You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This portrait of Graham Norton was unveiled in the National Gallery today

And, in a very Irish coincidence, the artist turned out to be Norton’s cousin.

OVER THE LAST year, Sky Arts has been running an international competition to find the Portrait Artist of the Year.

And last night, the results were announced.

Belfast man Gareth Reid was victorious – and the prize was an €11,000 commission to paint Graham Norton for the National Gallery of Ireland.

And today it was unveiled to the public in all its glory

It’s gone down ~very well~

And in a rather unlikely turn of events, the artist realised he was Graham’s third cousin only after he had sat for the portrait

grahamnorton1

Gareth told Sky:

My dad knew there was some connection a while back but only decided to tell me about a week after the final when we were in Kerry together. It was vague at that point – some cousins of his thought there was a connection through my granny’s side.
I still can’t quite take in the chances of me, out of all the people who entered, getting the opportunity to paint Graham, out of all the people they could have chosen, and it turning out we’re third cousins. As Graham aptly put it, “I’m embarrassed for Ireland”. He is genuinely a lovely guy and he took [my partner] Suzy and me out for dinner after the unveiling.

A wonderful coincidence, and a lovely portrait for all to see next time they visit the gallery:

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/03/img2-thejournal-599.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3290441" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:06 PM

Well holy god! I’d definitely know it was him anyway!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Mar 17th 2017, 4:08 AM

@Alan O’Rourke: Fr. Ted comes to mind after reading that?

Mute dotsy24
    Favourite dotsy24
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:39 PM

I like it

Mute Naberius
    Favourite Naberius
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:09 PM

Good painting and all but that’s an odd way to sit. It makes it look like he has a sore arse and he’s trying to keep his weight off it.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:56 PM

I think he was sitting for three hours on three different occasions, I think it’s great, his new book ” Holding” isn’t bad either, he certainly has the gift of the gab !

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:29 PM

@Naberius: I’d say you sit in your arse all day thinking up shit like this

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:29 PM

@Patrick Pints: such a funny comment not

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Mar 17th 2017, 4:10 AM

@Naberius: It does look weird the way he is sitting but art can be like that sometimes, weird.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:36 PM

Great picture. His sense of humour is only matched by his intelligence and captivating misdemeanour.

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:48 PM

Great painting you shower of assho%es

Mute Blind Faith
    Favourite Blind Faith
    Mar 16th 2017, 1:15 AM

It turned out really well, I’m glad he chose to actually paint Graham’s portrait, rather than just doing one of the pencil/charcoal drawings he’d been doing in the heats.

Mute keano
    Favourite keano
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:29 AM

I know nothing about art but the facial detail is incredibly realistic.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Mar 15th 2017, 11:37 PM

Cringe worthy amount of hashtags under the first picture. #trying too hard

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:38 AM

@Brian: #HashtagFail

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Mar 16th 2017, 7:30 AM

@Brian: yea i was thinking the same thing.what’s with that?

Mute Ken Coogan
    Favourite Ken Coogan
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Brian: What difference does it make how many hashtags there are?

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:15 PM

And they say mediocrity is it’s own reward?

Mute Aidan Clarke
    Favourite Aidan Clarke
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:04 AM

fantastic painting

Mute Stíofán Ó Baoill
    Favourite Stíofán Ó Baoill
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:07 PM

Not 2 flying f##ks will he give ,, laughed at the ppl of his own home town when they gave him freedom of the city ,,,, A total all me kind of bitxh she is

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:10 PM

@Stíofán Ó Baoill: never heard Bandon called a city before

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Mar 16th 2017, 5:48 AM

‘A total all me kind of bxtch she is’…

For the love of God, man, learn to make a bloody sentence readable!

Mute tea biccies
    Favourite tea biccies
    Mar 16th 2017, 2:33 AM

Only five pics of the portrait in the article? Could you add some more please….Oh and your update is shite

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Mar 15th 2017, 10:42 PM

when is he ever gonna shave that awful beard off? its scruffy &just ages him

Mute Patrick Pints
    Favourite Patrick Pints
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:57 AM

@Dean Anderson: doesnt affect hisbbank account

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Mar 16th 2017, 10:09 AM

My god! You mean he’s hiding his money is his beard?! Ingenious.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Mar 16th 2017, 8:21 AM

TED!!!!!!

Mute Jerry Hurley
    Favourite Jerry Hurley
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:40 AM

It’s like a head and a chest sitting in a bowl of jelly.

Mute Dylan Mehigan
    Favourite Dylan Mehigan
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:54 PM

Is it really a coincidence that they turned out to be 3rd cousins? Sure aren’t we all in some way related on this tiny island of ours?

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Mar 16th 2017, 9:28 AM

Very Van Goghish but good likeness albeit Graham looking so what’s frail me thinks

Mute thebugle
    Favourite thebugle
    Mar 16th 2017, 12:36 PM

That’s Darren Clarke lads