You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin City Council
AS IT HAPPENED

Commuting liveblog: Debris on the M9 and bumper to bumper in Dublin

All the traffic, transport and weather news this morning.

It’s Monday morning – time to dust off the weekend and start the week.

We’ll be here with you until after 9am with all the traffic, travel and weather news to get you to where you need to go.

Gooooood morning, everybody!

Cormac Fitzgerald here with you on this bright Monday as the week kicks off.

I’ll be bringing you all the traffic and travel updates you need right up until 9am.

Have a tip or seen something on your travels? Get in touch with me at cormac@thejournal.ie or tweet me @cormfitz (not while driving, obviously)

Okay, first thing first – let’s take a look at the weather.

Met Éireann says that it’s cloudy and drizzly in places this morning.

Any clouds should fizzle out as the day continues and it will be a bright, fresh day with maximum temperatures ranging from 10 to 13 C.

Here’s the view from TheJournal for you – nice and bright:

20160418_070617

Nothing major to report yet from Dublin city.

The AA says that it’s slow from Seville Place to Guild Street in the city centre.

It’s also slow already on the Phibsborough Road from Hart’s Corner to Doyle’s Corner (What’s new).

We’ve got traffic building heading west at the Grand Canal from Harold’s Cross to Portobello.

It’s slow inbound on the Navan Road and the M50 is moving well so far (don’t expect that to last too long).

Here’s the latest view at the Red Cow roundabout from Dublin City Traffic cams:

site16Camera77 Dublin City Council Dublin City Council

Around the rest of the country the story is much the same:

Galway

The AA says that in Galway traffic is busy northbound on Ballybrit Crescent approaching the Galway Technology Park.

Traffic is also picking up southbound on the N17 Tuam Road on the approach to Loughgeorge.

Cork

Traffic in  the city centre moving well at the moment.

The AA reports that a stop/go system will be in place from today at Cathedral Road at the Wolfe Tone Street junction until Friday.

Limerick

All seems fine in Limerick with no major delays to report.

Waterford

And it’s the same story in Waterford. Looks like the country hasn’t woken up yet.

Well we’re now eight weeks on from the election and wouldn’t you know it, there’s still no government.

Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil will continue their merry dance and have more talks today around forming a Fine Gael led minority government with support from Fianna Fáil.

There’s much speculation around how this will shape up – with Fine Gael wanting a written promise of support from Fianna Fáil, while they in turn want to be taken on their word.

At this stage there’s only one certainty: absolutely everyone is fed up and serious post-election fatigue has set in.

Let’s get it together, lads:

File Photo: Micheal Martin and Caretaker Taoiseach Enda Kenny to meet this afternoon after second failed attempt to elect a taoiseach following the results of the 2016 General Election. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

So, now that my rant is over, let’s get back to the real business at hand: the traffic.

Everything appears to be moving well in Dublin city centre so far.

traffic Google Maps Google Maps

The above handy map will let you know what’s what.

Traffic slow at Capel Street and along the quays in places.

Also slow near the docklands approaching the Samuel Beckett bridge.

Everywhere else seems mostly okay. A nice thing to hear on a Monday morning.

Sticking with Dublin, let’s take a look at the usual traffic blackspots.

Cars are starting to pile up on the M50 and the Red Cow Slip:

site16Camera80 Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

It’s also bumper to bumper at the N32 at Malahide Road:

site16Camera91 Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

Drumcondra Road is looking busy as well (isn’t it always?):

site16Camera27 Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

Did anyone get a look that big fire at the ESB station yesterday?

It seemed like a serious blaze:

Gardaí were telling people living nearby to keep their windows and doors shut and top stay indoors.

Thankfully, no one appeared to be injured in the blaze.

There doesn’t seem to be a whole lot happening on the roads this morning. Maybe the country hasn’t woken up yet?

People are awake in Dublin, anyway, with traffic picking up in all the usual places.

The AA reports that:

• It’s slow along the North Quays.
  • Slow inbound on the Navan Road.
  • Busy inbound on Amiens Street.
  • Busy inbound on the Rock Road

It’s also slow heading south on the M50.

Busy and slow – sound like your typical Monday morning.

How are things where you are? Stuck on the bus in busy traffic? Dreaming of being back in your nice cosy bed?

Email me cormac@thejournal.ie or tweet @cormfitz with any pictures or observations you have on this bright and breezy Monday morning.

The AA is reporting that the M1 southbound off ramp at Junction 15 Castlebellingham is closed to facilitate the removal of a truck.

Speaking of the M1, check out the traffic there at the M50:

site16Camera94 Dublin city traffic Dublin city traffic

In fact, traffic seems to be busy at every spot on the M50.

Tallaght:

site16Camera77 (1) Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

Greenhills Park:

site16Camera81 Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

Lucan:

site16Camera82 (1) Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

Seems like the entire motorway is backed up. How is it where you are? Email me cormac@thejournal.ie or tweet me @cormfitz.

Well, the AA have bested my morning pic with a much nicer one of their own:

You may have won this battle, AA, but the war isn’t over.

So what are the main stories this morning?

My colleague Cliodhna Russell has them nicely laid for you in the 8 at 8.

The highlights?

Well, Brazil has voted to impeach its president.

Ellis O’Reilly has become the first Irish female gymnast to qualify for an Olympic Games.

A Dublin hotel manager was told in an anonymous letter to return to Africa after he contracted tuberculosis.

And, last but not least, a pioneering study of the brains of men who have attacked their partners or ex-partners has found that they function differently to criminals.

Things are seriously picking up in Dublin as the morning commute gets underway proper.

All along the north quays in the city centre is blocked up.

As are parts on North King Street and Clanbrassil Street heading north.

To be honest, it seems like most of the city is at a bit of a standstill. No major incidents to report though, which is good news.

trafficx

As someone who spent some time working in the service industry, I can fully relate to Emer McGinnity’s opinion piece about the five kinds of customers she served.

However, I’d add one type of customer to the list: The Evil One.

The customers who exist solely to make your life hell. They will give out no matter what, are never satisfied with whatever you give them, and generally just ruin everyone’s day.

Anyone heading to work in a café or restaurant this morning will know what I’m talking about.

Let’s take another look at how things are panning out around the country (courtesy of the AA):

Cork

It’s busy on the Rochestown Road heading into Cork City.

There’s also delays in both directions on the N28 Ringaskiddy Road.

It’s busy generally in Cork city and there are also delays approaching the Dunkettle Interchange.

Galway

Things are still moving generally well in Galway.

It’s still busy southbound on the N17 Tuam Road and northbound on Ballybrit Crescent.

Limerick

Traffic moving slowly on the Ballinacurra Road heading into Limerick.

There’s also delays on the Corbally Road heading in. Not much else to report.

That seems to be the total of what’s going on.

Live Drive is keeping us posted on what’s going on in Dublin.

For those of you more visually inclined, here’s how that info translates into pictures. Here’s Fingals:

site16Camera87 (1) Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

Aaaaaaand here’s Lucan is luking (dodgy pun):

site16Camera82 (2) Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

How’s it where you are? Email me cormac@thejournal.ie or tweet @cormfitz.

I feel your pain Brendan.

Take care if you’re driving in Kilkenny, everyone.

The AA are reporting that there’s debris on the M9 Dublin/Waterford Road heading south at Junction 7 Paulstown.

Right there’s still time for one more round up of Dublin. Hopefully most of you have gotten to where you’re going at this stage.

It’s still slow heading both ways on the M50.

site16Camera75 Firhouse Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

site16Camera73 Ballinteer Dublin City Traffic Cams Dublin City Traffic Cams

The AA also say that:

• It’s busy inbound at St John’s Road West.
  • Busy eastbound at the Grand Canal.
  • Delays on Clanbrassil Street heading inbound.
  • Busy at Rathmines Road Lower.
  • Busy at the Stillorgan Road.
  • Slow from Seville Place to Guild Street.

Busy, busy, busy.

That’s nearly it from me, everyone. I hope you got to where you’re going this Monday.

Looks like it’s getting cloudy in Dublin and it’s going to stay that way for the day, it would seem.

There’s heavy traffic basically EVERYWHERE in Dublin

dubtraff

Apart from that, nothing major to report. Seems like it has been a fairly quiet morning on the roads (apart from the sounds of constant beeping, no doubt).

Well, that’s it from me for the day. I’ll be back with you bright and early tomorrow morning with all the info you need.

Hopefully we’ll all feel a bit more real then.

As a finish, I’ll leave you with this. Maybe someday we’ll all like Mondays a little bit more.

Have a good one!

TheBoomtownRatsVEVO / YouTube