You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

I never meant to cause you trouble: Chris Martin. Alamy Stock Photo

Dublin derby match to kick off in the morning as gardaí balance Coldplay gig in nearby Croke Park

An Garda Siochana – who will police the band’s concert later the same day – called for the early start.

DUBLIN RIVALS BOHEMIANS and Shamrock Rovers will kick off their Premier Division fixture at 11.30am on Sunday, 1 September following instructions from the Gardaí – who are keen to manage resources due to a Coldplay concert at Croke Park later the same day. 

“On the instruction of An Garda Siochana, owing to resources required for Coldplay’s concert in Croke Park on the same date, the fixture will kick off at the earlier time of 11:30am at Dalymount Park,” a League of Ireland statement read.   

The game was rescheduled from Friday, 30 August due to Shamrock Rovers’ European commitments. 

The Hoops host Greek side Paok at Tallaght stadium on Thursday, 29 August in the second leg of a Europa League playoff.

Written by Ronan Early and originally published on The 42 whose award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye. Subscribe here.

View 5 comments
5 Comments
    Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:50 PM

Keir Starmer says Joe Biden is so delighted he is the new Prime Minister, not only did he phone up to congratulate him on Friday, he did it three times on Saturday and five times on Sunday.

Mute John K
    Favourite John K
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:27 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: the Democrats and the democrat biased media have lied for the last 4 years about Joe’s cognitive decline. It finally got to the point where it was absolutely undeniable during the debate and now they are scrambling to have him removed. Less than a month ago The Journal put out an article about “Cheap Fakes” trying to make out it was a Republican conspiracy to make Biden look bad. Do they not realise we can see through their biased opinions and have lost faith in their reporting!

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:54 PM

@John K: White House also put out a statement saying he doesn’t have Parkinson’s. He is not taking medication for Parkinson’s. And he’s not receiving any treatment for Parkinson’s.
    Not one mention of that severe onset of dementia.

Mute Bernard Connolly
    Favourite Bernard Connolly
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:26 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: judge Martin Nolan at it again in the above article he is some work

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:48 PM

@Bernard Connolly: What kind of world does he live in?

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jul 10th 2024, 8:03 PM

@John K: The Journal has almost become predictable at this stage

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 10th 2024, 9:44 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: The comment of the week goes to your Mr Gaffney :-)

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 10th 2024, 9:45 PM

@Terry Molloy: you(typo)

Mute Jose mourinho
    Favourite Jose mourinho
    Jul 11th 2024, 1:38 AM

@Stephen Gaffney: American voters will have a cruel choice between a barely functional Biden and a diabolically felonious Trump …

Whichever of these 2 chaps they choose, the future looks bleak for the next 4 years …

Unless one or both of them drop out and the voters can choose more suitable, younger candidates for the POTUS & VP

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Jul 11th 2024, 8:54 AM

@Bernard Connolly: Appalling sentencing as per usual. He needs to be removed and investigated himself as it’s always the same. These vile creatures must jump for joy when they get him judging their cases. Should be automatic minimum sentencing for these types of crimes. A suspended sentence is just shocking.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jul 11th 2024, 12:06 PM

@John K: and everything that comes out of the lying treacherous sex offender fraudster orange thing is lies and projection

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Jul 11th 2024, 2:22 PM

@Jose mourinho: If Trump wins the war in Ukraine will be over. Simple as that. Don’t care what people think of him or what he did / didn’t do.
    Also, I know you got sacked from Roma but getting on the journal comments is a bit mental.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:51 PM

Donald Trump is brilliant. Everyone knows he’s brilliant. No one can deny it.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:16 PM

@Pól Pot: Not ashamed to use this nickname? You probably have no clue what it means.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:19 PM

@Alex: If you knew anything about geography, you’d understand that Trump is the only hope for a free and brave global economy.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:22 PM

@Pól Pot: I seem to remember his trade war with China didn’t go well..or his promise to make Mexico pay for.border wall and take back car manufacturing jobs from there too.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:36 PM

@Sean: If you knew anything about ornithology, you’d understand that the bald eagle is infact a sea eagle (Haliaeetus species) that commonly occurs inland along rivers and large lakes.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:01 PM

@Pól Pot: I thought that you’d be more interested in the northern lapwing (vanellus vanellus) since it is our national bird.
    Want to try sport or history next?

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:14 PM

@Sean: Neither. I’m simply happy that Donald has descended to the Mount of Olives as a prelude to His earthly reign.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:19 PM

@Pól Pot: the only olives trump knows about is in the oil he uses in his tan and hair colour

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:44 PM

@Sean: Billions and billions of blue blistering barnacles! Blasphemy! Apostate! Pestilential pachyderm!

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:51 PM

@Sean: He didn’t even know where Mexico was, when asked to point it out on a map.

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:55 PM

Biden has already made his decision. He has said that he does not intend dropping out. Somebody should inform Pelosi of his decision.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:57 PM

@Nodon: big big mistake. If he won’t go, he should be pushed.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:13 PM

@Nodon: Someone should inform Joe he’s Trump’s best asset in the election campaign.

Mute Gary Mullen
    Favourite Gary Mullen
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:28 PM

See Nolan is at it again. Another suspended sentence.

Mute Nikki Swift
    Favourite Nikki Swift
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:38 PM

@Gary Mullen: i just read that report, how on earth is nolan allowed to continue wit with these suspend sentences.

Mute Maurice Whelan
    Favourite Maurice Whelan
    Jul 10th 2024, 9:19 PM

@Gary Mullen: idiot….hasn’t a f*&&^%clue

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:51 PM

Four More Wars!

Mute Nigel McAtamney
    Favourite Nigel McAtamney
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:59 PM

Smashing through his campaign like a freight train, just like they knocked Bernie Sanders out with Hillary….. and look how well that worked out. I love watching the car crash politics of an American election year. Need more popcorn n beer

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:56 PM

With Nato announcing that they are sending fighter jets to Ukraine expect emergency wartime conditions to be announced by the end of the year in the West, especially with the launch of Central bank currencies at the end of the year, which will facilitate the inevitable rationing quite easily, which will then be held onto after the emergency ends to limit every citizens carbon footprint….like clockwork…..so don’t expect there to be another one of those swell presidential elections this year.

Mute Papa Smut
    Favourite Papa Smut
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:40 PM

@Dere: You forgot to mention the Illuminati, or is it 5G or vaccinies, I can’t keep up!

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Papa Smut: nah, just the military industrial complex and its partner in crime the financial industry, ya know the one President Eisenhower so fervently warmed the Anerican public about in his farewell presidential speech as the greatest threat to America…..but yeah, it’s just a conspiracy tinfoil hat thing.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:23 PM

Since he has been in power, he has work very hard to earn billions selling ammunitions and arms, as they were humiliated in Afghanistan and lost billions of weapons and vehicles. He has worked very hard not to help for peace but to create more conflicts. He is living in a cold war time and everyone not like him is a communist.
    Trump has for him that he never went to war.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:52 PM

Good auld Martin.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:53 PM

@Jp Cleary: I wonder if any of those images were of his kids what would happen

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:56 PM

My god are we and the world in for a horrendous time if its trump. My god sure the Democrats have someone they can put foreward to at least make a fight of it. Trump did and will destroy America and the world. Oh my god. Such an evil holligan.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:45 PM

@John Flanagan: I think people forget just how incompetent Trump is. Admittedly with the almost daily stream of d-e-b-a-s-e-d stream of consciousness he issues, it’s hard to remember everything grossly deficient about him.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:15 PM

@John Flanagan: Little over dramatic? Now I’m not his biggest fan but when “did” trump destroy the world?.

Mute Michael Whyte
    Favourite Michael Whyte
    Jul 10th 2024, 10:23 PM

@John John: Trump recently had a meeting with oil executives in which he proposed to them favourable economic policy in return for campaign funding. Trump is in thrall to the corporations too.

Mute John arse
    Favourite John arse
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:58 PM

He has made his decision but has forgotten what it was.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:08 PM

Biden paved the way for Trump. What a legacy.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:06 PM

@087 bed: Comment straight from Orwell Road standard narrative. Why would we get to vote on this?
    Maybe you should concentrate on your own fascist president who for some reason has no opposition. I wonder why

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:19 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: So anyone talking sense or fact is Russian, Good grief you are slow.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jul 10th 2024, 3:57 PM

If your lucky enough to have a grand parent and if people and organisations consistently abused them , I know what I would do , I would turn the narrative back on the lying treacherous sex offender fraudster orange thing, and the epistine files

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:05 PM

@Robert Halvey: The Epistinians shall be freed back unto their rightful lands.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:14 PM

@Robert Halvey: what the actual F are you talking about?

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jul 11th 2024, 2:51 PM

@Ger Whelan: all iam saying lad is Biden old and has slowed done a bit . But you and yours ignore the lying treacherous sex offender fraudster orange things old aswell

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:29 PM

@087 bed: Ukraine cannot join NATO while it’s still at war with Russia. NATO allowing Ukraine to join while it’s at war is NATO declaring war on Russia which won’t happen. So you can stop crying.

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Jul 10th 2024, 4:27 PM

The headline is 5 words too long

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Jul 11th 2024, 5:40 AM

Stick to acting George!

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jul 10th 2024, 11:17 PM

Clooney up to his neck in it. Oddball.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Jul 10th 2024, 6:02 PM

Take the fifth Joe.

Mute Peter Brown
    Favourite Peter Brown
    Jul 10th 2024, 7:22 PM

Biden has got to be the greatest president of all time!!!!!

Mute Peter Brown
    Favourite Peter Brown
    Jul 10th 2024, 7:38 PM

@Peter Brown:… Lol

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jul 10th 2024, 10:13 PM

Who said to Putin – Wait till after the election. I will have more flexibility?

Mute Conor Craddock
    Favourite Conor Craddock
    Jul 10th 2024, 8:31 PM

I appreciate the ‘O Brother, Where Art Thou’ reference in the Clooney sub-headline.

Mute Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Jul 10th 2024, 7:21 PM

Donald will betray everyone. He has nothing left to lose. He’s all in. I do believe him when he said he would be dictator for a day, it’s all it would take to subdue the USA with the military on his side.

Come to Jesus, Joe!

Mute J French
    Favourite J French
    Jul 11th 2024, 8:36 AM

I just read the headline and I knew it Nolan

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jul 11th 2024, 10:38 AM

I would vote for a dead joe before I would use my spit to save the lying treacherous sex offender fraudster orange thing from dehydration