We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Angela Merkel will attend but Camerron Dan Kitwood/WPA-Rota/Press Association Images
Nobel Prize

18 EU leaders accept Nobel peace invite, 6 decline

David Cameron will not attend the ceremony – commenting wryly: “There will be enough people to collect the prize.”

EIGHTEEN EUROPEAN LEADERS have accepted an invitation to next month’s ceremony to award the Nobel Peace Prize to this year’s controversial winner, the EU, while six others have declined, the Nobel Institute said Thursday.

British Prime Minister David Cameron leads the list of leaders who plan to snub the December 10 event in Oslo, while German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Francois Hollande have said they will attend.

European Union President Herman Van Rompuy called on all its 27 member states and soon-to-be-inducted Croatia to send attendees to the ceremony after the EU won the award on October 12 — a controversial decision that came as a surprise amid the economic crisis racking the bloc.

The ceremony is a politically delicate event for some leaders, including Cameron — whose wry comment that “there will be enough people to collect the prize” was seen as emblematic of his Conservative Party’s distaste for European integration.

Swedish Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt and Czech President Vaclav Klaus, a noted eurosceptic, also plan to skip the event.

But Nobel Institute director Geir Lundestad said almost two-thirds of EU leaders had accepted the invite.

“All the large countries of the EU have said yes, except one,” he told AFP.

Officially, the award will be given to Van Rompuy together with European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso and European Parliament President Martin Schulz.

It consists of a diploma, a gold medal and a cheque for eight million kronor (€926,000, $1.2 million). The EU has said it will donate the prize money to children affected by war and conflicts.

In host country Norway, which has itself twice rejected EU membership in referenda, four cabinet ministers from a centrist eurosceptic party have also vowed not to attend, local media reported.

Lundestad condemned their position as “provincial”, saying Norwegians could oppose EU membership while still recognising the bloc’s contribution to peace and democracy.

- © AFP, 2012

Read: EU to donate Nobel prize money to children affected by war

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.