You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

(File photo) Briana O'Doherty, from Tallaght at Connolly station, Dublin, after she took a train with other pro-choice campaigners from Dublin to Belfast to bring back abortion pills unavailable in the Republic of Ireland. Brian Lawless/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Study shows vast majority of Irish women who took abortion pills feel they made right decision

The study examined the experiences of women who accessed abortion pills online.

A NEW STUDY focussing on the experiences of Irish women who took abortion pills to terminate a pregnancy has found that the overwhelming majority expressed gratitude and relief that they were able to access the pills.

The study – published in the British Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology – also found that the vast majority of women would recommend the pills to other women in a similar situation.

The study looks at the characteristics and experiences of women who accessed abortion pills online in Ireland and Northern Ireland.

It examines the experiences of over 1,000 women who took the pills to terminate a pregnancy with help from the online medicine initiative Women on Web between January 2010 and December 2012.

Women on Web is a website based in the Netherlands which sends the abortion pills Mifepristone and Misoprostol to women who are unable to access them in their home countries.

The pills induce an abortion in women up to 10 weeks of pregnancy.

People wishing to access the pills complete an online consultation consisting of 25 questions and are asked for donations of at least €90, €80 or €70 depending on a person’s economic circumstances.

It is illegal to take them in both Ireland and Northern Ireland.

The study found that the only regret women who had taken the medication had was that they were doing something illegal in their home country.

In April a 21-year-old woman was handed a suspended sentence after her housemates reported her to authorities for taking the two pills.

Right decision 

Almost every woman questioned (97%) felt they had made the right decision in accessing and using the medication at home and 98% said they would recommend it to others in a similar situation.

In total, 5,650 women requested the abortion pills from Women on Web between 1 January 2010 and 31 December 2015.

The study – carried out Abigail Aiken and her colleagues at the University of Texas at Austin – found that the vast majority (85%) were between 20 and 30 years old. 63% were already mothers.

The most common reason women cited for choosing to terminate their pregnancy was not being able to cope with a child at that stage of their lives (63%).

Close to half (44%) said they had no money to adequately provide for a child. Close to a third (30%) said they were too young to have a child or wanted to complete their education.

The most commonly reported feelings after having completed the procedure were relief (70%) and satisfaction (36%).

Over a quarter said they were happy (26.8%) and 22% said they were pleased (22%).

The vast majority (94%) expressed gratitude for being able to access the pills online.

Abortion is illegal in Ireland except in rare cases under the Eighth Amendment of the Constitution which grants the equal right to life to the mother and the unborn child.

A Constitutional Convention met for the first time on Saturday, with the Eighth Amendment to be the first thing to be discussed when it meets again on 25 November.

Read: Day one of Citizens’ Assembly hears people with ‘diverse views’ are ‘destroyed’ on social media

Read: Woman (21) given suspended sentence for taking abortion drugs

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

161 Comments
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:44 PM

” 63% were already mothers.”

“Close to half (44%) said they had no money to adequately provide for a child.”

Very interesting stats, and easy to believe.

Oct 17th 2016, 1:18 PM

Neal .. so in your book . Feeling relief means feeling proud ?.. I fail to see ,from reading this article , that it’s like they’re almost proud ..

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:23 PM

Susie, don’t worry, Neal is Christian, this kind of derogatory comment is right up their alley.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:32 PM

Neal a woman cannot get into this ‘mess’ by herself. It’s basic biology.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:37 PM

Deborah, the last time that happened, the catholic church was invented!!

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Favourite j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:39 PM

@Daisy Chainsaw:

This is so sad. Abortion covers up rape and sexual assault.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:41 PM

@Deborah Behan:

I fully agree with you Deborah. Men need to grow up and stop treating women as instrument’s for their satisfaction.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:42 PM

Rape and sexual assault are done by sick criminals. Nada to do with abortions

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:45 PM

@NO 2 FF/FG/LAB:

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/jimmy-savile-told-teenager-raped-3772609

Abortion covered up Jimmy Saville’s tracks for years. So Sad.

Mute Mise Éire
    Favourite Mise Éire
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:30 PM

So even using the pro abortion on demand astro turf organization women on web 64% the vast majority were dissatisfied with the procedure they are pushing in the paid for findings. Hardly a resounding endorsement. Abortions are carried out in Ireland every year in exceptional circumstances. Despite what the extreme opinions for or against think, the majority of people in Ireland time and again have indicated that abortion on demand is not popular.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:38 PM

@Mise Éire: Where are you getting the 64% from?

Article states that:
    97% felt they made the right decision
    94% said they were grateful they could access the pills online

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:45 PM

@j scotus eriugena: “Abortion covered up Jimmy Saville’s tracks for years. So Sad.”

Targetting vulnerable children was the main tactic saville used to cover up his abuse (a common theme with predators, read any report done on paedophile priests)

Abortion prevented his victim from being forced to carry his seed. I won’t class that as ‘so sad’ if you don’t mind.

Mute Mise Éire
    Favourite Mise Éire
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:55 PM

Just 34% were satisfied taken from a poll on a Dutch website which advocates taking dangerous abortion pills without medical supervision. At best this is irresponsible. I have almost given up hope of seeing a balanced discussion on this subject as the extreme abortion on demand people and the extreme no abortion ever people attack moderate opinions. It is some comfort to know if there is another plebiscite on abortion related matters it will be the sane moderate middle who will decide the outcome.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:04 PM

@Mise Éire: Again, where are you getting that figure from? Is it this study, or another? A link would be helpful if it’s not from this article.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:21 PM

@For Connolly: Saville would have been found out years ago if he didn’t have the option of forcing women to have abortions. Death Penalty for rapists instead of the babies. That would cut out a lot of crap.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner

So Scotus, are you saying these woman should have given birth to their abuser’s offspring?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:36 PM

@j scotus eriugena: “Saville would have been found out years ago if he didn’t have the option of forcing women to have abortions.”

Complete speculation, and also almost cetainly untrue.

You seem to be unusually obsessed with abusers being ‘found out’ for somebody so enamoured with the catholic church. How do you square that particular circle?

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:14 PM

@For Connolly:

if it was up to the marxists paedophilia would be totally legal.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:17 PM
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:30 PM

@j scotus eriugena: Can you post list of where all this ‘marxist paedophelia’ is happening please?

In the meantime, here’s a list of where major catholic church abuse scandals have happened…

Albany, NY, Altoona, PA, Anchorage, AK, Anchorage, KY, Baker, OR, Baltimore, MD, Billings, MT, Bridgeport, CT, Briscoe Memorial, WA, Brooklyn, NY, Burlington, VT, Camden, NJ, Cape Girardeau, MO, Charleston, SC, Chicago, IL, Cincinnati, OH, Cleveland, OH, Collegeville, MN, Conway Springs, KS, Covington, KY, Dallas, TX, Davenport, IA, Denver, CO, Detroit, MI, Dubuque, IA, East Greenwich, RI, El Paso, TX, Fairbanks, AK, Fall River, MA, Fargo, ND, Farmington, IA, Fort Worth, TX, Gallup, NM, Goshen, NY, Grand Mound, IA, Grand Rapids, MI, Greenbush, MN, Hannibal, CT, Helena, MT, Honolulu, HI, Indianapolis, IN, Jackson, MS, Joliet, IL, Kansas, City, KS, Kansas, City, MO, Lincoln, NE, Los Angeles, CA, Los Gatos, CA, Louisville, KY, Manchester, NH, Marietta, GA, Marty Indian School, SD, Memphis, TN, Mendham, NJ, Miami, FL, Milwaukee, WI, Mobile, AL, Monterey, CA, Nashville, TN, New Orleans, LA, New York, NY, Oakland, CA, Omaha, NE, Onamia, MN, Orange, CA, Palm Beach, FL, Peoria, IL, Philadelphia, PA, Phoenix, AZ, Pittsburgh, PA, Portland, OR, Providence, RI, Raleigh, NC, Richmond, VA, Rochester, NY, Rockville Centre, NY, Rosebud Reservation, SD, Sacramento, CA, San Antonio, TX, San Bernardino, CA, San Diego, CA, Santa Barbara, CA, Santa Fe, NM, Santa Rosa, CA, Savannah, GA, Scranton, PA, Seattle, WA, Spokane, WA, Springfield, MA, St. Francis, WI, St. Ignatius, MT, St. Louis, MO, St. Michael, AK, St. Paul/Minneapolis, MN, Stebbins, AK, Stockton, CA, Tucson, AZ, Wellesley, MA, Wilmington, DE, Worcester, MA, Yakima, WA, Yuma, AZ, Adelaide, Australia, Akute, Nigeria, Antigonish, Canada, Arapiraca, Brazil, Auckland, New Zealand, Ayacucho, Peru, Ballarat, Australia, Bass Hill, Australia, Bathurst, Australia, Berazategui, Argentina, Berlin, Germany, Bindoon, Australia, Bo, Sierra Leone, Bontoc, Philippines, Brits, South Africa, Bruges, Belgium, Buenos Aires, Argentia, Caen, France, Canberra, Australia, Cape Town, South Africa, Cebu City, Philippines, Chatham, Canada, Chimbote, Peru, Christchurch, New Zealand, Ciudad de México, México, Comillas, Spain, Cottolengo, Chile, Cuacnopalan, Mexico, Curracloe, Ireland, Dandenong, Australia, Dublin, Ireland, Edinburgh, Scotland, Feilding, New Zealand, Flawinne, Belgium, Franca, Brazil, Gortahork, Ireland, Goulbara, Australia, Grenada, Spain, Hamilton, New Zealand, Hobart, Australia, Hollabrunn, Austria, Igloolik, Canada, Kilnacrott, Ireland, Kircubbin, Northern Ireland, Latticefield, Australia, Letterfrack, Ireland, London, England, Lota, Ireland, Maipú, Chile, Manchester, England, Manila, Philippines, Mariana, Brazil, Masterton, New Zealand, Medellín, Colombia, Melbourne, Australia, Melipilla, Chile, Mérida, Venezuela, Middlesbrough, England, Mildura, Australia, Mittagong, Australia, Monageer, Ireland, Morisset, Australia, Morón, Argentina, Mount Isa, Australia, Munich, Germany, Nairobi, Kenya, Naval, Philippines, Neerkol, Australia, Newcastle, Australia, Ngong, Kenya, Ollur, India, Ottre, Belgium, Paraná, Argentina, Perth, Australia, Pilar, Argentina, Poznan, Poland, Preston, England, Quilicura, Chile, Quilmes, Argentina, Rab, Croatia, Reading, England, Frickhofen, Germany, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Rufisque, Senegal, Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne, France, Salta, Argentina, San Luis Potosí, Mexico, Santiago, Chile, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, Sherbrooke, Canada, Silverstream, New Zealand, Soni, Tanzania, St. John’s, Canada, Sydney, Australia, Toowoomba, Australia, Trondheim, Norway, Tubay, Philippines, Wagga Wagga, Australia, Wexford, Ireland, Wilno, Canada, Wollongong, Australia

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:34 PM

@Mise Éire: Any link to back up this 34% claim?

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:41 PM

@For Connolly: several of these are listed twice…..you trying to distort things?

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:42 PM

@For Connolly:

That is so sad and detestable. Any one who sexually abuses children should be put to death. Would you agree?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 6:11 PM

@Con O Sullivan: Explain the connection with Marxism for us all, con…..

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Oct 17th 2016, 6:28 PM

Marion Murphy I presume

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:01 PM

@Nick Drake: Maybe they’re twice because abuse took place more than once. the Journal comments probably doesn’t have enough space to list all the parishes where rapists were sent on to to cover up their crimes and given access to fresh meat.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:58 PM

An interesting aspect of the article is the ease and convenience, despite the secrecy, of abortion in the first 10 weeks.

If there must be an abortion, and there are many reasons why it is necessary, then ideally the sooner the abortion takes place the better.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:31 PM

Yes loads more Jimmy Saville s gene pool just what we need

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:48 PM

@For Connolly: You do not know. Let me refresh your memory. Marxism is an atheist doctrine according to Comrade Lenin in his essay on religion, he states Atheism is a natural and inseparable part of Marxism. Th crime of the raping of about 1,000,000, German woman “between 8 and 80 were committed by your atheist Marxist brethren from the Soviet Union. If you want to contradict me about my evidence.It is a bit rich of you coming up with allegations about Catholic clergy , when your own atheist brethren raped millions of young girl and women.
    http://www.mirror.co.uk › News › World news › World War 2
    cloudmind.info/violence-against-women-the-rape-of-berlin-ww2/

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 10:02 PM

@Con O Sullivan: Most ridiculous post of the day, well done.

Unless your contesting the child rapist priests are also atheists?

You may as well claim that Hitler and Stalin both having moustaches means that facial hair causes to dictatorial tendencies.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 10:56 PM

@For Connolly:

So seen as you ignored my question earlier maybe you could answer. What would you think of the death penalty for people who sexually abuse children?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 18th 2016, 12:02 AM

@j scotus eriugena: Catholic Knight Jimmy Saville? Knighted by Patron Saint of Paedo Protectors, John Paul II himself?

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Oct 18th 2016, 12:58 AM

@For Connolly:

Where do I start, the majority (98-99%) of sexual abuse is carried out by non-religious and also mainly by family members! But yet you and others continue to demonize the Christian churches on this matter! Why? Maybe instead we should demonize the general lay population for the sexual abuse perpetrated on children and not the churches? I was as a child in Ireland in the 50′s and 60′s involved with the Catholic church, as an altar boy and education in both primary and secondary. To be honest I had more contact with religious than I had with lay, yet except for 1 minor occurrence I never encountered nor experienced or knew of any abuse from that quarter. Whereas, in the lay world I had 5 serious personal encounters and knew of many others. People like you brand all of the religious as “pedophiles” just because some of their congregation committed and hid vile acts on children. Yet you at the same time attack people who blame all Muslims for the terror that is committed by some mis-guided Muslims! You cannot have your cake and eat! In all the countries you listed, those who experienced sexual abuse as children experienced that abuse not from those of religious orders but from members of their own families and congregations! Nowadays it is in vogue to criticize the church and many who do so have never ever experienced any sort of negativity from the church or its religious! Finally, I am not involved in any way with any church and probably could be classified as an atheist but I just do not like to see injustice done to people who in my life’s experience have been nothing but good human beings and have attempted to help and do good for others throughout their lives!

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 18th 2016, 9:58 AM

@Warthog:

doctors have a way higher abuse rate. Does that mean we should close all the hospitals?

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:42 PM

#Repealthe8th

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:06 PM

Reminds me of the women who went north for condoms and the pill on the Johnny trains..they eventually forced change..are we seeing similar?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:16 PM

I hope so.

Oct 17th 2016, 1:34 PM

Trusting women with making decisions about their own bodies? Yes me too.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:57 PM

Well that train was in 71 and condoms were readily available in 91 it only took 20 yrs (in between you needed a marriage certificate and a pharmacist who was Protestant)

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:16 PM

@Kieran OKeeffe: These tablets are proof that ignorance kills:
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/abortion-ireland-woman-tells-how-4527642

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:11 PM

@Phil West: eh, I think you just made an excellent case for the abortion pill being legalised here so it can be taken under medical supervision.

If that was your intent then fair play!

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:32 PM

@For Connolly:It is merely presenting evidence – what you choose to do with it is your business ;)

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:40 PM

@Phil West: @Phil West: How many times did the woman have contact with http://www.womanonweb.org advising her and following up with her? They told her to go to her doctor. She did. They told her to go to the hospital. She did. The only danger she was in was being reported to the gardai for inducing an abortion and getting a 14 year sentence.

Ignorance does kill. You posting that link as some reason not to take these pills is the ignorance.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:55 PM

Repeal the eighth but for God’s sake don’t use that godawful picture anymore.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:43 PM

@Margie Murph: lol, that picture makes the whole thing look nasty for some reason……

Mute MuckyMoo
    Favourite MuckyMoo
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:41 PM

Pro-Life and Proud. Abortion Discriminates

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:46 PM

@MuckyMoo: Pro-Life and Proud,too :) Abortion is a decision between a woman and her physician .

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:52 PM

“Women are certain about their decision to have an abortion”

“Laws aimed at preventing women from making an unconsidered decision about abortion – including mandatory waiting periods and information scripts, ultrasound review requirements, and parental involvement requirements – are common in the U.S. These laws presuppose that most women are conflicted in their decision about abortion. However, minimal research has examined how certain women are of their decision to have an abortion, especially as compared to other health care decisions.”

Source: http://www.ansirh.org/news/women-are-certain-about-their-decision-have-abortion

Mute MuckyMoo
    Favourite MuckyMoo
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:23 PM

@West Cork Lad: Abortion is the decision to end someone else’s life Peace, Love and Let Live.

Mute Rosie Is Fabulous :)
    Favourite Rosie Is Fabulous :)
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:31 PM

@MuckyMoo: Abortion is the decision to end a pregnancy :) “to end someone else’s life” -and what a “life” they lived :)

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:48 PM

I’m in favour of repealing the 8th but surely if these women felt they weren’t ready to have a baby, adequate protection should be used at all times. A bit of personal responsibility would not do any harm. And that goes for the men too.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:49 PM

@Dj: “adequate protection should be used at all times.”

Contraception is not 100% effective.

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj

I agree but it’s more effective than not bothering with any.

See 48 more replies ▾
    Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden

And actually, the study itself points out that the majority of women had gotten pregnant due to a failure in contraception. It’s just not in the article.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:56 PM

From the BBC report on the matter – “Contraceptive failure was the most common reason cited for pregnancy.”

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:56 PM

@Dj you have no idea what protection was or was not used. Don’t be so quick to judge.

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:03 PM

It didn’t say in the article,I was just giving an opinion. Is that not allowed anymore?

Mute Jen Keane
    Favourite Jen Keane
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:20 PM

@Dj: Multiple studies (including this one) have noted that many people accessing abortion services were using contraception when they became pregnant. One from Marie Stopes, in 2014, notes that over half of women were using contraception. (https://mariestopes.org/media/research-reveals-more-half-young-women-who-have-abortions-were-using-contraception-when-they)

It’s not infallible. Lots of things can affect the protection that various methods use – the age of a condom and way it is stored, for example, can impact its effectiveness. And many things can impact the protection afforded by the contraceptive pill.

This information is easily found, it’s just lazy to assume that people were just too lazy to use contraception.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:00 PM

Unless you don’t have sex, I mean zero, no contraceptive is 100%, it’s stupid to say but then again the same argument is used when condemning Lone Parents.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:31 PM

DJ, HOW DARE YOU SUGGEST WE SHOULD TAKE PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY – FASCIST!

Unless you wholeheartedly buy into the “Abortion: Anyone, Anywhere, Anytime” mantra you’re a bottom feeder like the rest of your woman-hating, God-fearing rosary-beads-wielding misogynistic Neanderthal friends.

Pig!

… You see, there’s no room for grey, for nuance or compromise from the Repealers, it’s all or… well… all. There’s no tolerance for a middle-ground, and certainly none for anyone who may have the slightest bit of compassion for the so-called “blob of cells” (aka baby).

I don’t know, DJ, if you’ve spent any time considering the points of view of those who would retain the 8th Amendment, but seeing as your so obviously not compliant enough Repealer, this may be an opportunity for you to examine what would happen if the 8th Amendment was removed, and, taking into account the experiences of countries such as the UK (whom the Repeal movement model their demands on), observe how abortion, initially legalised for very few, specific reasons, is now very “liberalised”, with very few conditions or restrictions.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:33 PM

@Dj: Fellatio works every time all the time… 100%

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:42 PM

Brian

Repealing the 8th would not legalise abortion. Our laws still prevent it.
    Repealing the 8th would mean that legislation could be passed that would allow abortion to happen in Ireland.
    Your suggestion that “there’s no room for grey, for nuance or compromise from the Repealers” doesn’t stand up to scrutiny. In fact the only people I see demanding a black and white solution would be those demanding no change to the status quo.

You’re being disingenuous to suggest that there is no nuance on the “repealers” side.

There are many that would only like to see abortion available for FFA, rape and incest.

I would support a regime closer to that of the Scandinavian countries.

Others have different opinions.

But most recognise that nothing can be done without first repealing the 8th Amendment.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:43 PM

@For Connolly:

Chastity is 100% effective.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:43 PM

You didn’t give an opinion you gave an assumption which is obviously false. Suggesting 0 women who took part in the study used contraception is dumb and unfounded

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:27 PM

@j scotus eriugena: “Chastity is 100% effective.”

Bishop Casey took a vow of chastity, didn’t he?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:31 PM

@For Connolly: Boom!

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:41 PM

@For Connolly:

I wouldn’t think so. He probably took a vow of celibacy, we are all called to chastity, even those of us who are married. It is the practice of chastity which is effective, not a vow itself.
    Chastity is such a beautiful virtue,it gives a man great dignity and confidence. It is a virtue much older and more widespread than the Catholic Church.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:43 PM

@For Connolly:

There is a tendency in post Catholic Ireland to reject everything that the Church thought but a lot of it is just common sense and inherited from previous cultures. I urge you to study the philosophies of Plato, Aristotle and Confucious.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:48 PM

@j scotus eriugena: I never got that call to chastity – lucky me!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:49 PM

@j scotus eriugena: Are you claiming that his vow of celibacy did not require him to be chaste?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:53 PM

@EvieXVI: Yep, me neither. Better stick my mobile on ‘call divert’ just in case(y)

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:55 PM

@For Connolly:

Chastity is 100% effective. Being a responsible man and not using women for your own personal gratification is what we are called to do. Chastity means not conducting improper sexual acts. As humans beings we are all called to act responsibly and not hurt others whether you are a Catholic or a Born Again Jedi. I don’t see what Bishop Casey has to do with that argument.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:01 PM

@For Connolly: Our local priest in west donegal keeps going on about that chastity and celebacy a lot, but that didn’t stop him getting two young church workers and a mentally challenged housekeeper pregnant. A bit more education and those girls may have been able to get abortion pills, and those young girls could live normal lives – but no the hippocrates they are blindly ignore the fact : humans are sexual, women are independent beings, terminations do not make them less than human, oh – babies out of wedlock are not shameful or guilted (unless a hippocrate got her pregnant in the first place)

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114

So the conclusion therefore is that abortion must be introduced as an added means of contraception or at least it will be a perfectly acceptable form of contraception. Well I guess that’s pretty much what we figured all along.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

@j scotus eriugena: “Chastity is 100% effective”

And not even a Bishop can manage it. Thats what casey has to do with the argument.

“Being a responsible man and not using women for your own personal gratification is what we are called to do.”

Does having consentual sex with your wife count? What if she gets pregnant due to contraception failure?

And whats this ‘we’ business, and who’s doing the calling? I don’t recall employing you as my spokesperson.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:03 PM

@j scotus eriugena: Could you actually BE more patronising towards women?

Do you think women don’t gain gratification from sex?

Perhaps if you stopped making the incorrect assumption that women are delicate flowers that require your protection you might actually respect their right to determine their own autonomy to their body.

Your paternalistic comments are just horribly insulting!

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:04 PM

@Alien8:

” Our local priest in west donegal keeps going on about that chastity and celebacy a lot, but that didn’t stop him getting two young church workers and a mentally challenged housekeeper pregnant. A bit more education and those girls may have been able to get abortion pills, and those young girls could live normal lives ”

If only those girls had abortion pills nobody would have found out the truth about the pervert in question. Babies out of wedlock are not shameful ( I am one and I have two) but it is not the ideal situation.

Mute j scotus eriugena

@For Connolly:

“And not even a Bishop can manage it. ”
    I am glad you think that Bishop’s are somehow above the rest of us but they are not. 99% of them do manage it as it happens.

“Does having consentual sex with your wife count? What if she gets pregnant due to contraception failure?”

Sex should be reserved for the sacred act of procreation. It is a gift that we have been given that can be taken away from us if we abuse it. As you may know, Bill Gates and all his buddies are developing compulsory contraceptives to save the planet. I hope you all will be screaming “my body, my choice” when that happens. The reality is that we have a choice now so we shouldn’t abuse it.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:18 PM

@Tricia Golden:

“Do you think women don’t gain gratification from sex”

There is more to life than instant gratification. Abortion is an awful thing for women to go through.

http://womenhurt.ie/

My wife is a delicate little flower who needs my protection She is the happiest woman you could ever meet. She is happy to be a mother of four. So many women feel short changed when they are in their 40s with no kids thinking of all the men who they slept with who have now moved on and have kids with younger women.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

@j scotus eriugena: “If only those girls had abortion pills nobody would have found out the truth about the pervert in question. ”

Why, does taking an abortion pill somehow magically prevent a woman from revealing who got them pregnant in the first place?

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:29 PM

@j scotus eriugena: Firstly well done ignoring the statistics that clearly show women do not regret their abortions.

Secondly, your anecdotal evidence that your wife is “a delicate little flower who needs my protection” and your claim that she is “the happiest woman you could ever meet” is just that, anecdotal. Maybe you could let HER actually make those claims or would that be her overstepping her bounds in her position under you in the hierarchy of your marriage?

The very fact that you’re arrogant enough to make the claim that “So many women feel short changed when they are in their 40s with no kids thinking of all the men who they slept with who have now moved on and have kids with younger women.” which you cannot back of with an single scrap of (non-biased) evidence beyond your own unwavering opinion pretty much just confirms everything I originally stated.

You’re a relic and thankfully your patronising vile controlling attempts no longer are welcome here in the 21st century.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:29 PM

@For Connolly:

“Why, does taking an abortion pill somehow magically prevent a woman from revealing who got them pregnant in the first place?”

Fear?I can’t answer for them but that is what happens. Just look at the situation with Jimmy Saville and Bill Clinton, I guess if the women had the babies they would be forced to come clean on who the perpetrator was. Most rapes are not reported sadly. Probably because of light sentencing. A rapist should never see the light of day again.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:41 PM

@j scotus eriugena: “I can’t answer for them but that is what happens.”

So you ARE answering for them.

Good man

“I guess if the women had the babies they would be forced to come clean on who the perpetrator was.”

Forcing women now? Yep, showing them a lot of respect there, aren’t you.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:55 PM

@Tricia Golden:

“women do not regret their abortions.” Many do regret. Show me all the women who regret having children.

http://womenhurt.ie/

Regarding my beloved wife. My respect has been earned and not demanded. Yes it is true that the family is a hierarchy but my position of Father is not for my own benefit and comes with great responsibility. We all know women who are sorry that they never had children. That is not to say that we all need to have children to be happy.

If a woman like my wife wants to be a traditional housewife and mother why does it bother people so much? It is the worst type of misogyny. Just because she didn’t buy into materialism and a career.

“You’re a relic and thankfully your patronising vile controlling attempts no longer are welcome here in the 21st century.”

I know I am a relic here, there is a serious crisis in masculinity which is at the heart of this issue that will correct itself. Thanks be to God it is not your decision whether I am welcome here or not. I am only 30 years of age and four beautiful sons and counting. When all these liberals are contracepting away their futures, we will be there to pick up the pieces and the natural order will be restored.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:57 PM

@For Connolly:

I guess I am just one of those old fashioned people who thinks that killing is immoral.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:14 PM

@j scotus eriugena:
    A few questions:

“Sex should be reserved for the sacred act of procreation”
    1) According to whom?

“It is a gift that we have been given that can be taken away from us if we abuse it.’
    2) How? And, again, by whom?

“As you may know, Bill Gates and all his buddies are developing compulsory contraceptives to save the planet.”
    3) Are you for real??

And, finally, are you for real?

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:20 PM

Ah lads leave Stephen off…. modern life is a struggle for him.

and BTW your wife’s decision to do what SHE WANTS TO DO is fully supported by me. Even if that includes having 4 children and being a housewife. The only person I see here trying to force people / women into behaving in a way dictated by anyone is you!

Mute Ever Loops
    Favourite Ever Loops
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:21 PM

@j scotus eriugena: IThe 1800s just called.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:22 PM

@EvieXVI:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pvw21BLs24

if I showed you all the evidence in the world you would not believe me. You have to be looking for truth to find it.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:23 PM

@Tricia Golden:

Ha ha ha ha.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:24 PM

@Ever Loops:

I wish

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:49 PM
    Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Favourite Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 17th 2016, 6:00 PM

J Scotus you’re right in that some men use women but this might not have occurred to you, most women want sex too.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:07 PM

@j scotus eriugena: it is not just your name which is medieval.

You are playing a real blinder for the pro-choice side. Thanks.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Oct 17th 2016, 8:29 PM

Exactly Brian…one person’s abortion is another’s miscarriage….consider that.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 10:59 PM

@Kelly Davis-Jordan:

Well I am making the point that one should be prepared to bring new life in to the world if you are willing to sleep with someone.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 11:00 PM

@Micheal OLainn:

Is medieval supposed to be an insult? Abortion is the most primitive act imaginable.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 11:10 PM

@j scotus eriugena: Edieval attitudes is capable of being take as an insult for someone with your icon.

Abortion is not primitive unless it is an illegal abortion performed in a primitive fashion.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 18th 2016, 3:57 AM

Really J Scotus? Sounds like you want women punished for having sex for fun rather than procreation. Forced pregnancy and birth seems to be an appropriate punishment in your book.
    Also what if a woman has a medical condition which would make pregnancy dangerous for her? Celibacy? Bearing in mind that no contraceptive is 100% effective.
    Should women and girls who have been raped be forced to carry their rapists offspring?
    You have no right to control or decide on what pregnant women do. You’re entitled to an opinion and that’s it.
    Go away with your faux concern for women, it’s transparent.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 18th 2016, 1:08 PM

@Kelly Davis-Jordan:

95% of all abortions are for contraceptive reasons. We are not free to do whatever we feel like. There is no medical situation where an abortion would save a woman’s life.
    You have no right to control or decide on what pregnant women do.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 18th 2016, 11:26 PM

Are you off your game? There are many situations where an abortion can save a woman’s life. Try not getting all your information from anti choice sources. Try some medical ones. Also, I’m pro choice and that means I support women who choose to end a pregnancy or choose to carry on. That’s how choice works. You want women to have no choice because of your morals which are not the same as everyone else’s, that’s arrogance.
    Also if you’re going to say mad rubbish that ’95% of abortions are for contraceptive reasons’ then you would want to cite the unbiased, scientific study which draws that conclusion.
    YOU don’t get to control women or make any decisions for us at all, that must drive you mad but you don’t.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:17 PM

It’s utterly disgraceful that these women were forced to put their health and their lives at risk using medication like this without proper medical supervision. These country really needs to cop the f__k on and address this issue with a grown up response that sees women accessing the healthcare they need.

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:40 PM

Today’s pro agenda

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Oct 17th 2016, 12:54 PM

Today’s paranoid anti-choice comment.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:02 PM

Can’t spin lies about regret and lifestyle choices out of this. Almost two thirds were already mothers and 97% had no regrets other than the clandestine method of procurement they had to go through.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

You are 100% right! Men need to stop drinking and forcing drunken sex on women.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:19 PM

Hmm… Gerry O Donnell’s comment disappeared?

Oct 17th 2016, 1:21 PM

Daisy .. when you make comments like that . The discussion gets ruined ..

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:26 PM

I was replying to a deleted comment calling on a ban on alcohol, accusing “women like Briana” of getting pregnant because they have drunken sex.

Oct 17th 2016, 1:27 PM

Daisy .. when I scrolled down I saw Gerry O Donnell’s comment .. you are 100% correct !

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 17th 2016, 1:31 PM

Thanks.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:03 PM

Daisy I’m nearly sure I heard it’s backed in to me your honour, but why were your pants down to your ankles while you were standing behind the donkey, true story guys will used any excuse.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:47 PM

@Daisy Chainsaw:

I fully agree with you Daisy. Women are being used by men for personal gratification. It is desperate the pain that some have

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 17th 2016, 6:06 PM

Women want sex too! Stop being so patronising!

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 11:04 PM

@Kelly Davis-Jordan:

I was responding to the first post above.

Daisy Chainsaw:
    You are 100% right! Men need to stop drinking and forcing drunken sex on women.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 18th 2016, 4:00 AM

Yes J Scotus men who take advantage of incapacitated women are rapists and I suppose you would expect the woman to be forced to give birth should she become pregnant from the rape?

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 18th 2016, 1:10 PM

@Kelly Davis-Jordan:

You want abortion as contraception

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 18th 2016, 11:29 PM

No, I want contraception as contraception and abortion as abortion. Learn the difference between them.
    You want to control women but I’m afraid you don’t get to.

Mute Laurence Fogarty
    Favourite Laurence Fogarty

The study also found that in all cases the baby died. Well it probably didn’t say that but it is true.

Oct 17th 2016, 2:33 PM

@Laurence Fogarty: No “baby” died :) And you would be wrong :)

Mute Ellen Whelan
    Favourite Ellen Whelan
    Oct 17th 2016, 2:56 PM

@Laurence Fogarty: A medical abortion can be procured up to 9 weeks gestation, at which point the “baby” that you’re talking about is actually an embryo. Not even a foetus. There are no accepted indicators of perception in embryos. To continue to equate an embryo with a baby only exposes your complete lack of a reasonable basis for your anti-choice stance. Try harder.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:01 PM

@Rosie Is Fabulous :):

She should get her money back so.

Oct 17th 2016, 3:35 PM

@j scotus eriugena: You believe that an embryo is a BAY-BEE :) You are adorable :)

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:22 PM

Ellen
    What would you know about anything?

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 8:10 PM

@Tom Burke: ahh, the conceit, arrogance and controlling attitude of the pro-life side.

Mute JMac
    Favourite JMac
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:14 PM

@Michael O’Lainn, so the pro-choice side are not arrogant, conceited or controlling???? Pots & kettles etc….

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:38 PM

@JMac: they don’t seek to impose their dogma on others and they don’t call abortion murder.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 18th 2016, 12:09 AM

@Tom Burke: How many periods have you had? How many pregnancies? You seem obsessed with 39th week abortions, how many of those have you had? Ever suffered from dysmenhorrea?

C’mon Tom, mansplain a bit more for us!

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 8:17 PM

There is a lot of indication that an increasing majority supports abortion in controlled circumstances and who no longer buy into or ever bought into the RCC influenced Eight Amendment.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:32 PM

Repealing the 8th will absolutely lead to abortion on demand. You cannot partly remove the protection of life. Once you remove the state guarantee of the right to life, there will be challenges and testing of the law.

Make no mistake. There is an agenda here.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 3:56 PM

@Tom Burke: Hopefully.

Whilst I understand you don’t share my opinion it would be my intention to only vote for legislators that would support the introduction of a Scandinavian model for accessing abortion.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:23 PM

So legalises killing within certain parameters?
    I see….

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:10 PM

@Tom Burke: you can’t kill that which has not been born.

Mute richard fennessy
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:32 PM

Nope tom u don’t see

Mute richard fennessy
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:34 PM

Yep tom just like contraception divorce gay marriage it’s on the way

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:32 PM

These discussions lead nowhere because opposing sides are poles apart in how they view abortion.

Those who oppose abortion can see a beating heart, an autonomous blood system and a human being.

Those in favour of abortion will never relate to it being a life deserving of the right to live. The mantra will always be not a person, no rights to life, end of story.

There will never be agreement.

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:38 PM

@ Very true – if only people could recognise that no one will be forced into a decision either way if and when the 8th amendment is repealed…

Mute Natural Habitats Detroit
    Favourite Natural Habitats Detroit
    Oct 24th 2016, 1:33 PM

@Tom Burke: Population control. 10 men and one woman on an island can reproduce 10 times in 10 years. 10 women and one man on an island however…
    ..Preselective gender abortions are what all economists in the world lean towards. This nullifies gender equality laws in our strange democracy.

Mute Padraic Reid
    Favourite Padraic Reid

Killing babies is wrong.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Oct 17th 2016, 4:31 PM

@Padraic Reid: If you know people that are “killing babies” you really should contact the Guards.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:12 PM

@Padraic Reid: what are names, PPS numbers, birth certificates of these babies? When and where were they killed?

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:28 PM

Don’t be such a twit. Is that the best you can come up with.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 8:02 PM

@Tom Burke: that’s a bit harsh on poor Padraic Reid.

Mute j scotus eriugena
    Oct 17th 2016, 11:35 PM
    Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 17th 2016, 5:11 PM

Yer wan with the lozenge in her mouth.
    They’re getting some mileage out of her.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 17th 2016, 7:28 PM

She looks like the type who would go through many pregnancies with many different men.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 8:01 PM

@Tom Burke: moralistic and without evidence. Representative of the pro-life side.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 18th 2016, 12:18 AM

@Tom Burke: Please stay away from women. Your attitude towards us is quite terrifying and I would fear for any woman or girl unfortunate enough to get stuck in your company.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Oct 18th 2016, 4:05 AM

Daisy you’re right, Tom seems like a man who has real problem with women for having agency, he doesn’t like it if we choose to have sex and he doesn’t like us having control over our own reproductive systems.
    Scary man, glad I don’t know any like him.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Oct 18th 2016, 5:43 PM

I make a smart comment and now I’m a serial killer who should be avoided.
    Waoooooohhhhhhh…..

You really are an inward looking hysterical bunch.

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Oct 18th 2016, 7:17 AM

Stop sleeping around, have some respect for your self!

Mute JMac
    Favourite JMac
    Oct 17th 2016, 9:04 PM

Men abuse women or women made a “mistake”. Either way the baby suffers the consequences. Death is the only answer and the baby has no choice and no defence, unlike the mother or father. I’m all for pro-choice for babies as well.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 10:40 PM

@JMac: the topic is abortion. It has nothing to do with supposed killing of babies.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 17th 2016, 10:40 PM

@JMac: the article is not about the Mother and Child homes operated by the religious orders.

Mute Natural Habitats Detroit
    Favourite Natural Habitats Detroit
    Oct 24th 2016, 1:27 PM

Womens rigjts, grandparents rights or population control. 10 men and one woman on an island can only reproduce 10 times in ten years. Ten women and one man on an island however…? This debate has not calculated for preselective gender abortions which the worlds economists are all leading towards. Gender equality laws nulified with the cast of a ballot. Strange democracy.

Mute Jake Gundersonn
    Favourite Jake Gundersonn
    Oct 17th 2016, 6:57 PM

Can this ridiculous site not change record to something more interesting for once . Perhaps your right to decide your child’s eye colour for example. Right to choose