You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

President of Ireland

'A very much loved dog': President Higgins pays tribute following death of his dog Bród

The 11-year-old had been part of a much-loved double act with two-year-old Misneach.

PRESIDENT MICHAEL D Higgins has paid tribute following the death of his dog Bród.

The President of Ireland’s official Twitter account tweeted this morning that Higgins and his wife Sabina were “sad to confirm that Bród, one of their two Bernese Mountain Dogs, has passed away at just past the age of 11″.

“Bród was 11 years and two months at Áras an Uachtaráin, having come to the Áras as a 8 week old puppy,” the statement reads.

“Bród was a very much loved dog by all that met him and he enjoyed meeting with the thousands of members of the public who came to Áras an Uachtaráin over the years and he was probably one of the most photographed dogs in Ireland.

“He will be missed by the President, Sabina and all at the Áras, particularly Misneach, the President’s remaining two and a half year old dog, who has shared his space with Bród over recent months and was his constant companion, aware of Bród’s situation and very attentive to him.”

The 11-year-old had been part of a much-loved double act with two-year-old Misneach, winning the hearts of the nation as they welcomed dignitaries and members of the public to Áras an Uachtaráin.

Prior to Misneach’s arrival in March 2021, Bród had been kept company by Síoda, another Bernese Mountain Dog who died following a short illness in September 2020.

The president’s dogs have become celebrities in their own right during his tenure, with unofficial social media accounts set up in their names attracting thousands of followers.

They were the focus of global attention as recently as last week, when videos of them “snubbing” US President Joe Biden during his visit to the Áras went viral and were reported on around the world.

President Higgins is known to be a dog lover and previously had another Bernese mountain dog called Shadow during his early years in the Phoenix Park.

Speaking about his dogs previously, he said they “are not merely ice-breakers, they’re also a great source of wisdom, and they must be protected from the stresses of the Anthropocene.”

The Bernese mountain dog is a giant breed that was originally bred in Switzerland as farm dogs or draft dogs, and were used to pull carts.

With reporting from Darragh McDonagh

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments
    Mute Diarmaid O'Fionnachta
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Fionnachta
    Mar 25th 2015, 3:43 PM

I’m a big fan of top gear but the BBC had no choice really. You can’t punch the people you work with and expect not to get sacked.

People saying the BBC made a stupid decision are wrong, Clarkson made a stupid decision.

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    Mar 25th 2015, 3:52 PM

It’s a stupid decision to let one scuffle end one of the most popular shows on television. Very small minded.

Mute Danny O' Connor
    Favourite Danny O' Connor
    Mar 25th 2015, 3:56 PM

20 minutes of verbal abuse followed by a physical attack? If you did that in an office you would be sacked. No excuse for it.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:00 PM

He’s more than just a replaceable office worker.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:01 PM

Still not as bad as what Savile did.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:03 PM

There’s some excellent production on top gear, it’s not just about the big motormouth.

Mute Keith Kavanagh
    Favourite Keith Kavanagh
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:04 PM

No he’s not
    He’s a man rooted in 1980s bigotry
    Good riddance

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:07 PM

This hatred is mostly coming from the shinners after he made a few harmless Irish jokes. That’s what this is really all about.

Mute Kevin OS.
    Favourite Kevin OS.
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:10 PM

Look. He assaulted a coworker that’s gross misconduct. It’s simple.

Mute Jessie Behiglebottom
    Favourite Jessie Behiglebottom
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:17 PM

Give us peace for feck sake. He’s no more important than you or I. The punishment fits the crime. He should see a day in court aswel. Everyone is accountable for their actions

Mute amadaeus
    Favourite amadaeus
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:20 PM

So Mr Fantastic at what level if importance do you consider it acceptable to physically verbally and racially abuse somebody? Never acceptable in my opinion.

Mute Mike O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mike O'Sullivan
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:23 PM

Danny, if you did that in an office you would be arrested.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:28 PM

Howya baz…..on form today

Mute Dar Ryl
    Favourite Dar Ryl
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:33 PM

I love Top Gear, but I’d really love to punch Clarkson in the face.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:37 PM

No. It’s common assault. And just like premier league soccer players, there’s no reason why the CPC couldn’t charge him even in the absence of a complaint by Oisín or the BBC. I love the programme, but there’s no excuse for thuggery.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:57 PM

The point? Do you like being punched?

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:58 PM

The point?

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:01 PM

Well Mr Fantastic, much as I like to blame the Shinners for as much as possible , I fear that unless you are a brainless english national front supporting yob, with you head buried up your rectum, as most of his fans are, you would see him for what he is, and it’s not pretty. I’m delighted the police are looking for the file, let’s see how Mr Clarkson likes the British justice system, after all it must be the best, they invented it.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:18 PM

That’s the whole point are you saying just because he’s a presenter he can be allowed to get away with shouting and roaring at someone and then physically attacking him all because he could get steak and chips.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:19 PM

I’m not a “shinner” and I am glad he’s being punished for attacking another person

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Mar 25th 2015, 6:12 PM

I’m not sure how but this could be our governments fault

Mute Niall Mullane
    Favourite Niall Mullane
    Mar 25th 2015, 6:23 PM

Mr fanatic are you a replaceable worker? Office or other.

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Mar 25th 2015, 8:26 PM

I worked in Aberdeen Scotland for a while and the only way they sort out office politics is with a good dust up after work outside the pub :-)

Mute wgp
    Favourite wgp
    Mar 25th 2015, 9:31 PM

Mr Fantastic, it’s ALWAYS the right decision to deal with a bully…ALWAYS! Good riddance to Clarkson and glad the BBC had the balls to show that being a bully is unacceptable and has consequences!

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Mar 26th 2015, 1:57 AM

Correct. It is.

Mute Mairead Conroy
    Favourite Mairead Conroy
    Mar 26th 2015, 12:58 PM

why not take into consideration all the years of service plus he’s having a tough time in his personal life….anyone can have a bad day

Mute Niall Mullane
    Favourite Niall Mullane
    Mar 25th 2015, 3:56 PM

I haven’t heard one comment from the rest of the crew showing any support for the producer. It’s as if it’s all his fault. He had to drive himself to the A&E no one else could help??? Glad justice was done.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:05 PM

Clarkson epitomises the brash, arrogant, do-you-know-who-I-am brigade. Nobody has the right to subject a work colleague to a tirade of foul mouthed abuse and a physical assault. I’ve worked with some real bullies over the years and it’s not a nice place to be. Fair play to the BBC for standing up to this overpaid lout. Bullies hate it when you fight back

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack

Shame that it has come to this. Great show with a great trio. Not sure it will work without them…

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:39 PM

Get Chris Evans to do it. Glad to see May go.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Mar 25th 2015, 6:08 PM

He got what he shoulda got but the show will never be the success it was, especially if the other 2 go as well. And if they do go sky or someone will try get the three of them back on a new show together which if done right will get the same dynamic as TG and that will spell the end for TG. The bbc s loss will be some other networks gain

Mute space invader
    Favourite space invader
    Mar 25th 2015, 3:55 PM

“As much as I think he’s a knob… I quite like working with Jeremy” haha May you boss!!

Mute caroline leydon
    Favourite caroline leydon
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:02 PM

Abuse in the workplace is never acceptable.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:01 PM

So James is standing by his, drunken, abusive, toff of a mate. Nice to see James has ethics, at least. *~*

Mute Shadowman
    Favourite Shadowman
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:21 PM

He’s idolised by young teenagers – Well done the BBC putting principle before profit. When is it ever right to defend sustained verbal and then physical abuse. Bye bye Clarkson…was good until you got drunk on your own ego

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite

Would be interesting to see a version of Top Gear free of the pc brigade and the BBC.
    Clarkson unleashed!

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly

Except the bbc own top gear now , Clarkson sold his stake 2 years ago , i still expect to see him on channel 4 or 5 within 6 months thou even its only for a short run his name would spin massive publicity and cash for anyone that hires him

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:03 PM

A high name-to-post content ratio, here.

Mute James Comerford
    Favourite James Comerford
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:06 PM

I would be very surprised if any station would have the clout of the BBC to get them into the locations they get to and the vehicles they obtain. And finance the actual episodes. BBC makes a lot of money from it. But they have the finance and backing to make it.

I would not imaging Channel 4 or Dave would be willing to spend that sort of money destroying new cars and sending the lads off on a worldwide jaunt with supercars.

Mute Jim Jetson
    Favourite Jim Jetson
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:09 PM

Colm all they would have to do is call the show “Shift Gear” or something like that, and they can work away. BBC has only the rights to the Top Gear brandname.

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:47 PM

I know that jim but its going to be a farce if he did that, even if james may left hammond wont , i dont even think it has to be a car based show that he would be on but i would expect to see him back on tv in some shape or form by the end of the year. it will be interesting to see if the proposed guest host on have i got news for you happens as he can be hired as a independent contractor for the day. i bet in one way he neved sold up as he would have the bbc over a barrel , its quite easily one of the most popular shows in the world as its sold to most markets and changing the format will not help as all the spin offs world wide would not be best pleased as it could see a decline in there shows too

Mute Jim Jetson
    Favourite Jim Jetson
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:05 PM

Why would Hammond not leave? Has he implied this?

Mute Jim Jetson
    Favourite Jim Jetson
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:07 PM

By the way I just realized my “Shift Gear” idea is actually a very good name for their new show. I reserve all copyright on this.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Mar 25th 2015, 8:16 PM

Apparently netflix are interested. They would have the money to continue the show. And as an Internet based show, they would free reign to do what they wanted.

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas

No surprise there

Mute Pedro deluvio
    Favourite Pedro deluvio
    Mar 25th 2015, 3:52 PM

I didn’t hear anything that the headline article suggests.

Very misleading!

Mute Andrew Weir
    Favourite Andrew Weir
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:35 PM

Bye now, don’t let the door hit Ye on the way out.
    Supporting a bully makes you no better than the bully himself.

Mute Legendary Number 7
    Favourite Legendary Number 7
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:11 PM

I hate top gear and I hate Clarkson even more. I’m glad the ignorant muppet got sacked. How many times can you talk about cars before it starts to get boring and repetitive anyway?

Mute Frank Buffalo
    Favourite Frank Buffalo
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:21 PM

Or Man Utd….?

* waits for sound of penny dropping.

Mute Legendary Number 7
    Favourite Legendary Number 7
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:27 PM

Brilliant Buffalo just Brilliant. It’s just my opinion and I don’t think I’ve ever commented about utd on here. Keyboard warrior

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:49 PM

If you hate top gear so much why would you comment on this story

Mute Frank Buffalo
    Favourite Frank Buffalo
    Mar 25th 2015, 9:31 PM

You’re not getting my point…

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:18 PM

Why didn’t the guy slap him back?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:40 PM

Because he’s not a mindless thug.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Mar 25th 2015, 6:15 PM

Since when does defending yourself mean you’re a thug? What happened to real men? I’m sick of all the political correctness bullsh*t.

Mute Audrius Neviera
    Favourite Audrius Neviera
    Mar 25th 2015, 6:31 PM

Because real men are thing of the past…whining b itches that’s what left from men… If somebody punches you,you punch them back and then both should go to the pub and have a good few drinks,laugh about it and forget it ever happened.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Mar 25th 2015, 7:02 PM

If Oisin Tymon had punched back, Tymon would have been summarily dismissed.

Oisin Tymon was injured in a sudden attack, took a few hard belts and sensibly went to A & E.

Clarkson was guilty of “gross misconduct” and the BBC has not alternative but to fire a meal ticket for the BBC.

Clarkson is a thug and eventually thugs let loose. It’s their nature.

With a million signatories, Clarkson will be taken on elsewhere but will have to undertake not to beat up co-workers.

Mute Niall Mooney
    Favourite Niall Mooney
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:14 PM

Top Gear appeals because it is testosterone fuelled mysogonistic nonsense it’s very appeal is that the hosts are complete knuckle draggers therefore I don’t see why anyone working on the show should be surprised if they end up in the odd spat with the likes of Clarkson . Any guy playing five a side or. 7s rugby knows a box in the face ain’t worth getting worked up about . Clarkson needs to grow up and the Irish producers needs a bit more bottle if he wants to work with primadonnas

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest

How on earth is it misogynistic?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:02 PM

Clarkson will bounce back on an other channel and be as boorish and entertaining as he always was , the BBC will wreck the top gear show with some pc dickh.ads and it’s viewers will migrate to his new show , if sky or itv don’t snap him and the lads up they are mad .

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:42 PM

Are we to take it that being sanctioned for a tirade of abuse and assault on a co-worker is yet another example of ‘PC gone mad’?

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:33 PM

Yet a child abuser can carry on for 40 years in plain sight and die a free man , well done BBC , at least we see where your priorities lie.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:03 PM

Sack the pxxxk. No sympathy.
    If the producer punched him we wouldn’t be having this conversation.
    He would be sacked immediately.

Correct decision and if the other two want to join him off with them,

Mute Tony Pagel
    Favourite Tony Pagel
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:46 PM

He shudda been allowed stay on the basis yer man could give him a full force punch to the mush back! That be the top gear way. Problem solved.

Mute mrs b
    Favourite mrs b
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:20 PM

Ha ha ‘much as I think he’s a knob, I quite like working with Jeremy’ .. well said captain slow!

Mute mikeyC
    Favourite mikeyC

Hmmmmm he’s a knob but I’ll keep my options open and say I like him….lol

Mute Rocket Racoon
    Favourite Rocket Racoon
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:39 PM

Netflix lads, Netflix. Would be a massive coup to see them end up with a new show on there!

Mute NiallD
    Favourite NiallD
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:00 PM

Nope. Can’t go hitting or abusing anyone. He may be up before the courts. He’s really entertaining to watch but not beyond the law.

Mute Robert Flood
    Favourite Robert Flood
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:34 PM

Best news ever.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:11 PM

Fifth Gear and Wheeler Dealers are far better programmes than the self-indulgent rubbish that TG had degenerated into in recent years.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Mar 26th 2015, 2:02 AM

Mark, I take it you don’t much like motoring programmes, then.

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:02 PM

Should replace them with 3 people clarkson hates – long list – maybe Steve Coogan, Piers Morgan and John 2 Jags Prescott for the first show

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:31 PM

I said it before here that I always found him to be inherently racist. Hiding behind double speak and innuendo. Simply didn’t have the courage to openly admit it. Got the feeling he tolerated people who weren’t English and White. Anger always makes the mask slip and it’s what he allegedly said rather than what he did that left the BBC with no option.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:48 PM

The show has gone to s**t over the last few seasons, nothing more than a plaything for its presenters. It won’t be missed.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Mar 26th 2015, 2:07 AM

Emachine, it won’t be missed by you. But you only speak for yourself.

Mute Shadowman
    Favourite Shadowman

Probably all staged by jc to get away from top gear by dumping on his co-presenters then blaming the BBC….beware false loyalties lads

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:43 PM

A little unnecessary since his contract was due to end at the end of the current series, surely?

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:47 PM

expect to see the three presenters on Sky and Top Gear to be discontinued on the BBC.

Mute NiallD
    Favourite NiallD
    Mar 25th 2015, 6:01 PM

They are hoping to continue the series. Not sure I could watch it.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:08 PM

There not renewing his contract, is that being sacked. He will be working on other projects for BBC

Mute Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Favourite Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Mar 25th 2015, 10:11 PM

No one is irreplaceable and it’s a mistake to think they are.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Mar 25th 2015, 7:35 PM

James May and Richard Hammond should leave Top Gear in solidarity with Jeremy Clarkson, for it was a serious blunder by the BBC to sack the man who is Top Gear. The reason they wanted to get rid of Clarkson was because he was not the sort of politically-correct poodle that is de rigeur in the BBC. The little punch Clarkson landed on a lazy producer was just the pretext for firing him, it was not the motivation.

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Mar 25th 2015, 5:27 PM

The loyalty capt slow showed in that clip is exactly the reason it worked, they were good friends, and it showed on screen, I’m guessing conversations with itv or sky have already started, guaranteed ratings winner, just change the name job done, plus sky would give them a bit more lee way on what they want to do/say rather than the bbc, a source in rte told me true were in contact with clarkson but they demanded both Ryan tuberty & Kathryn Thomas had to co present

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Mar 25th 2015, 9:30 PM

Clarkson is an arse but the show was entertaining

Mute Greg
    Favourite Greg
    Mar 25th 2015, 4:09 PM

Jameriquai should get Clarkson job , car mad and quiet funny smart and loves cars #can drive fast