You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
line of duty

Garda sustains broken wrist while arresting 'aggressive' suspect in Cavan

The man who was arrested on Saturday evening will appear in court tomorrow in relation to a number of charges.

A GARDA SUFFERED a broken wrist while trying to detain an ‘aggressive’ suspect in Cootehill, Co Cavan on Saturday evening.

A Garda spokesperson said a public order incident occurred on Station Road in Cootehill at 8pm that night. It is understood the garda who was injured was patrolling by himself at the time.

The spokesperson said the man was “aggressive with gardaí” and managed to get away but was later apprehended.

A source told TheJournal.ie the garda attended hospital for treatment and was informed his wrist was broken.

The issue of assaults on gardaí was raised last week at the annual conference of the Garda Representative Association. The GRA is calling for mandatory sentences for anyone who assaults a frontline emergency worker.

Speaking at the conference last week, Garda Commissioner Nóirín O’Sullivan said she herself had been bitten, spat at and assaulted while on duty. She recalled an incident on Parnell Street that left her with a dislocated shoulder.

“So I know exactly what it means to go through assaults,” she said. “I know what it takes to have the courage to come out after being assaulted, after being called names, after being videoed.”

The man who was arrested on Saturday evening will appear in Cavan District Court tomorrow in relation to a number of charges.

Read: ‘I’ve been bitten, spat at, assaulted’: Noirin O’Sullivan says she can relate to rank-and-file gardaí>