signed the imf agreement they signed away economic sovereignty, not saying they had any choice because if they didnt, we can only guess what the consequences may have been. And fotpr the record, while their may not be much differences between FG and FF,labour are a socialist party, mot radical socialists but their policies on welfare were seen in the budget when jobseekers benifits werent cut as without labours views, i have no doubt FG would have cut it.

• Michael Hegarty 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Stephen, your forgetting that Joan Burton thought it was a good idea to cut Disabilty Allowance for 16-23 year olds. And those on the job seekers, who work casually, were cut by a sixth, when the working week was changed from 6 to 5 days. So, yes, thay are all the same….self serving!!!

• Desmond O'Toole 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

From the same “look at me” airheads that invited the fascist, Nick Griffin, to Cork. Won’t someone please think of the children!

• Réada Quinn 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Saw something about this last week and thought it was a spoof. Only young people in training to join FG could consider such a thing. Makes me laugh at the pathetic sucking up to a person who hated Ireland. Her blind stubbornness caused much death and misery on this island and her own.

A warrant for her arrest would be a more suitable topic to debate!!!

• Eamonn Zaidan 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

To reinforce your view, they are probably too young to remember an answer she gave to reporters after signing the Anglo Irish Agreement, if she had had the foresight, peace on this island would have been achieved sooner rather than later. She also insulted Dr Fitzgerald, just like Leo Varadkar was extremely disingenuous to the late Dr Fitzgerald, Leo accused him of tripling the National Debt in the 80′s whilst we were paying 48p per every punt and that was the lowest rate! Anyway, the question and answer below:

Question (Irish Television)
      Prime Minister, you said that you want political stability within Northern Ireland, within the United Kingdom.
      Could I ask you, in your view, does Dr. FitzGerald [fo 22] therefore accept that what you are both working towards is an internal solution within Northern Ireland, within the United Kingdom, and by implication, does that mean that the British Government has for the foreseeable future ruled out the three main options within the Forum Report?

Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher
      I have made it quite clear—and so did Mr. Prior when he was Secretary of State for Northern Ireland—that a unified Ireland was one solution that is OUT. A second solution was confederation of two states. That is OUT. A third solution was joint authority. That is OUT. That is a derogation from sovereignty. We made that quite clear when the Report was published.

Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom. She is part of the United Kingdom because that is the wish of the majority of her citizens. The majority wish to stay part of the United Kingdom.

The Forum Report indicated that they realized that any change in the status of Northern Ireland could only come about by the consent of the people of Northern Ireland, so we are dealing with a situation where Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom because the majority of her people wish to be part of the United Kingdom and we have a minority community.
      That is the situation we are presented with.[fo 23]

This was (in)famously known as her out out out speech.

Personally, Dr Fitzgerald was the only honest politician in my living memory and I held him in high regard, as for the rest and current, my comment would not be fit for publishing.

Another good read on Dr Fitzgerald is here. http://www.eurotrib.com/story/2011/5/19/8753/93412

• Réada Quinn 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Eamonn, Garrett Fitzgerald is, I’d say, the only FG politician that I would struggle to find faults in. But I would have preferred were he more forceful with Thatcher.

But Eamonn if you’re looking for a relatively modern day politician to hold in high regard it has to be John Hume. It is to him I attribute the peace on our island. His secret meetings with IRA lead to the Anglo Irish agreement and his talks with Gerry Adams – the Good Friday Agreement. The rest were just extras imho. He’s the only Irish politician to whose funeral I’ll bother going. Although not for a long time I hope.

A true Irish patriot. He was prepared to sacrifice himself and his party to save Irish lives. Not many politicians around you can say that about, unfortunately :-(

Report this comment

“Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom. She is part of the United Kingdom because that is the wish of the majority of her citizens. The majority wish to stay part of the United Kingdom.” Hmmm. Don’t remember ever being asked if I wanted NI to be part of the UK. Why would any reasonable British subject (citizenship only conferred on us during Thatcher’s time), want such a hopeless place (to borrow from Rihanna) as part of their country?

Report this comment

Réada. Concur. Would add Seamus Mallon and Gerry Fitt (“more socialist than nationalist”), perhaps? How about David Ervine – running for cover now…

• Réada Quinn 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I love Seamus Mallon too. Your sum up of Gerry Fitt is accurate and the bould pup Ervine, I commend for his effort in the loyalist ceasefire. Can I leave it at that please? I wish him no ill but it’s green blood runs through these veins. :-) But Hume is my fav modern day politician by a mile. 

• Simon McGrath 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Are they for real?

• John Finn 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just some students looking for publicity. Move along, nothing to see here.

• Anthony Bartley 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If this goes ahead, our souls will be sold to the Devil

• Joseph O Reilly 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This just in, national day of mourning proposed for kim jong il !!!!

• Anthony Bartley 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Traitors

• Fiachra KME 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Saw this last week and couldnt believe it, I knew FG were bad but i never knew how bad. What she did in the north was disgusting (but as FG count them as terrorist we’ll leave that), she decimated the economy of Scotland and the north of England, she commited war crimes (the sinking of the belgrano) and most importantly, and ironic for YFG, she completely disregarded and humiliated a FG taoiseach (Garret Fitzgerald). How can anyone in this country see her fit for an honourary lifetime membership over Nelson Mandela, Aung San Suu Kyi etc. Is unbelievable!

• Ryan Allen 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

And yet she also signed the Anglo Irish agreement later on and she managed to grow the UK’s economy after the disastrous stint of socialism in the 1970s.

• Réada Quinn 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Omg Ryan Allen. I understand now. You must be a member of young FG. Leave now before they the brainwashing causes irreversible damage. You poor thing.

• Brian Ó Dálaigh 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sheesh Ryan. You seem to really have it in for socialism, despite obviously not actually knowing what socialism is. Neither the Irish Labour Party, nor the UK Labour Party are socialist. They were left-wing parties that have since reformed to become centre-left parties. Yes they are on the left, as socialism is. But socialism in its correct form precludes any private enterprise. As far as I was aware, private businesses continued to operate in the UK during the 1970s. Private businesses were established in the UK in the 1970s. There continued to exist a system of class (including Lords, Ladies, Earls, Queens, Princes, Princesses in the upper classes, etc.). These facts point to the obvious – there was no socialist government in the UK in the 1970s. If there was such a government these two would not have occurred. In other words, there was a government of the left in force in the UK during the 70s. Socialism is only one of many philosophies to be found on the left (including Anarchism, Communism, Social Democracy, Democratic Socialism, etc.). But to state anyone on the left is socialist is identical to stating that anyone on the right, including Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael, is Fascist. Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are both right wing/centre right parties. Fascism is also located on the right of the political spectrum which also includes philosophies such as Liberalism, Liberal Democracy, Feudalism, Nazism, various centre-right philosophies, etc.

• John Murphy 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Why don’t the simpering idiots in Young FG Fogies INVITE her over for a spot of debating.
      I understand that Nick Griffin of the British Nationalist Party will be giving a bit of a spiel at the same great seat of learning on the 23rd Feb next. Perhaps they could arrange for both these stalwarts of British intolerance to share a podium. What an eye opener that would be!
      Perhaps they could arrange for a national broadcast of the great event so that the beleaguered population of the state might be appraised of how the more senior members of FG might be inspired by the rantings of this pair in the continuing governance of the country. Perhaps the ex FG Mayor of Naas Darren Scully might hop up and give a few yelps to round the occasion off. Cue the usual applause, foot stomping and cheering in honour of this great and inspiring occasion.

• Ryan Allen 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Réada: Nope, I’m not a YFG member. Youth political societies are to be avoided anyway I think. I also think the brainwashing comment is uncalled for. Who “brainwashed” you into thinking what you think? Re Thatcher, I just don’t see the big deal in the members of this society debating this.

And I also (at high risk of personal attack from fellow commentators!) think Thatcher did a good job in turning the UK’s economy around in the 1980s. Even you have to admit the improvement in the UK economy from when she entered office to when she left. And such was her legacy that Blair and Brown had to shift firmly to the centre, building on her deregulation and liberalisation of state monopolies (e.g. establishment of the FSA and the UK postal service). I believe all people do good and bad things and I do think the demonisation of her is also partly caused by her gender. Like I’ve said before on here, it’s my opinion that centre-right female politicians receive far greater personal criticism than their centre-left colleagues. It also amuses me that both of the women to have led the large Western European economies (Merkel and Thatcher) have come from the centre-right.

Also I think everyone who hates Thatcher on here should go see the Iron Lady. I’m sure you will all get a thrill out of seeing Thatcher’s Alzheimer’s portrayed on screen. And with a Democrat in the lead role and two Labour (UK) supporters writing and directing, it doesn’t exactly seek to cover Thatcher in glory – more make a mockery of an old woman currently suffering from dementia. But the film shows “the price she paid for power” according to the writer, which made me wonder what my grandmother who also had the disease was paying for.

@ Brian: There are many variations and degrees of socialism. Even socialist parties who have been in power haven’t implemented all socialist theories, including the one you cite. And also both Labour UK and the Irish Labour Party are affiliated to Party of European Socialists. And I’m sure members of both parties would describe themselves as socialist.

• Brian Ó Dálaigh 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Just because you describe yourself as something doesn’t necessarily make it true. North Korea describes itself as the Democratic Republic of Korea – hardly a bastion of democracy. Although not a socialist myself, nor a lover of the Labour Party, I do have many friends who are supporters of that party, including some who are members and not one of them describes themselves as socialist – they have often corrected me on that when I mockingly call them socialist. They describe themselves as social democrats.

• Réada Quinn 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ryan. It was a joke. I know you’re not in YFG. And they must have been out of pink blankets because it was a green blanket wrapped around me when I was born. :-) My socialist ideals must have come from the red blanket they used when the green one was in the wash! My dad was a die hard FF and my mam a floater so there was no one brainwashing me. I just favour socialism with a view to having a fair society. 

Regarding your comments re her contribution to the UK economy substitute UK for London and you’re accurate. 

I agree with you that female politicians are criticised more harshly than their male counterparts. Unfortunately with our current political system one has to be a tough old bird to succeed to the top.

And I’m sorry about your grandmother Ryan. My grandad had it too and it’s awful. 

But I won’t go to see the Iron Lady in cinema but will watch it when it hits tv. I’ll need to use the pause button regularly in case I feel nauseous. I will breath a sigh of relief when her spirit leaves this planet. I won’t make the mistake Dev made and sign any book of condolence. I’ll never forgive her for the murder and mayhem she caused in my country and her own with her intransigence. She can go to hell.

• michael cuthbert 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Jeez Ryan. Were you in the UK in the 80s?

• Sean Higgins 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

First the BNP now Thatcher, did your mammies not give you enough attention……….

• Shane Gleeson 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Young Fine Gael. You’d struggle to find a more irrelevant and pointless organisation.

• Patrick Gallagher 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just last week TD Joe McHugh in Donegal suggested paying out 20,000 Euro to commemorate 100 years of the founding of the UVF (See http://www.donegaldaily.com under politics), this in a border county where the UVF murdered Buncrana Town Councillor Eddie Fullerton in his own bed. Now FG are wanting to bestow an honorary membership on Margaret Thatcher who absolutely refused to negotiate or deal with the Hunger Strikers and her policies on the North only escalated the troubles here. FG are beyond belief,

• Tim Henchin 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Remember that FG were the only party that refused to offer condolences to the Fullerton family. The subsequent investigation in to his murder were stymied at every level.

They covered up for the killers same as they did with the Dublin/Monaghan bombings.

• Dave 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Oh for god sake! I’m all for moving on, but you’ll hardly see the British commemorating the founding of the provisional IRA, and neither should they! Getting more disillusioned with FG by the day! Way to alienate all their newest voters!

• Réada Quinn 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

O ffs Patrick. You have now rendered me incapable of lifting my jaw off the floor. People who switched their vote to FG in the last election should be entitled to a revote. FF voters definitely entitled to forgiveness sooner. Not sure what to do about the forever fools like myself that voted Labour. I am shocked.

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

patrick..the uvf commemoration will refer to the historical uvf..formed by carson..just like the commemorations of the 1916 rising and war of independance will refer to the “old ira” noone is commemorating the thugs of the modern day evil incarnations of either organisation. dont forget that the 36th ulster (uvf) division fought and died side by side with the 10th & 16th (redmonds volunteers) divisions in ww1. this is about reconciliation and a better understanding of our shared history so that we never produce such vile terrorists in the future. the cowardly murder of clr Fullerton was and remains one of the most vile attacks of that dark period and there must be justice for hus family and for ALL victims of both terrorism.and state collusion

• Winston 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

For all the FG/Thatcher bashing that’s going on was it not FG/Thatcher who signed the Anglo-Irish agreement?

Know your history…

• Réada Quinn 17/01/12 #
      Report this comment

We know our history well Winston. Too well. It’s an open wound. Truly

• Paraic Simpson 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Shame on you YFG.

• Winston 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Why? FG are a centre right party and Thatcher is a celebrated international centre right political figure….

• Paul Anthony Ward 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Her position as an icon of the Right isn’t necessarily the issue; it’s specifically the woman’s policies regarding Ireland that’s at issue here…

• James Dunne 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It is perfectly acceptable for this type of debate to ensue and I welcome it, debates and disagreements over issues are the lifeblood of any open society. Perhaps it will lead to a further discussion of the ideology of conservatism and specifically ‘Thatcherism’ it would be interesting to gauge people’s views on it. Well done YFG in UCC for sparking this debate!

• Fiachra KME 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I support constructive debate but this is not a debate about policy, this is the honouring of a war criminal. The fact that there are going be people debating in support of this is very scary and says more about YFG than anything else. Have a debate about conservatism and thatcherism if you like but honouring a woman that has done so much to Ireland, the UK and the sinking of the Belgrano is disgusting

• Eileen Gabbett 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

No No No ……

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

the sinking of the belgrano..ireland was quite supportive of the Argentian invasion of the Falklands..Argentina at the time was ruled by General Galtieris junta who were responsible for thousands of murders of innocent Argentinians who disagreed with the military dictatorship..the invasion was a last ditch attempt to shore up.public opinion sending conscripts off to war..haughey and others were so wedded to britains difficulty is irelans opportunity they readily supported this vile regime.

Report this comment

@Colm Mooney
      Sign…!!…What are you trolling about?As much as I don’t like corrupt politicians,How was Haughey or Ireland “supportive” of General Galtieris?Were we sending over Guinness on the cheap?
      One word for yea…. TROLL :(.

• Feargal Garvin 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I’ll see your Galtieris and raise you one Pinochet!

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

simple fact sir…haugheys govt supported the invasion of the Falkland Islands..troll wtf is that supposed to.mean..not that im.bothered..insult away if that floats your boat..ill stick to historical.fact

Report this comment

@Colm
      Their you go that’s what a troll is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_(Internet).
      Where and how did “haugheys govt supported the invasion of the Falkland Islands”?.Also in your first comment you say “Ireland was quite supportive”so where was Ireland supportive as well?
      I won’t really call that a insult more of a description of what types of comments your leaving on this Blog.

• Winston 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Colm, no matter what valid points you raise the mist of hate overrules the logic of most people…

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

well eugene I was 15 at the time and remember the anti british sentiment of the time very well..wolfe tones warbling about las islas malvinas..our govt refusing to assist uk through trade sanctions..relying.instead in.the then eec’s arms embargo..that really hurt galtieri didnt it..seeing as hiw big the irish arms industry is.

• Colm Mooney 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

oh checked your definition…does not apply to me

• Réada Quinn 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t believe you’re a troll either Colm but you are being pedantic and you don’t see the situation the way most of us do. You cannot blame us for that. Ireland is still scarred from England’s interference and the very mention of thatcher sets the green blood boiling. She was a driving force in misery here and in her own country. 

And if she’s made an honorary member of YFG a rousing chorus of las Islas Malvinas will be the least of your worries ;) 

• Eugene O' neill 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@Colm
      Wars and sanctions that the UK pursue over their land have nothing to do with a neutral Ireland, The Wolfe tone’s didn’t run the government back in the day so what does any off this article got to with the Wolfe tones.
      ” I was 15 at the time and remember the anti British sentiment of the time very well”
      .Irish and British relations were never great until only recently thank god,But I wouldn’t wish anyone any discrimination,My uncle’s got it really bad in the UK in the 70′s too.If Ireland was supportive of Argentina then we would be sanctioned too.Take this any way you want but were all moving away from the past I hope you do too.
      @Winston
      You having a laugh,Hate?.You may or may not agree if my comments have logic to them but I was only asking the guy for some support to his comments.Were was the hate behind my comments?

• Sean Mac Gabhann 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Is this real or did the journal open up a comedy section….. please tell me its the latter.

• Conor O'Donovan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Obviously too young to remember the old hatchet!!

• Yvonne Byrne 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Wish I were surprised by yfg sadly I’m not

• Pilib O Muiregan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The woman who solution for Northern Ireland was to move all nationlists out of the north to the south Cromwell style. She once called the anti apartide movement in South Africa a typical terrorist movement. She was against the reunification of Germany. The blueshirts should hang there heads in shame.

• Winston 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

WTF? What an absurd comment devoid of a semblance of fact! Where is your claim for the ethnic cleansing of Nationalists coming from?

• Tensing Norgay 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

@ at Winston , so what if she did do some economic good in her own country ,this is ireland . Even in her own country she is reviled as much is as she is revered by your likes .where would northern Ireland be now if left to her likes , mo molam did more in year than she did on all her terms as PM,also tore the guts out of industrial Britian , but her biggest legacy will be that which she shares with Ron Reagan , the pursuit of neo liberal economic policy that led to a culture of financial deregulation that see faceless bankers driving nation states on to their knees across Europe ,Well done maggie !

• Pilib O Muiregan 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

m.guardian.co.uk/uk/2001/jun/16/northernireland.catholicism?cat=uk&type=article …… there you go

• Réada Quinn 16/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Nice one Pilib. In your face Winston. In your face! 

Report this comment

Hmmm. “Margaret Thatcher horrified her advisers when she recommended that the government should revive the memory of Oliver Cromwell – dubbed the butcher of Ireland – and encourage tens of thousands of Catholics to leave Ulster for the south.” So did this actually become UK govt policy? Is “encouraging” the same as the “purposeful policy designed by one ethnic or religious group to remove by violent and terror-inspiring means the civilian population of another ethnic or religious group from certain geographic areas”? Just asking…

• Réada Quinn 17/01/12 #
      Report this comment

She did more than encourage it Michael. Her gov policy at the time actively forced trainloads of nationalists to uproot and move to 26 counties. I remember it and I was only a kid. They were dark days.

• Benny Gillespie 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

I can trace my family the whole way back to the civil war, I honestly think this is an absolute disgrace to even think about giving such an award to a woman that introduced such hardship to her own people let alone the measures she introduced her army based in the North against the civil rights movement at the time. Young Fine Gael you should be ashamed of yourselves, Micheal Collins would be doing back-flips in his grave. Shame on you Tadhg O’Donovan for condoning such a motion. From a lifelong staunch Fíne Gaeler. God forgive ya’s.

• Winston 15/01/12 #
      Report this comment

A life long FGer? That life obviously didn’t stretch back as far as the 1970′s because if you saw how bad Britain was pre and post Thatcher you’d see that the lot of the people was dramatically improved! The IMF was knocking on the UK’s door before she took over! Check the figures on unemployment, growth, inflation etc… Check the facts and come back to me!

Report this comment

Were you there in the 80s Winston? 4 million unemployed. Race riots. Hunger strikes. Bombings. War in the S Atlantic. Arms race. Miners’ strike. Samantha Fox. Oh, and the social welfare bill actually increased…

• Ann-Marie Wallis 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As a former UCC student, I’m stunned at some of the societies carry on over the past few years. This takes the biscuit though, shame on YFG.

• john g mcgrath 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

And the labour party can make the dear leader a life member (as the north Koreans ) maintain he is only sleepin.
    Perhaps young F G could invite general Pinochets relatives to make the presentation to her

• Tracey Worth 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Scratch the surface of any fg and you’ll find a West Brit, fg showing their true colours, blue

• Paul M Brady 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Numpties

• Darren Swan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

as a good irishman man,fuck her and I don’t care how many people dislike my comment

• Ed 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ah yes again history repeats itself as young people gaze thru fogged up Rosen tinted goggles , it’s enough to make me puke, thanks.

• Dan duggan 15/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s a debate. Debates are good. Who’s to say it won’t come out at 100% against following a reasoned debate.

Those against debate and a democratic vote are,let me see,right wing fascists…..oh, look, ironic,what!

• Eoin Kelly 16/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As if she would even bother show up for a bunch of posh twats who just doing it to put it on their C.V. thinking their great. Nobheads.

• Ivor Point 16/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If memory serves the last debate I attended at UCC was on the sexual use of the contents of a fridge. Far more
    Useful and to the point than debating if a grocer s daughter can join the baby blue shirts. Maggie was always nasty. The only really useful thing she did was sending the late Dennis Thatcher’ s entire wardrobe from the modest pile in Dulwich to oxfam. Thanks to the rampant Alzheimer’s , son Mark returned to find mummy had cleared the wrong wardrobe . At least he had a very very wee bit of an idea how it felt in the H blocks .

• Graham Gallagher 16/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Are they shitting me?,,,,tell them to read a history book, knobheads!! In all fields of her political life she was a failure and especially her parties treatment of the marginalized in society and average working man,,and dont get me started on her ignorance and her treatment of the irish people..

• Nicola Coffey 16/01/12 #
    Report this comment

She wouldn’t know anyway…:)

• Des Dalton 16/01/12 #
    Report this comment

‘the great appear great because we are on our knees, let is rise’. ‘Blue shirts’ show their true colours once again. They can’t help themselves!!

• Sonya Oldham 16/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ridiculous!!!

Add New Comment