We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Enda Kenny is eyeing-up a trip to three US cities next month AP Photo

Here’s where 28 government ministers are going for St Patrick’s Day

Alan Shatter in Mexico, Michael Noonan in Canada and Alex White is off to Russia.

Updated 4.05pm

THE GOVERNMENT HAS released details of where governments ministers will be heading for the St Patrick’s Day’s festivities next month with some 28 ministers jetting off to 23 different countries.

These include Social Protection Minister Joan Burton attending events in New York with controversy likely to arise over whether or not she takes part in the St Patrick’s Day parade.

Burton has already indicated she will not participate over the parade’s ban on gay rights slogans.

Some of the other trips include Justice Minister Alan Shatter heading to Mexico, while the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore will be in France, Finance Minister Michael Noonan is going to Canada, and Environment Minister Phil Hogan is going to the United Arab Emirates.

Russia is also back on the St Patrick’s Day agenda for the first time since 2010 with junior health minister Alex White off to the country whose anti-gay propaganda laws have caused controversy in recent months.

Separately, Taoiseach Enda Kenny will be in Boston, New York and Washington DC next month with the traditional bowl of shamrock being handed over to US President Barack Obama at the White House.

The ministers are taking part in what the Department of Jobs is calling the St Patrick’s Day “Promote Ireland” programme with a total of 28 Ministers taking part in over 100 business events and 80 “high-level political meetings” in 23 countries.

Only Education Minister Ruairí Quinn and Minister of State Brian Hayes are not travelling this year.

Here’s the full list of where they’re headed…

  1. France – Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore
  2. Canada – Minister Michael Noonan
  3. China – Minister Brendan Howlin
  4. Italy – Minister Richard Bruton
  5. New York – Minister Joan Burton
  6. San Francisco – Minister Jimmy Deenihan
  7. London and Birmingham – Minister Pat Rabbitte
  8. United Arab Emirates – Minister Phil Hogan
  9. Mexico – Minister Alan Shatter
  10. New Zealand and Eastern Australia – Minister Simon Coveney
  11. Japan and Korea – Minister Frances Fitzgerald
  12. Boston and Cleveland – Minister James Reilly
  13. Atlanta and Savannah – Minister Leo Varadkar
  14. Washington DC – Attorney General Máire Whelan SC
  15. Lebanon – Minister of State Paul Kehoe
  16. Scotland – Minister of State Jan O’Sullivan
  17. Pittsburgh and Philadelphia – Minister of State Dinny McGinley
  18. Spain – Minister of State John Perry
  19. Netherlands – Minister of State Michael Ring
  20. Vietnam – Minister of State Kathleen Lynch
  21. Germany – Minister of State Fergus O’Dowd
  22. Chicago and Kansas City – Minister of State Sean Sherlock
  23. Romania – Minister of State Ciaran Cannon
  24. Western Australia – Minister of State Alan Kelly
  25. Russia – Minister of State Alex White
  26. Norway – Minister of State Tom Hayes
  27. Belgium and Luxembourg – Minister of State Paschal Donohoe
  28. Singapore and the Philippines – Minister of State Joe Costello

First published 11.40am

Read: Boston Mayor to boycott St Patricks Day parade unless gay community included

Read: ‘When you boycott, you’re just ignored’: Varadkar at odds with Burton’s stance on NYC parade

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.