You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED

Commuting Liveblog: the post-Paddy's Day trip to work

All the traffic, transport and weather news you need this morning.

IT’S FRIDAY, BUT yesterday was Paddy’s Day, so there may be some sore heads around. 

Stick with myself, Paul Hosford, for all the latest traffic, travel and weather updates from across the country.

Morning folks, how are we today?

If you’re headed to work, you’re probably regretting not taking the day off. Did you know that if you had booked today and then used four days next week, you could have had 12 days off in a row?

You’re probably regretting not doing that now, like myself.

The weather today is a bit…bleh.

Met Éireann says it will start dry, frosty and foggy, but that will clear. Temperatures will hit between seven and 12 degrees Celsius.

Tonight will be cloudy, cold and dry.

That fog and frost means some treacherous driving conditions. Gardaí are warning people to be wary of slippery roads, while fog is settling on the M50.

Good news if you’re on public transport today – services are back to normal.

The bad news is you can’t stay in bed. Sorry.

PastedImage-95699

Dublin’s traffic looks relatively quiet for a Friday. Either loads of people took today off or they’re still in bed and traffic will be mental in an hour.

In Cork, the Dunkettle Interchange and Jack Lynch Tunnel are oddly calm, but Camden Place, Lavitt’s Quay and St Patrick’s Street are heavy.

Galway is also strangely calm. It’s busy around Ballybrit, though.

PastedImage-67894

Were you out last night? Here’s how Temple Bar looked first thing this morning:

Always remember, folks: when it’s all over, we still have to clear up.

Simi69 / YouTube

If you’re travelling up to Castlebar or Westport from Headford this morning, take note that the N84 is closed at one stretch.

PastedImage-30674 Dublin City Council Dublin City Council

That’s the M50 at Ballinteer at quarter to eight on a working Friday. Take a long, hard look guys.

The roads this morning are like:

Björk / YouTube

PastedImage-52554 Google Maps Google Maps

Limerick is quiet enough this morning. Treaty City? More like Sleepy City, am I right?

Bad news if you’re on a northern-bound commuter train.

If you’re driving between Donegal and Ballybofey, watch out for a road closure near Meencargagh.

PastedImage-83201 Dublin City Council Dublin City Council

The usual suspects are quiet in Dublin. Even the N11 isn’t jammers.

Watch out if you’re around UCC.

PastedImage-15134 Dublin City Council Dublin City Council

This screengrab is usually cars as far as the eye can see.

The Evening Echo’s Alan Healy reports the crash in Cork is serious.

Breaking down at this time is never nice. Doing it on a main road is particularly bad. Take care in the area.

Lads, we had no liveblog yesterday, but look at this. The Simpsons reference is just wonderful.

Right, lads, that’s it from me. Most of ye are still in bed it would seem, so enjoy that.

Everyone else, have a wonderful Friday and a brilliant weekend.

Goodbye-Michael-gif-the-office-21673050-300-169