You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cliff Nolan with a customer.

Owner of Independent Dublin bike shop raided in riots 'emotional and in shock'

Cliff Nolan is in his second year of business and has been robbed of thousands of euros worth of stock.

DUBLINER CLIFF NOLAN, 38, got a call from a friend on Thursday night who let him know that his independent bike shop on Capel Street in Dublin city was being robbed. 

He immediately got up his live surveillance of The Bike Stop Dublin, and saw masked rioters robbing the store in real time. 

“The windows on the storefront were smashed, and I have a cage inside the shop, they managed to get that off the wall as the hinges gave in, it’s a very old wall, and then they started taking bikes out. 

“They worked fast, they only had 12 minutes, but they were in and out, stealing more bikes,” Cliff said. 

The Journal witnessed the shop being looted on Thursday night, as several masked individuals used wooden sticks to smash in the shop’s windows, and then quickly began removing bikes and other items.

Ten bikes, several of them worth €4000, were stolen, as well as valuable pieces of equipment. The till from the shop was found discarded in a nearby laneway, and destroyed. 

Cliff said that he and his business partner “don’t have spare stock”, and that the financial cost of the robbery has hit them hard in what should be their busiest season pre-Christmas. 

“We’ve been lucky starting out with this shop, I have always loved bikes and I worked in a different bike shop before. Everyone knows that it takes a while for small businesses to start making money, but we’ve gotten good reviews, and all those little things count when you are new. 

“Until now, I haven’t had to reach too deep into my own pocket, but we are going to have to. The storefront needs replaced, the shutters need replaced, the cage needs replaced, the till. The stock,” he said. 

Cliff was initially in shock when he saw the damage to the shop in person, and he says he’s been on a “rollercoaster” of emotions since then. 

“I was in shock, I was angry, now I feel emotional. We have weeks of this ahead of us, in terms of fixing the shop, when we should be able to focus on selling bikes for Christmas,” he said. 

The shop owners said the support they have had from other business owners on Capel Street has been amazing. 

“There’s been so many coffees and pastries brought in here in the last two days. Next door gave me equipment to help with the fix up, they didn’t ask for anything in return. A friend gave us the wooden fixture that’s acting as a shopfront for now, so the support has been great. 

“My niece does Twitter, and she set up one of those Go Fund things, and I think she showed me that it’s raised some money that will go some way to covering a portion of the costs, It’s mad to see people we don’t know helping out like that,” he said. 

The Gardai have been in touch with the team at The Bike Stop Dublin, and will be calling in to investigate the break in and theft further in the coming days.

Businesses across the Dublin city centre area were broken into and looted from during the riots on Thursday night, which kicked off after a horrific security incident on Parnell Square East earlier in the day, when a man with a knife attacked three children and a creche worker in her 30s, who did her best to protect the kids. 

Over 30 people were called before the Dublin Criminal Courts of Justice yesterday for charges including theft, disruption of public order, and possession of a knife in one case.  

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

175 Comments
    Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:24 PM

More prisons, longer minimum sentences. No excuses.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:25 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: and hopefully a battering off the guards.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:32 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: that’d be unfair,there isn’t room in the prison’s I’ve heard a few stories first hand from a prison officer that minor offences most are sent back home upon arrival to prison because they haven’t the room tends to happen when you increase immigration and don’t make housing and other systems to meet it but sure we’ll stay going, will be a good lesson when you’re sent to prison and sent home,ya all make sure ya pay you’re TV licence all the same or we’ll have revenue hunt you down and take it from source or see you in court we know how to serve justice in this country that’s why the yobs that wrecked Dublin headed on home Friday

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:39 PM

@Paddy C: more prisons = more space for prisoners. Build em, and build em quick.

Mute Gillian OCoinne
    Favourite Gillian OCoinne
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:51 PM

@Paddy C: that is exactly why we need to build more prisons. So that these pieces of crap can be given the maximum sentence.

Mute Dissasociated Follower
    Favourite Dissasociated Follower
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:58 PM

@Mary Looners: Siobhan Kearney should be made Honorary Mayor of Dublin. A fine example of all that’s good in our countries capital.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:17 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: did you take notice the amount of guards on the streets the night after running the skuuum out of town? There you go, there’s the answer, right there in front of us all – MORE GUARDS!!!! FFG make SOMETHING work in Ireland. Enough to catch the gutter types then have enough places to lock them up. MAKE SOMETHING WORK!!!!!

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:31 PM

@Thomas Meaney: You can’t force people into Templemore to train. Increase the salary. Make it that people WANT to be a Garda.

Mute Malachy Cox
    Favourite Malachy Cox
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:00 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: Waste of time leave some of them vegetables and word will soon get around to respect the law. Prison is a total waste of time imo.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:12 PM

@Mary Looners: can’t do that that discriminating they’re rights can’t expect them to deter from they’re lifestyles of crime

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:40 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: Can’t batter the little luvvies. Its illegal, and the poor garda would get more sheitte from it than the poor mistreated son of a burst laytex conundrum would. This sub strata of scu m in our society fear northing except losing their hard earned freebies

Mute DJ D
    Favourite DJ D
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:42 PM

@Mary Looners: then they would be more of a menace to society ie theiving from everybody Oisin! Perhaps Gulag type places would be a good place for these scrotes

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:11 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: trust me the members want exactly that and want to serve the public…but are not allowed to do the job anymore because the commissioner will suspend ya ….this is what happens when you bring in an outsider from an armed police force….its ok to shoot someone in his mind but because your not armed down her if you use batton its seen as aggressive and your out suspended….so why bother…its nit what the members want but they have mortgages and bills like eveone else and can’t be out suspended for years on end wich is the case someone up to 6 or 7 year’s suspended

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:12 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: A guard is being prosecuted by GSOC for chasing criminals down a motorway. Close GSOC, give them all uniforms and put them on the streets. Some of them will even be able to spot the drug dealers as they seem to be buddies with them.

Mute Gordon Rafferty
    Favourite Gordon Rafferty
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:11 PM

@Paddy C: build more prisons and if there’s not enough send them to the artic and say f u…behave in society

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:37 PM

@Mary Looners: So they have no money which them makes them steal or mug people! As getting a job quickly with a record is very difficult.
    Good thinking!!!!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:39 PM

@Thomas Meaney: T|o do that, you need to pay them properly and improve their terms and conditions.
    Gone are the days that “The Guards” was made up for life jobs. We need to make that to happen again.
    train them properly and plenty of retraining as well.
    That means even more staff.

Mute Fliep Flap
    Favourite Fliep Flap
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:06 AM

@ecrowley ecrowley: Brass casings, some powder, some lead covered in copper, and a primer. Mix that all together for a final solution.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:50 AM

@Mary Looners: that is key. Most of these skum are unemployed and are housed by us and paid by us, and we pay their legal bills when they are caught.
    Who are the fools here?

Mute John McDonagh
    Favourite John McDonagh
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:16 PM

@Gary Kearney: It’s really not the Gardai —–IT’S THE COURTS. I’ll bet that nearly everyone of these offenders has multiple appearances and were let off by a sympathetic judge working the free legal aid gravy train. The principal of this is simple——Judge lets them go back on the streets to reoffend, Judges friends and colleuges get another big pull from the F.L.A. for defending them again.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:18 AM

@John McDonagh: it’s not the courts, there’s no place to put the skroots. You have to leave a scroote out early to put another in. Not enough spaces, not enough gardai plus the continuous soft touch = Dublin Riots, unsafe streets, street crime, public order offences.

Mute Four Aces
    Favourite Four Aces
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:25 PM

Thoughts and prayers to the victims of the savage knife attack.

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:45 PM

@Four Aces: And long live Conor McGregor!!!
    #McGregor 2025!!!

Mute Justin Mcnulty
    Favourite Justin Mcnulty
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:53 PM

@Staker Wallace: scrot

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr

@Staker Wallace: oh double dear

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:07 PM

@Staker Wallace: he’s a narcissist on the marching powder looking for a bit of adulation from the most gullible section of society. In his own words, he’ll do nothing.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:08 PM

@Staker Wallace: And still the maggots keep coming out of the woodwork.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:52 PM

@Staker Wallace:
    The poppy wearing crack-head, hairy-apist McGicker…..another million in taxes was extracted from him this weekend for what he did to that poor youngone in Sandymount, the vile creep!! He’ll still be paying for that long after his cronies and hanger-ons have bled him dry of piss whiskey and manky stout etc!! ;@)

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:58 PM

@Staker Wallace:
    Poor Stalker Wallace….spawned in Ireland…..what a waste of a gaelic genome!

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl

@Staker Wallace: what policies does conor offer in his bid for election in 2025 and which party will he run for?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:24 PM

@Jimmy Wallace:
    Why the oh dear ???

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:32 PM

@Jimmy Wallace:
    It currently has 438 likes, your response has 24. Don’t be a sap all your life.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:43 PM

@Regular John: Sweet sweet dopamine, drink it up Johnny boi

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 11:28 PM

@Thesaltyurchin:
    Go easy on the weed Salty

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:04 AM

@Regular John:
    That’s a well established and known hack for the poor pathetic like-minded attention craving ¢reϯinou$, far-righτ̌hard, window li¢kers….pfft! ;@)

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:05 AM

@Joe Meade:
    Translate that to English and I’ll have look.

Mute Michael B
    Favourite Michael B
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:20 AM

@Four Aces: Hilarious to think that you think anybody believes you care about the victims for one second.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:13 AM

@Regular John:
    Teigh in ainm an diabháil go deo amadán! Na bfhuil na radhairc níos airde ar na ba thearr lear!?! ;~}

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:22 PM

And people still think the looters were protesting against the government….

Christmas looting spree…..

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:52 PM

Solution, public hard labour starting with the streets they were caught

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:12 PM

@Jim: These ‘political agitators’ sure do love bicycles and runners, and Canada Goose jackets

Mute Gillian OCoinne
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:13 PM

@Jim: exactly. These people need to be made pay.

Mute Joyce McAree Miller
    Favourite Joyce McAree Miller
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:32 PM

@Jim: you get a bike you get a bike you get a bike everyone gets a boooiiikkkke!

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:39 PM

It’s about time a law was introduced to make these perpetrators pay financially as well as custodial for their actions. It’s wrong that taxpayers have to foot the bill for their disgraceful behaviour

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer

@Mary Looners: Any attack on a member of An Garda, Army, fire brigade or ambulance personnel should carry an automatic prison term of at least one year depending on the severity of the attack

Mute Gillian OCoinne
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:56 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: as far as I know the business owners could go after them through a civil action and get an attachment order against there dole or any earnings they may have.

Mute Gillian OCoinne
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:58 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: 1 year should be 20 yrs or over

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis

@Gillian OCoinne: So as well as the loss in trade, you are suggesting that they now spend thousands on legal cases? The defence against lawlessness is to be left to the injured party? That makes a whole lot of sense.

Mute h5kFhdYI
    Favourite h5kFhdYI
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:24 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: Hitting these S€umba8s and f1fraf in the pocket would probably mean they would just go out and rob some more innocent hardworking people and businesses.
    Banish them to some island where they can’t escape

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:05 PM

@h5kFhdYI: We need to stop the lawyers gravy train of free legal aid for scrotes with multiple convictions.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:13 PM

@h5kFhdYI: Good points. Whatever happened to Spike Island anyway ?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:52 PM

@Regular John: it’s a tourist attraction now. The tour is great.

Mute Gillian OCoinne
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:07 PM

@Nick Vasilakis: they shouldn’t have to. It should be done through the criminal justice system. It should be taken at source. It is not being done through the criminal justice system at the moment. These people need to understand they will pay.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:36 PM

@Setanta O’Toole:
    Is it ? I didn’t know that. Maybe time to use it as it was originally though.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Nov 26th 2023, 6:01 PM

@Regular John: Doubtful. It’s worth more to Ireland with tour guides. Mind you, aren’t there loads of other offshore islands?

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:19 PM

Terrible thing to happen. The riots will only stop people going into town. The businesses will suffer. I love Dublin City, but I wouldn’t bother to go near town now.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:45 PM

@Annette: That’s exactly what they want ! Keep doing/ shopping where you usually do..Don’t let them win

Mute Boyne Shark
    Favourite Boyne Shark
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:51 PM

@Annette: Have to agree. The government have to stop writing the script themselves and hoping the media stick to it, which they often do, and instead listen to what people are saying, even if they don’t like it.
    There’s a large growing dissatisfied element in this country, it’ll only take one smooth talking right wing politician to lead them and we’ll have a new leader we don’t want, while this sounds unlikely now so did riots and sounded unlikely in many other countries too, but it happened.
    Business are going to lose out financially because of these riots, people are going to avoid inner city Dublin in the run up to Christmas in what should be the most lucrative weeks of the year. This will translate to jobs being lost. The government have to get a handle on this and tackle it, be proactive for once instead of being reactive and relying on woke speeches. That hasn’t worked out too well so far, has it?

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:05 PM

@Annette: more chance of another stabbing than a riot happening

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:36 PM

@Shane O Mac: How so?

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:47 PM

@Boyne Shark: There’s no personal responsibility to those who looted Arnotts etc. I’m from a disadvantage area, I got up, went to school, and worked hard to get a job. It was my responsibility to do the best I could for me. It saddened me to see that everyone is some sort of victim now.
    The infrastructure in my area is much better now than when I was growing up, I never expected handouts, yet to day, it does seem to be expected.
    I just get fed up with everything is about “its government fault” and nothing about why these looters feel that everything has to be handed to them.

Mute Boyne Shark
    Favourite Boyne Shark
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:29 PM

@Annette: I don’t disagree with what you’re saying, I’m also from what would be described as a ‘disadvantage area’, went to school and got my qualifications, as did all my children. I agree there’s an entitlement attitude among certain people, not all though, however it has to be said we elected the government to do a job, to listen to us, the people, and some of what happened has been pointed out them for quite a long time now. Earlier in the year both the government and Commissioner Drew Harris dismissed the warnings saying a softly softly approach was the correct way to deal with it. I think we can safely say that’s been proven wrong, when we have to borrow water cannons from the North we need to change our policies, quickly.

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:40 PM

@Boyne Shark: I agree. It’s all over Facebook how people feel disenfranchised. All apparently victims of sorts. It’s tragic that the far right has abused this and made them feel that way. I agree that the government is on the backfoot. There are a lot of haters out there, and they are perpetuating violence.

Mute Alfred Bastafield
    Favourite Alfred Bastafield
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:23 PM

34 people arrested and all let out on bail. Pathetic. They should be in prison not roaming the streets.

Mute Ciaran O Donoghue
    Favourite Ciaran O Donoghue

@Alfred Bastafield: Many unemployed too.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:35 PM

@Alfred Bastafield: thats discrimination how dare you,they mightn’t have had the chance to get to the post office Friday evening after being in court for they’re dole and had to go this morning instead, hopefully it didn’t put them out too much lot colder today

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:41 PM

@Paddy C: there, they’re, their

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:14 PM

@UK Hurling Bloke: thank you, for the grammar and spelling correction I shall endeavour to use it correctly in future comments.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:24 PM

Hopefully in the cold light of day every single person that was observed on camera looting and rioting is made an example of with long prison stretches. It’s time a message was sent out to the loons and thugs that the rest of society simply won’t tolerate this kind of behaviour and that they only exist in it because we allow them to.

Mute Ciaran O Donoghue
    Favourite Ciaran O Donoghue
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:33 PM

@John Moore: There’s no spaces in the prisons, hence the suspended sentences.

Mute UK Hurling Bloke
    Favourite UK Hurling Bloke
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:42 PM

@Ciaran O Donoghue: send ‘em to Rwanda then instead

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:09 PM

Forget prison! Except for the most serious offences on Black Thursday..it’s time for the courts to impose gradual fines lasting decades..Dock their unemployment benefits or pay cheques until they agree to abide by the laws of this state and lest they ever forget the “mayhem” they inflicted on our beautiful capital city.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:16 PM

@Rose Sheridan: Cmon now, you have to pretend that the majority of them aren’t on the scratch, because it’s classist, despite them exhibiting every available possible predjudice under the sun and never being taken to task for it.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:18 PM

@Peter Murray: Appalling suggestion

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK

The people involved in the riots are a byproduct of a revolving legal system. These rioters wear there custodial sentences like a badge of honour. It’s a laugh to them. The only people making money off these monkeys are the legal profession. Needs to be tougher sentences with judges unable to mitigate.

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:04 PM

@AnthonyK: there needs to be actual punishment to deter people from committing crimes in the 1st place. Prison in Ireland isn’t punishment for many of those in there. They hang around smoking, taking drugs, playing video games, going to gym with their “mates” and learning the tricks of the trade. There should be hard labour. No recreational facilities.

Mute Seriously Really
    Favourite Seriously Really
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:20 AM

@Tom D: Indeed… Who’s ever heard of getting a furlough from prison to spend the holiday with family?

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon

Build more prisons, employ more gardai, deploy the army, introduce tougher prison sentences. We law abiding citizens deserve to live in a civilized country. If somebody breaks the law lock em up. It’s not rocket science.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:45 PM

@Eamon: Your life is fine, relax before you send in the tanks ffs

Mute David Lynch
    Favourite David Lynch
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:46 AM

@Eamon: how much more tax would you like to pay to fund this Eamon? I think you’re right but it will cost a shedload. 55/60% tax rate? Very hard for most people to swallow. Also you can be sure it would be the most expensive prison the world has ever seen. It’s awful to see independent shops looted like that. How many millionaire bike shop owners are there? Absolute degenerates who did it. Restorative justice is probably fairer.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 26th 2023, 10:13 AM

@David Lynch: 100k a year to lock someone up. I’m bored of saying it.

Mute Stephen C
    Favourite Stephen C
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:41 PM

Dreadfull as the damage is to the business and the financial loss incurred by all of the business in town, the riots are the lead story on Radio news bulletins the last two days, when the stabbing of children & their teacher is relegated to “and in other news” second place.Ever wonder if we are being played, given the perpetrator.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien

@Stephen C: No, I don’t wonder if we are ‘being played’. There was massive coverage of the stabbings after they occurred: what more is there to say at this point? The perpetrator of the stabbings is no longer a danger to society. The thugs who rioted are an ongoing threat and could do the same again at any moment.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:00 PM

@Stephen C: At least no Politicians have used the knifing of children and a Twitter Mob destroying public and private facilities to make themselves popular. They realise it would turn people against them come election time.

Mute JagTune
    Favourite JagTune
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:03 PM

@Stephen C: You are correct. The riots are a blessing for the media. They don’t have to speak about the culprit. An Algerian national who should never have been in the country and was arrested earlier this year in possession of a knife. This government has blood on their hands with there reckless immigration policy. But not one article on the journal about that. We are being played from all sides

Mute Stephen C
    Favourite Stephen C
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:07 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: 3 children are stabbed (one stabbed in the neck) at school, and you write “what more is there to say on this point” i wonder if it was your little girl would you have anything more to say on the incident ?..you really need to take a long hard look at yourself.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:10 PM

@Stephen C: What are you saying that is new? It was a horrendous crime, and the perpetrator will be held accountable. You want to exploit it to further your agenda. Meanwhile the far right is an ongoing threat to society: it was pure luck that nobody was killed in the rioting.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:18 PM

@JagTune: 1. The Algerian national – if that is who he is – was a citizen, and had every right to be in the country. 2. What evidence are you presenting that he was “…arrested earlier this year in possession of a knife.” 3. The ‘government policy’ is not one policy, but a collection of policies, many of which are supported by the electorate. Be precise about what you say before you inflame people by saying “We are being played from all sides.”, a statement for which you present no evidence either.
    If you can’t help, STFU.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:37 PM

@JagTune: ‘who should never have been in the country’? How so?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:41 PM

@Nick Vasilakis:
    With a name like that I’m guessing you’re ‘new to the parish’ too ? Personally I believe any guest in my country committing any crime should be deported back to where they came from, would you agree ? As far as this Algerian is concerned he may have a right to be here but the fact remains 4 people wouldn’t have been stabbed if he wasn’t.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:57 PM

@Regular John: So, you think the think the 1000+ Irish people in prison in the UK should have been sent back here?

By the way, it’s not *your* country, and people who are entitled to be here are not ‘guests’.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:47 PM

@Brendan O’Brien:
    Yes, they should be sent back. Why should anyone else pay and take responsibility for them ?
    And yes, it is absolutely my country, along with everyone else born and bred here.
    You and your virtue signalling pals are everything that is going wrong in MY country right now.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:50 PM

@JagTune: We are not being played at all. The man has been here for a long time and you keep calling him and Algerian national but in fact he is an Irish Citizen.
    It has noting to do with race or religion.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:58 PM

@Regular John: How parochial, how quaint, who are you to question another person right to make a comment here. Not surprising but still
    A sliding Doors comment, and impossible to say what would have happened.
    Maybe if this had not happened a bus could have lost control and ran over all the children. Or a plane could have crashed on them.
    There is no way to know, is there? But you still get the dig in!
    You point is null and void.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 11:25 PM

@Gary Kearney:
    Where did I question anyone’s right to comment ??? You lot are great at making things up… And if anyone’s point is void I think it’s yours – a bus didn’t hit the kids, nor did a plane crash.

Mute GVR
    Favourite GVR
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:26 PM

Hope they catch the culprits and actually punish them. They are the very worst of the Irish. Shame on them

Mute Gillian OCoinne

This is nothing to do with protests against immigration. Was it is is mindless vandalism.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:50 PM

@Gillian OCoinne:
    Yep, 2 seperate issues as far as I can see.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 8:30 AM

@Gillian OCoinne:
    It was the very essence of these chavvy ‘brotests’ from the very time they were indulged to loiter outside Garda Stations and proposed immigrant centres etc, being intimidating and spouting misinforming/disinforming tropes and other various alt-right-hard tripe! Led around manically by their coke encrusted noses by the sad, pathetic, cowardly thugs and bullies that ignorantly and spitefully intimidate library workers, pharmacy/medical workers etc like rabid demented morons they are no less, live-streaming their thuggery for notority and the inevitable downstream grift etc!!
    We’re on to these ner’-do-well ¢retins and parasites and they will soon be harried, harassed and punished harshy and justly for what they incited and had their gillies carrry out on Thursday night!!

Mute Kevin McCormick
    Favourite Kevin McCormick
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:37 PM

None of those people cared about those who got stabbed. I’ll bet more than half of them didn’t even know about it. They were just there to cause trouble.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:19 PM

@Kevin McCormick:
    Yes, totally agree. The dregs of Dublin looking for free jackets. Nothing to do with the stabbings whosoever.

Mute uUleRhCu
    Favourite uUleRhCu
    Nov 25th 2023, 7:30 PM

@Regular John: They named and gave addresses of some of them in court….a few rural guys as well.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:05 PM

@uUleRhCu:
    Well I stand corrected then, the dregs of the country.

Mute GVR
    Favourite GVR
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:31 PM

The army does f.a. Get them out on the streets and sort Dublin out. Absolute kip, letting this minority of skummers rule the city

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:35 PM

@GVR: brilliant idea, give the anti-everything brigade more ammunition for their permanent persecution complex.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:20 PM

@GVR: The army is there for when mindless people like GVR start disrupting the peace with weapons.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 10:01 PM

@GVR: The army are not trained in civil policing!

Mute Cormo R
    Favourite Cormo R
    Nov 25th 2023, 4:46 PM

Low life dole sponging dirt…

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:21 PM

@Cormo R: Don’t compliment them by mentioning them. They are nothing.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 8:06 AM

@Cormo R:
    And whatever spawned them most likely…..some bookies mooching loiterer and a sofa ridden sk@nk with beef curtains like an otter’s pocket come dirty wizard’s sleeve! Round them up and dangle them all by their ankles from the spire and then exile them and all their kith and kin to Blighty til they appreciate the privelege that it truly is to be a blessed gael and not some chavvy, dragged up, knuckle-suckin’ EDL/loyalist wannabe!! Happy Sunday y’all ;@}

Mute Gavan Hogan
    Favourite Gavan Hogan
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:12 PM

Minister of Justice and Garda commissioner should be sacked immediately.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:45 AM

@Gavan Hogan:
    Especially that UDR/RUC/MI5 crown force colluder Drew the Shrew!!
    Mac and Cheese has enough on her plate with certain pertinent and topical legislation and of course a certain relative’s land ‘dealings’ and that needs to be taxed and maXed outin accordance to to the new Bunreacht na hÉireann!!

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:01 PM

Sick of the justice system here in Ireland treating these feral youths with kiddy gloves. If caught they just get a slap on the wrist and are let off on their merry way to do more antisocial stuff…

Their parents should be held accountable with fines for not doing their damn job.

Mute Molly Colly
    Favourite Molly Colly

I was wondering if any small businesses suffered. Big chains would obviously have more of a failsafe. So sorry this happened.

Mute Gillian OCoinne
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:14 PM

@Molly Colly: small retailers are suffering ever single day.

Mute Caitrín Ní Fhearghail
    Favourite Caitrín Ní Fhearghail
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:05 PM

Easy. Border control. Apply in advance to enter. Allowed after background check or not, as the case may be. If you just arrive you are just sent back. Done!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 26th 2023, 9:56 AM

@Caitrín Ní Fhearghail: all the rioters and looters arrested were irish…

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:12 PM

Not a mention by politicians or mainstream media about the issue that caused the issue.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 25th 2023, 7:17 PM

@Thomas Reddy: It’s all over the news!

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Nov 26th 2023, 9:35 AM

@Tom Dillon: Actually it’s not. Not a mention of who did it and their past criminal record which is insane. Not a mention about the three Ukrainians who gang raped a young girl in Cavan lately either.

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:33 PM

Guarantee you most of these bikes are up for sale on Adverts or DoneDeal

Mute Kathleen Peters
    Favourite Kathleen Peters
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:10 PM

It was disgusting to see what was done,I agree that people all over Ireland have had enough of this government,it’s lies after lies,and are only doing all this migration to look like the good boys in the EU,every Country their governments has failed them for EU,majority are in the US pockets,and put honest decent understanding people into government and management of all these public institutions,and the rioters have played right into the hands of the parties who want to bring in these crazy hate laws,were been watched all over the world,to see will the opposition and the people allow this law to be passed it’s so extreme,SF had drank the EU soup,independents if they form a party and get young people to be candidates,we just might have a chance.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 10:05 PM

@Kathleen Peters: And your solution, go backwards and live in the past. Dancing at the crossroads and Bovine in the parlor.
    The EU helped us drag this country out from under the yoke of the Catholic Church and help us become a modern pluralistic society.
    We have many problems and most of them are our own making. The government is of our making as well.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:38 AM

@Gary Kearney:
    Not everything from the past was bad Gary. Ask anyone that was there. Lots of the problems we have now didn’t exist years ago. We may not be under the cosh of the RCC anymore but we’ve taken on all sorts of other problems.

Mute Shane Lad
    Favourite Shane Lad
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:04 PM

Sleepy Eamon Ryan likes this

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:57 AM

@Shane Lad:
    All hail Lord Butterhead of Ballygobackwards on his saddleless pennyfarthing of trupenny bits thrice removed….to give him his proper title!

Mute Garth P
    Favourite Garth P
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:19 PM

Where are your children tonight?

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:27 PM

@Garth P: And, for a large percentage of the parents of these feral, knuckle-dragging, masked and hoodied individuals, you should also ask: Do their parents even care? And, if not, why not?

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:25 AM

@Peter Murray:
    And all West-Brit Blueshirt traitors like Collins too before they too are exiled to what remains of the Perfidious Empire of Brexland that they are so loyal to and long for rabidly like the zombies zionazis stalking the neo-natal wards of striken Gaza and the occupied West Bank before they drive every last 4×2 untermensch back into the dead sea!! ;@)

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:22 PM

Why are the Government and all political parties really afraid of toughing and applying the laws? Its not that criminals are their base voters, so that means only 2 things, if you are a logical human being: 1. They dont know the reality of daily life in Ireland; 2. They are corrupted or at the hands of the big criminal netwotks.

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    Nov 25th 2023, 7:53 PM

@Chris: @Chris judges had down verdicts, not politicians. The legal industry has been captured by politically correct do-gooder types who think that people commit crimes because of disadvantage or trauma, not greed or selfishness or thugishness. The politicians could make tougher laws but the NGOs and media would come out crowing about human rights etc. Politicians still haven’t recokoned with the idea that naive NGO activists or cossetted media types DO NOT represent the opinion of the majority.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 25th 2023, 10:06 PM

@Tom D: Human and Civil rights need to be always respected. Without them it is a dictatorships.
    Our law system needs changing that is true but that is a massive job.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Nov 25th 2023, 5:27 PM

Lawlessness just didn’t happen this week, joke of a government who have made a joke of it’s descent law abiding tax paying citizens, say what you like the book stop’s with the bosses FFG incompetent

Mute Brian k.
    Favourite Brian k.

We need the likes of Lugs Brannigan back again in the police force to sort out the s/…C(U/m

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:17 PM

@Brian k.:
    We do. The one thing these hoojah’s understand. Not going to happen though, it’s just not PC enough for some.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:52 AM

@Regular John:
    Or maybe just Ronnie Flanagan as commissioner and that darling dissident Máiria Cahil as the sinister Minister for Injustice and badly worded strife!! ;@)

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Nov 25th 2023, 7:44 PM

Out guards should be given the power, authority, equipment & training of the french and spanish police … very little trouble around that lot. The softly softly in this country for years has bred this lot of scrotes and need to pull back.

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Nov 25th 2023, 9:26 PM

I used to be an FG voter, but no more.
    The party has been taken over by every fad.
    Equality, gay rights, diversity, multiculturalism,gender identity etc etc
    Traditional values and virtues – they would’nt want to be seen near them
    I’m not looking forward to Mary Lou her Belfast junta, but that’s what it’s going to be.

Mute DJ Bermo
    Favourite DJ Bermo
    Nov 25th 2023, 10:25 PM

@Antony Stack: So equality, diversity, gay rights are fads? Sounds like you’d be in good company with the dregs that disgraced a nation on Thursday night.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:35 AM

@Antony Stack:
    $u¢k it up West-Brit Blueshirt enablers, reap what you’ve sewn with their craven enthusiasm to commemorate the Tans, Auxiliaries and the RIR…..and for the regressive aspiration to re-join what’s left of the pillaged and plundered commonwealth etcetera etceteRA!! TÁL ;@)

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Nov 25th 2023, 7:04 PM

This government has completely failed the Irish people. Every f .ukin sector is struggling but yet we have billions in surplus. Pet projects with seriously overspend is common form but yet not one taking accountability. We need new jails not built by bam of course,with real sentencing for violent crimes. More doctors, teachers,guards,housing etc etc.. I’d be happy to pay more taxes for better rewards instead of what we have now.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:58 AM

@HisMastersAlibi: the problem here isn’t that the government has failed, it’s that it’s over-generous. Giving dole, housing and legal aid to people who have never contributed to society and never intend to contribute to society is wrong. Government needs to stop being kind to wasters.
    - Build the new prison.
    - work for dole.
    - audit spurious disability claimants
    - end unlimited free legal aid. Give everyone three legal aid tickets, and when they’re gone, they’re gone.

Mute Ed Ruttledge
    Favourite Ed Ruttledge
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:06 PM

I have dual citizenship – Ireland and US. I used to be embarrassed by one of these. Now, I find myself dually embarrassed. : |

Ross
    Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Nov 25th 2023, 6:43 PM

Send the bill to drew harris

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 25th 2023, 11:40 PM

You just get sick to death reading stories like this.They caught 30 rioters.Now 5 years each in prison and maybe they might think twice about doing this again.The courts constantly let hard working people down.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:53 AM

@Gerry Lamont: unless they’ve got fifty convictions already, they won’t be sentenced to prison. And if they are, the sentences will be suspended.
    There’s zero risk in rioting and looting.

Mute James cornflake
    Favourite James cornflake
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:11 AM

Maby send the rioters over to Algeria to roam the streets there?

Mute J M
    Favourite J M
    Nov 25th 2023, 8:13 PM

“My niece does Twitter and set up one of those go fund things. I think it’s raised some money” ah come off it, lad!

Anyway hope he recoups the costs and is compensated.

Mute Shayfitz
    Favourite Shayfitz
    Nov 25th 2023, 11:07 PM

Shame on them . Pure hooliganism .

Mute Shayfitz
    Favourite Shayfitz
    Nov 25th 2023, 11:03 PM

Just

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:15 AM

@Shayfitz:

Stop oil ??? Please no…

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:17 AM

@Regular John:
    Just stop looters, the ill-reared reared, braindead treacherous @rseh0le crackeroo couriers with their e-scooters!! ;@)

Mute K H
    Favourite K H
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:53 PM

Empty heads , empty lives . These morons who had the neck to wave Irish flags during their rampage in Dublin, offer nothing to society . In a week’s time they’ll be back to dealing drugs , stealing cars , shoplifting, harassing police
    May they all hang their heads in shame. They won’t be hard to spot, in those shiny new ‘Air Max ‘ they looted . What a bunch of wasters

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:59 PM

@K H:
    Great comment though I fear none of them will be hanging their heads in shame anytime soon. More likely to be planning the next night of carnage.