Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Varadkar not pleased with new rule that allows ministers to use bus lanes

Updated 3.15pm

THE TRANSPORT MINISTER Leo Varadkar has reiterated his distaste at legislation that allows cabinet ministers to drive in bus lanes.

The Irish Mail on Sunday reports today that the cabinet has “secretly” changed the law to allow cars carrying ministers to cut journey times by using the bus lane.

The Dáil was formally notified about the new legislation – which was signed off on by Minister Varadkar – on 20 October, but formal approval was not required. It’s within the Minister’s power to make changes unilaterally, and the Dáil is merely informed.

However, the Mail on Sunday reports that Vardakar wrote a handwritten objection on the official documentation, saying that he was in opposition to the change.

Minister Varadkar told RTÉ’s News at One today that he understands the information was released as a result of a Freedom of Information request, and while he opposes the use of the bus lanes, he did not release the information into the public domain.

He also said that while he didn’t agree with allowing ministers to use the bus lanes, “you have to abide by the cabinet decision”.

In March the new government had decided that all but three members of the cabinet would have to supply their own cars and that they would lose their Garda drivers. The Taoiseach, the Tánasite and the Minister for Justice and Equality were to retain a State-supplied car and Garda driver. The move meant that most ministers were losing the right to drive in the bus lane.

The Mail on Sunday reports that Varadkar, along with some colleagues opposed demands to reinstate the privilege. However, it was reported in July that the cabinet had given themselves permission to drive in bus lanes, and that the perk had been agreed at the final cabinet meeting before the summer recess.

The new rules mean that ministers still have to abide by speed and parking restrictions, and that they can only use the bus lanes when they are on official business.

Asked how strongly he felt about the issue today Minister Varadkar replied:

A minister always has the option of resigning, but I certainly won’t be resigning over bus lanes.

More: Cabinet to lose ministerial Mercs and Garda drivers

Read Next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• Frank2521 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I would say it is a security issue as if people saw them in traffic next to then the road rage would be a bigger problem. Also they could be shot like Veronica God bless her.

• PerkyBeans 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Why don’t they use the bus then

• Tony Skillington 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Of course ya won’t Leo…far too early to take the ole snout outta the trough yet huh?

• Ryan Allen 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Well seeing the trenchant criticism of Penrose on here for resigning earlier on this week, him resigning over bus lanes would be even sillier.

• Derek Durkin 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Varadkar = Minister for propaganda

• Tony Skillington 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Varadkar’s a joke anyway…made his name by takng a shortcut through Bertie one day and has been barking ever since. A classic example if one were needed of how this current batch were peoples champions in opposition. I simply brush aside anything this muppet has to say,,,,,

• Cormac Flanagan 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Which is a bigger concern is that a TD cannot be prosecuted for drink driving if they are on the way to the dail for official duty.

• Thomas Cooke 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Reminder of the latter days of the USSR as the members of the Politbure sped by in their limousines in their own traffic lanes while the natives waited in traffic.

• Rob 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

With his ‘We won’t be putting another cent into the banks, not another cent’ then pouring money in hand over fist. he brazened it out without resigning.

So if he resigned over Bus-Lanes, It would only make a joke of the country!

• Patrick Coffey 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

What’s the big deal? They’ll get more work done (and we’ll get better value for money), if they aren’t wasting time being stuck in traffic…

• Shane O'Connor 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Pfft. Have you SEEN how many TDs are actually present in the Dail on any given day?

• Patrick Coffey 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

This benefit isn’t for backbenchers, it’s for cabinet ministers who have busy schedules. If they’re able to use bus lanes they’ll waste less time getting from A to B, the result being that they’ll get more work done and we’ll get more bang for our buck. And it’s not like using bus lanes costs anything.

• Shane O'Connor 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Ah yes ok I stand corrected. However, I don’t see why their flitting to every opening of an envelope or ribbon cutting ceremony is anymore important than the clients i visit or business I try to grow each day whilst driving through the traffic. I also don’t have the luxury of claiming back the 600 euro I spent in tolls last year and the 1200 euro in motor tax from the taxpayer..
      Ministers should be overseeing their departments and keeping the wheels turning not max

• John 21/11/11 #
      Report this comment

If it takes less time to get from A to B, how can they get more work done in less time?

• Report this comment

God forbid they had to travel on the same part of the road as the suffering public!
    That would never do!

• Dario Fo 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Well it just means they get to the Funny Farm a lot quicker. The urgency is to see what other extreme measures they can inflict on their citizens to hand over to Frau Merkel.

• Aaron McKenna 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m surprised we didn’t build ‘Official Use’ roads during the boom…

• Dave finn 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Just shows how arrogant this lot are becoming with their “unprecedented mandate”. Time to give them a little reminder of who they are working for!

• Graham Mace 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You’re dead right there. These latchikos have lost sight of that small point for being overpriviledged and overpaid for too long. As far as I can see they’re not earning their keep.

• Adam Magari 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Credit to Leo Varadkar for putting his objections on the record and not trying to backtrack when they are made public. The arrangement whereby the country’s betters can travel on reserved road lanes suggests either a fortress strategy is gripping the government or they are enthralled by the pleasure of petty snobbery.

• bullfrogblues 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

delete

• elizabeth ahern 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This should always have been allowed. it is a complete non-story.
    Ministers allowed to get on with their work instead of sitting in traffic / another 12/13 extra cars allowed to use the bus-lanes. What a shocker!
    Varadkar should concentrate on the things that actually matter, and journalists should find a few real stories instead of this pathetic drivel.

• Report this comment

if ministers had to sit in traffic jams like the rest of us, they might do something about them

• William Grogan 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You’re not very logical are you? What about airline pilots, doctors, businessmen, editors of newspapers, footballers etc etc etc I’m surprised so few people are insensed by this…

• Adam Beere 21/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Ministers should also get a priority lane in accident & emergency waiting rooms. I don’t want them to be sacrificing any time waiting for treatment, when they could be fixing our country.

I have an important job that requires me to be places at a minuets notice, can I also use the bus lane? I’m only one extra car…

• James Dunne 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

What’s the big deal here? I would much rather they arrive on time for what they have to do and be stuck in traffic. The number of cars we’re talking about here would be minimal, lets worry about the bigger stuff.

• random 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Let them get up earlier in the morning to be on time so, like the rest of us do.

• Brian Daly 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Exactly, I see no problem with this at all. We’ve made the savings on drivers and cars so it’s a fair concession to allow the use of bus lanes while on official business to and from the Dail. I don’t see the problem if it’s on official business.

The other thing is this lark about “secrecy”. If it’s a law it’s proposed on paper and in the public domain as a record. It was never a secret.

Of course the big drawback is that the perk will somewhat be lessened as by driving a regular car in a bus lane means that you will be a constant target for being pulled over by the Gardai. Sure you have the get out of jail card it slows you down.

• Peter Carroll 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

It is the arrogant elitism thats wrong. Many prfofeesions and trades do urgent or in some cases vital work without such dispensation. It is the assumption that their time is more valuable than anyone elses that galls.

And as already said in these comments, unless they experience the difficulties that the rest of us put up with, they will do nothing about them.

• random 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You’re right on the money there, Peter. These people are not our rulers. They are not special. They are public servants, and the same rules should apply to them as to everybody else. It is disgusting to see them heaping privileges on themselves of any kind, and this pleading, “but, but, they gave up the cars and the drivers” rings hollow to me, because they should never have had those things in the first place.

• Graham Mace 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Brian says, “Of course the big drawback is that the perk will somewhat be lessened as by driving a regular car in a bus lane means that you will be a constant target for being pulled over by the Gardai.” which is true enough.
      But while the fuzz are stopping and quizzing the occupant of the car, thoroughly to ensure no abuse of privilige, how many ordinary folk are going to be held up in the buses in the queue while it’s being done?

It’s stupid to allow it at all. Apart from buses only a vehicle with a flashing blue light should be allowed in the bus lane.

And for chrissake, don’t let the gobshites award themselves those.

• Joe Browne 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Let them get get a taxi license like Michael o Leary did.

• Sarah Cullington 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

How easily we are all distracted from things that really matter…I couldn’t care less if some random minister uses a bus lane…I am far more worried about the upcoming budget and all that it will bring. Don’t sweat the small stuff people!

• Peter Carroll 20/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Sarah you are right that in the great scheme of things whether or not a minister uses a bus lane will change nothing.
      What is worrying is that they see themselves as great panjandrums who are above us mere plebs and deserve special treatment.

• Michael Howard 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

not really surprising the minister for transport wasn’t consulted about this considering the German government were given the Irish budget plans before the Irish people.

• Graham Mace 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Nothing wrong with letting them in the bus lane.
    Providing they are on the feckin’ bus and have paid their fare.
    Oherwise they ought to be told to put up with the same difficulties as the rest of us.

• Hanly Sheelagh 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

While we are all concerning ourselves with every little move made by TD’s and Ministers, Angela and Nicholas are planning to be TOTALLY in the driving seat and making all the decisions for us and all the other good dopey little Europeans who haven’t a clue what is really happening. Italy and Greece are sorted -I wonder who is next?

• Cecily J. Hoare 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

What’s his beef? It’s, what, about 30 cars across the city? And most likely not at the same time? Personally, I want to know that they are getting into work pronto and not gaffing about in traffic. I think Leo could pick his battle a little more effectively.

• Graham Mace 20/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Leo is right that this shouldn’t have beeen sanctioned. It may appear a small, insignificant thing but it could also be the thin end of the wedge as regards awarding perks. There is too much of a perk – culture in government and no good reason why ministers shouldn’t put up with the same conditions as everyone else.
    Or there’s always the bike. It’s good enough for the mayor of London, Boris is often seen on abile. That’s wher the phrase “Dope peddler” comes from.

• Paul Coffey 21/11/11 #
    Report this comment

For gods sake, there are far more important issues than this shite ,, !

Add New Comment