You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Booksellers say expansion of free schoolbook scheme will have 'devastating effect' on shops

There are both financial and logistic concerns about how the scheme will operate successfully.

THE EXPANSION OF the free schoolbooks scheme to Junior Certificate students will have a “devastating effect” on business, Irish booksellers have said.

There are both financial and logistic concerns about how the scheme will operate successfully, given its growing scale.

The expansion follows the measures announced in Budget 2023, which made schoolbooks free for primary school students. The government was criticised at the time for excluding secondary school students.

However, while booksellers largely agree with the reasoning behind the expansion to more students – to ease the financial burden on parents – many are worried their business won’t survive it.

Tomás Kenny of Kenny’s Books in Galway City told The Journal that he is seeing “very serious concern” in the industry, as no retailer big or small has gone unscathed.

“People genuinely seem to be really, really worried,” he said.

“The amount of time and effort it takes now to deal with these orders has massively increased.”

All schools availing of the scheme are required to get quotes from three different retailers and must choose the cheapest.

As a result, Kenny says, some shops have had to give major discounts on products with already small margins to ensure they get any business. 

The drop in footfall in-store from parents this year has knocked stationery sales too.

“What has really hit home with people in the last month or so is when they miss that footfall of the parents coming in with the back to school kind of stuff … pens, pencils, whatever else,” said Kenny.

He added that the removal of VAT from audio books and e-books in Budget 2024 is another “worrying development”, posing further risk to physical booksellers.

Closures expected

Cian Byrne, owner of Maynooth Bookshop, hired 25% fewer summer staff this summer because, while turnover has increased, profits have plummeted.

He says most bookshops can only “keep the doors open” year round because of profits made from selling schoolbooks in the summer months.

“Bookshops are going to struggle massively because, like it or lump it, schoolbooks was a huge part of the book selling industry in Ireland and is the reason why a lot of bookshops exist in small towns up and down the country,” he said, adding that many shops “aren’t of a size to service a full school order”.

“It would be a lot of work for them, with very little return.”

He said Education Minister Norma Foley’s decision to expand the free schoolbooks scheme to secondary schools was expected, but retailers say they may not have the capacity to facilitate it.

“It’s going to be very complicated. It’s a lot more complicated than primary school,” Byrne said.

“There’s a lot more variation in what people need throughout the year. It’s not as simple as getting your English book, getting your Irish book, getting your handwriting book, like at primary school level. 

“How that’s going to be managed, I’m not sure.”

Byrne predicts that there will be a series of closures over the next year as a direct result of the scheme.

The Irish Times reported last month that Eason’s revenue was down  €2.5 million because of the scheme.

‘Unmanageable’

Bookselling Ireland, a representative group for book retailers, said it welcomes initiatives that ease the burden on families, but described the last year as “extremely challenging” for the industry.

It said schoolbooks represented an average of 30% of all sales before the scheme was introduced. Some shops “do not have the manpower or experience” to keep up with the extra work the scheme creates.

“An extension of this current scheme to include secondary school students will introduce a level of complexity that will be unmanageable for smaller local bookshops,” the group said in a statement.

The group urged Minister Foley to consider using a voucher scheme, which would allow the scheme to continue, without severe impact on footfall in shops.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Róisín Loughrey
    Favourite Róisín Loughrey
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:41 PM

Jerry Buttimer and John Lyons’ speeches in the Dáil last week were incredibly brave. Fair play to both of them. We’re moving forward.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:11 PM

And to be fair, well done Enda for such a reaction

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:16 PM

Yeaaahhh, he’s one helluva guy!!

Mute upthepylons
    Favourite upthepylons
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:39 PM

Haha. Only read the highlighted quote and had to go back and read the rest to put my dirty mind at ease.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:48 PM

Tom
    Disgraceful

Mute Laurence
    Favourite Laurence
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:42 PM

Lucinda Creighton coming out as pro-life wasn’t such a touching encounter.

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:47 PM

Yet she was one of the only people that lost her job.

Mute Lorraine Dempsey
    Favourite Lorraine Dempsey
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:52 PM

Maybe someday we will get to a place where there will be no need for a person to “come out”, no need for raised anxiety or worries about being rejected by family, friends or colleagues. As long as certain Institutes & Institutions use subtle and not so subtle language to infer that relationships between people of the same sex are abhorrent or abnormal and devoid of “real natural love”, it will be some time yet before younger people who are gay can avoid the fear of coming out and the risk of such a burden of fear on their Mental Health.

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:44 PM

Despite Enda being a man(notoriously homophobic gender?) from the west of Ireland (notorious homophobic region?) mid 60′s (notorious homophobic age?)

Good for you Buttimer. Nice timing too. But that is purely coincendental, im not a cynical person.

Good night everybody, I’m still mad about ya’s! Let’s go do this!

Mute Ina Smidiríní
    Favourite Ina Smidiríní
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:49 PM

You are a fake. Where is the real adebayo?

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:55 PM

Oh Ina, my sweet Ina. Would the fake Adebayo remember the time I blessed you on the pope thread?

ADEBAAAAAAAAAYOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

WOOOOOOOOOOOW!

Mute Jonathan Kennedy
    Favourite Jonathan Kennedy
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:22 PM

And you can’t tax a mans home

Mute thomas mitchell
    Favourite thomas mitchell
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:22 PM

He taught me in secordary school on the northside inthe 90s sound man

Mute 3-Hours-Till-Sundown
    Favourite 3-Hours-Till-Sundown
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:13 PM

It’s sad that if he lost his seat he could be actively discriminated against for teaching posts in religious schools due to his sexuality.

Mute Chris Thomas
    Favourite Chris Thomas
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:13 PM

I think he is brave to come out and say he is gay because a bloke who worked with me in England did the same and he was hounded out of the job and he was English like them…..Its a cruel world sometimes.

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:51 PM

That’s a fair point. I treat him with a level of suspicion resultantly. He was recently listed by The Irish Times as one of 13 TDs most likely to lose their seats in the next election on the one hand. On the other hand as a gay secondary school teacher, he may not have a job to go back to now that he has come out as the RC may not rehire him – and that is scandalous.

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:51 PM

above post meant for Norman’s – since deleted post.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:00 PM

Drew Buttimers job is protected, it is open for him when and if he leaves the Dail.As it is for all the other elected TDs who happen to be teachers.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:10 PM

Why your op was deleted I’ve no idea. I saw nothing in ti to justify its removal.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:16 PM

I rewrote it, not sure either.As I said I have no issue with Buttimer’s sexuality.Just curious as to why he made an issue of it after he was elected.

Mute Dave Gorman
    Favourite Dave Gorman
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:34 PM

Not gay teachers though. School can legally let him go based on his sexuality if they want.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:38 PM

Drew I maybe wrong but does equality legislation not cover this.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:39 PM

Sorry reply meant for Dave.

Mute Dave Gorman
    Favourite Dave Gorman
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:42 PM

No equality legislation doesn’t cover gay teachers in school. He can be let go (and so can John Lyons if he’s not re elected)

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:43 PM

Norman he is right, depressing and ridiculous as it may seem

Mute Dave Gorman
    Favourite Dave Gorman
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:47 PM

Section 37 of the Employment Equality Act that allows religious employers an exemption from its discrimination rules if it fires or refuses to hire someone in order to uphold its ethos.

Most schools are religion run in Ireland. I believe Educate Together schools don’t use that rule though.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:53 PM

But if he has said he’s gay and it’s a Catholic school they may drop him quietly later.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:54 PM

Thought all teachers were paid by the Dept of Education. So someone somewhere is going to have to bring a case to European Court of Humans Right just to force government to extend protection to LGBT teachers when the state knows it has to at some stage.But will happily waste millions being dragged kicking and screaming to court.

Mute Dave Gorman
    Favourite Dave Gorman
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:00 PM

Just to point out that the Iona crowd want to keep that section in the act which discriminates against LGBT teachers.

They are not Homophobes though.

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:00 PM

Correct Dave, section 37 of the Employment Equality Act 1998, allowed continue in Irish law by that exemption to the EU Equality Directive of 2000.

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:01 PM

I’ve no great difficulty with a school upholding its ethos, though I’d prefer the severing of the umbilical cord between Church and education altogether. However, when we live in a state with an almost Church monopoly on school patronage, what chance have LGBT teachers to find alternative employment? (And why should they have to anyway)

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:07 PM

“Just to point out that the Iona crowd want to keep that section in the act which discriminates against LGBT teachers”

And to me Dave, that’s a far more important point than Panti’s.

Mute Dave Gorman
    Favourite Dave Gorman
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:17 PM

Panti made that point Drew. Wasn’t all about relationships

“What it boils down to is if you’re going to argue that gay people need to be treated in any way differently than everybody else or should be in anyway less”

Mute Susan O Connell
    Favourite Susan O Connell
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:45 PM

Actually I’m not sure that’s correct Drew, Jerry was a senator for 4 years before he won his Dail seat, which barring an early election will equate to 9 years absence by 2016. I thought 5 years was the max career break- open to corrections.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:05 PM

We had to wait until 8.00pm for a gay story today.

Standards are slipping :(

Mute Johnny
    Favourite Johnny
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:09 PM

I would also like to comment but I am currently experiencing oppression under the hand of the JSA. My basic human rights are being compromised

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:43 PM

Jobseeker’s Allowance?
    those Social welfare guys are EVERYwhere eh?!!?

Mute Sinead Murphy
    Favourite Sinead Murphy
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:40 PM

Touching

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:17 PM

If you call a dig into the chest ‘touching’, then it is, but only in the wesht..

Mute Wolfgang Hanratty
    Favourite Wolfgang Hanratty
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:10 PM

I’m happy for both of them.

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:02 PM

Hanratty

Mute Seamus Dooley
    Favourite Seamus Dooley
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:45 PM

That reads like a quote lifted straight from Fr Ted….. Even when Inda Kinny is saying the right thing he sounds like an awful tool!

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:40 PM

you spelled the Taoiseach’s name like you were saying it in an Australian accent!
    That’s a decent skill right there!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:51 PM

I didn’t expect any less from Enda Kenny after he said he wanted to be Taoiseach for everyone in the country, not just Catholics. Not a fan of his by any means, but well done him and great to see TD’s speaking out.

Mute Ann Carroll
    Favourite Ann Carroll
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:06 PM

Well done Mr. Buttimer.

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:44 PM

Enda is mad about him …. Says it all.

Feb 11th 2014, 7:50 PM

Why did he need to tell Enda he was gay and was coming out? Was he looking for permission?

Mute Tommy English
    Favourite Tommy English
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:04 PM

If you go back and read what’s in the article.. Deputy Buttimer was informing the leader of the party that he wanted to set up an LGBT group within Fine Gael..

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:54 PM

Wether Buttimer is gay or not is of no consequence to me, I’m just wondering how come he wasn’t brave enough to come out before he was elected.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:14 PM

Maybe because he thought he wouldn’t get elected because some people would just vote against him based on his sexual preference as opposed to his record and other actual relevant information?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:21 PM

Ah what record are you referring to? I thought he is a first time TD.
    So you’re saying he assumes his constituents are a shower of bigots, why would he want to represent them in that case?

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:58 PM

Is there elections coming up? Why are they spouting so much shite?

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:26 PM

The real injustice is the way in which homosexual people in Ireland are still victimised and maltreated by homophobes.

Same sexual marriage is a small but important step on the way to parity of esteem of gay people.

Mute Drew Clarke
    Favourite Drew Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:51 PM

It’s a huge step Peter. A leap.

However, I think we make the mistake in Ireland of thinking we are somehow backward on LGBT. In the grand scheme of things, internationally, we are to the forefront and one of the most liberal countries. Afaik only 17 countries have gone ahead and legalised. We have a referendum on the cards and somewhere between 70-80% public support. That, imo, puts us to the forefront.

Mute Bobby Ewing
    Favourite Bobby Ewing
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:14 PM

AH.The world and his dog knew jerry was gay for years. When he told End a I’d say GarretFitz was the leader.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:02 PM

Can see it now when he loses his seat he will say its because he’s gay not because he’s a lying fu.k

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Feb 11th 2014, 7:43 PM

Notice the first three comments are from women… A bit of a challenge to the “hard” and “real” men out there.

Mute Mohammed Yaya
    Favourite Mohammed Yaya
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:20 PM

I think Jerry Buttimer should be Taoiseach.

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:21 PM

So do I. They could do with a Taoiseach in Dubai.

Mute Jonathan Kennedy
    Favourite Jonathan Kennedy
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:24 PM

I think he already has the right to be Taoiseach

Mute Derek Ruiséil
    Favourite Derek Ruiséil
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:55 PM

I can just see Enda going like Fr Ted in the “Song for Europe episode”…Im mad about you…in a heterosexual way..”

Mute Dylan Ryan
    Favourite Dylan Ryan
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:05 PM

He should have responded to him by saying ” put your money where your mouth is and publicly support equality for all”

Mute Mark in Kildare
    Favourite Mark in Kildare
    Feb 11th 2014, 10:50 PM

That made my day.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:29 PM

But you are not in a minority.

Your feelings are wrong.

You should have a chat with your erroneous feelings.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:53 PM

Effing previous guys comment removed.

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:18 PM

Meant dis respectful *