TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

‘Worrying’ HIQA report raises questions about safety of foster children in Dublin North West

The report found some children had remained in placements despite allegations being made about foster carers.

Posed by model.
Image: luxorphoto via Shutterstock

A HEALTH INFORMATION and Quality Authority (HIQA) report into fostering services in the Dublin North East Region has concluded that inspectors were not assured that all children were safe.

Some children had remained in placements despite allegations being made about foster carers, according to the report’s findings – based on inspections carried out in October of 2012.

The report uncovered serious deficits with the foster care service in the Dublin North West Local Health Area, noting that that “not all foster carers took up training opportunities and most has not undergone reviews.” It also found that 116 children in foster care (32 per cent) had only been assigned a designated social worker in the three weeks prior to inspection.

Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald described the report as unacceptable, saying that she would be meeting the HSE and Gordon Jeyes, Chief Executive Designate of the Child and Family Support Agency as a matter of urgency to discuss the “critical issues identified”.

Fianna Fáil Spokesperson on Children Robert Troy has described the report as “shocking and extremely worrying”, saying the fact that one third of foster carers did not have a link social worker to support them was one of the most serious findings.

“This HIQA report has found that ‘there were a number of carers who were not deemed suitable for the task yet continued to have children in their care’. Quite frankly this is unbelievable and the Minister must urgently clarify why this remains the case,” Troy said.

A second HIQA report into foster care in Limerick found that, while the standard of social care was good, safeguarding arrangements were not as robust as required. A number of children were recorded to be living with unapproved carers.

Read: HIQA’s report into the Dublin North West fostering service
Read: HIQA’s report into the Limerick fostering service

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• Nothing important works in this wretched country!

There are so many decent, well intentioned, unselfish and good people but somehow procedures, processes and care of the vulnerable just does not work.

The values of those who govern us, regulate us, administer us and control us don’t seem to work to protect those who deserve protection.

Special interests, sectoral interests, self interest and chasing the buck prevail.

We obsess about pro-life but somehow the welfare of abandoned, uncared for or children whose natural parents or even children in foster care escapes our commitment and attention. Lives are made miserable, children are traumatised and we just don’t seem to be able to protect them.

• In the past the only organisation that tried to take major efforts to help with such matters was the Catholic Church but the risk being blamed for the pre-existing difficulties as well as any less than 4 star facilities is too great and they don’t have the numbers of vocations anyway.

• Systematic physical, sexual and psychological abuse Tom inflicted from such organisations on young children in Artane Industrial School etc is a past we can well do without.

• The Church didn’t give a damn about the children in their care, if you care about a child you don’t leave them in freezing cold dorms in the Irish winter, if you care about a child you don’t beat them with a leather belt for the slightest precived misbehavior, if you care about a child you don’t use them as free labour, if you care about a child you feed them properly, if you care about a child you don’t leave them in soiled clothes all day, if you care about a child and he wets the bed you don’t force him to sleep in wet bedlinen all night, if you care about a child, you don’t try and silence him when he says he was raped.
      The Church didn’t view those children as kids that needed help, they view then as raw resouces to be consumed, to try and attach any sort of altruism to what was done in those “schools” is moral relativism of the highest order.

• Well said Peter, myself and my Husband are approved to adopt, and are in the process 6 years with no light at the end of the tunnel due to red tape and processes. We would love to give a child a good home, however SW were not keen on us fostering.
      I do admire the Minister, she was a Social Worker herself, and she is also a Mother, but she is fighting an uphill battle.
      It’s a terrible terrible shame because not only would you be changing one young persons life, but also their childrens lives.

• The children in foster care are obviously there because their own parents can’t/won’t give them the best care they deserve. It’s not their fault their in care. How do they have too many rights? In some respects they don’t have enough and you’d expect the foster care they are in to be a caring and safe place for them, not too much to expect you’d think.

• If that is in reply to my post then I never mentioned abuse I said they may be in foster care because their parents cant/won’t give them the best care. I’m aware there are any number of reasons that a child may be in care I’m just saying, whatever the circumstances, every child deserves to be given the best care and it’s just not acceptable they are placed somewhere they are not safe

• What we are winessing here is a reconfiguration of Industrial Schools, Reformatory Schools, Magdalene Laundries for the 21st century.
    What HIQA has exposed is disgraceful.
    What will happen? Nothing. Why? Because these children are invisable because they are poor.
    What has changed ? Almost nothing.

• Sal 21/02/13 #

I find it laughable that Frances Fitzgerald finds this report ‘unacceptable’.It’s this governments fault that these conditions exist for children in our foster care system. Most social work departments in this country are barely staffed due to the fact that social work staff are not being replaced and resources are constantly being cut. Frances Fitzgerald will again pay lip service tomorrow to how things will change yet six months time things will be even worse. If people only knew how vulnerable children in this country are being let down day after day by a deeply flawed and failing system they would be shocked

• Sandra 21/02/13 #

As someone who worked in the field during the previous governments tenure I can say that things were at least as bad if not worse when we had money to burn. Too simplistic to blame a minister who has been in the post 2 years for a problem that has been decades in the making.

• The reality is there are not enough foster carers, social workers or resources for these kids. The amount of unallocated cases are crazy. In my own and colleagues experiences we found HIQA a little shy in responding to specific staff concerns regarding individual cases and poor management tactics. A crazy scenario exists where relative carers are given special privledges just because they’re blood. In my own experience I’ve seen cases where the foster carer is a convicted paedofile, another a drug runner for the lads up north, another convicted for holding guns and another who was awarded the children because her sister was a heroin user. We later discovered the foster carer was using for a time while the child was in her care. At the end of the day it’s much less expensive to foster kids out than keep in care. Though in theory advantageous overall for kids if a good placement. The real scenario is HSE management and Foster Care Committees are encouraged to place kids asap (fostering assessment aside, if one has been completed) to cutback on costs.

• I should say the father not foster carer is a convicted paedofile. Management encouraged and fascilitate his access fully with his child who is unaware of his conviction. Father has been duscovered giving the child porn.

• Tommy C 21/02/13 #

Keith, I have plenty of single friends who would love to be foster parents and who would make great carers but as they are single, theyve been told that theyd have to quit their jobs to look after foster kids as they need to be available 24/7. This restricts the number of good caring potential foster parents.

• They can still be respite or weekend/emergency carers or offer supported lodgings Tommy. These options should have been suggested to them.

• Keith, I also inquired about fostering but was told as we didn’t have a spare room we couldn’t….surely it would be better to share a room in caring environment than go to an unsuitable home? I can’t get my head around the states inability to care for vulnerable children, it’s appalling.

• Hi Eimear. A lot of these children come into care with a myriad of trust/privacy and various other social concerns that take time to work with. You have to understand their own space is a premium that must be utilised while they develop.

• Well Stephen referring to your comments last night re: gay and lesbian couples should not have kids either by adoption as and I quote you here it’s unnatural! That takes a biiig chunk out of our population of people who could take these kids in. Yes this picture is extremely sad and a brutal reality. Maybe if so many didnt have your stoneage views there would be less kids in that situation.It also is proof to you that ‘natural’ people can be bad parents. I didn’t comment to you on this last night because I had no words.

• It is rather homophobic the fostering assessment in which there are extra questions for LGBT people in which it investigates if they have come to terms with their sexuality! Surely the same criteria should apply to all. The HSE also excludes gays from giving blood in fairness so it needs to progress.

• Hi Nicola. Children need a mother and a father not a mother and a mother or a father and a father. They need this in order to grow up in the natural family unit which is healthy for them and need that male and female role model in their lives. You may say they have uncles who can act as good role models but children need a father not an uncle. Putting children with same sex couples is actually a form of child abuse as it deprives them of their natural and basic right to a mother and a father.

My views are more fundamental than the fundamentalist and more modern than the modernist Nicola. Nothing Stone Age or weird here.

• Not all children have both parents Stephen. I guess you’ve never heard of single parents. A ‘natural’ environment as you call it may be far from a safe place for a child thus their need to go into care. There are some great foster carers out there both gay and straight. Homosexuality is as natural among species as heterosexuality. My fear for someone like you Stephen is that one of your children or grandchildren might turn out LGBT and that this self-hatred and homophobia you’ve programmed into them leads them to suicide. How could you live with yourself?

• But they do grow up in the natural environment even under a single heterosexual parent, because they are given that natural education on what it does take to make up a family unit by their heterosexual single parent. In addition to this For some of the dads who are not around, the child is still given the understanding that he or she has a father and this is how families are supposed to work. It is not the ideal situation for a child to grow up in and it can be hard on the single parent. But better a heterosexual parent than being brought up in a very extremely unnatural state by a same sex couple.

I am not a homophobe. I am very tolerant of everyone just not their principles. I disagree with the gay agenda and activity but it wouldn’t stop me from having a normal day to day healthy conversation with someone of that mindset or creating a friendship. The same goes with just about anyone I disagree with no matter their creed.

• tom 22/02/13 #

Well said Stephen.
      I fully agree and may I just add its not a right or entitlement of any one or couple to adopt or be a foster parents.
      Its a privilege that if the opportunity arises they are lucky to get.

• Looks like Tom the Troll has crawled into bed with you Stephen. Dress up your homophobia and trolling whatever way ye like lads ;)

• @ Stephen. If you are at large you shouldn’t be. Your a religious nut with antideluvian views in what is normal. Lets hope people are more humane towards your wife’s cancer than you are to others.

• Aine 22/02/13 #

Gay agenda? This is a bizarre and nonsensical rant with no basis in reality. The best place for children is in a loving and caring environment. Being homosexual doesn’t normally preclude people from providing this. Terrible to be so bigoted.

• Ed 21/02/13 #

@ frankthetank , that’s an interesting viewpoint you have , did you just trip over it? because its very thick.

• Children are the losers again

• The more things change the more things stay the same!

I want to live in a modern mature republic. It does not seem that this is going to happen anytime soon if we can’t cherish the youngest in our socitey.
    So much for our government’s agenda to support children.

Suffer little children- will we ever move away from this?

• Not all children are in foster placements because of any form of abuse …

• Yea that’s hilarious

• One of my friends kids are in foster care, on a visit with the kids the mother found bruises on the child’s back, she spoke to the social worker and to the family court judge and they said they would “Look into it” a year later the kid is not the same kid that we use to know, very quite, withdrawn, teary all the time, the other child went to a foster family that only had ONE meeting with the social worker and that family became a foster parents no police vetting nothing, the kids mother later found out that the foster mother has a mental illness and is on meds for a mood disorder, I’m not saying that someone with a mental illness cant look after kids but the state should never put kids with a foster family when that family has had no training, has not gone to any meetings like normal foster parents would, this has now gone to court and the mother is fighting to get the kids moved to a proper foster family until she gets the kids back.
    The state don’t care about these kids.

• We live in a very crazy, disgusting country!

• H.s.e fails again!!!!

• Why is everyone so shocked!! At the findings, the ministers SHOCKED!! Bertie was shocked at what was going on in the banks! Reckons someone should have told him. Aren’t these supposed to b the bosses. The ones who make the decisions, no? Why aren’t they held accountable. General election every 18 months, until the debt is paid off. It’s not hard for people to vote once every 18 months. Better than three years of sitting on their ass followed by a year of bollox promises that never come thru.

• This is the children’s referendum kicking in,adopt them and that’s that the state washes their hands of them.Reducing costs regardless of the welfare of the children.Frances Fitzgerald surprised!!!hope the people that voted yes are happy.

• That photo brought tears to my eyes journal. Very sad photo, Lord have mercy.

• @ Emma. He’s joking. It was funny to be fair.

• Care to comment on their obligations or indeed yours?

Add New Comment