You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Normal activity' resumes at Intel plant after 'credible threat'

Gardaí were called to the campus this morning and staff were evacuated.

Updated 12.37pm

INTEL HAVE CONFIRMED that gardaí received what they believed to be a “credible threat” to its plant in Leixlip this morning.

In a statement this afternoon, the firm said that the threat, made “shortly” after 6am, sparked a “coordinated response” from Intel and the gardaí, something a spokesperson described as “normal protocol”.

“A controlled evacuation of the site followed and a search was conducted by trained Intel security personnel throughout the campus with the buildings being declared safe just after 8.30am,” the statement continued.

Employees were thereafter allowed to return to work and normal activity has now resumed at the campus. Intel would like to thank the Gardaí for their support and the general public for their patience as the matter was dealt with.

Gardaí said an investigation into the events of the morning will now be launched.

Intel employs about 4,000 people at its Kildare operation

AA Roadwatch warned that traffic in the area was very heavy at the time, with no access to the facility.

Buses in the area were also diverted.

Evacuated workers gathered in nearby restaurants, while others try to make their way back home.

First published 7.33am

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

108 Comments
    Mute Chessie Cat
    Favourite Chessie Cat
    Apr 12th 2019, 11:50 PM

They should get rid of the yellow alerts altogether. Too many alerts lead to complacency then when there is a genuine need for concern people venture out!

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Apr 12th 2019, 10:37 PM

Bit like last weekend so. Dry

Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    Apr 12th 2019, 10:42 PM

@Chief: except where it rains.

Mute Mandy Seiler
    Favourite Mandy Seiler
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:13 AM

Apparently the south east will get no weather this weekend.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:20 AM

Like a night in bed with me ..
    Wet and windy ..

Mute Gavin Lynam
    Favourite Gavin Lynam
    Apr 13th 2019, 7:44 PM

@Logan Shepherd: creep

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 13th 2019, 8:25 PM

@Gavin Lynam: Buy a sense of humour somewhere Gavin. See how much fun a life can be when you have one.

Mute liam ward60
    Favourite liam ward60
    Apr 13th 2019, 8:29 AM

Still the journal encouraging people to carry brolly what the bloody good are they in the wind the spokes would take ones eye out when people dont know how to use them properly

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:26 PM

@liam ward60: sure why do you care ? as you keep saying your retired sitting at home watching your add free TV

Mute shellakybooky
    Favourite shellakybooky
    Apr 13th 2019, 7:30 AM

Ah fluich

Mute Mrs Doyle
    Favourite Mrs Doyle
    Apr 14th 2019, 3:48 PM

@shellakybooky: that’s brilliant!

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Apr 13th 2019, 1:38 AM

A grand soft weekend

Mute Hello DAVE!
    Favourite Hello DAVE!
    Apr 13th 2019, 12:01 AM

Dodgy Guinness?

Mute chris c
    Favourite chris c
    Apr 12th 2019, 11:24 PM

Feck off, it’s giving try weekend

Mute chris c
    Favourite chris c
    Apr 12th 2019, 11:25 PM

@chris c: sorry that’s the coors, dry I mean

Mute Patrick Conway
    Favourite Patrick Conway
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:51 AM

It will be moist alright !!

Mute Patrick Conway
    Favourite Patrick Conway
    Apr 13th 2019, 3:53 AM

Its moist as hell

Mute Big Knickers
    Favourite Big Knickers
    Apr 14th 2019, 6:06 PM

Just great