You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Department of Health recommended new drug for public scheme to tackle RSV

A recently-approved drug would require fewer doses and would be cheaper for the HSE to provide.

ADVICE HAS BEEN given to the Department of Health on a new public strategy to tackle the spread of Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV).

A newer drug that requires fewer doses has been found to be as effective as the current drug used to protect people from the virus, which largely affects babies.

In healthy people, infection with RSV can be managed without needing to see a doctor. However, hospitalisation is common among some groups, such as infants aged under one year, premature babies, children aged under two years with certain medical conditions and adults over 65.

The Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA) looked at the cost of immunising different groups of infants and older adults for the 2025-2026 RSV season.

RSV infects the lungs and upper airways. It spreads every winter, with the RSV season in Ireland typically running from October to March.

Currently in Ireland, a small number of children who are at high risk of severe disease are offered a drug called palivizumab, also known as Synagis.

Since 2022, a new drug called nirsevimab (or Beyfortus) has been approved. It’s not a vaccine, but laboratory-made antibodies which stimulate the immune system, providing protection against RSV.

While palivizumab has to to be administered monthly during the RSV season, nirsevimab is long-acting, meaning only one dose is needed to protect infants for one RSV season.

The report given to the Department of Health states that not only would niresevibam be more convenient for parents due to fewer appointments, it would be cheaper for the HSE to provide.

HIQA estimates that the cost of immunising infants would range from €3.9 million to €19 million depending on the approach taken.

It is expected that these costs would be partially offset by the fact that fewer infants would require hospital care.

In 2022, almost 4,000 children in Ireland aged 0 to 4 years tested positive for RSV. Of these, almost 2,500 were admitted to hospital.

Most of these hospital admissions happen over a short time period (between October and December).

“This makes it very challenging for the hospitals and can disrupt routine care (for example, planned surgeries) for other children,” the report says.

A smaller proportion of adults who contract the virus require hospitalisation.

“We found that the cost of vaccinating older adults would be much higher due to the large number of people involved.

“Offering the vaccine to everyone aged 65 years and older was estimated to cost €146 million, while it would cost €76.2 million if only offered to those aged 75 years and older.

“As the number of older people who are hospitalised due to RSV is relatively small, the potential cost savings to the HSE from reducing hospital admissions is also small (between €0.9 million and €1.2 million).”

HIQA added that, aside from the cost of providing immunisation to these groups, there would be additional costs associated with organising any RSV immunisation programme. It’s estimated to be around €2.3 million.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 5th 2015, 4:58 PM

“I’ll pray for you” is religio-speak for “Shut up”.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 5th 2015, 5:17 PM

“I get a bit of hate mail, but it’s usually about Irish Water or something like that. I haven’t got much about the referendum yet.”

He just doesn’t get it does he – If he gives the people on a referendum on Irish Water then there will be no hate mail !
    Very simples Leo – and you got how many points again ?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    May 5th 2015, 5:33 PM

No leo its about this u muppet https://youtu.be/27UL3tZW1bk

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 5th 2015, 10:38 PM

Maybe I’m just stupid…so maybe I just dont get it. But I have two questions- if two people love each other and are willing to commit to each other, whats wrong with that?
    And if two people, already committed, and love each other, bring up a child, or a family, whats wrong with that; as long as the child or children involved are in a loving relationship and are cherished, nurtured and educated.
    As a straight person I cannot see any problem with gay people having the same rights as us. Its a non issue as far as I’m concerned.
    As for their bringing up children. Well there are plenty of hetrosexual parents that have no clue, and we see comments everyday about how little ones have suffered. We see comments about how dogs need licences, but kids dont.
    Enough of the homophobia. Its not good for us and definitely not good for our kids.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 5th 2015, 10:45 PM

You’re not stupid – the marchers always prove the wisdom of crowds – Look how many marched against the Iraq war – and look who was right – that kinda thing !

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 5th 2015, 11:00 PM

Some think that we should not be giving equal status as parents to same sex couples, in our constitution, where we set out the ideal we aspire to, and that it may mean wee will not be able to differentiate, All other things being equal between say two gay men and a mum and a dad when it comes to a child’s rights to adoptive parents. It is a relevant but not numerically significant point. Rather than insult a lot of people and deny them constitutional protection of their relationships, we should vote yes and address the family definition again later once gay marriage is secured.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 5th 2015, 11:01 PM

That was in reply to Jenni.

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    May 6th 2015, 1:59 AM

They might be able to save your soul, but your seat is fu**ed.

Mute Gaeltán
    Favourite Gaeltán
    May 6th 2015, 3:23 AM

Vótáil Grá. Vótáil Tá!

May 6th 2015, 8:03 AM

Bobby Phelan I couldn’t watch the video all the way, started to feel sick listening to these lowlife politicians lying and conning people

Mute Patrick Lynch
    Favourite Patrick Lynch
    May 6th 2015, 11:23 AM

Jenni you said all for me, equal rights for all.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    May 6th 2015, 12:51 PM

leo the only way you can save your soul is to walk on your heels .you and your government have sold the irish people down the drain.you and your corrupt government have robbed the irish people of everything and now you want to raid the wages and social welfare .the backbenchers should hold their heads in shame.i have not heard one word of protest from any of them.people worked all their lives to own their homes whereas now this government want those prudent people to become tenants in their own homes.pay the water company or else.what about our constitutional rights or has that gone out the window as well..on friday give this government the message vote independent

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    May 5th 2015, 5:01 PM

Praying for him is optional ,paying for the fecker is unfortunately not.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 5th 2015, 5:19 PM

What church do we have to pray in to be praying to Leo’s God ?
    There’s a question – something an awful lot of politicians shy away from and yet allow it to be one of the foundations of the State through a compulsory education system starting at 4 years of age …..

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    May 5th 2015, 11:01 PM

Praying to the invisible man in the sky will do nothing anyway.

Saving his soul from what?

The RC cult members still suffer the God Complex.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 6th 2015, 12:01 AM

but it important to now the faith that our politicians came from as different ideologies exist in different education systems –
    Also whether they are theist or atheist is also important – maybe more politicians coming out as atheist would open a well of outpouring – just as their honesty has done so along similar lines – regardless of politics – or not

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 5th 2015, 5:01 PM

Happy to say I’ve only exp one incident of homophobia in my entire life, and that incident spectacularly backfired against the hater in a very amusing way. There was another time in the UCD bar when eastern european security guards tried to toss two guys out for scoring each other and the entire bar turned on them. I remember being on the DART one afternoon overheard a group of guys coming back from rugby training talking about Haggards Law.
    Maybe it’s cos I live in the south Dublin bubble, maybe because I get less hassle because of my size or I’m less obvious, but I don’t think we have as big a problem as many places, were quite liberal for a supposedly ‘catholic’ country.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    May 5th 2015, 5:13 PM

I agree. I don’t think we have much of a problem at all but yessers are portraying that we do.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 5:22 PM

There is blatant homophobia all over our society and it is tolerated. anyone who thinks otherwise is extremely naive. It is easily missed by heterosexuals because that’s the nature of our society but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 5th 2015, 5:27 PM

@Eugene just because young guys are not getting their heads bashed in (THAT often) does not mean they should be denied visitation rights in a hospital through a no vote..that’s a totally illogical leap.

@Rick you know people live in diff areas, diff contexts etc and that one person expressing theirs, and admitting it may not be representative of the whole is NOT the same as saying homophobia does not exist right?

Once again another case of someone replying to what they want to reply to rather than whats in the actual story/comment

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 5:31 PM

Ryan I was responding to the individual who believes we “do not have much of a problem” which I strongly disagree with.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 5th 2015, 5:34 PM

Ricky could you cite some examples of this “blatant homophobia all over our society” and how it is tolerated?

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 5th 2015, 5:34 PM

Eugene You want to deny a minority the opportunity to marry if they wish, and you think there is no problem? You go through five years in my shoes, even the last five which have been the easiest, and come back and tell me there’s no problem. As long as people are free to decide my future, there is a problem. As long as I get funny looks and an anxious feeling walking down the road if I dare to hold a ladies hand, there is still a problem. As long as I get shouted at by a guy outside a pub for being gay and everyone standing there laughs, there is a problem. As long as lgbt youth are any % more likely to attempt suicide, guess what, there is a problem. Just because it’s worse someplace else does not mean we don’t have problems here. That’s like saying we don’t need any development because we are not as bad as the 3rd world

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 5th 2015, 5:36 PM

I’m always amazed that things I consider fairly innocuous become controversial statements that split people down the middle

I did admit d4 land is a bit of a bubble of uber-duber liberalism but is the situation that bad in other areas? If you wanna say it is folks…provide examples/evidence.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 5:37 PM

Here’s one example people seem to feel perfectly comfortable saying something like ” I don’t agree with gays adopting” that actual seems to bs a valid opinion that we are supposed to respect! Seriously

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 5th 2015, 5:50 PM

Then challenge it Ricky. Half the problem is the LGBT community itself. The yes camping (sorry) is doing a TERRIBLE job countering stuff like that. Tell them there is no law banning it now, so it’s irrelevant. Ask them what they think is going to happen? Confront the irrational fear with LOGIC don’t just roll your eyes and walk away as so many do.

There is still a lot of self segregation going on with gay bars gay sports teams (how are we to counter the stereotypes if were all going to diff social events and never interact with each other or do so infrequently?)
    Whats the no1 factor determining homophobia according to all the research? If they know an LGBT person personally they are very unlikely to be homophobic, and a strategy of hiding away in separate places does not help confront that. Nor does the internal bullying inside LGBT circles where if you don’t conform to their cartoon notion of what it is to be LGBT you’re ”acting str8”

I’m saying it’s gotten better, and it’s getting better all the time, not that homophobia does not exist.

Homophobias gotten more subtle (but also smaller). It’s hard to express affection in public, we’ve no LGBT sports stars at provincial or national level in football or rugby…but it’s nowhere near as bad as it was surely.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 5:54 PM

Ryan I agree it’s getting better and seeing the passion that some straight people have for marriage equality is truly heartwarming but that is not to say we haven’t “much of a problem” as someone did earlier.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 5th 2015, 6:01 PM

Ok well I’ll get specific.

I’ve never seen or heard of someone assaulted for being gay. I know it happens from the Garda LGBT reports but I’ve never seen it, and while I do live in preppy kid central now I came from a very working class area originally and never saw it there either.
    The only two incidents of verbal homophobia I’ve ever seen backfired totally on the people hurling the abuse.

You may cite the referendum but the no voters there are the usual suspects…divorce, abortion..youth defense these are all the EXACT same people and they’re what? less than 25%? The referendum shows the Yes side is at 70% that’s as close to unanimity as a society gets on anything short of once in a generation things like the Good Friday Agreement

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 5th 2015, 6:03 PM

Ryan I know for myself that when I wanted to meet a girl initially I was so thankful that gay bars existed. If I had to go into a regular bar and walk up to a girl knowing 90 % would be straight I never would have met anybody. Gay bars are necessary because there are so few lgbt people compared to straight in society and it makes it easier to at least know you’re in the right department. There is no reason lgbt people have to or should only attend gay bars, however it is important I think that they are there.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 6:09 PM

People being assaulted is not the benchmark of homophobia. It is much more subtle than that. How often do you see a gay couple holding hands or kissing in public. Why are there no premier league footballers or provincial rugby players who are out. And of course just because you haven’t witnessed things yourself doesn’t mean they don’t happen.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 5th 2015, 7:11 PM

And Ryan you told Ricky to challenge those opinions and said the yes campaign is doing a terrible job of countering those arguments. For starters we shouldn’t have to, as adoption is a completely separate issue to the referendum. And there are lots of yes supporters on here doing exactly that, challenging opinions and refuting arguments. I’m really sick of debating with people who won’t listen to reason and consistently dehumanise and insult me. Most time I come on here I see the homophobic culture that exists. For someone who admits they rarely take part in the debates on here, it’s not really fair for you to cast judgement on those of us who do. There are none so blind as those who will not see. It doesn’t seem to matter how many times an argument is refuted it just keeps coming back. Does not mean we are doing a terrible job. It just shows how rigidly some are sticking to their viewpoint, and in some cases probably means there is an underlying motive for voting no besides the argument itself

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    May 5th 2015, 7:55 PM

Ricky,
    I don’t agree with gays adopting. That’s my opinion. You seem to be suggesting my opinion shouldn’t be tolerated ? The arrogance of you. There are many people who don’t agree with gay parenting, you don’t like that, tough.

Mute Diddydolittle
    Favourite Diddydolittle
    May 5th 2015, 8:12 PM

Why don’t you agree with gay parenting? Why would gay parents be any worse than straight parents?

Mute Lorenzo
    Favourite Lorenzo
    May 5th 2015, 9:09 PM

And that’s homophobic Tony.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    May 5th 2015, 10:03 PM

Lorenzo
    Every Child should have a mother and father where possible. Nothing to do with gay people and therefore not homophobic.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 10:10 PM

So Tony do you oppose single people adopting because I don’t hear the public outcry over that. It seems its just “the gays” people have an issue with and the whole mother and father thing is a convenient cover for blatant homophobia.

Mute Ciaran Stanley
    Favourite Ciaran Stanley
    May 5th 2015, 10:33 PM

Why is it necessary to have both a mother and a father other than biology? Can you show any conclusive proof that would say having ‘society’s’ version of a perfect family would be more beneficial to the child? There are many children who grow up in single parent households who turn out to be just as equal in society as those in two parent households. So how does the fact that a child should have both a mother and father make any sense?

While I respect other peoples opinions as we are a democratic country, The yes campaign should not be criticised for exerting their right to challenge other peoples opinions, within reason of course

Mute Ciaran Stanley
    Favourite Ciaran Stanley
    May 5th 2015, 10:38 PM

Why is it necessary to have both a mother and a father other than biology? Can you show any conclusive proof that would say having ‘society’s’ version of a perfect family would be more beneficial to the child? There are many children who grow up in single parent households who turn out to be just as equal in society as those in two parent households. So how does the fact that a child should have both a mother and father make any sense?

While I respect other peoples opinions as we are a democratic country, The yes campaign should not be criticised for exerting their right to challenge other peoples opinions, within reason of course.

Mute Ciaran Stanley
    Favourite Ciaran Stanley
    May 5th 2015, 10:39 PM

While I respect other peoples opinions as we are a democratic country, The yes campaign should not be criticised for exerting their right to challenge other peoples opinions, within reason of course

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    May 5th 2015, 10:54 PM

Yes Ricky, I do oppose single people adopting for the same reason.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    May 5th 2015, 10:58 PM

Ciaran,

How does a child needing a mother and father make any sense ???? Are you for real ?
    God help us.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 11:00 PM

Funny where was the public outcry at that Tony where were the Mothers and Fathers Matter group???? Oh yeah they didn’t even exist they were only formed in the build up to the marriage equality referendum. Still it’s nice to know your next target will be single people once your done with the gay community.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 5th 2015, 11:12 PM

I am voting yes to recognition of gay marriage but I don’t agree with same sex parenting either. Gender balance in the workplace, in political representation and in the home. A mum and a dad make the best team, although of course there are crap mums and dads. Single parenthood by design is not a good idea. That’s just my view, as a person who lives in parent and kids land. It’s about role models and compromise, and kids learning from an early age about the complimentatrity of the genders.

Mute Ciaran Stanley
    Favourite Ciaran Stanley
    May 5th 2015, 11:13 PM

@tony
    Clearly I don’t understand why children have the absolute need to have both a mother and a father. So could you therefore explain it to me, why should two parents of the opposite sex be the only people entitled to raise children in our country.
    I’ll refer to a different example- What about a child (who was not adopted) who had one parent who was not present in their life because of death, abandonment or otherwise and was then raised by a single parent. Is that single parent going to raise their child worse than two parents would?

Mute Ciaran Stanley
    Favourite Ciaran Stanley
    May 5th 2015, 11:17 PM

Should children of parents where one parent has passed away then be taken away from the child’s other parent? If no, then how can you have the opinion it’s better to have both a male and female parental role mother?

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 5th 2015, 11:18 PM

I’m sorry Katy but since when is “gender balance” the determining factor on whether someone should be a parent. Is it not their ability to provide a loving stable home? Or do you think that only opposite sex couples can provide that?

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    May 5th 2015, 11:35 PM

Ricky not to agree with any one side but the change to adoption law was not voted on nor was anyone told until it was done. The referendum needing a vote makes it very public from the outset.

Mute Brendan Costello
    Favourite Brendan Costello
    May 6th 2015, 3:16 AM

@Tony, you do realise that LGBT people and single people have been able to adopt for years now and the outcome of this referendum will not change that fact. The only difference it will make is thay a child who is being raised by 2 gay or lesbian parents is afforded the exact same rights as a child who is being raised by a straight couple. So agree with same sex adoption or don’t but that ship has sailed and it’s going to happen whether we vote yes or no.

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan

Leo you and your party and Labour are the most hated government in Irish history…I won’t and people won’t be praying for you and your party come next election time!!

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    May 5th 2015, 5:51 PM

…….You do remember the last government? The one that bankrupted the country? Bailed out the banks? Got us into the troika? Signed us up to water charges?

I get the “They’re unpopular”, but “Most hated government in Irish history” not 5 years after the government that literally bankrupted the state? Hyperbole much….

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 5th 2015, 6:04 PM

To quote John Stewart,
    “You can’t polish a turd”.
    The last government were shown up to be the useless pack of wasters they were that bankrupted the country.
    This shower is essentially the opposition at the time who lied left, right and centre to get into power. Never has there been protests in this country as there has been under this government.
    The moral of the story really is that the last shower, coupled with opposition while they were in power who now serve as the Irish government are an ineffectual pack of lying wasters.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    May 5th 2015, 6:09 PM

Aaron, this Government is even more hated than the last shower of criminals, simply because they are carrying on where the others left off and they lied and cheated their way into power.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 5th 2015, 6:15 PM

“New Politics”, if I remember correctly. There’s been so many fecking lies it’s hard to keep track at this stage.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 5th 2015, 6:17 PM

Aaron……FG made sure the bank debt became Sovereign debt and they did not have to introduce water charges. They promised to stop cronyism but instead they wallowed in it themselves.
    We were promised a new kind of politics and great changes to the system…….nothing new and nothing has changed.
    Sadly, we no longer have journalists with the ideals of finding the truth…all they do is print what their told and ignore anything that might upset the mood of the person who pays them.

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    May 5th 2015, 8:07 PM

Wake up Aaron the worst Irish government is still at large, don’t be sticking up for them.

Mute Manford Payce
    Favourite Manford Payce
    May 5th 2015, 5:38 PM

I never though much of Varadkar, but the more he’s involved in politics the more I like him.

He seems very reasonable and grounded. Admirable qualities.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    May 5th 2015, 5:20 PM

I don’t agree with this scaremongering by the Yes side. I have no problem with the referendum proposal but suggestions from varadakar that health professionals won’t come here if we vote no and similar warnings by the IDA about losing multinationals are a failure to argue the case on its own merits.

Mute Manford Payce
    Favourite Manford Payce
    May 5th 2015, 5:42 PM

Except it’s not scaremongering. It’s true.

Why would a company limit the people it could recruit by opening in a place which doesn’t allow staff with SS partners to relocate easily when there are other countries (including out neighbour) who will?

Like wise health professionals. Nobody with a same sex partner is going to want to come here if we’re not allowing their partner to be recognised the same way they would be if they were m/f couple.

It is one of the very real and sensible reasons why we should vote yes. Calling stating the obvious “scaremongering” is a sure sign that some (i’m bring charitable) on the no side are at a loss for real reasons (still being charitable) to oppose this.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    May 5th 2015, 6:37 PM

It hasn’t stopped those multinationals who are here and none are threatening to leave if there’s a No vote, as far as I know. I’m in favour of a Yes vote but not for economic reasons.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 5th 2015, 11:20 PM

Northern Ireland just ejected gay marriage yet again. Largely unreported in the irish media. See http://www.bbc.com/news/election-2015-northern-ireland-32488247

Mute Daniel R
    Favourite Daniel R
    May 5th 2015, 4:59 PM

Both sentiments should be applied to his politics not his sexuality

Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan
    May 5th 2015, 10:24 PM

Noel Whelan gave a clear and articulate account of the YES Campaign tonight on Prime Time. I am not sure why John Walters was there – he seemed to say he had no problem with gay marriage.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 5th 2015, 11:16 PM

John actually voiced what a lot of people are saying, that marriage is not the issue, parenting is. Yes campaign needs to acknowledge this and point out that while relevant it’s not numerically significant.

The people I know with this view dare not express it for fear of being labelled homophobic. In most cases that wouod indeed be unfair.

By the way, in 30 years working in HR, I can honestly say that I have never seen discrimination against gay people. Women, and parents tend to have to meet higher standards to be treated equally however. Just an observation.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 5th 2015, 11:17 PM

Grainne Healy is the best performer on the yes side.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    May 6th 2015, 9:05 AM

Parenting…. Another red herring from the No side.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 6th 2015, 1:04 PM

There is nothing on parenting in the wording of what we are voting on.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 6th 2015, 1:05 PM

You didn’t see homophobia but did you look? The journal has stories of it.http://www.thejournal.ie/homophobia-1329801-Feb2014/

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 5th 2015, 5:21 PM

Save the prayers for those stuck on trolleys in our hospitals as Leo does sweet FA about it.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 5th 2015, 5:05 PM

Leo is a good looking man and many women must be sad he is gay, but there is nothing wrong with been gay its his choice and good wishes to him.

Mute Henry Faller
    Favourite Henry Faller
    May 5th 2015, 5:16 PM

@Denise you need specsavers if you thunk Leo his good looking… your thinking of his bank accounts.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Being Gay is a choice, since when?

Mute up down
    Favourite up down

Reading your comment I was like: Yeah Yeah yeah fine grand gr…….wait a minute what? ‘It’s his choice’. As microsoft Word would say: ‘fragment. Consider revising’

Mute Manford Payce
    Favourite Manford Payce
    May 5th 2015, 5:43 PM

Trolls be trollin’

Mute Christopher Tobin
    Favourite Christopher Tobin
    May 5th 2015, 5:12 PM

If you pray for Leo you will have to pay a levy

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 5th 2015, 7:42 PM

I’m not entirely convinced that we need to “respect the opinions” of people who write unsolicited letters to strangers about saving their souls.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 5th 2015, 5:32 PM

How many people on trollies and what are you doing about it Leo , enough about yourself .

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    May 5th 2015, 5:15 PM

Being in charge of the health portfolio in this country would require a lot of prayers.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    May 5th 2015, 6:22 PM

No use praying for this mans soul, it is long gone – He sold his soul for a place at the trough..
    No one red cent Leo!!
    Get off the stage, Get off the stage man

Mute Niall Waters
    Favourite Niall Waters
    May 5th 2015, 9:04 PM

“Hate mail about Irish Water or something like that” is in all likelihood not hate mail at all but legitimate concerns about how his party and Labour’s Thatcherite government are ruining the country for generations to come.

Mute Keith Masterson
    Favourite Keith Masterson
    May 5th 2015, 10:15 PM

Not because you are gay leo, its because you and your party are cxxts!

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    May 5th 2015, 6:29 PM

I’m not religious. In Spain all 22 players make the sign of the cross before they enter the pitch. If it works all matches must therefore end in a draw.

Johan Cruyff

What about property tax?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 5th 2015, 10:06 PM

Remove all the liars with a no vote in endas referendums. Failure of iw,siteserv and a no result will force a GE,guaranteed. Endas 4 referendums and 4 no,s is a clear vote of no confidence in endas government, watch opposition and media finish it off.

Mute Ana Nonymous
    Favourite Ana Nonymous
    May 5th 2015, 6:42 PM

They are praying because he’s a member of FG!

Mute Verners Tess
    Favourite Verners Tess
    May 5th 2015, 11:09 PM

This is off topic. I was just wondering when the minister for health, Leo Varadkar, is actually going to start work?
    Maybe it’s just me, but isn’t time that he starts to sort out the health service, the job he is well paid to do. It just seems to me that every time he is in news, it for something that has nothing to do with his job.
    Incase he has not noticed, his department is not exactly in tip top shape. Just my opinion.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 5th 2015, 6:15 PM

There’s a Pray Away The Gays session happening online! https://twitter.com/novena4ireland and as is standard for Irish anti equality groups, they’re followed by an awful lot of batsh!t crazy Americans!

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    May 5th 2015, 8:10 PM

hes got a soul?

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 5th 2015, 10:45 PM

Leo ‘Hey, cmon, I’m only the minister for health, I don’t run the bloody health service’ Varadkar.
    How the hell is he getting away with it?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    May 5th 2015, 10:30 PM

This man has an inflated ego

Mute Kieran Tubs Tobin
    Favourite Kieran Tubs Tobin
    May 6th 2015, 1:09 AM

Leo, “people offered to pray for me”
    maybe that’s the only way you’ll keep your seat in the next election.

Mute Padraig Ó Conghaile
    Favourite Padraig Ó Conghaile
    May 5th 2015, 11:30 PM

That’s just for the next general election not the referendum.

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 5th 2015, 10:21 PM

Yawn yawn yawm

Mute Stephen nevin
    Favourite Stephen nevin
    May 6th 2015, 10:46 AM

Nobody can choose there mother and father but everyone is entitled to at least have a mother and father good or bad IMO. If there is a yes vote this right will be taking away from children for ever. Kids will have no known relatives and finding out where they came from will be impossible. As an adopted person I know what a nightmare that will be for future kids of gay couples as they reach adulthood. This is my biggest fear if there is a yes vote which I suspect there will be.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 6th 2015, 1:02 PM

Nonsense Mr Nevin. Show me where it says that?

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 6th 2015, 1:03 PM

I am also adopted and I have never had problems with it.

Mute Stephen nevin
    Favourite Stephen nevin
    May 6th 2015, 2:13 PM

What age are you and have you any kids, I have no problem with adoption either as the one thing all adopted people have is adoptive parents that want them. Can’t always be said with parents of there biological kids. But sooner or later most adoptive people need to know there back round. This will not be possible if Gay couples start demanding they should have kids even thought it is biologically impossible for them to do so.

May 6th 2015, 8:01 AM

Never mind your soul Leo, get people to pray that you lot get dumped as soon as possible and then maybe we can start to rebuild the country after you did your best to destroy it, Heil Merkel!

May 7th 2015, 5:43 AM

The only soul anyone has in this government is from their 1000 euro shoes?

Mute Gar O'Mhaolmonaigh
    Favourite Gar O'Mhaolmonaigh
    May 6th 2015, 2:38 AM

Is your man beside Leo Varadkar (in the photo) the flashy lawyer from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia?!

Mute Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Favourite Kenneth Graham Dissident
    May 6th 2015, 11:30 AM

Yes leo they will pray for your soul which will undoubtedly end up in hell however not for being gay or voting yes it is because you are a corrupt evil excuse for a human being