You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A demonstration of parts of the obstacle course that must be completed in the physical competency test to be a garda. An Garda Siochána

The Garda fitness test just got a lot easier

They’ve also standardised the test for all candidates regardless of age or gender.

LAST UPDATE | 20 Feb

GARDAÍ HAVE DROPPED push-ups and sit-ups from its physical entry test, saying that they no longer consider them a useful way of measuring applicants.

An Garda Síochána has announced a series of changes to its infamous physical competency test which garda trainee applicants need to pass as part of their application process.

As well as removing push-ups and sit-ups, another big change is that all applicants, regardless of age or gender, will face a standardised level on the ‘beep’ test (running back and forth over 20 metres repeatedly under increasing time pressure).

There were previously differentiated targets for candidates depending on their age and gender.

The exam is also replacing a task that involved dragging a mannequin with a ‘push/pull’ obstacle in the circuit test section.

An Garda Síochána said that the push ups and sit ups “required a subjective element and lacked face validity”, adding that “face validity is whether a test appears to measure what it’s supposed to measure”.

“The introduction of a standardised pass/ fail for all applicants, as the pre-employment physical fitness/ competence test is to ensure that all applicants, irrespective of age or gender, are able to do the same operational activity,” it said.

GardaPressOffice / YouTube

A review of the physical competency test began in summer 2024, conducted by an external expert from Dundalk Institute of Technology.

“The new Garda Physical Competency Test continues to provide An Garda Síochána with a reassurance that prospective Garda Trainee candidates possess the acceptable level of pre-employment physical fitness/ competence,” a statement to media said.

The test has two main sections, which are completed one straight after the other: the beep test and an obstacle course. Both must be successfully completed within eight minutes and four seconds in total.

The obstacle course involves:

• Sprint start
  • Weave through cones
  • Walk along a balance beam
  • Lift a car wheel and carry it three metres
  • Go underneath a barrier
  • Jump over a mat (one metre wide)
  • Push a sled six metres
  • Pull a sled six metres
  • Run up and down a flight of stairs
  • Climb over a gate
  • Sprint 10 metres

Minister for Justice Jim O’Callaghan previously criticised the physical entry test, saying that he felt it was too demanding.

In 2023 – while he was a TD but not a minister – O’Callaghan tried out the test himself and passed.

“I appreciate that a basic level of fitness is a prerequisite for a Garda but I believe the current test may be disqualifying those who have difficulty completing a strenuous obstacle course,” O’Callaghan said.

“A more sensible approach, in my view, would be to design the test to ascertain the candidate’s current level of fitness and an intensive programme be tailored accordingly on admission, should the recruit exhibit a baseline level of fitness.”

Last year, gardaí invited journalists to the Garda College at Templemore to have a go at the test. The Journal’s own News Editor Daragh Brophy gave it a whirl.

journalist-daragh-brophy-jumps-over-a-farm-gate-which-was-part-of-a-fitness-test-during-a-recruitment-campaign-launch-at-the-garda-training-centre-in-templemore-co-tipperary-picture-date-tuesday-fe The Journal News Editor Daragh Brophy jumps over a farm gate. Standard work day. Alamy Alamy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute QhpFny3o
    Favourite QhpFny3o
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:07 PM

Very sad. Young girl probably on her way to work. To think many of us were on or way this morning probably moaning about this or that mundane thing . Hits home that we should be grateful and how precious every second is.

Mute Nibbler Dibbler
    Favourite Nibbler Dibbler
    Aug 16th 2013, 10:03 AM

It’s high time the government developed safe cycle routes in all our towns and cities. Cyclists should not have to share roads or bus lanes with buses or other vehicles. They need their own dedicated cycle lanes physically separated from other road users. How many cyclists have to die before this government gets the message?:

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:07 AM

Look if ALL ROAD USERS obeyed the rules of the road to the full , there would be less accidents on our roads. Cars motorcycle and cycilist all taking too many chances with others safety. Red means STOP , stop lines should never be crossed and proper lane discipline are all iteams we let ourselves down on.
    If you dont indicate in a timely manner your at risk , if your not anticipating your putting others at risk , if YOU dont take responsibility for your own safety your at risk. Rant over !

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:11 AM

You’re* times 3. Rant over.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:37 AM

Grammer never broke red light ! But I’ll take the hit this time.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:37 AM

Its usually male cyclists that break lights and weave in traffic. Female cyclists generally tend to be more cautious and considerate of other road users. Sounds like a very tragic accident.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:49 AM

To be fair there are other things to consider, it’s not a simple as what you have said. The main issue is that our roads are very bicycle unfriendly. Regarding the red light jumping; sometimes it’s safer for a cyclist to get ahead to gain momentum before the traffic goes to overtake. In many countries in Europe there are separate lights for cyclists then there are for normal traffic.

To give you an example, there are no cycle lanes where this incident happened. If this poor lady was stopped at a red light with the truck directly behind her (over her right shoulder) she would most likely be in the trucks blind spot. If she was not able to accelerate faster than the truck shes already in a dangerous position. Now I’m not condoning breaking every red light but there are situations where it is actually safer for a cyclist to break the light to get ahead and visible, than not.

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:59 AM

Lamb, just on that point, that’s not been my experience. If I see a cyclist breaking lights, cycling on footpaths, etc, it’s 50/50 whether the cyclist is male or female.

In any case, regardless of who is at fault in this particular case, I hope everyone involved makes a full recovery.

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:01 PM

*Grammar

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:08 PM

I cycle 150km a week across the city every week. There aren’t as many female cyclists but a fair proportion of them cycle past me while I am stopped at traffic lights!

Mute Gary Guilfoyle
    Favourite Gary Guilfoyle
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:46 PM

Broad generalist sexism is alive and well I see.

Mute Nicholas Murnane
    Favourite Nicholas Murnane
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:18 PM

Some say this is why female cyclists are more lightly to be killed on the road in the UK.

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/green-living-blog/2010/may/13/cycling-lorries-women-road-deaths?guni=Article:in%20body%20link

Mute Sarah M
    Favourite Sarah M
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:31 PM

What about spelling?

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:38 PM

Its never safe practice to run red lights ! I will never understand the minority of cyclists who feel this is safe to do.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:59 PM

The lights are there to control motorized traffic. If it wasn’t for those multi-ton behemoths of pollution we would hardly need lights, would we?

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:41 PM

Much in much id say ! Males( some) tend to be a little aggressive in their cycling , while female’s ( some ) tend to have blinkers on while manoeuvring.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:44 PM

The lights are there for all road users. Regardless off whether they have an engine or pedals or a set of reins for that matter.

Mute Paul Kelly
    Favourite Paul Kelly
    Aug 16th 2013, 12:41 AM

Actually thats why more female cyclists are killed,

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2010/may/21/women-cyclists-most-accidents

Mute Simon King
    Favourite Simon King
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:43 PM

Maybe a new article by the Journal was appropriate here rather than an update as many of the comments relate to the original article ie people hoping she was okay which is quite confusing … RIP poor woman thoughts are with her family

Mute Phil Smith
    Favourite Phil Smith
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:06 PM

How very sad, may she rest in peace ….

Mute Roger
    Favourite Roger
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:51 AM

That junction is awful for cyclists. There is no cycle lane if you’re coming from Blackrock heading towards Seapoint/Monkstown.

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:54 AM

I passed by on my bike just as the gardai were closing down the area. There were a bus, a lorry, and a taxi in the ‘isolation’ area on Carysfort av. The Lorry was heading into Blackrock village, probably to deliver to Superquinn. I hope all recover well, very sad event.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:51 AM

The next junction, the slip road up Mount Merrion Avenue is far worse. The amount of cars that go left up the little slip road without indicating is really dangerous for cyclists. Drivers also badly misjudge cyclists here and cut across cyclists to turn left up the slip road. Need a Garda stood on the corner for a few weeks to put some manners on them. I don’t want to be sexist here most of them seem to be women.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:36 PM

Reg. There should be a flashing amber for motorists wanting to turn left, to yield to cyclists going straight.

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:48 PM

Raglan, you have great faith that most motorists know what the flashing amber means :) And before anyone gets up in arms, I say that as a motorist.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:24 PM

Brian. Until now l didn’t realise there were as many idiots on our roads

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:48 AM

I cycle through this junction twice a day. Hope she’s ok.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:15 PM

It is being reported that this lady had died. Sad news.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:26 PM

RIP.poor lady. She was probably in the truck’s blind spot, highly dangerous, though she was entitled to be there.
    A solution to this problem could be to makes traffic stop about five metres back from traffic lights rather than right up beside them. This would also mean that there would be less collisions on junctions due to the few extra seconds it would take for traffic to cross the junction. Hard to describe what I mean without diagrams, but imagine making the area where the first two cars at traffic lights would be a yellow hatched zone, with the exception of cyclists. It would also save a significant number of pedestrian lives.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:33 PM

Do you mean something like you see in this image?

https://maps.google.ie/?ll=51.892764,-8.466102&spn=0.000384,0.000836&t=h&z=20

A lot of junctions have that in place, but as we can see from the road leading in from the bootom of the picture, motorists widely ignore the white line.

Although, in Holland, they have a simple solution. There are no traffic lights across the junction. That means motorists have to stop far enough back if they want to see the lights. And only half the number of traffic lights are needed.

Mute Duke of Limerick
    Favourite Duke of Limerick
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:36 PM

rip

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:17 PM

Sorry Chris but your link only shows me a map, not a photo… I’d be surprised it some country wasn’t already implementing the idea though…

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:20 PM

Actually got to see it on my phone. Yes. Like that. Operable on roads without a cycle lane too though.

Mute Paul Fennelly
    Favourite Paul Fennelly
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:58 PM

I know the driver of the lorry, Lovely guy, He must me inconsolable, He delivered to us this morning before incident, Terrible accident!

Mute Jacqueline Nagle-McMahon
    Favourite Jacqueline Nagle-McMahon
    Aug 16th 2013, 2:37 AM

Awful about the poor girl, and I feel very sorry for her family, but I truly feel sorry for the driver of the truck. Having driven artic trucks myself for ten years I know only too well how difficult it can be to spot cyclists and pedestrians in the huge blind spots that exist on trucks. I can only imagine what that poor driver is feeling tonight.
    If you are a cyclist just remember if you can’t see the driver of a truck, he/she can’t see you…….
    May she rest in peace.

Mute Paul Hutchin
    Favourite Paul Hutchin
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:40 PM

Ah no, really sorry to see this update that she passed away. A daughter/mother/wife/girlfriend, I cant image how hard this must be for her loved ones. RIP

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:44 AM

Hope she’s OK. Cycling has become a dangerous transport alternative.

Mute Roger
    Favourite Roger
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:52 AM

Cycling isn’t a dangerous transport method at all, it’s cars that are the dangerous aspect.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:56 AM

Well I’ve seen a few fellow cyclists do some really stupid things at this junction and others.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:00 AM

What a stupid comments.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:03 AM

Ryan, cycling isn’t dangerous thats only some people’s incorrect perception,

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:49 AM

It’s people who are the dangerous aspect not Motorbikes, bicycles or cars.

Mute Bob Frapples
    Favourite Bob Frapples
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:02 AM

I cycle around 250km a week, it’s is no more dangerous then walking down a flight of stairs. The health benefits outweigh the injury risk by about 77-1 according to the British Medical Journal.

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:25 PM

250??? I did 15km this morning & I’m whacked. Fair play.

There’s a cycle lane in a village (Oylegate) near where I live & it’s lethal. As a relative newbie (bike to work chancer) I still prefer it to having cars up my ass.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:51 PM

Roger, a woman was killed here in Holland while cycling when she was hit by another cyclist. She was hit by a man who was cycling on a high performance bicycle.

When you are on the road anything is dangerous. It doesn’t matter what you are in control of or what others are in control of. One mistake and people can die.

Mute Pauric Mc Kenna
    Favourite Pauric Mc Kenna
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:36 PM

She’s dead

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:47 PM

Ahw no. Sad news. Thanks for update

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:56 PM

Just to let people know this comment & many more were written before the victim’s death was confirmed.

Mute Alan Rooney
    Favourite Alan Rooney
    Aug 16th 2013, 12:55 AM

You hope she’s ok! Small issue of her being already dead!

Mute Adam Doherty
    Favourite Adam Doherty
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:06 AM

Cycling is dangerous if you’re a dangerous cyclist.

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:05 PM

Or if, as a cyclist, you’re sharing the road with dangerous or careless drivers of lorries, buses, cars, bikes, or with dangerous or careless pedestrians stepping out onto the road without looking. Or cycling on a road where the cycle lane is ignored or comes and goes like the summer sun, or where there are potholes deeper than an inch or two, which is most of them.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:44 PM

Doesn’t matter how good of a cyclist you are cycling is also dangerous if there are dangerous motorists.

Mute Les Reed
    Favourite Les Reed
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:48 PM

When a cyclist runs into a car and kills the driver, then I’ll believe they’re dangerous. Not the most sensitive comment you could make following this woman’s death, Adam. You think she was dangerous to herself do you?

Mute Jim Edghill
    Favourite Jim Edghill
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:59 PM

May she RIP. I cycle that route to and from work and by and large its a lottery to get through Blackrock. Most drivers are aware of cyclists but unfortunately it only takes one. I am not judging truck driver as its not clear as to what happened and that person has to live with this terrible tragedy as do the poor girl’s family.Unfortunately this will be just another statistic as we have a government who encourage cycling through various schemes yet don’t seem too bothered about providing adequate safety measures eg. proper cycle lanes. Once again may this young person rest in peace.

Mute Betty Stuart
    Favourite Betty Stuart
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:54 PM

So very sad to hear that this lovely girl didn’t make it to work today. So very sad for her family and friends. May she rest in peace.
    Don’t forget to hug those you love. Make that long overdue phone call. Reach out.
    And be thankful for all that you have, Everyday.

Mute Claire Keogh
    Favourite Claire Keogh
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:13 PM

All the above comments are useless now that my friend, neighbour, girlfriend, sister, daughter, grand daughter, and your general happy go lucky girl Louise is no longer with us! Devastating to hear such news this morning. For all those commenting on how the roads are layed out, on how people drive, on bad cyclists, hindsight is a great thing! The main issue is we have all lost a wonderful young person to a tragic accident and the days ahead are gonna be sad and emotional!! People bickering over each others comments about who was wrong or right or about cyclists and drivers and roads is not going to bring Louise back or solve any issues about this mornings tragic accident! If peopled cared enough to bicker over comments about the accident they should care enough to think about family and friends at this sad time and keep their opinions to themselves as nothing is going to change!!!!!

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:55 PM

I’m so dreadfully sorry for your loss. My friend witnessed the accident from the bus and gave her statement to the gardai. She has been in an awful way over it and we cannot stop thinking about her family and friends. Condolences to everyone xxx

Mute Lára de Siúin
    Favourite Lára de Siúin
    Aug 16th 2013, 12:20 PM

I’m so sorry Claire… My heart broke when I heard. May Louise rest in peace and my heart goes out to you and her friends and family.

Mute gerard carey
    Favourite gerard carey
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:41 PM

RIP. Another family destroyed. Nobody deserves this.

Mute John Johnson (KCCO)
    Favourite John Johnson (KCCO)
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:49 AM

Please let this poor woman be ok.

We need more proper road education in this country. Im on the road all day in dublin as part of my job and the amount of stupid things I see daily is unbelievable. Just yesterday I seen two cars drag racing on the airton road in tallaght just before lunch!! This morning I seen two cyclists breaking red lights. Im on the road 8 hours a day around dublin and no road user is worse than the other. The main problem with cyclists is the breaking of red lights and this is so dangerous.

I fully believe that not only cars and the like should have nct every two years but all road users should have to do some sort of test every two years. Now I expect a lot of people would disagree with me on this but those who are responsible road users would have no problem with ir as they have nothing to fear.

It would be harder to get cyclists to comply with this, but it could be tied in with the cycle to work scheme.

Again I hope and pray that this poor woman does not become yet another statistic of irish roads.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:55 PM

I’m going to shamelessly copy and paste what I wrote above as it’s relevant to this post.

“The main issue is that our roads are very bicycle unfriendly. Regarding the red light jumping; sometimes it’s safer for a cyclist to get ahead to gain momentum before the traffic goes to overtake. In many countries in Europe there are separate lights for cyclists then there are for normal traffic.

To give you an example, there are no cycle lanes where this incident happened. If this poor lady was stopped at a red light with the truck directly behind her (over her right shoulder) she would most likely be in the trucks blind spot. If she was not able to accelerate faster than the truck she’s already in a dangerous position. Now I’m not condoning breaking every red light but there are situations where it is actually safer for a cyclist to break the light to get ahead and visible, than not.”

However I will agree that cyclists should have to do a course and I particularly like the idea of attaching it to the cycle to work scheme. As a result of the scheme there are far too many cyclists on the road who have no clue how to cycle properly and cycle a bike like they are still driving a car. Simple things such as learning to use your brakes correctly are so important. It always amazes me how many people who completely avoid using their front brake. It’s the front brake that is going to stop you fast in an emergency situation.

Mute John Johnson (KCCO)
    Favourite John Johnson (KCCO)
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:41 PM

You shamelessly do so Perdo!!

Im all for road education and why why why is it not on tje school curriculum from primary school. Beat road safety into the kids from an early age.

The cyclists I seen today breaking the red ligts was on the rathmines road outside the church, its a pedestrian crossing and there was no need for the lights to be broken, the cyclists didnt even stop or slow down, them type of cyclists are a danger.

Each and every type of road users have great users and each has dangerous user and what needs to be done is zero tolerance for the dangerous users no matter what type of machine they are in control of.

Mute Thomas Febvre
    Favourite Thomas Febvre
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:15 AM

Not a surprise we don’t exist for truck and taxi drivers … ;(

Mute Nicola Ryan
    Favourite Nicola Ryan
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:00 PM

RIP Louise. A beautiful and bright bright young girl who barely had the chance to experience life. My thoughts and prayers are with her family and friends.

Mute Andrew Matheson
    Favourite Andrew Matheson
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:08 PM

Terribly sad to hear, just shows how fragile life is and how quickly it can be taken away.

My condolences are with friends and family

Mute Sandra Cleary
    Favourite Sandra Cleary
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:23 PM

Our hearts as a community are broken today with the tragic loss of Louise RIP and for her family who have lost a beautiful daughter and sister

Mute Sean O'Donoghue
    Favourite Sean O'Donoghue
    Aug 15th 2013, 10:31 AM

The DLR Blackrock local area plan proposes proper cycle lanes for the Frascati road and there has been loads of research, surveys, reports & studies done on movement of traffic, pedestrians and vehicles http://www.dlrcoco.ie/aboutus/councildepartments/planning/downloadit/blackrocklocalareaplan/ but that is all that has been done.

It doesn’t take a genius to see that vehicles & speed is prioritised on this section of road & pedestrians & cyclists are continually put at risk. Unfortunately it will only be a matter of time before the next incident.

Mute Sue Lawlor
    Favourite Sue Lawlor
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:11 PM

Unfortunately she died. RIP x

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:39 PM

Very sorry to hear that.

Mute Tom Rooney
    Favourite Tom Rooney
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:26 PM

Absolutely terrible news, some unfortunate young girl has had her lufe cut short senselessly. As a driver who cycles the odd time I have to say that it seems the drivers of cars, trucks and buses don’t realise the damage a vehicle can inflict on a cyclist or pedestrian. If a cyclist accidently clibw your car it might cause a scratch on the car, if a car clips a cyclist it might lead to their death. We can all get frustrated with cyclists not adhering to road rules but before you take the chance of driving past them a little too close consider how you would feel if you were responsible for their death.

Mute des s
    Favourite des s
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:41 PM

Headlines you’ll never see. “Motorist in critical condition after being hit by bicycle”.

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:57 PM

Unless the motorist was walking across a pedestrian crossing ..

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:28 PM

Do you want to quote the statistics on that Dexter? More people are killed by lightning strikes than being struck by cyclists.

Mute Sue Jameson
    Favourite Sue Jameson
    Aug 15th 2013, 9:00 PM

A light has gone out in so many peoples lives today. RIP lovely Louise

Mute Rachel Earley
    Favourite Rachel Earley
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:51 PM

This is desperately sad. My heart really goes out to her and her family :( RIP

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:21 PM

There is no doubt that bad road/cycle lane maintenance and planning leads to road deaths.

The UCD cycle track is a disgrace – I’m surprised no one has been killed on it – its jumps on and off the road all over the place.

Mute emma fitz
    Favourite emma fitz
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:59 PM

Fact is we don’t actually know who was at fault. No denying those junctions are death-traps for cyclists, but cyclists don’t help themselves by trying to nip through a red light or at a seemingly green-man which may also be a green for cars turning left. Those junctions especially are most dangerous, as there are several different sequence of lights going for different traffic. It should be a sad reminder for both cyclists and drivers to follow the rules and respect each other out there. Written btw by a long standing cyclists who is in despair at the amount of bad cyclists out there. It’s very very sad and my thoughts are with her family.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:24 PM

Seems to be an assumption the cyclist did something wrong as all your anecdotes are specific. There are a lot of bad cyclists out there, but that is irrelevant. It doesn’t matter how many rules of the road you obey, there are too many death traps for cyclists in this city. The real issue is poor road design – not suitable for cyclists or HGV traffic. btw I saw a “bad” motorist yesterday.

Mute Addo Gallagher
    Favourite Addo Gallagher
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:47 AM

Don’t think it’s good news,
    It’s the responsibility of both drivers and cyclists to be more aware of each other, I would even say the cyclists need to be more vigilant as their more prone to major injury. The blame game should nt apply, have witnessed bad road behaviour for both.
    God bless the cyclist, the driver also.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:16 PM

Think you have this so right. Every day I see cyclists , drivers and pedestrians do something reckless. The debate should be about minding each other on the roads and safety and sharing the limited road space. Drivers do need to give cyclists more space in general and cyclists need to show a little more caution at times. I do believe most drivers and cyclists would be shocked if they ever sat in a truck and saw how restricted the view is. Bad driving is dangerous

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Aug 15th 2013, 12:27 PM

If more motorists cycled in their spare time, it would help I think.
    Taking up cycling has ensured I’m more aware when I’m in my car.

Mute Sarah M
    Favourite Sarah M
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:39 PM

Such sad news.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Aug 15th 2013, 1:46 PM

I believe that cyclists should be using the pavements and negotiating with pedestrians rather than the roads, having to negotiate with cars trucks and buses. If the pavements were made a little wider, there would be room for both. So many cyclists don’t know how to behave on roads and I say this as a motorist who cycles.

Hope this incident works out ok for all concerned.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:07 PM

Sue, just saw your post. Sorry to hear that. RIP

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:15 PM

Shea what you are suggesting is illegal and dangerous to pedestrians. A cyclist moving at 40 kph would certainly kill a child if they walked out in front of them. In the near future cyclists will be fined if caught cycling on footpaths

Mute Jessica Hyland
    Favourite Jessica Hyland
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:29 PM

I’d rather eat a fine for cycling(at a sensible speed, not 40!) on a pavement than get killed by a lorry on a crowded road, to be honest…

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Aug 15th 2013, 4:30 PM

Cyclists don’t generally move at 40kph,very few would even be capable of this.

Mute Bob Frapples
    Favourite Bob Frapples
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:42 PM

Experienced cyclists can average 30+ kph for long spins, hitting 40 fairly easily on the flats. Downhill you’re talking 60+ kph.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:57 PM

Lamb, I think I may not have been clear. Make it legal for cyclists and pedestrians to share the pavement with the pedestrians having the priority. Any cyclist doing 40 kph on a path with pedestrians (no easy task anyway) should take the bus instead. The cyclist/pedestrian relationship would be safer all round than the motorist/cyclist relationship. At the very least, allow cyclists to take to the pavement in heavy traffic.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:28 PM

I would beg to differ Bob. I think you’ll find that average cyclists move at 16-20 kph.

Mute Candace White
    Favourite Candace White
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:54 PM

Yes, cyclists use the pedestrian paths in Tokyo and it seems to work okay. A bit surprising at first but the people on foot and those cycling are respectful towards each other.

Mute Áine Foley
    Favourite Áine Foley
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:46 PM

Well done Shea, stupidest comment of the day.

Mute Bob Frapples
    Favourite Bob Frapples
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:14 PM

You missed the very first word in my reply Shea. When I started off cycling on the road it would of been around 22/23 kph, now around the low to mid 30′s depending on if I hit the mountains.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:55 PM

(For Bob) I checked backed on your posts. You never mentioned cycling at speeds in the low 20′s kph. From a precious comment (cycling 250k in a week), it would appear that you are a cycling enthusiast and therefore not an average cyclist.

Irrespective of all this, the speed to cycle at (or drive for that matter) is the speed that is safe for the prevailing conditions and if it was on a path shared with pedestrians, it probably shouldn’t be more than 10k.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Aug 16th 2013, 8:40 AM

Think you are spot on I actually use the path at places like this for my safety when road conditions are worrying and my rule is pedestrians have right of way so I always slow or consider them, I never get hassled by them usually it’s a smile and a word or two. I find in practice it works well.

Mute David Earley
    Favourite David Earley
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:41 PM

Very sad, drove past just after it happened and saw her lying on the road not moving not something any one should have to be seeing in this day and age, thoughts and prayers are with family and friends

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:10 AM

I hope this lady is okay and I wish herca solpeedy recovery. Surely it’s way too early fo speculation about causes unless from actual eyewitnesses.
    By the way, I noticed a lorry the other day with an extra mirror on top of the wing mirror to cover that blind spot so dangerous for pedestrians and cyclists.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:42 AM

Even cyclops mirrors don’t give full visibility on trucks. The RSA had a great video about cyclists and trucks. Basically there is a massive blindspot on the left handside of trucks, you need to be under the mirror almost before the truck driver can see you. If you are a cyclist never move inside a truck if there is a chance it may be turning left or changing lane. If a truck is overtaking you slow down a bit and keep well in until they pass you.

Mute Ray Reid
    Favourite Ray Reid
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:43 PM

Just passed by this, this morning , had a bad feeling all day, very sad, my taughts are with every one involved.

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:32 AM

I think education of the rules of the road is key here, for both motorists and cyclists. Both groups are very quick to blame each other but both show lack of knowledge of the rules. At the moment it’s only when something happens that people check the rules out to see who is at fault, who has right of way etc. Some people don’t know the difference between a cycling lane with a broken line and one with a continuous line for example. Hope to God this lady is ok.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:42 AM

We can start by calling them what they are ROAD USERS . Its easy for both sides to dig in and claim innocence , drivers or cyclists when you place you’re wheels on the road you are a ROAD USER and equally bound by the rules of the road

Mute Kevin O'Farrell
    Favourite Kevin O'Farrell
    Aug 15th 2013, 3:02 PM

Very sad news. Road layout looks leathal for cyclists. It’s a lot safer in some parts of city for cycling than a few years ago but not everywhere. This needs to be highlighted especially given the low number of women cycling. Making existing roads cycleproof wont cost loads of money and will have real effects on safety which in turn will lead to more people cycling. This could be any one of us.

Mute Candace White
    Favourite Candace White
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:43 PM

This is absolutely tragic.. Cyclists really do risk their lives on a daily basis and accidents can happen no matter how careful they are. Taxi drivers especially need to appreciate how vulnerable cyclists are.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Aug 15th 2013, 2:56 PM

We should be doing things like this: http://youtu.be/XuBdf9jYj7o <

Mute Allen Kiely
    Favourite Allen Kiely
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:50 PM

There should be more lobbying of city councilors to force this issue. Not enough is being done to change

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:49 PM

Very very sad, just live up the road from this…hope it’s nobody we know as name not released yet…heartbreaking for whoever is involved, someone’s daughter, sister, mother, wife, partner…too young to go! Not getting into a cyclist/driver debate, that’s for another day!

Mute Sarah Murphy
    Favourite Sarah Murphy
    Aug 15th 2013, 7:30 PM

RIP xx

Mute Gillian Walsh
    Favourite Gillian Walsh
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:54 PM

Very sad x

Mute Suzeit Paudel
    Favourite Suzeit Paudel
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:46 PM

My she rest in peace.

Mute Suzeit Paudel
    Favourite Suzeit Paudel
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:46 PM

May*

Mute Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Favourite Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:42 PM

We’ll see he won’t even get a sentence, nor a fine

Mute Kieran Mc Evoy
    Favourite Kieran Mc Evoy
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:08 PM

Ruaidhri,you very sure who was at fault,did you witness the accident ?

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:03 PM

Very sad to hear the lady has died. RIP.

Mute Allen Kiely
    Favourite Allen Kiely
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:37 PM

A sad day and example for how dangerous it is on dublin roads.

We need to look at other european cities for how to integrate cycling properly into the traffic network. There are no real cycling lanes in Dublin besides the one on the canal.

Cycle lanes in Bus lanes is not enough, we need to create more lanes, that remove bicycles completely from traffic. If you look at Paris, Berlin or Barcelona, cities I’ve cycled in, they cities councils have developed proper networks for cyclists to operate in.

As a result, cyclist wouldn’t be forced to take the risks that we do every day competing with buses and taxis’s in particular who pay no attention or have much respect for cyclists, cycle lanes or not.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Aug 15th 2013, 8:25 PM

Sad story, may she rest in peace. However, government wanna get to grips with the droves of cyclists entering the car dominated streets. It’s getting kinda serious now but not being taken seriously, are we gonna have to wait another 20 yrs as we did with motoring to address this. Infrastructure and road safety have always been low priority in this country.

Mute Gordon Lambe
    Favourite Gordon Lambe
    Aug 15th 2013, 11:16 PM

It should be illegal for cyclists to wear head phones

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:59 PM

What ever happened to the traffic school in fairview , it was for children and had road layout with pedal cars and bikes to teach the kids rules of the road and safety as a pedestrian. Most schools in the city used to go at some stage.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Aug 15th 2013, 6:31 PM

I passed by there the other day and noticed it was closed down. Probably not enough money in the coffers after bailing out the you-know-who’s. Shame. we could do with something like that now. I’m sure it didn’t cost all that much and if it saved deaths and injuries it would pay for itself.

Mute Kelly Keogh
    Favourite Kelly Keogh
    Aug 15th 2013, 5:40 PM

Does anybody know if this girl has been named yet?
    May she Rest in Peace X

Mute John Banks
    Favourite John Banks
    Aug 16th 2013, 12:25 AM

Where’s the cycle lane In Blackrock .god love her . It’s all down to bad driving . She didn’t deserve it . R.I.P

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Aug 16th 2013, 8:33 AM

My sympathy to her family and friends, I cycle through Blackrock all the time so this really feels personal. I hate to see things like this happen because cycling is such a lovely way to go to work or get around your neighbourhood. May she rest in peace .